Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

jan..i spent the last 2 hrs talking to them.
i know their concerns are valid because im the only child so once i shift out, they'll be alone and they're quite elderly so no one take care of them.
but even come my new house, also no one take care; we're both working in the day.

what makes matter worse is that my current house is EA, so damn big.. they actually wanted to give me and my bf the house..they just want a room to stay in so we save the house loan and all.. but we don't like such big units and basically, it all boils down to we wanting personal and private space and our lovenest!

sigh.. they'll nv understand..
any of you face the same problem?

hmm b4 me i tink 2-3 ppl dropped out. after me i duno.. went off le.

nothing else to decide on the spot. they will show u the papers, like how much to pay via cpf per mth, how many yrs ur loan.. those stuffs which u've already decided on ur HLE. basically nothing.

hi whyme..

u're opp from me hehe. i so wanted to stay with my family but i cant. u can but u dont wan

why not u tell them u're also taking JW.. so its gonna be veri near them. infact i tink only 5mins away right?

no no.. its b4 keys collection. few weeks ago we thot 1st appt can get keys ma.. so we apply 1st lor. haha. 1st time apply so no exp.

i told them ler.. no use.
to them, they'll never understand why i prefer a smaller unit than to take the EA that i'm currently staying and no need for any loans cos my dad paid finish already.

and they also wanna stay together cos im only child.
i had a hard time telling them i really want a smaller unit, more cosy and our lifestyles are very different; i dun want them to end up unhappy with what my bf and i intend to do next time in our house etc.. (we like to invite frens over, jamming etc).

i think HLE can apply before the 2nd appt.the officer told us before when we go down to make general enquiries..they will help us to do or something..

but we damn kiasu, once we got the balloting #, we apply le

my parents say we can go ahead and buy the flat and take our time to do reno; they can even pay the reno for us.. they just wanna stay with us in future (in the new house).

i don't want to sound unfilial but i was looking forward to the few yrs of personal space that i finally can have in my entire life..

feel kinda bad abt it becos they are willing to give me my current house for free or even pay my reno in my new house.. just to stay with us.

hi Ann,
sorry for late reply. MCB mean miniature circuit breaker. Electrical fuse in your distribution board. Each 20AMP MCB can loop to 4 SSO as according to CP5. so if more SSO u intend to install, you need addition MCB.

whyme,

perhap you can told your parent, you just want few yr couple life, and you will rent out the units after that. alot of my friend did that as she cant coup with the tired housework especially when she have a baby.

whyme

ya i noe how u feel. my parents also offered to reno my current hse n room, buy new furnitures etc so tat we can stay in but then my bf doesn't want thus we got a few flat. i also feel guilty regarding their kindness n love but no choice. now only hope is in a few yrs time if my area kena embloc then hope they can come over to stay with me.. by then shd be 3-4yrs time ba.. enough er ren shi jie le and might hv kids le ahha.

maybe u can tell ur parents u wld like some er ren shi jie to settle in ur new life then fetch them over in a few yrs time lor.. let them hv some er ren shi jie after bringing u up for so many yrs.. :D gd idea?

To whyme....i can't give u good advise but only thing i can say is just go with yr heart,since it is always yr wish to won a dream home with yr love one then just do it.This flat selection come once in a lifetime for u and somemore the area is the nearest to yr parent's home, so u must grab it!!!

Now generation gap different liao..all young couple want to move out,that why HDB new flats are so popular and definitely flooded with application..go and c the costa ris and the punggol and they will know...Your quene numebr is on the front,unlike other.. u got a choice to choose higher level, nicer unit and not those high quene desperate selection.

If i will u, i will go ahead and book the flat...then go home tell them if back out , $2000 will be fortieted.

I stay with my mother who is a widow,my father passed away liao, my father bought the flat in jurong west 17 years ago..when my father passed away, HDB want my mother to put either me or my brother's name as one of the co-owner...my mother didn't as she want her children to buy out own flat in future..i'm so thankful for that..so like u, i m aiming to get a flat in jurong west so to near my parent home and at the same time, have a own home...

val..
how did your parents react when your bf doesn't want to? for my case, my bf is fine; it's just me..

but you're right..
the part of bringing them over in a couple of yrs' time.. when im likely having baby.. then can have maid to take care of them and baby too.

in any case, my house will be too small by then.. my parents actually say why not we buy from them our current EA..a lot of space for the future as well. sigh.

hi winningeleven,

yah..they are ok with us (my bf and i) buying over the current house (EA) which is under their name or we buying our new hse..

all they want..is to stay with us, which my bf is fine but to me, i feel that it's the only period of time i can have er ren shi jie..so a bit reluctant.

whyme

first of all, there is some question you need to think about.

1) Your bf and your parent relationship.. VERY GOOD?

2) Both u & bf finacial stated

3) U r only child, your charecter independent?

no offend but just some 2 cent to contribute. :P

hi 1118.. appreciate it but how does these issue help?
- my bf and my parents are fine; both sides are rather quiet but so far, everything is ok. my parents just want him to treat me well.
- we're earning average lor.. can afford the new house but nothing more lah..haha.
- im rather independent, which explains why i know i may have conflicts if my parents come over. i do have my own views and how my life should etc.. and i can survive alone. haha.

whyme..
i feel it is not a good idea to buy from yr parent..since u already want a er ren shijie in yr own home..

Your parent home shall just let it to them...one day they can even sell it and buy a smaller flat and the rest of the money for their own retirement.

u can also let them feel that u r not neglecting them by staying over their home on all the weekend after married...or have dinner with them about 3 times per week in future since the flats that both of u and parent are also near ..

ya i agreed with winningeleven.. U can actuali explain to them that u had tried to find a home nearer to them and convenient for u to visit them or for them to visit u.

alternatively, if this still dun work out. I tink shan yi de huan yan is needed, maybe u can tell them u need to rent 2 rooms for extra $$.. then slowly drag their time by telling them the tenants dun look innocent or they dun like lo..

hope this will help u abit..

and meanwhile during this period wen u moved into ur new house, u can bring them out to eat or shopping. sometime weekday or weekend, u can go back ur parent's house to stay with them. so that they will not feel neglected by their onli daughter..

it's not easy to be an onli child. u have to look after all side to ensure u did not neglect anyone beside u.

btw be happy, ur big day is coming soon and ur dream home is also coming soon le..

thanks winningeleven and bride2009!

really appreciate all the advise.. actually, i think my parents have tried to give in to me a bit ler, they told me they are fine if i wanna get a new house and if i can't afford reno, they can pay for me first.
the latest my dad told me was perhaps to get the st.64 units so that i can drop by easier and we can see each other more often..

guess give and take is neccessary..

by the way, is there any time limit where you have to carry out your reno after obtaining key?

Hi Whyme

HI 5! Me too..I am only child too but the only different is I wanna stay with my parents and my bf not very keen on it..He feels that we should have our own personal space @ home..He is also only child and he has alot of personal space @ home..Me different, I everything also MUMMY!! haha..So I wanted badly my parents to stay with me..

Actually our parents just wanted to see us more and wanted to take care of us..Once we get married, means we have grown up and since we have grown up, means they are old already. They just want to see us more often and take care of us while they can.. So whyme, do consider, though I know very much u would like to have ur personal space..Treat ur room as where u can have ur personal space with ur hubby. U can also consider to have a study/work room to have ur very own personal space..

These are just my tots to share with u..haha..no offence and obligations!! I wish u all the best in ur selection of flat =)

Day 2 Update :
total units of 5 rooms choosen - 16

block 677B ( 4 units )
unit #16-301
unit #13-301
unit #09-301
unit #07-301

block 678D ( 1 unit )
unit #02-349

block 987B ( 1 unit )
unit #10-563

block 989B ( 2 units )
unit #11-705
unit #15-713

block 989C ( 3 units )
unit #15-667
unit #15-677
unit #17-675

block 989D ( 4 units )
unit #16-655
unit #13-657
unit #17-657
unit #12-659

block 181 ( 1 unit )
unit #18-85
----------------------------------------------

Hi 1118

HDB nv miss u out. They send out the letters by batch.. so most probably, they have not send out ur letters..not to worry.. my appt is on 31st and yet they only sent the brochures only on last friday (12/10). So urs will be on the way soon!!

Oh, I wld like to ask u since u said that whatever I have mention seems to be an excess for a new standard 5rm, then may you please advise what is the basics reno needed for a new standard 5rm?? I am 1st timer, don really know about all these.

Thank you very much & I wish u all the best in ur selection of flat =)

Wow.. Sammi u are very early and very update!! haahaa..I believe u are also very anxious.. ME too..haha..my heart are popping out when i open the HDB web...hahah..So what's ur Q no.?

hi ann,

i believe for standard units, hdb already did the tiles for kitchen and toilet but the rest of the unit is raw. means you have to do reno.

my queue is 400ish ^u^

ur?

My is 400 exactly..haha..When I first saw this no., I quite happy but just feel weird to have gotten such exact no. haha..Bought 4D for it..haha but nv strike..

Are u at workplace or at home? I'm at work place..but no mood to work..haha.. every excited and anxious over the results..

really! is it needed when we go for selection of Flats? when do we need the HLE, but HLE has expiry date rite, 3mths?

I am more towards anxious, not so stress..haha.. but VERY Excited..jus like u..haha..so when is ur appt? where do u intend to take?

i think that point no need hle but better to apply early a bit .

i think can apply once go for 1st appointment ^u^

hle is 3 month expire i think

ours is 5th Nov urs?

Day 2 Update :
Total units of 5 rooms choosen - 17

N6 C5 - JW St 64 ( total = 5 units )
------------------------------------
Block 677B ( 4 units )
unit #16-301
unit #13-301
unit #09-301
unit #07-301

Block 678D ( 1 unit )
unit #02-349

N9 C14 - JW St 93 (total = 10 units )
-------------------------------------
Block 987B ( 1 unit )
unit #10-563

Block 989B ( 2 units )
unit #11-705
unit #15-713

Block 989C ( 3 units )
unit #15-667
unit #15-677
unit #17-675

Block 989D ( 4 units )
unit #16-655
unit #13-657
unit #17-657
unit #12-659

N1 C28 - JW Yung Sheng (total = 2units)
-----------------------------------
Block 181 ( 2 units )
unit #18-85
unit #12-89 *

Day 2 Update : at 9:45am
Total units of 5 rooms choosen - 20

N6 C5 - JW St 64 ( total = 7 units )
Block 677B ( 4 units )
unit #16-301
unit #13-301
unit #09-301
unit #07-301

Block 678A ( 1 unit )
unit #10-309*

Block 678D ( 2 units )
unit #02-349
unit #05-343 *

N9 C14 - JW St 93 (total = 11 units )
Block 987B ( 1 unit )
unit #10-563

Block 989A ( 1 unit )
unit #18-721*

Block 989B ( 2 units )
unit #11-705
unit #15-713

Block 989C ( 3 units )
unit #15-667
unit #15-677
unit #17-675

Block 989D ( 4 units )
unit #16-655
unit #13-657
unit #17-657
unit #12-659

N1 C28 - JW Yung Sheng (total = 2 units)
--------------------------------------------
Block 181 ( 2 units )
unit #18-85
unit #12-89

morning gals..

hi sammi.. u're very updated.. i wonder which is the next unit to be taken for st64 hehe.

hi ann.. ya i can understand how u feel. ytd i was also refreshing the page at hdb every 15mins.. see which unit taken. so stressful.

hi whyme.. my parents nv say anything.. they juz say since no choice then get a flat lor.

ya i tink winning eleven and bride 2009 has given some useful advice.. u can try them out..

i think going to heart attack liao...

why can't they just ask all people to come on 1 day and yi liao bai liao settle everything!!!!!!

strange leh.. y for front no. they take slant unit? and 2nd floor oso... but 2nd floor maybe is becos of budget ba...

Day 2 Update : updated at 9:55am
Total units of 5 rooms choosen - 21

N6 C5 - JW St 64 ( total = 7 units )
Block 677B ( 4 units )
unit #16-301
unit #13-301
unit #09-301
unit #07-301

Block 678A ( 1 unit )
unit #10-309*

Block 678D ( 2 units )
unit #02-349
unit #05-343 *

N9 C14 - JW St 93 (total = 11 units )
Block 987B ( 1 unit )
unit #10-563

Block 989A ( 1 unit )
unit #18-721*

Block 989B ( 2 units )
unit #11-705
unit #15-713

Block 989C ( 3 units )
unit #15-667
unit #15-677
unit #17-675

Block 989D ( 4 units )
unit #16-655
unit #13-657
unit #17-657
unit #12-659

N1 C28 - JW Yung Sheng (total = 3 units)
--------------------------------------------
Block 181 ( 3 units )
unit #18-85
unit #12-89
unit #15-85*