Aromatherapy

Hi Lynn and SSL, please proceed with the EO orders. I may not be able to check my emails over the next 10 days.

Have you girls checked out the well-being products sold in Body Shop? They are selling EOs as well, though pretty limited (like they dun have grapefruit, only lemon).

I bought the Ayuveda (that's the brand) massage gel. Find it pretty good, not so oily after applying and massaging. Hee hee... have been practising my massage skills on my hubby. Anyway, those in glass bottles have 50% discount. Bought from Bugis Junction, not sure if other Body Shops also have this discount leh...

cynthia

Here's some extracts of the latest issue of Bryan Gan's newsletter.

Weekend Skin Renewal.

Friday Evening, when you reach home, in your vaporizer (oil burner) 3 drop Grapefruit / Lemon / Orange and 2 drop lavender. Put it in your bedroom first.

Proceed to Shower, add a drop of peppermint to your shower Gel and cleanse your body with it.

When u step out of the shower room your whole bedroom will be full of pure grapefruit and lavender smell. Close your eyes for a minute and breathe in thru your nose and breathe out thru ur nose. When u breaths in remember to expand ur stomach and when u breathe out remember to squeeze out all the air the stomach. At the same time visualize all ur problems exhale out.

Now you can become your normal UNCLE OR AUNTY and go out of your bedroom, play with your kid or gossip/chit chat. Ahahaa from Glam to UnGlam.

At night do normal cleansing of face, if possible do a final rinse with lavender water (a drop of lavender oil in a cup of water and rinse ur face)

Saturday Morning

Empty stomach drinks a cup of honey with a teaspoon of lemon.

In the noon make chrysanthemum, honeysuckle and honey tea for whole family (good for skin, immune system and prevent hand foot mouth disease)[50 cent chrysanthemum and 50 cent honeysuckle, 4 cup of boiling water, steep for 20 minutes add honey]. In the Saturday noon shower with sea salt body scrub, and sleep….

Sunday

If can go touch a tree with both palm, close ur eyes for a minute, if paisei, just walk bare foot on the grass, don’t be surprise is very grounding and good for the Qi of the whole body.

Some extrtacs on Lavender.

There are many kind of lavender (lavendula Vera, lavendin, lavendula Augusfolia and Lavendula Officinalis). Best lavender is from France Highland.

Lavender has been known for its impress healing powers. Its use de-toxifier is still used today to promote healing and prevent or diminish unsightly scar from forming.

Ancient Greeks used lavender oil to treat throat infections, constipation and chest conditions. While in Roman lavender flower heads where used in communal baths probably for its antiseptic properties, as well as its sweet fragrance. Many medieval European herbalists used lavender water to help prevent and treat head lice. Small bundles of dried lavender were also placed in the laundry, to make clothes smell fresh and keep moths away. They also treated insomnia and other sleep disorders, by placing small dried bundles inside their pillows. The aroma was also believed to drive away bed bugs.

Unlike most essential oils lavender does not need to be diluted before using it, in some instances. A few drops on a pillow can aid the healing process, protect the skin from infection and improve sleep. Sniffing its light, floral aroma through a cotton wool pad helps calm frazzled nerves, decreases anxiety and calms the mind and body. Massaging with lavender oils or added it to a warm bath helps decrease muscle pains caused by tension, exercise or rheumatism. Menstrual pain can be also alleviated by gently massaging lavender over the lower abdomen, in a circular motion.

Being so gentle, it is ideal to use on children and babies, to help prevent childhood infections and to soothe temper tantrums and upsets.

hi SSL,

Your information about lavender has made me a fan of lavender oil
There are actually so many uses for lavender oil!

Hi amthyst

Lavender is a very neutral and basic "beginners" oil for most users.

For someone with sensitive skin (like me) is very kiasu and kiasi when it comes to using "foreign" oil. so far, it has been working well for me. I'm more an incense user though. heehee

Hi SSL,

Yah... me hooked on Lavender scent too! Find it so relaxing. Anyway, that drink you mentioned for Saturday morning... a cup of honey with a teaspoon of lemon... meaning honey water, right? How to drink one cup of honey? So thick... :P

btw, i was at the airport when I posted my previous postings... which explained the timings... 1 plus am.

cynthia

Hi cynthia

WELCOME BACK

Maybe can dilute the honey with water lah. heehee. yah will die of diebetics man if really go and drink a cup of honey.

wha u also miss us alot huh.

Hi SSL, yah man.... sure miss you girls...
Where's Lynn? She having exams already?

When I was in Scotland, I love to soak myself in the bath with few drops of Lavender essential oil. Always make me sleep better at night. Just love the way the fragrance fills up the entire room. Aiyah... back in Singapore, hubby say cannot take bath too frequently coz will waste a lot of water...

btw, when are we expecting the eos? How is your spritz making?

cynthia

hi cynthia

paiseh, too busy to begin my spritz making.
yes i think lynn is busy with school work.

yap she rec the eo liao.

SSL, just want to ask this.

Does your vapouriser vapourise EO very fast? Mine did... I dropped in about 6 drops of Lavender + Grapefruit, and within half an hour... there's nothing left... Is that normal? Or overheated?

btw, I was deciding if I should buy Lavender shower gel from Body Shop. U got one from Jessica, right? How do you like it?? Any recommendation???

HI gals,

I am still around, tot this thread is going to rip cos it been stagnant..... sorry hor.. me busy woman. Everyday, at most can sleep 4 hrs. nowadays, sleep is a luxury to me liao.. I think my vaporiser eveporate very fast too....

hi cynthia and lynn

i havent start using my vaporiser yet!!! cos it's at my new house. probably can only start to use it after i'm married. so cant comment on that

As for the lavender shower gel. how much is the one at body shop? the one i bought at jessica's place smells abit different from lavender but u can still tell it's lavender. chim hor.

normally i will use it after i use my grapefruit scrub which i bought from lavender shop. so the smell from the shower gel wont be that strong.

duno about the lavender shower gel at body shop leh

Have attended a talk by Bryan Gan at Orchard Library before. Quite interesting. He will be having another talk on 3 July at 7pm.

"Color & Aromatherapy for Teenagers:Dealing with Acne, Weight and Stress."
By Mr Bryan Gan, Certified Aromatherapist

Your mum¹s kitchen may hold more surprises than what is in the pot. Create your own aromatherapy Œrecipes¹ to promote the vitality in your body, mind and emotions. Colour therapy can also help in this way. Discover the power of colour and aromatherapy to manage stressful situations and to combat that nasty cold, which you find usually arises when there¹s an exam or a hot date around the corner!

Hi SSL,

I bought the Lavender shower gel from Body Shop liao. Cost $17.90 - only got one size. Then they have another similar product called Lavender Essential Oil Bath and Shower Gel. That cost $23.90 - more expensive. Think it's because it contains more Lavender EO in it??

Tried the shower gel last night... Err... pretty faint smell only. But you will still smell good even when you are out of the shower. The bottle is made of plastic, but the cap is those screw type. Funny hor...

Are you going to the Bryan Gan's talk again?

hi cynthia

heehee, maybe going for Bryan's talk. but sounded more for teenager hor (i auntie liao cant go) but tot colour therapy is quite interesting. since free so go lor.

hmmm.. maybe i also checkout the lavender shower gel. i didnt open to smell the one that i bought from jessica so find it abit too strong. heehee

the other one probably can use in bath tub so maybe more concentrated in contents.

u interested in going for the talk with me??

Hi there.

You where got auntie? I am the one who is married leh... anyway, I may go to the talk if I can make it on that day. Shouldn't think is a problem. It's free, right? Or do we need to pre-register? SMS you nearer the date.

cynthia

nope it's free. dont need to register. but usually i try to be there earlier so that got seat!!

hard to say whether got alot of crowd or not lor. I'm also not sure, if i dont feel well that day i wont go lor. cos it's nearing my "you know what" timing.

we sms one another to confirm when the date is nearer lah.

Hi SSL, Lynn...

Juz received Neucor's sales catelogue and saw this. Couldn't believe my eyes
Aromatics Rose Otto Essential Oil (5ml) going for S$99. Usual price is S$298.93... Really soooooo expensive meh??

Queen of the essential oils, an antidepressent and aphrodisiac that is believed to have a rejuvenating and uplifting effect. Excellent for all female problems such as heavy periods or irregular menstruation. Suitable for all skin types, especially dry, sensitive, wrinkled, inflamed, aging or hardened skin.

But if you are a first time customer at www.WhereHealthBegins.com, you can buy an Aromatics Ylang Ylang Essential Oil (10ml) at S$1.99 usual price is S$42.62... Sounds like a good buy hor?

cynthia

HI cynthia

will it be a diluted ylang ylang oil?? Rose all along very expensive right?? probably that one very concentrated lor. but not worth buying cos too expensive

Hi SSL,

Myabe not... Says on outside of bottle 100% pure essential oil. This is just one of the special $1.99 buys they are offerning to new members. They always do that...

cynthia

Office Spa: Stress Relief for the Working Week.

I borrowed this book from the library, and thought I'll share something interesting here.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">monday MORNING blues</FONT>
Need a quick pick-me-up? Stimulate your senses with aromatheraphy. The oldest form of medicine known to human kind, aromatheraphy promotes health and well-being through the use of essential oils, the most concentrated essence of a plant. Ylang Ylang essential oil has a soft fragrance that helps calm anxiety. You can purchase a small vial at a health food store, or beauty shop. Store it in a desk drawer and when you arrive at work on Monday morning, open the bottle and take a whiff.

Remember, it's Monday - take it easy today.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">HERbal TEA ceremony</FONT>
Are you ready to go beyond the tea-bag? Create a "tea corner" on your desk with a nice Japanese or English teapot, some tea cups, honey and a selection of teas.
When you are ready for a break with a co-worker or client, share some tea. Get out a tea ball or strainer to hold the herbs for each cup and place inside the teapot. Pour hot water into the pot, cover and let steep for a few minutes.
Pour the tea into the cups and sweeten if desired. Peace can come from simple activities.

Enjoy your mondays!

hee hee... no need lah...
me just bought this rosehip tea and it taste yucky... *haiz* wonder how I can finished the whole packet??

err... it has a kind of sour taste. maybe i'll try putting in honey instead

btw, I bought this camomile moisturising eye supplement from body shop for my "peeling" skin. Seemed to be working well for me leh... now, at night I used the camomile one, morning uses Sothys destressing mask. think will be giving the cream and tensor gel a miss. cannot tahan both products now ;p

Some extracts from Bryan Gan's newsletter.

Oil/Remedies good for lower back pain
-------------------------------------

Eucalyptus, Lavender, Peppermint, Rosemary, Black Pepper, Ginger

Combine chosen oils (2 to 4oils) or use individually so u have no more than 15 drops essential oil to 1 oz carrier and massage into lower back.

Anyone bring aromatherapy incense or blends when you go long hauls (long trips)??

me going europe for honeymoon. wondering if i shd get jet lag blend there. heehee.

Need some advise from experts

May I know what is the brand of the surgical spirit that all of you are talking about? What is the bottle like? Was at Guardian but can't find it. Thanks.

Hi Help

Sorry for the late reply.

Bought my surgical spirit at Guardian pharmacy. It's guardian brand and is 110ml. It's a white bottle with the words "surgical Spirit" in red and on it stated " for use as a disinfectant or as an antiseptic solution" It's in plastic bottle.

Maybe u can look under those shelves containing antiseptic lotions.

Hope u can find it lah.

Hi, here's how to use Rosemary for the hair.

To prevent whitening of hair &amp; promote hair growth &amp; prevent dandruff
- Use 7 drops of rosemary eo in 500ml of distilled water
- Divide into 3 portion
- Rinse hair with 1 portion after shampooing

Happy rinsing!

I bought the Rose Hip essential oil when I was in Australia. Seems that it's quite cheap, only about A$17 for 25ml bottle. It puts there 100% pure essential oil.

Is it the same type of rose hip oil as what you all have been talking about earlier?

Hi Jaslyn,

I'm not sure if the rosehip oil is the same as the one Sushi mentioned for lightening scars, but rosehip oil is a type of oil, extracted from the seed of a native wild rose grown in southern Chile.

When applied twice a day every day for about three months reduces scar tissue, helps to prevent and fade stretch marks, attenuates wrinkles &amp; age spots. Anti-inflammatory, improves burned skin. Aids in the treatment of dermatitis that results from radiotherapy. Excellent to prevent photo aging and immediately relieve dry skin and eczema. Not for your face or for acne scars if you are still going through acne.

RHO can come in pure oil form for direct application or in massage blends for use with essential oils.

Err... I think the one you got probably needs blending before use. Coz as far as I know, only Lavender and Tea Tree can be apply neat without blending. What did the salesperson advise?

cynthia

More tips for the hair and skin...

Refreshing scents, such as lemon, grapefruit and cypress, have antiseptic and astringent properties, which make them ideal for treating greasy hair and oily skin problems.

If your hair is dull, lank and oily...
add a few drops of grapefruit oil to an unperfumed shampoo base and use every second day. The result will be beautifully shiny, fragrant hair.

For hair that needs frequent washing...
don't be tempted to use harsh degreasing shampoos or to use shampoos too often - the rubbing action on the scalp stimulates the sebaceous glands to produce more sebum, thus worsening the problem.

If you have oily or combination skin...
pay attention to your diet and drink lots of water. It also helps to adopt a good skincare regime as open pores easily becomes clogged with dirt, causing blackheads, spots and pimples.

For a clear, healthy skin, add a few drops of lemon and lime oils to an unperfumed cream base and cleanse twice a day. TOne the skin with a spitzer containing refreshing scents such as orange, grapefruit and cypress.

cynthia

Seductive massage mix... Anyone game to try?

You will need:
- 105ml/ 7tbsp grapeseed oil
- 5ml/ 1 tbsp wheatgerm oil
- 5 drops of rose essential oil
- 3 drops of ylang ylang essential oil
- 2 drops of jasmine essential oil

Combine the ingredients and store in a dark-coloured screw-top bottle.

All 3 eos mentioned are well-known aphrodisiacs, and there are a variety of ways they can be used to bring a little romance into your daily life.

cynthia

hmmm... cynthia, so have u tried the potion??

heehee

btw, if we are sharing the sweet almond oil, do we need to buy those amber glass pump bottles from jessica to contain the blend??

hee hee... wished I did, but haven't buy the carrier oil, how to try???

we will need something to hold the blends right? when will u be going down to jessica's place? let me know. i'll see if i can join u

cynthia

am new here. not sure if you have tried this trick before, but i have been using this for awhile and it's a godsend. w

what i do is i fold a clean [and dry] tissue into a rectangle, drip 2-3 drops of EO, fold it [so as to eliminate direct contact with the bare skin], then slip it underneath my bra strap. the scent will perk you up the whole day!

you just pick EOs based on your needs or moods of the day. try it!

i bought quite many types of EOs from In-Essence, a leading aromatherapy company from Aust, and they have some pre-mixed ones for different moods, very good!

Hi bearyhungry,

Thanks for the tip! Btw, do you do mail order or internet order with In-Essence? Any website address?

cynthia

Hi cynthia

Me going to Jessica place for my full body massage this fri (19th) will sms her to check if she has sweet almond oil. How much oil u want??

Is 20ml too little or too much to start off with?

Hi bearyhungry,

Ever read before that you can also stuff tissue dripped with eo to perk your day up!!
similar method to your posting. so what oil do u normally use??

Any special oil that can make one more "calm and cool" (but not sleepy hor) heehee.

Does In-Essence carries incense sticks too?? Me an incense stick freak! haha

Hi SSL, I will need to get bottles to hold my blends too... Err, the sweet almond oil comes in 100ml right? Smaller sizes, got or not?

20ml makes 2 bottles loh... I haven't count how many blends I want to make. Maybe one for the kidney, the other for seductive massage, HEE HEE...

:P cynthia

SSL, this is for you

ICED ginger-lemon-honey PICK-ME-UP tea.

Ginger has great rejuvenating properties, and lemon is very soothing for cold symptoms. Add honey and your have a sweet and healthy beverage. Next time, you're feeling run-down, brew a pot of this invigorating tea...

Ingredients
2 ginger tea bags
2 tablespoons lemon juice (about half a fresh lemon)
2 tablespoons honey
2 cups hot water
lemon wedges

Directions
1) Place the 2 ginger tea bags in a bowl. Add the lemon juice and honey.
2) Pour hot water over the ingredients and let steep for 10 minutes. Let tea cool until luke warm.
3) Pour the tea into 2 large glasses full of ice.
4) Garnish with lemon wedges and share with a friend.

cynthia

EXOTIC mind MOTIVATOR

Mix up a batch of this powerful aromatic massage lotion and keep some at your desk.

1) Dilute 6 drops of sandalwood essential oil with 4 teaspoons sunflower, almond or olive oil.
2) Rub a few drops onto your hands and arms.
3) Breathe in the powerful scent for instant inspiration.

cynthia

Lynn!! Found this in the Office Spa book

BURNING the MIDNIGHT OIL spa kit

Keep these supplies handy for those unavoidable late nights!

* Fuzzy slippers
* Candles
* Sparkling water
* Energy bars
* Getting sleepy? Do a sound check in the office and turn up the tunes!

cynthia

STRESS survival KITS

<FONT COLOR="119911">Aromatherapy Travel Kits</FONT>
Create a handy aromatherapy kit for home, office and on-the-go. You'll need a small pouch that fits the five essential oil vials:
* Eucalyptus - cool and energizing decongestant
* Ylang Ylang - uplifting and balancing, soothes mental fatigue
* Lavender - relaxing, relieves tension and aids sleep
* Peppermint - stimulating and reviving, aids digestion
* Sandalwood - warm and exotic, calming

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Home Stress Survival Kit</FONT>
It's nice to have supplies at home for pre- and post-work relaxation. Pamper yourself through the weekend. Don't let the spa ends on Friday.
* Aromatherapy Travel Kit (above)
* Espsom salts, candles, incense
* Pumice stone and loofah scrub brushes
* Natural moisturising cream

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Desk Stress Survival Kits</FONT>
Keep this kit handy for refrreshment and rejuvenation. You'll need:
* A teapot and some teacups
* A selection of teas - peppermint, chamomile, ginger, ginseng, and green tea
* Sparkling water and fresh fruits
* Miso soup and other natural soup packets
* Trail mix and power bars
* 2 small plastic bottles, one for aromatherapy spray and the other for massage oil
* A golf ball or rolling pin for feet
* Your favourite plants and flowers

cynthia

whow cynthia

thks for all the eo tips. will sure do blend after getting the oil from jess tmr. her sweet almond oil comes in 50 and 100ml.

hi cynthia,

nope, in-essence doesn't do online ordering for now, too bad... but you can check out their websites, have got some easy-to-pick-up tips for using EOs. www.inessence.com.au

anyway, found out that they're keen to come into singapore market. and understand that some bigshot supplier has clinched the distribution rights... and they're opening a little corner at tangs beauty hall next month [august]. sure am looking forward to it! otherwise, i have to stock up everytime i visit aust!

my only hope is prices won't be jacked up here...

be careful what oils you buy... there're many cheap ones from thailand and taiwan. not good la. the better ones are from aust and europe, particularly uk and france.

Thanks, bearyhungry.

But have you noticed that country of origin is seldom stated on the essential oil bottles? It's always made in UK, regardless the type of eo. I presume that's bcoz the factory who bottle the eo is in UK.

So...*scratch head*... I am still pretty confused as the whether the Lavender that I buy from shops here in Singapore are from France or England. For some types of eos, may not matter much if we are only using it for fragrance and relaxation. Not if we are using them for some medicinal properties.

cynthia