Aromatherapy

Hi SSL, I tried to make the blend last night

Like I told u, the big bottle is 50ml (written at the bottom) and the small bottles with droppers can hold up to 10ml each.

I dropped in 4 drops of Lavender, using the plastic pipette. Yes, you're right. There's markings on the long tubing. If filled to the neck (not the big head ah...), it's approx 1 ml. only approx coz this kind of things not 100% accurate one mah... The Lavender can also be dropped from the orifix too, depending on which method you like.

Then, turned the blend upside down, right side up a few times. Roll the bottle on my palms a few times too. Just to make sure that it is well mixed.

For massage of that area, I used 5 drops of the blend. Rub it all over my palms and fingers and warming it up, then massage. Not sure if I am very tired last night, coz immediately after I did that, I felt so sleepy and went straight to bed. ;p maybe that's how it works... hahaha...

Apply it again this morning. Can you remember whether Bryan said anything about how long it takes to see some effects? But then... each day I only use 10 drops. Not sure if can finished 10ml in 2 weeks leh.. Otherwise, have to go around the house and apply it on my hubby and in-laws and the doggie... AAAHHHHHHHH....*cynthia faint*...

Saw a picture of this home-made pomander recently.

This person insterted clove (the spice) into every single pore of an orange. Supposed to have a nice fragrance of orange and clove, but it look like a puffer fish instead... HAHAHA...

Hi cynthia

Heehee, so ur ah lao didnt get to be experimented last night? cos u doze off after applying on yourself.

If u pour the eo directly from the bottle using the orifix, will it drip too many drops?? cos sometimes when i want to drop at my burner, always drip too many drops hahaha.

Hmmm.... maybe thats why bryan said it could probably reduce the dark rings hahaha. maybe its due to the lavender cos lavender as relaxing element so u felt so relaxed that u doze off.

Didnt remember bryan mentioned how long it takes to see the effect. However he mentioned that one cause of dark rings could be due to weal kidney. I supposed if our dark ring condition is not caused by the weak kidney, the result will not be evident so clearly. It could also be due to lack of sleep or stress??

But me want to try the blend is to hope that it could (maybe) increase the qi circulation in my kidney area and thus reducing the dark rings (if the cause is by a weak kidney)

Oh yes not sure if u noticed the burners along the glass shelf yesterday. While i was paying after my massage session yesterday, i asked Jo the price. She told me is $15 and i find that they are very nice actually.

so if u intend to give to someone as a gift, i think it would be great.

Huh. doggie....... it will run away everytime he/she sees u next time with a bottle in your hand.

Heehee, i think i also saw the "puffer fish" pix u mentioned in one of those eo books. but will the orange smell or oil attract ants??

oh yes, i bought the hand lotion liao. Watson wisma only have two type - one caleld dry skin lotion :yellow bottle (moisturise and hydrates) and the other called hand and body lotion :blue bottle(protects against UV rays)

I called Lynn to confirm and she also didnt know there's so many different types cos i told her the smell is exactly the same for all types. I saw another type at the watsons near my office, got Vit E one (orange colour bottle). They costs $5.90.

Oh yes, and the citronella cone i bought is very nice to smell. heehee. lavender not so nice havent tried rose yet. heehee.

For those who are interested in Aromatherapy, Massage and Yoga, I saw this book at Popular Bookshop (Sun Plaza) costing $12.90.

I think title is called "Aromatherapy, Massage and Yoga" (something like that) and its on those corners where they sells books on sale.

Quite a nice and pictorial guide on different massage techniques, for older people, baby, pregnant woman, etc. Also talks about diff ess oil usage and purposes. Not forgetting the yoga postures.

Quite informative.
and its cheap.

Hi SSL, did you buy that book yourself? Was at Popular bookshop last night, but somehow that book did not caught my attention leh...

btw, I have gotten some empty bottles from Essence vale. 5 ml types at 90 cents each. Lynn, pai seh... din get to read your reply before buying it...

Yah... I saw those burners. Quite pretty actually. The only catch is have to use nake fire. This puts me off lah... but if buy just to decorate the house... can consider

How's the hand lotion?

cynthia

Hi cynthia

Were u at the Orchard popular? I saw it at sun plaza. Didnt buy cos was rushing for movie. heehee stupid me hor.

thats cheap 90cents only. heehee. so how's the blend?? Wha buy and decor house bery expensive leh.

Oh, the hand lotion bery good. not oily few minutes after applying. Mum also say good and nice to smell too. I bought the Dry Skin Lotion (yellow bottle)

Harlow... nope, me at the Jurong Point branch. Actually, we went there to look for alarm clock. hahaha...

Me still using the blend. Quite like it coz it gets absorbed into the skin pretty fast. Really feels like massaging the other parts of my body rather than just the kidneys area. Dunno about the dark eyes circles though, maybe next time we meet, you observe whether it has reduces or not loh... ;p

Now, maybe I will make another massage blend for use in my office. Any recommendation what to blend? Lynn says she knows another shop that sells the bottles at wholesale prices. Wonder how much cheaper is that coz I also think 90 cents is inexpensive liao...

Oh goody, maybe I'll buy the Watson's hand lotion. But first, need to finish the Body Shop Vit E one... otherwise, hubby will start to nag again for buying so many stuff and not using them...

u can buy the watson one and put in office.
hahaha

office blend ah??? maybe have to checkout my "aromatherapy bible" heehee.

If i happen to see the book, u want me to buy for u?? not sure if me buying but really tempted. heehee cos i like to read such things but to try out the massage me abit sian.

hubby would love to try out massages cos he ever borrowed book on shiatsu or yoga or massage (cant remember cos i was there borrowing aroma books)

Hi SSL,

Let me know after you have checked your "aromatherapy bible" hor... if u have found something interesting.

No lah... u need not buy for me. Will try to make a trip down to Popular again to see if I can find the book. Like to flip through it first before deciding whether to buy or not... Been buying too many things these few months... Alamak! Can't stop the spending habits after the wedding leh!

Your hubby so good... will allow you to massage him? or is he practising on you? Mine will laugh his head off whenever I touch him. Actually me too lah... when he touches me. Think both of us are getting fatter and "more sensitive to touch" after the wedding. ;p

U know where to get rose water?

cynthia

Hi Sam,

I hope you can find this thread. Anyway, to read about making the blend and using it, you can refer to my posting dated 20 July up there...

See you on Friday.

cynthia

hi cynthia

will check out the office blend and let u know. u want to check if Bryan does sell the blend?? Me not sure where to get rose water leh. what about jess?? can sms her.

my hubby loves massage. i have back problem and sometimes if aching he will massage tiger balm for me.
and he likes me to use my hands and run along his back. (without oil)

heehee

Hi Cynthia,

My aroma notes in my current house got no blend for office. Some notes already moved to my own house so have to check when me there.

But i browse through the web and saw some which u maybe interested.

"Mix 5drops of Lavender oil into a teaspoon of jojoba or almond oil. Dab on a cloth and wipe the surfaces of your desk and top of computer. When the heat of the computer warms the oil, there is a pleasant fresh fragrance wafting through the air."

PS: i guess that has to be done when the IT guy is not around or nearby!!
But i think the blend can also be used on our hands or palm as we are always typing and doing filing, so sure got heat generated.

Blend for Office Diffuser - gives clarity and aid concentration during a busy day.

"4drops of rosemary + 6drops of grapefruit, 4drops of frankincense, 1drop of lemon"

Some recipes from an aromatherapy website.

1. Kitchen Freshner
(helps to deodorise typical kitchen smells)

16drops of Lemon + 16 drops of Bergamot + 8 drops of Rosewood + 8 drops of Ylang Ylang + 4drops of May Chang (??? anyone heard of this oil??)

Add the above blend to 100ml of distilled water in a spray pump. Shake before use.

2. Muscle Soother
(ease away muscle tension) (Ideal after gym)

25 drops of lavender + 10 drops of Rosemary + 8 drops of clary sage

Add above blend to 100ml of sweet almond oil and smooth over the body, using deep pressure if require.

3. Relaxing Bath

4 drops of sandalwood + 3 drops of May Chang + 3 drops of May Chang

Add oil to a tablespoon of sweet almond oil.

4. Romantic Bedroom
(sensuous atmosphere)

3drops of geramium + 6drops of mandarin + 3drops of patchouli + 4drops of ylang ylang

Hi SSL, thanks for the recipes!

Will definitely try the Lavender in almond oil on my PC. Hee hee... sounds like what we blended hor...
but ratio of eo to carrer different only.

Hmm.. what is May Chang? This is the first time I have heard of it leh...

Talking about diffuser, the one I bought from Jessica is still sitting in my dressing table drawer. Have not been using it since my wedding.

cynthia

hi cynthia

1 idea, u can put the diffuser inside the drawer of ur dressing table. so whenever u open the drawer can smell the oil fragrance.

Oh do u have any book recommendation for eo?? i got two books but only contain eo spects and general eo blends and massage.

let me know lah. cos i hope to have one more that contains more blends for trying out. be it for diffuser or for spritz or massage.

Attention: Aromatherapy Book Lovers!

Hi all, saw some books at Popular bookshops during lunchtime just now... which is both interesting and not too expensive

1) The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Aromatherapy
- $19.90

2) Instant Aromatherapy for Stress Relief
- $4.90

3) Aromatherapy, Massage and Yoga
- $12.90

For those who like potpourri, they are also selling a DIY kit. Comes with a handbook, a sachet as well as a mini bottle of rose oil.

Also available for foot reflexology.

Hi SSL,

Another author you can consider for buying aromatherapy books is Julia Lawless. Bryan mentioned her name in his talk.

NLB has her books but some of the newer ones are not available for borrowing yet. The readers' comments on Amazon seemed to be pretty good for her too...

cynthia

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Hydrotherapy for better SLEEP</FONT>

This hydrotherapy treatment for insomnia may sound a little strange, but it is surprising effective.

Take a pair of cotton socks, run them under cold water, then wring them out. Put the wet socks on, then put a pair of dry, wollen socks over the top.

Get into bed and leave the socks on for at least 30 minutes - all night if you fall asleep fast enough.

Dunno leh... but sounds incredible loh.

Oh yes.. I tried the Lavender cone
smell smoke rather than Lavender. Burned in air-con room some more... pollution ah ;p

cynthia

Try this for getting rid of cellulite.

DIY Anti-Cellulite Massage

Cellulite can be helped by massage, which boosts the circulation of the lymphatic system and the blood. Massage also helps to keep the muscle tissues toned. Work the muscles of the thighs one at a time.

For added benefits, perform the DIY anti-cellulite massage with a blend of juniper, rosemary and lavender essential oils mixed in a carrier oil.

1) Sit on the floor with your legs out in front of you, and slightly bend the knee of the leg you are going to massage. Using a kneading action, work the muscle of your thigh. Begin just above the knee and work your way gradually up to the hip. Do not pinch your skin or you could bruise it. Relax and repeat.

2) Next, use percussive stroke. Start by chopping the outer thighs with the little finger edge of your hands using hacking strokes, then cup your palms and apply cupping strokes over the same area.

cynthia

Hi cynthia

Have u tried the lavender and sandalwood incense?? should be less smoky than the cone ones.

Does Amore do shoulder and neck massage only using eo?? anyone to recommend at Cineleisure branch to do the above massage??

Hi SSL,

Nope, haven't tried those yet. Burned another mandarin incense stick. Hubby's first words were "Feels like in a temple with the smell of smoke"... *sigh* men...

Amore does have shoulder and neck massage package, I think. They will use eo blend. But I am not very sure, maybe you'll like to call and ask?

Over there, there are only 4 staff: Yvonne (marketing), Joey (beautician), Elsa (my beautician) and Ivy (my masseur). So if I am there for massage, Ivy will be the one massaging me.

cynthia

Hi SSL, I am thinking of making a blend for massaging face. Any suggestions?

For those interested, here are some self-massaging techniques
6904.gif

THE FACE
1) Use small, slow circuling movements with the fingers, working steadily from the forehead down around the temples and over the cheeks. Use firm pressure and work slowly to ease tensions out of all the facial muscles.

2) Work across the cheeks and along each side of the nose, then move out to the jaw line where a lot of tension is held. Try not to pull downwards on teh skin - let the circling movements held to smooth the stresses away and gently lift the face as you work.

THE HANDS
1) Help to reduce tension in the hands by firmly squeezing between each finger with the thumb and fingers of the other hand, rolling the flesh a little to give a kneading effect.

2) Squeeze and gently stretch each finger in turn, working from the hand out to the fingertip.

3) With a firm movement, knead the palm with the thumb of the other hand, making strong circular strokes. This squeezes and stretches taut, contracted muscles and should be a fairly deep action.

4) Work steadily over the palm, maintaining a firm pressure. Repeat theses movements on the other hand.

THE ARMS
1) Grip your outstretched arm at the wrist, between the thumb and fingers of the other hand and squeeze firmly. Repeat, moving up the arm.

2) Continue this kneading movement all the way up the arm to the shoulder. You can perform this stroke two or three times, working upwards each time, then switch arms and repeat.

THE SHOULDERS
1) Firmly grip your shoulder and use a squeezing motion to loosen the tension, moving along the shoulder several times. Repeat on the other side.

2) Work up as far as the base of the skull squeezing the neck muscles with your fingertips, and down again.

THE LEGS
1) Sit with one leg bent, so that you can comfortably reach down as far as the ankle.

2) With steady, fairly firm movements sweep up the leg from ankle to knee, using alternate hands. This movement helps to move venous blood back toward the heart as well as working on their calf muscles. If you suffer from aching legs, then do a little sweeping movement on the upper leg first, from knee to hip, in the same way, to aid circulation. Repeat the movements on the other leg.

THE FEET
1) Sit so that you can comfortably reach a foot, and with quite a firm grip use small circular strokes all over the sole with your thumb. Pay special attention to the arch of the foot, stretching along the line of the arch with your thumb. Change or adjust your position and repeat on the other foot.

Hi SSL,

For office, you can try the following:
- Inhaling a few drops of oil from a handkerchief
- Spray your immediate environment with a room spray
- Add a couple of drops of oil to a cup of hot water on your desk.

Useful oils for the work place are basil, rosemary, bergamot, lemon and melissa. Bergamot and lemon are particularly antiseptic and lemon has the added advantage of helping efficiency. Basil stimulates a tired brain and rosemary is a great aid to concentration. Rosemary is also helpful in relieving headaches.

Hi cynthia

Whow, thks for sharing so much info.
From Karen's workshop??

Probably check them out later if i have time since me will be at taka.

Saw some useful tips for my honeymoon flight and hotel stay from your book.
thks alot. Oh ask u hor. Can u just drip the eo into the bathtub and soak in them directly??

Seems like Peppermint and Eucalyptus and Lavender and Grapefruit are very good for long haul.

What?? You want to soak yourself in pure eo?? Cannot lah...

Run the bath water first, then add the eo (max 10 drops, I think). Soak for about 20 mins. You can soak first then bath, or do it the other way round. I like to soak first, coz tired from all the travelling when in Scotland.

Hee.. all those are from my books, not her workshop. She did mentioned something similar though.

Btw, if you are interested in drinking eucalyptus tea, it is available at Bukit Timah Plaza NTUC Fairprice supermarket. Just saw it there earlier in the day.

cynthia

Har?? no lah. soaked in eo. cant lah. wait i become "over-fat"

ok. so if i add two eo into the bath tub, 10drops per oil ok hor. or have to be 5 drops each type?? still finalising my europe honeymoon.
Hope to settle by this week.

huh eucalyptus tea?? err. nope. i dont drink tea and i dont like the idea of eo in food. heehee. The only tea i drink is lemon tea. hahaha

Hi SSL,

To use aromatherpy in the bath
First, fill it to a comfortable temperature. Sprinkle a total of 6 drops of essential oil onto the surface and agitate the water.

Alternatively, dilute the oil in 30ml of full cream milk and add this to the bath to soften the water.

Soak for 20 mins.

For added interest and making it more romantic, you can sprinkle a few rose petals, dried lavender flowers or sprigs of herbs such as rosemary or majoram or peppermint.

If too troublesome, just add orange peel into the bath water. Same effect too... easier to clear up after the bath too

<U>Useful tips and blends</U>
To experience a truly wonderful essential oil bath, there are a few things you should remember.

Always run the bath water before you add the oils. Then add your oils to the surface and swish the water gently before getting in.

In total, 4-6 drops of essential oil is recommended n a bath. You can mix the oils in carrier oil but this is not necessary, since only a few drops of oil are diluted in the bath water. You can use a milk bath instead.

It is important that you really allow time to soak in the water before you use any soap. Soap will buffer the skin against the oils and slow down their absorption. If possible, use a shower to get clean first.

To bathe like royalty, pour 30ml of full cream milk in a glass, adding your chosen essential oils and swish the mixture into the bath. You skin will feel lovely afterwards and the experience is rather luxurious.

Bath Blends
Total De-stress (2 Jasmine, 3 Majoram)
Exotic Retreat (3 Bergamot, 2 Ylang Ylang)
Indian Sunset (3 Sandalwood, 1 Rose, 2 Patchouli)
Sleepy Head (4 Lavender, 2 Neroli)
Breathe Deep (3 Atlas Cedarwood, 2 Lemon)
Cloud Nine (3 Neroli, 2 Frankincense)
Cleopatra (2 Rose, 1 Patchouli, 2 Orange)
Children's Bathtime (2 Mandarin, 2 Roman Chamomile)

Hi cynthia

was reading my mini aroma book on the bus this morning.

Read that for first time use of eo as soak and sensitive skin, always dilute with either carrier oil or milk. heehee

Was thinking about the soap soap flakes that we saw at H2O but quite ex hor??

wha thks so much for ur bath blends.

Hi SSL,

Thought you have enuf oils to buy from Jess, and need not share wif me? I have no particular oil to buy lah... if u need to share, then I'll just get lavender loh... since it is so versatile

Btw, I went back to H2O to find that soap flake for bath... I couldn't find it at all
and when I asked the salesgirls there, they dun even know what I was talking about??
8423.gif

Have you finished making all the blends for your Europe trips? Bought the vials already?

8424.gif
cynthia

Hi cynthia

ur emoticons so cute. (the one with the knocking head on wall one)

i saw those petals at Scent Shop yesterday at the branch at suntec city.
they are having sale not sure how much cos i didnt walk in.

i havent started anything with my blends.
keep delaying it (SHIT) i told u me intend to buy ginger, peppermint and chamomile. u want to share these three with me? half half but me not sure if half is enough for me to make my blend. ahhh...... and i havent buy those 5ml bottles too.

i'm really disorganised (hated myself)

Hi SSL,

Err... tot u said the promo is for buy one get one free?

Btw, how much of the blend do you intend to make? Normally just a few drops of eo in the carrier oil mah... so you'll need more of carrier oil than the eos itself. In this sense, should be enuf lah
8471.gif

Dun worry... when you have gotten the bottles, you'll make the blend in time for your trip.

cynthia

hi cynthia

i check out the blend for the backache, only needs 1 drop of ginger oil!!! aiyor. needs 10ml of carrier oil (which i have - the one in the dropper bottle right??)

So find it abit waste to buy a bottle of ginger oil. Unless i can find more blend that ginger can make into cos i think ginger is a warming oil so maybe useful for stomach blend??

Hi SSL,

Err... I am not sure about what you mean by blending one from top note, middle note and base note. Never heard or read something like that...

can you elaborate?

8696.gif
cynthia

eeee..... i think i ask jessica tmr then i tell u and lynn ok. better not confuse u and lynn. heehee

u enjoy ur D&amp;D tmr lah. doll up nice nice.
say halo to daphne for me.

Hi SSL, found a blend recipe for muscle ache. May be suitable for you.

Blend of
<UL><LI>3 drops of pine, <LI>3 drops of marjoram, and <LI>2 drops of juniper</LI>[/list]

hi cyn,

i was reading through all the msg here abt rosemary....one of the msg written by u sometime ago states that we can rinse hair with rosemary EQ mixed with water...my question is: after rinsing with the mixture, do we need to rinse with normal water again? if not, will hair be too oily??

<FONT FACE="tahoma"> <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Hi amthyst,

No, there's no need to rinse your hair with water again. The rosemary rinse is considered the final rinse.

The ratio of the oil to water is rather small... a few drops to 500 ml of water. Besides, pure essential oils when dropped on blotting paper will impregnate it, then evaporate and disperse, leaving no oily mark...

Personally, I had not yet tried the rosemary rinse, but I had tried tea tree in water. Indeed the water was not oily by the end of my 15 min soak.</FONT>

10181.gif
cynthia</FONT>

<FONT FACE="tahoma"> <FONT COLOR="0000ff">To add..., the best natural rinse is simple cider vinegar. You can add any essential oils of your choice - 2 drops per tablespoon of vinegar, added into your final rinse water.</FONT>

10182.gif
cynthia</FONT>

<FONT FACE="tahoma"> <FONT COLOR="119911">Here's a beer rinse formula posted by flowerpower some time ago...</FONT>

10186.gif
cynthia</FONT>

<FONT FACE="tahoma"> <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Aromatherapy Workshop</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Aromatherapy for Women and Children</FONT>
Venue: Revenue House, 55 Newton Road, 5th Level
Date: 16 Nov 2002
Time: 2pm - 5pm
Price: $35 (fully redeemable for products) includes an aromatherapy product worth S$50

Want to discover the power behind the Aromatherapy for both women and children? Bring a friend along to the workshop and you come for free!

This unique workshop differentiates itself by the illustration on how any woman can benefit from using essential oils throughout the stages of her
life 'the six phases of womanhood' - beginning with the onset of puberty, preconception, through pregnancy, labour, postnatal and her reproductive
years, on to the menopause and beyond.

Treat physical and emotional conditions, alleviate stress and gain advice on the best methods to use oils in a female daily skin and beauty regime in this exclusive workshop that benefits the whole family.

For enquiries:
ATOS
Consumer Products Pte Ltd
Tel: (65) 6289 3000
Fax: (65) 6841 9959

Ms Jannah Siti Nur Aisyah
Admin Officer

For reservation:
Please call (65) 6289 3000 before 15 Nov 2002.</FONT>

I am going Aust end of this yr for holidays.
Am thinking of buying essential oils. Anyone interested in buying from me?