Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

tks Meirong. me usually keep my door closed so ok lah. the kids play loudly outside oso ok.
as long as not so much vandalism can liao

How r the rest of neighbours doing?
OK bo? Long time no chat liao

hi all, long time nvr come in see see la,
hope everyone's fine

drove past the new nearby safra & popped in to have a look, impressed with the setup, glad that we've a nearby clubhouse, only drawback which i feel could be improved is facade, looks like 2 factories from far, and made worse by the brownish paint.

well, at least it's near our doorstep,would be considering getting the safra membership. then can drop my bt batok clubhouse

Hi Kevin, our great traveller

Heard tt the Safra Jurong has lots of kids facilities. Me too bugging my ah lao to sign up its membership :P

Meirong

i noticed they had open up a road in front of your unit. And what's that squatter air-con container doing out there? those workers living inside it? lol

diana, i also read in the paper that it was originally supposed to be better, but they cut down on material quality and some sections to lower down the cost but still overshot the budget at $31m, instead of $20m. material quality ..? oMG

WOW Liao!! Cut to save $$ but still over-budget???!!
someone use the $$ for investment & then lugi is it?hehehehhe

And yes, we got a new road link to another estate. hopefully it oso mean we got more exit choice
but hor, me oso worried abt the added noise & dust. sigh...

tht they just add the walkway...now to open up a new road. Really rich hoh, we was still thinking it could be a shelter walkway or something.

haha

Ya Diana, it seems like it's a road that links our estate to the one in front. It's good for me as it is a straight road leading to my block, unlike the previous walkway which led to 678B/C. I can save a few steps..haha..lazy me..

Hey Ryan, I didn't notice the container thing. I also guess it may be for the workers to live in. Saboteur is a very fun game which involves bluffing, sabo-ing and thinking...
We can play it during our next meeting!

i am afraid with the massive safra recruitment, the facilities at Safra jurong west will be too crowded. Then it will NOT be that exclusive, maybe to start already not exclusive.. HAHAH
anywy, i also signed up as dependent liao.. but we might go to the hometeam @ bt batok instead, i can forsee major overcrowding at safra jurong west... with lots of kids...n foreign workers

Hahaha.. Xesthir, think my kids r among the 'Lots of kids' :P
Sigh, we can't help but spending weekends like children, go playground, visit toys shops :P

Enjoys ur couplehood while u all can, k?
not saying parenthood no good... but it is not as interesting lah. hohoho...

talking abt the container, me oso never see leh. Got to check it out 2nite

how come no one notice that container, ha ha. i think workers are living in it. At night i can hear people talking. Its just right across the new road.

as for the safra resort, i think xesthir is right. It would be crowded with foreign workers because it is just next to their dormitary.

for your info, i call and ask about the BBQ pits sandwiched between blk 683 to 686, next to our estate. This uncle who answer told me the BBQ cost $20 to use, and additional $50 required as deposit, which means i have to pay $70.

Are they crazy? Why should we pay so much just to use the hdb BBQ pit? After that, i wrote to the town council and ask if the BBQ pit is under their management, i think it is.

I ask them to explain to me what happen to the $61 monthly S&CC i paid to them, the S&CC as stated on town council website is paid by the residents for the maintainance of the common property. If that is so, how come we still need to pay $20 to use the BBQ pit and $50 as deposit? Their key made of gold izzit? Has the BBQ pit become a profit driven facility?

They had largely ignored my email so far.

I have also found out from my colleague that the BBQ pit at her HDB estate, Bakit Batok, cost only $5 with $10 as deposit.

got la i noticed the container but duno what issit used for hehe. safra needs membership right, so how will the foreign workers be able to enter?

wow ryan didnt know that the bbq is so exp to use..actually all along I thought its free to use...

the $70 seems more like a deterrence to not use the pit. that way the cleaner no need to *incur* OT to clean up the place etc etc

shawn

Any one can enter Safra to go look around, eat at their cafes/restaurants and enrol their kids in the enrichment classes. Perhaps some of the kids playground is foc too. not too sure. anyway i am sure there are enough open space for the foreign workers to roam around and possibly picnic unless safra management forbids them to.

only certain facilities require membership to go in. eg. swimming pool and the courts and additional membership for gym.

xesthir is totally correct. all safra club the same, membership allows you entry to some facilities but generally anyone can go in the club.

likewise for all govt-linked clubhouses ie. safra, hometeam, civil service club etc... the intention is not to exclude the majority of public (exclusive) as in those $100k annual membership country club.

these found-in-heartland clubhouses, besides aims to foster community spirits, allow virtually everyone's access to them. members just get to use certain facilities @ a lower rate, for instance gym, karaoke etc. but the general public can still pay the public rate and use these amenities
i doubt there's any facilities that will say "members only" ... at most, priority will be granted to members who will also receive special rates & privileges ...

aiyo then v sian. hope the workers will not hang ard inside. i wanna go use the pool often de haha.. been waiting for it to open

oh i suppose they will not be able to enter the pool since it needs membership. hope they will not be able to peep in either!

>_< aiyo, if those foreign workers oso flood the safra facilities, then no pt signing up liao lah
imagine all facilities r constantly packed, v.sian leh...

talk abt s'pore 1st H1N1 case... looks like our weekends gonna b home-bound liao.

Ryan,
They must have ×÷ÔôÐÄÐé so didn't reply to your enquiry. This is really too much loh! $61 every month is alot money liao...sigh...

There's K-box in Safra Jurong!! I was wondering why JP don't have KTV, now I know why. Hope the K-box there don't need any membership.

any chance anyone here is going for aaron kwok concert?

btw i think jolin is in jp this sat too so jp is going to be super crowded..

I thought she jek dio her waist or legs.. how to dance....

so probably is stand there and sing only. but i think her live singing is so so only leh..

Corrine,

she will be at lot 1 on friday evening, at jp on sat afternoon.

Meirong,

You can enter the k-box, no need for membership. Membership just enjoy special rate...

hi folks, just to share review of our estate clinic. Just down with flu

environment good (since it's new :P)
recep assistant friendly (heng!)
waiting time 5 min (nt bad, my past experience all got to wait till life shorter :P)
doc friendly &amp; clean (got see doc who love to smoke cigar, yuck! another one smell like hv nt bathe >_<)
most impt, the medication work
me feel much better aft 1 dose &amp; nap :D
Cost me $34.00
($20 + 7 + 2 + 4+ 1) 4 type medicine
Cheaper compared the one (HDB blk) opp JP robinson

i visited him a few weeks back...
i would say he is too 'caring' that he can scold me &amp; ask me if i actually took the medicine...hear my breathing liao then say "OK leh!??".. as if he wished i really had pneumonia meh... dun mean breathing ok means I am faking illness right...

i prefer doc to just prescribe me than keep asking me why u got that illness. e.g. if migraine. just give me the pills dun ask me why i always migraine.. stress? or late nite..

anyway i think is more expensive than the clinic i go at west mall where i prefer the doc there. but he always late..

i went to see is abt $36 for blocked nose and cough only n my hubby went to see him for $42..

I think is not cheap lor.the only reason why i would see him again is the proximity.

i dun think is aviva registered. HIs medicine also very expensive, consultation is $20. but no gst.

MC friendly wise. let's just say he only gave me 1 day mc for cold and bad cough. then the next day i was still coughing quite badly, so i called up the nurse to ask if can give me one more day mc. then she asked the doc who says that he wants to see me again.. hai~ mafan

so i dragged myself down, wait for my turn to see the doctor.. so he assessed me again then asked if i took medicine (of coz la!) then hear my breathing then said 'OK LEH??!!' then gave me another day mc......... but lucky no additional charges, although it might have been better if just issue me the mc i can go collect later..

oh usually when i ask for extend mc, the doc also will ask to see me 1. Cannot just ask off the counter.

I always go to the Silver cross at my mum's house there. Very Mc friendly ..haha but is expensive lah

AN UNEMPLOYED man was jailed for 12 months on Monday for molesting three women.
Tan Wen Zhong, 23, pleaded guilty to two charges each of grabbing the buttocks of his victims and lifting up their skirts and one of lifting up the skirt of a 20-year-old woman in a lift.

He committed the offences late at night or the wee hours of the morning in Jurong.

calling neighbours!!

My Bak Kut Teh gathering is back again.
Date: 13.06.09
Time: 6.30pm
Venue: my humble nest :P

If Ryan, u r joining us, can visit ur place to see see ur nest? me hv nt visit yet leh. Oso can see ur new decals. hehe

pc show on that weekend leh!

saw the road leading from our estate to the neighbouring estate done up liao. waiting for them to clear up then can drive easily there to da bao. hahaha

hi all, "I will like to noe who have the home that have the BS inbetween the living and dinning. Anyone can share their design with us especially the tv location... sigh so headache

Hi, I living in blk 675, anyone home is having a bomb shelter in th center of the house, can share where is ur tv location. thanks

Hi Hazy,

I placed the TV on a feature wall which is on the wall nearest the master bedroom door, and opposite the corner of the room where the side of the bomb shelter meets the far wall.