Bali

merydith

Hi SK, I wrote email to Sila to book but he did not reply leh.

Wonder how can I book? I need a driver on the 15th and 18th

nini2

Hi Seemic,

I had found a hotel through this forum in the earlier post, is Bali Matahari Hotel. Check for my date and the and the rate is USD 24 per room per night.

Find it's quite cheap. It's a 15 to 20 mins drive from the airport.

The link is:

http://www.indo.com/hotels/bali_matahari/

If your husband manage to find any other hotels, please tell me.

Yah, hope weather will be good and hot and will be able to see nice nice sunset when we are there

I will be going there for 8D7N. Actually, wanted to stay for like 10 or 11 days but hubby didn't allow, he scare wait like we go chiangmai can't tahan the food and he said the place very laid back. If we go and find that we like the place, can go back again.

My hubby asked me why I always like to go to places that are so laid back why don't go to other places but I like leh, don't know why???

I like to go to places that are much more laid back than Singapore???

I haven't draft out my itinerary yet but had been reading through virtual tourist and bali travel books.

I had plan to go shopping for my household barang barang in Ubud, water rafting, spa treatments, snorkelling at deer island, Bali Barat National Park, Bali hai tide hut at Lembongon Island and Melka Excelsior Lovina for swimming with the dolphins

I saw a hotel located in Bali Barat National Park, don't know whether you like it or not? It's Waka Shorea. It's a 4 hour drive to the jetty and after that had to take a boat to the resort. Sound exicting and adventurous for me

But for hubby he like huh, pay money to say in this type of place???

How about you, what had you or your hubby plan to do or where to stay?

seemic

hi nini

wow, u seem very adventurous leh... Me and hubby just tinking of going there to relax, esp for my hubby coz he has been quite stressed out at work lately... So i guess for us, its more of a relaxation trip and most likely we'll find some place quieter and away from the crowds... U manage to get the contact for driver, Sila? If have pm me okie?

I haven really started planning anything yet... So far only think of going Kuta, Tanah Lot, Ubud, spa treatments.... U so good can go for 8d, me only going for 5d... Thinking of see if I like Bali or not, if good then maybe i'll bring my parents there in future... :D

olengjuz

Think I shall reveal his contact here for sharing purpose. Below was what I wrote to Merydith. Cheers.

SIla's contact as below.

"Here's my local contact : 081 239 161 02 from overseas: +6281... "

Email - [email protected]

As far as I know (from my conversation with Sila), his schedule is fully booked till end of Nov. You can consider him for dates from Dec. Dec-Feb is peak season and hopefully you will be able to book him.

Bear with him, he will definitely reply his emails within 2days I think cos he's busy working everyday (7 days/wk) then only get to come home after 8pm. He just got a baby (15months old) then needs to "entertain" his baby gal after work and dinner. Get online after 10pm to check emails and head to bed almost 2am every night. He's really a busy man eh.

nini2

Hi Seemic,

I not adventurous lah, actually I very chicken-hearted. Just imagine that last time I go to Escape Theme Park and take the pliot boat, I scare like siao like this and keep on screaming

It just seem that the more I travel the more eager I am willing to try out new things. If you ask me to go hiking in the forest or climb up to the tip of the mountain, my leg will certainly turn jelly.

Yah, I think that Bali is a good place to relax. Hope that you and your husband had a good time over there.

No lah, bcoz i go the day before Chinese New Year Eve so plus the holidays, I only take three days leave
My japanese boss very meow meow one leh.

hi nini,
i'm going to bali in Feb08

i been there twice already...now planning for my 3rd trip hee..

oh ya, if u dun mind...i heard bad comments about not being able to see dolphins at Lovina (need to wake up damn early somemore), water rafting also like a scam...not fun etc. maybe u do more research or ask ur driver for comments or better still pix of those places...

btw, if u r staying in Kuta...it is Not laidback at all..its a very commercialised place with many int'l brands shops..if u like laidback then travel further to Ubud...then is really laidback n quiet n relaxing

seemic

hi nini

thanks for your info on the hotel... I found some cheap rooms at Asiarooms also. u can check out the website for info... Think i will be booking Le Meridian for 3 nights... Its next to the Tanah Lot Sea Temple, plus its quite self contained...

Then last night i may be booking a villa with pte pool... 'Aiming' at Uma Sapna, the reviews and photos seem not bad... Plus the price seems quite cheap...

Will u be booking driver for the whole trip? I did tink of renting a car and self drive coz own time own target plus we can stop wherever we want but scare get lost.. Even tot of renting a bike also, seems fun leh... Haha

I am trying to work out my itinerary by next week (hopefully if i m not too lazy), will share info with u then...

nini2

Hi Seemic,

I had check out the two hotels you mentioned, it's quite nice.

Can post the pictures and the reviews the hotel after you had stayed there? Thinking maybe can stay there for my next trip.

I think will book the driver for a few days. For me, I don't dare to drive in Bali cuz don't know the road condition over there, don't know local language ect.

Maybe if you want, can try it and share with me your experience

Wow, your husband know how to drive a bike? Mine can't. Morever, I very frighten of taking bike. Always had the feeling that it's dangerous.

ngfifi

Hi seemic

U will nt regret staying at Uma Sapna. Stay there for 7D6N last dec for my HM

Was very pleased with their svc n my package was bk thru Chan Brother Express which cost slightly above $3K (include air tix)

Dun forget to drop by 1 rest known as "RUMOURS". The steak is superb n is damn cheap lor

keke...

Im planning for my next trip bk to Uma Sapna next yr too

seemic

hi nini

ok, will post photos of the hotels and reviews when i m back but that's in end Jan lah... Still so far... Sigh... Really hope can come soon so can get away fr work... Keke....

hi Jen

Thanks for your recommendation on Uma Sapna, think most likely i'll try that out... But any idea how's the location? Is it near any shops or places of interest?

As for Rumours, where is the restaurant located? Definitely will try to look for it when i m there...

ngfifi

Hi seemic

Uma Sapna is quite near to Kuta. In fact, they r a lot of shops located nearby. U can in fact walk to Kuta frm Uma Sapna (tried to walk but it takes abt 45 min or so). The weather is hot but at the same time, i can go window shopping

Haha...

To go RUMOURS, u need to turn left frm the small rd, then turn left again. Walk straight up (its near to their 7-11). Ask the counter staff if u need direction coz all of them r very friendly

I can ensure that u will wan to visit Uma Sapna again after u return

:>

zenith

hi seemic & nini2,

i'm planning for a trip ard the 7th jan also. looking for a cheap & good hotel/resort? any recommendation? shd i get thru travel agency or book thru internet? thru agency like easier. less hassle. but is the price difference veri great?

seemic

hi zen, i haven tried sourcing for bali packages so no basis of comparison... i tink a lot depends on your level of expectations...

u can check out www.asiarooms.com for an indication of room rates...

haru

i am thinking of planning a short weekend trip to Bali just before christmas. Is there any recommendation of nice villas or hotels? A lil on a budget, so looking for nice but not too expensive kinda accomodation..any recommendations?

ngfifi

Hi haru

Which location r u looking at? I think Bali offers more Villa choice than hotel

I used to stay in Uma Sapna located at Seminyak area. Me n my husband find it very nice but too far for water sports (unless u wan to play water sports in Kuta area)

Price wise, we paid $3K+ for a 7D6N stay which includes air tix thru Chan Brother express

U might wan to consider

Alternative, i tink hard rock is a gd choice 2. There do ve a man-made beach inside their hotel n the surrounding is nice. U can ever request for sea view room but nt so sure of HRC charges

Hope this helps u.

Bte, Uma sapna webiste is www.coconuthomes.com

cheers...

haru

hi Jen and Midas,
Thanks for sharing! I have checked and Uma Sapna is avail aft christmas. I am only planning to go for prob 3N. I am hoping to stay at a villa since it will our first time in bali. Does chan Bro do packages for Uma Sapna with flight? I will try to check with them. I think its better than booking them separately ourselves?

ngfifi

Hi haru

Yap, Chan brothers does package to Uma Sapna which include air tix n air trfs

Uma Sapna ve 2 type of Villa if u were to view frm their website

Their svc is very gd n enjoy ur stay if Uma Sapna is ur final choice

:>

haru

does anyone have recommendations of any good deal packages other han Uma Sapna? Am also open to hotels like HRC..=> looking at travelling around post christmas period.

nini2

Hi Midas,

Saw your bali photos in the previous pages. Very nice

So, you will be using back the same driver? The last two times you go there, you didn't do the water rafting & dolphin at Lovina.

Also heard that not able to see the dolphins but would like to try it out. Anyway will be staying at Lovina 1 to 2 days.

Heard that the water rafting is not that rough and adventurous also but would like to try it out. This is my first time doing the rafting so would like to try a gentle one cuz I doesn't know how to swim, scare wait fall into the water.

Midas, are you going to stay in alam kul kul? That time went for a spa in Kl and the lady who is a balinese recommend me this hotel and she said they sell spa products for homeuse too. By the way, do you which place in Bali send those masks, essential oil ect? Are there cheaper to be purchased in Bali?

Also, my house would be resort cum zen theme, thus looking for the items. Anyplace sell these lovely things at cheap prices?

hi nini,
sorry for the late reply...

ya...will be using the same driver coz i quite like his service..

i nvr tried dolphin & rafting coz saw bad reviews about it...better to try it in other countries eg. Australia..

yup...will be staying in Alam kulkul for 3 nites...dun intend to try their spa coz many pple say ex lor...i plan to go to a cheapo one in Ubud :p

u can buy lotsa decorative stuffs in Ubud...many many shop sells them..wood cravings, stone cravings, paintings, even furnitures etc. bargain hard!

nini2

hi midas,

Would mind sharing your driver email and the rate again here?

So, I juz ask the driver to drive me to Ubud is it? Do you know of anyplace that sell cheap seashell in Bali?

nini2

hi midas,

Would mind sharing your driver email and the rate again here?

So, I juz ask the driver to drive me to Ubud is it? Do you know of anyplace that sell cheap seashell in Bali?

nini,
when's ur travel date?

could u email me ur date & service required so tat i can forward it to the driver (eg. 20Dec07 - full day/half day/airport transfer to 'location') he usually gives discounts for referrals.

Bali is an island...u can find things made from seashells everywhere..for variety, can try Ubud market lor..

yjx

nini2

Hi Seemic,

Juz back from Bali. How your trip? I had a very nice one and enjoyed it.

Hi Midas,

Thanks for recommending the driver to me, he is a nice chap and infact we did all the places we wanted to go and he tried to accomodate to our needs although we went hotel hopping around the island
Actually, Bali is quite a big island & it's quite tiring to travel from one place to another.

nini2

I am juz curious so would like to ask if anyone stay at Hai Tide Hut before at Lembogan Island?

I stay there for a night and got really scare until I did not sleep for the whole night.

My husband and me slept during around 9 plus at night cuz we were really tired but around 2am, we were awaken by a loud knock on the door like someone trying to enter into the room.

My husband went to look through the glass door but saw no one.

After that, we continue to sleep and shortly, our bed shake and the knock was louder and very loud than the first one. It was like someone banging on the door.

We got very scared and my husband went to peek through the glass door through the curtain and he saw an angmoh lady with bikini top and bottom sitting on the chair at the balcony outside our door.

He saw her waving at him, smiling & after that she cover her hand with her body, shivering like she was very cold.

My husband shouted and told me that there is a person sitting outside. Then, before, i got up from my bed, my husband saw the lady running down the stair to the beach very fast.

Still today, we still could not figure out whether the lady is a ghost or a human and the next morning, we saw lots of footprints on the sand and some corals underneath our hut

Scarely right, and the rest of the guests are all ang mohs and we are the only chinese guest staying.

ngfifi

Hi nini2

Ve nt heard of this villa in Bali b4

Anyway, y didnt u n ur hubby chk wif the counter staff the next morning? If i were u, i wld ve requested for a change of rm

nini2

Is Hai Tide Hut belong to Bali Hai Cruise own by a group of Australians.

I did check with one of the staff the next morning & ask him to check with his boss as his boss is staying in the hut infront of us.

The scariest thing is we had to go down our hut as the toilet is outside. All the rooms light are off as i think all people are sleeping and it's very dark and no people.

We check with the guest infront of us do they heard any knocking sound. They said no but they heard alot of noise and they couldn't sleep well also.

At first, I thought stay for only one night don't bother but after I came back i can't tahan and email to the boss.

They feedback to me that there isn't any crime and nobody died there before. Maybe the lady got a bit drunk.

I told my aunties and they said it don't look like ghost cuz my husband can see the whole body very clearly and as she got up from the chair, the cushion give way, she hold the railing and run down, if its ghost do you still need to run and ghost don't have legs.

Anyway, forget about this, what is past is past. I dare not stay there anymore. Next time, if go overseas again will bring amulets to protect ourselves.

nini,
welcome back

glad to hear tat u enjoyed ur Bali trip...accept for the Hai Tide Hut part..i believe its a drunk woman lah..Bali got alot of drunk Aussies making noises in wee hrs at nite..dun worry ok.

my Bali trip is coming up tis Sat liao...very excited hee..

nini,
did u visit any Spa during ur trip? i'm looking for cheap n gd ones in Kuta..

nini2

Send my regards to Dewa when you see him, okay.thanks

Yes, i visit two spas. One at Sunari Villa, Lovina, don't think you will go there, the other is at Ubud, Verona.

For Kuta, i not sure, maybe can check with Dewa.

Hope you enjoy your trip. By the way, i manage to stay at tegal sari, the service is nice and did you try the suckling pig at Inu Oka? It's very nice, i love it so much. Hope that can visit bali again, nice place.

Sherri

nini,
Dewa is picking us up on sat...will tell him abt it

I have plans to try Ibu Oka's babi culing leh...nice har..got pix to share? other than roast pig, wat else do they serve? u know their opening hrs?

fifi,
did Lonely Planet mention Ibu Oka opens 7 days a week? i plan to go on Mon...hope it is not close on Mondays..

nini,
how much Departure tax did u pay at Bali airport before ur flight back home?

wah...fifi u r more ready than me hehehe..

i last min then remember abt the tax...last time we pay rp100k only leh..increased so much liao..

nini2

Hi midas,

Yup, the depature tax had increased to 150,000 per pax since november last year. I did not know about it also then when we are going to the airport, Dewa informed me. Lucky, or else i would spend the money on something else at the airport

I don't know what time Ibu Oka open and when it open. I stay at Tegal Sari and the staff are so nice that they drive and brought the suckling pig to the hotel for us. Erh, to me it's nice lah but to my husband he said got only 1 crispy pig skin
but it's quite oily. The hotel charge us 20,000rp for the babi guling rice and 25,000rp for the special one.

Actually we did not go to the shop. Maybe can check with Dewa. He sure know about it and he told me he eat sometimes too but not always.

i think have pic, will go home search for it then post it here ok? But, you going off tomorrow, try to post it online tonight.

nini,
yup...i flying off tomorrow evening..thanks for the pic in advance

tegal sari so nice...da bao the food for u..

nini2

Hi midas,

So sorry, yesterday night i went home late so too tired to download the pictures. I will try to upload in the late afternoon.

Ya, the service is very good at Tegal Sari, did not regret staying there. If got chance, will go again and stay at the Duplex Suite with Jaccuzi