Any JP or GL for recommendations

touraco

hi rabbitwsk,

can u email me the contacts?

btw, may I know what are the procedures of getting solemnised outside ROM?

i read the webiste but i don't really understand.
it says have to go and collect the certs 3 days before and then return don't know whatever after that....i'm blur

rabbitwsk

Hi Touraco

Nice to see u here

The procedures as such:-
1) Cfm date with ur JP and let him sign consent form. Consent form can download fr web.
2) Then do E-filing in internet to info ROM abt ur date. Then I think got to fax the consent form, witness ic, u n FH ic to ROM. Instruction she be in the E filing last procedure.
3) Collect 3 WORKing day bfe ur actual date the married cert fr ROM for ur soleminsation. U hv to go to ROM with urs n hubby IC ok.
4) Then return to the ROM via post/hand some other signed documents during soleminsation.

Thats all.

I email u contacts...

rabbitwsk

Hi FF

My pleasure

Chris is grassroot leader whom is quite experience in solemnisating wedding for couples.

I have jus sent his contact to u

meagan

Hi rabbitwsk, can PM the contact to me too? I am looking for a JP. BTW, does he conduct the solemnsiation in Chinese or english?

meagan

Hey rabbit thanks! Shucks, i am looking for a JP who can do it in Chinese. Cos my parents don't understand English. Any recommendations?

hi guys!i'm very new to all this,seems like every1 here so expert,really amazing.hope some1 can enlighten me 4 my upcoming rom on 8th aug 2004.i just started planning a week ago,so far has booked the venue.it's too early now for me to efile with rom,but would it be 2 early to book a jp now? how do i do it?now i worry that i make plans for catering,booking of jp etc now,would there be a case when i efile my notice of marriage for that date n kena rejected?think it may be a very popular date. i now super kan cheong coz like so super last minute prep.help!!!

aiya i 4get,whole head muddy,just like to find out too,if i can book a jp now,does that mean i keep and hold onto the signed consent now then wait till i efile then submit the particulars 2gether with my efiling???

coven

hi tan,
assuming tat u can get the date u want, wat u can do is to tentatively book a JP now. and they will get the consent form signed BEFORE u efile. and yes, u hold on to it till u efile.

since u're getting a JP, i presume that u're doing the solemnisation outside of ROM, so u dont hv to worry abt the date being too popular. this is the utmost advantage of doing outside solemnisation. the main thing is to get a JP for ur date and time, since now u already hv booked the venue.

few days before ur ROM date, u n ur partner will hv to go to rom for verification and collection of the marriage cert. u're to bring the consent form, both ur NRICs and ur 2 witnesses' NRICs and i tin hv to bring the printed receipt. u will hv this printed receipt aka acknowledgement the moment u hv completed ur efiling- print out the acknowledgement.

cubby

hi Tan,
its not too late to book ur JP now.. i had the same thinking as u.. i called up David Loh a few weeks before and he is already taken on my wedding date in june..even Mr Chan cant make it. so its best u book early now..

although i din managed to get david loh and Mr chan, i chance upon this JP, Mr Gaudette and had a first meeting with him this evening.. he is really nice and had a great sense of humour.. i think i'm really lucky

stubbilla

Hi cubby,
I also wanted to call My David Loh to check his availability but shy shy, dun dare to. is he friendly on the phone?

dun know if JPs allows us to book more than 3 months in advance?

rabbitwsk

Hi Megan

U might wan to look for Mr. Lim Siaw Sue BBM from Siglap for chinese solemniation. U can check out his contact in the website cos I wasn't given by Chris.

Hi HP,
U look for JP too? Did I give u Mr Chris Chen contact bef? I think many of the couples in SB has been solemnised by him.
Basically I book my JP 3 mths in advance.

cubby

hi HP,
no need to be shy, i called Mr David Loh more than 3 mths before my wedding and he is already taken up... so wats there to be shy abt since somany couples had approach him long befor etheir wedding
he sounded fine over the phone.. dun worry!!
most JPs allow us to book them in advance

cubby

hi HP,
no need to be shy, i called Mr David Loh more than 3 mths before my wedding and he is already taken up... so wats there to be shy abt since somany couples had approach him long befor etheir wedding
he sounded fine over the phone.. dun worry!!
i think most JPs allow us to book them 3 mths in advance

stubbilla

hi rabbitwsk,
yupz, looking for JP coz I'm having my customary and solemnisation on the same day

dun think I got your JP contacts. can send to me?thanks

Hi cubby,
mine is on dec 04, think Mr David Loh will entertain now?

tulip94

Hi HP
I doubt Mr David Loh will be unhappy if you call now. I called him last month for my ROM in Sept. He's already TAKEN.

It's good to book him early since he is so popular amongst the Brides to Be.

On the other hand, he may not be able to confirm with you, coz he may have other commitments in Dec. Nether less, I would still encourage you to call him early.

tianyun

Hi HP,
I talked to Mr Loh during my frd's dnr and he said he's taken up even till 2005 so I also tink it will be better for you to 'book' him 1st

lbs

I also had David Loh for my ROM last August after reading good comments on his service from the postings here. Haahaaaa..I called him in Feb to book actually..very kiasu hor?? Since Dec is really a hot month for marriage, I think HP, you can call him lar...i am sure he is okay. But when you get your online registration with the Registrar, you will need to let him sign anyway...

Btw, he is really good...if you like those lively type!!

stubbilla

wow~! then I better act fast liao. wanted to call him but heard from some others that most JPs don't commit if the AD is more than 3 mths, that's why never dare to call.

hopefully he's not booked

fond1711

Anyone know how early can i efile for my ROM. I heard normally it will be very packed if its a
"hot date" and for booking of JP how early should i book?

lbs

Hi fond,

extracted from ROM website:

The earliest date which you may solemnize your marriage is 21 days after the date of notice (excluding the day on which you file the notice). For example, if you file your notice on 30 January, the earliest date which you may solemnize your marriage is 21 February.

The last date which you may solemnize your marriage is before the end of 3 months after the date of notice (excluding the day on which you file the notice). For example, if you file your notice on 30 January, the last date which you may solemnize your marriage is 30 April.

blim

David Loh is simply fantastic. We have nothing but good words for him. We invited him and his wife to the banquet after the solemnization. And they were very happy. Over that weekend, he solemnized more than 10 couples!

coven

hi HP!

he's of a jovial size.. saw him at my frenz's solemnisation cum wedding.

some JPs can commit even if its more than 3 mths.. hehehe ... mine did lor. btw, my JP was Mr Chan Kai Yau. he's an elderly man... oh ya .. u would hv seen his picture.

a_k

i was wondering if we hv book a JP, will the JP last min didnt turn up. I hv this fear here.

if book david loh & he agrees, he will confirm make it rite. though i understand it is a mutual trust thing... but really hv a fear if a JP didnt turn on that day... then how?

trying to contact david recently, but cannot reach him. anyone encounter this problem also?

popples

Hi AK,

You worry too much. JP & Grassroot leader (GL) will turn up, they will double confirm with you when your date is nearing. Even if they can't make it, they'll call you & tell you or find you a replacement but you've to inform registry about the change in JP or GL.

As for David Loh (GL), once you book him, he'll put your solemnisation in his schedule book & he'll call you to comfirm your time, date & venue when your solemnisation date is near (about tat same week).

If you're still worried after you book a JP or GL, you can always call them a week before your solemnisation date to remind them and send them a sms a day before.

stubbilla

hi AK,
dun worry, JP normally will turn up. if they can't make it, they will notify u in advance. so far, not yet heard of JP not turning up in last minute.

I din encountered any problem when calling Mr David Loh. He answered the phone the first time we called him

garfield77

Hi AK,
If u call him & he neber answer, most probably he is in the process of solemnisation for the couple. We had encountered 2x, only 3rd time on the same day manage to get him.

a_k

thanks,Elaine, HP & garfield.

yah i think i am kind of worry lor, cos i am holding ROM with customary... so kind of scare if the JP didnt turn up.

We manage to call him the first time, then later on when trying to confirm, juz couldnt find him for weeks... but we manage to find him after much tries. hope everything is smooth.

all of u engage david?? he normally will call when the day is near?? how early did u all engage him?? we juz need to keep the consent form till we can register with ROM, so meaning after engaging the JP, the rest of the time is juz wait for the day to come, rite?

sorry so many qns...

suzanna

Just something to share with everyone. I have just ROM last week, 15th May and my solemniser was Mr David Loh.

I would strongly recommend his service. He is really nice and interesting. Guess I was lucky to have him as our solemniser. I only called him up in April and I tot I was too late.

He jokes and made fun of us (on the good side) after our solemnisation and help us to organise us for photo shooting. He is really jovial and he creates lots of laughter.

All my friends and family were really impressed by his service.

As I have never attended solemnisation outside ROM before, I wasn't sure what and how to go about getting a venue so I keep changing the venue and timing but Mr Loh was so nice to accommodate to all changes despite solemnisation service is totally voluntary.

I am quite sure my bride-to-be friends would want him to be their solemniser. A few of them even ask me for his contact. ;)

Btw, I didn't know that he appear on newspaper and TV before (because he had the highest rate of performing solemnisation service) until i got to see him personally. In fact, most of my friends actually recognise him.. isnt it cool..

Sorry about the long msg because I am still all excited about the whole event.

Rgds,

stubbilla

hi suzanna,

wow, so happy to hear abt Mr David Loh's good service. me also engage him for our solemnisation in nov

btw, a sensitive question, how much hongbao to give a JP huh???

coven

hi hp...
rom site quoted $38 to cover their to & fro transport .. alth some do donate the amt to the charities. so basically, if u feel like giving more, its really up to u. tin tat time we gave $80.

stubbilla

hi coven,

ya, saw the rom site abt the $38 for transport. but not sure if should give hongbao again beside the one for transport loh. I will like to give something to my JP as a token of appreciation loh.

rabbitwsk01

Hi HP

Ya, because we went to his hse and saw lots of wine! We are wine lovers too thus decided to give one of our Aust to him as a gift.
We are like friends now

ah_gal

I'm new here.. need ur advice..I've managed to book Mr David Loh for my ROM on 18 sep (sat). Understand that I can only efile max 3 months before that right? So the earliest I can efile is 18 jun or 19 jun huh? me blur lei... Also, for solemnisation outside ROM on Saturdays, can efile?

If I've already booked my JP, actually I do not have to worry about not being able to confirm the date right? Thats only for couples who are doing their solemnisation at ROM itself whereby they're afraid their desired date are fully booked i presume?

sorry for asking so many Qs.. me beri blur

garfield77

Ah gal,
Yes, u can do ur e-filing on 18 Jun onwards. Outdoor solemnisation can b any day/date/time/venue u like. For e-filing, it is better to confirm ur date & location. Else if u wan to change date later, u have to cancel ur previous one & re-file again, fees is the same as ur 1st filing fees. As for JP, knowing tat David Loh is a very "hot" GL, so once confirm ur date & time with him, try not to change. The time or date u finally decide later, he may not b able to do solemnisation for u due to the time slot may b taken up by others.

ah_gal

Tks garfield...
107940.gif

har? got to cancel and re-file? better confirm first then efile. else waste $$$...

But my friends have been telling me to efile as soon as I can.. i.e. 18 Jun.. least it gets fully booked... but i guess it shouldn't apply to me since i'm solemnising outdoor..

I don't think i will change date lah.. cos' the date is chosen by fortune teller. so should be sticking to it..