Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Ok ..its good to know many can make it on the 10th ..so so far we have Nissa, Me,Glympse, felicia, Liz... prolly? Can lah... heheh Its better for me in the evening too.. prolly at 7 or 8pm, ladies? And where shall we go? any ideas?

Of course, Partners are welcome...
later!

me not sure yet. have to check ticket what time flight i m back in sg on 10 fr HK. ticket with sis. kekekeke... let u know whether can make it or not. today going for F1. hubby go n explores himself, me in school, then join him. going to be v tired after the last day.....

Liz, email you by this weekend, can't send email from gmail at work :P

felicia, the shop is open from 11am-3pm on Saturdays, and closed on Sundays, so may be best to call before you go down ya

Re outing on 10 Oct, yes somewhere central wld be gd. There's this nice Jap place (MOF Japanese Casual Dining) at Suntec City basement, how does that sound? And shall we confirm bring our partners? The guys can sit one side, girls one side la, so that they can gossip about us in front of us hahaha ;)

Hello from siem reap, gals!
It's really hot here so we're taking a break till it cools off.

Hotel has free internet so just popped in for a short while, it's rather slow tho it's supposed to be broadband.

Re gathering, I can't do Fri evenings from 3 oct cuz i'll be having antenatal classes till early nov. It's ok if the date can't be changed, u gals can go ahead.

glympse baby turned out to be alright when i went to see the doc before flying, just had to reassure myself. He put on 200g in 2 wks! Glad to know that not all the weight i've gained have gone to me! LOL! But geez... i realised from the photos taken here that i'm really chubby now.. looks like most of the weight ended up on my face and tummy...

Well it's not really a case of being understanding, more like resigned acceptance cuz he just refused to wear it.. wat to do unless i wanna quarrel with him over such a small thing everyday? Not worth it..

felicia my ring has a worn / dull look after 2 yrs but colour is still ok even tho it's white gold. I'm not very careful with it so the surface does have some scratches.

Yah i know Arts House has plenty of restrictions. Can't remember how the cost compared vs SAM tho. But SAM will be so lovely, esp with your family's history. We had ours at Oriental's poolside in the end after weighing all the pros and cons. We really loved Burkill Hall but would have to have a day and evening event cuz it's too small for everyone at 1 go and then the logistics was another headache, cuz they don't provide anything except the venue, meaning that i would have to source for everything from food and flowers to invite cards and favours. My work kept me too busy so I decided the hassle wasn't worth it. Besides, the caterer that i wanted (Blue Ginger) had such poor service at the enquiry stage that i just trashed the idea. I loved their decor, etc that they always show in the bridal mags but when i enquired with them, they told me that they can only send me the info and confirm if they can do it 3 months prior to the wedding day becuz they are busy with the mags photo shoots - that's quite ridiculous isn't it???

georgina i wish i din have to buy maternity clothes either.. would rather spend the money on something else but no choice since with work, i can't go about in t-shirts and shorts altho i would love to! Sometimes feel so xian in the morning when i look at my wardrobe and see clothes that i want to wear but can't fit in or just so bored with my current limited selection.

cuclainne u so hard working! Can make kueh! Homemade stuff always so much better than store bought but so very time and energy consuming.

My hb did a double take at diamond wedding rings for guys even tho it was just a tiny embedded diamond... cuz in germany or maybe europe, only gays wear diamond rings!!

mrs n hope ur pain goes away soon.. does carpel tunnel syndrome resolve itself or do you need medication?

Paul n my hb are the same when it comes to toys!

Natural birth doesn't sound so bad after all..
in a way i'm glad that my doc is pro-natural, otherwise it will be so easy to give up if painkillers keep getting pushed at you.

deluxe, good to hear from you! How are you enjoying Siem Reap? hehe the little one sounds like he's going to be one strong boy! Haha don't worry about putting on a bit, i think it contributes to a mother's radiance
and breast-feeding will take care of the weight in due time hehe. So excited for u!

Actually, e process of buying wedding bands made me understand Emil better too. At first I couldn't really understand how come he would want a wedding band that 'he could wear and forget about'. Me being a sentimental, all-about-symbolism type fiance, was like, don't u want a ring tt u can admire everyday? Guess it's a guy/gal thing. I really want my wedding band to look nice too. But yea at the end of the day, a relationship is more than about a pair of rings, eh?

glympse, is that at Suntec or Raffles City?

de_luxe, hey .. how's your vacation coming along?

glad to hear that the baby is putting on weight .. i remembered not gaining much weight during the first few months but after that .. hahahaha .. managed to put on a few kgs in one month .. :P

this is the first time i'm trying to make the kueh on my own, using recipes i found .. today my mom came over to watch the girls, and also to QC i suppose .. hahahahah

ours are just plain bands .. elias told me that he probably wasn't going to wear the ring after we got married but he did anyways .. i think he's only forgotten the ring once, that's because he took it off to do the housework. me, i've forgotten it countless times already - esp. when in a rush to get ready for work. hahahah .. my new wedding band has so many scratches on it from the first day already .. i don't really know how to be 'gentle' with it .. hahahaha ..

if you can tahan, then go for it .. i tried to hold out for as long as i could but almost 18 hours later and still no sight of Sofi, so i gave in .. with Elin, no choice since i went for caesarean ..

Hi gals! Yes!!its the weekend...i just woke up.Loveee sleeping in.

Cuclainne, has your doll arrived yet?? Take a pic. and post it here! I want to see it.
And how is the kueh raya?? I miss kueh baulu! Haven't had it for ages. I remember when I was young, me,my sis and my mom would sit on the kitchen floor and make cakes and cookies till 3-4in the morning. Those were the days... I miss the "suasana"(festive mood). Been abroad almost 10 years..Haiz Speaking of kueh, i am still waiting for a box of kueh mueh from my mom. She posted them last week but i still haven't received the box. We had typhoon again on Tues/Wed(no work again on Wed) and now I am afraid that everything will turn into dust!
I want my pineapple tarts! and i want to arrange the kueh on the table.

Liz....how is the food festival going for you? haha.
Enjoying yourself?? I miss wantan noodles and roti prata!!! Is Jereon enjoying the food too? When we were there, i was the only one who got excited with the food.. For jeff, as long as he gets his western food, he is happy. See you in HK soon yeah. There are a few good yumcha places we can try.

Deluxe..got yourself a stove no? Hee. I think i better stop asking you about the stove. How is the little one and got a stroller yet? When my sis was pregnant, she decided not to buy maternity clothes. She chose to buy larger size dresses and pants. Only because she said there was no way that she could get her small frame back(she hates to exercise)ad she was right. She is now bigger and that scares me quite a bit.

As for wedding bands, you are right, no point arguing about it when Bertil doesn't want to wear it. What matters is the heart.. Can't force someone to do something against his or her will right?

On the same note...{Glypmse} Jeff is a little different from Emil.Remember the white and rose gold wedding band..Jeff is not wearing it anymore. He said it is too light so when we were in Sg recently, we bought a thicker and heavier white gold band for him. He said he wants to feel the weight so when he kitesurfs, he can feel it on his finger. He wore both rings for a few months but now he just wear one. I guess different guys have different preference yeah. So did you guys decide on one? For me, i don't mind if our bands are different. It is more about the symbol to me.

georgina, i love h&m. yes...wonder when sg is going to open one. rather than that forever21, h&m is better. ended up buying a lot last week. they always have good stuff. it is a big 3 storey store here in hk and i don't worry so much when i want to drag jeff with me cos he has the male department to go to.

ps: Your darling Luke is so cute!

Marge, are you feelng better? Don't go to work if you are not fully well yet ok. It should not be that cold now in melbourne or is it still? Take care and make some soup yeah. Hugz

Mrs.N...THANK YOU for sharing your darling's photo with us. Finally!!
He is adorable and still so tiny. Does he grab your finger a lot with his tiny hand?? I find that amazing and did a painting of that scene before. Paul is so sweet to be doing nappy change and everything else when he can. I guess men in the 21st century play a different role compared to our grandfaher or even father's generation. I hope your parents are enjoying themselves there. I bet they are already missing some good Singapore food. I do!! And how is the pain now? I hope it has gone away Mrs.N.

Enjoy your holiday Deluxe! Are you getting some tan? I miss sunbaking...i haven't got any time to see a specialist about my sun allergies and I really miss being by the beach or at the swimming.

Enjoy your meet-up in Singapore ladies!
As for the meet-up in Hong Kong, emi and liz, i've circled the 7th on my calendar and call me when you guys touch down ok.

Hope I didn't miss anyone. Hello to everyone else and have a great weekend. xo

hello! we're back in sg! Will post the pics on FB.

Wish i had a little more time in Siem Reap, still some places that i wanted to go but didn't have time / energy to, the heat just saps it out of you in a few short hours. Would love the chance to go back again.

HB hated the way pple will ask/pester u to buy stuff or take their tuk tuks, so he got sulky and grumpy sometimes and yesterday afternoon and night i went jalan jalan alone.

Things can be a little expensive tho, compared to say thailand or indonesia, cuz everything is in USD. The local currency is rarely used by foreigners and prices are quoted in USD almost all the time, good thing that the exchange rate is very favourable now!

Khmer food is yummy, some dishes are similar to Thai but less spicy. A lot of coconut milk is used tho.. i shudder to think abt the amt that i've consumed in just 3 days! Sure to get fat if i stay longer!

Junior enjoyed himself too i guess.. was pretty active throughout the trip and then quieten down this morning before we headed to the airport, prob thinking here we're heading back to singa-bore!

maplehue i wasn't working on a tan, but it's quite impossible not to get one plus tanlines in that kind of heat. My feet has the markings of my shoes now!

Well i'm certainly hoping to be able to wear my normal clothes after birth... i think i will cry if i can't fit in 6mths later.. at the moment, i'm not allowing myself an excuse not to lose the weight so limited wardrobe's the way to go for now. I'm not big on exercise but i do swim whenever i can, so hopefully it'll help take the pounds off.

did ur mom mail the pineapple tarts by singpost or courier? maybe held up by the typhoon... hope they still get to u in good condition!

cuclainne did ur kueh kueh passed ur mom's QC?

18 hours is no joke! I'm hoping for an easy ending
haha

glympse, oh ... i was thinking of the japanese place that has the same concept as marche .. oops!
well, i'm ok with that unless there are other suggestions ..

maplehue, not yet .. but i've ordered some clothes (they were on sale!) as well as sunnies for my dolls .. hahahah .. i've also won two wigs for the dolls through ebay and they've arrived .. my sister was at my place and received the items - she initially thought the wigs were for me .. hahahah .. she wanted to have a look but when i opened the box, she said they freaked her out (huh?) - i think she watched too many horror films about dolls too ..

the kueh baulu recipe i got online was a disaster .. so i'm not going to attempt it again just yet .. i'm going to try kueh bangkit tonight .. will let you know if it works. :D yah lah, i miss the atmosphere too - staying up till 2-3am making kueh with my mom ..

hope you'll get your pineapple tarts soon ..

de_luxe, you so daring to go out at night by yourself girl ..

my mom had the usual comments la but in the end, she still took my kueh-kueh .. i think i did two batches of honey cornflakes clusters, four batches of sugee, one batch of chocolate tarts and one batch of kueh ros (this one was so difficult to make!) .. don't think i'll do this one again without someone's help. tonight i hope to do some cheese bicuits, need to chill overnight and some kueh bangkit .. tomorrow going to bake two cakes for my gran (marble and chocolate cake). it's a lot of work but never mind la, once in a while it's ok ..

i'm keeping my fingers crossed for you ..

oh oh Liz, so how was the F1 race? did you guys enjoy the atmosphere? we watched it from home. just before we left to send the girls to my mom's, massa was no. 1 and alonso no. 14 .. then when we arrived at my mom's, alonso was no. 1 and massa was no. 15 .. such drama in just 10 mins.

hi ladies, can't meet u on 10 oct. only b back in sg at midnight. u ladies go ahead n have fun!

Cuclainne, o yes indeed v dramatic. Pretty exciting! But super tired now. Been there for 3 days under the hot sun. n so so so warm n crowded! ecountered an irritating youth n inconsiderate people standing behind us. Well.... taking a rest today at parent's place. kekeke...

deluxe, wb! how to find you on FB btw?

cuclainne, ah, i know the place u are talking abt. Is it good? Don't mind trying that out too.

Liz, yea how was F1? did u see all the drama happen first hand?

Hi Ladies... am in hot humid island of ours and have been busy like a headless chook running around to get things doen. Ok finally get to come online to chichat a bit. Hmmm.. u girls who cant make it on the 10th sure u are alright with it? coz for me , i cant make it on otehr days due to too many commitments. So,if 10th it is, 10th be it, and where is this place u guys atlking about and what sorta food issit?

so its called MOF, Jap place and at...suntec ..and the people coming are Nissa, Me, Glympse, felicia. anyone else interested?

And also do we have to book it?PArtners are definitely welcome.

oh Corrine.. your resort looks killa dilla man in siem reap... very inspiring

ok liz and hernie.. seeya in HK...

i got meeself a spore number will text u nissa!

what else aaahhh
i think i will message the girls going to the dinner my number lah.. in here.. ok?

Liz, sounds like you've had quite the experience .. maybe the heat was getting to them .. anyways have a good rest at your parents', seems like it's going to rain!

glympse, i'm not sure cos i've not tried it before .. but i've read reviews and not very favourable actually .. hahahaha ..

emi, i've not been to MOF before .. or to Villa Bali, for that matter. Is it at Alexandra? Heard from a friend that the atmosphere is nice but food so-so only ..

thks culcuainne. Does yr mum sell the kueh kueh? I love the kueh kueh! In the past when my friends invited me to their house, wah I eat like no body biz hahahaha.... I have been eating non-stop these few days, tonight durian feast! hahahahaha....

Glympse, very exciting lor! Wah! The racers are super fast n super loud! Wah! When the car crashed, your heart just jumped! Wondering drivers ok or not! PHEW! didn't get to see the worse crashes but the minor ones on our side. Enough to scare u liao! They really risj or "sell" their lives man! Wah! Won't ever want my son to be an F1 driver. Heard from Jeroen some famous drivers died racing. What a way to die man!

Emi, will meet up in HK then. Will arrange closer to dates?

Hi hi to all!

Liz, no lah .. not selling the kueh .. just that my mom says that she doesn't have time or energy to do any this year so i did it for her la .. she bought some from geylang and JB but i find that those kind, not so good as home-made.

ya, when the first driver crashed, i thought he was a goner cos he didn't come out from the car and it was almost smashed in half .. when that driver from force india crashed his car towards the end, thought that he was almost a goner too cos the front end of the car was catching fire and he was still trying to come out from the wreck. aiyoh, drama drama. yes, liz .. some famous drivers have died in this way .. people like ayrton senna, for eg.

Glympse you're very observant.
Yes Dominic's got blue eyes and golden brown hair. Ha! Ha! Hope people won't think I'm his au pair when we go out.

Liz F1 race sounds very happening. Caught some of the 'action' on BBC news - not the race but the spraying of the champagne by the winners.
Jeroen must have taken lots of photos. Enjoy eating all the kueh you can get your hands on.

Maple the typhoon sounded quite bad on thee news. Anyway glad you are ok. I'm sure you'll get your pineapple tarts soon.

Yeah sometimes Dominic will grap our fingers. He's beginning to recognise faces and voices and will smile when we talk to him.
He's also beginning to sleep longer thru the night so we're slowly recuperating from our lack of sleep. Thank goodness.

Cuclainne your kueh sounds so mouth-watering. Don't know how you can tahan until Hari Raya. If it was me I think I will be eating them as soon as they are out of the oven!
Did you make sugee biscuits? Yum We still have some sugee cake leftover which my mum baked for Dominic's baptism. Trying to make them last as long as possible as I'm too lazy to make them myself.

de-luxe saw photos of your holiday. The hotel you stayed in looks very nice. You don't look very big. Are you having a boy? Just that you said Junior enjoyed himself too so I'm presuming.

MWs say that labours for first babies tend to be longer. My first stage lasted just over 15 hours but active labour (pushing and most painful stage) was about 3 hours. Overall it took a bit longer than it could have been because I also opted for the physiological (natural) delivery of the placenta. Unfortunately that took longer than an hour and the MW had to give me the injection in the end. She was sorry she had to do it knowing how much I wanted a natural birth but she had to work within the hospital guidelines which was that the placenta had to be out within an hour. But ya, go for as natural a birth if you possibly can ... it's certainly one experience you'll never forget.

Felicia thanks you for your compliment. Hope your wedding preps are going smoothly.

Emi enjoy your visit to Sg and HK!

cuclainne & emi selamat hari raya!

cuclainne huh? The dolls need wigs? Don’t they come with hair? I’m obviously clueless abt dolls.. lol

Well, it’s actually not so dangerous, at least I don’t think so. I didn’t like the idea of being alone in a strange place and said as much to hb. I did warn that it'll be too late for regrets if something happens to either party while we're alone but he simply doesn’t want to walk around and I don’t want to be cooped up in the hotel on a holiday!! I do take some precautions still, like keeping to relatively crowded and well lit places. If I had to walk somewhere dark, I make sure I’m close to a group or other people so it doesn’t seem like I’m out alone. Our hotel was literally in the middle of the city centre, so very convenient to walk around. I think Siem Reap is generally quite safe, people are poor but I dun think there are many robbers / thieves around. It’s more a case of getting rid of the tuk tuk drivers who pester you and trying to win a battle crossing the roads cuz there are hardly any traffic lights and even if there is, it’s hard to know when you’re supposed to cross cuz the traffic situation is messy to say the least.

What’s kueh ros? You really did bake a lot, you must be really quick in the kitchen. I’m usually exhausted after making 1 batch of anything!

I missed the F1 drama too. Was fiddling with some food in the kitchen and before I knew it, all the drama came and went!
the parts of the race that I saw were all the boring bits!

glympse u can search for me using my email addy, [email protected] but please identify yourself cuz I will ignore pple I dunno. Too many weirdos out there these days!

emi We stayed at Hotel de la Paix (http://www.hoteldelapaixangkor.com/), it’s a boutique luxury hotel, only 107 rooms… we splurged on a nice hotel this trip, partly cuz on the list of hotels that we could choose from, I only knew of this one and Raffles and partly cuz we know we won’t be doing this for a long long time. Normally we stay in relatively budget places, but this time the hotel’s rack rate is USD 300. We got it for slightly less, as part of a flight+hotel package at the agent but it was among their more expensive options. It turned out to be a gd decision cuz the other hotels on the list weren’t so conveniently located and it’s really nice and comfy to have a nice room to stay in.

There are plenty of accommodation options, you would get very decent places for abt USD50 per nite, but of cuz it’s not gonna be luxurious lah..

No worries if you can’t change the date… just have fun at the gathering!
Oh yah, abt the food at Villa Bali, I went there a long time back and the food isn’t great cuz they don’t do it themselves.. you order from some restaurant menu and it’s delivered to you. Dunno if the arrangement is still the same.

mrs n it’s very unusual for mixed babies to have blue eyes cuz the blue eye gene is recessive… they say that the hair and eye colours will change over the years, usually will darken. My hb is hoping for a blue-eyed boy too but I think it’s really fat hope on his part! Oh yes, you’re right, we’re expecting a boy… hmm.. thought I mentioned it here before, but maybe I forgot… sigh, the things that pregnancy does to the brain!!!

I’ve already put on 8kg so it’s got to be somewhere on me... from the photos I think most of it landed on my face and tum… Funny thing is that the weighing machine at home doesn’t seem to change but at the doc’s the numbers just keep going up! I think my bump is ok for this stage, after comparing with other people’s bumps (who are at abt the same stage as me, +/- 1-2 wks).. hehehe… prob well concealed in the photos by the baggy clothes. I find that normal clothes tend to make the bump look smaller whereas maternity wear somehow seems to emphasize it. Dunno why leh…

It sounds lovely that Dominic is responding to you and certainly good news that you’re able to sleep slightly longer now… panda eyes go away!

<font color="119911">SELAMAT HARI RAYA</font>

deluxe yeah heard about the recessive gene. Dominic's not the only one in my family to be born with blue eyes though, my cousin's daughter was born with blue eyes too.
Possibly we could have inherited the recessive gene from our maternal grandmother who is half german. But yeah hair and eye colours do change over time. My hubby had very blond when he was a child which darken as he became older. So it'll be interesting to see what Dominic's will turn out in a few years time.

I was also on the small side. Some people didn't even know I was preggy! 8kg isn't too bad. How far gone are you 5 mths? All in all I put on about 10 kg. Lost about 5kg already still another 5 kg more to go. Still wearing some of my maternity tops and baggy trousers. Would have to take Dominic out for more walks so I would get some exercise but weather at the moment isn't that great for outdoor activity.

Ahhh bless another little boy. Have you started thinking about names?

Oh yeah you asked me about carpel tunnel syndrome the last time. No you don't need medicine for it. MW said since it took a few weeks to build up it will take a few weeks to subside. So basically you just have to put up with it while it lasts.

Mrs N, cannot tahan .. the kids (my nephew and Sofi) has been munching on my sugee biscuits almost every day .. i've had to make more! each time i bake something, elias will QC one from each tray .. Sofi even ran off with one container full of sugee the other day, don't know where she thought she could hide them for herself..

elias is the same as your husband .. he too had very blonde hair when he was a child and at around 10/11 years old, his hair became a dark brown (it almost look black in the photos) .. but now it's beginning to get lighter again .. one of my colleagues commented that he's getting blonder - maybe it's just the white hairs .. hahahah ..

de_luxe, hahahah .. yes they do come with their own set of hair but i bought the wigs, just in case if i wanted them to have another look so i don't have to scalp them and re-root new hair on their head. just use the wigs and get different hairstyle/ look for the moment.

yes, i think as long as we are aware of the surroundings, it should be ok but you really are brave la girl .. the last time i went out on my own was in HK many years ago .. i went for a walk by the harbour and a group of boys approached me and said something in cantonese before walking off, laughing .. don't know why but it made me pissed off and i actually walked quicker to get to them and asked the boys what exactly did they say .. looking back, perhaps that wasn't the wisest of thing to do considering that they were a group of 4-5 boys, all taller than me and it's late at night (around 11-ish) but at that time, my blood was just boiling lor ..

this is kueh ros .. i was at phoon huat picking up supplies and saw the mould so i thought i could try making it since i love eating it .. hahahah ..

not fast, was quite slow cos i would be chatting to my sister while doing the kueh .. she came round to help but all she did was just helping me to put some stuff in the tray to bake and also QC .. she left the measuring/ mixing to me cos she said she doesn't do all of this .. hahahah ..

but i was quite fast on monday afternoon when i took the afternoon off to do some last minute baking .. i mixed all the ingredients first and left it in the fridge .. the lemon cheese biscuits i could leave overnight so when i came back on tuesday, all i had to do was cut it to size and bake.

de_luxe, Mrs. N...julio had blonde hair when he was young and the hair /eye colors get darker when older..he was so funny, hoping baby Luke will have blonde hair ??!! thats impossible of course, Luke has dark brown hair and eyes ..

overall, i pu ton 19 kg !! now i am back to my pre-pregnancy wt but still have that flabby tummy :-(

last year in sg, babydoll dresses / tops were in fashion and they make good sub to maternity attires..sundresses too..at least dont make you look so preggie ...

villa bali is nice but the food is soso..we tried the indian food, just passable...but the atmosphere is pretty nice...portsdown road has new restaurants now, next to colbar, a rundown restaurant famous for its curry chicken..Dempsey road also quite interesting..i like the ban &amp; jerry restaurant, big enough:-P

nisa, selamat hari raya !!

you so funny !!! got 2 girls not enough still adding some more 'girls' (the dolls) to your clan?;-P..elin must be busy crawling around now?? Luke just learnt how to flip and now busy flipping away!!do you use toothing gel on your girls ?? or do you use baby toothpaste to clean their teeth??

thanks gina.

hahahah .. ya lah, i really want to have as many 'girls' as possible .. makes elias feel outnumbered .. hahahah ..

elin is just flipping like no one's business and also pushing herself back, instead of crawling forward .. sometimes when she's in the mood, she will assume the crawling position but as soon as she wants to move her hand and leg, she will topple over but i think she'll start crawling fairly soon. she's getting a bit fed-up at just lying down or sitting in one place.

i used spiffies tooth wipes (http://www.spiffies.com) on sofi when she started having teeth. but this task, i've always left to elias because sofi will bite on his finger cos he needs to wrap the wipes around his finger in order to brush her teeth. and also, she began to think that all wet wipes had the same sweet grape flavour so she was sucking wet wipes at one point (we had to hide the wipes!). now that she's older, she's using a proper toothbrush and toothpaste (kodomo) .. so she does lick the toothpaste off from the brush but at least now she does proper brushing with a little help from us .. elias cannot wait for her to visit a dentist and had even asked his own dentist when he can bring her in .. aiyoh, she's barely 2 ah .. the dentist also tell him not to be so kancheong, as long as she's brushing at home should be ok cos these are milk teeth that will fall out anyways ..

but i have seen a tooth brush that looks like a rubber thimble but with bristles at the tip so you just slip it over your finger and brush the child's teeth with it .. maybe you might want to try this one?

cuclainne &amp; emi, happy belated Hari Raya!

emi, yep, group bookings can be made for MOF Suntec. Went there just yesterday, and it was packed, but perhaps it's cos it's a public holiday
Shall we start compiling the attendance list? Whose partners are coming as well? Mine is likely able to make it

Liz, somewhat sadly, the crashes prob add a bit of spice to F1. Speed plus risk-taking = adrenalin rush la. Prob not the safest profession to be in, but hey, when one's passionate abt something, i guess he/she can lay down his/her life for it, eh?

Mrs N, was very surprised to see Dominic with blue eyes given the whole recessive gene thingy. But now that you mention that ur maternal grandma is half-German, that explains it
Emil and I were talking about the possibility of us having a blue-eyed baby too (same as your HB deluxe...) quite impossible given that my grandparents were both from China, and seem to be pure Chinese ... but who knows eh? And yea, Emil's hair was also platinum blonde when he was a young lad, now it's brownish. He still calls it blond tho :S guess it's a dirty blonde maybe, dunno the difference :P

Georgina, i guess babydoll outfits and sundresses are always good wardrobe staples to have, versatile to use thruout the seasons of a woman's life!

cuclainne, wah looks like u're making ur time worthwhile - doll hobby, baking ... do post some pics of ur baking leh!

Going bridal package hunting this Sat with Emil and my Mum. Should be interesting
From my online research, so far quite keen on The Wedding Present. Tho it's a bit steeper than other boutiques, I like the package they are offering, and I've heard / read good things about their dresses. Hope it all goes well, then one less thing to think about
Emil's leaving Singapore in about 2 weeks' time ... trying not to think too much about it at the moment tho. Don't wanna spoil the remaining time crying and moping :P

Culcuainne, WOw! U can make keuk ros! I love it! U must teach me how to make.

It is normal that Elin moves backward before crawling forward. Will be so interesting to see her doing it. kekekeke.... typical dance therapist hahahaha....

O ja Selamat Hari Raya Cul n Emi!

Aiyo! I have been eating eating eating until I v gelat! hahahaha... but I still prefer mum's home cooked food, still the best! Healthy n yummy!

Only that I feel sticky n warm! Not used to the weather!

Ok lah! GTG! Going to eat durian later. heeheehee....

Elizabeth, i got the kueh ros recipe from here - http://www.devagi.com initially i didn't know how to fry the kueh ros, i think i didn't wait for the oil to get hot enough and heat up the mould so when i dip the mould into the batter, it kind of cooked the batter a little .. but i thinned the batter a bit with water and afterwards, it was fine!

hahahah .. yes, sofi did the same .. just that she has a tendency to 'disappear' from where we've left her .. hahahah .. all of the sudden, she could be under the chair, under the table or next to the front door ..

Happy Hari Raya to emi and maplehue!!!

Hmm… wonder why many ang mos wish for blond hair and blue eyes…

georgina gd that you’ve lost it all despite not bf-ing… flabby tummy need to work out I guess? Do stomach crunches?

Oh the new restaurant at portsdown is called cicada… haven’t been there but saw it when we went to colbar sometime ago… I like that area, just pretty inconvenient w/out a car.

I went to look for evening wear for my sis’ wedding yesterday, at first wanted to rent from maternity exchange but the dresses either look like my normal black dress or make me look ultra-lumpy. Was so depressing… some more not cheap to rent for 4 wks, ranges from $70+ to $150… in the end, ended up buying an empire cut dress from a normal shop selling evening wear at Marina Square, only $128 and can wear now and after delivery.

Heh.. clean baby’s teeth? I dunno how man… can’t imagine what I would do if I get bitten during cleaning, throw a tantrum?? I remember my mom using this sweetish liquid to rub on the gums… dunno wat its called.

I’ve seen those type of slip on bristles that cuclainne mentioned too…

mrs n having a blue-eyed ancestor on ur part explains a lot! Does your cousin’s daughter still have blue eyes?

I’m coming to 25 wks now – that’s either end of 5th month or beginning of 6th right?

We’ve got a top contender for the name (so far the only one that we can both agree on) but hb doesn’t want to announce it till bb is born. Maybe he wants to see if he can change his mind later…lol… I hope it wouldn’t give bb an identity crisis!! Have to think of Chinese name now… that’s a bigger headache cuz my Chinese is so bad!

Is your pain getting better now?

cuclainne ah… now I understand the wigs
and know wat kueh ros is… have eaten it but never knew the name… I always feel guilty eating a few pieces cuz I can see all the oil collecting on the paper!!

The story of sofi running off with the cookies is really funny! I can imagine a mini cookie monster!

glympse how did BS hunting go? Any success? I’ve heard gd comments abt TWP too.

Keep that chin up! It’s hard not to be sad abt Emil’s departure I know, but do look on the positive side and see the light at the end of the tunnel!

liz enjoy the makan!! Bon appétit!

Sigh.. went to cut and perm my hair yesterday. The cut was ok but the perm din turn out as i expected.. now dunno wat to do w my hair!! It looks like a mop!

i've finally unwrapped my doll and have taken a few photos of her wearing the different wigs .. now she's permanently displayed on my work table at home.

sofi came in this morning and was staring at her so i held the doll in my hand and asked her to touch it .. gently! hahahaah .. at first she was a bit apprehensive, was only stroking the doll's hand but after that she was touching the hair, the face, checking if the doll was wearing any undies, etc .. hahahah .. in the end, she grabbed the doll from my hand - so much for her being scared of dolls and all .. i asked if she wanted one and she said yes! oops!

i have another one arriving through the mail in the next few days - can't wait! but in the meantime, shall have to buy a cheaper doll for sofi.

hello girls... sorrylah ..so busy in HK. heheh will be meeting Hernie tomorrow finally BUt still have not heard from Liz. SO, LIZ call us if you read this.

Anyways. Glympse.. sounds good. Just booklah, can or not?.. Me and chris coming...
Its hard fr me to book from here.. and please do post the addy and time afterwards, if you dont mind

Thanks darling...

To everyone and the good wishes... Thank you so much for that.. Thanks to RAYA in SG, i have gained like 10 kilos I feel within 3 days! heheheh

later!

de_luxe, wow - just 15 more weeks to go. from now on, the time will just fly by and before you know it, it's time to go to the hospital already ..

glympse, yup i think it's alright for me and elias .. is it possible to make reservations, esp. since it's a friday night?

emi, hope you're enjoying your time in HK with maplehue ... see you on Friday yah, and i will remember to bring your bliw ..

Selamat Hari Raya Cuclainne and emi.

Today will be meeting with emi and chris in the afternoon. Finally! No news from Liz yet, was hoping that we could do yumcha tonight but then tomorrow also can.. but can't stay too long cos have to work the next day.

Liz call us when read this yeah! Either home ph or my mobile ph.

deluxe, got the pineapple tarts but they are not so good anymore. all mashed up. i was devastated and jeff was cute la. He tried to make me feel better by eating the mashed tarts with a spoon and said it still taste the same. Ha.
How are you? Are your feet sore? my sis used to have sore feet when she was pregnant. They were swollen too. Wow...how time flies, you must big now already. whats wrong with your perm? i can imagine you with a curly hair..FUN and cute!

mrs.n, We had black rain last night, luckily no typhoon as expected. There was a warning level 1 when we were in Macau a couple of days ago but it headed to Taiwan instead so that was good.
glad to know that dominic is sleeping well. jeff had blonde hair too when he was younger but turned darker afterwards. As for his blue eyes, he still has them. They are still blue and even sometimes more blue at certain time of the day. How is your pain? Shoo pain shoo!

Cuclainne, finally you got your doll!? Ha. So funny la. Now that sofi likes to play with it, i guess you must buy one for her. You dont want her to be playing with yours do you?
I love kueh ros. But after the mashed kueh tart, there is no way I'll ask my mom to send me the kueh ros. Confirm will turn into sawdust!
Hey, did you and elias wear matching baju raya?

glympse, have you bought your wedding band yet? cheer up and try not to focus on emil's departure ok. i know it is hard but just remind yourself that the distance will only bring you guys closer soon. I think almost all of us here have gone through LDR before and we are here for you.

No..haven't heard from chris for sometime now.. Hope she and gaute are okay.
Wonder about Mittens too. She has certainly 'disappeared'.

Ok..gtg now. Trying to get rid of this sickening cold before emi and chris come.

Have fun meeting up in Sg girls!

xoxo

Emi n Malpehue, I am sick last night and today and threw up today. Flying off tomor to HK. Sorry been sleeping the whole day, hopefully I'm well tomor when in HK. Where n what time are u guys meeting? I have to watch what I eat. SIGH! I will call u malpehue when I'm in HK. Emi, I dun hav eyr no. I guess i contact via malpehue.

maplehue, yes i got my dolly .. she's so purty! hahahaha .. either today or tomorrow, another dolly will arrive through the post, can't wait .. just now at lunch, i went to Toys R Us to buy Sofi a barbie doll .. took a while because this mommy just couldn't decide which one to get .. mainly because i felt like buying one for myself too .. hahahaha ..

so sayang that your hari raya kueh didn't arrive in good condition .. i know you were looking forward to it.

no time to buy baju kurung or even to go to the bazaar .. i was occupied with making kueh only .. don't laugh but i went hari raya visiting in my office clothes attire .. yup! when i moved home last year, i gave away most of my clothes which included ALL of my baju kurung - elias told me to shrink my three wardrobe full to only one. this was supposed to be the first hari raya since i got married that i wasn't pregnant and able to 'glamour' a bit but end up zilch .. hai ..

hope you get well soon, girl ..

elizabeth, take care of yourself arh .. how to enjoy hols if you're feeling sick .. rest and pace yourself ok ..

Oh no Liz...Sorry to know that you are sick. Did you eat something? I hope you'll feel better soon. Emi and Chris are here with us now. Chatting with Jeff and talking about the ships out there.
What time are you arriving tomorrow? I think we wont have time to meet for yum cha cos they stop serving yum cha at 4pm. Dinner will be better but see how you feel okay. Take care and call me ok.

Cuclainne, I want to see your doll! Attach a picture soon ok
My Mom so sweet..she send another batch of kueh raya but this one is the 'bantal peluk saloma'. I just got them!! and just in time for emi and chris. AT least got kueh raya to put on the table la. hee.

What about the girls? Do they have matching baju raya?

maplehue, will need to shrink it to size to upload here but i will try tonight ..
yay, got kueh raya then finally feels like raya, right?

no lah, i decided not to dress the girls in baju raya this year because it'll be too warm for elin and sofi will be fidgeting here and there in it .. they both wore dresses. later i post pictures of them two ..

hi cuclainne,
can't wait to see the pics!
i agree with you, baju kurung for the kids is just too hot for them and uncomfortable. dresses are better in my opinion.
its almost midnight and 4 of us just got home. now the 3 of them, jeff, chris and emi are watching chinese ghost/vampire movie on dvd(you know the jumping vampire). Im too timid to watch la! eventhough it can be quite funny but still the face is scary. im not going to watch especially when i know i'll be alone for 3 days when jeff is away this week..

marge how are you? hope your flu is gone now.

hehehahah.... so funny that both me and hernie are chatting in here from the same place? Liz.... u morning sickness issit?hmmmmm

yeah please call hernie... we will be waiting.. thinking of Victoria peak tomorrow.

talk later girls ..its 1am. hernie and jeff is already asleep and we are watching tv and online... how bizzarre....

Emi n Hernie, thank God that I'm better today. Throw up again in the night. No lah. I think too much of heaty food. Hopefully will b fine today. Now at the airport, waiting to catch the 8.30am flight. Reaching HK at 1215. will call once we reach hotel. if 4pm yum chai where? ok till then!

Im alright oredi except that my sense of smell seems weak. Hardly can smell or 'taste' my food proper. Well, hopefully it will come back gradually.

Hey Maplehue and Emi, so nice to hear from both of u from HK and with Liz on the plane now, Geezzz, seems abit unreal isnt it?!! Have fun and eat more authentic cantonese food!

Cuclainne, hello!!! Still baking or stop oredi?
yes me too, would like to see ur girls pretty pictures. Baju raya looks nice but to hot under the sun!!

Me went to Sg Day event last sat, gosh, so damn crowded with queues everywhere and singlish buzzing around too, truely singaporean 'land'. We had a good time there esp with PCK and his entertaining 'patterns', funny funny as ever

Hellooos to the rest of the gals too, hope u have a good day!!!

argh .. my doll has rashes .. well, sort of. i bought some clothes online for her and they arrived yesterday - so i got all excited and was trying the clothes on her and taking photos .. when i took off the last outfit, a leopard print top with black lace tights, she was covered in patches of red on her legs. tried wiping it off but wouldn't come off at all .. so i googled and found out that certain clothes will stain her .. argh! now i have to slather Oxy10 on her legs, sun her so that the bleaching will begin and hope for the best

maplehue, was at spotlight last night and came across some nice fabrics for baju kurung and kids' dresses - went back at lunchtime today to grab a few .. having sale la! hahahaha ..

hey i remember those vampire movies .. not scary at all la, pretty funny actually ..
so if you're not watching with them, what were you doing - still can hear background music, right?

emi, enjoy HK with maplehue and Liz ..

Liz, glad to hear that you're feeling better .. just in time for yum cha

hi margiel, that must be hard - not being able to smell or taste your food .. hope that it'll soon be back to normal.

no la, no more baking for now .. although i do have the intention of making pineapple tarts (my first solo attempt) .. i bought the pineapple paste already so there's no looking back, just have to figure out when i can do it ..

tonight i'm going to ask elias to bring out my sewing machine .. wanna see if i can whip something up on the muslin cloth first before i try it on the more expensive materials.

Hey girls! I´m Priscilla. Gosh I haven´t been here for the longest time that I couldn´t remember my username and password! Geez had to try 3 times! Finally got it...

Anyways, just short update. I´m married to a German, and have been in Germany (stuttgart) for 2 years now...working as an English teacher at Wallstreet Institute, for 7 mths now. Very interesting and I get paid to talk! Cool job.

Adjusting quite well to Germany, but still get the blues about missing friends´weddings cos I´m not in Singapore. Other than that, life´s been pretty good....Hubby´s having his super difficult German tax law exams over the next few days and our past 1 year was basically him trying to cope with working and studying at the same time.

Are most of you in Singapore or overseas? Who´s in Singapore and who´s overseas? If overseas, where are you?

Anyways, wanna say that I´ve been popping by now and then, but the thread moves SO Fast that I find it hard to keep track to what each of you have been up to.

Ok, this is what I know...pls (anybody) update me if I need to more stuff ok? In brief of course

Deluxe - pregnant, expecting in Jan. Just went on holiday to Cambodia? Was that Cambodia or Vietnam? Looks the same to me.... Ok, I got to know about all this cos she´s on facebook too! Saw all the photos on Facebook. haaha, anybody else on facebook?

Sharon - gave birth to Dominic, using natural delivery. Baby has blue eyes and she has pain in her wrists...

Chrisl - she´s on multiply...so I know that she´s been experimenting different dishes....very hardworking girl....

Cuclainne - busy baking?!? Busy with life, work and her 2 beautiful girls.

Liz - busy with her business of ring pillows...had the luxury to go for Formula one. I saw your photos, was that on facebook too?

Ok, gotta hit the sheets now....write soon k? And yes, I do have facebook, multiply and a blogspot blog too.....so if any of you are on any of these, please let me know...so easier to keep in contact.....

hey priscilla .. how are you? it's been a super long time since you've been here..

glad to know that you've adjusted to life in germany .. and keeping yourself busy too .. will keep your mind off the blues yah ..

no longer busy baking already .. now have too much - hahahah .. so me and elias have been stuffing ourselves occasionally with the cookies.

So sorry for the delay, swamped at work, corporate tax filing deadline is coming!!!! plus balancing that with bridal package hunting, hoping to get it sorted before Emil leaves :P

Quick one about the forum outing on Fri 10 Oct, which is this Fri! I called MOF @ My Izakaya at Suntec, they said bookings on Friday not a problem.

So, let's start confirming the details ya. As follows:

Venue: MOF @ My Izakaya
Suntec City Fountain Terrace
#B1-040/041/042
Tel: 63385523

Time: 8pm

So far, here are the list of people going:

1) Sarah
2) Emil
3) Emi
4) Chris
5) Nisa
6) Elias
7) Felicia (TBC)

Anyone else? Please post by Thu 12 noon, then I'll go ahead and make reservations on Thu afternoon

Will also PM my handphone number to those going by Thu afternoon.

Big hi to all the rest!! Will do a more personalised reply when I get a breather *phew*

Going to run off to a bridal shop over lunch to take a second look at a dress that I fell in love with, see if I can replicate the look ;)

Cheers babes!