Aromatherapy

Hi SSL,

Thanks for your directions, now really ring a bell.. I think I went into the shop when Bugis first opened..

Hi Cynthia,

Yes, I am still interested to make the soap !!!

Hi Chu,

Thanks, but for the time being I will stick to normal and electric burners until after my wedding... Scared that if I fall inlove then start collecting it. Then cannot get married...

Hi Miu,

No, I am not so knowledgeable lah, I read up alot before I try it on myself. If you want professional advice, then you must go and look for Jess...I used quite a number like eucaplytus, rose, teatree, rosemary, majoram, cypress for therapy. Some don't smell wonderful but they worked pretty well.. I am trying now for my scalp now, hopefully will help my chronic dandruff..

I think you are abit too late cos I have already made payments...which one do you like ? I know of a place in place that also sell some of the models but the price will be slightly higher..

Hi Lavender,

I am sorry, but you are abit too late... EOs are not encouraged to be used neat on face but you can di it in suitable dilution. Please take note of the oil properties before you do so..especially if you decide to have a baby.

I heard that Dr Eberhardt is a good brand, supply very pure essential oils.

Hi SSL,

For melting the glycerine, if you are uncomfortable using a microwave oven, you can use the double boiling method. That is, to melt the glycerine using boiling water. Like how we cooked bird nest soup. Note: The soap should not be heated more than 10 minutes.

It's really easy to do at home.

cynthia

Hi Lavender and all

I thought Dr Eberhardt sounds familiar... it is... Daphne has them in her shop. Heard from her that it's on the high price end coz of its purity.

cynthia

hi lynn and cynthia,

great to know that u people have heard abt the brand...i bought Dr eberhardt's lavender oil at far east plaza, the beautician told me that this brand is very pure....and that i can use it neat on my face to lighten acne scars. i got it for $25 for 10 ml..do u think its expensive?

when i got back home i surfed the net to see if i can order direct online and get cheaper rates....but i don't think they r on sale
online...

but i don't regret getting the oil....its smell is really good!!! i had applied on my face...seems ok at the moment..i'll inform u if it works in curing my scars...

hi Lynn & all,

It's alright then. I saw the burners, that you all ordered, in a shop, that sells a lot of aromatherapy stuff too, call Family Health located on Raffles City, #03-20.

I like the burner cos' they are really cute-looking. Fat, fat ones, very cute

The price I think cost abt $59 - $69. Is this the shop you are recommending me?

i was surfing for essential oil just now...i bump into this Neucue website..they r an online shop...they sell Aromatics essential oils and this ioniser calming set for $76.69. Anyone used this before? the ioniser is something like an electrical diffuser right?

their range of essential oils is not alot...different types at different prices...pricer ones r rose otto..which cost about $298...and cheaper ones cost about $21...their orangic lavender cost about $35...

seems that their calming set which comes with the ioniser and one lavender essential oil is quite a bargain...

Hi Lavender, u mean Neucor (wherehealthbegins.com), right?
Yah... their range of essential oils is very limited.

Hey Lynn, check something with you... How do I know where does an essential oil comes from? I mean the origin...

Take for example, the Geranium Bourbon. U are looking for the bottle containing ingredients from Island of Reunion. But most bottles of EOs only states Made in UK. which is also not wrong lah...

Er... then, how can we ensure that what we get are those that we want? What if the sales assistant also dun know???

btw, saw essentialoil.com... me also dunno which to select. =P

cynthia

Hi Miu,

Are those the plain type or with designs on it ?? The price that you quoted are probably for the plain ones...I think we got it cheaper cos we skip the middleman...

Hi lavender,

Their oil is quite expensive from what you quoted... I think you will be better off buying them from the web.

Hi Cynthia,

In Singapore, aromatherapy not so common yet.. so alot of pple won't understand why we keep on saying that the oil from one place smell different from another...I don't think the shops here know their stuffs very well leh..

I went to some shop trying to get carrier oil cos Jess not around and was surprised that the shop is sellind something that is already rancid, so I really have doubt in their freshness too. I think they don't really check whether their products have expired or not...

Why, too many EO that you want or you don't need any of them ?? It is alright with if you don't want to get any at all...

Hi cynthia & lynn

me so excited to make the soap leh. but when leh. btw, i'm having my trial makeup this sunday.
probably a busy week for me. wed go try manicure and pedicure. thursday go facial.

I've borrowed this book from the lib "Essential oil blends for your burners" In it has alot of diff blends for home or work or anything using burners. If anyone of u wants to know about certain blend for certain usage, i can check for u.

I may go spotlight to buy cloth. may also check out their soap kit. are we buying separately?? or combine??

is it true that beewax tealights can last longer than normal ones?? i read from a book that says can last till 8hrs!! Maybe is those BIG BIG ones. :p

how would we know if it's made from beewax. will it be stated in the packaging?? will price defers too? cos remembered jessica mentioned that her tealights are beewax ones.

Are those from ikea beewax too?? the ones that my sis gave me can only last approx. 2 hrs (or lesser) is that the normal "life" of a tealight?

btw, lynn. where do u think carries the most range of aromatherapy books?

Hi SSL,

I think it is still the same candle just that it is different in size.. I saw 5hrs tealight candles availiable in singapore though...

I think Borders has more....of cos they can't beat Amazon.... Do you know you can order books from borders here even if they may not sell it here ?? As long as they carries it in other branches then you can order it...I jus found out last weekend when I tried to find a book..cheaper also but no paperbacks though....

Hi Lynn,

I want to buy... but still selecting. Are you in a hurry?

Am presently reading a book, also by Valerie Ann Worwood (The Fragrant Mind)... Thought it's quite a good book, especially for beginners. Really explain a lot on how essential oils affect us and backgrounds. Her the other book (which i ordered) is more like an encyclopedia of EOs...

cynthia

Hi Cynthia,

No, I thought you maybe put off by the shipping charges mah..

Take your time, I also "3 heart 2 mind", I like so many that I have to choose those that I really need but I start to add one by one everyday back...hiak hiak hiak.. sure can go broke leh.

I also have her book : The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy which I find is quite good too..I find her book very reader friendly as she goes into details without boring us out. Cannot buy anymore, cos I check my shelf and realise that I got more than 10 books on hand liao...

i think i also cant control my spending on the aromatherapy stuffs. that's why i keep going to borrow from lib so that i wont buy from the store. however if i find one that i really think it's good, i will still buy.
it's worth keeping something that we can use right??

what about kinokuniya?? find that the prices of borders are more exp than kino?? (sort of compared prices last time)

do u remember where they keep the aromatherapy books at kino?? is it up at the platform area near to the children's section.

got any dist or not har?? last time got the 20% till end march. but now no more. aiyor

SSL,

It is near the cookery section for kinokuniya... like you if I find a good book I will buy it. Kinokuniya and Borders each have some book that the other don't sell so some time I can't compare. But it is still better than to buy from amazon unless amazon offers paperback, then it will be a steal.. hehehe, this is jus how I feel loh..cos I find that they always only sell hardcover here which is very much more expensive...

hi lynn

normally i will only buy books from amazon.com that i cant find in spore. or after comparing the price, is cheaper.

i always buy teddy bear books from amazon.com lor which is usually more expensive than in singapore. dont know why??

Hi SSL,

You mean including the shipping or the cost of the book alone ?? I thought books are usually cheaper at Amazon? Wat are the teddy books about ? Types of sasha bears is it ??

Hi Lynn and SSL,

I was thinking of getting Neroli and do this:
- Put wedding invite in a cardboard box
- Drop some essential oils on the box
- Wrap the box in black garbage bag for at least 24 hours.

Hee... the aroma will permeate the box and eventually the paper inside. Then I will have sweet smelling invites. Er.. know where I can buy Neroli? Does Daphne carries them?

Any of you tried Juniper Berry and Pimento Berry? The names sound very cute leh...

btw, Miu... I opened my bottle of lemongrass from Robinsons. Quite like the smell leh... Am I the odd one?

cynthia

hi Lynn,

I saw plain colour ones as well as that "aztec", an another one is blue with yellow rim.

Quite expensive.

Hi Cynthia,

You sure you want to use neroli to scent your invites ?? You may have to invest quite abit... It's scent is indeed very haunting, one sniff and it's difficult to forget such a beautiful smell. It doesn't comes cheap and I know that Jess do sell it. The website we are looking at also sell it...

I think maybe you can dilute it with some carrier oil, used a cotton bud swipe a teeny, weeny bit & rub it on the fold of your invites ? You can test it with lavender to see if it works or not first loh..

Juniperberry is not nice smelling at all... usually used to rid cellulite I heard... I have not heard of pimento berry. What is it ??

Maybe we should compare our bottles of lemongrass and see what's their difference loh..

just came back from lunch.
Wanting so excitedly to inform u that Watson is selling burner for $1.99. hahaha. got pink, grey and blue. i bought the blue one since it's so cheap.

check it out!! :D

Ya lynn, including shipping charges and other misc charges. amazon.com is sometimes cheaper lor.

Cynthia, but what if not all people likes neroli smell? We are into it so we will like it. If the invite goes around Singapore Post office, will the smell change as a result of going through the belt when distributing the mails to different postale codes?? Just my thoughts.

but if u really want to, go ahead.
then every gals will be putting their fav. oil unto their invites like u

Some of the oils that u and lynn and some other gals used i've not heard or use before. Like Bergamot and Neroli. but it's been heard so many times from this thread. so maybe i will buy them
aiyor. must really find a good box to store them.

Where & how do u gals store ur ess oil bottles?? i heard wooden box is good leh?? can put in those plastic CD Box from carrefour??

Hi SSL,

have hou tried earl grey tea before ?? That's how bergamot smells like, very tangy, citrus EO.. I love it ! Neroli, I don't know how to describe.. it's very nice and I wouldn't used it in my vaporiser cos too precious to... very heart pain leh..

I know what my EOs must keep in a wooden box but they are too expensive for me.. found one but cost $70 for one.. :p I used plastic air-tight box selling in NTUC lah...

My FH is telling me to go to ikea cos he thought that ikea is selling wooden boxes that look like drawers. Maybe you gals can check it out too ??

hi lynn

i dont take tea except for bubble tea and lemon tea
haha.

i smelt it at robinson before but didnt buy cos didnt know what its good for lor.

yaya i know the ones that ur FH mentioned. ya hor. maybe i will check it out. now must bring own plastic bag to ikea cos they charge u 10cent for the paper bag, they want to be environmental friendly lor so got this new policy

Hi SSL,

Yes, the smell will not be as strong after going through the postal system, but that's how aroma works... they work through your subconscious mind. If too much, will be more like scented paper liao. Anyway, will try one out with one of my EOs. Then, update you girls about it.

Hi Lynn,

Must keep EOs in boxes ah? I just left mine sitting on the shelves, away from direct sunlight.

cynthia

Ay, Ikea trying go into paper bag business har ?? If want to be environmental friendly, then change plastic bag to paper bags is fine with me, but charging customers for paper bags ?? Singapore rain so often somemore.. paper bags will sure give way. Wondering what are they thinking ?
if this is the case then I will go there less often..

i also kept mine in a zip bag. but got two bags now so tot of putting them together in one big box.

if i see good and cheap ones, will let u ladies know ok.

Lynn, I think the bags that SSL uses is the small pouch type, and not the big sports bag...
hee, I also think that initially =P

paiseh lah my friends :p
cynthia knows me best!! small ones lah

i got rosemary, lavender (2 bottles), lemon, eucalyptus (2 bottles), citronella, geranium, tea tree, orange. not so much right?? compared to you and cynthia
haha

SSL, at the moment u have more than me lah...

I only have sandalwood, grapefruit, tea tree, eucalyptus, lemongrass and lavender...

Lynn should be the one with the BIGGEST collection

heehee cos she's not getting married so soon so got money to spend now. heehee. u have the least collection cos u are getting married in june!! Hmmm... sounds logical hor. lynn??

hi Lynn,

the plain color ones selling $59 and that "aztec" selling $69.90 (if I am not wrong)

hi cynthia,
Is the lemongrass smell a lot like lemon?

Woww....you all have a lot EO. I only have 2 bergamot, 2 lavender & 1 T3 only.

Same as cynthia, I left mine on the shelves.

hi SSL,

try bergamot, personally, I find it nice. It the 1st EO I bought

Hi Miu,

Er.. how should I describe the smell of lemongrass? Yes, there is a tint of lemon in it, but it smell more like something else...aiyah, cannot remember what is it off-hand leh... maybe like a type of medicated oil??? very hard to describe leh...

Me went to TSS at Plaza Singapura. Sad to say, they dun carry Neroli in pure form. Only diluted in facial oil. When i asked the girl, she also not very sure is it out of stock or not in range *faint*

Hi Cynthia and SSL,

No lah, I have been collecting EOs for quite some time but I always get those very cheap ones.. Now intending to invest in some other more expensive ones to see which will become my new favourites, then I will stick to those.

I have bergamot, orange, lavender, teatree, peppermint, rose, rosemary, sandalwood, eucaplytus, rose geranium, grapefruit, lemon, lemongrass, ylang ylang, marjoram and cypress.

These are not really expensive EOs to get...just get one every month then won't feel pinch loh. Anyway, got Jessica as my lobang now..

Hi SSL,

I just bought the burner that you recommended us at Watson.. really good deal for $1.99. I bought a similar with abit for design for $18 a year ago but I can't seem to find it...

They stacked them like a tower that I dare not anyhow pluck.. worried that the whole thing will collapse. I got the pink one but it looks like brown to me..

hi lynn

i saw the colour i want but it's at somewhere below. i just point to the salesgirl to help me lor. heehee

i know which one u bought. i bought the deep blue one.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">SSL, lynn</FONT>

harlo, can tell me the burner u bought at Watson, is the dish (for holding oil/water) deep/big? if so, then later i going to get b4 going for badminton leh... the one i hv now, i gotta add water every 1 hr....

Hi angelia,

It's quite big and deep, 2 hours don't add water also not an issue.. I think the depth of the bowl should be at least 3 cm..

Any good ideas from your books for making a foot spray to use in the office??? What EO is more appropriate to use for this purpose??

Sometimes after lunch, when weather is hot, the feet like so hot, tired n smelly...hee hee...would be nice to have something to refresh the foot. Using Scholls's Refreshing foot spray now, gonna finish soon.

Thanks in advance....

Hi SSL,

Did you try mixing the aroma spritz?? If yes, wat kind of bottle did u use?? Coz Jessica mention using glass bottles would be better right, just wondering if you saw any glass bottles with sprays and if they are expensive.

Is anyone going to the Smells n Rubs Aromatherpy Massage Workshop this sat as posted by Cynthia??

I rem reading some brochures that saying lemongrass smell like lemon.

Aiya...I forgot to take a look at the burner recommended by SSL. I ever see some burners at the 1.99 shop too. Selling at, of course, $1.99

Hi Twinky and Cynthia,
No, I can't make it cos very busy with homework... very sorry about this..

Hi Miu,
Lemon grass is used for cooking in Singapore... I think it's also know as serai ?? Malays used it to cook curry.. So it just smell like the vegetable.. weird thing is that I can eat it but don't like to smell it...

Hi Lynn,

Here's why Black Pepper is good

BLACK PEPPER Piper nigrum

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Character:</FONT>
Security, Comforting, Directional, Endurance
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Use for these Positive Attributes:</FONT>
Comfort, Stamina, Endurance, Motivation, Changeability
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Use to Counter these Negative Attributes:</FONT>
Emotional Blockage, Compulsion, Confusion, Disorientation, Fatigue, Begrudging, Indecision, Irrationality, Anger, Frustration, Emotional coldness, Apathy and Mental Exhausion.

Hi SSL, How much glycerine is there in the kit?

From the library book I borrowed... normally the soap they make uses 2oz (smallest) to 4oz (biggest) of glycerine each.

cynthia