hellos!
e - thanks, last week was just hellish, this week isn't looking any better *wipes sweat from brow*... congrats on the new job! excited or not? eh, i kaypoh... what do you do?
haha,
roses, you're not alone in your "flower madness", believe me... i also very fa-deen one. (cantonese for flower-mad people like me) haha... ooh, yesh SF is gorgeous and due to the weather and proximity to asia/canada, lots of produce and flower choices. they even have orchid farms and such. flowers are a big business. hmm, i've lived there for about 2 years, and i'd like to say i live in the Bay Area now but i don't. although my hubby does, so half my home is there lah!!!! hehehe... we are still apart for the moment, but we've decided to move to Toronto in just a few more short months. did the math and Cali is just too expensive living for us right now. sigh, what to do...
sorry i digress from the main topic - one little tip from a fellow flower devotee, don't expect singaporean florists to be able to replicate such quality as these SF or NYC florists... they really are best of the best. i found that the prices are also quite expensive even with in-season flowers in Singapore, so it's not just a matter of requiring same amount of flowers. (you won't get the same effect, volume-wise) in order to do these stylish topiaries or trailing centerpieces, i think expect about S$100-200 per centerpiece. the hotel package is usually just a simple round or candlepiece arrangement, and will not look like these without serious topping up. in the end, we negotiated OUT of the hotel florals pkg entirely as it was cheaper to find our own florist who can provide better pricing.
ok, on the spring summer fall/autumn winter thingy... it's a bit confusing, especially since different cities have different timings, so take everything i say with a +/- 1 month... but generally for north america/canada, summer is between may-aug, fall or autumn is sept-nov, winter is nov-feb, and spring is mar-may. during the transitional months, it often overlaps, for example right now in early Nov we're still in late Fall where i live, but some places already experiencing wintry weather (
snippy, boston hor???).
hope that helped! another hectic week ahead, have to finish all my work before my business trip next week... woohoo, sunny Miami FL here i come. haha, got to work lah, but at night can still play, what...