Aromatherapy

oh yes master lynn and cynthia

okie they will put distilled water one hor??

oh yes lynn, i just called up lavender. they are selling the eucalyptus cones at $5.50 and sticks at $6.50.

And they close at 10pm!! Only two branches in Singapore, causeway point and raffles city. opening one new one in aug at united square.

Rest well, ladies. Especially SSL... photshoot coming leh...

I will be busy over the weekend, distributing the bridal cakes and invitations to my relatives.

cynthia

yah, me sneezing abit. just dragged some stucked papers out from printer under my table,

yeh yeh going to jessica place for my MASSAGE!!!!!! yeh (dozing time)

yes, rest well everyone.

Hi, new here. Would like to find out how long do you need to turn on the burner in order for the eo smell to fill the bedroom?

Usually how many drops of eo should be put into the water?

Hi interested

Normally i put 5-6drops of eo into my burner. You can smell the fragrance usually faster in aircon room than normal room. Certain eo requires more drops inorder for the smell to be stronger.

Also gota depend on your room size. if too big, than 6 drops maybe too faint. Do by try and error

Hi cynthia & lynn

As usual, cant control my spending when i go to jessica's place. heehee

I bought 2 spritz bottle ($2.20 each), measuring cup ($5) and 5 for $10 incense sticks (those in the basket) to try. Fragrance are : lavender, rose, sandalwood, vanilla, rosemary.

also bought surgical spirit from guardian as advised by jessica to "sterilise" the bottles before using. Still finding the savlon antiseptic lotion to soak my empty grapefruit amber bottle.

Also bought the smallest bottle i can find distilled water at watosn for $0.80!! heehee.

Jessica told me that the surgical spirit ($2.45) can also be used to clean the burner stained with balance eo. cheaper too.

as for the spritz, she said can keep for 1 month! her largest bottle is 60ml. only looks small (maybe i was expecting a BIGGER BOTTLE)

Beside the spray, she also got pump (for lotion) and eo amber bottles with glass dropper.

Hi interested,

Just something to add on what SSL said. If you are using stronger oils (such as Lemongrass and Tea Tree), do not put too much into the burner. Otherwise, you will feel suffocated.

Speaking from experience...
Cynthia

Hi SSL and Lynn, please refer to the June Brides thread for an update of my cake-distributing day.

Wah.. so you are all set to make the spritz liao. All the bottles are made of glass, right? Can use the boiling method to sterilize them or not? And is Salvon the brand of the antiseptic lotion? Where did Jessica says can buy them from?

cynthia

Hi flowee

I'm on back massage + mud + scrub package with jessica. cant really remember how much i pay but is cheap cos that time got discount on her packages.

She will do a gentle scrub on my back and then massage with ess oil. then finish with mud ontop of my back and (it's my dozing time)zzzz.... then after sometime she will remove it and end with a moisturiser for my back! 1hr session.

only for back and not full body.

Hi cynthia

Havent make spritz yet cos tmr photoshoot so kinda busy over the weekend. (sneezing actually) and of course watching my jacky cheung concert.

Yes, all bottles are glass and amber colour with white cap and norzel. the tube and cap and norzel is plastic i think. so not sure if the boiling method is ok for it or not.

Cos remembered jessica told me have to soak everything for sometime with warm water mah. buying the surgical spirit is easier cos just wipe!!

Savlon is the name of the antiseptic lotion. She say can find in guardian pharmacy. but so far, i went to 3 and they only got cream ones.

Will try my luck again at other guardians. If u need to buy anything, i can help u since i'm also buying them.

btw, lynn & cynthia, my sis friend on MC last two days on thurs and fri so my sis can only pass the message to her friend about our TT issue today. will advise u later when she get back to me.

Hi SSL,

It's alright. take your time to arrange.. don't want to make life too stressful for any brides to be. Anyway, not in a rush to use the oil cos my study is taking up all my time already... I sleep, work, eat and study mostly for the past 3 months... wondering when can I be more relaxed...

I think if you can't find Salvon, rubbing alcohol can also do the job pretty well, cos EO dissolve in it easily... I found a bottle of rubbing alcohol at $2 plus for quite a big bottle at Serangoon Gardens.. found it when shopping around after a nice meal at Chomp Chomp.

Hi lynn

The Savlon is for removing the smell of empty eo bottle before using it for another oil. it looks like Dettol (jess show me her big bottle) and is orange in colour.

The surgical spirit is for sterilise purpose. so the rubbing oil is for which purpose leh?? :p

unless u want to use dettol which jessica says also can but dettol smell too strong liao so can remove eo smell but wait become dettol smell. heehee

Hi Cynthia,

I think what SSL is saying that when we want to reuse those EO bottles which will have traces of the EO no matter how I wash.... either we soak them in salvon solution or soak in dettol to remove all traces of the previous EO.

btw, is it expensive to buy empty EO bottles? Is it readily available?

The grapefruit eo I bought from Jessica finished liao... very tempted to throw the bottle away leh... Anyone of u want to recycle it?? Seems like very hard to clear all traces of eo away hor...

yayaya

lynn is right. i meant that.
duno leh, lynn got lobang har?? think she mentioned essence vale has them.

i want to give a try so didnt want to buy too big a bottle of savlon to try. i can share with u gals lah. so i buy u no need to buy lor.

Hello.... for pets lover who are also into aromatherapy

Extracted from an aromatherapy newsletter by Bryan Gan. He gave a talk before in NLB... in case anyone is wondering who is he.
<HR WIDTH=75% SIZE=2>Pet Care &amp; Pest Control - Using Essential Oils

Essential oils can and should play a strong role in your pets life. They are inexpensive, dry or irritate their skin and make them smell much nicer than prepared chemical washes and sprays. Further, they are not toxic to you or your pet. Animals have a good instinct and will know which oils will benefit their upset stomach or a flea infestation but as they may have some difficulty relating this to their owner, we offer some helpful pointers here.

<U>Pest Control</U>
Dogs, cats even horses are all plagued by fleas and ticks. One or two drops of tea tree or lemongrass oil added to the shampoo, will greatly discourage these pests from associating with your pet. Prepare a bowl of warm water and add four or five drops of cedarwood and pine oil, then soak a bristle haired brush in the solution and brush your pet down with it. The eggs and parasites will come off in the brush so rinse it out thoroughly several times during this process. The essential oils will also condition the coat and skin while ridding the fleas and ticks. Adding citronella and lemongrass to this mixture will discourage flies on your livestock when brushed into their coat.

You can also prepare your own flea collar by soaking an old cloth collar or even a cotton scarf in a mixture of cedarwood, lavender, citronella and thyme and four or five garlic capsules. Blend together and add less than a teaspoon of vodka or alcohol to help thin the mixture and blend the oils, soak your collar in this then put it on. These collars can work for about 30 days. Adding garlic capsules to your pets food will also make them less attractive to fleas and ticks.

<U>Illness, Disease and Injury</U>
Animals suffer from colds, flu, arthritis and dental problems just as people do and often what works for us will work for them also. It is always important to remember the highly concentrated nature of essential oils and use sparingly.

If your pet has bad breath it can be a result of gum disease and bacterial build up on their teeth. Mix a couple tablespoons of baking soda, one drop of clove oil and one drop of aniseed for a toothpaste. Apply it with a soft bristle toothbrush or cloth and rub your pets teeth gently. Remember, they likely don't like the dentist anymore than you do, so be considerate of their sensitive mouths. For general bad breath, apply lavender, myrrh and clove directly to their gums to kill the bacteria causing this.

For wounds, abcesses and burns lavender and tea tree can be indispensible. Apply tea trea to an abcess, once the infection is discharged apply lavender to help heal the wound. Scalds and burns can also be treated with lavender to speed and aid healing. Skin rashes and eczema can be treated by applying tea tree to the affected area, as well as lavender and chamomile. A mixture of lavender, chamomile and tea tree dropped into infected ears is another excellent use for a common problem with pets <HR WIDTH=75% SIZE=2>

Hi Cynthia and SSL,

Essence Vale and Plant Planet do carry those empty EO bottles with orifix..but I have discount with Essence Vale, so make full use of the discount loh.. What's the size and colour you want ??

Hi Lynn, what is orifix? Hmmm... 15ml bottles should be enuf to hold whatever we are buying, right? Does colour make a diff?

Thanz...
cynthia

According to books, it's better to get amber coloured bottles, something to do with the colouring... orifix is the dropper.

HI cynthia

thks for posting bryan's newsletter.
want me to post the earlier ones?

i was at spotlight today and managed to use the "discount card" (or i should say paper) for discount. heehee. bought two pcs of cloth to make boxer shorts. mum's teaching me lah. heehee..

saw and smell "forest pine" fragrance oil. quite nice but didnt buy cos wanted to buy potpourri of the same type and put into satin bags (just beside the ess oil) and hang them in my bathroom.

Do u think the smell will be able to emit from the satin satchet?? (something similar to the organza lace material)

do u want to keep ur empty grapefruit bottle until i find(and buy)the liquid savlon and soak for u??

Hi lynn

i think 10 or 15ml would be fine. what is the size we would need to hold our eo orders?? colour?? err.. supposed i will get the same type as the ones jess has. amber colour??

Hello... was busy "shifting house" over the weekend. Dun mind my late posting, yah...

Hi Lynn,
besides amber, there's also blue bottles, right? Is there any difference between the 2? Or just purely a matter of different origins?

btw, hope you are coping well with your work and studies. That day, mistook SSL's sms for yours ;p... so pai seh...

Hi SSL,
How's your soap making?

Me thinking of putting some fragrance in my cupboard too. What would be good - sachet or scent balls? Or just use cotton ball, can or not? Or would it be too expensive to use the diffuser I bought from Jessica's?

Okay, i'll keep the empty bottle till you can find salvon. Let me know...

cynthia

Hi cynthia

I didnt make any more soap cos no mood lately. been sneezing for so many sats until i very sianz. haiz

i have this problem last time but was well for quite sometime. duno why like that. come back again.

I tried cotton balls but it doesnt seem to work very strongly. I've actually bought dried lavender seeds intending to add eo to them and out inside cabinet, using mini sake cups. (which i bought from 1.99 shop)

Tried sachet and scen balls before but they are only good initially. i didnt have time to explore more stuff as all stuff are at my home.

probably be able to do so when i'm married and live there permanently.

Jess mentioned to me before that she has this scent stuff for cupboard. but that time she got no stock. not sure if now she replenish or not.

Why not give the diffuser you bought a try. put in the cabinet and see how. dont buy more first otherwise if it doesnt work then no use. I think it works better in aircon room. cos cabinet is enclosed so not sure if the effect would be different.

Still cant find savlon in liquid form!!!

oh yes, yesterday was at bugis and saw berger lamp. wha the eo solution they use to pour into the lamp is SOOO BIG!!! heehee.

i bought eucalyptus cones (not sure if its the same as the one lynn bought at lavender shop) 10 for $8.90 (but got 30% discount) and also bought two bottles of tangerine and lavender fragrance for car or room.

smells very nice but exp. $17+ after discount and it's like a small jam bottle. the lady told me it's actually sponge and inside got fragrance water. so once the water dry liao then no more lor. chinchai lah. wanted to put in hubby's car to try. heehee.

cos i everytime forget to add the eo for him and now the car no smell liao
so i would feel like vomit.

ya ya ya.... saw the eo solution for the berger lamp at Thomson Plaza before too! Really big bottle. About 1 litre? Imagine if we bought one litre of Lavender eo, can try bathing in it liao... hee hee...

Hi Cynthia and SSL,

I think the scent stuff that can hang in wardrobe are the pomanders. BTW, have you gals seen the berger lamp ?? May be also that big.... SSL, sorry hor, reply so late cos really busy during the weekend, I think the eucaplytus cone are $5.90 for a box. Cannot really remember, cos my head really swimming with alot of other numbers. Cynthia, I think the blue bottles are not so good cos some books wrote that the blue colouring can actually contaminate the EO... not too sure how true loh.

Hi lynn

it's okie cos i bought it to try. chinchai not that expensive. but the smell abit thick but not smelly.

maybe i will try the ones at lavender. cos i tot the packaging looks the same!! The berger lamp so BIG!!! like those kerosene lamps. heehee

i bought pomanders too but initially got smell later smell not so strong.

As promised. Some extracts from the newsletter by Bryan Gan.

Frankincense oil

Frankincense, also known as olibanum, is obtained from a scrubby tree of the genus Boswellia, native to the arid regions of
Africa and the Middle East. For centuries it has been an important ingredient in religious ceremonies and it can be very useful
for home use too.

In aromatherapy, frankincense oil is valued for its effects on the respiratory system. It can be used in steam inhalations, baths
and massages for catarrh, bronchitis and coughs. The oil is also recommended for sufferers of asthma but in this case there
should be medical supervision. Female users have also reported that baths and massages with the oil can help reduce excessive
menstruation associated with menopause. Baths and massages can also help reduce pain in muscles and joints so it is
sometimes used as a remedy for rheumatism and arthritis. Frankincense is beneficial for oily skin and is also used on mature
skin. It is also good for tiredness, grumpiness, negative moods, lack of confidence and emotional turmoil.

Some women may find that the smell is too masculine for them and in these cases it can be blended with other oils such as rose,
neroli or lavender. Frankincense is perfectly safe for home use as long as it is diluted before application.

Some more extracts.
(soli to post all at one go cos i forgot and have already received about 6-7 issues) so now i will remember to share some interesting ones on ess oil once i received from him.

1. Room Burners--- Bryan Receipes
General

Put the oils below into the dish or beaker of an essential oil burner - the oil is usually heated by a nightlight but electric ones are available. Do not leave unattended for long periods of time and ensure adequate room ventilation. Some burners require the oils be placed in a small amount of water.

Stimulating &amp; Uplifting -->3 drops lime, 2 drops peppermint or 3 drops lavender, 2 drops lemon, 1 drop grapefruit.
Concentration &amp; Work-->3 drops rosemary, 1 drop peppermint
Exam Preparation --->3 drops rosemary, 2 drops palmarosa, 1 drop lemongrass
2. What evidence is there that aromatherapy does any good at all ?
A. As most doctors would say - circumstantial, anecdotal, historical but not scientific. In fact, research has been done into the effectiveness of some essential oils - especially the popular ones such as lavender, tea tree and peppermint. The aniti-bacterial properties, and to some extent anti-viral properties, of these oils are now well regarded. Have you noticed how the essential oils are finding there way into a wide range of cosmetic and cleaning products ? How may times have you seen 'lemon' or 'pine' fresh cleaners ? Or tea tree shower gel and shampoo ? Or rosemary bath oil ? Is this just cashing in on a trendy phenomenon ( no doubt ) or is there some real scientific evidence behind it ? Even if you dismiss aromatherapy out of hand, have some respect for times past when essential oils brought healing, freshness and luxury to a squalid world. We all appreciate gold, but remember it was on an equal with frankincense and myrrh ! Buy a bottle of each and find out why this could possibly be.

do any of you uses rosemary on hair? i heard that rosemary essential oil is good for simulating hair roots. if its true, how do i use it to improve my hair texture?

thanks !

have anyone tried this thing called ionser to diffuse essential oils? is it similar to normal electrical burners?

please advise! thanks a million!

I bought a lavender shower gel from Jessica last night while waiting for her to sign my body massage package. heehee

costs $13.50 (before discount). she say got promo, buy same lavender shampoo+conditioner and get the shower gel for free. but no more discount lah.

however she got no more stock for shampoo and conditioner too. heehee anyway i told her me no use conditioner one so it's ok.

heehee

Hi Aqua,

I only know that rosemary good for memory... not too sure about the effects it has on hair..sorry can't help on this.

Hi SSL,

I also bought a lavender shower gel from St Micheal.. quite nice and they are having 20% off for some toiletries from their past season.

Can't remember lah, you know me lah... some busy until everything else can forget... I don't even remember paying for it, I think my FH did. I forgot to arrange the time for next appointment with daphne again
aiyoh, stress getting to me liao.

Hi aqua

Read from my little book that Rosemary is used as scalp tonic to promote hair growth.

However it is not advisable to use on people with high blood pressure and on pregnant woman.

Extracted some points for you to see from my little aromatherapy book. See if it helps on your question on rosemary and hair care.

-Add 4teaspoons (20ml) of sweet almond oil
-Add to the appropriate blend of eo below.
-Massage blend into dry hair.
-Cover head with a towel for 20mins.
-Shampoo straight into hair and rinse as normal.
-Do this once a week for a month.

dry hair: 3dps rose + 7dps sandalwood
oily hair: 4dps juniper + 6dps petitgrain
dull hair: 4dps patchouli + 6dps palmarosa
normal hair: 4dps frankincense + 6dps orange
dandruff: 4dps tea tree + 6dps geranium
hair loss: 5dps rosemary + 5dps ginger

But these are from books so u may want to check with a certified aromatherapist. You can post a question under the Beauty Inspiration thread and Jessica will be glad to assist u.

Hope my "copied notes" helps. heehee

Hi all, some info on Rosemary...

Rosemary is both a physical and mental stimulant, which makes it a good oil to have in the morning bath, while also being excellent in the treatment of all muscular conditions, making it the perfect oil for a bath after a long tiring day. This antiseptic oil is used in the treatment of muscular sprains, artritis, rheumatism, depression, fatigue, memory loss, migraine, headaches, coughs, flus and diabetes, among other conditions. It is also very useful in beauty treatments, being used in hair care and acne and cellulite remedies. For the sportsman, cook and gardener, rosemary is invaluable.

Hmm... I wonder if the EO added to the organic shampoo is Rosemary? Checked the ingredients at the back, but they never list what EOs are added....

btw, Lynn... Daphne asked you to sleep more... good for your skin.

How much does the Ikea tealight cost and the quantity? You noe that Watson also sell tealight for approx $5. Is the quality just as good? Which is more value for money? Watson or Ikea?

from the previous messages, i had read that some of you had bought the electric burner. how's the verdicts?? i would like to get one too, but i have some queries. hope you gals can advise me

-does it come with a timer? or it will keep burning until you switch off the electricity. if its the latter, it be very dangerous as i am very scatterminded...i will definitely forget to switch off and just sleep!!

-is it cheaper to buy in australia? or is singapore's ones are getting more affordable too?

thanks!!!

Hi Blueberry,

I think it's less than $10 for a hundred at ikea. Bought one packet long time ago but never seem to finish, so cannot remember the price.

Hi Amthyst,

I find that the electric burner is great.. I leave it on the whole day, but will switch it off when I go out of the house.. In fact, now I have 2 of them. If you are buying in small quantity, then buy in Singapore... don't know whether sale still on at Healthy Planet but with the discount for the month of April, one cost approx $50, so quite worth it.

Hi amthyst

I assumed u are referring to the electric vaporiser. I bought it but havent use it cos its at my new home.

but can help u to answer some of your questions. No it doesnt have a timer. When your eo has vaporised totally, it's alright to leave it on. Actually the salesman told us that he has been leaving the vaporiser on since he turned it on!!

And it's actually better (he said) cos frequent turning on - off may make the switch spoil easily. oh well, but i think i will turn it off when i leave my home incase something happens to my electric circuit at home.

it's not hot and only the dish that u put the eo is warm in the centre so it's not dangerous to leave it on even without any eo in it.

that time we bought it cos got discounts. not sure now still have or not. i think it maybe more expensive in singapore thats why initially we wanted to buy in Australia.

Thanks for the info. Watson also selling $5+ for pack of 100, so many how to finish. Anywhere else selling for lesser quantity?

Hi Blueberry,

Unless you want to buy those high quality tealights that does not emit smoke at all, these will sell in dozen or so...but the price is still a few dollars. So in the long run, you will spent alot of money on tealights.

hi ssl and lynn,

thanks for you advices. i will definitely consider buying myself one too. please let me know if u happen to see special offers for electric burners...
i do hope to get some bargains in the great singapore sales!