Aromatherapy

Hi Angelia, I bought the burner from Watson's too... But they only have 3 types of colours
not much to choose from...

Wanted to buy tealights too... tot of trying it tonight... but the tealights there comes in a bag of 100 pcs for $5.90.

Lynn, can I buy some tealights from you??

4679.gif
cynthia

Hi Miu,

The bottle of Lemongrass I have smells like those Hacks sweets (the black coloured one with red translucent wrapper). But sometimes it also reminds me of ginger... yummy!

I like it perhaps becoz it reminds me of my secondary school days... always buy the Hacks sweet (3 for $1) from the void deck Mamak store. Ah! The power of essential oil...

4680.gif
cynthia

Hi twinky

No i havent mix any spritz yet. cos i didnt have time to source for the glass bottle. Dont worry. if i really buy and find good bargains for the bottles, i will post here ok.

Hi Cynthia

i saw two bars of glycerine. one whiter one clearer. No specifications as to how much it is. You think is enough??

Cos i actually saw some isolated glycerine boxes near the place they hang the kit. got one called crystal clear. maybe if we think not enough we can buy some of those isolated ones?? u let me know if u need to buy some more lah.

hi Cynthia & Lynn,

hmmmm....I think I shd go and personally take a smell at Lemongrass. *sniff, sniff*

woww...that black hack sweets, very hot one. Ya..at our age, hack is the common sweet and cheap too.

I saw Black Pepper EO in one of the brochures I gotten. When I saw this, I was thinking to myself, where got ppl burn black pepper one??

Black Pepper
"Extracted from peppercorns in India; useful for massage of tired muscles with warm stimulating effect on mind"

maybe it will makes you think of black pepper crabs after massage??

Hi Lynn n Cynthia,

Me also not going lah, just checking n see if anyone is going mah, if it's town I won't mind actually, but i guess should be in Downtown East hor. Too far for me liao.

Hi SSL,

Thanks. My exams are over liao but next week starting a new term again....so soon..
no break this term. Maybe I will go look for it also and let u know if I do find the glass bottles.

On mon I just bought 3 EO from Robinson. Lavandar, Lemon n Geranium. Mr fren say Geranium smells like rose syrup....
but i remember i walked into a beauty salon and they were burning this, smells great to me!! The Promo was suppose end on Sun, but i still managed to get the promo coz the guy say he have not finished changing the price tags, so still can give me the offer. That was so nice of him...

Think I will add lemon EO to my laundry in the final rinse, esp for bedsheets n towels. Or will Lavander be better??

Oh yah, can I ching jiao you gals, are incense cones better or sticks?? are the cones v smoky and do they finish faster then the sticks??? coz they are so small....been a while since i buy incense sticks liao, those i like from TSS all no stock wan, so boring.

Do agree that TSS staff not so knowledgeable in the EOs, but they are mostly part-timers or temp, so young. But the major retail stores for aromatherpy is basically under the same management, TSS, Lavander, Wannabe. Not much of a choice actually.

Hi twinky

I've sent an email to someone to ask if he can advise where to get those glass bottle for making spritz this morning. will wait for his reply and let u know.

As for the diff bet cones and incense sticks, i've asked a salesgirl this question before. she told me they are the same, just diff shape.

After experimenting it, they are the same but i find that cones are less "untidy" than incense sticks.

Some incense sticks are longer so when the ashes falls down, they spread quite a large area. if it's cones, i saw that when they are burning or finished burning, it's still in the shape of the cone!! Hee hee (u know what i mean)

very cute hor.maybe i put in the bedroom so no wind so wont blow that much. but i also put incense stick inside bedroom but the ashes for the longer ones will fall off in a bigger area lor.

as for smoky wise, both are the same. unless u got those sticks that are really smoky. if u are talking about TSS ones (provided is the "xiang" brand that i bought) it's ok. which brand did u buy from TSS?? TSS also sells cones right but many good flavours no more stock. haiz

Hi SSL,

Ha, i buy those cheap ones, u can pick n choose 10 for $2. Coz i only burn them in the kitchen, no need buy such good brands.

Cones more untidy meh?? I remembered I mentioned i passed by a shop in Holland Village Shopping Center, they sell very small dishes for putting the cones, so cute. Tot cones will save more space, just a small small dish abt the size of the 'o' u make with ur index finger n thumb.

So how u burn the cones??? just light the top part and it will burn the whole thing throughly?? Sigh...should have bought a set at HV then. So far have not seen that small dish for cones in TSS or other place. Or maybe i didn't look hard enough for it. TSS has those rather big cone holders that kinda looks like something u put on an alter for praying...where smokes comes out from the holes in the cover...ha ha.

Hmmmm, think will try cones. Gotta find a time to go HV liao...the incense they sell comes in many bright colours. see oreadi also feel happy.

Now I am using Lilac n Lavander fragance oil for my home n office. using wooden balls and tissue in glass cups. but the scent not so strong, can't really smell anything...Only office still ok coz i bought the original lilac n lavandar wooden balls.

Oh ask u ah, is it a waste to buy Jessica's diffuser and put fragance oil instead of EO?? Might wanna buy 2 of them and hang in the wardrobe, then at least the smell stays, just add EO. tried the TSS wooden balls b4, 3 in a small pouch, after the intial smell is gone, hard to put it back....ley chey n oily when infusing the wodden balls with refresher oils.

The challenge of aromatherpy thing for home is how to keep the frangance consistent without having to use a burner hor...ha ha...but it always fades away, need consistent replacement n maintance, just like everything else in life...
...but sometimes will get lazy lah....

Hi SSL,

Oh I didn't read properly....cones are less "untidy". it register in my brain as "cones are less tidy"....hee hee...no wonder i find it weird weird...paiseh.

Ok lah, will buy cones then. Then i will use my current long incense holder to 'poke' at my clothes when i soak them in pails...

hi twinky

it's ok. i tot i type wrongly heehee.
U can find ur lovely little dishes at the stall i mentioned to u at bugis.

they are located at basement bet the foodcourt and the supermarket. i bought a set 6 cones + dish for $2+ or 3+ (cant remember) strawberry one. but my mum cant take the smell so i brought to my house to burn nice leh. ;)

Where did u buy the 10 for $2 ones?? i also want leh. Holland Village?? TSS also got cones but didnt noticed if they have cone dish.

Me too also using the lavender + lilac wooden balls. very nice to smell hor. makes one fresh. Well, ess oil usgae are more for theraputic purpose.Fragrance oil are just for fragrance. So i wont say if it's a waste to buy jess diffuser and use it with fragrance oil.

But each diffuser costs $15 (which is not cheap) if u want to use fragrance oil, why not use some other diffusers of cheaper price??

For wooden balls, u have to add the refresher oil and keep in tight bag for one day so that it can soak through. then the smell can stay. but i doubt it can smell the same way as the initial smell lor.

I will use aromatherapy at home when i have the mood lor. so not so much of a chore to me to add and top up (cos hubby dont know how and lazy to put lor)

sometimes i too tired i will just light my lavender incense stick and thats it!! if i happier, i will change my incense sticks to eucalyptus, citronella, sandalwood!! change once one finishes

Hi SSL,

I buy the 10 sticks for $2 at TSS loh. They have a stand where they got alot of different incense, normally near the cones too, the section where u buy loose items.

I think Holland Village the incense they sell is the short type and a pack abt $2, i think there's at least 10 sticks inside ba. can't remember. Might go tonight.

wat other diffusers would you suggest for the wardrode? wat i'm doing now is i used old wooden balls, i added the refresher oil as wat u mention, soak it for a day in sealed plastic bag. but the smell still not strong lah. only get a whiff on n off. i put the ball in a cushion of shredded tissue, even put some oil on the tissue.

tat y i thinking Jessica's diffuser will work better. as least it's long term. The balls work v well when u buy from the shop, but when the smell is gone, add oil also like not effective one. will be such a waste to throw them out everytime.

Oh yah, u think the other type from TSS will be better. they have lilac n lavander in a pretty box, inside have some clay flowers and lots of purple 'grains'. Looks pretty. cost abt $13.90. suppose to work just like the wooden balls.

Some tips for choosing good quality essential oils.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Essential oils - plant extractions - are used in the perfume and food industries as well as in aromatherapy. Many cheaper essential oils -- used mainly in the fragrance market - are not suitable for human health purposes. Recent research indicates that inhaling synthetic fragrances may cause allergies and asthmatic problems. Therefore it is not advisable to use low-grade essential oils even as perfume.

Some essential oil suppliers claim that the oils meet International Standards like the ISO or the British Pharmacopoeia and are therefore the best, 100% pure essential oils. This is incorrect as these organizations stipulate a range of designated specifications; oils from different harvests and years have to be blended to meet these specifications. Some are put through further rectification to improve the odour.

Some guidelines for buying good quality essential oils:

Sufficient label information

Good brands should include at least the following information:

Botanical species: We must know the species of the plant used for distillation. For example, the name "lavender oil" is inadequate because there are so many species of lavender. A defined botanical species gives the name of the genus in Latin. This is followed by a qualifying adjective and in some cases the variety and the chemotype. The combination of the genus or generic name and the adjective defines the botanical species. This is the minimum requirement in identifying the correct oil to use.

Examples of different types of lavender are:

Lavendula angustifolia or true lavender is the most common lavender essential oil used in aromatherapy. It has a balancing effect, sedative in small quantities, and it is useful for insomnia, stress, headache, burns, among others. The main constituents are linalol and linalyl acetate.

Lavendula Latifolia or spike lavender. Its main chemical constituents are cineol, camphor and linalol. The effect is not as sedating as true lavender and the smell is more camphoraceous.

Recent research at Purdue University found that many of the oils sold in the market as lavender is in fact lavendin, a hybrid developed by crossing true lavender and spike lavender. Lavandin is significantly cheaper than true lavender.

Another example is Eucalyptus. Because there are many species and varieties it is meaningless to speak of " Eucalyptus oil ". For example, there are Eucalyptus globulus, Eucalyptus radiata, and Eucalyptus citriodora, among others. A high percentage of cineol is found in the globulus and radiata types, but not the citridora type. Oils with a higher percentage of cineol tend to be better expectorants.

It is not surprising that many fail to get what they expect from an essential oil. One of the factors is the lack of technical information. The next time you want to buy an essential oil of lavender for relaxing, make sure you get Lavendula angustifolia.

Country of origin is very useful to know for the plant being distilled or expressed. For example Clary sage from Russia has a different chemical composition from the species from Israel. The Russian type has a harsher odour than the one from France. And the best quality sandalwood oil is from East India and not West India.

Producing organ. It is also very useful to know which part of the plant was used in extraction. For example, the best therapeutic effect comes from the berries of Juniper, not the leaves. Therefore aromatherapy quality oil should be labelled Juniper berry, not just Juniper.

Safety information. The Aromatherapy Trade Council of the UK states that safety information should be included in the packaging. These include: For external use only, Do not use undiluted on the skin, Avoid sensitive areas like the eyes, and Keep away from children.

I believe that responsible suppliers should include the above information, but many oils are sold in the market without it. This is because few suppliers are fully qualified in aromatherapy and do not know the best sources. The tendency is to select essential oil on the basis of cost rather than purity, known botanical source, origins, and safety.

Proper storage

Essential oils are very sensitive to light and heat. Light and heat speed up the oxidation process. Essential oils should be kept in amber or dark brown glass bottles.

Plastic bottles are not suitable for storing pure essential oils, so oil sold this way may just be fragrance grade oil. Recent research shows that cobalt blue bottles are not suitable for storing essential oils, as oils tend to react with the colouring substance in the glass.

Another important factor is that essential oils should be kept in a cool and dark place. A cool environment is equivalent to around 20&ordm;C (68&ordm;F).

Supplier's background

Is the supplier a perfume manufacturer or cosmetics supplier? Is their consultant a fully qualified aromatherapist? Do they mainly cater to aromatherapy users, or are they mainly suppliers to the beauty or perfume industry?

Many suppliers or retailers trade in essential oil as only a side business. Many jumped into the 'aroma' trend. I found all kinds of shops selling essential oils, including florists and gift shops. Now please do not get me wrong. I am not saying that only aromatherapists sell 'real' oils. However as a consumer, you have to know that essential oils are considered complementary medicines. They are used for all kinds of common ailments. Are you going to trust a supplier selling flowers and artificial scents as well as essential oils? Or would you choose someone dedicated to aromatherapy products alone? Would you rather buy from a trusted and fully qualified aromatherapist or from an ordinary sales person? You have to answer these questions and judge for yourself.

Qualified aromatherapy consultants

Few shops provide consultation services by a qualified aromatherapist. Sales staff, who may have only gone through two or three days of training, may often give wrong or incomplete instructions.

Technical and service support should be given so as to enjoy the full spectrum of aromatherapy. Once a customer asked me how exactly she should use the oil of rosemary for hair care. She was very confused as one sales person told her to use it neat on the scalp while another recommended inhalation. These are the result of either poor training or no training at all.

Reputable suppliers and brands

Some brands and suppliers are members of trade bodies set up to enforce responsible marketing. They insist that members include safety information and the quality rating of the oils they manufacture or sell. Examples are the Aromatherapy Trade Council (UK), the British Essential oil Association, and the Natural Oils Research Association (UK). Organic oils may be certified under a body called Ecocert.

Put a drop of essential oil on a piece of paper. Does it leave a greasy spot after evaporation? Rub a few drops between your fingers. Does it feel greasy?

Essential oils are non-oily and volatile substances extracted from the plants. They should not leave greasy spots on paper. If a drop of an oil that should have a low evaporation rate, like sandalwood, disappears very fast, be aware of adulteration. Another way suppliers produce cheap oils is by adding tiny amounts of vegetable oil, but they may still label them as pure essential oils.

Some essential oils like Sandalwood has high viscosity, i.e., 'thick'. However, I have encountered Sandalwood oil that had been very heavily diluted.

Oil smell and colour

Can you tell if the smell of the essential oil is abnormal? How about the colour of the oil?

Judging these qualities requires a trained nose. Most experienced aromatherapists can tell the difference. I personally feel very sick from the smell whenever I walk into a shop selling synthetic fragrances.

Colour, too, can be an indication of quality. German camomile should be blue and Patchouli reddish brown, for instance

Compare the prices

Prices of the same type and quantity of oil should not vary much. If the oil is of a very exceptionally high price, ask for the reasons. Sometimes it may be that the oil is certified organic or it may be the quantity (usually in ml) of the oil in the bottle. On the other hand, if the oil is very cheap, that might be a concern. They may be good oils on promotion or they may simply be low quality oils. Oils like German camomile are comparatively expensive but when diluted in 99% base oil it can be very cheap. Please look at the label information carefully. And of course, remember that perfume grade oils are always cheaper.

As far as possible, only buy undiluted essential oils.

Some companies dilute their oils without any indication. Some of the oils are sold diluted to make them affordable. Technically speaking, any essential oils that are pre-blended or mixed with other ingredients like alcohol and solvents, for instance, lose their potency. Unless you are using them just for fragrance, you should always try to buy undiluted essential oils. Pure essential oils are more economical in the long run as you can use them for various common ailments for yourself and your loved ones. Diluted essential oils are also not suitable in compresses, for inhalation, and other health purposes. That does not mean you should not buy pre-blended products for muscle fatigue, baby massage, or slimming. But you should be aware of this point so as to gain maximum benefit from aromatherapy.

Beside the above, the best advice one can give, as far as buying pure essential oils is concerned, is to buy from a company that specializes in aromatherapy and essential oils. As far as possible, consult a qualified aromatherapist for help with purchase decisions as well as for education. A qualified aromatherapist usually has at least a diploma in aromatherapy from a healthcare college (beauty colleges do not teach clinical aromatherapy) and a full membership in a recognized association.

Sebastian Liew, BBA, MIFA, NORA (UK) is a UK-qualified aromatherapist, lectures in aromatherapy, and a full member of the International Federation of Aromatherapists. As an active member of Natural Oils Research Association (UK) , he is dedicated to education and the testing, quality, and analysis of essential oils. Sebastian Liew is the first Asian aromatherapist to receive advanced training in essential oils from Purdue University, USA. A strong believer in the synergy of science and nature, Sebastian Liew co-founded Aromatic Science, the first Singaporean specialist aromatherapy firm.</FONT>

Erm....so u gals think the EO we buy from TSS n Robinson is good enough?? at least it shouldn't be harmful right.....

HI twinky

oh i tot the 10 for $2 are cones. me looking for cones leh. Those sticks are longer ones right?? are they smoky?? i did asked the salesgirl when i started buying incense last time. she told me that type more smoky compared to the other ones she recommended me.

Which one did u buy from TSS?? maybe i can let u try some of those i buy cos very good. (to me lah)

diffuser. mmmm.... i intend to try putting lavender seeds in cabinet (in glass bottle) and add ess oil into it. Havent try yet cos havent bought the glass bottle yet but bought the lavender seeds from TSS liao.

Or u can try putting cotton buds and dipped oil onto it. but doesnt work that well in my cabinets which i'm now using this method. I think jess sells something for the cupboard which i intend to try. but out of stock.

For those who are interested in getting fragrance oils, I just received a newsletter from Spotlight that they will be retailing it at $1.99 ea. Fragrance include Lavender, Lemongrass, Sandalwood, Apple Blossom. Offer until 12 May.

4698.gif
cynthia

Wah, you even have lobang at Spotlight too ???

Anybody fancy organic essential oil which I told you gals one month back, it's on 30% discount... go and take a look at Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin Mall, 3rd level...

Lynn, I am in their VIP club mah... just sign up. It's free anyway. U'll get special prices for some sale items. E.g. VIPs get to buy those fragrance oils at $1.49 instead of $1.99. Also, newsletter to highlight what items will be on sale... Quite a good deal loh...

Thanks for the info on Brown Rice Paradise. Will check it out this weekend. Wah... seemed like a lot of place to run around this weekend...

Hi SSL, when you turned into small-cap ssl?? Tot u are the BIG SSL...

Eh? They dun hv it now? Tot the booth at the escalator always have some catalogue and brochures...

Hi Lynn, haha.. found out that Pimento Berry is also known as Allspice... U would have heard of this, right?

Anyway, here's some info on Pimento Berry:

<FONT COLOR="0000ff"><CENTER>Pimento Berry</CENTER></FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Botanical Name:</FONT> Pimenta dioica

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Family:</FONT> Myrtaceae

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Part of plant used:</FONT> leaves and fruit

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Method of Extraction:</FONT> steam distillation

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Place of Origin:</FONT> Indigenous to the West Indies and South America, it is cultivated extensively in Jamaica, Cuba and, to a lesser degree, in Central America

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Description:</FONT> An evergreen tree which reaches about 10 metres high and begins to produce fruit in its third year. Each fruit contains two kidney-shaped green seeds which turn glossy black upon ripening.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Characteristics:</FONT>
1. Pimento leaf oil is a yellowish-red or brownish liquid with a powerful sweet-spicy scent, similar to cloves.
2. Pimento berry oil is a pale yellow liquid with a sweet warm balsamic-spicy body note (middle note) and fresh, clean top note.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Properties:</FONT> Anaesthetic, analgesic, anti-oxidant, antiseptic, carminative, muscle relaxant, rubefacient, stimulant, tonic.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Blends well with:</FONT> ginger, geranium, lavender, opopanax, labdanum, ylang ylang, patchouli, neroli, oriental and spicy bases.

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Precautions:</FONT> Eugenol irritates the mucous membranes, and has been found to cause dermal irritation. Pimento leaf and berry oil should therefore be used with care in low dilutions only.

cynthia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cynthia</FONT>

hahaha, me oso spotlight VIP, but never got anything from their sales/VIP special so far.... cos mostly for cloths &amp; curtains.... dunno can use for the soap kit or not?!?!

Hi SSL,

The long sticks i buy from TSS is rather smoky ones, look like those used for praying. but it doesn't bother me coz i burn them in the kitchen.

wat lavender seeds is that???? purple ones huh?? maybe it's the one i am talking abt $13.90 in a box??

I did buy the cones 10 for $2 at Holland V last night. but they dun seem to last v long leh. think abt 5 min only..haha....coz they cheap or it's like that?? but they are not smoky. How much are the cones from Jessica.

I bought rose n lavander and 3 tiny 'gong ji' bowl for the cones...so cute....3 for $2.50
The shop is on the 2nd level, near Kalm's (card shop). The shop also sells 20 short sticks for $2. they also have long ones too, but i didn't check the price. And they have ready packed sets that's v nice as gifts. Comes with the holder, can choose between short sticks or cones, only abt $5.90 -$7.90.

I went for a nail service last night to this new salon recommended by one of the forum gals. It's at Delfi Orchard.

I saw that they have this bath oil, which is actually for soaking your feet. have diff blends, like soothing, calming, energising, etc.

Looks nice and tempted to buy but didnt have time to ask them for the price cos i was the last customer and they are going home.

not a big bottle though. It's a blend of ess oils for diff blens i've mentioned above, like lavender+grapefruit+geranium, etc. cant remember the blend very well. :p

but remembered got bergamot, ylang ylang too and other ess oil mix differently in each diff blend. You may want to check it out. #05-13 Delfi Orchard called K's Nails

Hi Cynthia, SSL, Sushi, Cool and Trihok,

I have placed the order for your vaporisers about 2 weeks ago.. but when I go around shopping tis week, I saw alot of shop selling them and some are priced quite competitively with the ones that I have ordered...some of you may want to buy it here yourself as you can see the vaporisers for yourself. The colours seems to be slightly different with the ones the website.. cos it's done by hand, each looks different.

However, if you gals are not in a rush and can wait till August, then can ask my FH to buy for you cos he is going to Brisbane...so how gals, you want to buy yourself, wait for my FH or stick to the original plan ??

I saw them selling at Family Health in Raffles City, Brown Rice Paradise in Tanglin Mall and Plant Planet in Orchard Point. I heard from the shopowner that the distributor just brought the goods in and there are more varieties than what we saw...

Hi gals, found some tips from AromaEssence,

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Help with Spelling?
Lemon, lime and grapefruit oils have been used as spray in Japanese offices to increase concentration levels: '…typing mistakes were reduced by 54% when lemon oil was disbursed in the room.'</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">Something for Students
The essential oil of basil is helpful for intellectual fatigue, for exams and during long periods of study.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Anti-ageing properties...
'Myrrh has anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, astringent, regenerative, skin and wound healing properties. It is used to heal wounds and ulcers, weeping eczema and deep cracks on the heels and hands. Myrrh's regenerative properties also make it useful in improving the condition of mature skin.'</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Rose is good for your skin
Clinical studies and case histories have shown Tea tree oil, camomile oil and rose oil to be effective in various forms of dermatitis and eczema.

Camomile and rose oil have also been used clinically in the treatment of radio-dermatitis (burned, red and sore skin caused by radiotherapy).</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Bronchitis Relief
Chronic bronchitis has been successfully treated by inhalations of peppermint, lavender and sage mixture.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Did you know...
Scientific research has demonstrated that lemongrass oil is effective specifically against P.ovale, a fungus or yeast infection that causes dermatitis.
(see M.Lis-Balchin, Aromascience, p.68)</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Potent Aphrodisiac
Ylang-ylang has a long-standing reputation as a potent aphrodisiac, and its euphoric qualities can help overcome depression and apathy. PMT, menopausal problems and post-natal depression also respond very well to this oil. Tuberose shares many of the same properties - being heady, floral and narcotic. </FONT>

Looks like I should get myself some Basil...
..Lynn u wan some...hee hee

You mean for studying right? I read from many books that rosemary is also good as it enhances memory but not for folks with high blood pressure though..

Hi cynthia,

This is your fave...

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Grapefruit Power
One of the constituents of grapefruit oil - thioterpineol - is currently recognized as having the most powerful odour known to science. It was calculated that if 10g of its vapour could be distributed in the Earth's atmosphere, everyone inhabiting our planet would smell it!

The chemoreceptors in the human nose are extremely sensitive and we can detect up to 10,000 different odours at minute concentrations.</FONT>

I smell Grapefruit n Lemon, but found Lemon stronger leh.

Hi Lynn,

Right now I using Peppermint n Orange with a little Lavander in my burner when i study. Maybe go sniff at Basil see if i like the smell...

Rosemary smells minty...but from the name i tot it would be like rose...ha ha...apparently not

Hi Lynn, so our order is on hold? Let me take a look and then tell you whether to proceed or not... since you say here has more variety...

Hi Twinky, my new favourite is Lemongrass. Find that I like that smell more than my grapefruit.

4706.gif
cynthia

Hi Cynthia,

I am so sorry but I may consider cancelling the order since people can buy it here paying a few dollars more or even cheaper then I don't see the need to bring it in from Australia as it is no longer worth the effort and risk to bring it in...

Here offer more variety some more... will sms u later after I visit the shop..okie ??

lynn

i'm just afraid that they will not allow u to cancel and in the end will have two. but its fine for me one or two

Some intro on <FONT COLOR="119911">Lemongrass</FONT>

<CENTER><FONT SIZE="+2"><FONT COLOR="119911">LEMONGRASS</FONT></FONT></CENTER><CENTER>Cymbopogen flexuosus Steam Distilled, Tanzania, Organic grass </CENTER>
Historically, the herbal form of Lemongrass has been used in traditional Indian medicine for infectious illnesses and fever. Recent research indicates that it has a sedating effect on the central nervous system

The essential oil is <FONT COLOR="119911">stimulating and invigorating</FONT>. It is helpful for treating symptoms of <FONT COLOR="119911">jet lag, clearing the head and relieving fatigue</FONT>.

Lemongrass essential oil is considered an excellent physical tonic. It is said to boost the parasympathetic nervous system which hastens recovery from illness. Battaglia states that Lemongrass stimulates glandular secretions and muscles to aid in digestion. Thus it could be useful for colitis, indigestion, and gastroenteritis.

Lemongrass is an effective skin toner, said to be effective for tightening open pores. There are those who recommend it for treating acne and oily skin. However, not recommend using it on troubled skin since it can be a skin irritant.

Lemongrass blends well with Bergamot, Cedarwood (all types), Geranium, Lemon, Niaouli, Palma Rosa, Petitgrain, Rosemary and Tea Tree. Blended with Rosemary it makes a wonderful morning shower blend. Some people substitute the scent for Lemon EO in blends since Lemongrass is a middle, not a top note, but my personal opinion is that it lacks the clean clarity of both true Lemon Oil, and the higher Citral oils such as Lemon Myrtle.

cynthia

Hi SSL,

Think of going Forum first (coz got 20% discount), then Spotlight (for the fragrance oils)... then maybe to Raffles City (this one not confirmed lah...)

cynthia

so u going forum tonight har??
any idea how long will the discount last??
i may pop by on fri to forum (see how cos there kinda out of the way)

For the benefit of the others interested in the electric vaporizer, Healthy Planet @Forum Galleria is having a 20% discount for them, while stocks last.

4721.jpg

I bought the Aztec one (bottom left). The prettiest they have is Lavender Flower (center). Tried it just now... pretty fast in warming up and vaporizing the EO.

cynthia

just bought the pureness lavender from raffles city's robinson..its $17.90, any of u know if u can apply it on skin directly? the range from robinson is quite good....
any of u bought the rose water spray? i tried it on my hands n it feel and smell great!!
the price is abit steep though..

hi cynthia

only saw aztec at family health. (raffles city) saw another plain deep blue one too. costs $69.01 (without discount)

They have this range of burner (limited deisgn) costing $18 and they pout a sign 50% discount!! there is an angel green one not bad. hahaha

Heh, i kinda like the blue one on the right of the above pic. my hubby and i are now discussing which one to buy. hahaha

cynthia

my hubby and i have decided to buy the lavender one. second choice incase that one no stock will be the sunflower one. Going there on sat to buy.

Hi SSL, Sushi, Cool and Trihok,

The offer at Forum is till end of april or stock last... so better hurry... I

Hi Lynn

Thank you so much for going through the trouble to place order, cancel orders, telling us whr are the good lobang. Appreciate so much!!

Umm.. think I like the sunflower one. How much are the vaporisers before discount? Sorry, I didn't really read the postings yest cos was busy. Will drop by tonite or this weekend. MY hubby don't fancy these things, sure scold me for wasting $$ on these "girlish" stuff.

Hi Sushi,

They cost $60 before discount. So... after 20% discount is $48, but this is the before GST price... Including GST will be $49.44

cynthia

Hi Sushi

incase u are too busy to go, i can buy for u first cos i'm going there tomorrow with my hubby in the afternoon around 3.

Lynn

u mentioned a shop at tanglin got discount for the ess oil is it? what's the name of the shop and location huh??

btw, want to check with u about our ess oil ordering. some of the oils stated 1oz but can we order 1/4 oz???

Hi Sushi,

No problem, you are welcome..

Hi SSL,

The shop is Brown Rice Paradise at level 3 in Tanglin Mall... As for the EO, if all of us want, then we can split loh..

I bought the Lavender vaporiser today. Couldnt find the sunflower one though. it's another sunflower design. And i tot the lavender looked abit different.
anyway bought it liao. heehee. Seems not much design to choose from.

I'm a newbie to this aromatherapy thingy but I also went down to Healthy Planet to have a look at the electric vapourisers yesterday.

One thing that's holding me back from buying the electric vapouriser, is that the brown one he has in his shop has a residue layer on top. Can it be removed? He mentioned using a spoon to scrape it off but wouldn't it damage the glazed surface?

Also, it does not require water. Would it like 'burn' the oil and in the process lose some of the EO properties? What is the difference between those burners that require water and those that do not?

CLoVeR LeaF

Hi All, I never tried aromatherapy before and very keen to try it out. Would the experts here advise how do I start? Errm, is there a difference between burner and vapouriser? Usually I saw inthe shop that there is this "dish" - it's for u to drop the oil is it? Need to mix with water too?? Need how many drops? Can last for how long uh? I also read in the thread that some comes with ioniser??? How much would those with ioniser cost? How about those electric vapourisers - cost how much? Sorry for so many questions, very excited to start but don't know how ....