Any comments on Cis**rn?*=e?

poohie

Hi Cool,
I have sign up with them. Should be doing my reno once i get my keys in March.

kaye

hi pigletz,
Is this ID located at Potong Pasir?

How much is yr reno & is the type of flat you are having?
Who is the designer?
sorry, quite alot of ques as I am keen in signing up with them after seeing their showroom at Suntec. dunno whether its the same ID

poohie

Hazel,
yup, they located near Potong Pasir MRT.

My reno is $20k, me having a 5 room Premium flat. Guess some of you must be thinking the price is steep, but it all depends on what you want. We did ask for some things that are more costly. My designer is Norman. Who's yours?

Where is ur new place?

kenneth

Hi, they are one of my shortlisted ID firms. Went to see a few of their showflats as well as my friends place done up by them. Find them a bit lack of creativity i.e. They seem to be using the same template for every house. More contractor like then a designer firm.

But i must say their quality is acceptable and staff friendly and warm.

dioscuri

Nutty: agree with you on the template part. We were quite impressed initially when they could draw out a floor plan immediately with ideas etc, until they took out a few pics from their portfolio then we realised it's almost exactly what they drew for us.

kaye

hi pigletz,

think the price should be ok.
I went to the showroom last Sat, think the designer name is called Andrew. He said the showroom at Suntec cost $45K.

Therefore, I was quite worried. Mine is a std 4rm. Therefore, need to do flooring, which will cost more.

I liked their showroom therefore would like to put them into consideration

angeliqueho

hi, i am also one of the new home owner signed up with them. I sign quite sometime ago already but have not yet start reno. Agree with template part too. My ID is John. Somehow, I find the price not cheap but not on the steep side as well. Mind if i ask anyone of you got ask for a quotation for the platform bed (queen size)?

angeliqueho

Hi Bluegal: How much he quoted you for the queen bed? He quoted me near to one k. But i have decided to get the platform from outside.

I don't have a soft copy. I can list down the items for your infor. Mine is premium flat and the package is $8688. I'm doing Platform, TV console, Suspended vanity cabinet with full mirror, kitchen and sliding door wardrobe. Total up is about 15k less two hundreds. (price not inclusive of aircon) i plan to get the mitsu starmex outside which is around 1600 only.

Mind to share your quote too?

bluegal

Hi Angelique,
I am also taking the $8688 package. My platform is $1K plus think 1.4 - 1.8k can remember clearly cos i requested a larger area platform. On top of that, we also did TV console, small platform in living room, walk in wardrobe and a divider for my main door to living room. Total quote 21K.

By the way, how much he deduct for your air con and window grille? He only deduct $600 for our window grille thought i might as well install it since he deduct so less. Don't really like LG air con, have not talk to him but how much did he deduct for you?

pitterpatter

hihi angelique & bluegal,

mind sharing ur quote with me? also seen them at the recent suntec fair & passed them my floor plan but no news from them yet.

would be great if i can take a look at your quote for some ref. thanks thanks.

pls mail to [email protected]

kaye

hi Angelique & Bluegal,

Did yr ID add in other free things for U?

the price seems quite ok to me. abt 15K & 21K respectively for a 5rm. And U all seems to have alot of customized things.

Angelique, Yrs is a new flat,right? Did U change ur toilet tiles?

angeliqueho

Mine is a new flat yah (premium). pitterpatter, i'm sorry i don't have a working email address to send you hehe. if you want maybe i private message you. I didn't change my toilet tiles cos its new and hacking and redoing waterproofing will cost more. I rather overlay if I really have to do up the bathrooms.

janice79

Hi Angelique, Bluegal and poohie,

Do u mind sharing with me your quotation? I haven't heard from them yet after faxing over my floor plan. Would like to know if the additionals customisations prices are costly.

Angelique, u can send PM to me. Thks

janice79

Hi Angelique, Bluegal and poohie,

Do u mind sharing with me your quotation? My email is [email protected]. I haven't heard from them yet after faxing over my floor plan. Would like to know if the additionals customisations prices are costly.

Angelique, u can send PM to me. Thks

bluegal

Hi Janice,
I am also taking the $8688 package. My platform is $1K plus think 1.4 - 1.8k can remember clearly cos i requested a larger area platform. On top of that, we also did TV console, small platform in living room, walk in wardrobe and a divider for my main door to living room. Total quote 21K.

pitterpatter

Hi angelique & bluegal,

Wats ur impression of John? He's my ID too.
I've only met him once to discuss the draft layout of my house.Haven't gotten my quote yet but just wondering whether his prices reasonable or we need to really bargain with him.

bluegal

hi pitterpatter,
i think his quote is quite ex but mu hubby think the price is reasonable. Up to individual but the package is indeed quite attractive.

ahping

Hi, need some info on this ID. Heard that they are not bad in terms of workmanship and no hidden cost. The person that i am contacting is Norman.

Anyone have taken up their packages durng the Expo Home exhibtion?

Ah Ping

ahping

have anyone seen their packages for the kitchen and bathroom at EXPO?

it something like 14k for that only, bedroom and living room not included. Is it expensive?? anyone take up this or other packages from Ciseern_ at EXPO exhibition?

mine is the 5rm resale flat.

poohie

Ah Ping,
yes, i sign up with them. Will start my reno next week if possible. Hm, mine is a 5 room premium flat, so the package is $8k plus i think but after me adding alot of new things inside, the quote come out to be 20k.

I find Norman not bad, very helpful and responsible. Can 'fang xin' to let him do your place lor.

angeliqueho

pitterpatter, I feel that he is quite hard to bargain or maybe i'm just lousy at bargaining. However, try to think of whatever possible things you will want to do cos after signing of contract its even harder to bargain.

baobei

wow finally this thread is back...

my house has been renovated by them 1 year ago and my ID is Darren..what I can say is his services is very good and he is very patient...

I have recommended most of my frens to take him and they are satisfied with his svc...

Just quote him my name , Sharon from Senja..and he sure give your good quote...heeee

let me knw okie

kaye

I lost the namecard of the person who attended me during Suntec exhibition. In the end, I do a search on the internet to get the office number. But there's 3 Andrews in the company and I dunno the surname. So, now waiting for the right Andrew called me back. Hopefully by this week so that I can visit them this Sunday

Anybody worked with any of the Andrews before?

kaye

halo,

I finally know who's the designer, its Andrew Soh.
But it seems like very hard to accomodate a time to meet him. I wanted it to be tonight but he got appt. I cant be any earlier as I need to take bus & train to go to his office. Sun, he's not in the office in the afternoon, at expo. Morning would be too early for me. He wanted me to go Expo to meet him. But to me, its too far especially its a Sunday.
I asked if it can be late morning at his office ard 11+, but he has to reach Expo at 12noon and he said need abt 1~2hrs to discuss. Actually, I dunno why need such a long time. I never spend more than an hr discussing with the designer especially its just a layout design. I understand initial stage is important but not just based on layout and they would expect you to sign.

Most of them insist that I go over to their shop for a discussion, in the end just tell me he put the feature wall here, wardrobe there etc which I can see from the layout and the cost is this much which I can see too. And to see this quotation and layout, I have to travel abt an hr just to see. To me, its quite meaningless. If its going to be 3D design, I think its still make the worth to go down.

I am just thinking if I should go to Expo to meet him. anybody work with him before? wonder if he's a nice person to work with him. I am quite worried. I am just impressed with the showroom the company had done but its not design by him. Right now, its just the initial discussion. Its already quite difficult to meet him.

alan_golfnut

I just came back from Expo and I was impressed by "the company mentioned". Happened to be there cos of the Adidas sale.

Agree abt the template thingy, but I'd suggest that you should also go around and get some ideas on your own and brainstorm with your ID. Mine's Alex, looks and behave more like a contractor than ID! ;) But I liked his style cos he wasn't like "how much your budget? I know oleli then i pran for you". We told him what we wanted to do, and he sold us some ideas, and then tried working within the budget. If the ID bothers selling me an idea rather than the other way, I'd be more willing to spend more. Another company which is sposed to be big and a "HDB Preferred Design and Build Partner", the chap jus sat down, asked us what we wanted to do, how much we wanted to spend, whipped out his calculator to say whether can be done, and took out his form which requires us to sign and pay 1k just to see the pictorial presentations!! Wat the hell?! My wife and I were like.. "HELLO?! What else are we getting apart from the major parameters we'd set??".

Anyway, waiting for Alex to come back with the layout, then drive a bargain. ;) Sshhhh! If someone from "the company mentioned" is reading this, my lobang is gone!!

kaye

hi Alan,
I jux got my design from Ciseerm by fax. I shld said nothing much diff from the one I received from others.
But at least this guy bothered to explained to me the different floorings etc.

Actually alot of IDs No. 1 question is yr budget saying its easier for them to work.
Think I am also like you, prefer IDs to give ideas instead. Else, I would choose a contractor.

What is the ID that asked you to pay 1K? Is it Un~max, Image C~tive or Fuse Concept?
Cos I went to Suntec exhibition prev, keep asking us for a deposit. I just stopped him and asked him to give me the design before continue further.
Actually, that's wat I did to alot of ID. I told them not to sell pkg. I am not interested to see at this initial stage. What's the pt of giving cheap pkg when its not something I want and waste my time

alan_golfnut

Hazel: Personally, I think that if you want an ID who's really bold and unique, you could try sourcing them from mags and not trawl through exhibition booths. From what I heard, mags are rather stringent about who they pick to feature cos of the many submissions they get from IDs. Then again, after you contact the ID, they might also try to shunt a template design on you. Unless you tell them you have the $$ to spend, so stop giving you crap! :D

You're rite abt CiXXXXm. I liked the fact that they bothered to explain the details to me. Plus if you noticed, the bigger companies are now getting into better documentations, like timelines, signing for decisions to undertake jobs not listed in the original contract (it's actually a practice that foreign contruction firms have), etc. Essentially, it shows signs of organisation and accountability.

Oh, another thing about templates: I guess why they push templates is that with that particular design, the consumer also saves money cos the company orders in material in bulk and thus keep the cost lower.

Haha! You're rite about preferring a contractor over a clueless ID!!

Un~max wanted us to put a deposit on the offer of the kitchen cabinets. The 1k deposit was asked by a company which sounds like the Sin City of USA. ;) What sucked about them is their 'refund' is in kind and not in cash. Knowing the construction biz, getting money back from them is impossible! What if they go bust tomorrow? Sure, you got paperwork, but if the company's broke, then what? I also find it dodgy when the company keep bugging you for cash. Doesn't speak too well of it, does it?

Actually, Cis~~~m did offer us the package, but it ended up as a half package cos we kept chopping and changing, and the chap was kind enough to acede to our request. Guess I was pretty aggressive in my bargaining too. :p

Anyway, good luck to you! Keep me posted, yeah?

kaye

Alan,

How you bargain? I only mgt to remove the window grill from the pkg. And I have to pay extra if I want to chg from ceramic to homo tiles. actually, alot of ppl said ceramic is more lasting than homogenous tiles. But homo tiles got more varieties.

Overall, still have to pay abt $25K

alan_golfnut

Hazel: I dunno abt homogenous tiles, but the adv abt them is that in the unfortunate event that they get chipped, it'll still be white on the inside, whereas for ceramic, you can see the colour inside.

ahping

does anyone find cis**rn very forcing? as in after speaking to them on certain plan, they will really go and push you to sign up even if they need to include a clause stating that there will be a refund after 7 days if you really not satisfied with them.

I encounter this situation.

poohie

Ah Ping,
hmm...depend on how you see it. We pay them $200 deposit for them to do prospective drawing. From there, we get to see how our place will look like in future. We also discuss alot of things with them, changing the design and stuff like that. While they are doing these for us, we are also in contact with other company to compare the pricing and design.

I guess it depends on whether u are comfortable with the ID anot. If yes, can go ahead to work together with them, but if you don't like the ID, then no point contiuning.

anyway, this is my 2cents worth of comment. hope it will help u.

btw, did u receive my mail?

ahping

Hi Pigletz,

Yes, i received your email. thanks for that.

Then is the $200 refundable to you if you do not like their service?

poohie

Ah Ping,
the $200 is refundable thru choosing lights from another shop. I know that sometimes they ask for $500, try to squeeze it down to $200 if you are interested in working with them.

Just to let you know that in my quotation, the master bedroom wardrobe price looks steep, it's becos we choose alumix structure system and alumix sliding door. If you not using those, but those conventional wardrobe, price will be much more cheaper.

slance,
will send my quote to you later.