Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

cjkookie

Hi .... i need a good seamstress to copy designs from magazines .... need to do EG & WG & EG or my mom.

I called Kim who's had rave reviews on this board but she is busy till Jan 09 and my wedding will be in jan09.

vernwyen

This seamstress is recommended by my mum's friend... her daughters have tailor-made the EGs with her... And my sis and mum also make their dress with her too... decent pricing... $200+. It's at Amara shopping arcade #02-K2.

gracelourdes

hi all....

dunno whether Kim does wedding gowns ar? have been reading the whole thread but can't seem to find any mention of it leh

Hi sotonglet, you did both at Wilson's and Kim? Which one you prefer? I'm having lemmings making a tea dress now. Already making my evening CS with Wilson. Thanks in advance!

dodolet

chewie, my cs is by Wilson and I have an evening dress made by Kim.

Kim needs time for fitting and scheduling. But she has nice work though...She did my EG within 2 months i think......

Wilson is able to sorta fit into your schedule type, but it also depends on his current order. He rushed out my CS for my photoshoot in less then 1 month.

gracelourdes

wah, no joke leh, Sotonglet...2 mths for EG...she's fast lah...

is it possible to let me have a look at both ur CS frm Wilson n evening dress frm Kim ar? want to see how it looks like in real...

gracelourdes

erm, forget to add my email addy...paiseh...it's [email protected]

thks alot, Sotonglet

gracelourdes

Sotonglet, thks for ur email...ur evening gown by Kim was smashingly beautiful leh!!!!! *envy* she's really good with the women's body shapes ar
ok, confirm will do it with her liao

dodolet

Hi Grace, thanks for your comments. Her cutting is pretty good. But the material, design and color matching is done by me as I know what is the outcome i wanted... She will advise on the pros and con...

I can only attest to her handiwork but you need to ask if she can do designing and material choosing.

gracelourdes

no worries, Sotonglet....wat i need to know is, if Kim can deliver...in the sense of her workmanship, handiwork etc...the rest no worries...cos i will go to her with my finalised 2 designs...so she can advise based on my bodyshape...

oh ya, did she bring u to Arab Street to choose the material etc? how much was the lace tat u bought? was it french corded lace ar?? looks like leh...it's damn ex man

dodolet

Nope, she did not. I got my materials by my self. Checked the colors on my body as 1 piece before i bought the materials.

The lace is not french lace. It is just emborideried corded lace, no idea what is it. I bought this in thailand. I have no idea where on earth in this shop too... I was brought by a very nice shopkeeper(in baiyoke) where i bought my wedding shoes from. I was telling her I wanted to buy some lace to make a gown, showed her the picture I wanted, and she brought me to like 4 wholesale shops/factory in pratunum...

For the rest, I went to a few shops, but I could only find the color in duchess satin I wanted in a shop in arab street, but I cannot remember the name though. What I did was I took the lace and the lining, wrap round my whole body to see the effect to confirm that it suited my coloring.

chiairis

I had a terrible experience with Sharon from Tanjong Pagar Plaza. Not only she didn't get the style right, she also totally sewn the zip very badly. She was very irresponsible when I called her. I had to call her many times to enquire about the dress. I would say a big no-no to this tailor. A colossal waste of time and money.

eelyn

my mum's a tailor and she made the bridesmaid dresses for my sister's wedding, as well as some of my other friends' weddings. Her shop is Yin Yin Fashion at Blk 1, Tanjong Pagar Plaza #02-16, Tel no. 62217320 look for Ivy
Let me know if you would like pictures

kv24

hi.. wat is kim's rate like?? i might wan to make a dress for my ROM in Jan (is it enuff time for Kim to do?) and maybe one/two dresses for my mom n MIL can anyone send me the pics of the dress to see?? wat is her procedure to do a dress?? Do we have to have a design in mind? wat if i have no idea?? can she help?? my email [email protected]

Blk 246 #11-359
Tampines St 21
Tel: 67831963

eelyn

Hi Kervin,

her charges for a dress start at about $150 for simple designs and materials. If it's more complicated with expensive materials, it would be more but depends on design. You can bring pictures of what you roughly like to her and she can advise you.

Check your email, I've sent you a link to a picture

starpal

i am also contemplating on asking kim to make my wedding gown. Most gowns are rather heavy and i dont like those. can you email me at [email protected] if you have any pictures of your wedding gown to share?

marilyn_chh

kervin,
Not too sure if Kim's has revised her rate. During my time (2004), a simple CS will cost me $100 for her workmanship and a complicated one (full beading fabric) cost me $200. For full beading, she has to unpick all the bead on the sewn area, if not the needle will break and then she will hand sewn back the beads.. It's very tedious, that's why more expensive.

Procedures
1) Give her a call to check if the collection date is available
2) make an appt to see her and at the same time can check out her workmanship..keke..
3) get pictures and sketches on hand to show her so that she knows what you want. she doesn't design, only sew.

Below are the dresses that Kim made for me.That was 2004. Well, now i'm no longer so slim..haha.

852097.jpg
852098.jpg
852099.jpg

marilyn_chh

The back view of my CS, which is suggested by Kim. By the way, I only drop by occasionally in this thread, so if you need to ask me question on Kim, just PM me.

852102.jpg

marilyn_chh

Shannen,
You may check back the Nov 03 thread. A lady by the nickname "female", posted a link to her album. You can see her simple, elegant and sexy wedding gown done by Kim. You're looking for something light, so may be Kim is really suitable for you. Suprisingly after all these years, the link is still active!

kidnomore

anyone has requested kim to help sew your wedding gown? wondering what's her rate now & is she very busy? coz i'm thinking of requesting for her help to sew my gown as well, & depending if she's very busy now or not to decide when I should call her up. my ad is end of the year. =)

thanks all in advance for yr help.

babybugz

My mum and i went to this seamstress at Woodlands last year and we both tailormade a dinner dress. Price is reasonable and workmanship is good. Think someone has posted her url few pages back in this thread. She does rom, evening gowns, bridesmaid dresses etc.
For further details, you may call to enquire at 96802646, Mrs Ng. She is more conversant in mandarin than english but not to worry, she is a very friendly lady.
If anyone wish to view the pic of our dresses, you may also pm me

marnie

I have my stuff sewn at Hannah Boutique/Mama & Misse Boutique at International Plaza. Look for Nicola - 62211865.

superfamous

i heard kim's getting very popular so she probably needs more time to complete the dresses/gowns! some asked me to go to there 9 months in advance! *faint*

chloec

hi everyone! need your recommendation for MTM wedding gown. Any good recommendations? How's the price range like?

Looking forward to your replies. Thanks very much!!

Cheers~

Chloe

vincass

Yup, I had bad experience with Sh**** at TPP too.
Spoilt my evening dress. She doesn't do the actual sewing, her workers do.

yenney

Hi, I need contact for a very skillful seamstress that could do embroidery on heartshape neckline wedding gown.
My cousin did her gowns with this lady Ann but she has lost her contact le.
Hope you kind soul can help me out. Many thanks.
kao_kiss.gif