Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Thanks Ryan, U really patronise NTUC very often
Forum is so quiet lately... everyone all v bz...

Actually is $4 per box.. of wonton.. quite ex leh.

anyhow i bought a box on the last sale that comes with noodles, have not tried yet.

oh agnes, you got the combo delight. i got it some weeks ago too but i didn't like the combo delight because it had to be deep fried. the shrimp wonton though expensive is quite nice. I suggest you cook the noodles, the other time i thought it's like a cup noodles and pour hot water into the bowl, and inthe end it's not cooked at all. Also i would prefer to take out the wonton from the noodles and cooked separately, with the noodles it will tore the skin of the wonton and when the shrimp comes out, the whole wonton is spoilt !

wow... this is it

This fri is our grocery shopping day & sat is our baking day... Angie, me so kiasu, bought another 2 pack of cake mix. can teach me how to make icing too? Really hope to bake my own cake for Ryan's bday.... Oops, i mean my coming 6 yrs old boy.

diana, he he, paisey...i never did icing before leh... i only bake... but i guess we can learn together! ;p i have been meaning to learn how to do icing also ;p

hi peeps

i might not be able to join for the shopping tmr nite cos last min smting urgent cropped up. i'll share in the costs ok. see ya all on sat. enjoy shopping

hey folks,

I can only join in the evening makan session on saturday as I got to run some errands in the day time. Do you all need any food for evening? if u want, i can try ask my mum to make fried bee hoon to collect on the way home from outside.

As for Friday grocery shopping, if I am late, please go ahead without me then I see if I sms one of you later, I need to do my groceries shopping.

Groceries Shopping Session
18/9/09 Fri 9.40pm Meet outside GNC
===================================
1) Angie
2) Diana
3) Meirong & Justin
4) Agnes (may be late)
5) Ryan & Lian (KIV)

Baking Try-out Session
(for some, baking test-eat session)
Cum Wii Challenge Day
19/9/09 Sat 1pm Angie's HSH
===================================
1) Angie & Tat Siong
2) Diana (soya jelly & spaghetti (aglio olio & uncooked))
3) Meirong (Sabotuer)
4) Valerie & Matt
5) Agnes & Chris

So sad Justin can't make it. He got birthday celebration with friends. I'll be there anyway! Bringing the fav game..

hmm yes before i go out... how do u want to get from me? Sat morning? haha u all can bake and play wii at the same time ah? haha

Agnes, then me nt able to meet u le.
will need to leave by 5pm. Will harrass Angie early (1pm) on the baking stuffs :P

Angie, ur fridge got space de hor... me will bring over some soya jelly. may take abit of space of ur fridge.

eh, fridge should have space bah...

agnes, if you join us on fri evening, i get from you then? if not, maybe you sms me on sat morning before going out?

btw, for those not baking can come early and play WII...

ARMED ROBBERY AT JURONG WEST

A FOREIGN worker was robbed of $58 and his mobile phone on Wednesday at around 1.30am.

He was at the void deck of Block 652B Jurong West Street 61 making a phone call when a girl, in her early 20s, approached him and offered him sex.

When he declined, three men in their 20s surrounded him and one of them threatened him with a flick knife.

After taking his money and mobile phone worth around $435, the gang fled towards Pioneer Road North.

Ryan, you are our news feed...lol

I wonder how many similar cases go unreported for those men who took up the offer and then kanna scammed with robbery in bed... they wouldnt dare to make a police report then.

BTW, I have never seen a single policeman patrolling at our neighbourhood.

Hi neighbours, due to unforseen circumstances, we have to postpone tonight's shopping trip and tomorrow's baking session... let's try to do it next time!

you don't see them because they hardly ever get out of their cars. they only patrol places where accessible by their policecar. Parks and buildings are out because their legs are gold.

Sorry that the baking session was cancelled. my bad :P Hope the jelly helped soothe some of the pain (or made it worse :D)

So when shall we meet again? our next holiday is in Nov leh... gotta wait so long ah???

It's ok Diana.
So nice of you to send us the jelly...It was nice! It didn't soothe any pain cos there's no pain..haha...thank you thank you...

Oct there's a Deepavali but it's on 17, a Sat. Don't think mon is a holiday but some of us may have time of in lieu to claim...It's ok..good things are worth waiting.

yea diana.. i also couldn't make it so don't blame urself ya. tks for the jelly too!

i think any sat also can right, don't have to wait for holidays? 10 or 17oct i'm also ok..see the rest when free lor

hi diana, don't worry about it
thanks for the soya jelly, very yummy

btw, when is ryan's (your little boy) birthday? are you still keen on making cake for him?

oct 10, 17 also fine with me

paisay Agnes. u not at home on sat daytime mah...
me just dropped by those at home.
me make for u & Ryan this weekend k?
sayang sayang..

Angie, my boy's bday is on 10.10
actually me not so ambitious. just hope to make some mickey mouse cookies for his goodies bags.
me got the cutter & stencil liao. Can help me??

"me make for u & Ryan this weekend k?"

Which ryan huh? HA HA HA

But don't worry Diana, no need burden yourself this weekend. I'm fine w/o it.
LOL

diana, no worries... i am just joking.. another day during the gathering bah...

oh u got mickey mouse moulds? So cute...
what cookies u want to make. choc chips should be quite simple to make and nice too.

1202121.jpg

this is the cookie cutter. think the cookie has to be plain, w/o chips. else how to mould out the shape?? me no experience...

Hey,Angie, would I need a roller for kneading the cookie dough? if so, can I borrow urs? actually wanted to try out the cookie making this week. otherwise may nt hv enuff time to perfect the skill till Ryan's bday...stress! >_<

so sweet! hehe. hey diana.. see when u making it, if i'm free i can go over to help though long time nv bake le since sec sch's home economics class lol!

diana, so cute
you are right... i think the cookie has to be plain... you can use my roller... i am free this sat afternoon if you and val are fine

Thanks Angie

I should using the cookie mix. just need one stick of butter. Do I need the electric mixer too? think I'll go get those cheap cheap one. else me sure stir until siao >_<

Thanks Val

Can I borrow from u then? Angie's is super ex de.. me beginner nia, no need so good de lah. I suppose aft using one, I could better decide which model/type to get. I'm looking at those hand grip de...any recommendation?

hand grip? I thought all mixer comes with handgrip.. i think better to get one that comes with stand. sometime mixing takes a while. hand grip on it very tired after some time...

get philips lor, i got that. should be affordable and ok hand mix only $47+ the c/w a stand is abt $75+ i think..... i dun realy trust too cheap brands like akira. later use 1, 2 times spoil liao more headache.

sure... when u need to get from me just buzz me hehe. mine is kenwood.. the cheaper 60plus type.. not the 600plus type lol. but quite powerful compared to those cheapo brands like wad agnes said...

he he, actually i also have the hand grip one... ;p i use both lah, the hand grip one more convenient to use... the big stand mixer when i need more power

val and diana, how about sunday evening? if we start around 6+, we should be able to finish before 10?

we probably need to chill the dough though for about an hour or so. I have not used the cookie mix one before, so not sure how long to chill, diana, does the box say anything? is it those mix specifically for cut-out cookies?

Wow, this sun me can leh! Can drop by ur place, Angie? me go read more details from the cookie box tonite. Will update this evening...

Agnes, me tot of getting those w/o stand de.. now tt u mention, me go look see the Philips brand de...

hmm haha okok. for me the stand is good. as you can start whipping without having to hold it.. while u go on and do other steps in the receipe or wash dishes......

but after that u still got to take out from the stand and use the hand grip one to whip those parts at the corner. the stand is more for to whip to continue whipping while u free your hands for other stuff..as some recipe require multiple steps of whipping , eggs first then butter then flour etc and this can take a longer period.

u can check out carrefour or best denki..