Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hello neighbours!

20th Justin and I will be eating with my in-laws to celebrate Justin's bro birthday. I don't know whether it's lunch or dinner yet. I'll try to meet you before or after the thing ok?

Previously it's Justin who mentioned about the popiah. So I'll ask him and we'll settle the ordering.

Diana you also have a wedding to attend on 19th? Maybe it's the same one we attending? Haha..mine is near Farrer Park, a restaurant. Last sat also a good date to get married. Awoken by the horns twice! 2 couples around our estate got married...congrats to them!

Ryan, Justin's run was bad cos he lacked training. He only ran 20+km for training so after 20+km, he cramped all the way to the finishing line. Poor thing...finished in 5.50h. He didn't enjoy the run at all and said didn't want to take part in full marathon again...haha...but yest he said he shouldn't give up so easily and may try again next year. He prefer biathlon/triathlon. He'd signed up for march's biathlon (swim+run). You so fast train for marathon?! So ON leh...like your surname...hahahaha....

Property tax?! OMG! I haven't receive the letter leh...got to check letterbox tonight...sigh...

if i managed to train .. i will sign up for full marathon in July. i had joined half for past 5 years... every year say wanna try full but did not because i nv train.. ha ha

gosh! S$300? Must remind my hubby liao :P

Meirong, the wedding dinner is near Cityhall, Grand Park View... or something:P think not the same lah :D Mayb u can ask Justin for the popiah info. it may be too rush for u both lah. We go settle can liao.

I see...congrats on completing your 1st full marathon!

Ya..it's different...my friend said there're 2 more couples getting married in the same restaurant but held in a different function room. What a hot date to get married!

Justin lost the contact for popiah when he send his hp to fix. But he found the contact thru google! Hahaha....google is so impt in our lives.
Queenstown Popiah
Blk 40A, #01-484
Margaret Drive Food Centre
Tel: 9781-6307
Opening hours: 11 am - 9 pm
http://atetoomuch.blogspot.com/2006/09/margaret-drive-food-centre.html
Hmm...don't think they do delivery. Maybe can call up to ask to confirm. So hungry now after reading the blog...yummy!

diana, my pt maid comes on friday from 4+pm to till 8+pm.. not very convenient to do the dough in the kitchen if she needs to do the cleaning.. then how abt the next sugar coating step? do on when?.. coz weekend very busy leh.. or can u come by on thursday evening? then sugar coating on sat morning?

hihi, do you guys want to do the dough at my place on Friday evening? then we do the sugar coating on sunday morning? and also have the poh piah party... Are val and ryan joining us for the poh piah party?

hihi. how long do we need to do the dough? can u all do it later in the night say abt late nine to 10nish...if u all dun sleep so early? haha
coz i also feel like going isetan one day private sale leh.. i havent got any xmas presents for my nieces..

Are we exchanging xmas gifts?

20/12/09 Sunday 11am
Baking cum Xmas Poh Piah Lunch party
venue: 333's hse
=================================
1) 333
2) Diana
3) Meirong
4) Valerie

yea i'm joining
how can i miss it! heehehe. i shall brin my chip n dale cookie cutter along.

is a 1-day private sale on 18 Dec Friday... 830 to 1030pm...
but i cant take leave on friday as one of my key colleague already take leave i have to be present in office, so i can only go after work..

yah i received a few days ago leh..

hey i got a miffy (rabbit) character cookie cutter from isetan a few weeks ago. I also saw those mickey mouse and pooh bear but i think since u all already have, we can share the cookie cutters...

strange that this time round the newsletter is not published on isetan website.

anyho, is quite a lot of things.. watches, kids stuff luggages. shoes.. the usual stuff. like kitchen aids.. maybe u will receive the newsletter today or tomorrow...

Bad news, guys!
I can't make it to this coming gathering.
I've totally forgotten abt a birthday party on sunday until a sms reminder just now!! FAINTZZ
my pal is going to skin me if I miss it even aft 1 month booking in advance :P Sorry guys...

Xesthir, I hv listed out the videos u could see for the cookie making and royal icing making. Hope they could help. 333 is already tried out the cookies making. she will be able to advise u too.

basic cookie making
Tips: make ur dough is chilled overnite. It will help to prevent an overgrown cookie :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4cNKU0IUTU

Royal icing making
recipe from Wilton. Add little food colouring paste/gel to create various coloured icing
http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Royal-Icing
Similar making step in video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_t9On-LOIM&feature=related

Xmas cookie decorating
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ROl0CMMWtWY

BTW, u can get almost all the baking stuffs from Phoon Huat (clementi), including Wilton Meringue powder & coloring pastes.

Oh dear...Diana can't make it liao...
Can still meet to bake the cookies ba...although I can't confirm whether I can make it. Not sure what's the plan yet. Shall wait for news from my in-laws.

Maybe we order the popiah next time when the attendance is better? More fun with more pple...what do you think?

hehe, i agree with meirong, let's do the popiah another time, he he, maybe New Year gathering instead...

when can we meet to bake the cookies?

hee hee .. po piah party sounds fun... first time i heard... so we going to have 10 types of popiah or something? popiah drinks? popiah dessert? ha ha

Sorry pals. Really paisay to disappoint u all leh

Meirong, since gathering not confirmed, better order popiah next time.

ryan... its not 10 types of popiah la. its still the same type just that we are making it ourselves at our party instead of ordering ready made ones

i think we can postpone the gathering since most have something on and it will be quite rush for them. New year gathering will be good! no need to rush home from town or elsewhre after the countdown haha.

diana.. don be paiseh.. smtimes we do rem things last min

It's ok Diana. Somehow I feel gathering isn't as fun if someone from the usual group isn't around. Yup! New Year gathering sounds fun too! 31 Dec is still empty on my calender. Everyone has 1/2 day off?

me fine too! i might not have half day cos my boss happy then let us off at 12 or smtimes at 3. if he forgets or he isn't happy then nothing at all haha. so if i cant get off early, i'll join u all at 7pm

so excited! i wonder if we can have the popiah party on NYE? maybe they don't work hor??

xesthir i finally got the newsletter hehe. tks for posting for me!

meirong.. this yr ur hse don hv NYE bash? hehe. last yr's was fun!

Ya lo..not sure if NYE they sell popiah or not. I'll call up and check with them when we confirm the date. This time we're inviting on the 26 Dec...31 is free.
I can bring some alcohol..hehe...and Saboteur!

u all meant 31 dec evening or afternoon ah? I am not sure if i am free on evening leh.. coz might have family count down...

do you know they are opening 2nd wendy's fastfood outlet at jurong point in Q1? Can't wait for it
i read the opening of the 1st outlet create huge crowds!

I tried the outlet in Japan, quite good i would day, but the ones there probably changed receipe to more japanese style burgers.

we have been eating there quite frequently for brunch when we were there on budget... when are they bringing in dennis?

Ryan boy has a decaying tooth
Just made an appmt wif family dentist on 31.12.2009 2pm

can we gather in the evening? me dun wan to miss it leh :P

poor ryan (boy).... hope he is not in too much pain...sure, we can have in the evening, can xesthir make it? would ryan (adult) be joining us?

Oh dear...hope Ryan's adult's teeth are healthier.

Hahaha...333 you're so cute.

Evening is fine for me too. We odering popiah right? Lets confirm the attendence...

31/12/09 Thurs 6pm
Popiah NYE Party
1) 333
2) Diana
3) Meirong
4) Valerie
5) Agnes?
6) Ryan?

31st i had booked badminton court at jurong spring from 5pm to 6pm ... will confirm again if we are coming.

don't know how many of us plays badminton. maybe in future we can have regular badminton sessions at frontier.

Ryan, you can always join us after badminton. You'll be hungry after the exercise. I don't play badminton and I don't have the racket.

the dawson design v nice hor... what about $600,000 for a 5rm flat? we can maintain 5 rm right, or must upgrade in order to buy? can try your luck balloting for it since it will only be completed in 2015 and 5 years live in mandate is over. haha

we used up our 2nd purchase liao

if any of u get it, invite us for hse-warming hor :D

31/12/09 Thurs 6pm
Popiah NYE Party
1) 333
2) Diana
3) Meirong
4) Valerie
5) Agnes?
6) Ryan?

Anyone here interested to watch avatar tomorrow 6.10pm at Jurong Point. i can get $6.50 per ticket (GV member) .. intend to buy ticket after work today or else tomorrow packed. Pls sms me.

besides popiah party are we eating anything else. do we have to bring something each to add on to the food like bee hoon, curry, sushi or ham, turkey.. cake...