Any comments on Cis**rn?*=e?

Hi shan shan,
Our renovation is so far so good. Coming up is carpentry. Pray hard no headaches. Hee... Oh yah, btw, we got to pay for our Variation Order. Wah, made me and hubby mad! There are several things that we took out in our initial agreement (under Ommission items) and our ID forgot to inform his workers not to do them. Then want to charge us worr! Of cos, we are not going to pay for his mistakes.

Hi fiona,

ic...Good luck...keep me updated on the carpentry works k...thanks..

har, wat is variation order? how much did they ask you to pay? initial agreement as in the one after confirming everythg and signing the agreement?

Hi shan shan,
Ok, I will keep you updated. Btw, who is your ID?

Variation order is when you request for more things to be done, then you have to sign the variation order and pay the difference in amount. We were unwilling to pay few hundred dollars. The rest of the items are ok cos we request for it, so we are willing to pay.

Yah, initial agreement is the one that confirms everything and sign one.

Hi fiona,

my ID is a guy. His inital is V.S.

Well, is your ID good so far? does he deliver tings dat he promise you on time? How long has your reno been goin on?

Actuali personally, i tink that its the ID's fault for forgetting to inform his workers, which is reali terrible. I dun tink you shld pay for something u dun wan...fight all the way...:P

I am reali in a dilemma now...have asked a few more ID for quotation but it seems like Cis**rn is stil the cheapest lehz...i wonder why...is it dat their materials r more inferior...especially in terms of their carpentry which costs lower generally, are they using lower quality wood??...anybody whose house was done by them, any comments on their quality??

Hi Shan shan,
give me another chance i would not take CIS**RN again. Or put in tis way,i will nvr recommend to my frens.

Their quote is low, but Workmanship is really sucks... if possible,go for some other better repo one.

yah i agree that their quote is low & good. i'm now deciding whether to choose them or A&D interior or D espirit. but seems that cis**rn provides the most things and their design is the best so far....

hi slowwalker,

ur reno juz completed oni rite...i rmb i asked for your quotation that time....

reali....can further elaborate in wat way is the workmanship sucks...the quality of the wood and the carpentry works is no good?

Hi JWWL,

yah yah, i reali wonder how come they can look so impressive like a v exp co. and yet charge such a low price...but from wat pple's comments here so far, it seems like their workmanship reali not v gd....

Still remember the dispute I have with them? we met up with the Director and complaint on the over charging, the mistakes made by the ID and etc.... We can hear that he is on hhis staff's side. That made us angry....It is obvious that the ID was not doing a good job and he sided her.

We wanted our money back and he only gave us less that what we wanted. I have been very fair to the company already, they are over charging us and I only want to get back what the market rate was.

In the end , we found out the stainless steel is not as good as what they said they have delievered. It actually can attract magnet.

We said that we wanted to go CASE and we told him that if we want to go media , we would have done so and all we wanted was fairness.

In the end, he only return us the remaining money and charge us market rate. So after all these with us saying to CASE and etc, the company only did like that to pacify us and instead of doing more .....that's the attitude we got from them.

As for Fiona, I think you should not pay what you did not want, do insist on it. We almost on the same boat.

As for Shan Shan, do think abt it.

Hi delightful bride, yah, we insist that we are not going to pay. Of cos our ID is not very happy, but he can't do anything since he is the one who made the mistake.

Got one thing that he verbally say to give us discount, then in the Variation Order (VO) form he included the charges for it (meaning no discount), then we argued that he that time did mentioned that he won't be charging us for the additional stuff that he did. In the end, he did honour his words. He cancelled that item in the VO form too. Actually we are rather worried cos the discount was not mentioned in the agreement.

One thing i dun understand though. How come you all think that Ciseeern is cheap leh? To me, they not cheapest leh. Here is something to share with you all -> an owner who is rather satisfied with their workmanship >> http://rukiasama1.blogspot.com/ (Got it from here > http://renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=&showtopic=4609&view=findpost&p=110617)

Hi shan shan,
All wood r e same, jus e workmanship lousy only.

1) shoe rack,got lots of scratches. Drawer not smooth when opening. edging not smooth,chip off.

2) kitchen granite top "redo" 4x as finishing is lousy.Big gap,chip off joining,uneven joining,big gap at sink(can see wood)Right now e granite crack liao and he still haven fix. e granite they supply is worst then those we see in public toilet.

3) Feature wall dropped. Had it all removed after ID confirmed not safe.(beginning he insist is safe and wont drop)

4) bedroom cabinet door with one big scratch.
edging not smooth. Lots of chip off.

5) MBR cabinet got one big air bubble(15cm) "trap" btw door.

6) MBR cabinet drawer not smooth when pull out.

Lots of stuffs we forgotten. And some defects can be covered or solved didnt post here.
e worst one we have is e granite top for kitchen.

I have a problem here. I wish to terminate the contract with this C*is**n company after seeking some advices from some friends. I was introduced by a friend who has also taken a package with them but after signing the 2 package contract for kitchen n living room, i was told it is kind of expensive bcos mine is a 3 room resale unit in original condition n they quote me 23k++, n kitchen cabinet is the only carpentry work, the rest is hacking n doing tiling n flooring. The ID wan to quote me 2.8k for built in wardrobe. Cos i was inexperience not good at bargain, my hubby n i thought it is shld be the market price.
I already paid some deposits. If i would to approach the manager, how to ask to met him? Anyone here has the same experience to share with me. Thanks!

Hi slowwalker,

thanx for sharing....i can see dat there r reali many problems in their workmanship.....i tink im almost sort of confirm not signing wif them liao...

also to delightfulbride - reali thanx for all your efforts for sharing all ur experiences in this forum...at least there wont be anymore victims...hope that they can improve their service...

hi fiona,

i duno lehz...i got quotation from 3 other companies, one of them is even juz a contractor, and their overall prices are higher than Cis lehz...

Hi Justina,

I tink u can use your deposits to do some of the tings in the contract or redeem some tings from them...dats wat they told me when they ask me to pay a deposit first before they start drawing out the design (which luckily i hvnt pay..:p)

Good for you fiona!
I am glad that if I have help any of you in sharing my experiences. I have so-called paid my tution fees learning from my own reno. Hope that other ppl have an easier way of learning.

I am getting quotation from ID name Irene Teo..anyone had liased with her before, it seem to me she is very professional in her area leh...abit worry now

Just read abt dis thread...wah really full of complaints & problems wf the comp...

I also went 2 them for quotation since they got kitchen & bathroom, living & bedroom packages for 5 rooms flats...I can say the price is cheaper than other IDs & their show room is quite impressive leh...

I deal with ID call Kenxxxx, recommended by my propty agent...he came to my flat to view the house,,after dat he was quite prompt to gv me the quotn...i read thru and i email him list of feedback & comments, already 1 week, no reply from him & i sms him,also no respond....which i hv concern if they r really too busy...now already like dat next time sign wf him worst la...

I am still in the midst of comparing de 3 IDs, CisXXX, VegXX & INN-place....

any comments of the other 2 IDs...

Hi Nerraw,
Personally i felt VEG** is quite exp.And the ID who serve us is not professional enough.

I would suggest that you go thru e reno forum here or other site,to have a better feedback.

Til now, my granite top (Reno Done by CIS****) is not solve yet. Im still waiting for them to get back to me. And yup,their price might e lowest but beware that they after sales service is really sucks. Once you sign e package, u got hard time to fight with them compare to init before u sign up,all kind of promises and ideas.

Hi slowwalker,
I also used Cis**n's services. And I think the after sales service varies among the IDs. My flat was just handed over and I have just sought an urgent after-sales service. And my ID followed up closely on it and get it done asap.

Btw, what happened to your granite top? I also have one small problem with my solid surface. Got a little scratch. Visible if see very closely. Would want to request for a repolishing. Now my hubby trying to consolidate all the things we want the ID to do and then get him to do one sort.

Hi Nerraw,
From what I heard, Veg*s system is that the people at exhibition are sales persons. When you sign up with them, a different person handling the project will take over.

Hi Nerraw,

The ID you said is Kenxxxx, not sure if he is same ID Manager that I encounter.

I complained issues to him and he promised to talk to the management and then call us on a fixed day. He didn't call at all. His director
said that he called us but we didn't pick up or missed call. Come on lah, we waited for a week for him to call after he missed the date, even if we missed the call, he can also call the day after or whatever .... we ask him to show proof that he called and he gave excuses like it was erase off. Me & my husband didn't even have his missed call registered in our hp.

What aload of crap...

Another thing is don't judge their showroom as what they can deliever without problems...I think you should get good references by word of mouth for choosing a good company with responsible IDs..

Base on my experiences, I give it a NO go.

Hi Slowwalker,

Yeah, the ID assigned 2 me for VeXXX is quite fresh, but she is quite responsive to our request...yeah i did negotiate the quotn & awaiting for the review version : )

CiseXX still MIA till now for the review quotan feedback, plus all the comments from you all, i gess i will call them off...Hope you setlle your case with them soon..

Hi vnc, may i know who is your ID from Cisxxx ? You dun seem to hv problem with them, guess u r lucky to get the ID. So at the end is still depend on the ID, no the company rite...

Hi delightbride, Mine is guy Senior ID Kennexx. Wah.. sorry to hear you went thru that "drastic" case with them....you get the same ID as mine ? If yes, then i got to be careful. Anyway, i hv not even sign wf them already MIA, next time i guess worst, dun meantion abt after sales service..

Hi VNC,
i got a crack at my granite top. My ID passed everything to me to deal with the contractor. After came over to see/meansure e top,e contractor jus keep delaying e date.Everytime empty promise. Saying will come over to do for us but nvr show. Call them, refused to ans. SMs to them, they jus reply they r busy tis week... and keep postpone the date.

PS. we have my TOP "redo" 4x before they handover to us.

i agreed with delightbride, base on my experiences, i will also give a NO to CIS****.

Hi Nerraw,
My ID is Norman Tan.

Hi slowwalker,
389963.gif
That's very serious leh. I think your ID don't want to bear the cost. x__x

hi, i'm new to this forum and new to the whole ID hunting exercise. My apartment will only be ready in Dec 07 but am giving a head start to ID cos i wanna leave time for wedding planing too.
Anyway, am worried after reading these posts re: cis~~rn. Though I do think that service varies from ID to ID (and not the company) I also believe there is no smoke without fire. must be some truth to that.

Hi designfreak and captain jack, care to share your thots on sean? i also met up with him at the expo exhibition recently and am thinking about engaging him as ID. pls let me know ur experiences? tks...

I had not problems with my ID. Think the problems lie more with the ID that you engaged in Cis****. Of course, u also need to play your part to communicate with the ID. My house going to hand over this sat. Everything is in good hand during the reno even my husband go back to check on them once a week only but make call to check with ID for status.

hi sani,

who is your id? i asked for quotation 2 sundays ago at the expo from a lady, till date no news from her ;/

Hi VNC,

I think i will call Cisexx off d since the ID nvr get back to me of my comments on the quotation..that shows he is not keen..I rather go somewhere that is more attentive and good service...

hi all! i guess there bound to be some black sheeps in all companies. i've engaged cis**** & i think they are not so bad! promppt & attentive. so no worries k.=)

Hi nerraw,
It's ok. Hee.. The choice is yours.

I'm only reviewing what I have come across.
390486.gif

I think the ID you have gone to doesn't seem enthusiastic on your business. My ID very enthusiastic. He is the fastest to get back to us and very attentive.

Hi VNC,

So your ID is Norman. Since they hv handover the flat to you, how is the workmanship & after sales service so far ?

I think if i wana get the cheap package from Cise**n i can look for Norman instead & forget abt the previous ID that deal with me...sound coolzz yeah...

Hi Nerraw,
We are looking for things for him to rectify. So far we only got him to rectify one urgent thing (which he got it done). The rest we took our time to look see look see the house. Managed to find some scratches, some areas to make smooth, these kind of little things.

I can't say he is a perfect ID but we give and take loh. I can say I am rather satisfied with the end result 'coz got some positive responses on my reno from friends.
391588.gif

Hi VNC,

Once again..tks for sharing...yeah agree that not all ID is perfect, but if he is a prompt & responsible person, thn should be ok lor....btr that my current ID...seems MIA...

hey mind to share ur home design...

See what happened to Slow walker! CIS**** ID actually pushed slowwalker to the contractor that CIS**** actually engaged.I think that is not fair!!
Weshould only deal with CIS***** only, why should we do the ID's job? It is very irresponsble of that ID. I think should complain to the management, if it side with that ID then I think this company su*ks...should not even consider it.

I am also thinking what is the company doing? Doesn't it know what is happening with it's work culture & the IDs that they have?Despite so many complaints, it is still like that.

Hi VNC,

Nice resort concept yeah...i was thinking of buying the Samsunb LCD R71, is it 40", how much you bought that ?

Hi nerraw,
Yah, we went for something like Modern Resort concept. And yah, it's a Samsung 40" R71. We bought it around $4k when the promotion was still on (got free gifts of Samsung HDD recorder + $300 Robinsons voucher). We bought it from a neighbourhood shop not from Harvey Norman/Best Denki etc.
392736.gif

jus to update...

After e garnite contractor giving me e pushing attitube, i demand e warranty service stated on e contract from my ID. Lucky enough, he still manage to solve my problem.
And ofcos, in btw those times spent on waiting and phone calls is really not a good one.

My granite top came back after they took it away and left it "bare" for 4days!! But e previous contractor broke one of e skirting, so they need to come back to redo e skirting.. Overall, my granite top is back to good conidition,there's some crack at e joining part, but since we choose to take e risk, we cannot complain too much,to live with it.

Hi VNC,

Tks...i just went to COURTS last week & the price dropped to 3999 with 300 rebate....R51 like no, much stock left since it is old model, anyway, still got time to decide since i hv nt even finalise the ID yet...

Whitesands? Oh, you stay at Pasir Ris too?
Then I must go see see soon also. I just bought the TV about one month ago.
394349.gif

hi vnc,

you stay at pasir ris too huh ?? harvey norman also quite cheap during promotion time. You should try Mega Disc store at Katong Mall, the TV price quite cheap...

Too late, Nerraw. TV bought liao.
394797.gif
Lucky didnt buy at such expensive price or else now sure heart pain. We saw at Harvey Norman and Best Denki that it costs $4299 with 3 years warranty - no other free gifts unless top up $$.

We bought our TV at Minsheng, the prices there also very competitive. They can go reaaaal low.
394798.gif

Anyway, Ciseeern update: My ID came yesterday and see through all the things that need rectifications.

Hi VNC,
In fact i called up the Cisxxx ID dat day just to see how things go & to my surprise he can tell me dis "huh, you hv not renovated ur house..since you go the key quite smtimes d..then he said they cannot proceed with my budget.."..I told him i was waiting for his reply ...so funny rite..if he not proceed, should hv told us mah..should not just let the issue sink.....

Ohh ur ID did after sales service huh...

Woah.. u mean Kenneth said that to you?! Very irresponsible that they can't do and yet didn't get back. My ID got back but with an inflated budget, which we said NO WAY (of cos!). Then bargain bargain bargain and compare compare compare, then in the end, still got them.

Hmmm... not really full after sales yet, coz he only came to see. He still need to call the sub-contractors to rectify the jobs, which is not done yet.
394897.gif

yeah..i shock also la...anyway...still sourcing arnd lor....

wah i guess u guys really good in bargaining la...but i think ur ID trying to close 1 eyes la, my ID just bochap...if cannot do within my budget, they just dun care lor..

hope you get your thing fixed soon...try to pressure him a bit lor....but i guess all the same one lah after full payment, they got commision & case close ....