Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

OH YAY me too... i wanted to buy a mahjong table but i cannot find a place that does free delivery. If got lobang let me know. I think if we buy more maybe they more willing to deliver.

I can't imagine carrying a mahjong table back, quite ugly also. Hee

ya loh..if nearby carry back still not so bad

i was at Pioneer mall, they do sell mahjong table there but the quality not so good. Is those wooden 1

Boon lay also got sell but duno goot a not. Even if good, want to carry back also a bit far.

Yo Val..

Thanks for inviting me to ur place..

my bf love ur reno so much... hehe..

I jus finish submitting my defects... will start reno sometime in Jun'08 so pls bear with the dust k...

SY.. manage to convince bf not to overlay the toilet *heng arh* save money hehehe... no need change toilet doors also coz I niam the HDB contractor until they give me a new one.. coz the one at my place is so badly done....

Woonie's bf -- Chelsea

val, im booking the cab through direct contact with the driver. book through smart website can kill man!

got half-day or full-day rate.. mine is abt $300+ for half-day unlimited use.

wa finally i managed to get in. cant get in whole day. duno the site is down or my co blocked it. ahah

whyme.. i'll contact u to ask abt the cab hehehe.

oh ya peeps.. i wan order mahjong table too.. wad types are u all ordering?

Val,

i'm not sure how many types of mahjong table are there... it sounds like we can gather a group to order mahjong table liao... got you, me and janice

Btw, i want to check with all of you. Anyone of you installed a Joven water heater yet? My ID advised me to get Ariston because the installer told him that he did a few flats in our area and had problem fitting Joven water heater onto the wall. Not sure how true it is but i had already ordered Joven.

succeeded in connecting my starhub to the HTS, now all programmes on surround sound mode. haha
imptly, 3am tmr early morning, i'll have nou camp live in my LR

kevin, for a moment this afternoon, i was wondering where you were and how come you were not talking ... had the same problem as valerie? I had no such problems so valerie, i think your company had blocked you off the site.. ha ha ha

Hi Kelvin,
Thanks for the info. Lucky u got contact for bamboo delivery, if not I need to walk from Gek Poh Shopping Centre to new use... So auntie to do tt...LOL
My designer who is my uncle suggested plastering, I know it will be hard to maintain but I dun like to see the tiles

plastering is nicer. i didn't noe that there was this option.

we have to choose the kitchen cabinets to 'match' the tiles.

mahjong table must get good 1. Can standby as dining table if next time more people or use it for other purposes. Try to convince yr friends to get it for you during house warming, so that we dun have to carry. Must be those mahjong fanatics

wahhahahahaha

Count me in for mahjong table too but I want better quality one...haha
I will call for the bamboo delivery tomolo, will check with them whether they deliver mahjong table

I don't play mahjong...but I heard mahjong is good for your brain...

I'm wondering which one to get..the traditional bamboo sticks or the aluminium ones...aluminium ones look so much better but they're ex. Do you all think it's worth investing money on getting the aluminium ones?

hi woonie

no prob.. next time my turn to visit ur place hehe. we can borrow rice/salt/sugar hor.. take lift can le haha. no prob.. ur level quite far from mine, so hopefully dust will not affect keke.

u all wan get mahjong table must call me hor.. i also wanna get.

ryan.. my co didn block leh.. now can get in le heheheh. tink sg bride down ytd or smting.

whyme.. really got a gd price for the pink cab from the contact u gave me. but cannot get it now cos bf doesn like the colour. am so upset. so close to achieving my dream wedding car at such a gd price and now this. duno wad to say.

SY Chen & Icegin,

i think you both don't waste money buy 2 mahjong tables lah.. each come up with money to buy a good one. can share mah.. hee

haha..but what if we both got friends come over on the same day leh

like this we will quarrel over 1 mahjong table liao

is getting the hub station better or getting separate promotion better?

The hub station come with free broadband but only till certain period. Whether they will charge after that, still TBA.

SY Chen,

Go for the hub station. Although it says the free broadband until end of 2008 only, but most likely they will extend it. 1MBPS speed given by them is more than enough if you just want to use it for normal surfing and check emails.

Subscribing separately will in the end cost you more.

i was looking at the april balloting selection... out of curiosity..

apparently, the JW flats are being taken up faster than the rest... currently

1 unit selected at bukit panjang
6 units at JW
1 unit at sembawang
1 unit at woodlands
0 at bukit batok
0 at choa chu kang
0 at jurong east

guess everyone being priced out of purchase.

did anyone install their storage heater in the common toilet at St 64? I bought a 25l horizontal heater. Apparently, my ID told me that it cannot be installed in our "hollow" toilet.

my MBR toilet also have to change door to bifold as the toilet bowl is at the centre and facing the door, swing door take up the place which may hit someone inside if u didn't lock .But the main reason to change door is because next time if my wife pregnant also very difficult to move in and out.Even i skinny also find it very troublesome to move in and out with the HDB swing door...anyway what u goin to do with the HDB door after u replaced with bi-fold? for me i will just keep it in store room so next time still can use whenever another bedroom door being damaged.

anyway i thought storage heater warm water can be shared by 2 toilet rite, so doesn't matter which toilet to place the heater ? I think the most important is the location of the switch, those in street 64 may feel affected as common toilet is at the kitchen and if u put the heater switch there, u need to go kitchen to switch on and vice versa although some people don;t mind.last time my contractor for my current home even more "stupid" as they put the instant heater in my parent MBR rather than the common toilet...in the end , i had to buy another install heater for the common toilet.

they say whichever toilet u put, that toilet will heat up faster than the other (not very significant delay lah of course)

i agree loh. Want to bath, must go to the kitchen and on. Quite troublesome. Finish bathing must go back to the kitchen and off it.

We told the contractor to do a double-switch and in the end, he forget abt it. By that time, cannot do rectification coz the false ceiling is up. Unless we insist, they will run a trucking outside.

Meirong,

#11-303 and #12-241 is still available for selection. I thought that would be the first unit to go because it's square unit.

ryan
if the storage heater is installed in the kitchen toilet, likelihood the switch is @ the kitchen. it'd not be connected to the mbr water heater switch. the mbr switch is for instant heater. some may prefer to install 2 electric instant water heaters, 1 in kitchen toilet, 1 in mbr toilet

anyway, for storage heater to heat up the 20-30L, u'd need to switch it on abt 20-30min prior to ur bathing. thus need to go over to kitchen to switch on and off.

remember u asked me that Q why my water heater is @ the kitchen? it's a GAS instant heater that requires no switching on. it will detect running of hot water when the mixer is tilted towards hot water. it automatically switches off when u turn off the water tap. gas ignition by battery

sy chen
if the storage heater is placed in the kitchen toilet, the piping to the toilet bath mixer is shorter, thus hot water will reach ur shower head @ a shorter time. on the other hand, the hot water will travel a longer distance since piping will need to go to the next toilet. the cold water will need to be drained off before hot water can reach ur shower head. difference might be a min or so wait, rather insignificant.

Kelvin...bi-fold door is really convenient and take up less place, but due to control "budget", i changed the one at the masterbed room only.Mine is street 93 which the common toilet is at the passageway,if change the door to other,it will be very obvious and much different from the rest of bedroom doors.Anyway i won;t close the toilet door when no one is using unless the living room has switch on the air con.

I also installed door for my kitchen entrance, it is also work like a bi-fold door but there is no bottom track and it is top hung. Not much a choice of choosing other types of door as swing door is totally out of question and sliding door is not possible.

My home reno will be finshing soon,can;t wait to move in to enjoy airconditioning room as my current home that i stay with my parent has no aircon at all.

need help here again...where to get door bell,do lighting shop selling it? so which shop is highly recommanded ,what is the market price for a normal standard.I noticed that there is already a button for door bell at our home entrance, ID suggested to get one using the exsiting HDB point can liao.I wonder do those shop allow testing ?.. rather than the usual ding dong ding dong.

anyway has any good sources for lightings, curtains and window grilles?

and if possible some indicative pricing on how much u paid for them?

shawn

Haven't bought curtains yet but have budget about 1.5k for day/night curtains, string curtains and roman blind.

I had spent $1.6k on lightings. I think it depends on your design concept, if you uses downlights and lightcoves at your house i think you will spend more on lightings. And also depending on whether you are getting any chandelier light which are quite ex.

Kevin,

I have bought a 15L storage heater which is shorter, so i actually hope that means the door can be open wider as i do not intend to change my commom toilet door. Anyway the guideline that it required 20mins to heat up 25L is too much, usually 10mins will do since most of the time you do not really need the water to be heated up to 75degree.

Chelsea allow u to test the door bell

the wire already pull into your house. We bought the entire set (door bell + switch) but only used the door bell nia. The switch used the existing 1.

it doesn't take that long to heat up the water

5 - 7 minutes shd be okie le.

Have to get used to storage heater. Most of the time, the water come out scalding hot even though we just turn a little bit to the 'red' part. Bathroom like Sauna with so much steam

SY Chen,

There is a starhub promotion or roadshow at Raffles City this weekend.

I saw in the paper today if you get the hubstation, they give you free installation, $60 adidas voucher and one more forgot what liao.

Corrine,
I've got my lights from De Lite Shop in Balestier. The price they offer is quite good but not sure about the quality although they said they'll provide osram bulbs for my downlights. Paid about $1.3k for all lights except bomb shelter's.
As for window grills, my ID helped me source for it.
I'm still looking for curtains. Last night when I on tv there's a progamme called Sheng Qian Wang II recommending cheap curtains. But too bad I on it too late and missed the address. Anyone watched it and remember the add?