Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

glympse, i doubt we'll be going back anytime soon .. maybe next year in spring .. see how i'm trying to avoid winter by all means necessary .. hahahaha .. i'll ask elias if he needs anything, thanks.

Julia, ok - confirm not you then since his colleague is German .. heheheh .. when is your wedding and have you started sourcing out your costumes, make-up, etc? i think there is maybe 1-2 major malay wedding fairs a year so maybe you might want to take a look then as well ..

cuclainne, my wedding is only in October 2010. So have plenty of time to plan.
))
I have started sourcing, but only through the internet so far. Didn't approach any BS or caterer in person yet. First, must make some researches about some rituals and traditions of Malay weddings, otherwise how to source, if I don't understand "what's this or that for??"

I know that there is one Malay wedding fair gonna be in January (around 20th or 25th?)
do you know any other fair? maybe just a name, and further I can find it in the internet...

P.S a silly question - how to you highlight words in bold here???

Julia, to bold the words you do this \b {text} minus the space in between.

oh, then you still have plenty of time, girl. i only started sourcing and planning for mine 3 months before the date. hahahaha .. talk about being very laid back about the planning .. does he have any sisters or female relatives that can guide you through the traditions??

Julia, to add on to cuclainne's instructions, if say you wish to bold the word "hi", you can do this: hi, but use <> instead of []. Hope this helps

cuclainne, ok can can
Reading how u described the Swedish winter, reminds me of how my Mum is really concerned about how i'll take to the Swedish weather. She said that there are 2 things she is concerned about me for: 1) My job in Sweden, and 2) whether I'll survive the Swedish winter :P Guess I'd better start stocking up on red date tea and ginger tea! :D Emil and I were saying that if we set up a ban mian stall in Sweden in winter, it's sure to be popular ;)

Hi Val and Julia,

Welcome. We are all post brides mostly. Started once blur as well BUT in the end, we ended up just chatting in here and cant get out!

Like most of these ladies, we all kinda organise everything ourselves and sometimes even from overseas!

Interacial weddings is very interesting oz we have to learn from each other what is ok and not. For my case i had to FORCE my Polish-German husband to be a bit malay-ish. But then he did not suffer much coz I did at the end managed to organised something not really Malay, coz he was going insane. Cant stand crowd and long events.

I went to a malay wedding expo and was quite turned off with the weird themes they had but also when Iwas already given up, I managed to meet 2 people that I in the end trusted for our wedding. Try and not jump into the first company u talked to, and make sure they dont trick you into paying more than normnal price. They like doing that. sadly. If you feel they are, honestly asked them if they are JACKING up the price.

Good luck to you both.

later ladies...

How u all doing?
News!! We are moving to Brissy this January. Chris quit his job in Austria and got a new position in Queensland...

Now, we are busy again, packking again...........

<b>cuclainne</b> yes, my BF has a younger sister. So, maybe she can help me with some things later.

I looked around the forum, and saw that girl here started preparing 2 years in advance!!

anyway, I wait for the first expo in January and from there will start selecting the vendors.

We expect to have around 1000 guests, and my parents are literally horrified - they simply can't understand how can somebody invite so many people!!
))

btw, do you know maybe if "engagement" is compulsory for muslim malay?
I don't wonna do it, coz seems like a waste of money to me, plus my parents are not gonna be here. But my BF's mother wants us to get engaged first...

glympse, elias has lots of complaints when he goes back during winter .. but he sure can reminisce about it with emil that time we met .. hahahah ..

emi, you moving again? girl, you and chris are really nomads la .. hahahah ..

Julia, i had 1500 at mine. when i told the husband about it, he was horrified as well because he thought that all 1500 would come at the same time.. hahaha. our friends/ colleagues were only a handful and the rest were invited by my parents.

well, i don't think many people do it nowadays .. so it would depend on what you're comfortable with. i got engaged when i was in sweden - so i just called my mother to say that we were shopping for a ring, a few days later he formally proposed and then when i came back, i just showed my family the ring and that was that - i was engaged .. hahaha ..

Hello ladies,
Wow..so many posts! Have been feeling a little under the weather lately la gals.

hi pris, got your invite on multiply.
thanks! come and visit mine

sarah, happy birthday to you girlie! hope the wedding preps, work and ldr is not too overwhelming for you. everything will be fine and time flies so quickly. in no time you will be in emil's arm
so have you decided whether or not you want to change your name after the wedding?

hi nisa how are you these days? I've just finished my 2nd container of keuh tart. I can't believe that ive eaten all of it. still have my fruit cake and kueh lapis. eating them slowly.. have you bought sofi a doll? still waiting for the doll pictures you know..

Liz how are you now? I hope you are fully rested and slowly getting back to your routine there. like you, i do get sick whenever I go back to sg. don't know why. maybe the amount of food i tend to eat when i am there. can't resist them! so your kitchen is up and running now?

mrs.n how is your little darling? how time flies! do you have to do more shopping on baby clothes? you have such generous and kind people around to want to help take care of Dominic.
Has he started eating baby's food?

emi congrats to you and chris! and happy moving.

deluxe you must be bigger now yeah? how are you coping with everything? are you still working? when I was living in nanyang, one of the neighbours was also pregnant and we heard from other neighbours that she and her hubby had to wait for almost an hour for a taxi when her water broke. it was monsoon season and during the weekend some more. we didn't know them well and we didn't know that they had an emergency or we would have driven them to the hospital. rest well and happy shopping!(i am just assuming that you have been shopping for your baby's clothes,pram, etc..

hi clara val and julia. welcome aboard

julia wow! 1000 guests, that is a lot. where are you going to have your reception/dinner?
val congratulations! and to you too clara..there are a few ladies here who are already in Oz. I've lived there for 4 years plus and it is quite nice. I miss the quieter environment there!

hello to everyone else here. have a great day/evening/night and talk soon.
time for me to go to bed. the flu tablets are definitely kicking in.
xm

..and oh marge, how is your garden doing? a close of friend of mine in melbourne told me that her vegetables garden is flourishing like crazy as if someone has added magic soil or something! hee.

Wowee… this thread is suddenly so busy!

cuclainne bringing your mom along sounds like a good idea! She doesn’t mind being left with the kids while you guys go romancing?

Cebu was the 1st time you travelled w/out the kids right? It’s normal to be gan keong… maybe need more practice… then the next few trips might seem easier?

I think my mom is slowly becoming excited abt becoming a grandmother… after the news started to spread among her ex-colleagues.. she kinda feels like she got “promoted”… haha

Welcome val whereabouts is ur bf from? I can understand to some extent how you feel… if it’s any comfort, although my then-htb was in sg all the while, he wasn’t particularly participative.. and I felt like I was doing everything by myself. I guess, by nature, guys generally don’t get so involved with wedding preps?

You seem to be doing pretty well with the planning so far
dun fret too much abt the what-ifs… I’m sure it’ll all turn out fine. It’s normal to feel what you are going through now.. I think everyone goes through that at one point of time or another.. I’ve certainly threatened to call off the wedding countless times when I got so frustrated and upset with him… We understand… do feel free to vent your feelings here, will help you to feel better.

We had issues with some of the traditions, namely the dowry, cuz he couldn’t understand the reason behind it. I have an article explaining the traditions which I gave to him to read. He’s a very logical person so it’s really hard for me to be able to explain traditions in a rational way – mainly pple follow tradition cuz that’s the way it has always been that way without thinking about the whys… But in the end we did it to please my parents. On the other hand, my mom was reasonable too, in that she didn’t keep too much (only $100 I think). For the gate crash, I told my jie mei’s that we have a budget of $xx and asked them to keep within the limit.

Hello Clara! Congrats! When’s your wedding? Are you now in Oz or SG?

Oh yes, the ang mo’s do think that the tea ceremony is fun… we had to scrabble for last min ang bao’s… cuz his cousins came but we didn’t see them before the wedding and obviously the ang mos dunno what ang baos are… so we had to pass all his family members ang baos to give us during tea ceremony… his young niece was pretty happy to get ang bao from us during the ceremony and for being the flower girl… her dad allowed her to spend the money as she wished… and she raided the supermarket’s candy section like there’s no tomorrow!!

BTW, there’s another thread for gals in Oz planning a wedding in SG… most of the gals there are in Melb and recently one from Sydney just joined. I know most of them cuz I was in Melb for 6 months earlier this year. You can search for it… http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/473607.html?1226415831

blue rinser at least your hb is excited about something!! That’s a good sign!
Hope your wedding plans are going well so far…

glympse u still have time for Emil to write you mushy emails for the visa right? Hehe… yah… my emails to hb are all very “business” like… usually cuz to inform him abt something or cuz I want him to do something… haha… so very unromantic..

Hey so you now know what ur back-up plan is if you can’t find a job in Sweden… make sure you learn how to make ban mian before you leave!! :p

Haha… while you’re counting down to X’mas… I’m counting down to my EDD… another 10 weeks!! By X’mas it’ll be only 4 weeks!! Getting nervous now!

Welcome Julia.. unfortunately I dunno anyone in your shoes, my opinion of local guys is that most are very very intimidated by ang mo women and therefore, hardly any would date one... there was an American gal here marrying a Chinese Singaporean but she wasn’t very active on the thread and there’s been no posting from her for ages. One of my german friends was dating a S’porean Indian but they broke up eventually… so I don’t have anyone to intro to you… but you’re more than welcome here..
if you feel comfy..

Wow.. Ukraine… that’s a long way from here… how did you meet your HTB and end up here? I know some Russian guys through my HB.. they’re a bit weird tho… haha…

Oh btw, most ang mos I know are already horrified at a wedding with 150 guests… much less 1000… haha… it’s certainly a culture shock how we can have endless relatives and everybody’s uncle or auntie to someone else… It’s already hard trying to explain that my cousin’s kids are considered as my nephews / nieces too and they address me as aunt – to the ang mo… if the kids are not directly from a sibling, they’re automatically cousins… right?

emi wow you’re seriously moving??!!? What job is Chris gonna do in Brissy? How abt ur job, apt, etc etc?

Thanks for welcome girls.

maplehue, de_luxe yes, I myself was very horrified by such a huge number of guests, but I've been on a few malay wedding before, and saw how it works... but for my parents it was definitely a shock, as they expected us to have "small family circle wedding".
)))
those 1000 guests are all my BF's relatives. And I hardly believe that he knows even half of them...
from my side there gonna be only 2 relatives - my parents.
plus, some of my local friends here.

and as to the questions of our meet-up.. well, we met through the internet, (where else can you meet nowadays???), at that time I was living in Singapore for about 9 month already... And he's the first malay guy I ever met. (always tried to avoid them, coz conversion was big no-no for me) and .... - ended up to be a convert...
well, life is a funny thing.

I think we gonna hold a wedding in a void deck. Cheap and simple.
don't wonna spend too much money on it. After all it's only one day... better safe for the house.

dunno why local guys should be intimidated by ang mo women....
we are just like any other.
my BF has never been intimidated by me. hehehe Unlike some Chinese guys though...
(but I don't think it's cultural thing. Mostly depend on person's character).

Hey de_luxe

my wedding nx may 09.. chinese reception will be earlier..

I will in there NX MTH!
hahaa.. my wedding in singapore is more simple like evening reception in some restaurant =)
over there there will be ceremony and reception =)

hello alll.... big hugs

heheh. Julia. i never thought i would end up marrying a polish as well, and chris does have ukrainian ancestry from his mum side. heheh. What were you doing in Singapore. Did you get a job here? Its interesting that Singapore is getting even more diverse multiculturally.

HERNIEEEEE... ive been thinking about u and jeff. The other day we went to Brighton Beach and the wind was crazy, we saw so many kite surfers and I told Chris, that JEFF would go insane looking at them! heheheh

Its so hot right now, I am dripping with sweat. 32 degrees and its at night. aiyah...

Anyways, yes the nomadic couple's journey continues.. I am damn tired mannn... told chris that this cant go on. if it does, it has to be Europe!!!..heheheh, am starting to feel old and tired. hehehe. He got a job as a researcher-lecturer at University of Queensland for the next 3 years... so we will be there till then. Afterwards... we have no idea. who knows, we might stay put! heehhaha

corrine..The apartment lease is finishing end of the year so its good timing. We will eventually drive 2 days to Brisbane to transport our car too. I will have to quit my job and am thinking of studying again... but we will have to see how we are financially as well.
hehehah

nissa, i will post something to u soon!

such is life :P

talk later girls!

just collect the invitation card today. yhew, got to protect it from the rain.

the thread grows too fast to keep track.

sorry i wasnt able to address individually to those who had responded. my scrollbar isnt working very well.
HTB is american. just talked to him ^^; just sacred that all the beautiful things now, will change after we get hitched. i guess i found a comfort zone in here.keke. thanks for all the encouragement. i guess im too paranoid and imaginative, and too negative at the same time. i pray every night b4 i sleep that every will go well.

im almost done with shopping. just need to shop for shoes and florist next. u guys know any affordable (read: cheap) ones around? also i need buffet for tea ceremony, MIL, n FIL are not very daring in food. what can i get for them?

how many of local brides are still in singapore? do u ladies meetup? it will be interesting i think.

im not sure where i will be after the wedding. its either sing, usa or uk. we havent decide on that. its seems like it kinda of tough for me to get to usa. paper work alone takes months to process, and they might reject my application too, even though we are married. anyone have any experience? my life is very ad-hoc.

Loads of activity going on here. So hard to keep up!

kao_welcome2.gif
to Julia, Clara and Val Julia I had an my ex-colleague who was ang mo and married to a local chinese man. They have three kids. There is also the local footballer Fandi Ahmad who married an ang mo girl. So while ang mo wives may be a rarity in Singapore, you certainly aren't the only one.

cuclainne we're back on normal power now. They repaired the fault and took the temporary generators away but not before causing another power cut. Though don't think it lasted very long. I was out at that time but when I came home all the digital clocks were blinking. However the second cut caused our house alarm to go funny and it starting going off every hour! Had to call the engineer to come in and fix it. At least he was good enough to come in on a Saturday.
Not so nice when you have to wake up every hour to turn it off. No we don't have our own generator though at one point of time Paul was toying with the either of having a wind turbine on the roof. But don't think that would have gotten the council's approval.

Chrisl yeah wool is great for warmth but I find the maintenance of wool a bit of a chore as you can't just put it into a normal wash with the rest of the cloths. Most of my warm clothing tend to be fleece which is easier and dries more quickly.

maple not doing any shopping as Dominic has enough clothes to last him until he is at least 6 months. People from church and our neighbours and friends have been generous and gave him clothes. Our neighbour across the road knitted him a sweater and cap. I bring Dominic to see the health visitor (specialist nurse in child care) every forthnight and he has given me a booklet to read about weaning. He told me ideally we can start baby food at 6 months but if Dominic shows signs of being unsettled with just milk we might have to think about solids but preferably after he is 20 weeks. Anyway he will discuss the matter with me at baby clinic when the time comes.

Gina and cuc just have to play by ear I guess. We were given a big envelope when we left the hospital and apart from my medical notes, there were leaflets in it on how to care for the baby. The ones on cot death were a bit scary - have to be careful how much clothing we can put on babies when they are asleep.

deluxe I guess you will know if the baby is cold by his crying. I noticed that Dominic's cries for food and nappy change are different as are his body language. He does a stamping action and sucks his fingers when he's hungry.
Have to work out what his 'feeling cold cry' is. Read somewhere that babies need at least one more layer than us. But you shouldn't have a problem if you intend to go during summer less hassle with cloths that is unless it's a washout summer.

emi you've got to start packing again. Oh well you just have to follow where the hubbie goes.
Have you found a place in Brisbane yet?

Pris yah it was funny being late and especially so because Fr B had another baptism the day before and nobody turned up!! Our friends who were early told us that Fr B just stood in front of the mic and told everybody we haven't arrived yet and as he didn't know what to say he was just babbling nonsense to while the time away!
But quite funny because the moment he said that Paul walked in with Dominic. Ha! Ha! You can see the pictures on our parish website: http://www.stjosephsretford.co.uk/ Just look in picture gallery and it's the album called Feast of the Triumph (14 Sept).

Oh just got to tell you all this. At Sunday Mass a few weeks ago, Dominic gave such a loud burp while someone was speaking that the people around us all turned to look and when they realised it Dominic who was the culprit, they burst out laughing. Paul and I were in fits! Dominic of course just looked innocent and stared at everyone with his mouth open wondering what all the fuss was about!

julia i bet it'll be an experience for your parents to experience a malay wedding.
good experience..i hope!
something they will talk about with your relatives and friends. will you be doing your solemnization at home? usually solemnization takes place at the bride's home if not the kadi's office.
isn't it sweet to have met your htb online like in that movie "You've Got Mail"! I am currently in Hong Kong with my husband. He is a Canadian and even though we met first face to face but our love blossomed through our e-mails.

Emiiiiiiiiiiii..ha. I was just talking to Jeff about you and chris too. We did some grocery and as I was organizing the fridge, i realized there were some unopened cheese, dip and crackers at the deep corner of the fridge. They were for you and chris! We bought them for your visit here and totally forgot about it! hee.
Brighton beach is windy with lots of kitesurfers?? I agree with you, jeff would go crazy there. He'll stay in the ocean till the wind dies down. He cant wait for the holiday. We are going to Vietnam and most likely Sydney so he can kitesurf. So spoiled!
it'll be nice to drive to brissy for sure. are you guys going to sell your furniture?

hi mrs.n, you made me laugh with dominic's burping story. it must be loud if the people around you could hear it. do you have to pay a lot for medical and check ups there? so is little dominic a brit? or singaporean or both? we have a brit friend who has a vietnamese wife. she gave birth in vietnam, got the little one a vietnam bc and went to england and got him another brit bc!

liz forgot to say this but im glad to know that your bunny is well now.

chris...so long haven't exchanged anything with you. take care and hope eveything is well!

val, hope you are happy with your wedding invites. Things were so overwhelming for me, I didnt even choose the design or had anything to do with it, it was all my Mom.

nisa, i had a good look(and touch) at both the palermo and galliera and the latter is definitely my choice. i can't stop wearing it! the leather is so soft and the brass is a little heavy but it is still comfy on the shoulder.

talk again later gals!

emilia jo, well, and I have some polish ancestry, but in some very distant relatives.
hehheeh.
Yeah, I have been working here for a few years already by now.

Mrs N, well, I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one.
I suspected it before, but didn't have any examples to prove.
thanks, Mrs N.

maplehue true, I think my parents are very excited about the whole thing. They have started preparing travel documents for their trip here already now, 2 years in advance!!!
I haven't thought about the solemnization yet... Maybe we do it in the mosque or ROMM, because I rent a flat here, and it can't be really considered as my "home".
well, maybe in the bride's place? Since our case is a bit "special" I think it should be all right if we go a bit aside of traditions.

In any case, still have loads of time to decide.

as to online relationship... well, we met face-to-face very fast, after 3rd or 4th email. but after this I left to KL and lived there for 1.5 month and that's when our correspondence started!
after I put all our emails in one Word file, it was longer that 200 pages in small font!!
))) maybe should publish as a book one day.
hehehe...

cuclainne, guess Sweden will still feel like home to Elias no matter how bad the winters are .... I can imagine myself complaining/reminiscing about the Singaporean heat in due time hahahaha. So how's your doll collection coming along?

emi, wow you jetsetter you! Very brave of you and Chris to be on the move so often. Not many people can handle change very well, but you two seem to be doing well :D happy for u both! This may be a gd time to further studies actually, I'm thinking of doing that too, if e job hunt in Sweden doesn't open up opptys at this pt in time

maple, hey hey hey! so good to see ur post! it's been a while, sorry to hear u're under the weather
hope u're feeling much better now! and thanks for the bday wishes
yea def will be adding on the "Mrs Sarah Lide" to passport and i/c after the wedding, prob on my next trip back to Singapore. Emil says it's weird if i use my maiden name or do a hypenated name like Lide-Seow when in Sweden, apparently it raises qns abt our marriage :S going to take a while getting used to responding to "Mrs Lide" tho haha. So how have u been girl? Very busy with work i imagine?

deluxe, wow time sure flies! So your little one is going to be a January baby? hehe ... so exciting! And what a great way to start the year 2009
Remember - we wanna see heaps of photos when baby is born!
haha yea i gotta learn how to make ban mian and mee hoon kueh ... i want my kids to appreciate REAL chinese food, not the salty rubbery fried stuff they pass off as Chinese food in the Chinese restaurants in Sweden :P

Julia, hehe always like to read how ppl meet
what brought u to Singapore in the first place tho?

Val, glad to read that things are better
hang in there girl! Every marriage takes work, even between people of the same race, but i very much believe it's possible to keep the spark of love alive, as long as both sides make the effort to
it will be ok! As for local brides, I'm currently in Singapore, and so are cuclainne and Julia and Clara, so yea, meeting up is def a possibility
as for caterer, u can consider Angeli catering (http://www.angeli.com.sg/), recommended to me by my married friends, i'm likely to go with them too.

Mrs N, Dominic is hilarious lah!

Wow! Thread is going fast! More new comers! Just a quick drop by!

Weclome to our "family" val n Julia n Clara!

Emi, all the best in moving!

Mrs N, I can imagine Fr B and his stories. kekekeke.... he is v gd at entertainging for sure hahahaha....

Maplehue, I'm well n kicking. hahahaha... Did u manage to get yr materials? NOw bunny eats a lot n pee a lot too! ;P

Glypmse, funny man? no lah. Mine is Rutten-Ng.

Hihi to Nisa n Deluxe, Gina, Chrisl, Pris. Hope I didn't miss anyone.

Adious! Going to bake pizza today! Yippeee!!! Must make full use of oven....
Kitchen is still not fully complete but at least can cook.

woohoo so many posts!

Welcome Clara, Blue Rinser, julia, Val! Good to have you gals here

Julia you sound very localized haha, can you take spice well after being in Sg for a few years now? My hb loves the bbq stingrays with extra chilli!!

I think it's that some people are not used to contact with foreigners..like for example, before i met my current hb, i used to fear talking to foreigners cos i dunno if im speaking correct english or not or if they understand me or not haha.. but as i get to talk more, i became better and overcame my fear

Clara Woah 2 receptions too! but with detailed plannings, should be fine! Take it in your stride!

Val i heard that wet markets like the one in bedok sells really nice and fresh flowers, brides usually go there to get them as they are cheap
And as for shoes, you can try OG at bugis, i got mine there. It's cheap (below $60) and i can use it even after the wedding
Anyway my thought is that shoes no need too expensive cos it'll be covered by the gown (provided that your gown is long)..but it has to be comfy

Emi I thought you just moved to az? Meaning you have to pack again, gosh!! If i were you i would be so tired of packing! hahah im just so lazy!

Glympse Haha must sensor *wink* anyway if i were to submit mine, it would be nothing much left to read/prove LOL But hey also do keep in mind your telephone bills and postage bills (if you send care packages to him that is)too, they are useful i think

Mrs N hahah such joys of parenting! Do you keep a journal to detail Dominic's funny moments and such? I think i'll do that next time for my children as they will only go thru bb/toddler stage once

I understand about the maintenance of wool. Do you have a washing machine with the wool wash function? It certainly helps
Cos fleece only keeps you warm to a certain degree..say my opinion about 10deg but not 10 below..but i think it's also depends on where you are lah..if your place has more rain and wind, might consider buying wind/waterproof jackets instead
But for me up here, wool is the choice
Just yesterday i forgot my cap and went out to work then got home and had a bad bad headache due to the cold! As what they say, in Norway, there's no bad weather only bad clothes!
But i just can't understand norwegians here, they wear t-shirts in Winter!!

Maple helloooo! Was wondering if you're ok? I see you're busy eating kueh tarts LOL kidding! Talking about tarts, im thinking if i should make pineapple tarts soon here too cos CNY falls in January next year..and i want to celebrate a little here at home

Cuclainne Is Elias getting the christmas mood yet? I supposed he miss the snow? gaute too said that it's not real christmas without snow..(and it's still raining now! yes! the rain came and melted the snow away!) So how's the menu coming along?

Hello to the rest of the ladies!!! *Wave*

maplehue, welcome back! wah - you're still feasting on hari raya goodies arh .. i have thrown most of mine away except for the choccies, leave that as rewards for sofi if she's been good ... hahahah.

yah i know la, i'm still working on it .. hehehehe .. i bought sofi a barbie but she's only interested in my dolls at the moment, and if i take mine out to change their costumes, that's when she'll ask for her barbie. in the meantime i have expanded my collection too .. hahahah ..

did you get the bag? i must admit that i haven't had the time or money to lust after LV bags since starting my doll collection (hahahaha) .. my colleague just passed me the catalog for Chanel's new season collection and this one has the prices so it was kind of nice to be able to drool over the bags and shoes .. hahahah .. not the prices though ..

de_luxe, yah she's been with us on the last two trips to sweden. it's always nice to have another person to baby-sit the kids so me and elias can go out for late supper, etc. when we were in denmark in 2007, she wasn't feeling well and stayed at the hotel with sofi so we took the opportunity to go to museum erotica .. hahahah, i don't think my mom would have wanted to go to a museum dedicated to x-rated stuff .. hahaha.

yah, cebu was our first trip without the kids .. i don't know if i can handle going away without them again .. hahaha .. which is weird because they've stayed for days at my parents' place and i was ok with that. i think i just missed them loads that time cos a lot of families brought their kids at that resort - so made me think of them being in sg and us being there .. boo hoo!

my mom didn't really show her excitement when i got pregnant the first time, much less the second time since she was already a grandmother then .. but my MIL was super excited cos first grandchild. they were joking that we had one kid with us when we went back to sweden in 2007, two kids in 2008 so maybe we would have child no. 3 the next time we go back up .. we're like no thanks!

julia, even a void deck wedding will cost some cos you still need to factor in rental for space and use of power, water, any damages later on .. plus the decor and food .. i did mine at void deck too ..

it's ok to have the solemnisation ceremony at your rented place .. i did mine at the last rented apartment since that was where me and the husband were setting up home.
i find the environment at ROMM a bit impersonal but that's just me .. doing the ceremony at a mosque is quite the fashion now, a lot of couples are opting for this instead.

glympse, i don't know if he's just saying this but elias has told me, and quite recently at that when we were talking about moving back, that he didn't feel like sweden is his home anymore .. he said that each time we've been back, it just feels like a vacation, something foreign - same feeling that he had the first few times he was in sg for hols. i find it hard to believe that over 20+ years living there could be eradicated in a matter of a few years living here but he insisted that it was true and he felt no particular attachment, except for his family and friends, to the city or country.

my doll collection is coming along nicely. i've managed to obtain another 4 girls so now i have 6 in total .. hahaha .. the other day we were at paragon and came across some jewellery boxes shaped like couches and chairs, so bought those cos they were the right size to use as props. elias also got me a portable light box to use when taking photos of the dolls - he's not really helping, is he .. in curbing my fascination? hahaha ..

emi, thanks girl .. i managed to find some Hi-5 books here for Sofi and she was sooo thrilled to get them as birthday pressies. her father's gift has been relegated to the bottom of the toy box - she even gave it to Elin, as soon as she's managed to take the entire wrapping off. even Elin was more interested in the box than the gift itself - poor Elias.

val, i'm still here .. i think of all the sg brides here, i'm the only one who have stayed put .. hahahah .. some of us have met up before and yes, would be nice to organise something.

Mrs N, re: the cot death, i don't know why but i kept checking on Sofi cos i was so worried that she might stop breathing during the night .. it's irrational but i just couldn't help feeling that way .. it only stopped when she was around one year old. with elin, i did it for a while until she's capable of pushing the blanket away, etc ..

Hej to you, Elizabeth. How have you been - busy with your work?

chrisl, not yet .. we were in orchard road last weekend and some of the christmas decorations are up and lit up already. elias thinks it's waaaaay too earlier to start getting in the mood for christmas .. we're only putting our tree up maybe the week before the actual day.

hahahah - he doesn't miss the snow cos at the last apartment, he was the designated snow shovelling person for the walkway. hahahaha .. since he lives in the ground floor apartment of the building at the back, they designated him to shovel the snow and grit off the walkway. he wasn't too happy about that cos it can be back-breaking work .. plus last winter, he was going back to the hotel when it started raining so he wasn't pleased with having very cold, hard rain drops splashing on his face. he even called me to tell him that he's in much 'pain' and can't wait to get back to sg .. hahahaha ..

as usual, the menu is slowly expanding to more items and is going to get out of control if i don't put a stop to it .. hahahah .. i think i'm just going to do the usual meatballs with gravy, potato gratin, pickled herring (bought from ikea), beetroot and red cabbage salad. i might do poached salmon as well if i have the time. elias has asked his mom to send some brown beans and he's going to attempt to make saffron buns again (the last two years have been failures). also my family didn't really like the non-alcoholic glogg i made so it's not making a comeback this year. oh joy - more work in the kitchen for me!

Cuclainne, is void deck really same expensive?
I checked on HDB website, the rent for one day cost about 50$ plus utility expences. I thought no matter how much water or electricity you use there, it's still gonna be cheaper than any other venue...? if not a secret, how much was the rent of your void deck at those times?
Also, I'm wondering, where do people take the tables and chairs for void deck weddings? Are they provided by the deco company? or you have to rent them separately?
so far I've calculated that we could fit into 16-17k if the wedding was now, but in 2 years time prices gonna be higher... (hopefully, our salaries as well.

Chrisl - sure, I can take spicy food.
)) I can't take plain food any more.
))) Stingray and tom yam are one of my all times favorite.

glympse I came to Singapore, coz I was looking for adventures and trying myself to live alone abroad... then I met in internet a Singaporean who suggested to make me an invitation so that I could come and look around, and if I like the place, then find job and stay here. (no love story here though, heheheh). So I agreed, and he invited me to come as a tourist, and after I came I looked for a job and got my EP and so on and so forth.... So far, no intentions to leave Singapore. I really like the place.

julia, my mom said she paid about $300+ upfront and after the event is over, she got about $200+ back. they will check how many power/ water outlets used and also if there are any damages made due to the function. it's still cheaper than doing it at CC or hotels/ restaurants. then you have to consider what kind of menu you would like - if you choose $8.50 per person and if you have 1000 guests, then that's $8500 right there. plus you have to pay for decoration, the price of which is dependent on which style you want, etc. mine was about $1.6K. the chairs and tables can be rented from the same vendor that does the catering. then you also have to consider the 'berkat' that you give to the guests to bring home.

glympse, i didn't know that. elias is ok with hyphenated last name, i suppose it's better than none .. hahahah. it's also common in sweden for kids to take their mother's surname than to take on their father's.

the girls have elias' surname but because they only allow 'normal' alphabets (none like å, ä, etc) on the sg birth cert, elias kept saying that his surname is spelt wrongly. now he's resigned to the fact that as long as he remains here, his surname will be spelt and pronounced differently. hahahah ..

I guess waking up 7 hrs later to find so many exchanges bn going on.

Val, I got my flowers from the nursery near where Mount Alvernia hospital is. I forgot the name of the road, but it is near the Mediacorp (geezzzz not sure still the same name). Lost touch with SG shows ever since I'm here. There're lots of variety to choose and cheap too. Bought them for my engagement n did 2 bouquet n 1 flower basket by myself and used them for my hair.

Chrisl, o there is such function. I have to ask Jeroen. I'm allegry to wool but wearing as outer layer is ok. Like Mrs N said washing is a chore. I usu handwash n so heavy. In washing machine usu destroy the texture. I usu buy fleece. They r not as warm as wool.

Cucluianne, I've fine, thks. Not really busy. NOw low season. not many orders, v quiet. Guess will clean up house n do my other stuff such as due homework, reading, baking.... hmmmmm then again, I keep myself busy. keke...

hello all...

This thread is a super fast one.... its kinda seasonal when this happens!

Nice to hear from those who dissapeared for a bit.

Mrs N, you are enjoying parenthood i guess?

Chrisl and glympse... Yeah.. we nomadiclah... this one all thanks to prayinglah.. All my life i told my mum I want to be married to a guy who is absoultely mobile And now I got him, I shake head.... When you younger you think its fun but as you get older... hehehhhahhah...its exciting but super tiring.... BUt i feel that Hernie( MAplehue) is more mobile than we are ...

We just got news that we already are in the final bits of getting our new flat. A tiny 1 bdrm as BRISBANE is so bloody more ex than MELBOURNE! -IRONIC!!!!-

Jobwise i have no idea whats next but I sent my application for uni yesterday..so we just have to sit and wait. This time if i get in, i better complete! hehehahahahhehe

Hernie.. crackers and cheese? hehehha you should have given chris prata... that will make his day! hehehaha. Yeah come over to BRissy enroute SYdney coz the beach is wayyy better! when you coming this way again?

Nissa, NOt to worry, will send it to you on monday... i have to get organise lah...

Julia.. some company deals with everything and have a full package. I think 16k is more than enough for a nice one. Ichose my company individually and orchestrated my wedding myself. I manages to get thinsg cheaper at teh end with my own visual conception. SO i was tremendousely happy.

We did at Chevron and it cost similar to ur budget. Less guests(360) but nicely presented!

maple everyone was concentrating on what the speaker was saying and all of a sudden there was this loud burp from this tiny baby! Something you would expect from Homer Simpson. Ha! Ha! Thank goodness we were sitting near the back so everyone in the last few rows and the one in front heard him.
Dominic's a Brit just like his daddy. I'm the odd one out. No we're not applying Sg passport for him too much of a hassle. Oh medical is free in the UK. I didn't have to pay a thing for my maternity and post natal care. Dominic's immunisations are also free.

Glympse yes it was so funny. We were supposed to be listening to something about child protection but Paul and I were so busy trying to contain our giggles that we didn't hear a thing! Alamak don't know where to hide our face. Hope the speaker didn't think we were laughing at him.

Cuclainne yah I was the same also. Used to check on Dominic every few hours in the first few weeks just to make sure blanket wasn't covering his face etc. Now he has a sleeping bag so no need to check so often.

Chrisl I've got to start a new blog. Can't seem to get into multiply. Can't really compare between fleece and wool as out of my whole collection of clothing I've only got one woolie!
But where you are is probably much colder than where we are so you probably need the wool. I guess the Norwegians were born and bred in that climate so they won't feel the cold as much as we do. You will probably acclimatise when you've lived there long enough.

Mrs N, that is the beauty of being child.

I saw a document abt baby dying in sleep. So scary! If I recall correctly, not to put baby to sleepon stomach and there must enough of air in the room. In the document, they discovered that by switching on the fan, it reduces the death toll. I know babies like to be wrap up tightly. It is to give them a secure n safe feeling. I saw a book on how to wrap babies in different ways. So interesting but I didn't buy lah.

Liz yes in the first few weeks babies tend to curl up tightly and like to be wrapped because it gives them the secure feeling of being in their mother's womb. Dominic was always crying whenever we changed him. Guess he felt so 'exposed' to the outside world.

You can get swaddles. We got one which can be used in the car seat and for sleeping. When he had colic, wrapping him in the swaddle used to help get him to sleep.

hello all,

i was told by a soleminzer that the groom has to be in singapore at least 15days before the ROM date. this is true? i called up ROM before registering ourselves, and i was told groom has to be in singapore 3~5 working days in advance to settle the paper work.
htb will only be here a week before ROM, i dont want to screw up here.
any idea how it work?
\bJulia\b did u took the train from town to AMK yesterday?

clara I visited a fren in Perth early this yr, S’porean gal who moved over when she got married too.. only diff is that her hb is from sg too. Do you know anyone there? How you feeling abt the move?

emi why Europe? U sian of oz already? At the looks of it, you seem to be to “itchy backside” to stay put in any one place for too long… maybe when you have kids it’ll be diff, cuz they’ll need the stability esp when they start sch.

But so far, this move does sound like gd timing, with your lease and all… excited?

You’ve already found a place in Brissy? That’s fast – the rental situation doesn’t sound as competitive as Melb but why on earth is it so expensive??? I guess you’re talking abt ard A$250 pw for a 1-bedrm?? Do u both know anyone there?

val it’s normal to feel that way…. Just know that for everyone, marriage does change life in one way or another.. but the beautiful part is that you both are committed to making things work no matter what. You can’t walk away from a marriage the way you can with a BGR. Is your hb in sg, uk or usa?

The florist that Liz mentioned is at Thomson road, there are 2 big ones, Far East Flora and Goodwood… they have huge walk-in chillers and you just pick what you want from the buckets.

I’m in SG btw, we were in Melb for 6 mths n just moved back in June. There was a meet-up in Oct but I couldn’t make it, always possible to arrange another one in the near future, perhaps before glympse moves to Sweden?

I used Neo Garden for my lunch buffet… they’re pretty gd, reasonable price too. I can’t quite figure out if you’re looking for Western or Asian food tho?

For shoes, you’ll prob get gd deals now at the dept stores since everyone is having yr end sales… I got a pair of gold Nine West for my evening gown for less than $100, ard $60-70 I think!!

mrs n I haven’t had gd luck with German weather so far… i’m either too hot or too cold! The German summer can be rather extreme from year to year I think.

Dominic is so funny!! I can imagine an angel’s halo on top of his head, like in cartoons!

Julia ur parents certainly sound excited! Would be cool to publish your memoirs one day… share the story for your future generations!

Your story is interesting… glad you like it here! My german friend loved it too, but had to leave (and very sad to) and move to Zurich cuz of work.

glympse why shld hyphenated be funny? My hb thinks it gives the impression of a divorcee.. but I dun think so.. no matter what it does take a while to get used to a married name… definitely took me a while!!

Yap, ours is a Jan baby – 1 wk before CNY so he might be either a rat or an ox, unless he decides to be x’mas baby which I really really hope he wouldn’t cuz we're not prepared!!

Is the Chinese food in Sweden that pathetic?? Sounds even worse than the stuff I had to endure in South of France (Paris is diff cuz there’s a large Asian community there).

cuclainne din know that there’s a museum erotica in Denmark, was it in Copenhagen? I know there’s one in Amsterdam… always been curious to go in but somehow never did…

Maybe you need to pick a more adults-only destination for your next couple trip!

Sounds like Elias has really assimilated to life here! But I can understand how he feels, cuz that’s the way I felt when I was living overseas too.. in fact, during the 1st 2 yrs in France, living in the hostel with frens ard me all the time, I never got homesick except on days like Christmas… only when I was living alone in paris towards the end of my 3rd yr did the homesickness hit big time…

Are you going to have a Christmas party? I’m thinking of having one… prob will cater most and make some rather than do everything myself… these days no energy to stand the whole day in the kitchen… 2 hrs and I feel exhausted!!

BTW, does baby need a blanket in sg? Feels so hot here! I hardly use mine even tho I’m sleeping directly under the fan. We dun use the aircon very much.

hi ladiess,

julia..200 pages? wow!!thats a lot girl! jeff(my hubby) and I exchanged e-mails for 2-3weeks before I finally said yes to going out with him. Ha. I was so shy. We wrote a lot too and we both still keep them in our hotmail/gmail accounts. Sometimes when I got upset,I would read his earlier e-mails to me and it mellowed me down right away.
I agree with cuclainnedoing your solemnization at your rented place is okay. ROMM can be a little impersonal. I did mine at my sis' place and it was strictly a 'close door' event. There were less than 20 people and my Mom was so sweet to make certain that there was no gatecrasher.
Have you thought of where your parents will be staying when they get here? AND have you guys bought your wedding bands yet?

val, my hubby flew in Sg less than 2 weeks before our solemnization. There was no problem at all. Hope your weding preps are going well. When is your htb planning to arrive?

sarah..hey girlie!
thank you for the sweet words. Yes la..been feeling under the weather lately and didn't want to come in here and be a downer to all of you. Im feeling slightly better now. How are you future Mrs. Sarah Lide? Hee. I must admit it has a a lovely sound to it. I didn't get rid of my maiden name when I added Jeff's last name. So mine is hypernated cos I still want to keep my maiden name. My maiden name is somewhat 'western' so it is not too bad when 'combined' with my married name. People call me Mrs Mxxxxx(his last name) anyway so it is all good. So far I have no problem with it. I heard from a friend in montreal that it is getting more popular there for kids to have hypernated last names. Strange.
Workwise..its been crazy. Worst that in Sg or even Seoul and I am constantly tired
I guess this is where I need to ask myself..which is more important. Money or Mind.
Do you talk to Emil everyday? He must be so busy getting things ready for his lovely bride yeah?

Liz..im so glad your bunny is well. Never mind the peing and pooing right as long as its neck is not crooked anymore! Does he stay indoor now that it is colder? AND it must feel good to have your kitchen back. Can cook again! Yes I got some materials but not from Kowloon. I found a fabric shop on Queens Street at Lan Kwai Fung by accident when Jeff and I were walking around to find Halloween costumes. It is not that cheap though cos it is in central but good enough to help me start my textile class. Thanks for asking
Also found a little shop nearby selling ribbons and buttons!

hi chris!! hey girlie! great to hear from you too. Yalah...been quiet for a while. Also just recovered from a cold/flu. So difficult to rest when there are gazillion things to do at work. I feel guilty to even take a day off and things justgot worst. Woah..it sounds cold there! Stay and wear warmly yeah. I used to hate to go to the bathroom during winter. The only time I didn't have any problem was when we were in Korea cos our toilet seat has a heater.So are you going to make pineapple tarts soon. I loveee kueh tarts. So scrummy. Maybe next year i should ask for 3 containers. Hee. Jeff is not such a big fan but i dont mind cos I can wallop everything myself.
Did you cook a big feast for CNY? It must be an experience for your inlaws to taste the delicious delicacies.

Thanks nisa! Yes, feeling a little better. What?? you have 4 dolls now?? Did you buy all of them online?? So sweet of Elias to 'support' you in your passion.
Are they breakable? Must have cost you a bomb! Yes, I bought the bag and loving it
Have you converted to Chanel now? It is soft compared to my LV White Theda. I showed Jeff both bags and he definitely prefers the Galliera. When we were walking out of the boutique, he kissed me and said,"Happy Birthday!" And when I reminded him that my birthday is not till mid December, he crossed his eyes! Hee.

What? You threw away your kueh raya? Why? Even the kueh tart and makmur? I wish I could taste kueh makmur. I tried asking my Mom to make me makmur without nuts but she is said it is quite impossible. Right now, Im craving for kueh koci.
Ohh. before I forget, do you have a recipe for turkey stuffing? I had this basic and easy to make recipe but it was jotted on a piece of paper, it should be in my little cooknote book but it is gone!

val and mrs.n..is that florist called Far East florist? My Mom ordered quite a few times from them.It is near Thomson right, near that hospital and there are a few more florists there.?? NOt sure it is the same one.

Emii, The cheese was Jeff's idea. He said all his european friends love cheese and didnt believe me when I said Chris is different. Now he believe after meeting Chris.I put aside one packet of prata too but I dont know why I didn't make them for you guys. I told her we were so busy chatting and always eating out. When my Mom came, she gave me a little lecture for not preparing the prata and epok epok instant for you! Alamak
We are planning to go to Sydney early January right after Vietnam. Just for a few days. I am excited for you and both of us wish you guys the best in Brissy. I think we are the same la.. Cannot tahan the constant packing and moving. Jeff and I have even talked about leaving HK.I initiated it. I know I know.. I shouldn't have but i can't stand the small space and crowd. We don't like super fast pace, the crowd and the 'in your face' attitude here. YOu were here before and you know how it felt right? Sometimes, I am even scared to go out because of the crowd! There is no peace and i dont think this is good for our mental health. Haiz.. I also told Jeff.. I dont mind Europe.
AND don't know why, 2 days ago out of the blue, he asked me..'do you mind living in Poland'? I was like HUH???WHAT?? Who are you talking to?? why poland?? Haizz.. i think only when our hubbies run that school they talked about, they'll stay put la.

Mrs.N, That is great! everything is taken care of.
Is dominic sleeping in your room or does he have his own room? My sister was really paranoid when she had her first baby. She was always checking whether he baby was breathing and even took shifts with her maid to check her infant. She was better and not so paranoid with her second girl. And have you been taking videos of blue eyed Dominic? It must be such a wonder!

Hello to everyone else. have a good evening/day and talk to you again soon.
x

HI de_luxe I still dont how will i feel yet. i will be moving over nx mth soon!

Im happy to be with my love one soon! We have been in a LDR for almost coming 4 yrs.

So happy that this time i will be with him permanently.

maplehue! forgot to say hi to you earlier... got lost in the many many posts here... hehe.. glad to hear that you are feeling better. M busy as usual but good nevertheless... now that i got my kitchen, it's a pity that i lack the energy and time to cook up the storm i used to back in Melb.. I need to get a shelf or kitchen trolley tho, there's not much countertop space now, also not enough power points, no thanks to poor kitchen planning!!!

Well i figured HK will be the way you described, which is why i wasn't too keen when HB talked abt moving there once... already can't stand the pace in SG, wat more in HK, man..

Hmm.. poland??!! Sounds like an odd place to go to considering the language diff... no tots to return to good old (hot) sg?

Hee... it's nice to read old emails yah.. unfortunately i never exchanged manja emails with my hb, our r/s developed mainly through sms and super unfortunately i lost many of the nice ones when my old hps ko'ed...

clara wow... 4 yrs.. that's a long time. I'm sure you're excited
good for you. Have you started packing, etc?

maplehue, so, you also agreed to go out with your hubby via the email?
same for me.
First we met face to face, then I left Singapore, and then he "proposed" me to go out. And I agreed in the email. Then he called me to confirm if he understood it correctly, (coz couldn't believe it's true). Such a funny guy...

no, we haven't bought any bands yet. Too early to think about it, maybe.

Next year both of us are going to my hometown to see my parents and I was thinking maybe getting the bands there, if it's cheaper. (but have not compared the prices yet).
by the way, maybe can you clear up one thing to me? - I have a proposal ring now. After wedding am I supposed to change it to a wedding band and never wear again? or, can I still wear both? (Actually, they both supposed to be on the same finger, isn't it???)

I'm really bad at all this wedding staff...
))) have to ask every small thing....
sorry.

as to my parents, I was planning to let them live in my rented apartment while they are here. I do not know how we will settle our accommodation yet... coz I don't have PR yet and we will either apply for BTO house or buy a resale or rent... So not sure, where we will live after the wedding, but definitely separately from his parents.
Also, I don't know yet how many people will be present on our solemnization. If too many - then cannot fit into my rented apartment.
it's quite small.

anyway, I think I will let it to my bf's parents to decide. Maybe they have some preferences. I'm fine with anything, except maybe ROMM. I agree that it's quite impersonal inside (Saw some pictures).
Did you husband's relatives come to Singapore when you had your wedding?
(Maybe you mentioned about it already before, sorry - thread is soooo long, can't keep everything in mind!)

by the way, in our culture (Russian and Ukrainian) we also have a gatecrash...
but I personally don't like it, so we won't have it. our wedding is gonna be a Malay-culture only, except that one of my dresses gonna be a white one (like western). That's a totally new experience for me, and I'm quite excited to learn.

but have a lot of questions to ask.

julia, yup i saw an ang-mo lady with a malay BF. it kinda of common these day. my ex neigbour, is an ang-mo women and the hubby is a malay man too. its a norm now. there are lot of ang-mo around my neigbourhood too, saw quite a handful in the train station every morning.

Mrs N,de_luxe thanks, yup went to the site and confirm that part. only one of us has to be here for 15days. HTB is in UK now, will be back in USA next week, arrive in singapore in 1st week of jan with his family. counting down the days. i will check out the florist this weekends. i got a pair of shoes from this forum, will source for an addition for one spare.

clara wow 4yrs of LDR is really long. good work girl. u must be like me counting down to the big day.

hi ladies, lets arrange a meetup then. when is good for mums? i'm good almost everyday, too lobo. haha.

how about? dec 6,sat? clara still around?

Val at the bottom of the page there is a link called Help. Click on that and then click on formatting. It will give you instructions on how to bold, colour your letters etc.

maple he's still sleeping in our room. Was telling Paul the other day that it will feel funny without Dominic in the room now. Don't think we'll move him until he is a little older. Still reassuring to wake up in the night and hear his breathing.
Heard that Poland's nice. Well most of the feedback I got was from Polish people so could be a bit bias!

deluxe haha not too sure about angel's halo on his head. Ha! Ha! When he was a few days old, the breastfeeding counsellor came over to see us at our home to give us advise and while she was there she stripped him so that she could weigh him. While doing that she was asking us if he was peeing and pooing regularly and as if to prove a point Dominic peed on her right at that very moment! Thank goodness she took it all in good humour.
Hee! Hee! The midwives told me that little boys are more prone to peeing when exposed. You can look forward to such incidents with yours when he comes.

Elizabeth, didn't you ask about otak2 recipe before? did you make it? i bought some local baking cookbooks recently from this store (http://www.b-i-y.com) and they had otak2 recipe in it.

yup, you can get swaddles for the baby. i have a book on the different ways of swaddling babies but you can also get ready-made swaddles at the store. i used this on both girls until they're about 2-3 months old, when they can wiggle their way out from it.

Emi, no worries - you don't have to rush cos Elin's birthday is only at the end of Jan. I'm still sticking to Hi-5 theme cos Elin loves it too. Sofi is beginning to love Lilla Spoket Laban (the swedish version of Casper the friendly ghost) - my MIL sent a DVD for her birthday and everyday now, it's been "I want to watch Laban" over and over again.

Mrs N, yup and the sleepless nights continues ... everyone keeps saying that it'll get better but it seems that my girls' sleep times are getting all screwed up .. they will take turns waking up in the middle of the night, though i have to say that there are times when they're quite good and sleep through to morning.

is dominic sleeping in his own cot? sofi used to sleep in her own cot in our bedroom at the old apartment and then we shifted it next to my side of the bed so it's easier for me to calm her down when she wakes up. but since moving to the new place, she's been sent to sleep in her own room and is now sharing the space with Elin - still she does wake up crying for either her father or me, or we would wake up with her asleep in between us .. hahahah ..

yes, the PD told us that kids are prone to peeing when exposed - that's because Elias has been peed on by both girls when he was changing their diapers .. they don't do it now though .. but boys can aim 'better' .. hahahah.

de_luxe, your boy is due in Jan? my youngest was born in jan too ..

oh yes there is one in copenhagen so we went like an hour before closing time so there weren't too many people around - it's quite a big place and lots of exhibits. some of the mannequins were a bit freaky - seem too life-like and lots of photos too. they also have a small cinema where they screen 'movies' .. hahahah.

hahaha - yah, perhaps it'll be wise to not pick a family-friendly resort the next time if we intend to spend some couple-time.

i think he's really liking it here - he said everything is so convenient and efficient. he was just telling me over the weekend that he had requested a document from IRAS which would usually take about 2 weeks to prepare but he got it on friday through the post - he had applied for it in person the day before. he said you can never expect the same in sweden.

oh yes, we've had a christmas dinner every year since elias moved down. he's used to spending christmas with his family so we decided to start our own tradition la. first year was just us three and then last year was with my family. last year i was about 8 months preggie at christmas time .. and rolling meatballs at 2am in the morning. my back was aching and feet sore from standing until elias came with a chair. yah girl, it's better to cater la if you don't feel up to it.

my girls uses blankets but that's because they like it cold - i've got to turn on the aircon and the fan otherwise they'll perspire esp. the youngest one. we have a humidifier in the rooms to keep the air from getting dry.

yes, like glympse mentioned, a lot of the food there are more like fusion food that has been toned down for the swedish palate .. thankfully in stockholm, we have managed to find a few places that serve really authentic food, just as it's supposed to be so that's quite nice. sad thing is that one of our favourite malaysian restaurant (they have petai, durian, kuih dadar, etc on their menu) have closed down and we don't know whether they've relocated or really shut down business. so sad!

maplehue, nope i just got 4 girls this month which brings my grand total to 6 dolls. but i haven't taken the 4 newest dolls out from their boxes yet. the next few productions don't seem really nice so i'm going to take the chance to buy some barbie silkstone dolls instead .. hahahah .. i can get 2 collectible barbies for the price of 1 blythe.

it's ok - not that costly since i got most of the dolls from other collectors who were selling them off at a fraction off their normal price so ok la. they don't break but they will certainly crack - my first doll has a hairline crack at the back of her head, i think because she kept falling backwards due to the big head but cannot see if her hair is down. so now i've been really careful to sit them properly so they don't fall backwards anymore.

no la, no money to convert to chanel - just drooling over the collection, that's all. hahahah .. wow, so it's a birthday present from jeff? lucky you ..

i probably have lots of turkey stuffing recipes but none that i've tried out myself cos swedish christmas menu don't really include turkeys or roasts .. let me know if you still want ok. i have to check my books.

julia, you can still wear your engagement ring either on the same finger with your wedding band or on the other hand - i wore mine separately on some days and together on the same finger on some days .. like to mix it up for fun .. but recently i've had to get a new wedding band cos my old one and the engagement ring don't fit anymore.

you can keep your solemnisation small - mine had about 30 people only and it was the sanding that had the 1500 guests. are you having the solemnisation and sanding on same day?

have you decided how many costume changes you will have on that day? i had two during solemnisation and two (including one western-type white/blue dress) during sanding.

val, i'm ok with 6 dec if you ladies are meeting up in the evening - i've got a wedding to attend near fort canning at 3.45pm so i won't be able to make it if it's earlier in the day.

hahhaa.. cuclainne remember me!

oh.. ya autumn (may) wedding but i got my visa label already! so will be there nx mth.

have to plan my hairstylist makeup artist there.. my bridesmaids dresses..
meet the wedding planner over there and such and such!

=) oh Val! Shanghai tang does MTM cheongsum and its really nice.. but real X..

go nee ann city to take alook there a branch there. not sure whether they do mtm.. the HK branch has mtm service.