Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi yu'e

now that we are out working..i dun think we will hear the planes..since its usually during 'office hours'

Hi yu'e

Actually i've relative who stay near there. It's true that we has the problem of hearing many noisy planes. But how i feel is that, thry don't stop onto of your flat for a few hours rite, so that is fine with me. And i do agree that alot of peoples feel that JW is a bad place to live in as they will consider that as a ulu place but how about punggol & sengkang? These areas also not very convenience.

Hey.. PM has plan to develop Punggol 21+ and I heard the value of the housing there will increase. I was talking to my colleague and he said that is not good to get JW because is WEST (Xi1) is already not good for housing to be in West side. Too near industrial park and takes very very long to develop.

Now I am very confused.

Another question... my friend just informed me that her relative bought an executive near boon lay mrt at 360+k valuation now abt 380K+ and now got problem selling!!!

Anyone knows about this problem the residents tehre face too? I am very concern about selling it in future.

I am not not interested but so many pple warning and scaring me abt it, and I never stayed at JW before, obviously want to find out more.

Isn't this a normal reaction? I don't want to regret my decision and get stuck because can't sell in future.

Hi yu'e

If you are thinking of buying and selling for profit in future, my feel is that don't do it now. if you buy at high price how possible is it for the price to jump another 20% - 30% 5 yrs down the road? esp at a place like JW. if you try queenstown, commonwealth then maybe, since PM said gov going to develop there.

as to wheather JW is a good place to live, best is to ask if you have friends who stay there. I staying in boon lay currently, run down estate...but kinda get used to it. plenty of old folks, foreign workers (malaysian and india and prc). air is not so good, JP is always packed...but still its a place i have grown used to...

which area are u staying at the moment?

Corrine, I am staying at Bukit Batok.
But the JW pricing looks relatively ok leh, is it inflated price now? You mean it was priced below 200K for 5-room flat?
It's always good to find out more before commiting a big buy, it's not $2000+ lor is $200,000+++ . I don't want to buy without knowing and complain forever. At least know what I am in for before buying.

BTW, i can't delay buying coz of income ceiling and I doubt hdb going to raise the ceiling after PM's speech did not include middle income folks like me.

yu'e

i think for jw, hdb inflated by about 10k? my friend bought a 9xx series last year. the price they paid was 200k for a low floor. looking at the price for the current ballot, the lowest for 9xx is 216k (which i assume is for 2nd floor)

perhaps after u get the queue number, take a walk at jw, at different times of the day, just to have a 'feel' of the neighbourhood.

Hi yu'e, if i were u i prolly wun buy. I've grew up in Jurong, shifted fr Central to JW to JW ext. My bro bot his exec unit at 380k in the late 90s (JW ext). Now i doubt he can even sell it off at 350k. The estate basically is really very crowded and densely populated.

And if u're thinking of selling and make profit in future, u really hav to risk it. Perhaps u managed to sell it off if ur unit is very nicely renovated and not asking high COV. Perhaps if tat unit is near to MRT station or amenities there could still b some value. Or perhaps ur unit is unblock, high floor... Otherwise i reckon it's difficult to sell off a unit unless the buyer specifically likes JW.

No doubt, I agree strongly tat the pricing in JW is attractive, at least to me. 200k u could get a 5rm, good bargain. U prolly pay double for a 4rm in a prime area. I'm oso facing the income ceiling problem like u. Most prob me and hb gonna try punggol.

Tho punggol is equally far as JW, however I noe it wun b as polluted as JW, hopefully not as crowded, not too sure if planes fly there. No choco smell...and hopefully punggol 21 realise in the near future. Having said, need to subject to balloting still...

All, My earlier post is not to dampen ur choice of JW. It's purely my view and i'm voicing my honest opinions. Nothing personal. Yu'e, u should seriously go walk around the estate and see if u're comfortable there. There're people who loves the place as well...so it's up to individual.

tansy, worse come to worse, I think still possible to sell back to hdb at valuation price and resold to public as RP.

For punggol vista, it will only be completed in 2012, 5 yrs time, by then they will review ur income again and if hit and over 8K, you will not be able to get HDB loan, have to get BANK loan. If punggol 21+ really hit it off, it still a matter of 5 or 10 years.

Yesterday we have received letter from HDB saying which group we are placed in and that results will be out by end Sept.

I know those applied Married Child Priority Scheme will be given priority in the balloting of applications but how about 1st timer? Any ideas.

I live in west area since birth, and are familiar with jurong west cos i am still living in jurong west. It true that st 93 hse value will go up as it is near sport complex and MRT, but there is 1 very bad point is there is lot of bangalash there walking around at night as it is near factory area, there is a place for them to live smewhere opp st 93(rent fr govt, i think) sometime they even loitering around n sit n drink under block at the grass area.

As st 93 is near factory area, normally around late afternoon or evening, there will be some kind of weird smell (think shd be burning of rubber or wat). Athought i live in Blk 700++ but still i manage to smell it from the distance, so i wonder st93 can tahan...
As for st 64, the block there value will oso go up but i guess not as much as st 93. But the environment n surrounding there is better, more established since it is more older than the st 93.

The above is just my 2cents...

Angel, is it walkable to Boon Lay mrt station from the the new blocks at st64? If so, how many minutues for a leisure walk? If not, is there bus service?
Why do you think st64 value will go up too?
Actualy quite concern about banga coz I can safely walk home at bt batok alone late at nite, not sure if safe if banga hang around in mrt or bus stops in future. Is the situation worse than those pple who stay at Little India (Klang Road) there?

tansy, HLE must be obtained and valid (income <=8K) before date of exercise Option To Purchase and it must still be valid on the date they exercise the Option To Purchase. I think in the case for BTO punggol vista, you sign the Agreement for Lease within 4 months from the date of selection of the flat, so perhaps can escape that. But I see the following clause in the website, so I am not sure if exceed 8K they will revoke loaning you and ask you to take bank loan.

"For uncompleted flats, where the purchasers will only obtain physical possession of the flat a few years after the date of selection, we will reconfirm your loan eligibility before disbursement of the loan to check that there is no change in your financial ability to service the loan."

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10201p.nsf/WPDis/Financing%20Your%20Home%20(e-Financing)HDB%20Housing%20Loan%20-%20When%20To%20Apply?OpenDocument

yu'e, i'm thinking could it be that they're afraid tat the couple is out of job few yrs down the road and cannot afford the loan? In any case, mayb we wun exceed...scarli one of us lose our job in a bad time.

ANyway st 64 can walk to MRT, leisurely abt 15min walk. A fren stays opposite the new st 64, she says take bus, gotta wait 10min for the bus, plus walk another 3min to the bus stop. so she rather walk to boon lay mrt.

Hi Hi

i balloted for JW 5rm flats too..When the result for the balloting out? is it possible to ballot for the bi-monthly sales in coming Oct 07? Because the real area i want is at bt panjang. Haiz..so desperate to buy a hse with tight budget..

hi kitty.. yup.. mine veri gd. i was so excited! cant sit still juz now. now still veri happy haha. cant believe my eyes when i saw the number.

which area u gg for? we might be neighbours! hehe. i'm gg for st 64.

52 is also a gd number!

why u all get so gd numbers one.. tried so many times still get very bad number.

valerie, can share why u decided on st 64? I did not manage to do site survey of that cluster, only manage to see te 5-room sample unit, coz that day was rushing somewhere. Now the entire cluster is completely sealed right. cannot go in to see?

hi rumi.. wad no did u get? my last ballot also v bad no. 2000+ for 400+ units in jln membina in may. so sad over it. its ok.. hv to wait for the nxt round lor (hugs)

i decided on st64 cos its near mrt. pioneer my bf says its too far in so he doesn like. ya the area is sealed.. cannot go in see. tmr i'm calling to find out when it will be taken down. how do u find the 5rm sample unit?

My St 64 findings:
Cons: abt 12-15 min walk from boon lay mrt (need to walk more, imagine hot day or rainy day), take bus must wait, may take longer. most 5-room layout has slanted walls, most block has 1 level serving 8 units meaning 7 neighbours. all layout common toilet in the kitchen - dun quite like that.
Pros: More established area? Walking distance to Jurong Pt. Further from banga dorms. Less banga? Air cleaner?

St93 findings:
Cons: nearer to banga dormitories, nearer to factories, heard that clothes hang out will be black, more air pollution? Need take bus/train to jurong pt.

pros: nearer to mrt (pioneer), abt 5 mins walk,blocks colour scheme seems nicer. 1 level serves abt 6 units or 4 units for higher levels. but near JW recreation ctr.

my option could be see 10 oct bi-mthly sale also.

wad no did u get?

so u prefer st 93?

i've a fren staying near st 93, so far she loved her hse. didn mention or complain tat clothes hang out become black. but she does see bangla quite often but not a lot. yup the new pioneer mrt will be up in 2009. quite tempting lor but i feel st 64 is better.

oct will be which area open ar?

hey ms blur.. hugz.. can understand how u feel.

hmm are u veri interested in JW? if so, u still can try lor cos there are 3 areas opened, and not all ppl will like the same area. for example: not all ppl will like JW thus maybe juz try to ballot to see wad no they get, if gd no then they get the flat, if no gd then they give up. another example.. for me i only want st64, so if st64 all taken up then i will give up also. thus depends on which area u want and whether those infront of u choose the same area too

so of the 3 sites which are u looking at?

I oso very sian...we wanted a house near my FH's parents...so near le...still get a horrible number. Hate it.

henyve, did u all applied under Married child near parents priority?
Which area you looking at? Maybe not everyone like the same area. Maybe we should be optimistic, those pple in front give up or already got resale or got the aug mature estate or decided to go for punggol vista and coralspring BTO.

Hi Valerie

Like you, I only want st64. And hubby only want to live in west area as his mum &amp; brothers are living in Bukit Batok.

What angered me the most is, we actually apply together with his brother and they got a very gd no which is less than numvber 40. And this is the 1st time they applying. And as for me, i went through WIS, balloting but luck don't seem to be with me..sigh

I think i got to wait for the next west area exercsie. Anybody know which jurong west area they will be opening up? Do you think HDB will reserved some units from st64 for the next round exercise?

MsBlur, I think there will be chance for you since some pple prefer Taman jurong area, some prefer to go st 64 or 93, some give up finally. ur number still within the supply. Mayve u want to consider Taman jurong too?

BTW did u ballot 4 or 5 rm. coz 4 rm only 54 units supply, very hard to get a gd Q no.

Luck, this kind of thing cannot be helped. I balloted 5 times liao.......

henyve.. are u the henyve i talked to in june thread?

so qiao to see u here also hehe. wad no did u get? don lose hope.. JW is not popular.. might hv chance one

ms blur.. st 64 has many 5rm flats.. so not all might take here, u still can try. might hv chance. JW is not like the aug ballot.. whre even level 2 n 3 also got ppl snatch up.

not sure they will open up which area le.. JW still got new flats ma?

Hi Valerie,

Yup...hehe I'm back...I apply 1st timer and near parents oso...its only walking distance from st 64 to my FIL house but looking at my number...seems like it hard to get one from there le...my number is 907 ley...even if got chance is low floor lor...sob

Hi Hi, i oso balloted for the JW 5rm.. aiming for the st95 place.. cos near to the swimming pool.. and my FH's best fren stays at blk 987 too...
But one thing i not very sure.. i saw the floor plan for some of the units ( tat is of a weird shape type.. ).. It seems that the master bedroom's "window" is sealed type? cant open? then wun't it be no air flowing in !??!?! So weird ! how cum HDB designed it tat way... and dun allow pple to open the window??

I am considering st64 if st 95 no more... but then ... one thing i hesitating is the slanted walls... isnt it hard to arrange furniture? hmmm... too bad they dun have a showflat for that st64 unit.. at least gt brief idea ...
btw, the cogitoimage interior design company very good in designing leh... hmmmm... i find their design not bad.. wonder if its very ex... =P

Shynn, if your number is less than or slightly more than the supply for 98x series at st 93,then surely can get a unit at st 93.

There was a sample unit open at st 64 during the balloting period showing the slanted walls.

I noticed they are painting part of each block at st64 GREEN and 1st two storeys of the unoccupied blocks at st 93 orange!!!

we also didnt get a good number..its in 4 digits..

this was even though we applied under the married child scheme looks like a lot of people who applied stay new JW?

One of my friends got 800+ another got 250++. But we console ourselves by saying that at least we are still within the range of avalaible flats.

hi henyve

don be sad.. nothing is confirmed yet till u book. hope tat u can get a gd unit! its lucky tt there are 3 areas which open thus more 'chances' for everyone as not everyone wants the same area.

we might be neighbours! :D

shynn

tat was a showroom for st64.. u didn go and see ?

u mean st 64's blocks are designed by cogitoimage interior design company ?

hi corrine.. wish u luck for the area u would like to have

kitty/eileen.. hdb said they will release the info 2 weeks b4 the selection date