Bali

olengjuz

Thanks Midas. But I am going to book with Jetabout already..their package seems good to me.

Price Includes:-
~ Return economy airfare to Denpasar on Singapore Airlines.
~ Choice of 2 nights accommodation + 3rd night FREE (stay must be consecutive).
~ Daily breakfast.
~ One time Grill Seafood Dinner at Tanjung Benoa or Jimbaran.
~ Return airport transfers by seat-in-coach.
~ Choice of one sightseeing tour or spa treatment:-
^ Full day Ubud - Tanah Lot Tour with Crispy Duck Lunch
^ Full day Ubud - Kintamani Tour with Buffet Lunch
^ Full day Tanjung Benoa (incl glass bottom boat) + Ubud with BBQ lunch.
^ Afternoon Uluwatu Temple with Kechak Dance with Sundanese Dinner.
^ 2hrs Spa Treatment at Villa D'Abian or Galuh or Toya Spa.
^ Full day Waterbom Bali Recreation with Picnic Lunch.
~ Option to extend stay.

Currently, SQ flights no more so I have switched to Garuda instead. going to travel between 27-31 OCt cos Garuda got blackout period from 8-22 Oct as it's their long holidays eh.

lovelytulips,
i went bali in oct last yr...hot like hell..where got monsoon?

SK,
glad tat u found a pkg with available flights to bali
did u ask for rebates since Garuda is lower end airline than SQ? Hw much is ur pkg anyway?
hmm...ur itinerary got tis place called Tanjung Benoa..nvr heard of it b4 leh. can share ur experience n pix after ur trip? me planning to go back bali nxt yr hee..

olengjuz

Hi Midas,
The Garuda promo starts today and they will put me on the list once available..currently the quotations I gotten from them might not be accurate, tentatively only. However, they I couldnt get hold of the promo price then what I've gotten from them shall stand. Im going to pay my deposit tomorrow and only then I would know if I am travelling on the promo price eh.

Yup, they will defnitely give me a refund.
Tanjung Benoa is abt 2km? away from Nua Dusa. Not very far from the villa where Im going to stay.

Shall update again when I gotten my airfares. Hee.

olengjuz

Hi midas, yep..Nua Dusa is very close to the sea and so is Tanjung Benoa. Paid $1460 for 2 pax on a 5D4N F&E package to Bali. Staying at Melia Resort, they are giving me a garden view...they dun have a sea facing room though. I might prolly upgrade when I get there.

bedazzle

Hey

Alam Kul Kul resort along Kuta Beach is a nice place to stay. It's about 5 min walk from Hard Rock Hotel. But doesn't have as much crowd and noise.

geniejean

i need some help here..

if i hop onto a taxi at the airport and go to Amed which is abt 100km (2 hrs drive) away from the airport..does anyone has any idea how much will it cost?

Cos if i get a car under the cottage..it will cost me about SGD51..wan to c if there's any cheaper alternative..

olengjuz

I contacted my driver, Sila and he will be bringing us around Bali. His English is good (at least more than what I have expected from them). His quotes are somehow higher than Dewa but we feel Sila is a better choice cos he throws in quite a few items needed for tourists. Not cos of price but that kind of concern/consideration that touches us.

I also recommended my close friend to them but both's schedules were fully booked for mid Sep already. So Dewa gotta find his bro to take up the job for her.

lovelytulips

Checked with a couple of agencies and apparently, for travelling btw 8 to 22 oct, the fares under garuda are more ex and even hotels are more ex cos of their holi.

now thinking to go in nov.....

btw, how long in advance do we book those drivers?

lovelytulips,

depends on the driver's schedule, u can book them as close as 3 days b4 ur trip

wat holi r they having in oct? hw come i nvr encounter in oct last yr?

olengjuz

Exactly, LT & midas, I was told by my travel agency, Jetabout that period 8-22 are blackout dates to travel Indo due to their festive season. Is it Ramadan or other local holidays eh?

Thus I chose to go 27-31OCt...also last day of enjoying flight discount with Garuda and Jetabout promotion. Hee.

It's better to book them early than late. Would suggest you, LT to book in Sep (or 2 months in advance)?

Hari Raya is 13Oct...so its not Ramadan...anyway Balinese r mainly Hindus...they eat pork. so tis holi is definately something else n their dates is not fixed every yr tats why i din encounter it during my trip last yr. my driver told me Balinese calendar is longer than 365 days so maybe due to tis lor..

bride2bee

I'm trying to confirm my bookings with the hotels in bali. Apparently, they need me to send a copy of my credit card (front & back) and a cpoy of my passport to them. However, i dont feel confortable doing that. Anyone faced this problem b4?
Kindly advise

geniejean

midas...thanks for asking..decided not to stay at Amed already..cos its v far away and we r staying only one night..will get another hotel in Kuta area instead b4 moving to our villa..

anyway..can i hav more info abt ur driver?? maybe will get a driver to bring us ard..thanks..

wasabi,
u book thru agency or web? i nvr encounter tat b4...

genie,
my driver also say need SGD52 for Amed coz its a 2.5hr-3hr drive...if u need a driver to show u ard can PM me ur travel details eg. travel dates, full/half day tour, airport transfer needed anot etc. i will help link u up with him

bride2bee

Hi Midas,

Im booking directly with the hotel.

i need contacts to book driver for 1 full day too. Pls let me know the contact.

wasabi,
for bali driver, pls PM me ur travel dates details

as for the hotel mah...is tis a reputable hotel? if it is then maybe can trust but if its me i prefer not to send them the credit card pix lor...not safe leh..

seemic

thinking of making a short trip to bali but wondering is it safe to go now with the bird flu thingy?

Appreciate any advice.

berszewai

we are planning a getaway in Dec and looking at private villas. any nice and relaxing villas to recommend? not too expensive and preferably near to beach. Anyone knows what's the weather like in Dec?

Thanks a lot!

bride2bee

Bernard and Sze Wai,

Im also going to Bali in Nov, so now doing my research. Found a nice villa with reasonable price. "The Sanyas Suite" The rates at asiarooms is only S$184 per night. I find it quite reasonable.

Anyone stayed in this villa b4?

bride2bee

berszewai,

I also think the price is good for a villa. You mean Sanyas Suite will be $300per nite for dec or you r refering to other villas?

harrods

just want to share I just came back from Bali on a 5-day trip. It is really a very beautiful place. Hubby and I were saying we should have visited this place much earlier.

For those who need information, like what the other forumers had mentioned, tripadvisor.com is indeed a place with great info.

I hired my driver, Sila, from the recommendations there and he's really a very nice guy.

harrods

some of the things u have to do:

1) visit Ubud and try their local food at Ibu Oka, it has the best suckling pig. Not a fan of pork at all...but went to try cos driver recommended and it was so crowded. But dun expect posh restuarant cos' it's like a very very local kinda stall and u sit on the floor, on the mat and share a long table with all other people. But can make friends and chit chat cos locals are very friendly there, though some struggle with very basic english.

2) visit uluwatu temple and see the fire dance. Beautiful place, we caught sunset there and it was breathtaking. Beware the monkeys though, remove any earrings, sunglasses and watch your camera. They will snatch.

harrods

Hi berszewai,

hubby and I stayed at 2 places while at Bali. Mercure Kuta (next to hard rock) and Ritz Carlton Bali (at Jimbaran).

At Mercure itself, we paid abt $100+ SGD per nite. It's a very nice place, cosy room and the pool view is excellent. At the pool, you oversee the Kuta beach right in front...and the breakfast restaurant is there as well. We will go back to this hotel next time when we return. And because it is situated in Kuta itself, it is very convenient to access to makan and shopping.

Our stay at Ritz Carlton was a bit steep on pricing, as room rates hover at ard US$300 per nite, but we felt it was really worth it. The whole area spans ard 73 hectares. To me, it felt like it was an entire Sentosa's size. And the view is magnificient itself Ritz. They also have a private beach which you can see beautiful corals and view of the Indian Ocean.

Ritz...erm...rather ex to go back there, unless we felt like splurging again. But if we go back to enjoy Bali and its culture in future, we will stay in Mercure again.

Another thing, while in Kuta, pls do go find the local restaurant, Made Warung. It is pronounced as "Ma-dei Wa-rung". And try their fried noodles. It is just names fried noodles on the menu but it just tastes very very nice. Haha! and their other food like fresh snapper is excellent too.

Those of you who intend to go to Jimbaran for seafood. My advice is, it's nothing too fantastic. Food is all grilled and quite so-so only...but u pay a hefty price...it's more for the view cos' you sit right next to the beach where the waves come in.

Hope the info helps.

olengjuz

harrods > thank you for the info. Have told my friend who will be visitng Bali coming week. I be visiting Bali in late Oct too. Shall visit the places then.

bride2bee

Bernard and Sze Wai,

Im planning to book Kajane, Ubud as well. Perhaps you can try this villa(comes with private swimming pool). Alot of good reviews online.

olengjuz

Merydith > I dun think it's really matter which area to go first. More importantly to plan where exactly you want to go and what to do.

bebechan > I went to this spa called "Baliwis SPA" at Nua Dusa. Nice place..some with air con some without. I tried the Herbal SPA for 2.5hrs..price also quite affordable (at least to me). Most SPA take in USD. You might want to change more to USD is wanna try good SPA. Long hours of SPA packages will cost more.

The weather is very hot and abit dry there. The sun is scorching hot and can burn the skin. Terrible.

seemic

i m planning for a trip to bali in jan 2008... 5d4n but 1 day burnt coz i m taking Jetstar and the timing for their departure flight is at night...

Was thinking of booking a cheap accom in Kuta area for the 1st night.... Is it better to book online first or go there and walk in? Any cheap and ok hotels for a night's sleep?

Also i noted that most people hired a driver, we are thiking of either hiring a driver or maybe rent a car and drive around ourselves... Which is better?

nini2

Hi Seemic,

I also going to Bali next year, during Chinese New Year. I am also taking Jetstar and looking for a cheap accom in Kuta for the 1st night.

I think it's better to book online first cuz can save time on finding hotel when we are there. So, if you found an cheap hotel between $40 to $60, please tell me.

I think hire a car with a driver is better than driving ourselves. I always like to hire a car with a driver when I go overseas, is much safer. The only time that I tried self-driving is in Langkawi, it's a fun experience. Morever, the road system over there is quite safe and good.

seemic

hi nini

Ok, so both of us going next yr... Hope weather will be good...

I've delegated the task of finding the 1st night accommodation to my hubby... Keke... So if he manage to find anything, i'll share the info with you...

How many days are u going? And have u drafted any itinerary?

Do let me know if u have any contact of good driver ok?

olengjuz

Hi seemic, the driver I have engaged is SILA and he's pretty good~!~! Do Pm me if you need his tel or email k. Think you can also find reviews on his service on www.tripadvisor.com He's listed there as top 2 for personal drivers in Bali.