Any JP or GL for recommendations

elaine77

I am having my solomenisation out of ROM premises. Im looking for a justice of peace or grassroot leaders, preferably a JP. Anyone as any contacts for JP?

paulin

hi.....i am jus curious...........JP isit for christians n muslims???
i am interested in geting one.....but i was told tat i cant due cos i wasnt in the category...
isit correct??
pls advise.......thanks..... =P

hi elaine77,

u may try Mr Chan Kai Yau. tell him that u were referred to by the couple who held theirs at serangoon gdns country club last Dec.
he really made my ROM extremely special and touching.

hi paulin tay,

those who ROM within the ROM premises will have solemnizers to officiate ur ROM.
if conducted outside, you may get a JP/grassroot leader to solemnize ur marriage.

elaine77

Hi cheers,

Thanks for the info, do you have his contact no.?
You had yr ROM at serangoon garden country club.. how was it, we went to yishun country club, the place is nice but the function room and restaurant there which could provide the space is abit disappointing.

hi elaine77,

u may contact him @6471 5669 (office DID). when he conducts the ROM, he always brings his wife along. so juz invite them for lunch too, ok?
during the lunch, we found out that he taught my FIL before, and he was my FIL' father's former colleague as well. and he was even the former ASEAN secretariat!!

elaine77

HI cheers,

Thanks for the contact, i just called Davlid Loh, he super popular, fully booked on my ROM day. SO i gotta look for another one, I will called Mr Chan later.. hopefully he can make it.

sure.. will invite them for the luncheon, wahh! asean secretariat,did you buy any gift for him or just treat him for lunch can liao? But how is he, friendly or jovial type, because we dun want too serious kind, can joke joke abit one better.. ehhee.. if not very serious, my friend one very serious so makes the environment very tensed.

pt

alo....cheers =)
huh........but for JP to solemnise......isit necessary only for christians n muslims?? my frens told me i cant do tat unless i am a christian leh.......
but i am thinking to do it on my wedding day at the restuarant.....n i dun belong to the christian nor the muslim category......
am i on the rite track>>> ?

hi PT,

u dun have to be a christian/muslim to have a JP!!
my advise to you is to confirm ur venue & time, then look for a JP/grassroot leader. some of them are very busy, very old (can only handle one ROM a day), etc...so confirm ur things fast, okie?

elaine77:
what they do are all voluntary work. they are not paid a single cent frm ROM (fort canning), therefore ROM set a std practise for couples to give a token of @ least $28 (to cover their transport expenses).
we gave $50 angpow as a token of appreciation and told them that after the ROM there'll be lunch.
btw, do you know that JPs are all conferred this title by the President?? my whole family, relatives and frens find him a very highy respected person. he & his wife said that we were the 1st couple to invite them to have lunch at the main table, and they were very touched & appreciative! said to hear frm them that many couples either dun invite them to stay for makan, or juz chuck them at one corner after the ceremony.

sunflower26

oic.......so how to find the list of the JPS??n any procedure?? or wat are the steps??
i am planning to have the JP be present at my customary dinner....before dinner starts....to have him around 6.30pm..
pls help..... =P
geting a bit excited....hehe...........cos i can hav a JP loh
haha......

binbin

hi sunflowers, go to "familytown.gov.sg".

Under the heading of "Courtship & Marriage", go to "Getting Married" and click on "File for Civil Marriage".

Once you are in, click on "Solemnisation" on the left.

Scroll down to "Solemnisation outside ROM", then click on both "Grassroot leaders" and "Justice of Peace".

hi sunflower26,

yup, use the link that binbin gave...
i started planning mine only 3 weeks b4hand...called every single Chinese JP and only Mr Chan was free. so once u e-file, look for venue, then start calling the JPs.
prepare 2 pens for the signing. 1 for you & FH, and the other for ur 2 witness...JP himself has got one already. ask for floral centrepiece to beautify one corner of the table.

eco

both my brother and i engage Mr Chan as our JP for our ROM.

I would strongly recommend for anyone that is looking for a JP to engage him. his contact number is 6-235-6143(Home)

He is a very respectable person and will really make the solemnisation ceremony very very special.

hi eco,

i totally agree with you!! we even intend to invite him for our wedding dinner.

you pple may contact him at his home# too. cos when i called his home last time, his wife asked me to call him at his office instead. btw, his ard 74 yrs old.
6471 5669 (office DID)
6235 6143 (home)

elaine77

Hi cheers and eco,

Thanks for the further info, Mr Chan has his own transport or we need to arrange him to come to the ROM venue? I havent called him yet cos just got back a short trip to bintan. Its a really nice place for relaxation, went there twice still like it very much, a nice place to take photography for wedding.. hehe but a bit troublesome to bring so many things there for shooting.

nokia

hi elanie,

pending where is your ROM venue, he does has his own transport. else, you can book a cab to pick him up.

elaine77

SUnflower, when is your ROM date? Are you having outside of ROM premises.

Cheers and nokia, thanks for the info, will call him asap as me quite busy this week, will call him next week.

sunflower26

huh.......i think i cant have the jP liao.......
my parents dun like to idea.........so i hav to go ROM loh........... mine is sept.... =P

elaine77

Hi sunflower26,

Oh.. thats a pity, its also quite nice to have it at ROM just that we dun want to take the risk to decide until den if ROM still takes in 8 pple into the premises. We really wished that all our family members and friends can join us in the solemnisation. Just hope that the sars situation will turn better.

gg

Anyone changing their location from ROM to outside?Me oso dun koe wat to do.have to tok thru with my FH.I find that the 8ppl limit is quite hard lor...Coz,after minus the couple,the witness,photographer,onli left 3 person to be the audience during the ceremony...Its is suppose to be a happy ocassion....so....

Btw,whos mr david loh?heard many ppl recommend him but y is he famous??Really puzzled...

elaine77

Hi gg...

Actually i have planned to have my ROM itself but because of the guests restriction, we moved outside of ROM. Because my ROM is on sept, i still have time to plan, but i think if u change venue, theres a charge imposed. I think you have to decide fast with yr FH... see if 2 of u wants to change the venue.

Mr David Loh is a appointed JP, heard from some gals in this forum that he is a friendly guy but i couldnt get him for my ROM, he fully-booked on my ROM day.

yue

Hi elaine77,

U had mentioned that your ROM is in Sept and u had already started to source for JP and the Venue for the Solemnisation already??

I had also planned to ROM in Sept.. had not even started to do any planning... oh oh ....

Mind if I asked when is ur ROM date??Coz I had also intended to get Mr David Loh.. my friend said he is a nice person....if ur ROM date is the same as mine.. then I can drop the idea of calling him already

speckygirly

Hi Yue and Elaine77

I'm planning for solemnization in Sept too! and same like yue, have not done anyting.. :p
wonder if its too late? Went to daniel yam to see some of their dresses last week, but quite disappointing leh...wat will u be wearing huh?

lorraine

Elaine77
So did you get Mr Chan to be your JP?
I wanted my ROM to be before my dinner. Do we need to invite the JP for the dinner?

jenn

hi Lorraine

i'm also having my solemnisation just before my dinner!!! persoanlly i think it would be a nice gesture to invite the JP for your wedding dinner. you may causally ask if he is free cos some JPs may not have the time and may want an early day since most of them are quite old!

so, where do u intend to have ur rom and dinner?

cubby

hi winnie,

my ROM is in dec. but heard Mr David Loh an Mr chan very popular. so just wondered if i want to secure either them, when should i book then

winnie

Hi Cubby,

Is ur ROM falls on a weekend or is popular date, I will suggest maybe you can try to book them earlier cos I think they are rather busy.. Good luck to you

cubby

hi winnie,

thks for the advise. i just scared that if i call the jp now..they wld think i so kiasu haha..

jess

i am having my solemnisation on christmas day, i have already book David Loh. But one question, i hv heard Mr Chan really make the ROM extremely special n touching, may i know how special will it be. Please advise.

aquaticbelle

can anyone give me the contacts (email or mobile) of Mr Gaudette Pierre Paul? I ca't locate him with the office number. Anyone knows his occupation?

BTW, what does BBM or PBM mean? Please enlighten me. Thanks

biba8169

hi jess, I am also having my solemnization on x'mas day and have engaged David as well? What time will u be starting your solemnization?Are you holding it at a hotel?

elaine77

Hi aquaticbelle, im also getting Mr Gaudette Pierre Paul for my ROM tomorrow.. you can reach him at his email, [email protected].

He is a Brother and a counsellor in Boys' town, he is a very friendly man, he did list out the things he do but too many to remember. Just drop him a mail. Actually u can ask his hp from the staff at Boy's Town, they will give it to you.

karen77

How come no one want to try Peter Seah (ex-OUB Head), he is one of the recently appointed JP.

Heard that he can make the extremely special n touching speech for the Couple.

I seen David Loh in many Wedding and ROM location I attended nothing special.

jessgoh

Hi Angeline, wat a conincident! i m holding my wedding in Chijmes, how abt u? my solemnization is at 12noon, i wanted 1pm but David has another to go at 1:30pm in town. Wat time is urs?

tulip94

I am a newbie in this forum, need your advice in efiling.

My FH and I are planning to hold our solemnisation outside ROM as well, we were going thru the efiling, noticed that the list of solemnisers in the drop down box on page 3 is very limited.

May I know how should i register if i am getting a solemniser other than those in the drop down list? Thanks alot for your help.

jessgoh

Hi tulip,
like my gf, she temporary select any JP when doing efiling, then she go get a consent form
sign by her JP and fax to the ROM. But before that the ROM will still give u a call to reconfirm the JP u have select from the box.
This is how i do too, i follow her footstep.

tulip94

Hi Jess,

Thanks for the info...
This forum is reali fantastic.. everyone is helpful... almost all my ROM questions have been answered alreadi

Enjoy your ceremony in Chijmes!

tiara

Hi karen

Is the Peter Seah you are referring to Peter Seah Lim Huat? Did you have your marriage solemnised by him?

tiara

Thanks karen!
BTW did you efile at the ROM website? Am just wondering, for: 'Marriage solemnised at', do we select Justice of Peace?

tulip94

Other than Mr David Loh, any recommendations for other JP? Mr Loh is able to make it on my ROM date.

rabbitwsk

Hi Tulip

My ROM is solenmised by Mr Chris Chen. He is a very nice guy and we had our vows standing instead of the traditional way of sitting... a bit of the western style.

U can PM me to get his contacts.