Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi, I have been to St 93, realised that there are quite a no. of banga around.. and mostly in groups, they also idle at the void deck of St93.. think I also smell cocoa as the choc manufacturer is nearby...anyone realise this?

Thanks Val...

For St64, friends staying nearby says there the noise of the aircraft is very loud as near the airbase...even ard 12 midnite... been there also and it seems that the distance between flats is quite close...

eileen, I can also smell cocoa + burning incense from the temple at St 64.

St 64 also got banga lah. Walk from Jurong Pt towards st 64. i see some of them loiter at playground, void deck too and many crossing the main crossroad junction. I think can't avoid. They're just everywhere. I think will get used to them soon till you be oblivious to them. It's a matter of getting used to it.

wow.. so rumi, have you decide on St 93 or St64? i think the only area which no one mention is the Yung Ho.. the environment is actually quite ok, just that it's inconvenient if you need to travel out of the place....

Actually Yung Sheng rd is nearer to Lakeside Mrt, the environment there is less Jurong West not so inner to jurong west lor. Taman jurong food centre is just opposite lor. I think no problem looking for nice food.
I heard from a friend that they are constructing another cluster of hdb blocks near Lakeside Mrt. That's much nearer to Lakeside. If you all can wait, I think that's quite good place.

Pioneer is very inner liao, near NTU. St 64 walking distance to JP, more ren nao area.

Not sure if can choose, number quite big.

I am still indecisive, tt's why checking on other's opinion.. ;p btw.. I am also waiting to see what will be release on the 10th Oct for the North West bi-monthly sales..

Hi Rumi, don't be upset.. as there's always pp who will opt out and some only try try their luck and not serious buyer...

eileen.. ohhh.. u reminded me got 10th oct for the nth west sales. i've been tinking whether to get this flat. i don really like the windows, too small. feel like in prison. then the living room is 'blocked' by the protruding bedrooms. wonder why the design is like tat.. living rooms shd be bright n airy.. like tt hor a lot of light will be cut off. a lil sian. wonder if anyone have the same sentiments as me?

Hi val... e structure of St93 is nicer, I have two friends staying there, one is without the sharp angle and one is with... seen their unit, quite nice and cosy... easy to place furniture too...

My number is 166..but only interested in the regular shape units in blk 98X..so not all will take... i oredy balloted duno how many zillions times before i finally get such a number.. *phew*.. but to those who din get a gd number , dun worry.. cos now hdb oredy incept the "first timer" thingy.. so easier..

I din go and see the st64 showflat tat time cos we thought we wun be so lucky to get a flat... so dun wish to waste time.. but who noes.. end up realli can get.. hehe..

my FH more interested in blk 989... cos opposite his best fren blk 987..

i mean the interior design for the showflats are designed by cogitoimage... we super like the showflat for Jurong West 5 RM Blk 986A ( u can view online from hdb home ideas link).. but the only thing is that the master bedroom window cant open... faint..

yalor valarie, duno why they design the units liddat... seems so not enuf "air" flow in.. not v gd fengshui one...

arghhh.... still gt to wait one more month to receive the leaflet/brochure.. so slow........oredy too excited liaos...

in fact... but i more interested in st 64 if not for my FH... cos nearer to the juorng pt.. so next time the value higher.. tis one a bit near to the industrial estates there and the blanga dorm.... dun realli like curry smell... keke...

i have not received any sms/email/letter as well, you can check your Q no. at hdb site.. but must enter the reference no. to see the result... wish you good luck!!

eileen/shynn

my bf doesn like st 93 wor.. so we wont be choosing there. near the bangla area and v far in. so hv to make do with st 64.

shynn.. 166 is not bad leh.. out of 1209 units. u're taking 5rm or 4rm ar?

can view online ar? i'm gg to take a look. but don tink bf likes it cos of the area itself. so u shd be taking ur ideal unit at st 93.. gd for u

ya i find the design stupid. whole hse will be dark n not much air can flowthru. many ppl said hdb designers don stay in hdb flats.. they stay in landed properties.. design flats until like tat. haha.

ya hv to wait. i'm also waiting for the booklet. cant wait manz.

im only interested with st 93 flats which only hv 300+ units leh..and the next impt thing is need to discuss with my hb! cos he backout and says he doesn't want jurong flats now! *Angry* i'm currently staying with in-laws

st 64 is still sealed. my FFIL kan chiong.. went down to take a look. haha. he cant get in.. stopped by the guards. he saw ppl moving toilet bowls n basins ard.. maybe some construction still gg on

everafter.. gd no for u! congrats. which area u like?

valerie, i taking 5rm... cos think 4rm a bit cramp.. since 5rm the price is still ok...

ya man... jus go to "flats on offer" , " home ideas" " online showflats"... hehe.. u can see those showflats online... some designs are real cool ! v modern...

think after selcting the unit, we can start another thread to discuss renovation etc le.e... kekekekkeke....

shynn

yup yup. can discuss abt reno hehe. quite excited ya. its a pity u're not taking st 64 if not we'll be neighbours! keke.

i shall go see home ideas tonite. wad u gg to get for ur hse theme ?

valerie,

well... mighht end up getting st 64 too if the units we want at st95 taken... hehe.. but arent u worried how to place ur furniture with the slanted walls??

my FH wana modern contemporary.. while i prefer Zen / resort kind..

hhahaha...

shynn

they got a few layouts leh.. not only the slanted one. i'm not choosing the slanted one. u better take a look carefully b4 choosing.

if u end up take st 64 then we'll be neighbours! can go see each other's hse during reno hehe.. it'll be fun!

ohhh i'm doing country style hehe.. veri rare in sg

hai~ small number can choose, big numbers slanted layout, beside central refuce collection, carpark, main road, 2nd storey also got to take right...

hai~ hai~ I dun like this system! So unfair

Hi rumi

I'm like you, so disappointed with my number. Inital i also though that Jurong west is not a popular area so got high chance. But seem like it's not true that JW is not a popular area cos if it's not a popular area, then how cum the no of applicants exceed the numbers of units?

those couple's whose parents stayed in jurong are those ppl who like jurong area lor...i'm one of them...tried the last ballot for SK but failed to get a unit. This time round try for jurong, got better Q no. probably bcos of the married child priority (my dad stays in JW too). But as compaed to SK/Punggol balloting, JW one definitely lesser applications

hi...mine oso becos my in-law stayed in JW, though not veri good no. but i am quite satified.. the waiting is so long, hv yet to received anything from HDB yet.. like the punngol development plan... but its too far from my family..

hi...mine oso becos my in-law stayed in JW, though not veri good no. but i am quite satified.. the waiting is so long, hv yet to received anything from HDB yet.. like the punggol development plan... but its too far from my family..

Ya..my main reason is oso as wif u eileen..and my hubby & mine working place is @ west.
Moreover, next time we hv kids we can let our in-law take care..keke

wow so many of u have parents/in laws staying at JW ar.. not bad leh.. near parents, can go back to see them often n when have kids, more fang bian too

i dun have anyone staying in JW leh.. my parents stay in Bukit Merah.. ( which balloted so many times but cant get.. so desperate and went to tikam for every balloting cos scared end up gt to buy resale. )... His parents stay Woodlands.. hehe.. so we r all alone in JW..

His workplace is in AMK... my workplace in city hall... super far.... so thinking next time jus park our children at my parents place and after dinner fetch the kids back home.. hehhe

valerie,

but then some of the not slanted walls might have morning or evening sun leh.. i very scared warm type... so prefer my hse cooling .. gt wind but no sun... in fact... which facing is the best huh???
\
actualli why no one considering the Yung Sheng rd one? their units are of regular shape.. and next to the Jurong Lake... so shd be nice view..

hi...late afternoon sun quite warm... think sld be north and south cos no morning sun and no late afternoon sun..

yung sheng is really quite a quiet and peaceful area... market and food centre is just opposite...more spacious too..

rumi,

actualli more worthwhile to get showflat altho it is higher price.. well.. cos if you take the HDB loan, u take the full sum inclusive of the renovation provided.. isnt it better? unless you oredy prepared a sum of tidy cash for renovation... for some.. if they require reno loan, the interest is much higher....

besides, you get what you see... no nid shout and worry about your reno... think it's worth it...

I ask my FH abt YS Rd's units.. but apparently he thinks the surrounding seems very old.. so he dun realli like it.. well... FH very mafan... picky... hhaha... so bo bian... cos the house is for us to stay for long term... so cannot only i like and he feels uncomfortable.. However, tis weenkend shall go see the 3 areas+showflat... cos the showflat open till tis weekend only... so if wanna view, tis the last chance liaos..

hi shynn

yungsheng there quite old i agree but main thing we didn wan cos its not near mrt. go out veri bu fang bian. but then i quite like there cos my hse go 1 bus only and got big big windows!! haha. i really don like st 64's windows but then no other choice

yup.. some of the not slanted ones hv morning or evening sun. choose the ones with morning sun. then ur clothes will dry. don choose those with afternoon sun cos hse will be veri hot. blocks 675A and 678D for example will kena the afternoon sun.. so don choose the outer layers. choose the inner one. understand?

Dear All (who has lower Q No)

I think you all received HDB letter stating your Q no and you're within 100% of flats available blah blah. It will be followed by the flat selection soon in Oct/Nov. So far, most are excited about Street 64 and Street 93 areas. Any idea on how much $ for those flats?

It's stated 1,222 units available in the letter, but only 1,219 units on the HDB website. Means got 2 more units supply available now? I think those whose Q no is 1,222 within 100% supply if give up forfeit past x chances right?

http://services2.hdb.gov.sg/webapp/BP13BTOENQWeb/BP13J011DS?strSystem=BE

I think they shouldn't implement the resetting no. of tries to 0 for July BE since it is introduced only in Aug. We do not enjoy the new scheme priority 90% for 1st-timer, more priority for >4 times application yet resetting to 0 if you don't select a unit if within 100% supply is applicable to us. Very Weird!

went to take a another look at St 93 flat yesterday nite, didn't smell cocoa yesterday, the environment is quite nice.. but heard that the morning traffic is very heavy as there are lots of hugh vehicle gg to tuas passing by.. can't get to see the St 64 flats as it's sealed... but think it's more happening for St64 area as it's more established and nearer to Jurong Point, the non-slant unit is very tempting...

Cocoa or whatever smell is that, and noise & air pollution and banga workers would be more intense at st93 than st64.
St 64 definitely more established area, more amenities like library, medical centre, jurong pt, GV, food, feel most pple living in JW already prefer that area. St 93 is more inner and deserted. Where is the nearest clinic ah?

Anyway i can't choose much, compare so much also no use. Just hope many pple give up.

Dear eileen,

Thanks for the info. I think the smell of the Cocoa is stronger at Interchange and nearby blocks. So far, St.64 area has no cocoa smell right? How about St.93 area?

hi rumi,

The banga workers are staying near St.93 forever or because of the Pioneer MRT station building process? I think cocoa smell problem is more permanent compare to banga workers. Btw, wat q no you got? Mine is super big one with 4 digit leh.

Banga workers are staying at the permanent dorms opposite at the industrial areas from the 98x series at st 93 forever... until maybe when Sgp no more needs construction workers? Haha which is not possible. Anyway also many vietnam, china workers too, not all banga I feel.

Banga workers is more an issue to me due to safety concern than coco smell. They tend to stare and look at girls as you walk past. So not so safe for a girl to walk home alone in the night.

my no. is big 3 digits lor.