Anyone resigned without a job

wawa_piggy

Wah. Looks like i am not the only one suffering in my job ;)

Me also kind of suffocating in my current job too
Has been wanting to throw my resignation letter 1.5yrs ago but i am under bond so gotta wait until my bond end at the end of this year *sigh..*

Can u imagine only getting a pay increment of only $30 after working in the company for 2.5 years??! And the bonus are really so little. The company is always not doing good whenever it reach the period for giving out bonus.

And i kind of feel redundant in my current place, coz all i have been assigned to is the "bo liao" and tedious duties that require long period of time to finish. N worse of all, the time they allocated me to finish the work is usually shorter than what is really needed. In the end i have to stay back eveyr night to finish the work

Office politics is another big problem. There are people that really like to backstab u and complain to the boss. There is one colleague that is really close to the boss. She was always "add salt, add pepper" to whatever she tells the boss regarding to my work performance. Coz i am not in good terms with her due to previous conflicts in work. This has affect my performance appraisal drastically. N the boss simply believe in everything that she said *sigh..*

Really want to resing

jazzyjas

hi smurfy!
Exactly!! Tis is how i felt at times. Have a proj going on now & i am IC but i juz cant bring myself 2 start doing it..
Yes, have dateline in Aug.
Ya manz.... sd do a "job switch".. haha!
U watched TAR7 last nite oso? Saw ur posting.

Hey melgal & doris, gv urself sometime 2 settle down. Thgs wd turn out fine.

jazzyjas

hi wawa_piggy,

I know how it felt.. coz i "met the same thg".. been in the co. for 2 yrs then, colli left, took on her work + own, instd of wat was expected, got a $40 rise.
Thgs r better now.

smurfy

Hi jazzyjas,

wow, at least you got project, then after finish got satisfaction. Me worse, paper work very sian... think if we switch job, u sure cannot tahan my work.

ya, can't miss TAR7 finale for anything. Not even when mom ask me if I want to go back for dinner.. hahaa...furthermore, my job always on the dot can go home wan.. so sian... told my hubby wanna look for a job with OT wan, then can go home with him..

wawa_piggy

For my case, even if i finish a project or assignments, i don't feel satisfied at all.

Everyday is just like dragging my legs to got to work and aiming at 6pm everyday to run home.

Smurfy,
i envy u. OT is not good
only got OT work, don't have OT pay. No matter how late i work even though until 12mn, the next morning , i still gotta report for work on time. Don't even have off days.

jazzyjas

hi smurfy,
its not "any proj".. its 1 tat nobody in the dept wanna do it. Tried 2 perk myself up by giving my best.. at least i hope i wd.. by Aug at least. Tol myself tis weekend i must start.

Look at it tis way, if everyday has 2 OT, there wd be no more personal life left either. Good & bad.

Glad tat U/J won.. coz they deserved it.

smurfy

wawa/jazzyjas,

But doing OT then pple think you are impt to the company, didn't do OT they think you very free and not impt then stupid manager will push idiotic things to me to do...

sigh... i regretted choosing this career...

Anyway, most friends and my hubby all so busy, so even if i got all the time after work, nobody got time for me. Whats the point?
Wanted to take up related course but don't feel like continuing to do what I am doing. Making a switch in career might be too late for me cos of my age liao

wawa_piggy

smurfy,
I also thinking of switching out of the industry in am in now. But think my line is too specialised
If i were to go into another area, i have to start from scratch which is very hard. Moreover, i am getting married soon. The financial burden is also heavier liao.

Well, I don't mind OT coz like what u say, doing OT will make us seems more important to the company. But once in a while is ok, but not everyday :p

smurfy

Wawa,

For me financial burden is not so much of a problem cos no kids and wedding over liao. However, the mental burden of starting from scratch is also hard to overcome.

Moreover, not easy to switch line. For instance, I thot of switching to accounting but the market is so full of accounting staff. Most companies will not take in someone without experience even if I start studying to get a paper now.

jazzyjas

hi smury & wawa,

Yes, i agree wif smurfy.. but if nobody is doing OT except u in the dept, well, its does not say much of ur efficiency rite?

But its true loh.. if no OT, mgr wd thk u free.. mgr once asked a colli 2 do sth, but she grumbled "she many thgs 2 do etc..", i sitting next 2 her, when i heard tis i kinda paisai coz i not doing much at tat time.
Am i "too efficient"??
[she got surf the net wor.... & still OT.. ]

For us, finacially is ok i guess, but there wun be anymore "shopping sprees" if i dun work.

smurfy

Jazzyjas,

talking about efficiency, my sis told me in her previous job, her mgr don't like them to OT , want them to be efficient enough to leave on the dot. Now in her new job, her supervisor expect her to stay back. If she leaves on the dot cos she is efficient, she will be given more duties.. all kinda bosses in this world..

Same culture here, everyone "seems" to be super busy.. my colleague oso said she very busy but hor she can play games and watch what I am doing over my shoulder... Kinda pissed off... I think she damn free and yet keep insisting she very busy..

Same lor, if resign without job, cannot spend as freely...

precisely, when come out with one of my friends.. she always complain work this and that, saying even when she on leave, her colleagues keep calling her.. wow, like she very impt.. dunno what to say

So what do you usually during your free time ah? I starting to watch alot of TV which I think I wanna get out of this habit.. don't wanna to be a couch potato... don't want to spend my days doing something which is so meaningless..

jazzyjas

hi smurfy,

Ya.. a frd of mine, her mgr "gv her extra work" for doing at home after work.
Tat's y when i c other pple's mgr, i find mine is good loh!!

Being "bz always" makes them feel impt, very needed.

Me ah.. reading.. watch TV.. loh.. lately, taking up exercises 2 keep myself healthy & occupied.

jazzyjas

smurfy, weekdays not a prob for me.. coz i wd be too tired after work. My journey thru & fro work is ard 2hrs.. by then i not 2 keen even if i wanna go out when i thk of the journey home.

smurfy

jazzyjas,

ya lor, my manager oso good when come to this aspect... seldom have high expectations of me... so far, he had never raised his voice at me.. quite a good temper guy but then got stepped all over by the other managers...

exercising is good. Sometimes i go jogging along the canal near my house. But am terrified when got pple bring their dogs for walks, cos i am scare of them.. so less and less motivated. Sometimes go gym with my colleague using the UOB card but recently she got more and more lazy, so no khakis to go together..

wow, u took 2 hrs to rch home, me 1.5hrs including buying dinner...usually sleep on the bus..

jazzyjas

smurfy..
my mgr is nice to us but he is the "one bullying other mgrs" instead. Haha!!

oh u meant the Ladies Card 2 Amore? I am using tat oso.
For a few mths din go alr.

No lah.. i meant it took 2hr 2 & fro.
Nid at least 1hr 2 go work during the morning..
During the evening is better, sometimes 30mins only.
This is coz hb drives me 2 work.
If by bus/mrt.. i dunno leh.. 3hrs??!

jazzyjas

smurfy..
my mgr is nice to us but he is the "one bullying other mgrs" instead. Haha!!

oh u meant the Ladies Card 2 Amore? I am using tat oso.
For a few mths din go alr.

No lah.. i meant it took ard 2hr 2 & fro bt depends on the traffic.
Nid ard 45mins ~ 1hr 2 go work during the morning..
During the evening is better, sometimes 30mins only.
This is coz hb drives me 2 work.
If by bus/mrt.. i dunno leh.. 3hrs??! Must take bus to MRT then MRT alight chg bus again.

smurfy

jazzyjas,

Your manager is better than mine then... my manger very scare of other manager wan..

no, i mean the ladies card to Cali fitness.. prefer the raffles place one..

Morning i set off at 7.15am with my hubby. We will stopped somewhere for breakfast then he drive me to work. I start at 8.30am. Evening I go home myself, take about 1.5hrs to reach home after buying dinner...siong...

jazzyjas

smurfy.. he scare of others how 2 protect u all?? scully others bully u all.

oic.. never went 2 Cali b4 yet.. pref Amore.

u can try out oso.

We set off at 730am (cant be too late, if later than tis, wd be late for work @830am), if traffic OK, wd be at the ofc at 820am.

smurfy

jazzyjas,

ya lor, thats y i feel the other depts look down on our dept..

which ladies card u referring? UOB or DBS?

wawa_piggy

I need to travel from east to north for work every day. I even thot my bus journey of 2hr per day is siong.u gers r more siong.. lucky most of the days times got Shun Feng Che :p

Can ask u gers a question? Do u have to report on the dot for work everyday?? OR actually the "unofficial" hr for starting hour is determined by different people??

Coz for my case, whenever me and my another colleague have to be in our seat by 8:30am. Else we will kanna nag or lots of work in the day. But seems like beside the 2 of us, the others have the special privileges of coming to work even at 10am and leave on the dot at 6 everyday.

smurfy

wawa_piggy,

In my company, diff dept have diff starting time (and of cos ending time). For me, its 8.30am, so i always make it a point to reach before 8.30am, usually around 8.15am. I do see some colleagues who come half an hr late or so, but thats their biz, i just do my right way, don't care about others. In fact, my boss start work at 9am, so he doesn't even know i was always on the dot on coming to work.

Maybe its just a habit since sch days, I was never late for work in my years here, except for once when I was caught in a traffic jam.

suelynn

Its so daunting......monday is here again, everyone's going to wk n I m at hm......Really upsetting....I dunno need to wait hw long...

smurfy

suelynn,

how long have you been out of work? don't give up, try to do something which you don't have the time to do when working. get yourself busy..

working sucks... its monday again tomorrow.. sian..

suelynn

smurfy> jobless for almost 2 mths ald lo. Yah, I tried clearing my rm bit by bit while I m jobless. Wanna switch industry oso kinda hard....damn sian.... True working sux! But soon it will be more sucky nt having anymore cash. I was so happy on my last day, finally leave that plc

smurfy

i understand how you feel... when i just graduated, had a hard time finding a job too. Somemore got to live off my parents while looking for a job.

what kind of job are you previously in and wat kind of job are you looking at now since you said you are changing industry?

jazzyjas

hi smurfy,
its UOB Ladies Card.

hi wawa_piggy,
official time is 830am. but some colli comes in as late as 9am!! Now better already..
i try not 2 be late.. kinda "rushed & paisai" i feel when i goto "slip in" my seat when i late.. coz the gals in my section kinda early loh.. b4 830am kind.

smurfy

hi jazzyjas,

I see, I use UOB ladies card to go Cali fitness lor.. is Amore better? is it crowded? which branch did you go?

girlfriend

regarding the above topic, i will think its not advisable till you find a better job.

I've resigned without a job last year.

I'm blessed with a contract job offer after lazing at home for 10 days. However, I've been on contract job since then.

I'm nt complaining cos' thank God I've a job though I don't hve full benefits of a perm job but my advice is do consider carefully before taking this leap.

Moreover, when you go for interview, like my case, they like to ask, why do you leave your perm job for a contract job? hai....

smurfy

hi Jazzyjas,

I called up Amore Bugis branch and they said only can use their gym from 10am -6pm. I usually go after work, so cannot.

Hi Girlfriend,
ya, not alot of contract job in the market..

precisely lor, don't understand why employers always ask questions which they know we won't tell the truth. I mean they don't expect us to say our previous job/boss sucks, right...

suelynn

smurfy> I email u later k.

I was offered contract job oso but I also see if there are chances of progression in the job. If not I wont take up.

forest

hi smurfy and girlfriend,
that is not the only question that they'll ask.. if your prospective employer offer u a perm job after your interview, be prepared that they'll use the perm job to try to neg. a lower pay package for u.. since in a perm job, u'll get the extra perm benefits...

girlfriend

I think alot of jobs in the market are usually contract jobs... esp in the industry that I'm in. :-( V hard to get headcount.. alot of companies still "restructuring", finding reasons to cut headcut, doing more with less!!

It's not that bad doing contract jobs but it doesnt come with job security cos anytime they say bye bye to you!

wawa_piggy

All employers are sama sama pattern. they will only increase the workload, but never offer a pay increment. N every year when it come to bonus period, they will say they never make profits.

For my case, i am under bond so i can't leave unless i am willing to pay the $. So what my manager do is always dump all the "no one else wanna do" types of projects onto me. N just give me a tight deadline. I am a perm staff. My company employ quote a no. of contract staff. I feel that i am lagi wors than them

wawa_piggy

hi girlfriend

Actually perm positions are not always the most secure. Those employers actually have all sorts of methods to "get rid" of u if they wanted to.

Coz my cousin actually has work in her company for quite a no. of years and has gd experience. N her company is thinking of getting a younger people to repalce her as the younger people will costs the company lesser salary. And My cousin is only around 30+ yrs old only.

But if they sack or retrench her, then they gotta somehow compensate her. So what they did is, they purposely don't allocate her any 'real' job duties. They tried to make her feel useless and redundant in the company. Perhaps this is a tactic to lower a person's morale and this make her very depressed during that period.
End up she cannot tahan and resign.

Which industry r u in? Coz ur description seems same as mine.hmm.. maybe wer in the same line?

suelynn

agree, sometimes perm is much worse, cos u are expected to be more committed n u are supposed to cover for anyone who leave etc!

No such thing as job security nowadays ald, be it perm, in pte or public industry.

I was very pissed cos in my previous job, it was contract position oso n they went n enploy perm directly instead of converting the contract ppl cos alot of trouble involved if convert etc. End up I jus leave on the dot everytime n let the perms do the wk. When my contract is up I dowan to renew rather be jobless.

tinklestar28

Hi gals...
i finally tendered my resignation last thurs !!! felt so happy after that...
i was sick yesterday and call in to my boss to inform her i had one day MC... guess what, she ask if it's becos i tendered my resignation that y i take MC... i was so pissed off... she even ask me to rest half day and go back to work in the afternoon!!!!
i couldn't say no cos she was very firm... but later in the afternoon i told her i was still not feeling well and couldn't go back...
i m glad i left this place!!!!

smurfy

hi tinkle,

I am so happy for you, good for you to be firm with your boss...

I wonder why bosses always think our MC is fake and that we are always well enough to work.

Though my boss had never taken a day of MC, he had never question my MC ..

interrace

Hi tinkle,

congrats!!! must be counting down liaoz..happy happy hor...
so u found a job liaoz ?
me very sianz of my present job liaoz...dun noe how long i can last...am in abv the same position as jazzyjas....

suelynn..jia you jia you!!

tinklestar28

ya... i found a new job... had been struggling to fit in interview during my lunch time n leave during the past two months... i was thinking of quitting without a job then suddenly i was offered a job.... so i was quite happy... so happy that i only gave my company one week notice and pay them 3 weeks short notice!!!

interrace

Hi Tinkle,

You are so lucky leh!!
me been sending resumes but dun even have a single call for interviews leh, wonder if the mkt is that tough,which line are u in ?

U sent out lotsa resumes ?
what reasons did u give for leaving the company ?
sorry hor, just hope u dun mind sharing..if u do is okie, dun have to reply.

blue2003

just browse through and found what u gals are discussing really fit my feelings for the past few months. Wanted to quit w/o job...but cant bear to do cos scare cant get one in time....I guess I was lucky as I applied for one only and got an offer.

So don't give up gals...

tinklestar28

i think i have sent ard 70 resumes during the past two months... i was in the govt sector previously and becos my experience was not recognised, i ended up in customer service sector... i hate frontline job... so i finally found a new job in the admin line...
mkt is quite competitive, not to mentioned the few thousand fresh grad who just join in the jobhunt... my colleagues are all finding jobs now..

sudden

These days, there are many contract jobs disguised as perm jobs. Don't be fooled.

The employers advertise perm jobs, and when you join, they say there is a 6-mth probation. After 6 months, sometimes they say your performance is doubtful, give you another 6-mth probation.

Then when 12 months is up, they tell you that you are not up to scratch. Ask you to leave! No compensation, no benefits. Same, or even worse than contract jobs.