Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

wow this thread is moving so fast....no time recently to log in...moving so fast i cannot catch up...

oh ryan you sign up with All best in the end...ya i totally agree with you...gaincity also told us the same thing when we requested for 2 time installation.
all the ID we approached all tell us to have 2 times installation.
my colleague told me why ID will advise you for 2 installation is actually because ID do not want to bear any responsibility should your air-con damaged in midst of renovation (if air con is being fixed on in the 1st time installation/ one time off installation)

i also feel All best is more transparent..and they have case trust , shd be trustworthy...if you read reno-t forum, all best bad comments are before 2007. the good comments are the recent comments.

Lin >>> i am facing the same situation as you too. wonder if we are facing the same ID hehe..
in terms of qualities design practicabilities, we like this ID, but no freebies no FOC quote etc...
another ID has freebies FOC quote, but he is not a designer, he look like a contractor based. not sure if our house will turn out nice...

At first i also considered getting the aircon from Gaincity since it allow Credit card payment in installment, after knowing what Ryan had encountered from the shop, i will defintely not getting the aircon from them liao.(See they will start to loss potential customer if they keep on like this)Actaully i already intend to get from hong txx soon.

I hated those type of ignorance sale people who think he or she is the best,telling the person like dat can do and this not necessary, always want to assure on us not to be worried.Since what Ryan asked it just a standard requirement for aircon installation,why charged extra.For Gain city,i feel they will listed the aircon price as using minimum material such as in the G24 thickness copper gauge and 3/8 insulation,that why u have to pay for the "upgrade"

Till now, i still cannot forget what other forumers said abt the all best and best tech.Last year i went to a friend 's home after their renovation and he told me that their aircon installation is done by all best and it being done in 1 time installation only, he told me they made a big mess on the trucking layout and his contractor need "box up" and to hide the trucking.So the best is, your ID and u must be around during the first installation so that u can decide how the trucking will run, if not aircon installer will just hamdam anymore any place liao.U MUST BE AROUND TO SEE THE AIRCON INSTALLATION..

I had bad encounter with Best Tech, my whole renovation process is delayed by them. They sent in 2 juniors to do piping for me and in the end, run wrongly and is super ugly. Initially when i signed up with them, they told me tt their technicians are very experience and own dunno what certification...
I called their headquarter to demand an answer from them and in the end they send in their supervisor to redo for me again. If you wanna sign up with them, make sure u demand supervisor to run the piping for you.

Yah...just need to be around during air con installation and made sure that they will install the aircon according to the spec which is always come with the aircon model.

Communication is very important during aircon installation,i'm here not to push the blame entirely to aircon installer but sometime the reason to run the trucking in another way may because of the pillar beam undernealth the wall or other reasons so as to aloow the water to drain out..i believe it may a certain angle of gradient to allow water flow out rite?If home owner know why the reason of running the trucking this way earlier, at least they will not get the shock after the installation of aircon.

Just seen my ID drawing which my wife not happy with it even though she had not seen it at all,i told her the details of 3d drawing to her through phone..the reason cause our ID never follow our proposal on the HHS feature wall,just a normal plain wall cover on it which the design will be finlaised later.But in actual,what we want is a simple shallow storage on one side of the feature wall for us to pray.ID mentioned price will be different in that case and this really made my wife angry cause before they quoted us the reno price, we already mentioned this kind of feature wall design to be done to our HHS feature wall. How can we pay additonal for their own "mistake"...We already agreed the price for the things that we want and in return come out this...ID know it a mistake liao and said thing not finalised yet so will come out another HHS feature design..i m not here to say this company no good cause i know there is no such thing is so smooth sailing in renovation,sure bound to have some minor mistakes here and there, just that we want to made sure everything is done on what we want before we proceed to reno.

That's right, it is extremely important to be around when the installation of air-con are done. Your ID should be there to communicate how trunking should be plot, and you are there to check that the materials they use are as specific on purchase. Some things you have to check is if the insulator had any tore surface, no crack on the pipes, the brand that are used are the same etc... you're not there to relax lor... may sound a little bit kiasu but if you don't do that, you probably don't had the chance liao once it's installed in.

oic.. ya, i noe weiken and futurehome has the same boss but the 2 IDs i'm considering are not frm these 2 firms. thx, ryan for clarifying.

plasterbride, i'm actually quite angry at the more exp ID for not giving us any discounts becos for 1 ting, i've seen quotes by forumers (his previous clients) and some items he quoted us more exp. 2ndly, althou he didnt say, but i feel he didnt give us discount cos he thot we haven exceed our budget yet so no need.
tink i'm going to call him and ask him again for discount. if he refuses den i'll ask why and if he really dun wan to give den i'll let the other ID do lor. cos the final difference is abt 1k. ur decision?

Lin

hi Lin >> icic....yup i have experience with one ID also like this case also...just die hard to meet budget, and cut this cut that and tell us they have meet our budget
what we want is a decent design decent carpentry least something nice, else why shd we pay for ID, we might as well go for contractor ! they are much cheaper and follow your instruction, less headache...

icegin -> same blk as me rite? I saw yr air con installation done up few days earlier than mine. Looks quite okie from the outside.

Have yr reno started?

yr neighbour got complain u a not? Had a bad experience with one of the neighbour downstair..don't know from which flr -_-

hi sy chen,
my reno started 2 weeks ago, so far my neighbour still quite ok leh. I think my neighbour upstairs, downstairs and beside me all move in le. Even they wanna complain, I dun think they can get me too... lol Tt day what u saw is the redo of piping, second time is done by experience technicians. Most of my neighbours are previously living in Boon Lay, and my level 2 of the units are taken by son and mother. so dun play play, wait they gang up together... haha

haha

that means i was there at the wrong time.

the neighbour tell me that i had drilled for 2 days, ask me dun drill so many days can.

he work at night and need to sleep in the day -_-.

Next time can go yr house see see look look. We will be there tomorrow. ID will update status and the curtain man is cming to do dimension

can i just check...did you guys realise the MBR toilet flooring connecting to parquet is not done by HDB properly??? if we wash toilet, the water may just touch the parquet and over the years, I worried the parquet may just get damaged... (for st 93 flats...not sure of st 64 flats,.maybe same)

any idea??
i am thinking should I just pay some $$ to over-lay the parquet with tiles instead ??

Wait till the time when the lamintated flooring already damaged by the water,then spend money on overlaying the floor with tiles lor, U already pay money to HDB buying premium liao.But uf u really like to do for your new homes,just go ahead lor.

now i 'm on very budget planing after over spending on some items liao...just do or buy those things that really need to do is better.

hi sy chen,
feel free to drop by if u see my door unlock or my window open... lol
ur neighbour abit crazy leh, most of us will be doing reno now or at a later date. If i were u, i will tell him not to move in till everyone stop their reno. Everyone cant be stopping our reno juz becos he wanna z.

icegin, sure sure. We will be there tomorrow ard 1pm. If u there, can drop by too.

I told my friends they also say this guy weird. My direct neighbours also never complain, he come and complain.

If i drill in the day, only disturb him 1 person. If i do it in the night, the whole estate and police will come and find me -_-

Maybe the person just want to try his/her luck...understand that u cannot even rest properly when the renovation is goin on in the afternoon.I hope by the time i moved in May, things will be getting better, i noticed something, a lot of u units in those blk 987 seem to be vacant, don;t tell me HDB is holding it?

Hi SY chen,

Also can't blame ur neighbour much since he is doing night shift can understand that..renovation noise is alot more powerful than flying planes and others :p

need help here...wanted to get hob and hood soon for the home renovation, initially want to get chimey type but due to both side of my kitchen wall being taken up by the concealed piping concrete wall on the top ceiling, i cannot put chimey type...very sad and have to settle flat type now unless i cut my chimey length.So now wanted to get this rinnai brand but still getting confused as sale person suggest getting this fujioh brand...as my wife and me never cook before so also dunno what brand to trust..any recommandation??

We bought Rinnai - both for $700+ before the discount. We bought many other things so the discount was better.

stove is black glass type and we got the flat hood too. It comes with a glass that u can pull out to 'block' smoke or something.

Check with the salesperson on the warranty. If i never remember wrongly, Fujioh got better warranty.

if u wan, u can PM me for the salespersn i spoken to.

I always see the teka brand at the strait time classifled on saturday but can't find any comments abt this brand of hob and hood,but i believe the price for this brand seem to be higher side...anyway only after we used and cooked then we know its "peformance"

Seem like rinnai and this fujioh are quite popular at the renotalk forum..i think they are other popular brands too,today i was told that rinnai brand offer one year warrantly and need to change charcoal filter for the cost of $80 every year...not sure really need to change every year since my wife will be very light cooker and i only know how to cook instant noddles.

Saleperson warned me that want to get fujioh must booked now, always no stock and the selling point is warrantly for 3 years and can just clean the filter with water..but the flat type hood look very plastic leh.Price wise is more expensive than rinnai based from the product price lists

My wife also decided to get those black glass type..look nice if the solid tabletop also black too.

Actually i also seen those brand like brandt and electrolux for hob and hood at Havrey Norman ,any comments on it?

I heard that this poh joo from jalan besar can get lot of offers for hob and hood, i never been there before and will find out from there soon.

glass type easier to clean but in terms of durability, stainless steel better.

abt the charcoal, they said can modify 1. If i never remember wrongly, the charcoal is to cleanse the smoke when u cook curry or those strong smell food. If never cook, most likely not to change so often

wan to check, is it necessary to polish the parquet flooring or we can just leave it as the way we get from HDB?

folks..
been shopping ard for fridge, washing machine, hob and hood over on sunday..
Most likely getting the LG washing machine and fridge...
As for hob and hood, will be getting technogas...
I was at HM on sunday so one shot ask everything...
will be getting the tampered glass in silver colour..black very hard to maintain as dirt and fingerprints easily seen...
hood will be getting those flat type...
after 10% will be ard $730...i think is quite reasonable...
My mum has ben using the brand for over 25 yrs so I guess it is quite reliable...

purpletulips,
i will ask my ID to do the vanishing for me...
including all the rooms and skirtings for the while house at $300 plus...
can choose glossy, semi gloss and matt..
he said the best results is semi gloss...

my ID told us it okie to leave it as it is. They will clean it up for us.

i was just wondering what the difference between having the vanish and not having it. Only thing i noe is the colour difference.

This kind of vanish must do every few years or 1 time will do?

HDB got help us do 1 ah the vanish?

the cooker hood and hob i got from teka is stainless steel, one of the key factors i considered is the cooker hob is shorter in length... which is good for us as we do not cook often and we need more tabletop space. If we uses other standard size of hob, it appears that it would not leave me with much of tabletop space if we want to put a oven on it. (decide against built in). If we still want to put the rice cooker, water flask and like bread toaster... there would be a space crunch!

usually re-grind is done with polishing with varnish to bring out the color. I wasn't sure if there is any purpose to varnish it without re-grind, and you can only re-grind 3 or 4 times because of the thickness of the parquet. Probably you can do it again in a few years time but it is horrible job to do it after yu had moved in because of the dust particles flooding the house after it. Therefore, it's best to do it once before you move in during renovation. I don't think HDB will do it for you after you had reno as some scratches if there is would had been caused by renovation. I was told it is hard to avoid any scratches on the parquet during reno. If you ask HDB to do it before the reno, it really defeats the purpose because scratches would appear again after the reno. So best to pay your ID $$ to do it. If you kiasu and ask the HDB to do re-grind and re-polish... and if your ID do it again during reno, it would only make the parquet thinner and who knows, if you want to re-grind again in a few years time, you have no more parquent to grind. These are some considerations you might want to think about. Hope it helps.

I agree with Christine, semi gloss is probably the best finish. If choose gloss, any small scratches may look too obvious to the eyes.

Been quite sometime since I surfed the forum
Have moved in since late feb
Then kanna reservist

Advice here, u can arrange for hdb contractor to do the re-varnishing for ur parquet FOC.
Just make an appt with them to come down after ur reno completes.

That’ll save u easily abt 300 bucks
They will help u to grind/fill the gaps/scratches
Then they will vacuum, clean before varnishin

Another thing for ur attention
Apparently, starhub had given their cables to hdb during construction
Thus our cable pts are “starhub-ready†but not activated yet
So for new flats like ours, we receive no broadband or cable tv even if we plug in our modem or tv
To receive, we have to request starhub to come down to activate our cable pts
Have 2 pay $30+ for this service

However, starhub also do a one-off mass activation for our new blks
In fact, I jus received a letter, dropped @ my doorstep to tell me that they will come down this wed to do my activation. Ah so late, oredi paid $30 for them to come in feb.

U may want to check whether ru have the letter at ur main door handle
Cos if u miss this time (mass activation), the next time they will charge u for separate apt
For the appt, the owner would need to be present in the house, cos the starhub pple will go ard in ur house to activate all pts, including the one in bomb shelter.

mass activation don't have to pay ah?

alamak, i scare my reno workers take away the paper.

any telephone # we can call to check?

oh..i call Starhub. Press 1 for english, 2 and than 3 for technical support to check yr appointment

Blk 678A is on 20th between 2-6pm

kevin, do u have the contact of the contractor who polish yr floor?

i called the service centre and they told me that they don't provide such services. Instead, ask me to contact 1 of their contractor.

That’s strange
I liaised with the service centre for their parquet contractor to do my varnishing
Did not contact with their sub-contractor directly

Btw there r 2 different contractors
1 is to do ur bedroom parquet
the other do ur LR timber skirting
so need to ensure both come down on same day

then if the tv is activated, will we need to start paying? There's a fee for "watching tv" or something like that right?

What starhub does is to activate ur cable pts
They will only bill u if u subscribe to their service – cable tv or/and broadband
If u not getting their service, no bill

Other bill u need to pay annually is the tv licence, which is regardless of whether they activate ur cable tv, and regardless when u move in

I've called up the contractor for the starhub cable activation. According to them, for my blk, there will be another round on 29 March from 2pm - 4pm.

if we are going to add more tv points during reno, is it that no point to ask them activate now? since we have to arrange them to activate new points? Or they activate based on the unit, not on the point itself...advise.

i just called starhub. my block 678C activation will be on 20th Mar thursday. Timing not sure cos they are not able to advise me..tell me to go and check my mailbox .. haizz have to travel down tomo..

If you miss the activation, you will have to pay $30 to arrange special trip down... Just for your info... you will have to be present cos they need to go into your house and check all the tv points..

Mine is street 93,do i need to call them to activate later or wait for them to come to our home as on plan schedule? ?? I don;t even know they got any notices left at our doorstep or mailbox

By the way,my new home aircon piping and trucking had been done for my new home today..even though my reno with my ID has yet to start...so when the air con technician drilled the wall for the piping and doing the trucking ,u will see the "virgin" wall start to got hole here and there ..so very heart pain.Actually my ID also got his own "tie up" with another aircon company and recommanded that they will made at least 3 trips if i sign up with them.First trip will be just the piping layout planning only,then follow by the usual 2 times installation provided by the company.In the end ,i choose to buy the aircon from hong ...

Here come the important part...i'm happy with the 1st time installation by them, copper used are brand new and used the correct size insulation for the piping.Clearing up the mess like those stone deris before they left.For that,they took almost 6 hours for their 1st time installation.

Except my living room where the trucking is running behind the wall which is the common toilet wall ,the rest of trucking for the bed room can be seen, for the 2 bedrooms , aircon unit will be above door entrance,so trucking is still minimium.as for the masterbed room , it is placed above my toilet entrance too,so will see trucking goin out to the small window near to the air con ledge,although no trucking look nice but if anything happen,u have to tear down whatever wall , box or false ceiling that concealed the trucking.Hopefully i will be able to post photo soon

i realised we can't ask them to on the signal

my living room cable point is shifted and has nt been installed back yet.

the hdb contractor is quoting us $350 to varnish the whole house. Have nt tried bargainning for better price even thouogh he tell us is fixed price.