Any JP or GL for recommendations

While going thru reading all the comments it seems that David Loh is highly recommended. My goodness he is even booked for 2005? I need to engage a JP on my wedding day itself just before dinner, tentative idea is next Sept or earlier and I won't have the actual date until the chinese calendar is out! So stressful! By the way, should I give him an ang pow?

so sad after 2 wks of confirmation, Mr. Chan Kai Yau suddenly cannot solemnise for us on our ROM 2 mths down e road. Quickly called the others like mrs. bertha neo, dr seet, dr anamah tan, etc. all cannot make it liao. dun know who to call now.

I can try to call whatever is in e JP/GR lists, but is there other recommended JPs that I've missed? Now I wld like to get one tat can solemnise in mandarin if possible. thnks.

hi gers,
david loh seems to be amongst the best.. from the talks here.
what do we need to provide him when we call him?
shy leh.. how to approach him?

hi hanny,

juz give David Loh a call at his mobile 97425005 direct, stating your date/time U wan him to solemnize for U/fh, he will reply whether is he available or not. If he is available, Congrats & U got to mit up with him to sign a letter of consent which U will need to submit to ROM few days before the exact day.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_pdf.gif
letter of consent
Consent_to_Solemnise.pdf (21.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

thx win.
but i m too late. sigh.
he's solemnizing 10 couples that day. oh well..
win, any other gd recommendation for JP/GL?

Hi hanny,

Maybe you wanna call Mr Chris Chen.Please leave ur address so that I can pass his contact to you

Hi hanny,

will be those regularly being mentioned like Dr. seet, Mr Chan Kai Yau(62356143), Mrs Bertha Neo, Dr Anamah Tan, Mr Chen Yee Ching, Siglap CC(like wat rabbitwsk ve mentioned), Brother Gaudette.

If realli all not available, got to choose e most available one at :- http://www.rom.gov.sg/rom/reg_info/pdf/Grassroots_Leaders.pdf for grassroot leader or http://www.rom.gov.sg/rom/reg_info/pdf/Justices_of_Peace.pdf for JP.

Do give it another try...all the above mentioned JL/GRL can be found inside e pdf lists. gd luck!

Hi people,

Mr David Loh has consented to be my JP on my ROM but somehow he seemed unreachable when I tried to contact him to sign my consent form these 2 days. I have faxed him the consent form to sign, he didn't return fax, tried calling his mobile, it was diverted to voicemail, i left a voicemail for him but he didn't return call, juz now called him again but he hung up one me...anybody met with the same probs? Or know what is the best way to reach Mr Loh??

Anyone of u got picture of Dvaid Loh.I have booked him for my big day, but dunno how he looks like.many says he carries that wooden stuff with him.how does the woody stufff looks like.can share with me yr pictures at [email protected]?

hi, anybody has Mr Chris Chen's license no? tried to e-file but failed... think he made a mistake.. what he wrote was C097 thanks!

Hi mini apple,

congrats. mine is 7 days ahead of your, also by Chris Chen. Dun wori, still got enuff time, e most impt to mi is e solemnizer &amp; venue cos got to check for their availability. The nxt impt stuff are your preferred MUA &amp; photographer.

Hello Mini-apple

I have sent mail to u including the pic u needed. Quite a big file so download it soon yo

I realized that some of the JP are not found in the List of JPs and GR Leaders, like Mr Chris Chen, Mr Chan Kai Yau and David Loh, may I know how u get to know about them and can I have their contacts too? Can someone help?

Aston

Hi Mini_Apple!

Chris Chen is doing our solemnisation on the 25th too!! What time is yours? Ours is in the evening!! =)

Hi Mini apple

How's preparation for ur ROM? Hope everything is doing fine at ur end...Still need my advise? U like MIA awhile lei...

Hi Everyone.

I am new on this Forum and thank all of you for giving me many good tips for my upcoming ROM.

However, I have something to share.

rabbitwsk, I looked for Chris Chen to be my JP after reading your comments on him. But to my disappointment, he is not as nice as u said. (just sharing my comments, no hard feelings)

Firstly, when I called him, he agreed to tentatively blocked his diary for me and asked me to email the details of my rom to him. I did but he did not reply or acknowledge receipt of my email. This leaving me wondering if he got my message. Then, when I confirmed my venue, I called him again to inform him and asked when he can sign the consent form.He told me to call him again to arrange a date. When I called him recently to arrange a date, he commented something which made me quite unhappy. He asked why am I calling him Chris since he is older than me. He prefers me to address him as Mr Chen since He is my solemnizer. I was really surprised by his comments. I addressed him as Chris like the rest of you did in the forum. And by addressing by name doesn't mean I don't respect him cos I thought it is more personal and it is already very common nowadays to even address your boss by name.

Rabbitwsk, is he as protocol conscious when u had him as JP? Now, I'm really not feeling good abt the solemnization. I just hope he does a good job. Another comment is, he can't seem to remember my ROM date. I have to repeat it to him everytime I spoke to him. Three times already (not counting the emails)

Rabbitwsk, does Mr Chen (can't call him Chris yeh?) brief you on the procedure for the ROM and tell you what to do and what to bring before the big day?

Hi Srumpee,

I also getting Mr. Chris Chen as my solemnizer for my coming ROM.

What I do is email to his email addr as formal request &amp; he replied to arrange a date &amp; meet him at siglap CC(where he is e chairman there) or U can meet him at his hse(which my fren did but better to drive a car to reach his plc).

Somemore on the day of meeting him to sign the letter of consent, We were late! As usual, kena told off but of cox we deserved it due to some miscomm. U r rite, I also noticed tat he dun like junior like us to call him Chris from wat I sensed so nvr mind, I addr him as Mr Chen, easier tis way for all of us, so dun wori u r nt e oni one but overall he quite nice lah cos read from some thread here in sb.com tat he make sure everyone can c e ROM proceedings clearly, at least he make a effort on tis portion for us. thnks.

Hello gals,

Dun fret. I'm getting Mr David Low (yeh, MR!) for my solemnisation this Sun. Had probs contacting him all the while, to get his license no, sign the consent form and this time, to chk what time he arriving the venue to commence solemnisation. Even if I left him voicemails and sms, he doesn't respond, so it's redialing and redialing all the time till i finally catch hold of him.

For him, i didn't get the priviledge of meeting him up at all, till the day i get solemmised from him, which is this coming Sun. i have to fax him the form for him to endorse and keep calling and chasing him to return fax. I called him to check if a prior meeting is required to brief us the procedure, but he said no need, he will arrive on that day and brief us which will take only 2-3mins.

oh, btw, he doesn't remember my solemisation date too, and i had to repeat to him everytime i call him. it's common, cos' they prob have like 10 couples or more to soleminise per day, so won't blame him.

Now i'm juz keeping my fingers cross that everything will run smoothly on Sun.

hi rabbitwsk,

nice to hear frm u again... still busy buying things for hse as don wan it to look too empty when guest comes that day...

Bought a simple dress from daniel yam, make-up artist booked, flowers ordered n wedding band to collect tomoro..

now busy planning the schedules for my frens n colleages to come

hows ur customary preparation coming along?
urs @ oct right, think i read frm other thread...

Hi bÜgz,
mine is in the morning 11.30am @ my new hse. how abt urs? hows ur preparation coming along?

Win and Poissons,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. At least I feel better now.

Win, when is your ROM? mine is in late nov. if yours is earlier, can share with me how did it go when finished? Thanks

Poissons, hope everything runs smoothly for you this Sunday.

Scrumpee: mine is on tis sat. I juz emailed Mr. Chen yday after replying U, nearly forgotten. In fact, he request 2 days in advance.

Sure, will share with you/rest here. thnks.

Hi Mini_Apple...mine's before the dinner...at 745pm!

Hi Win..where's your solemnisation held? Are you reciting your own vows or just using the standard wording and standard procedure?

hope everything turns out well..let us know how MR. Chris Chen conducted the whole thing after your event okie?? =)

Hi bUgz,

It ll be held in carlton hotel, I take their ROM pkg. I be using e standard wording/procedure though different jp got their own style &amp; didnt noe whether does all jps ok or not to use our own vows.

thanks, will let u all noe hw Chris conducted e solemnisation for us.

Hi Mini_apple

Seems like u got almost all things done... Great!

Urs is this wkend rite? If so, very fast yo

If u need advise on house deco on tt day, let me know yo

Ya, me nx mth wedding lor
This wk give cards then not much things to do liao. Except to get the GDL things.

Hi Mini_apple

Seems like u got almost all things done... Great!

Urs is this wkend rite? If so, very fast yo

If u need advise on house deco on tt day, let me know yo

Ya, me nx mth wedding lor
This wk give cards then not much things to do liao. Except to get the GDL things.

Another qns. Hope someone can help

Need advice here. I efiled my marriage on 12 Sept. Then what do I do next? Wait for ROM to call me to submit the documents and consent form from JP or I can just go anytime to submit, no need to wait for ROM to call?

I finally go thru e solemnization with my wife last sat. The process was "chop chop" as in now I understand y pples in e thread commented tat Mr Chris Chen will make sure all are able to see e proceedings.

As we walkin towards the solemnization table, we were instructed by Mr Chris Chen to stand &amp; face the guests(else when he recite our back will face the guests, cant see our expression) as he recite the vows in front of them. His vows are quite standard as in he make a brief introduction followed by recite vows, repeat after him, x'change rings to put on for me/wife, kiss &amp; he declared us husband &amp; wife. Finished in less than 10 mins. The only time we sat dwn is for us &amp; our witnesses to sign on the photostated cert to be returned to ROM.

He'll brief u, check your/witnesses' NRIC before the solemnization, once u r ready, let him noe(like got marchin, direct solemnization bla bla bla).

Hi srumpee,

now u ve efiled, consent form signed? for me 1 wk b4 my solemnization, I go dwn to e ROM with my wife, get a queue no. &amp; submit my consent form &amp; efile printout, together of our/witnesses' NRICs. 5-10 mins later, they print out e original cert for you to chk/keep &amp; another doc + photostated cert to be signed on e solemnization day itself. Once signed, either u or JP ll mail the 2 copies bck to ROM(envelope/stamp provided by ROM).

Hi Win,

Congratulations! Finally finish the biggest moment in your life.

So fast finish in 10 mins ah? I thought of reciting our own customised vows instead of using the standard vows. Dun know if Mr Chen is ok with it? (nw abit scared to request anything from him).

Do you have lunch after the solemnization? Did u invite MR Chen to stay back for lunch? How much ang pao did u give him?

I will be meeting MR Chen next week to sign the consent form. So that means, I can go down to ROM anytime to submit the documents lah? no need to fix special appt with ROM? U chose to go down to ROM 1 week before solemnization or they called you to go down?

Sorry ask u so many questions ah.Just want to be sure of the procedure. Thanks

Hi Scrumpee,

thnks,,, nw taking a short rest &amp; then decide wat nxt to plan for...

yes, his own script is nt tat lengthy, so 10 mins or less settled. Since u ve your own customised vows(no chinese, rite? understand he usually solemnised in English oni), emailed him in advance tat u be meeting him to sign e form, at e same time let him noe of ur intention. Once you mit him tat day to sign consent form(dun be late tat day like us!) passed him e vows typed out properly &amp; get his suggestions to do some minor changes if neccessary as he deemed fit. Remind/reattach updated vows to him few days before your solemnization to remind him e date as well as to let him noe ur is customised vows.

yes, I did invite him(cos muz treat him like VIP as advised from ROM website) but he oni drink coffee tat afternoon &amp; left shortly.

We choose to go 1 wk on our own accord before solemnisation cos if u noticed ur efile ack. email, they did specify a date but i did nt go, I feel tat 1 wk is enuff cos who noe, if u go too early, if JP called u 4 wks in advance &amp; tell u cannot make it liao, u got to rush to get another JP, newly-signed consent form &amp; pay x'tra for changes, tink is $15 per change. That y, 1 wk is considered safe unless he realli cannot make it at e veri last min.

I give Chris $60(he mentioned will be for charity) + 1 complimentary carpark pass.

No wori, better get it rite since e procedures is still fresh inside my mind.

Hi Scrumpee,

have nt realli get e dates, but tentatively either late05(sep?) or early06(Feb?), i cant say for nw. will do e banquet research after getting e dates, nw juz planning for my bkk trip in nov &amp; hse warming...but heard tat as e marina area is in e midst of heavy renovation, banquets such as oriental, marina mandarin &amp; pan pac ll nt be taking in any wedding dinner after tis yr or nxt? tis mean prices for carlton, ritz carlton, conrad, suntec all will rise their price due to demand. Tis info was been told by carlton banquet manager tat day when I was there for my ROM.

Hi mini_apple, ur ROM is another few more days,,,btw, ll try to upload some ROM pics but nt tat soon cos I engaged someone to take e photographs to be readi in 2 wks time or sometink.

Is it? but from business point of view, not very likely the hotel will do that. Wedding dinners are good money for the hotel. Maybe the Carlton manager wanted u to sign with him, that's why gave you that kind of advise. But since you still have time, take your time to look around for venue lor.

My customary also next year. Me thinking of having it at The Fullerton Waterboat House. U heard of it? Its an old architectual building beside the Fullerton hotel. Now the place has developed into swanky restaurants and there's a satay club at the ground floor. Eating satay beside the river. But not sure how to book that place, cos Fullerton Hotel said that place don't belong to them. U have any idea?

Hi Scrumpee,

I'm back from my BIG day...all went while..the solemnisation was done in a whizz..all done within a few minutes!

Anyway, I had Mr David Loh, before the ceremony commenced, he came to us and gave us a briefing, want us to watch out his tapping of fingers as signals to say those "I do", "I will"..and so on. It took like only 2 minutes..and voila! we were pronounced man and wife..haha.

However, it was embarrasing..guess my hubby was too happy or nervous that night, he has actually forgotten to pass Mr Loh the goodluck angbao! Gosh! Now trying to find out Mr Loh's address so that I can mail him a thank you card and token of appreciation..haha..

Hi Poissons

Can feel that you are beeming with happiness yeh!

A few minutes of excitement actually took all of us mths to prepare huh...

Congrats, Mrs. Poissons!
Nxt on e line, mini_apple, rite?

Scrumpee, okie, u r rite. I called them up, yes, the marina area is under heavy renov., but dinner ll go on. I interested in tat area, but hopefully e renov. ll nt take too long else cld be inconvenience to e guests coming to e venue.

I've nt heard of fullerton waterboat hse, but tink roughly where is sit physically. Potentially cld be a hidden gem, care to explore further &amp; let us wat u tink of tis plc?