Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

oh, that's tricky,
my mbr and LR cable pts were moved too
the starhub guys very particular abt that too
had mine completed bef they activated them

350 for varnishing?
Wow, wonder why mine was foc

they were saying if modified points have any signal leakage, we still have to pay for it or something.

maybe they found out that they are making a loss varnish for free that's why they charge. Haha

I check with you all, how your id design your cabinets to be place at which location of the master bedroom.. I am refering to the long type of bedroom, living room straigh and long type of flat.

Li

li, ours is 2 parallel wardrobe leading to the toilet

nothing fanciful. I don't wan to enclose the wardrobe - later too humid.

ya. of course it's varnish. had to close all windows and doors to keep out dust, min 6hrs to dry, and that smell... gosh

mine also 2 parallel wardrobes leading to mbr toilet

got my contractor to put a dummy cable box to deceive the starhub guys. they also closed one eye lah, as long as they can test signal at the new location cable box

Kevin, did the guy varnish yr masterbedroom floor before or after u done up the wardrobe?

Would it be advisable to varnish the MBR first and than install the cupboards?

my HTB say worried next time when we decided to demolish the wardrobe, the floor will have difference.

i went up to see my wardrobe partition. Kinda small leh.

Varnished after all reno completed
Varnish early, kanna scratched & dusted again

Even if u varnish 1st n install the wardrobe
The varnish will be compressed n damaged for yrs n by the time u remove the wardrobe, that patch will be unrecognisable

Wait a min, ur 2 parallel rows or wardrobe are built-in or off-the-shelf
If off-the-shelf, then can varnish 1st

mine is built in 1.

if this is the case, i tink i might as well ask them to come after my ID do chemical wash for the house than.

Chemical washing only on the homogenous tiles
For parquet, can use chemical washing, too strong, normally contractor just do simply washing, mopping

Yes, cos the parquet has to be sparking clean before they can apply the varnish
In addition, note those lobangs n scratches u may have on the parquet, they will smoothen or plug the lobangs b4 varnish

SY Chen,

Maybe when he quoted your $350, it includes machine grinding and varnishing?

For FOC, they only use sandpaper i think to clean up any scratches and apply the varnish. That won't look as good as doing a machine grinding for the whole floor. I don't think they will charge you if you just want to varnish... but best to do machine grinding to make the parquet looks new.

Electricity tariffs will go up by an average of 1.26 cents (S$0.0126) per kilowatt starting 1 April. SP Services said this is due to higher fuel oil prices.

Currently, the monthly average electricity bill for a four-room flat is S$78.39. But with the new rates, it will increase by S$4.37 to S$82.75.

ryan, not too sure how they going to do it. will have to call him tomorrow to check with it and update u guys.

Is that why i kept hearing on radio to ask us to keep the electricity bills or something? Wah, everything so expensive now. Sianz

Hi Meirong

I'm staying at blk 678C. And i've confirmed with the contractor that there will be another round on 29 March. You may want to call them to confirm the timing for your block.

Thank you ms_blur. i've called up and they're coming next sat to activate.

I notice that the parquet flooring is matte. Does the varnishing make it glossy flooring kind or just a protection layer?

Ms blur,

which storey you stayed at? I'm also from block 678C.

Anyway, i was there today when the starhub guys came over at about 12pm +, they check all the 4 cable points and activated it through the mainboard outside. Apparently, my cable point in the shelter is not receiving signal, then they fixed it and all is working well now. So better don't assume all is okay and best to have them to check it.

He says the signal strength at our area are very strong, but he advise not to conceal the existing cable point like blocking it with a feature wall cos in future, any problem they need to access to the cable point.

The whole process takes less than 5 mins.

xesthir,

the parquet itself is just a parquet ... whether it is matt, glossy or semi-glossy depends on the type of polishing you apply on the parquet. And well, it acts as a protection layer also.

Hi SY Chen,
I also kanna complain by the neighbour who work night shift. My contractor told me tt HDB officer went up to my unit to see whether we are drilling.
I went down to the office located at the carpark to find out what happen and why I tio tt complaint. I ask them izzit he work night shift then I've to stop the renovation... the officer said I can continue my reno work but try to stop the drilling by wed.

Hi Joanne,

I think as long as you stops work before 6pm on weekdays that is within the regulations. Can't satisfied everyone in the neighbourhood for sure!

icegin, shd be the same neighbour. Few days ago, we went to the new house ard 11pm+ and saw him came out of the lift.

How come set timeline for u to end by Wed? I heard people of our blk drilling on Good Friday weekend also like that.

my capentry work is starting this coming week. Sure got more sawing and drilling.

So what's going to happen Thursday onwards? Aiyo, i think few months down the road also got people renovating loh. Not 100% full occupancy somemore.

SY Chen,

I think every day also will have people drilling .. because as one completes renovation, another house starts renovation. If the balance unsold units is relaunch again in April, another batch of renovation will start. My neighbour unit had not been sold yet. Hope it is launched and sold in April ... then i will have some peace when i move in Sept.

I don't understand those people who complained. At a point of time, everyone sure undergo this renovation noise and it's not as if the person himself had not disturb others, so why are they complaining now? Ha ha

Hi Ryan,
Think all renovation should stop at 6pm everyday.

Hi SY Chen,
I think shld be the same neighbour but I dunno from which unit one. My contractor told the officer that we wont be drilling from Wed onwards so they set a timeline to pacify both parties. I think of making additonal cabinets in the kitchen so I guess drilling and sawing will still continue after Wed... haha too bad.

I just checked with my ID about the revarnishing that HDB will provide free after the renovation. He told me that will just a superficial layer of varnishing that will go away very soon and they will not do a good job and it's quite pointless to do it as they will not regrind the flooring too.

He said if we want a good job we need to hire pple who actually regrind and revarnish at about 3 rooms $650.

Not sure if he is trying to earn our money. Anyway has the HDB to do the revarnishing yet?

icegin, u r not alone. Haha, this week i will have drilling too.

Xesthir, did u get the contact from HDB instead? The contractor quoted us $350. my ID also quoted me ard yr price. Too expensive le

Xesthir,

That is exactly what i thought. The HDB will simply varnish for you another layer but they will not use machine grinding before varnishing. In the end, i think it will be pointless to get them so as well pay the contractor to do the whole thing correctly. The quote to me is $620 to do the 3 bedrooms, which includes patching a small area with parquet as i hack something. So $650 is probably too ex.

Hi SY Chen,

Can you give me the contact of the HDB contractor?

By the way, my ID mentioned that there are various types of varnish and polyurethene is probably the best. What type of varnish does the HDB contractor give? Could it be a lower grade type of varnish that's why so cheap?

VICTORY FOR US!! YOU GUYS OWE ME SOMETHING

CQ: BUS STOP & LINKWAY AT JURONG WEST STREET 64 (ifms 600628)

After my first appeal is rejected, i re-appeal with this mail.

"Hi LTA,

Rule are guidelines set but there should be flexibility to rules. Isn't the main priority is to cater to the public needs, rather than whether how many stop and go motion it had? Especially we are talking about densely populated areas, i'm sure exceptional case can be considered.

There are so many examples i can find where bus stops are not located 350m to 400m apart in the densely populated housing estate. Disregard to the trip from the Boon Lay interchange to St 64, if you refer to the return trip from St 64 to Boon Lay Interchange, the next bus stop we had to walk from St 64 is at least 250m to 300m from Block 678D.

I hope you can re-consider your decision.

Again, i stress that priority concerns should be made to cater to public needs."

Their decision emailed to me today.

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 607693

Please refer to your feedback of 4 March 2008 on the above matter.

We have reviewed your request and are pleased to inform you that we will
provide a pair of bus stops to be located outside Blk 678C (near a
sub-station) and Blk 674. The HDB will put up the bus shelter at the
proposed locations. The new bus stops will be implemented when the bus
shelter is completed in June 2008.

Just to clarify after speaking to them... the bus stop will be built at the substation outside block 678C... at the corner you can see the small one storey building .. that is the substation... with shelter linkway to block 678C. Heh.. The block i am staying at... the bus stop on the other direction will be directed opp. the new bus stop outside substation.

Cheers...

Perserverance always suceeed

anyone bought Toshiba inverter sys3? i got it from All Best for over $2500+ and just now when i read the forum, some people said they bought it for $2300+, but the post was mid last year. how much did others get it for?

anyone have a good place to buy sofa? had overspent so looking to cut down expenses starting on Sofa and dining table ..

anyway, i think it's an collective efforts that LTA finally agreed to it, i doubt they will do anything just because 1 person request. maybe let's start another collective effort to have a right turn into the entrance built
They will probably find this group of owners problematic.. ha ha

renotalk toking abt Hecom SEahorse sofa that is very cheap.

i always thought seahorse famous for its bed but apparently, the sofa are quite good deal also.

I know there's a seahorse outlet at Lot 1 Choa Chu Kang...maybe you can find it there.

Thank you Ryan and others for your effort. They rejected me once and I just gave up. So happy there'll be a bus stop near.

Ryan...some people may get it cheaper cause they may go for the minimium 3/8 thick insulation for the piping, as whati know it may cost up to $150 for the 1/2 insulation.Just like oil increase, i heard copper's price also increase too,maybe that the reason on someone could get a cheaper price for the same model last time.

U see..for me, i ended up spending $4.7k on air con as i also put a single spilt in the living room,bedrooms will be "airconed" by a sys3 non-inverter.

If u want to get cheap sofa and dining table, i suggest u can go sungei kabut to have a look, not the IFC but get it from those warehouse along the road.I got mine from K&D furniture and they do allow credit card installment plan up to 1 year if u have a tight cash budget...yeah..i got my L-shaped sofa, dining table,coffee table,shoe rack and a sliding wardrode cabinet for guest room for $2.1k there.

do they send monthly bill for conversatory fee?

or we have to pay it every month?

just check my mailbox that my fee is due but i don't remember receiving any bill. Only this subsidy of 50% or something.

hi winningelevan,

$4.7K is a lot of money! For me, i added $75 for 1/2" insulation for sys3. Sometimes i wonder if i should had got a split system to air-con my living room too... but in the face of electricity tariff keeps going up (1Apr08 will increase 5.7%), i doubt i will air-con my living room to cut down on electricity.
It's a difficult choice

Yea, i went down to Sungei Kadut recently and i realised after it that when people mentioned Sungei Kadut, it means the warehouses along there and not IFC. I was @ IFC the other day and find their things not anywhere cheaper. Heh heh... i will have to go down again one day and look at it.

Hi Guys,

Wanna check with you, does your id provide 3 d computer drawing? My id say she will only provide 3d paper type of drawing. I am really unhappy cos our discuusions is like weekly meeting as a result, my renovation may have to delay completely.

And also my id is like asking me to design rather than she help me to give ideas and ects. End up I have ot look for my design pictures and profile.Is that the case for you all?

I think mine the same as you... 3D drawing is by hand .. not by computer... my renovation is kind of delayed too cos she said she can start 2 weeks after i confirm, but now start only 4 weeks later... she said because i keep changing.. but then i didn't change anything major..

the design is mostly think by me... she only contribute whether it can be done or whether it looks feasible and nice based on her experience..

i think now ID becomes a consultant liao ... heh

Ryan,

Oh my god. Serious!! So if i no nuts about design then die. My hse will be very blank!!!!

Then how baout colours?? Did she show u the samples.

Li

Li

At sungei kadut, can check out the furniture club warehouse, they have many items on sales, most of these r still in gd condition display sets or outdated design

For 3D drawings, it should be computer generated, not hand-drawn, that’s very amateur leh, they should adhere to a wk schedule

Li,

we haven't got to the stage of color choosing yet... we will do it this monday. I think valerie's one also done by hand drawn only.. she showed it to me.. but then of course i would had preferred computer type.

Hi Kevin

I think will drop by Sungei Kadut again... that time only went to IFC and everything also looks quite ex... which buildings at Sungei Kadut, like the directions from IFC?

Many warehouses along the roads have advert banners
Quite obvious
As for furniture club (FC) warehouse, it’s at the junction near to IFC
It’s a white colony-style like building, but remember they close shop on wkends

for 3D drawing, thou the industry practice is to do a computer-generated then print it like as 4R photo, so tat u can keep it too

mayb the rendering of the 3D quite time-consuming n costly so some IDs are doing w/o it
I had quite few 4R printed, even few prints per room, diff angle, for u 2 perceive

hand-drawn, quite difficult to visualise leh

Regarding the new bus-stop n sheltered linkway
LTA should do one linkway for the other existing bus stop (with 99 and 242) @ blk 676b
In addition, more proper step-pathways at slopes around the vicinity

Today is exactly 1 mth + 2 days since moving in new home
Shiok, though quite quiet with not many families ard
Hope u guys and gals have equally fun time renovating
N move in soon