Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

I **** pissed off with my new neighbour!!!!
They are just beside me. They just moved in as they from the boon lay enbloc. Initial, thot they are nice!!!The way they questioned abt my background was very weird....asked me who lived with me??got children???parents living with me???very old huh???come on la,my parent younger than them!!!what are they trying to find out???their grandchildren 2x tuo tuo toy car already parking infront of my main door!!They sumemore put their shoe rack against the water service duct which I can't open!Everyday I went to inspect my flat, there is a red towel hanging directly infront of my maindoor corridor day and night without fail , and they put their SHAO JIN ZHI tin beside my flat which is near the staircase....think other neighbours might thot i placed that thing down there!

Think they are trying to be funny.......or testing my patient!!!!
When I think of my new neighbour,I can't be excited of my new flat!!!!

bliss ang , i can guess how you feel...are you staying in st 93 or st 64..
last weekend i went to my new hse at st 93 and kpo to other floors see see look look...some neighbours are really very inconsiderate put lots of things at corridor when the door is open you can see their laundry..

actually my current hse now also faced the same situation due to an inconsiderate I*D*** neighbour. they hang clothes just right infront of our door step. every morning go out of house must see their underwear !! damn unlucky.. until to the stage i cannot tolerate , i wrote a letter and put in their mailbox !! i told them to be considerate else I will report to town council. i hack care the relationship turn sour or wat because in the first place they started first !!!

I bought my air-con today !! yeah one load off...
the salesman at All best sounded more honest than Gaincity...we wanted to buy from gain city at first but tot maybe just survey All Best, realise All Best price is lower than Gaincity and their service and more transparent, so we settle the deal on the spot.. =)

talking about defects..we are still pending for HDB to complete our newly reported defects and those unfixed ones.....our officer did not response much, just say he will look into it..
any idea if it is true that HDB's window and floor contractor are different person/company that why they has to do separately ???

my officer say he is unable to fix the window crack due to lack of parts, ask us to start renovation first. but start reno. first pose a risk right???

Long time since I last posted..busy with work..you guys/gals sure moving very fast along with your posts...took me a while to read to catch up..

Plasterbride, which floor did you get at 989B?

Plasterbride,

Same as what told to my hubby..
Cos we complained for paint stains on windows and ask them to clean..
The contractor said not under him and someone will handle this for us...

Maybe they are in groups and some handle different areas...

I just had a 7hrs discussion with my ID!
Choosing laminates and colour schemes is not easy!!!!

christine, choosing the materials are not easy

my friend tell me must split into a few days if not eyes flower flower.

we chosen the first time, than our ID amend the drawings for us and till now, we are still making minor changes here and there. Haha, this is where additional $$ will come in le!

Haha...
I chose to do it everything in one day to see the results in 3D...
Cos expected changes here and there...
Esp hubby left halfway through the discussion as he need to work today....
So at least let him see the end results and make changes if he dun like the colours that I have chosen....
Went to see sofa today to match our living room theme.....
Seems like I need to get lighter shade sofa instead of grey or black...
Was thinking to get fabric sofa as there are more patterns to choose from...
Hubby was thinking to get something with a touch of red like red patterns on it with light background....
But I have chosen light brown for our living room bomb shelter feature wall..
Seems like cannot match and need to change liao!
Hahaha!

Plasterbride,btw did your neighbour know that it was you who sent them that letter?

They are elder, not old. Today i went to question them. That ah pek said that bo bian,their hse not enough space to put those items!!!!!????They are a bunch of selfish and inconsiderate people. I also got a lot of stuffs after I shift in, but I won't be so thickskin to put my own things infront of their hse and block the common corridor!!!

christine >> ya i guess so lor...we just has to push HDB no choice. since HDB is the middle man....
wah 7 hrs !!! that is almost like the whole day ! you really has stamina..2 hrs of discussion with ID already killing me already...
which ID you chosen ??

shopping for furniture is fun isn't it ??? hehe
i also been window shopping for fridge and washers these few days...kinda of fun because i love to shop for fridge since young hehe...love the thrill of opening fridge doors..haha

KC >>I am in the middle floor. you can add me on MSN [email protected] to chat more. you are also in blk 989B ???

olivia >> hehe thanks...well well well..guess i shall do the same..hehe

I hope my neighbour is okie. So far, on friendly terms.

Corner unit got bad points also. If we are having house warming, i duno where to put the buffet, might have to put at the corridor

after comparing, i feel that harvey norman offer better prices than best denki.

duno izzit depends on salesperson but harvey norman more willing to give discount than best denki.

True...
HM even can offer $500 lesser than the retail price and yet give all the freebies as stated...
Hahahaha!
I think the sales rep play an impt part...

Today I was at the IT show..
It was crazy sale for LCD TVs..
SONY and SAMSUNG are so cheap!
I can see everyone dragging 32 inch TV home!
Sony was selling the S series...32 inch at $899 today!
I almost tempted to get the W series...FULL HD at 40 inch...at only $2490!!!
But hubby said wait and see first..
Cos when new models come out, it may drop further!

christine, i also saw that!! I ask the salesperson got cheaper meh for cash and carry. he tell me same price.

i think probably people don't want to wait so long for delivery coz they told us 1 month delivery.

actually i think they put the W series price wrongly. V series 40" they selling for $2499 so how W series can be selling for $2490?

Anyway the deal for some of the Sony LCD TV seems to be "not so good" at the IT show. That's what i notice at Sony side. however Samsung and Panasonic TV really good deal. I was almost tempted. In the end, think i still want a LCD TV.

Like you, i didn't buy any LCD TV in the IT Show. Feel price will continue to drop once the newer models are out. I think after this IT Show, the prices at retailers will also drop starting today, either slightly cheaper or matched the same as it. It's very hard for them to sell at higher price now. Waiting game now ... time is on my side.. only need it in Sept. Hee

Hi Ryan, hmm..any idea do they still have the blueish and greenish tiles to replace??
just wondering.. cos the house seems to have been there since 2001. i just sent them a list to add on to my defect list.

today first day of reno!

they are fast. The wiring are up already. Tomorrow is installation of air con. Than probably will drop by the service centre to ask the status of the outstanding items. They have not changed the letter box lock for us

Folks...

Quick update..
Hubby just went to check the grouts of the tiles for living, kitchen and 2 toliets..
They are white and clean now..
Awaiting them to do polishing...
Intend to drop by tomorrow after work to see the results and also check the workmanship!
Cos I ask ID before, if I want him to do, it is not cheap!

Sy,

So fast, you are starting the reno already!
I'm waiting for everything to be done and HDB return the key to me....
Then I can start to source for aircon and ask them to install for me asap..
My fren said I am taking things so easy and relax..
No sense to hurry things up cos I got alot of things haven't buy yet!

Which estate you're referring to? St64 or St93? I'm staying at St.64, the buildings only about 2 or 3 years old i was told. As far as i heard, the wall tiles are still available but the floor tiles the service centre had run out.. but i think they will tell you where can buy.. can't remember the place now.

Sy Chen,

They just changed the letterbox lock for us 2 days ago... funny why they don't do all the defects reported for the letterbox altogether.. anyway it seems they had run out of the lock type liao.. if you notice those who had it fixed earlier had a different lockpad as the later batch of us... i think the earlier batch lockpad looks nicer... :S

Christine,

i also ask them to re-do the glout.. but quite upset to see they only apply new glout over the old glout, they didnt remove the old glout.. and it appears the glout would come off easily .. cos it's not the original glout. I'm worried the glout woudl keep coming off and my floor would always had little bit of white powder... sian...

Thanks Ryan! I'm staying at St 93. my flat was there since 2001. hmm.. Like you say, If they dun have the floor tiles, then got to change all my floor tiles...

air con has to go up first

once air con up, they can do the false ceiling le

remember to ask yhr contractors to lay cupboard or protective sheet on the floor during reno. if not, yr white lines also become black

oh i duno i got mention anot

ASk yr air con person to come 2 trips. One to install the trucking, the other time to install the blower.

It is optional lah but if everything do within 1 day, the wall behind yr air con will not be painted. Quite ugly loh

SY, I think most of the aircon retail shops within IMM provide the service of 2 trips...that's what I got from their quotation from the row of shops including ALL best, Gain City etc...

Of coz if they dun provide...we must insist...

Ryan..
I saw one one reno T blog at renotalk forum..
One forumer from st.64 said that his new grout came off after chemical wash was done..
He intended to ask HDB to redo again..
Seems like problems are never ending!

Pai seh...
Is not chemical wash...just normal vaccumm cause the grout to drop off..
Seems like another user also complain the grout wont "eat" and hers was done 3 times!

Christine,

I think can't prevent one... my ID told me it will always happen, unless you redo the whole floor tiles. The new glout won't bite with the old glout to hold...

My had 2 or 3 parts came off ... let's see how ... i did another wash today and none came off.. maybe the weak parts are all that few that came off already .. maybe i can live with it.

Hi Ryan,
What's wrong with your letter box lock? Cannot open or close properly or just look rusty?

Anyone changed the locks at the Gas, water and electricity riser? Mine have the rusty looks.

I have yet to submit any defects list!

Today, i went to sign up my Air Con with All Best and place a 10% deposit. Yay you heard me right. I had also place at $100 deposit with Gain City in december but i was so upset with them that i rather forfeit the $100. Anyway, All Best is cheaper ...

Gain City refused to budge when i insisted on 2 time installation. They say i need to pay $84 for second trip. I refused... i told them isn't it "standard" or for the best concern of the consumer to have install 2 time? For them to reject, it shows that they did not put the consumer interest in the first place, except their own interest. It is widely suggested that installation for new houses be preferably done in 2 time installation, to protect the fan coil from all the reno's dirts and dust. The guy keep telling me, no need lah .. say i bullshit and told me can do all in the same day and the reno won't kill my air con.

Lost my patience and went to All Best today and bought it. I will try to write to the head office and demand the deposit be transferred to another item... maybe vaccum cleaner or something.. i doubt can happen but will try...

ya..
ask them to change the letterbox lock for you..
be prepared that the design may be totally different from what you have now...
hahahaha~

ryan..
so jialat?
i was at IMM just now for dinner..
wanted to go and ask abt aircon but hubby was tired and lazy..
i think i will go all best next week....

Ryan...
I was quite surprised that Gain city no longer provide 2 times installation for air con purchase,now really getting more and more negative comments abt the shop liao.So which is the shop that u placed deposit to???. Anyway why u placed deposit before u know that they only provide 1 time installation?

Actually ithe all best and best tech aircon also received a lot of negative comments that i won't think i will step into those shop.

Anybody know of any place where i can get nice lamps for cosy corner? Can be standing or those hang on the ceiling.

I prefer no straws/strings cover.

i didn't noe 2nd trip is free.

The salesperson told us before hand when we purchase that it is charageable. So we were not caught unexpected.

So now we noe, never take things for granted. To think you had got such a good price. The salesperson also should not withhold such information lah.

anyway, did u get back the same price for yr air con purchase? U mentioned earlier that air con prices will increase, like this worth it meh for just $80+ and giving up $100 deposit and paying extra now.

Took a lot of pictures from reno starting. Will post them up tonight!!

I also bought my aircon from All best. I find them more transparent. Gain City isn't that transparent-u need to pay additional for better insulators and piping. Also need to pay for 2nd trip.

All best gave me all the stuff that Gain City is giving at no additional cost. Its around 10-15% cheaper. Thats a lot if u r getting the inverter system.

Just FYI they have also fixed up for me my piping. my advice is pls be there when they are fixing it. U really need to monitor the whole process. Thats 1 thing i regreted. Its done ok but not up to my expecations.

hi all, seeking advice now. Would u go for a cheaper ID who is very sincere in doing ur biz or the more exp ID who refuses to give any discount but with more experience and better designing ideas? the things tt we want them to quote are almost the same but the difference in price is abt $800-900.
Thx!

Lin

When purchasing aircon for your new home, the best is to do some work home first, with the help of internet, i believe u can get a lot of info from it, here is the website where u can gather much abt aircon .After reading it for so many times, we will not be so goondu to believe whatever saleperson had said

http://singapore-aircon.blogspot.com/

When buying aircon, brands and cost doesn't always mean good if the installation and the workmanship turn up to be poorly done!!

Hi Lin...
The best is u can get to see their reno work being done on someone's else home.Or u have any friend's home being done up by the ID,at least u can get honest reply from them

I don't believe on judging on those workmanship can carpetary works from those shownroom from the ID's company, u seet they must be so nice nice and i know is all bullshit and wayang one lah..

Actually i had yet to see my ID 3D drawing but i can say that he will soon become more like a coordinator to my home reno cause i always feel his ideas always kanna back-fired by me...The reason i signed up with him is because one of my friend's home is done by his company (/Futurehome / weikxx)which i find it to be very nice!!Secondly, he is not pushy at all throughout the negotiation which made me feel comfortable talking to him and lastly he is trying very hard to keep the reno cost within our budget.Before that I demanded "Free gift" from them,if not i won't sign with them..haha

Bwt the two type of ID service which u posted..For me...i feel i will rather go for more experience and have better ideas type of ID,unless u got yr own ideas ,then no need to pay for their "service" rite. of course can give price cheaper also better.But i think the most impt the ID must be responisible type, able to follow up , not absent-minded type lah.

It must be the 3rd or 4th time that website is posted down here.. heh.. yay must read it.. i read the whole thing before purchasing my Air Con.

My reno will start on 2nd Apr, quite disappointed that it takes so long because my ID promised me that it would be earlier but apparently not now.

thx winningeleven for ur advice.
both are good IDs recommended from other forumers and after a few meet-ups with them, i must say they are both pretty good (responsible) and comfortable to work with, tt's why it's such a dilemma for me and my husband now. haiz... actually both are within budget, just that one has more savings than the other. the exp ID so "niao", no freebies or discount and quote more exp, tt's why duno whether to give him the job or not, if not in terms of other qualities he's actually better.

Lin

Ryan..last time I asked Gain City...I managed to get the guy to commit to 2 trips free of charge...but his price was more expensive than ALL Best and Best Tech...so I didnt go for him...

Anyway, I think its best to write down everything you want first.the aircon website is a very good reference...i got my knowledge from them..haha..

so when the guy want to sign the contract with you for 10 % deposit, you can go thru your checklist..make sure he writes everything he promised in the contract..otherwise they can back out and say they never promised..

Lin,

Both of them are under the same management, same boss. I don't think it matters which one you goes to. They even share the same office at the back.

All best went through every details with me, quite satisfied with it. Gain City didn't, keep saying don't worry etc and nothing written. I wanted him to write something that time i can't remember what that was, he told me no need cos it's understood.

huh? ryan, the 2 IDs tt i'm refering to are from different companies. 1 is his own boss so i dun quite understand what u mean by they are under the same management. can enlighten me? thx...

Lin