Any Comment on Peony Jade Clarke Quay. Need Advices!!

hi jsim15,

juz added u

Today I had a very unhappy incident happens with Peony jade.

I went down to make my booking on April for my ROM solemnisation on 15Sep 2007.
On that day, the sales told me that I can have 26pax (mean 13pax per table) in my private room rather the 10pax per table.

Other then that nothing is informed.
Today I call back to confirm the number of pax attend then they say there will be additional charges for the extra pax. ( wth)

Then in the first place they did not told me there will be additional charges for the extra pax, they only told me they can arrange 13pax per table.

In my understanding of 13pax for per table mean the food is more then enough for 10pax. So extra 3pax for per table is ok one!
Now they told me they do counting for prawns and Mushroom. And nothing is free in this world. I very hot with this sentence “Common sense increase number of pax means u need to top up $$†but the problem is they never told me this when I making my reservation on that day I go down!!! They only told me per table can seat max up to 13pax!

I’m so upset!

Not I no money to pay for the extra pax.
If in the very first place when I went down to make my booking, they told me that the foods is only enough for 10pax of table increase to 13pax then additional charges is needed. They I will be ok, and willing to pay.

And now I can bet my guests will not full with the potion they serve even is only 10GUESTs.

Now wat, I only can LL….. piss. Lucky I call back, if not I will not be shock that my guest dun have prawns or mushroom to eat.

Wth,….

i never tell them what I unhappy with. I just hang their call. I need to pay S$40.80++ for per pax. So now, if I have 6pax extra i will need to pay S$40.80++( S$46.80) x 6 = S$280.80 extra

the other time when i book i oso have extra pax for 1 table. Kenny told me need to top up else not enuff eat....

so i manage to plan til just 10 per table but 1 table i have 2 kids so he say if the kids not eating then its ok no need to top up the $$.

i think speaking to kenny is so much better. I spoken to the boss at first pauline and i feel they have this attitude, u want then book loh dunwan i still got others...

yo karine,Wow tatz alot leh..i oso feel tat Pauline got attitude problem lo..when i knew d private rm was taken up ..i was so pissed off tat i actually wanted to source for other places but is kinda rush cos only left 3mths lo..tink is alwayz like tat if their business is gd they will haf attitude problem one lo..

i email PJ abt my unhappiness..tat Pauline replied mi:"I hope u will be lucky with ur nxt choice venue" SOOO sacarstic..i still keep her sacastic email which is directing to mi lo..if u wan i can forward u d email..

Hi luvz17, yupshe really replied tat lo..so pissed off..kenny is nicelo..he only keep aplogising lo..i'll see if there;s enough space to paste d whole email reply..

This is wat Pauline's reply formy email:

"Hi Janice - I can fully sympathise with yr frustration in not being able to secure the private rooms for your ROM. The direction is set by me ie NOT to commit any weekend booking of less than 10Ts more than 3 months out; reason: to be able to maximise revenue shud a larger event comes along. In fact, we find that about 20% of our weddings do come within 3 months which is why we made the decision not to commit space. However, for weekdays, no problem at all and even OK to commit anytime with no time restriction.

As explained in my earlier email, Kenny has obviously forgotten to follow up with you for which our apologies. FYI there are 4 of us selling so it is difficult that we carry the burden of following up with clients on the availability of dates; Kenny has the good intention to do so but unfortunately overlooked the matter. I hope you will be lucky with yr next choice venue. Enjoy your special day. Pauline

Hi Kenny/Pam - self explanatory pls; NEVER commit to follow up with clients on dates availability. We already have so much to do with the volume of enquiries and it is often impossible to remember each and every one. Let's not put ourselves in a situation where clients are left unhappy like this one. Pauline"

Serious!!

Bt it seems that she is trying to push all the blame to Kenny. And the way she answered....seriously I don't think it is professional enough loh... It's like, the more you read, the more you get angry.

What max revenue...we, customers dun care abt all that. So what if there are only 4 of them?

She sounded harsh towards Kenny & Pam too.

Totally....off

Hi luvz17,
Ya lo..tink shes's d most senior of all lo tatz why she can tell them off..been to PJ so many time but never see Pauline b4 leh..u?

And d last part of d emailseems like directing to mi rite..if can do it all over again..tink i won't chose tis place like..like d place cos d outdoor scenery is nice for phototakin only

jsim15,

I have never seen her either. If I am not wrong she is stationed in the office. I think she will only appear if you make appoinment through email, then she will attend to you. I can't rem if I was supposed to meet Pam/ Pauline, but she was sick. Eventually, Kenny took over.

My colleague was served by her. She was explaining the same way when she only enquired for 3 tables, and more than 3 mths away. So, she just KIV loh.

That reply is very sarcastic. Luckily, your ROM was over. Dun think of those remarks, otherwise you will get more pissed.

Ya gal..u Iryana ma? I'm janice la..lucky is over lo..heng only rom. .Ad cannot do there la..tink d only go for big customers lo..we small fry only 3-5 tables they dun make much monet ma..i ever make appt wif Pauline b4 but everytime she says juz look for kenny or Pamela lo

Yes yes, it's me..haha..

Ad then different attitude..coz max revenue mah.
It will fit well to the directions that she sets for them to follow.

Kenny & Pamela are @ the restaurant all the time. They are the managers, i think.

pauline is the boss of PJ...she is well known to be rude since day 1 lah..if u can survive the sign up phase..the actual event will be a gd experience

heng i did my ROM when her biz is juz picking up...she still rather polite to me even though she is always talking about revenue hehe...

same here, i was considering PJ as my ROM venue but they insisted that we wait till 3 mths b4 as wat was written in tis thread, we r willing to pay our deposit to secure d place....even though wer not taking d hall, juz d function rm...her email juz coldly state dat she's afriad dat there's bigger biz e/g wedding lunch n wldnt want to give up a big biz over a small event...wah, though i understand dat my event is small, ard 30 pax, but i felt she shd have dealt wif it in a better way as she made me feel dat my event was unimpt n she can do without my biz despite me calling n emailing to show my interest...
though i heard so much rave abt d food n ambience...got no choice but to give up as i cant b waiting for them as my RM date is q popular 060708, need to secure a place...now scouting for other hotels....though my 1st choice was PJ :P

same loh i met up with pauline when i was planning my ROM.....even at the meet up stage, she already got the ya ya attitude....

but we just dun care her cos we heard lots of compliments for the food.

thereafter i liase with Kenny and i find him very helpful...i was facing some seating problems then he helped me think of solutions so that i need not incurred more $$$.

but before my ROM theres another couple ROM-ing as well...so i was abit stressed out cos the guests from the previous couple haven leave then my guests all arrived le...

so they just loiter at the lift there or sit at the tables waiting for the waitress to clean up the tables....

No wonder her attitude is like that..

Luckily, so far my experience with Kenny is still considered good.
Hope everything will be fine...

i wonder if i shd wait n try my luck at PJ 3-4 mths b4 my ROM date if shd i proceed n confirm at other hotels (cos dun have chinese food, mostly international buffet)....i prefer a nice place for rom wif gd chinese food, d plus abt PJ is i like d menu n oso got wedding favours for d guests....pls advice

meiling,
when's ur ROM? i think very few pple book their banquet less then 6mth b4 their AD...u probably can start checking whether ur date is still available 6mths in advance...n decide whether to use PJ or hotel then.

hi midas,
pardon me for being kiasu, my ROM is actually nxt Jul but i was thinking of confirming d place to avoid disappointment as i expect 060708 to b a popular date for wedding :P

hi sblbee,

u are not kiasu at all, went down yesterday to check on the availablity of date for my wedding in June 08, all their sat night taken up, oni left wif some sun lunch & dinner package.
As for July, I saw still some slots available, but can be taken up real fast.
I was serve by Leon, anyone hear of him? quite a friendly guy.

meiling,
i see...hv u check with some of the chinese restaurant tat is located within hotels? they may hv wat u wanted...chinese cuisine. hw many guests r u having for ROM?

hi jass,
aiyah, but they dun allow me to book leh even as much as i wanted to
unless some kind soul who r having their wedding lunch on d same day can spare me a corner wif 3 tables? :P

hi midas,
im still checking with d restaurants but most chinese restaurants dun have rom setting, do let me know if you know some
im having 30 guests

hi midas,
thanks for ur recommendation! yum cha is another of my choice if i really cant get PJ, den most probaby shd b getting either teochew city, tung lok or yum cha...thanks for being ever so helpful, appreciate it

I just had my Solemnise @ PJ on the 15Sep2007.

Although I complain about the extra charges on the extra before, but I got to give them a gd rating about their service and Foods.

I had 2 tables and one waitress attend to one table. My guest and I are very happy with the Service.

We had 9 courses. The foods are great! Taste good. And I got to give them a thumb up on their desert. We have Sweetened Yam Paste with Sweet Corn in Coconut Milk.
I dun like Yam Paste at all, but u must really try their Yam Paste desert.
Very smooth, the taste, sweetens and the texture everything is just nice. It will not Pull u down after the 8 courses.

All my guests love the Foods there.
Guess u will not regard having ur ROM or wedding dinner there!

depends also.my case I was abit lucky.
I make my booking on March for 15Sep ROM. then I realise i left with the private Room ( 2tables). Hall( 3tables)and Evening ( is book for a Wedding dinner 26tables)are fully Book.
PJ is very Hot...

Hi, gers..

I also had my ROM lunch at PJ.. I was a bit late on that day.. so, reached there feeling so anxious and confused.. dunno wat to do.. as some of my guest had arrived..

But luckily the staff at PJ were there to help.. If i am not wrong, its Kenny... He actually offerred me a drink to calm me down.. and asked me to hand the bag of impt stuffs to him.. and in no time, he helped me to set up everything on the table.. and its in order.. like the rings on the ring pillow, the ROM documents etc..

My lunch ended late... but the staff at PJ still remained friendly n nice.

I did my booking wif Pam.. She is also quite nice.. still bothers to call me few days before the event to confirm the number of tables.. and whether any changes..

All my guest commented that the food and the setting is GREAT!!! Too bad i was running ard, talking to the guests.. never really had a chance to eat..

i agree...the pauline is super YAYA...Kenny is nice guy.

Initially, PJ was my 1st choice but becos you are not allow to book early and sadly you may need to share the hall with another couple..doesnt go too well w me.So i opt for another venue instead.

But i got to admit the food is fabulous..too bad i cant have my rom there..

Amanda> wher did u have ur ROM??

Went down today.. Initially was all excited abt them.. but dunno why when i reached... excitement all gone.. been there to attend Weddings and ROM before.. but i dunno why suddenly i lost the interest, when i reached.. wanted to take the Bum Boat.. but now considering...

Any other nice venues anyone has to recommend??

i'm actually thinking of choosing peony jade for my ROM lunch.. cos of all the wonderful reviews from here and the other forum.. but now hearing how arrogant pauline i have to think twice.. but i really luv the decor.. and the package is quite resonable and suit us.. cos we are only having ROM no customary.. so we need a ROM package with 8-course lunch and a small room as we are only inviting 100 guests..

Hi beary,

is it possible to give me kenny's direct email or contact if any? cos i don't want to book through pauline after reading all the reviews.. thx!

hi there...

i was also abit upset with Pauline,

i had email her checking if i can book a private room for my ROM in MAY.

she adv me that to check back only in early March whether they have the space for me.

i spoke to kenny.. he also told me i can only book 3mths before wedding date.. actually before that he checked the date for any slot and asked me how many tabeles. i told him 10 on sun afternoon then he paused for a while and told me to book 3 mths before AD..

if I am not wrong, they give priority to those who book the whole restaurant for AD.
If it is less than that, you can only book 3 mths before.