Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hey all,

I'm new to the forum and I've also participated in the recent balloting exercise. Got quite a good number and my appt is 24 Oct morning; is there anyway I can change to say, 2 days later?

BF and I can't seem to be able to excuse from work on 24 Oct..

hi whyme, think u can call and check w hdb.. btw which area u r gg for? there should be the customer service manager and hotline no. which u k call when you log in to myhdb page...

hi eileen,

think should be going for the st.91 though a bit ulu and my parents are actually staying within walking distance from st.64.. but i really dislike the layout in st.64.
will see how; haven really decided yet.

the only worry is..if i push to 2 days later, it's letting around 100 ppl go before me.. scared i don't get my ideal unit bah..haha.

actually in a huge dilemma too; my bf is thinking of forfeiting this round and wait till 2 yrs later since we are not intending to AD so soon as well.. but i'm so reluctant to let go of this gd number this time round..sigh!

yup st64 a lot of slanted layout... perhaps u can also take a look at this wed bi-monthly sales, I am also waiting to see what they are offering.. st93 may be quite convenient when the mrt completed... good no. are hard to comeby esp at this peak, demand is so much greater then supply, but let say time is not an issue, you may like to wait and see... btw, u rom liao?

to my bf, he thinks he's not ready now and he feels that he wants to wait for another 2-3 years while for me, i would like to settle one issue at a time. would be good to get the flat now..slowly reno, ROM then church wedding..

haven't rom first..was actually thinking of doing so next year then plan for church wedding around 2-3 years.

the only issue now is.. my bf a bit freaked out abt the whole commitment thingy.. and i feel rather upset and disappointed..

i think it's normal to feel this way
becoz of all the finance & responsibilities that come with it

have a good talk..i am sure both of u will work out something out..

by the way, anyone receive the brochure in mailbox?....nothing leh in mine...

whyme.. got to cool down then can communicate better.. maybe give him some time to be mentally prepared ;p damien, i hv not received anything yet..

somehow.. i think he's just not matured enough to handle the issue (he's one year younger than me) and many times, i feel that he's not taking into account of my bio clock..sigh.

i mean.. most of us also will feel scared etc mah.. just got to stay together and go thru lor. keep saying not ready.. by the time he ready, i become old woman liao..haha

i also haven receive anything; i think they send it batches bah. my no. 200+ ..haven got anything.

i guess they only send out the rest of the brochures today...so hopefully will receive tmr...

why me....maybe he is just worry that he can't give u the best now....just got to reassure and work together to make it come true..

helo whyme

its better not to delay 2 days cos not to mention 100ppl infront of u, if left tat unit u want and 1 person is infront of u, and he chooses it.. u also will be veri upset! so its best not to postpone. let both ur bosses know that its hdb appt.. no matter wad also hve to take leave.. those 1000 over applicants will not wait for 1 person only. ur boss shd understand

how old are u? guess guys are usually more commitment scared. try to give him some time if both of u are not too old ba..

whyme...your quene number is only 200++, i believe u still can get the square units of jurong west street 64.Beside that, other will also taking those in street 91,why worried? Square units in street 64 is about 198 units...minus those low level, u still stand a chance....

Now buying new HDB flat is like waiting to strike 4D, resale flats are so expensive now and somemore every home owner are asking for coffee money from 20k to 50k above from the HDB valuation, like dat young couples like me who earn average salary how to afford to get so much cash for that! i will rather take 50k to buy a car, like dat also convenient even your new flat is far away from MRT.

teodami,
i think so too; i know he wants to give me the best too and thus, he doesn't want to commit so soon.

hello val,
for me, i have a higher chance to take morning leave than him; he's in NIE (trainee teacher), cannot skip lessons and his only free day is fri.
i'm 24+.. if wait for another 3 years, will be near 28. have always wanted to settle down younger so that we have some private time before going into babies and stuff.. not quite possible now i think. and flats also not say, want then have.. next time mayb want also cannot get.. more heartpain right?

winningeleven..
the one at st.64, toilet in the kitchen la.. a bit dun like and of cos..the horrible slant. will see how it goes first. if bf dun want flat, dun even needa think so much.

The slant unit in the living room is a big headache for those who already know what in mind on the home renovation...but i do believe that most ID will have problems on solving these...

if HDB made the slant units like one 4 rm in street 64 where one of the bedroom is triangular shape, i think there will be better than the slant living room

Whyme,

Don't give up your gd number. You know what, this is my 4th Balloting and dunno how many walk-in-selection as well as numberous resale flats viewing before I manage to get this 300+ queue no. I have been waiting for this opportunity for almost 2.5years.

The St 91 got its first release ard mid 2005, I was like you thot not getting married so fast, thus we did nt go ahead for the walk in @ Jurong that time, But we regretted now, after we give that a miss, we waited for another 2.5yrs to get back the same area although we tried other areas as well. The worst is that I was not able to get the flat in time for my customary in Jan 08. Thus, i feel a bit disappointed. Thus, I would encourage u not to give this chance a miss. Just like what winningeleven mentioned, nowadays buying a new flat is really based on luck.

Just wanna share with u my experience...

hi angel65,

i feel the same way too.. i was so excited when i saw my number of 200+ and i kept telling my bf it's so rare that can get so good number when it's first time applying.. super reluctant to let go.

but i also dun wan to force him into taking it becos of good number.. he not ready, i also suffer right?

sigh.. he thinks we can always try again when we are ready.. (or rather, when he's ready).
i keep saying.. not say want then have..say until i tired already.

so you staying with your in-laws first?

helo whyme

i also faced such prob with my htb last time. i guess most guys when facing this big decision, they do need some time to tink. 24 still young.. might not have to wait 3 yrs ma.. maybe next yr he will propose liao leh?
mine also give me prob like urs.. but after some time he think it over then its ok le. i noe how u feel abt gettting married young etc.. but smtimes cannot rush him.. better let him tink carefully rather then he commit in a rush then in the end regret then blame u or not a veri gd ending then both also unhappy. give him 1 or 2 more yrs ba. for me i put rom n customary together cos i don wanna wait soo long lolz. *wink wink*

Whyme,

Ya loh, Gotta stay with in-laws first. Also in Jurong, just opposite NTU. Hopefully can get a gd unit, faster get e key and do up the flat asap. keke...

We are also quite undecisive on which area to take yet.. Heard quite a no. of different views but untimately still got to see what is left when its my turn.

The partition walls solution can solved 90% of the slant which i find it will be very good, too bad the slant wall end join to the window...i think can put some flower pot or plants to conceal the slant end part..lol. (if i take slant unit, i may doin that)

hey val.. thks for sharing your experience man.. somehow i thought i was the only idiot facing such problem. will see how it goes.. needa talk it out soon also, the date is drawing so near..scary!

angel65.. at least you can stay with your in-laws. if now i forfeit the chance and i dun get it in time in future, my bf's place too small for me to shift in.. headache also.

WinningEleven,

Thanks for sharing the pic abt the partition. I think its a gd idea to cover up the flaws.

Whyme,

Don't worry too much, have a talk to your bf first. But the thought of living with in-laws can be quite scary at times too. haha...

the partition walls solution is not bad! solves the slanted position.. then we can consider the slanted units tat offer great view! tks 1118 for sharing the pic

whyme.. no la u're not the only one facing such prob.. i know of a few other frens also faced such prob.. smtimes its the opp also.. the guy wan settle down then my fren v careerminded don wan to hehe. ya talk it out soon with him. then let him tink over it
still got 2-3wks b4 ur turn ya

another dumb dumb question here..
if we decides to get the flat..and
if my bf cannot make it for the flat selection, can i go alone? becos i confirm can take half-day leave but he might not be able to.

Yes i received HDB letter stating th i'm under 1st time buying of flat, which my chance is double of others..however my queue number is 1409...OMG..i emailed HDB to give up the application so that comin 10th oct 07 i can ballot for this one...haiz

dear dolphin

First Timer rules (no of chances such as double or triple) does not applicable for JW Balloting Exercise 07 because it is announced during August and takes effect from there.

The JW july 07 is not under this rule. My friend also kena 1300+ and check ed with HDB already.

hi dolphin, must give up then can apply ah? tmr is the day....

I hv more or less planned on the design for the slant layout liao, finally...

Hi dolphin

if i recall correctly it is only when u pay the option fee then all your previous applications will be void.

so basically u have still go ahead and apply for the 10 Oct one

Cutie, I thought in our letter stating our Q no. the forfeiting if within 100% is applicable for us. Only the priority scheme was not applicable i.e. allocatoin of 90% to 1st timer + 4 tries add 1 more chance. Your friend is out of 100% supply, therefore is not applicable to forfeiture

the hdb system for balloting exercise sld be up soon as they have added balloting exercise in the "for shortlisted applicant" section already.... hooray...

Oops, sorry... i thank the wrong person. Haha. A bit blur.

Whyme,
I did ask the hdb officers before, they say for the flat selection, its ok to go alone first if the other party cannot make it. You can write down both names first, so the other party signature can be make up during ur 2nd appt. Which means both must be present at ur 2nd appt. But you better check with hdb again to confirmed.

hi whyme, when it comes to signing of leasing agreement think you try to arrange on a friday... as it's no longer no. critical.. ;p

hooray the system is up, for those who hv not got the brochures can check online for the cost and available units...

may i ask izit safe to buy repurchased flats?? Cos the current balloting for north/west zone, mostle are repurchased flats....

hi crystal, it depends.. some quite old.. however some are unoccupied ones... there are also some that is renovated.. u will hv to do ur research by visiting the neighbours for your shortlisted choices... normally repurchased flat are those divorced/ separated, fail to pay the loan, migration...etc... you applying for it? from my past experience, wait till you got the Q no. then go visting as the units are limited and it's like striking 4D/toto if you can get the front no.

Let's start a simple statistics information for flat buyers in this forum so that they roughly know how many are planning to buy on which area.

1)Cutiecute st.64