Any dentist to recommend for braces - good and at reason price

zuzu

i have to pay upfront 1.5K. subsequently $100 per visit (monthly visit). asklea, will send u his webpage link.

normal case should be about 2 yrs. esteem_zero, never hear of pple wearing braces for 6 yrs leh. u'd be surprised how ur teeth start to move once braces is on.

jol

Hihi, When I last seen a dentist, he candidly commented that I make a good candidate for braces. My overcrowding problem is becoming more serious as the wisdom tooth comes out...

Am looking for orthodontist in Yishun area now... Anyone has recommendation??

ugly_teeth

Hmm~ zuzu, i know of some people wear braces for at least 4 years though.. heh heh~ maybe can send u a pic of my teeth then u'll see lor.. haha~ even my parents find my teeth disgusting..

catura

I'm also wearing braces although I got mine from Sydney when I was studying here.. Now I'm making the move back to SG and am looking for an orthodontist to finish up the process.. Anyone care to share with me a good orthodontist?

The reason why orthos want our teeth to be done hopefully in 2 yrs is cos the longer it takes the weaker your gums will be cos of the inability to brush properly with braces on

catura

Hi esteem zero,

True but still nothing beats brushing without those brackets on
And for ppl like me, very lazy ar.. My gums are so weak most of the time when I brush it always bleeds.. *sobs*

sugarbabe

hi catura,

my gums oso bleed when i brush them, according to my ortho is b'cos our gums r nt healthy n we'r nt brushing properly.. *winks* still got 1 1/2 yrs more to go b4 i cld take out my braces...

charmed_bebz

Hey ZuZu,

Your quotation for braces at Mt E is rather interesting, mind e-mailing me your dentist details too at [email protected]? By the way, if i wanna do ceramic, how much more diff do i have to add up compared to your S$3.8k metal? Is your dentist the gentle type? I havent been to dentist for almost 14 years (hey esteem zero, i beat you extra 6 years... hhahhahah).

By the way, is 26 yrs old considered a very old age and too late for braces? Be honest ah, I'm open!!!!

ugly_teeth

Sarieta Yasmin, fwahz!! u beat me for extra 6 years!! lolx... but u gona visit the orthodontist soon right? hmm~ den i might beat ur 6 years soon also... lolx...

26 years old not very old age for braces la.. read in articles grandmas also did it cause her daughter influenced her... heh heh~

NTUC DentiCare arh, i oni noe Policy Holders will get discounted rates ba.. i not policy holder also... though my parents are... duno can do it there anot oso lor... lolx...

Dun do ceremic lar.. lolx.. easy to drop off...den ma fan arh.. might stain easily too~ and take longer amt of time to be ready...

charmed_bebz

Hey Esteem 0,

U damn funny lah... Me still surveying a good orthodontist, so far havent found 1.

My fren did hers 2 years back but she didnt extract any tooth. When I followed her (i damn kepoh mah) I did asked her dentist if mine need to be extracted. He said mine need to extract 4, I almost fainted...hheee...

Me oso not a policy holder leh. So are my parents. If u dont wan, can ask your parents if I can use or not??? hahahahah... (damn thick skin hor)

Is it??? How u noe ceramic no good?? I DON WAN TO WEAR METAL LEH. I oredi so ugly, if i wear metal lagi worse man. N i cant afford lingual braces too. I'd rather go holiday for the diff that I have to pay between ceramic and lingual braces.

yunn

Hi Sarieta

I feel so sad. I did ortho wit no extraction 4 years ago but now teeth tends 2 go back like b4. I cant sue d dentist cuz he left after doing it 4 3-4 mths then took over by another doc. He just recommend me a ortho specialist 4 me. Wat he said was he din understand why din d previous doc did extraction 4 me. He said i shld take off teeth 2 really push in top front teeth.

Wat i wanna know here is normally how long d process take time, i meant when 2 put d braces on, cover everything (extration) from my 1st visit? 1 month from 1st visit including check-up, extration etc til braces on? i hope ASAP. Cant stand my ugly teeth anymore! :-(

Thxxx millions!

zuzu

hi yunn

u mean you are going to put on braces for a second time? y didnt ur second orthodondist extract for u? i have a fren who aft putting on for a yr, the dentist recommend her to extract for better results. now u have to spend another few k to do it again?

for me, i extracted 4 teeth over 2 weeks. 2 days aft my second extracton i put on my braces already. fast huh....wanted to get it done quickly.

charmed_bebz

Yunn,

So sorry to hear dat. Its very devastating (sorry again to use this word) if u oredi spent so much time and money and yet the results aren't up to expectation.

U said dat there's anor dentist who took over when the 1 who fixed your braces left. Is this new dentist from the same clinic? If it is, I suggest u clarify things with him. Even if your earlier dentist left, at least the clinic should provide you with some compensation instead of recommending u 2 a specialist. They cant possibly wash their hands off this case. It involves $ u noe.

I'm not in the best position to advise u as I havent started wearing yet. But the last time round I had my teeth checked, the dentist told me i must extract 4.

U can ask Zuzu. Apart from being helpful, she just had braces too.

yunn

Hi Sarieta

Anyway thx v much!

Hi zuzu

So u meant within 3 weeks u put on braces? Wow, so fast! 4 teeth extrated 1 time go in d 2nd week fr 1st visit or went twice each time extrated 2 teeth? not painful at all rite? nowadays braces has no more pain compared 2 last time v painful. Which type r u in? Ceramic, metal, or lingual? Wat's d difference btw these 3 methods? is ceramic thicker, metal thinner, lingual put in back teeth? urs is visible 1 or invisible? i'd like 2 do invisible 1 but 1k more ex than usual.

Thxxx millions!!!

joyz

Hi ppl!
Just to check wif ur guys if u'll feel the tight feeling on ur teeth after putting on braces?
I just had mine places on Sat...
The thing is I dun feel the pressure on my teeth. Is it normal?

asklea

Im looking for a orthodontist to do my ceramic braces. I will have to extract my 4 wisdom teeth in addition to my normal 4 so im looking for a really reasonably priced one. Does anyone have any recommendations? Pref in the North or central area.

Does anyone noe the rates for NTUC Denticare for ceramic braces?

I have consulted a few dentist and the extraction for a wisdom tooth is priced btwn $300-$400. Is that market rate?

zuzu

hi asklea

if your wisdom tooth extraction involves surgical, then $300+ is quite normal. quite long ago, i extracted one before at ntuc at $400. (not for braces purpose)

as for the normal extraction, i extracted 4 (for braces purpose) at $50 each at another clinic. but i dunno how much this dentist charge for wisdom tooth extraction.

asklea

I have just called NTUC Denticare and ive managed to get a rough estimate of their rates. It sounds really reasonable.

For extraction of wisdom tooth:
Upper; $40-$100
Lower; $280
Ceramic braces: $3650
(exc. consultation which is btwn $10 to $15, and other miscellaneous fees.)

I think its really reasonable. Pls note that rates quoted are for Link card holders only and orthodontist services are only available at the Shenton and MidPoint branch. Hope this information has been helpful to you =)

So does anyone have any good orthodontist to recommend from the Midpoint orchard branch?

zuzu: thanks so much for the information~!

asklea

Yup it sounds quite reasonable. Altho this price is exclusive of the other fees like x-ray, extraction,consultation but i don't think the total price will be too ex cos judging from the consultation, its like only ten over dollars.

zuzu

hi asklea

the consulation fee u mentioned. do u mean u have to pay each time u visit the dentist? if so, it's safer to double check the amount cos it may adds up to a lot since u'll need to visit the dentist every month for as long as 2 years to 3 years.

personally i feel that it might be better to have a fixed package price so that the dentist cannot charge you additional $ along the way....

safer to double check lah.

charmed_bebz

Hi asklea, i understand that u r looking for an ortho at north area. Have u found 1 or r u gonna stick to NTUC Denticare?

By the way any of you out there been to Q&M dentist at yishun (near interchange)? Pls feed back me....

Zuzu, hows your braces goin??? good???

zuzu

hi Sarieta,

thx. everything is fine. now my teeth are spacing out and just started to put rubber bands. im used to the braces already so not much discomfot.

asklea

Hi zuzu, sarieta,

Actually im pretty much fixed on going to NTUC Denticare. I think that i will just make an apptmt for a normal checkup and from there i find out more from the dentist if they have a package or something like that, as zuzu says, better to double check.

I was drinking a cold drink this afternoon when my back teeth started to hurt. Maybe its my mola or my wisdom tooth but i really find my wisdom tooth very irritating. Because its not fully grown out yet food particles tend to get stuck somewhere at the back. Better to have it extracted. I think its a sign. Time for me to go check up. Havent done so in 1.5yrs. My teeth are calling out to me. hehe.

Sarieta: Do you have a dentist in the north area in mind?

charmed_bebz

Asklea,

I dont have any dentist in mind except for Q&M near yishun interchange. I went for normal cleaning and scaling last year (after almost 13 years) and the doc is ok. Not dat pain but very ticklish... hehehee... I was then asked to cum again 2 weeks later but i didn't. Not becos I'm scared but my co only claim up to $50 medical fee per year and if I wanna go the 2nd time, then I've to fork out own cash. Anyway, the dentist oso told me to extract 4 teeth...

my only fear is dat I got no prob at all with any of my teeth. All my milk teeth have fallen out and until now i got no prob. im afraid once i start to extract these healthy teeth, then i'll got prob. like my mum say, if i very suay then all my teeth will fall out oso after i extract the 1st four for braces... how leh?? u tink true or not?

Im only 26 lah. rather be cute bunny then young bogay...kekekekekek...

joyz

My orthodontist is Dr Ho. He's practising at Tanglin Shopping Centre and his clinic is known as Dr Ho and Associates.
Till now (after my 2nd appointment), I don't feel any pain or pressure etc. He mentioned that there are people who doesn't feel much so I felt so blessed to be the minority. Haha!
Back to the topic, my orthodontist is under private practice and I highly reccommend him as he's very professional and not at all rough with your little pearls (i meant teeth).
Have a nice dae!

joyz

Hi yomi...

Dr Ho & Associates Dental Surgeons
Address: 19 Tanglin Road
#06-23
TANGLIN SHOPPING CENTRE
Singapore 247909
Phone: 6737-2168

As for the pricing, it'd be best if you could call up and enquire because I only have braces on the upper set of teeth. Hope this helps!

yunn

Hi zuzu

still remember me? d 1 who said wanto put braces 4 2nd time? i went 4 d specialist & he said not much my teeth can do wor & cost is same RM5000, so expensive, & yet d staff there stole RM200 fr my wallet, so bad, so decided not 2 go there anymore. i went 4 consultation where my fren does ortho, doc said i don hv 2 do wor by d same reason not much can my teeth move so instead of wasting $$$$, i decided not 2 do ortho liao, jz let it b. but she suggested tt in my case i hv 2 wear retainer 4 life as most europe country will do cz my teeth is instable, so must go 4 long-term follow-up. anyway think my prob has settled & can use my $$$$ on favourite things.

asklea

sarieta,

OMg. Really dun scare me leh. Teeth will all drop out? But a friend of mine did advise me that it might not be such a good idea to extract 4 perfectly healthy teeth. But i really wan to get rid of my wisdom teeth. Really irritating me. Of no use somemore. Then when u brush most of the time it cannot be reached and will in time, rot to death so might as well extract rather than let it cause me more prob in future. But if wan to do braces def muz extract i think. I will see the doc and see wat he says.

zuzu

hi yunn. good to hear that. then u can save the $$.

hi asklea, like u i was very hesitant abt the extraction at first. i also thot wah it's a waste to extract 4 healthy teeth! when i said that my dentist told me it's no use to keep the teeth that you are not using. cos when u have crowding and some teeth overlap, u actually have no need for all of them when eating. so if u have crowding, then u should extract to get better results. infact i have some frens who after the 2 yrs, did not get perfectly straight teeth cos they did not extract. no space for the teeth to move u see...

as for the wisdom teeth, whether u do braces or not, you will still need to take them out if they are causing problem. i also hear of pple who do braces while they were young. in later years, when their wisdom teeth come out the teeth get crooked again.

dun worry too much, if u'd decided on the orthodontics treatment, just bite your teeth and go for it. u'll be thrilled when u see the results.

asklea

zuzu,

thanks so much for ur help. really appreciate all the information uve provided. i think i will go for it. =) will let u noe then. thanks again!

ugly_teeth

Hahaha! After missing for so long, i'm back! Hmm~ still with the braces stuffs arh? NTUC is cheap, but too bad for policy holders or Link Holders oni.. my parents' policy expired didnt renew sia! i didnt know.. so cannot lor.. sianx... still trying to save up...

Can choose to do oni either upper or lower teeth oni meh?? how much does it cost? think my upper teeth more important...

henkitty

thinking also to do my teeth...
But scare of pain..Few quest to ask..

1.After puting the braces is it that the pain is too strong that you can't even talk?? Anyone took MC after that??
2. How long to eat back normal food??

just_a_ger

I would like to share my experience with u pple. I had my braces done at Govt hospital at e age of 18. 3 uneven on e upper, perfect on the lower. I had 4 teeth extracted, divided into 2 sessions. Extraction was needed on e lower as well so that both e upper n lower can align well in order to bite and rest comfortably.

Didn't join e waiting queue cos wanted to get it done ASAP, of cos paying slightly more. My comment abt Govt hospital is that making appointment is a real hassle. The phone line is always busy. Need to make appt abt 1.5 to 2 mths in advance. In addition, have to wait abt 1 to 2 hrs for my turn even though appt time has long been fixed and in case when I cancel e appt, mainly due to e various term test as I was in poly then, will have to reschedule and this would mean a 3-4 mths break in between. Ended up, it took me 2 years to get my teeth done though mine was not in that bad shape initially.

Another friend of mine got hers done at private practice. Her situation was quite bad but she was able to schedule herself for tightening every mth and thus she had her braces removed within 1.5 years. Another friend got hers done in 16 mths.

Kitty,
The 1st few days is quite bad as e braces tend to 'cut' my flesh. The opto gave me wax strip to wax the braces so that it is not so abrasive. No problem with talking at all. Can even study as normal. MC is only given for extraction, not for any others.
Need to be on liquid food for abt 2 wks during e initial stage. (I lost 2kg within 2 wks)Subsequently when u go back for the tighening, will only feel discomfort for the 1st and 2nd days.

zuzu

hi kitty.

dun worry, it's painful but definitely bearable. will feel uncomfortable at first but will get used to it pretty soon. for me i ate solid food almost right away aft the braces was on. even now, aft i tighten in the morning, i can eat solid food at night. but can talk lah, that's for sure.

joyz

hi kitty,
i dun find it painful at all and it might sound quite strange but i dun feel a thing.
was eating solid food all the while...
currently, i am about 2-3 months into braces...
other than the ulcerations i got once in a while, everything is ok.
and i could tell tt my teeth had moved.
dun worry yah?
everything will turn out well. and the pain frm braces varies frm one person to another, mainly depending on the threshold of pain.

metta

I wore braces about 11yrs ago.I must say it was the best decision I ever made because it changed my looks totally & I became more confident. My 2 front teeth were protuding out very very badly and I had an inferiority complex because people were laughing at me. I also took out 4 healthy teeth & I don't have any problems with my teeth as yet. Anyway, just want to encourage all of you to just bear with the ulcers and aches for a while. U won't regret it!

henkitty

Just_a_ger: You do only the upper part and yr lower part teeth have to extract also?? Me also considering doing the upper only cos lower part is ok..
(dun dare to do both scare of pain and think not necessary also)
Can i knw y MC is only given for extraction??is the pain too unbearable that u juz only can stay at hm??

Hi joyz:can i knw whr u do it?? Mayb yr orthodontis doc very gd n experience

Thanks ladies for those real life experiences
Really appreciate...

just_a_ger

Kitty: I did both e upper n lower. In most cases, it is either u extract 4 or none. Judging from ur situation that ur upper is crowded, high chances that 4 extraction may be req'd. e ortho will be able 2 advise. No harm removing unwanted teeth.

Experienced pain only after e extraction, mc is needed. Putting on e braces is not such a pain n hassle that require mc. Though I still encourage u to take leave to 'adapt' yourself.

It is not too late to get urs done. Those who did it while they were a kid had more problem in maintaining cos teeth do move.

I only use e retainer to maintain my upper. Lower is extremely stable. Many years without retainer still in excellent shape.

Agree with Metta : the BEST DECISION I EVER MADE, so much so to the extent that I will regret n feel remorseful 4 myself if I didnt make that decision.

joyz

Hi Kitty,
My orthodontist is Dr Ho. His clinic's known as Dr Ho and Associates and is located at Tanglin Shopping Centre. Was recommended by my cousin but he did experienced the pain back then when he's got braces but his teeth looks very good now since the braces are off...
I believe the threshold of pain varies frm one individual frm another because my orthodontist did told me that people does suffer frm discomfort and some dun feel much, few dun feel a thing.
I seriously think that braces is never a choice one would regret.
For your info, I only had braces on the upper set of teeth. After examining and x-rays, my orthodontist mentioned that I only need it on the upper teeth.

joyz

Oh btw Kitty,
Dr Ho is very professional and the discomfort is brought down to the minimal... My cousin oso told me that. the pain wasn't really a pain, it's more like soreness (accroding to my cousin).

joyz

Hi Kitty, it's about $3.5K (as a whole package). But shouldn't exceed that amt... Includes braces, x-rays, impression etc..
Not paid as a lump sum. You have to pay for the x-rays and impression first, then about $900 downpayment when you first put on the braces. Subsequently, you pay about a hundred per vist, which is once a month. So once you hit the full amt, you stop paying.

hi asklea

have u gone to NTUC denticare for braces? how was it? cos i'm thinking of going there too. can share ur experience? thanks

ugly_teeth

btw, i still don dare step into a dental clinic.. the other day got sooo panic that i stepped into a medical clinic and asked for disclosing tablet.. *malu*~! sigh~ wonder when can i get the courage to put on braces... so ashamed of myself... very often dreamt that my teeth were all falling out... so scary!!