Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

i bought it from gain city back in december, notice price had already increased a little. i wasn't sure if it's a great idea to buy from gain city but since already place the deposit, no need to think again.

my reason to choose gain city because it's quite a big company. anything goes wrong can complain to the top ... if i buy from Hong Txr who can i complain to? the lady or the staff? Hee

ryan, u dun like gain city but still get aircon from them?

I think only Gain city charge additional for the thicker piping - $40 per unit. Went to Besttech and allbest, they say is FOC 1.

The salesperson mention to us that before they complete installation, they will vacumm out the water vapour or something before sealing it.

Are you guys hiding the trucking in the cupboards or exposing it? Run on top of the wall or on the floor?

i seen one of the unit placing the 2nd compressor outside the ledge. Leaning against the wall leh.

Helo~!!!
Glad to be back. So many posts already, i lost track. hurhur...Hows everything?
Anyone completing reno next wk? =)

anybody hiding their trucking under false ceiling?

Just a qns, i understand that air con trucking has to be of certain gradient so that the water will flow. Apparently, if water can flow well, than the chances of leaking will be minimal.

we are still figuring how the trucking should be laid. Part of it will be cover by the wardrobe but those trucking to the rooms will be exposed.

If it has to be of certain gradient, i worried that i will see slanted trucking.

Today i learnt something. Drilling has to be done under the beam while the aircon can fixed on the beam. So installation of air con also a big knowledge. Haha

hwee hwee,

i also got the same reply from them. i told them i can give them many examples where bus stops are less than 350m and 400m apart.. especially in a densely populated areas.

sy chen,

i supposed i will try to hide it under the false ceiling.. if not possible.. then no choice have to exposed it. your trunking have to go via the beam? can avoid it? i haven't think about it much...

how come we have to headache over the trucking ? aren't our ID suppose to do the job for us ?? or you mean we have to tell the air-con people ah ?? *clueless*

for the price of air-con, we went to gain city just now in IMM, the salesman told us the price increase is due to the price of material, because copper price increase, due to shortage, not so much of seasonal. and air-con price has been increasing, not decreasing. back in Dec/Jan, was due to CNY promotion, so come Mar when the new batch of air-con arrive, they will increase price.

Hi peeps,
Been a long time since I last posted!

Progress so far...
1. HDB still own me 1 or 2 defects that need to be done..Promised 2 weeks and still dragging...
Hubby went down on Monday to nag abit!

2. Signed and confirmed my ID already...Waiting for his initial drawings next week....
Exciting to see the results...

3. Bought the first item for the house...The most important BED! Got the Serta missonri range...We like firm bed so decided to choose this...
Wanted to get simmons but hubby said way over budget...hehe~

4. Been looking around for electrical stuff, kitchen stuff, furnitures etc....
Weekend always spent at furniture malls and major shopping mall...

Looking through at all your posts, seems like Im way behind in my purchases!!!!

christine > you are not way behind...i am even more behind than you......i haven't even confirm my ID....only bought the bed and still nagging HDB to fix the remaining defects...

we also been shopping around malls and shopping malls for electrical stuffs or meeting up ID...weekend all burn...so tired...wanna take a break how i wish..

Hi plasterbride,

I went to Best Denki at IMM just now...
Asked abt the prices for TV and also "shun biang" asked abt the IT show this week..
The sales rep told me Best Denki will be there for SONY and SAMSUNG brands...(Dun know how accurate)
The retail stores will match what is offered at the IT show..
He told me no need to go down and squeeze with people...
Hahaha!
No harm to go and take a look loh...
I intend to go down too...

By the way, I complained the letter box lock was rusty and asked for replacement...
Today, we went to kaypo and checked whether changed already anot...
Guess what we saw...
Some of the units also changed but not the same design....I can see 3 different types of locks!
Hahahaha...I told hubby that they may have run out of the original locks and just replaced with locks which they can find..

why can't they just change the whole lot of letterbox lock? wait for one complain then change one lock, isn't it a little bit bo liao...

get at IT show, maybe prices more or less the same but usually alot of freebies!!!

olivia, mine completion expected to be first week of April. My ID also quite gan chiong and push a lot of things for us.

plasterbride, ID will coordinate for us but ultimately it is us who decide where the air con should be. I try not to rely too much on ID - even though we pay him for the services. Have to follow up closely also, just in case either one of us miss out something impt

christine, how much u pay for yr Serta bed? The sheep so cute!! $68 per piece i think. haha

ryan, i worry hiding the trucking in the false ceiling, next time got leaking might affect the wiring.

The ID offer to throw in the false ceiling free for us but we are quite skeptical.

BTW, those faceplate for switches, is it common rule that they are provided by ID free or we have to buy?

Anybody facing the same problems as me with regards to the defects. My MBR bathroom tiles are so ugly..The line between the tiles is so thick and & brown. Not sure if that's how it is or due to poor workmanship. Do you think they can do something about it?

Ms Blur,

You can probably ask them to re-do the glout but then i think it will still be as thick, and only whiter... cos they will be using back the same set of floor tiles. And i have doubts if they simply apply new glout over the existing glout or if they actually dug out the old glout and replace it with the new glout.

SY Chen,

I got sceptical if the IT show is the best time to grab discounts or freebies. Usually there are 2 cases. Either they are genuine cheap or it is just an opportunity for them to get rid of their old stocks before the launch of new models. Was informed very soon a new series of TV which is more slimmer will hit the market soon, i won't be surprised if this is their chance to get rid of stocks and price of the old models will fall, even cheaper than in the IT show if it is true.

In the end, nobody can really tell. I think if you feel the deal is good, then just go for it. I almost bought Sony V series back during the CNY promotion but hestitated because i was advised by salesperson from not 1 but all 3 places i went to, to wait further before buying since they realised i don't really need it until Sept and they are certain that price will fall.

I heard over 933 that tomor Harvey Norman will have a one day "hardly normal" offer for air-con. 933 will announce it around 8.20am. I think HN conducts such special offer once every week with different items each week. So remember to tune in or go down HN check tomor. It's only limited to tomor thur one day only.

The previous msg on the confusion part is for ryanon

Ryan on, Btw, i have clarified the confusion already. Inoe who is the ID liao. I will call her soon. Thank you Ryanon.

Li

Hi Sy Chen and Chrisitine,

Is it ok that you all pm me the items you all have for renovation and its quote and the id. Thank you very much.

Li

Hi SY Chen,
I got the bed for $2890 in total...got abit of discount from the sales rep...plus free gifts...
Included 2 free sleeping sheeps and you can choose the numbers on the sheep!
I havent decide the numbers yet..maybe our yr of birth or our anniversary date..
The bed frame also KIV first cos havent decide the room wall colour..
Will confirm the above 2 things 2 to 3 weeks before the bed delivery...
Hahaha!
Heard from the sales rep, he ever encountered walk in customers who wants to buy the sheep!

Hi Li,
The ID is a friend of mine...
Maybe you can contact him for a brief discussion which I think will be better...
Pricing wise maybe abit too sensitive to disclose as he may charge differently since I know him personally...
http://www.lengthnbreadth.com/
His website never really updated but he can show you more samples of his work....
Overall, his pricing is quite competitive with others I must say....
He do not have any physical shop so perhaps can keep his fixed cost low...

Hi Ms blur,
My living room has hollow and stained tiles being replaced...
Now the new glout are so white and clean looking compared to the existing ones!
I wanna submit my 2nd list to HDB this week and ask them to redo for the whole living room....

h christine...thanks for sharing the best denki feedback..hehe...
told my HTB, we decide to grab appliances in the Sep/Dec IT show sale since we will only move in in Nov/Dec...now might be too early to grab..buy liao also never use..might as well wait for new models out and wait for the price to drop..all my friends told me electrical appliances price will drop due to new technology and they will want to clear old stocks like what ryan mention..they slash those current/old models during the IT show so that new models can launch after the IT show at higher price..(i do agree on this, because I am also working in retail line

my letterbox also very rusty ! aiya forget to complain this. will ask my HTB to complain on this.

my htb called Harvey N today to ask about the price of air-con in tomorrow one day sale, they say the aircon sale is limited to certain model only...the system 4 inverter we considering not on sale. =(
so sad...

Welcome..
The sales rep at best denki also told me IT show is a way to clear the old stocks...
Cos when I looked at HD Ready Samsung 40 inch LCD TVs, got 2 models selling very cheap...less than 2K now...
Becos want to clear stock!
Nowadays, LCD TVs are so cheap.....
Dun rush to buy..
My fren made a terrible mistake when she bot her 32 inch Samsung TV 1 yr ago when she dun even need it until May this year!
Now still in original box laying somewhere in the storeroom!

olivia, do u give 'open work' ang bao to yr ID when they start work?

i hearing 2 views - some say need, some say dun need. $10 too little?

i told my ID i put the 40% payment in the ang bao and give it to him can a not? He say i joking rite!

SY Chen,

Yes new models are always expensive for launch. However, we're looking at old models whose price will fall further once new models are launched.

You wouldn't want to buy new models unless you have lots of budget. It's a big premium to pay for being the pioneer owners of it.

Today Harvey Norman having a one-day offer for air-con. Heard from 933 branded system 3 for $1870. Including installation for HDB flats and one year warenty. Hope I hear it correctly.

Olivia and SY Chen >>> what do you mean by 50% ? need to give them 50% of the renovation total price before they can start work ? or just small hongbao for gd luck ???

ya new models are expensive when first launch...so we shall wait for promotion or sale period to buy..if we are eyeing a particular model...

sighz technology is progressing super fast...hard to catch up

We can never catch up with tech loh..
Forever keep upgrading and better...
Just buy when you need..no rush...

Today, I went to submit my 2nd defects list about the grout of the replacement tiles and old tiles..
Cos now the new grout are clean and white compared to the old ones...
The lady told me can wash....MAKE MY BLOOD BOIL!
Then she said I got many replacement tiles issit...
I replied and said YES! At least 15 tiles...
You want to come and see for yourself??
WAH BIANG!!!!!
I told her my friend got hers redo and including the kitchen and 2 toliets cos those grouts also faded liao and not white anymore...
Then she bo biang and said accepted my defects and will write down...

I also went to check the progress of my defects..
Realised one side of the skirtings in living room seemed to be repainted as it looked darker....some area of the walls also repainted..
Guess what...found 2 lines of paint stains on the floor tiles....
*faint*

Reply from West Coast Town Council in short regarding request for covered walkway from bus stop to estate.

"Your request for a covered walkway to link Blk 678D to the nearest bus shelter will be taken into consideration in the planning of the estate improvement facilities by the Committee.

We wish to thank you for your feedback."

Our ID payment term is 20 40 30 10

once confirm, pay 20% deposit. Before start work another 40%. Mid way is 30% + Variation order if any. Than after completion is the balance.

This saturday is 'tong du' mah but it is just a ceremony. Actual work will start on Monday.

Reply from LTA on request for new bus stop along St64

"Siting bus stops at such close distances will result in frequent
stop-and-go motion for buses. Passengers will also find such rides to be
uncomfortable. Furthermore, it will increase the travelling time of bus
services and disrupt the vehicular flow. For the above reasons, we regret
to inform you that we are unable to accede to the request."

Where do you guys go and look to choose for a good dates to start work? My ID asking me to give her a date to start work somewhere in first week of Apr.

I read in the Strait Times this morning that the HD Ready TV in the IT show is selling like hot cakes because the price is slashed for newer models introduction soon.

It quoted a Samsung 40/42" are selling for only $1499.

I guess what the salesman told me is true. They are using this to clear old stocks. If you are not tempted by the IT show promo and if you can wait, i think price will fall even further in the next 2 months once new models are released.

Lucky i was not tempted by the CNY promo, now i will try to resist the temptation to buy from the IT show. Hee hee

ryan, u can ask those shops that sell praying stuff to help you or go temple to ask them to help u.

if u not pantang or what, can just flip thru the calender. There are some calendars that have chinese words written like which day good for what, bad for what.