Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

err..im a bit lost!
so considering if im renovating end of 2008, i don't need to apply for water/electricity now.. and that, i'll apply closer to the date of renovation so that i can do my inspection blah blah..
then from now till end of 2008, do i need to pay S&CC charges?

hi whyme,

S&CC is not utiliy charges. It is conservancy charges that you paid for the cost of maintaining your neighbourhood. And yes, you have to pay S&CC once you collects your key, doesn't matter if you live in it. S&CC is about $750 a year.

On water/electricity, you can activate when you want to starts renovation. However, i suggest you activate it not too late because you have to check if the piping and water is flowing good, or else had to report. I think the cost that is independent of usage will not be much, so just paid a few dollars a month lor.

what you think of furniture club? their sales people are kind of pushy eh, and anyone bought their $3888 or something package deal?

Is it confirm that we have can extend reporting of defects before renovation or within 1 year of taking keys? Who do you all hear from? Any website to confirm that?

the hosue is guaranteed for a year
so must submit within 1 year

We forget to ask if by 1 year the defects are not rectified, than whether we are stil 'guaranteed' but nevertheless, the officer advised us not to drag too long so that they can rectify asap

Uneven ceiling considered defect a not?

Collected our keys yesterday after dozens of signatures.

I'll be living at 675x! Facing the Dou Tian Gong.

The main door very difficult to open, got rite keys oso no use! Cos many years din open oredi!

Need to use é™é¾™å八掌 to open.

Abit retarded, now then starting to feel excited.

Collected our keys yesterday after dozens of signatures.

I'll be living at 675x! Facing the Dou Tian Gong.

The main door very difficult to open, got rite keys oso no use! Cos many years din open oredi!

Need to use é™é¾™å八掌 to open.

Abit retarded, now then starting to feel excited.

sohyencher
if the main door is difficult to open, u can note it down as a defect and request contractor to rectify it. anyway these flats are only completed recently, thus it may not be the problem of flat-too-old-and-many-yrs-din-open. probably the main door lock is faulty or need some lubrication.

wanted to choose a high floor overseeing the temple, and can see far far till PIE, not bad a view. but was advised not to live above and face a chinese temple. not that auspicious. i was told. although not a 'pandan' pax,have to listen to seniors or else nagging will come along if i did choose an unit overseeing the temple.

so i presume u picked 675B, that's the only one (together with 676B) that is opposite the temple. welcome, i'm at 675B too.

hi ryan,

which FC branch did u went to? I was served by Danny. He's very nice, not pushy. i'm also interested in one of their furniture but i read some bad comments on their services and delivery, as in their goods not delivered in the promised state and time. so abit worried. duno still want to commit or not.

Lin

Anyway it's opened!

Abit dissapointed with the size of the kitchen n bedrooms, living room too big & long. Pantry sh be installed outside the kitchen for making drinks. Really fall short fr expectations. I still dreaming to get a microwave oven, new forget it!

My mum who'll be moving to 989X has a bigger kitchen & she's quite satified.

Sorry to write like a grumpy old woman.

As for the temple, I fell in love with it at the 1st sight. So beautiful,equitsive like a piece of art!

Sohyencher, why can't get microwave ocean?

speak to more ID and see what they suggest. i seen worse kitchen for the 4-roomers. U might want to go to the showflat to see how they do it

Hi Kevin, I was also worried abt their workmanship after reading frm forums. The ID did brought us to one unit which she had done. Overall it looks fine.

Actually, to be honest, I dun really noe how to look at workmanship. I mean, how do i see whether its good or bad??? Any advice, anyone??

csy, sorry i hv'nt add in the rice cooker(for 5-6px) becoz my family is not small. If there's only my hb & i + a baby. Can get the smallest rice cooker & m/o will do.

As for IDs,that's way too new for us. Have doubts with 'em,especially my hb. Further more 1 of his old buddy is an exp reno contracter. Even my mother's pre n new flat are done by him. Nice job done. We re v satisfied wif his work. No reason for us to seek others. Most impt of all, there's no commun problems btw us. He know us almost like the back of his palm.

Like u suggest,I went to the showflat @ level 5. Din get to c anything coz they re half way disassebling,even in the empty kitchen, felt small oredi, what if after the reno? How does a fat couple move in such a squezzy kitchen? Then i was asked to leave the showflat,abit xian!

After reno, everyone must walk horizontally like a crab even after I shed off 15kg of fats! Sigh......

U re rite, I ve heard of worse cases, aft reno the so call "kitchen",it can oni be used to boil water. Whereas mine is slightly better off, can cook instant noodles! Bi boh bung.

B4 getting the keys, I was hoping to revive my long lost culinary skills in my very own kitchen.
Feel like a wet blanket over me.

wah got so jia lat meh?

u taking 4 or 5 room?

I thought the 4 room already quite bad coz my neighbour's kitchen was so miserably small. But they still got some working space after they put the sink.

Do those suspended cupboards and put all yr appliances. U can bring them down when u need them.

If not, why not considering expanding out yr kitchen to the living room since yr living room is long?

No problem if u r a s-m sized Singaporean. But for a xxl me, there'll be technical problems. Eventhou mine's a 5 room.

Another reason is perhaps I am used to the size of my spacious present kitchen(but cannot use freely) @ tampines, which was previously owned by my late mil(who just left us). Now of coz by my hb and I.

Liked u ve suggested,expanding beyond the kitchen is e only way out.

anyone bought any furniture for ur new home yet? i haven even got my keys to the flat and i made 2 purchases liao. costing me close to 3k. heartpain... too impulsive liao. haha...

Lin

I bought a storage bed with mattress and my sofa liao (last month). I also bought a LCD TV and the washing machine. Also have not got the key when I purchased them. But I postpone the delivery of the furniture till Feb... I also haven't choose the colour for the sofa and the headboard coz don't know what colour or theme we are going for yet for the renovations. But the TV and washing machine are parked at my MIL place. I think I can understand how you feel... Me also bought on impulse and feel heart-ache whenever I see the brochures or newspapers with the year-end-sale discounts.. Haha..

i also bought 3 LCD tv during the IT Show late last month. $3500. 1 40", 26" & 32". But i found i got a good price.. All from Samsung and the 32 inch was only 849.

wah... shan3 and huiling, i thot i'm very kan cheong liao. now den i found out got ppl bought more than me. haha... but if it's a good buy den it's worth it, like my dining table! i simply love it. hee...

Lin

yup... i like my storage bed too. It was a pretty good deal. And both my HTB and I love our Samsung LCD TV. He is a great supporter of Samsung.. Hee... Washing machine also from Samsung. Am considering a Samsung fridge and air-con now... =P

haha... my HTB also love Samsung products. we are looking at Samsung LCD TVs too and i've been using Samsung handphone ever since i got my first phone.

My AHG application is approved. Quite fast, only slightly over 3 weeks since i mailed in. Now only waiting for HDB to tell me when i can collect my key.

hi All,

Me also not yet get any letter from HDB yet wonder when i can get my keys too manage to get my flat at 678C any neighbours?

Ryan,

Do check the application status online. HDB will post it online first. By the time the letter reaches you you might only have three days in advance (not counting the weekend) to apply for leave (if necessary). HDB will post the appointment date and time about a week before the actual day. Luckily I am on holiday if not might not be able to get leave on short notice. =) By the way, I got the appointment date and time for the second appointment about 3 days after the AHG was approved.

hi shan3,

thank you for informing. i will check online, but then i will have to postpone the appt till after my ROM in Jan, as required to do so under AHG conditions.

hi Hwee,

My unit is in block 678C too. Hi neighbour

Ryan,

Do check with you officer if you could defer the submission of the ROM certificate. This was what I did. I urgently need to get the flat to start on my renovations as my customary and ROM is in March... Needed to move in as soon as possible. However, if you are not in a hurry to move or do your renovations then you can wait till January and submit your ROM cert and get the keys at the same time.

morning shan3 & Ryan On,
happy to know that you two got ur AHG approval. mine still no news. Ryan On, i also have to postpone key collection till after my rom in jan. >..<

shan3, hows the ID search coming along? =)

Ryan, my friend actually check their CPF accounts and look out for the inward funds. Once the funds got credited into your CPF, the appointment date will be fixed for you.

Hi Olivia,

Going along quite badly.. Hee... HTB is very busy with work now even though I have quite free now (school holidays). So not able to visit any more IDs. We did approach 2 --- one from IMM (i can't remember the name but it is next to CityHome) and Chew Interior. Both within budget but we are not comfortable with both IDs, especially Chew Interior. Do you have any recommendations? =)

hi shan3,

i think there was some questions regarding deferment of ROM certificate. I checked with HDB myself and this advice was given to me, i still keeps that email.

It mentions that if you apply for AHG, you must submit your ROM certificate with the key collection. You can defer the collection of the key but only up to 3 months after you booked your flat.

That means you have to collect your key within 3 months upon the booking of flat, that for me was in Nov. Normal circumstances you can defer >3 months by appealing to HDB but for AHG, it seems like you cannot compromise.

He explains because AHG looks at your last 24 months salary. If they approved early, and your possession of flat is 6 months later, it will not be accurate portrait of your actual last 24 months salary.

I applied for AHG and HLE, both also approved. I sent in an appeal to delay the submission of marriage cert but collect the keys 1st and got it approved.

It is possible so do try to contact your Officer, explain your situation and submit watever documents required.

Hi Ryan,

My situation is the same as ckoonyin. I applied for both AHG and HLE. I have sent an email to defer the submission of the ROM cert for the application of AHG and it was also approved (i submitted the documents that my officer needs for application to defer the submission of the ROM cert, namely the receipt/ printout of the ROM e-filing).

I agree with ckoonyin... Do try with you officer... Afterall it is only an email/ phonecall away.

how long did they allow you to defer? If i have to defer, it will be for ext. of another 8 months because my original plan was in Oct08.

My ROM would be in March. But I think as long as you are able to show proof and that you are able to convince your officer (support with valid reasons like date was chosen by parents for religious reasons etc). It is always good to get the keys and start prearing the flat early. A friend of mine had to juggle between preparing for her wedding and the renovation and it really can burn one out.

Anyone knows any good contractor i can engage?

Recently i paid a deposit of 300 dollars to a ID in IMM. Originaly he told us it was 13k+ so we paid the 300 and were told that they will come out with the 3d design. They even told us not to worry and that they might even give us more discount and throw in more free things since we let them use our house as a showroom.

we thought since the quote was quite brief, we asked them to make it more specific. Unfortunately, we din take the 13 k quote as we trusted them since they provided very fast service. the first time we visited them and asked for a quote, they got back to us within 2 days and we were feeling that they were quite excited to do our house so we were tricked

2 weeks later after paying the deposit, what i got was a quote of 16k+ and just ONE 3d pic of my living room and a few hand sketches of my kitchen and master bedroom. for the amt of 15k, it also does not cover lots of things we were promised in the 13 k quote. We asked where were the other 3d designs and they say the 300 dollars i paid were for space planning and just one 3d picture from a certain angle. felt quite cheated and now dare not engage them. but overall they are still the cheapest so we din dare to throw our disagreements

Now feeling quite frustrated and feel that they are unreliable. feel sad also that our 300 dollars might fly away if we get someone else.

Which ID was it? perhaps u should put it to warn other forum members.

i have a feeling that they are toying with u. To my knowledge, space planning and designs should be FOC if u taking up the package.

While price may be a factor, do take a look @ their workmanship and look out for hidden cost.