Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hi whyme, i may go for st 93 if cant get the unit which I want in st 64, howwever I also throw in $10 to buy a hope for other areas too.. heee... think it's like throwing the money to the drain as e applicants no. is so scary...

well since our number is not fantastic...we cant choose much but if given a choice...from 1st to last..

st93
st64
yungsheng

Hi Val

since i am ard...;p as long as you have paid the option fee, you are free to ballot for as many as u want...but once u paid, all your previous or upcoming applications will be void..

hi corrine

:D u mean i can also ballot for this bi-monthly exercise though i have a queue no here? but the ballot results is out only 19th oct while my selection date is on 16th! so apply also no use lor ... am i right to say tat?

hi Val

in your case...you can do better by giving me your $10

unless you dont mind pushing your dates till 19 oct..but by then then flat u want might be selected..

Hi Corrine,

Seems like you prefer st 93. I think most of the earlier queue are aiming for st 64 [though mine is 4 Digit
] and you'll get your choice if your Q No is good. What is your Q No and why you prefer st 93?

hahaha.. hmm no la.. push till 19oct sure lose out. haiz. the new ballot has a unit in the same block as my current hse! a few floors below only! i wanna stay near my family. but the timing is not right.

hi val, dont waste ur money, ur no. is so good, dont give up the opportunity.. looking at the no. of bi-monthly applicants, i think it hard to get a good no. unless really veri good luck lor...

hi cuties, actually intially my first choice is oso st93 as it's near stadium, good environment (within e estate), near mrt ..etc... but it is quite deep in lor and most critically is i think what ever amenities it has in future will hv def hv a lot of banga.... ha ha..

Hi Val

Same here too. I saw a unit in the same block as i am staying

Hi Cutie
My number is 1000+ too so chances not too good haha. But cross fingers

Main reason for st93 is because both of our friends are staying in that area..we can look after one another. The flats are newer and have full lenght windows (we love light coming in)

hi eileen.. ya i noe. but i really wish to stay near my family. jialat lor. guess i'v no choice cos the risk is too big.

hi corrine

i also like lights coming in! if only st 64's layout is as nice as st 93's and YS's.

Hi Val,

Think, you no need to apply anymore lah. Your no. so good, sure can get an ideal unit of your choice. So envy...

But noticed that the new monthly WIS has more executives rather than 4 or 5 rms. Anyone gg for this WIS balloting?

My ballot no. is 900+++..
My appt date is ard 19/11....

My hubby and I hope to get st64/st93 as we are stayin at both parents' hse whereby we don have own privacy....

Btw, which blocks in st 64 and st93 is Xi Zhao? Xi zhao means? Sun shine in the noon time or evening time? Shine in which part of house is not good? *confused*

hi val, dont take the risk as the bi-monthly applicants really shoot high high high up...

estelle, xizhao means afternoon sun, normally for xizhao area, at nite might be a bit warm i think..

hi gers, anyone aiming for the last floor? any pros and cons to share?

hi angel

ya don tink i'll be applying. v big risk.. wait kena heart attack haha. yup.. i saw tat this new ballot has quite a no of nice units with big windows n gd layouts. wonder why our st 64 so lousy layout. its also 1 of the factor tat makes me not v sure of the decision to take.

seems like most ppl likes st 64 huh..
we're all neighbours to be! next time can discus abt reno and furnitures le hehe

hi estelle

for st 64, the xizhao will come from the left side of the map of the area for thus those outer layer of the left side will kena. those on the right side of the map but on the inner layer will kena also. those on the bottom of the map on the inner layer will get too. basically these are the places. those at the top of the map are quite safe.

i'm not aiming for st93 thus i din go and explore tat area
u juz look at the compass on the map and see where is the west direction. tat will be the direction where the sun will shine in the afternoon... see where the direction hits in the area then avoid those. best to go down to see the actual area.. will be more accurate

hi eileen

the bi monthly applicants a lot liao ar? i didn go n see how many ppl applied hehe. did u apply too?

for the last floor.. my relatives told me the top part of walls n ceilings might have cracks. and if the water tanks are above ur unit.. then might have water leakage too. how it happens i duno la haha. then it might be extra hot compared to other levels. for me i tink the only benefit is tat no one's wet clothing can drip onto ur clothes.. unless birds do it la.. lolz.

u're looking at top units?

from what i understand, one thing good abt the top floor is , should the unfortunate event whereby there's water leaks or crack etc, HDB will pay for the remdy works.

if there's another unit above u, each party fork out 50/50.

hi val, i am doing a list so tt it's easier to keep tract what's left based on my priority...
yes, i am one of the applicants, jux trying my luck.. but think no chances.. anything above Q no. 50 is out... as i only interested in a few units..

thanks dami for the info. if govt will pay. it's still ok rite? provided it dont damaged your furniture..etc.. heard that top floor is quite warm also, is that true?

Although most of the layout of street 64 are slants..but the location is good as compare to Taman jurong (YS), it is still consider a walking distance to MRT(abt 1 km the most, 10 - 15 mins walking time) , Shopping centre...these are the factors where u cannot change or do anything after u get a flat..what u get is what u see....

i know most of the people are definitely not happy about the slant layout at street 64(in fact, i m also one of them),but come to think of it, u still can hire ID to help u to design the slant layout...at least u still can do something,rather then u choose a unit which is square layout but low level or poor location (lack of ammenties), so what can u do about it? can u ask the gov to built MRT and shopping centre near your new flats..?? If u all r thinkng of living long term at street 64, even it is a slant layout ..so what. u already got a high level flat unit , nice views to the town centre...those things are definitely still better than those square layout like other HDB flat or living in a low level rite?

For your info,those new flat near Gombak MRT also slant and yet all sold out liao...

I guess everyone noe of the good location/amenities but there are many other reasons like the small window space, how near each blk is to one another and etc that put us in a dilemma..hahahah

Just wan to check, how early should we be during our appointment? i read that we still have to take a queue # on that day. So does it mean that even if my appt is at 10.15am but if i am the first person to reach, i can go in first?

or this queue # is our queue # in the balloting

hi winning eleven, this is veri subjective.. wat's one like might not be like by the other, everyone got their own preferences and choices.. ;p

dami, i also curious to know, like do i need to go 1-2 hr earlier? ha ha.. it seems tt we r all typical kiasu singaporean... maybe can ask val when it's her turn....

Hi DT, eileen

I think that kind of tactics won't work because if HDB allow this, those appointment time at 2:30 PM go early morning 8:30 AM and get a queue, then they can select early lo.Then everybody will queue overnight for the early q no and it becomes like their previous work-in-selection where ppl q 2,3 days b4 and wait for their turn. That's the situation HDB doesn't want.

I think everybody has their allocated time slot and when they go, they get a queue no and wait for thier queue during their allocated slot. If couples didn't show up for their allocated slot, next couple will be called up to proceed and so on.

yap cutie, tt's what i think.. but got a Q i.e mine at 11a.m. but those infront of me if some gave up.. maybe ard 9-10+ i am already next in the Q liao.. will I be able to select first? if I am not there yet, will they give to the one behind me first?

Hi eileen,

That depends on how good is you Q no. If your Q no is good, do you think those in front of you easily gave up? I certainly think 'no'. But it is possible for those Q no around 1100+ to 1200+ because at that time not much HDB flats (good one) left and even if so, the flats are like 1st,2nd storey and most don't want it already. Then, it can certainly happen.

But, if this scenario did happen at early Q no, the HDB officers have a choice not to call the immediate Q no and wait until the next slot. For example, your is 11AM and you reach early at 9AM, get a Q No and if the 9AM or 10AM slot couple didn't show up, they didn't call the next Q and wait until 11AM, then call. You've no choice but they have la.

I already received the booklet + instructions from HDB and they said that if a couple didn't show up for their slot at their allocated time, they've to wait until 12:00 noon(for those who are late at morning) or 4:00 PM (for those who are late at evening) for their turn.

dear dt, i suppose so as i just collected my key during june 2007 and when i was considering and selecting that flat i want (afraid that other might choose the unit that i want) the officer commented that i can take my time as he is the only person in control of the selection. so there is only one officer available at the point when i was choosing my flat.

I don't think so. But they have to maintain some kind of standard (nobody knows how they will do it, and we are expressing our opinion)for those typical kiasu singaporeans.

And don't forget that it is not first-come-first-serve selection. It is Balloting Exercise and everybody has Q No and their allocated slot. So far, I didn't see two persons have the same slot. So, you do your math of whether only 1 office serving on that day or not?

hi cutie, you have received the booklet + instructions from HDB already...
i hv not got it yet.. will take a look at the instruction when received... think some misunderstanding, none r trying to go early and Q to get the selection b4 our Q no, we are jux unsure of how is the procedures..i.e wat will they do when there are available slots which we are next in the Q. but we are not there yet.. if there is no duplicate slot and the officer will just empty the slot when the applicants are not there, then think there will be no worries...

Cutie, no need to be so angsty..

this is a first time for most of us. We are just trying to clear up some doubts. Like the booklet mention, we have to take a queue # when we are there. So it could also mean that those who come early can be served first which is why i asked

Why i am asking whether there is only 1 officer is because if there is more than 1, there can be a scenario that the flat u wan will be chosen by the person in a later slot than you.

You might be hesitating while u are at your turn and the next counter is free and call for the next slot. The person can immediately chop the unit you wan, although chances are not that big.

Hi eileen,

In instructions, HDB just say be punctual for the selection. I understand that nobody is going early and Q and nobody is unsure how is the procedure. As for me, same too. So, we are just highlighting our opinions and considering "what if".

But it is hard to give opinions on sarcastic question.

thanks cutie.. :=)

yup, dami.. we are all first time so a lot of doubts .. btw, my no. not so front la.. so can always chk with those b4 me, btw you decide on the area liao? hee...

Hi Hi..can anyone tell me have you guys receive the letter from HDB on when to select the flats?? I have called HDB and they said they won't be posting till end of this month or early Nov..so I wondering has anyone receive anything yet?

Another thing is, is 14k enough to renovate a 5rm standard flat?

dear all

wad i heard from my bro in law is there will be many counters at hdb thus ard 5 couples will be sitting there at 1 time.. so if couple no 1 is still hesitating and couple no 2 or 3, 4 or 5 has already made their decision, they can book first. tat was 2-3yrs ago but it is for balloting exercise.

my fren went for this yr FEB's WIS and went for her appt at hdb in may. wad she told me is that there are about 5 counters also.. but then couple no 1 must decide 1st then couple no 2 can choose. if not get queue no for wad? it makes sense. my appt is next tues.. i tink i shd be going earli.. heard the appt is 15 mins per couple.. thus 13 ppl x 15 min = 3hr + .. i guess i shd reach ard 10am . my appt is at 1215. then see how things goes from there. for such things i tink go earlier better than later keke. i'll let u all know after my turn.. 4 days more only..

wonder where are ppl with queue no below 10 hor? seems like only the few of us here.. if only we know who is no 1 then can know his/her timing. easier to calculate

hi ann, i hv not but some does... btw wat's ur Q no. i think it goes by no. oso... btw all the info. r oso available on hdb website.

renovation cost will depends on what u want lor.. basic reno sld be ard tt, however if you want build in wardrobe, platform, false wall.. etc.. might be higher.. think most ID charged based on the item..

my Q no. is exactly 400 haha.. somehome feel funny with the no. Have not receive the brochure yet..but called HDB and they have verified my date with them.. mine is on 31st oct..hopefully can get what i want..

What's your Q no., eileen?

To ask for quotations on Renovation, where will be the best place to ask? I heard can approached renovation contractor directly and it may be cheaper?? Sorry, Pardon me if i seem to have to many questions. This is my 1st time purchasing house and I have nobody to turn to except you guys =)

If u wan to save the hassle, can ask ID to help you.

My colleague did his house by 'stealing ideas' and asking contractor to do it w/o ID. His renovation about 10K plus.

But seriously, the renovation was not really very nicely done. The design a bit here and there; not a 'whole' design

Hi DT

Thanks for your advise. So u feel that it will be better to get an ID to design the house? But I worry they may charge higher where they can charge lower, will they? I have budget constraints therefore, I hope the reno will not be too high..

hi ann, understand.. think most of us here first time.. so we jux share share watever we know.. "san ge chou pi jiang, shen guo yi ge zhu ge liang".. ;p

my appt is on 24Oct, actually.. forgive me if I am a bit ks.. hee.. i did went ard imm and see some of their portfolio lor.. some nice, some not nice... think u sld think roughly wat u want and ask them for quotation.. then compare and see what they quote and suggested you..

yup, if u dont want the hassle can leave everything to the ID..

for me i prefer to design myself and ask the contractor to do for me.. but have not started yet cos hv not got the floor plan.. and dont know what layout that I will get yet...