Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Just added more photos on Multiply! Realised that we haven't been taking many since Emil started his job in Singapore. Perhaps need to just take more random shots :P

tootsieroll, hi! Don't think we've "met" haha. You sound busy with the kids
Tho it's a good thing to be busy with! hehe

maplehue, glad that u and Jeff managed to get a bit of timeout to celebrate your very special day. Hopefully that small piece of choc cake will grow into something bigger if time permits? might as well go wild right? hehe...

Haha and yes, I was staying in Causeway Bay for a period (in the Excelsior Hotel, it's linked to the World Trade Centre). Was travelling back and forth HK and SG for 2 weeks at a time over a stretch of a few months. I love Causeway Bay though - like you said, got all the small quirky shops. And of cos went absolutely wild on shopping there haha. Don't find that things are a lot cheaper in HK ... tho I did manage to get a very good buy on an imitation Bottega bag that almost everyone said looked like the real thing (it cost only S$60, and I absolutely loved it. Too bad it's spoilt now cos I used it too often :S).

Yea, think the Coke glasses are limited edition. Check it out: http://www.coca-colacontourglass.com/

And haha yea, u're right abt e dieting. Just gonna eat normally
Emil actually doesn't fancy girls being too slim (he thinks that the average Singaporean girl is way too skinny for his liking :P), so he doesn't want me to lose any weight for the wedding la. He said that if I wanted to lose weight, then I'd better pig out on the wedding day itself, cos he wanted to marry a wife with some meat! :S

And hey, that's e power of online community - we're in "this" together ;)

cuclainne, I wanna see more couple pics of u and Elias on multiply! :P

Haha, I've just sat Joseph down in front of the TV, and put Roisin in her vibrating rocker.....burnt out liao, and it's only 4.20pm!

Glympse: Hi hi, don't think I know you, I'm busy with kids, very stressful, since the older one who's 2 years plus is at an age where he loves to play and play and wants 'Mummmeeeeeee!!' all the time. I've also got a 4.5mth old, who, well, like all babies, also loves attention
Mummmeeeeeee peng san liao! Where's your husband from?

Cuclainne: Wahhh, petai, I'm starting to drool now, haven't eaten petai in 2-3 years at least! Love sambal ikan bilis petai, lots of bawang! What's your multiply site? Mine's sgmum.blogspot.com, although haven't updated much recently.....no time lah! I'm still breastfeeding Roisin, I know what you mean about stressful!

723593.jpg
Roisin

tootsieroll good to see you come by! hey nice to 'type' it over as a form of therapy after all those feeding, nappy changing, playing, screaming hehehee

Im better now Maple
thanks! kekekek yeah..rather 'aunty' like that way when i was scrapping the paint LOL but now i'm without it already, definitely looks much better LOL
hey Cantonese is my dialect lah! you can also say 'duo jeah' (thanks) I'll try to put some kitty pictures up at multiply later

yeah i have a little natural curl but after i do rebonding, wah my hair silky machiam like a silky terrier LOL hahah that was a few years back lah..then i did the japanese perm thingy (when i went back Sg) and now im thinking of rebonding again leh..some ppl say that women are vain and fickle minded LOL i think it's indeed so ;P

wah the way you say shopping in HK is like better than sg leh! I must add Hk to my 'to travel' destination list now! heheh sure will not be paiseh one lah! We'll give you a tinkle should we go next time! LOL i want to try their wantons!!!!!

we have chosen grey & red outside. Overall grey but red for the doors and such..actually we didn't really choose it lah..My FiL bought extra paint as it's on special price (they're repainting their hse too)..so now it seems like we're having a 'sister' house next to them LOL

Ok will go get a fast food dinner ready now - frozen pizza! ;P Hope you're having a nice time unpacking the stuffs in your new apt

Mrs.N....is that true? Petai is good for the system? Never heard of it! Can you get petai there? Can your in laws tahan the smell?

Glad to see that you are almost packed! Don't forget to bring some cookies too incase you get hungry in the middle of the night. I love the shortbread cookies there. So 'buttery'! Scrum. Your parents must be there now..You must be happy! ANY GOODIES from Sg?

We'll be moving in today(Saturday). Jeff is packing the suitcase now so we can go soon. I am too tired to do anything. Excited to be moving in but the the thought of having to "work" is making me a little lazy la. heheh. Must keep thinking of the seaview la to motivate me.

Cuclainne, I can't believe that Elias can eat sambal belacan! Can any of the other hubbies here do that? Oh my gosh, you have certainly 'converted' him into an Asian la girl. What about the smell? Jeff cannot tahan the smell so there is no way i can bakar the belacan at home. I love sambal belacan with fresh cucumber. And you can eat a whole bunch of petai some more. kekeke. Did you eat them raw? How do you know which is with the ulat and which one is not?

Hi Glympse, yes yes, i agree with Emil. Too skinny like a stick is not too good nor too attractive. Must have curves a bit la. hee.
More sexy!

Have you guys looked around and found a bridal place for the wedding? You guys must be super busy and when will Emil's family fly in?

I've invited you on Multiply but dont know whether it went through. I had to do it twice. So far, had to have the gals here to invite me instead cos most of my Invites didnt work.

I'll check the cola glasses for sure. Thanks for the link girl.

Tootsieroll, your little one is so cute! Look at those tiny fingers!! Adorable. Little babies move me in a certain way that I cannot really explain. Do you have Multiply too? So we can see more of your darlings' pictures! Take care and hope you are resting enough even with looking after your babies.

Wah Chris, i didnt know rebonding can make curly hair straight maciam silk terrier! How long does it stay like that? I heard that you can't really wash your hair after you bond. Is tat right? and expensive too right? Can pengsan if have to maintain every month.

Ok 'duojeh' for teaching me another word. Now I can ask you to translate a few words for me right if i need help?

I haven't really done any personal shopping here but from what I've seen, it has great potential to burn my pocket. Lots of unique clothes and nice handbags and the shoes. Very intresting!....I wonder whether they are comfy though. Don't know whether can bargain or not.

Glympse, can we bargain in Hong Kong esp, at Causeway Bay? And do you know where I could find the LV shop? Just want to look see.

Chris, i love the red color. Have you watched Nottinghill? The door is red, SO pretty. I told Jeff, i would love to have a pink door if one day we own a landed property but he just rolled his eyes. Surprisingly, he doesnt mind red and he also actually likes dark grey or charcoal color. Good idea to kinda "link" the 2 houses together..
to have some unity.

Take pictures okay and I look forward to seeing your kitten! I love cats but there is no way we can have one. I'm thinking of buying a small aquarium with little guppies but we'll see.

Hope the pizza was good. I love pizza with EXTRA cheese and a little dash of tabasco. Now hungry already. Time to check out and have breaky and then into our new home...

ps: shower cap or not, i think you still look pretty la..

glympse: there are some couple pictures of us in there but you'll just have to trawl the older albums la .. nowadays, the focus is on the kids .. no one really wants to see old us in there .. hahahha ..

tootsieroll: roisin is quite big now .. how old is she? elin is 6 months old today and she's about the same size as my colleague's 9-month old .. hahahah .. she is also bigger than sofi when she was that age ..

my ID is familjenmartenson

chrisl: are you doing up a traditional norwegian home? in sweden, it's usually a red stugan (wooden home) - me and elias were thinking that if we have enough dough, we would like to build a stugan here in singapore and have our neighbours think we're weird .. hahahah .. complete with swedish flag in the front.

maplehue: i didn't convert him la - he just needed a little 'push' in that direction only .. hahahah ..

i don't eat them raw - usually with sambal cos then got the spicy factor la .. ummm .. sedap!

i rebonded my hair before i went to sweden and it's still pretty straight now which is an achievement since my natural hair is pretty stubborn and wavy. yes, i cannot wash my hair for 2-3 days afterwards but now i wash every day.

girl, if you manage to find the LV store, remember to check the prices and let me know arh .. heheheh ..

nisa, u free this afternoon, say around 130pm? sms me your address if you are free, my mobile is 90107838, me very suako, tillnow still dont know how to PM!!!

Nisa: Roisin's 4.5 months now.....on wednesday she was 6.84kg. Seems that her weight is slowing down, but I think she's quite a big girl. I just compared her with Joseph at the same age....Joseph was just a hefty lump

Chrisl: Hahaa, you're right....I 'type' out my stress!! Quite therapeutic I suppose, considering Joseph just did a poo on the floor! Luckily it was easily scoopable!

Maplehue: I have multiply, but haven't done anything with it. Better to look at my blogspot - sgmum.blogspot.com, although I haven't updated that in a while either.

tootsieroll, Roisin is beautiful!! What does her name mean? And yea, u sound like a super busy Mum! hehe... but the kids sound lovely too
Actually, I'm engaged to be married, HTB is a Swede

Chrisl, was looking at ur wedding album on Multiply, and realised that I think I know your Singapore wedding solemniser - Mrs Chia Swee Tin right? She's my Mum's very very good friend :P

maplehue, yea we just signed the contract with Marriott for our wedding banquet. Taking a slight respite for now before we go hunting for bridal gowns :P Yea e planning is gg to be interesting cos we're hving a Singapore banquet and Swedish celebration one week apart haha. But it'll be fun
Emil's family will prob fly in 2-3 weeks before the wedding. It's their first time to Asia I think, so believe they'd like to hang ard and take the oppty to tour e area

And no, unfortunately Emil's not part of the sambal-eating gang :P

In Causeway Bay, yea some shops u can bargain, some nope. Just gotta ask them whether they go by listed prices or otherwise
tho I've found that most of the shops have fixed pricing. The LV shop may be at Lee Gardens (that place is full of branded shops
).

Speaking of pizza - Emil ate 6 slices of pizza at one go by himself on Sat ... bleah :P

cuclainne, went trawling thru ur Multiply site but cldn't find e older albums tho :S where are they located? I kaypoh lah hehehehe.

hi gals!
cuclainne, you mean you put the petai in the sambal when you are 'tumising' the sambal? don't they get hard when you do that? kudos to elias for being so adventurous. i wonder how his tummy can tolerate the spice cos usually the ang mohs don't have such a natural born tough tummy when it comes to spicy food.

looking forward to see your pics on multiply esp. your rebonded hair!
but as far as i know, your hair is already straight? no?

no worries, will let you know about the LV bags when i find them. I feel like buying a big monogram bag la so i can dump everything in it but then I just bought a big work bag(actually it is a diaper bag) from coach a few months ago for work so feel a little apprenhensive about the LV. Maybe i should wait...

Tootsieroll, i've been to your blog and I must say i had a lovelyyyy time reading it! Thank you! Roisin and Joseph are so cute and I like the pics! Now i know who I am chatting with.

Glympse, good luck in your weding prep. Lots of interesting/fun/hard/ decisions to make but still good decisions to make together with Emil. Marriot sounds good!
What is your weding theme? Sorry a little kepo la. heheh. Have you guys decided on where Emil's parents will stay? Lost to do yeah. so it is their first time in Asia? I hope they can tahan the hot weather. When Jeff's parents first came to Asia, his Dad was not doing so well with the heat.

i haven't been to lee gardens or maybe i have but just didnt realize it. ha. Will keep a look out next time when I am there. I am just curious to know how much they are selling the lv bags. I like the monogram series but i also like the white multicolore!

Huh? 6 slices!! Thats a lot of cheese!!! Jeff will land in hospital for sure cos he is dairy intolerant....and no sambal either for him.

Yalah Cuclainne, more pics!!!heee

Hi hi to the rest of you here! I should get back to my unpacking now. We have about 8-10 more to go. Jeff is taking time-out at the swimming pool and i am g-chatting with emi now. Must stop soon cos she is also at work now.

maple, no real wedding theme yet haha. The hotel has 3 sets of decorative themes, we're probably going with either the gold one or white one (there's a pink/red one, but it's way toooo pink/red for our comfort :P). I'm actually looking forward more to the Swedish celebration cos it's more informal and cosy. We're prob going to have it in the woods where Emil's parents church is (the place is like a Texas ranch, full of wood and cowboy hats and all haha), and my Singaporean family & friends will be staying in the wooden guest cabins. Shld be interesting
As for Singapore, we're sourcing among family and friends for spare rooms / rooms for rent. So far we have some options that look affordable, promising and comfortable, so very thankful for that. 3 weeks in Singapore hotels would be a killer budget-wise! Esp since Emil has 5 siblings :P Yeah not sure how they'll take to the weather haha. I can imagine they may be like Jeff's dad :P How was you and Jeff's wedding like?

Jeff is dairy-intolerant? Oh dear ok ... so no pizza or milk or cheese or ice cream for him huh? My brother's the same ... but sometimes he just goes for the pizza anyway (and lives to regret of course haha).

All the best with the unpacking!

Hello all, thank u for the beautiful compliments at my mulitply, yup I made the 3 slideshows myself, will upload the last one soon. Have not gotten my wedding pics from my photographer cum friend yet, that will take quite some time for him to edit the lightings and effects b4 sending over, hence i tot i might as well load up few from my camera for u gals to see heeeee.... Ya lah, im equally excited too.
Lately my internet speed has slow down soooooooooooo much, ah well, thanks to Ralf, he exceeded the internet limit so now it can take ages to upload or download stuffs, have to wait for the new month to resume the speed again ;/

Hi glympse, I had my recent one at Marriott too, it's a small evening function of 5 tables at their Legacy suite. Who's your coordinator? Mine was Charlene and Casmin. Marriott has lots of praises for their good services and food!
Btw I bought my gown from Allure Charix, cos initially wanted to rent but found out that most bridal shop rent gowns at about $800-1200!!! Somemore for me, I only need to wear for 3hrs only, hence decided to buy my own at $699. Am still deciding to keep it or sell it away hehee... Have fun with your wedding preparations!
Oh back to your earlier question, my hubby is a German but turn Aussie after living here for many years. Quite a few of us here are with German husband hehee..

Hi Tootsieroll, your baby Roisin is so sweet and beautiful! I supposed the one with 'hairy arms' carrying Roisin is ur hubby?? lol where are u living n where is ur hubby from? I think we have not really chatted much here
Hope you have a good day with your darlings!

Hehe Cuclainne, did Sofi ask for a REAL bunny for Elin? LOL It's such a joy to see the close bonding between siblings rite. SOfi is like a BIG sister BIG hehehee..

Oh Elizaberth, glad to read towards the end that you guys manage to resolve the situation u were in. Ya, take it as a learning experience, but can understand the frustration getting things done against time and hitting walls. *Big hugs*

*Wave* Maplehue! Whats the sky like today from your window view? *kekeke* Hey good on you, with only 8-10boxes to unpack, you must be the 'chop chop' packer, when i just shifted here, I would dilly dally here and there and ended up taking months just to unpack 8 boxes LOL Now Ralf is very scared with my coming-back from a trip, cos he knows I would take LOOOOOONG time to unpack and put them away hahahaaa... so LAZY me!

Hello Mrs N, what is your latest status now? At home or at the hospital now? Hope ur finger joints are better. Ya, good luck and will keep u in prayers and thoughts always

Hehehhehe ya lah Chris, I owe u a photo, but have to delay somemore for the internet speed to resume. Rite now I cant even download my Mobtv shows..arrghhhh...... So how's ur house painting? And anymore animals around your house during this season (Summer rite? it's winter here brrr..)

Eh Emi, how's ur 2 Sg friends? Kept thinking about their Philip Island trip with the past COLD and rainy weather, hope they had some sunshine in between at the island. Catch up again.

Deluxe, how are you? Busy at work? Any morning sickness so far? GOod to see ur pic at Maplehue's multiply site

Hello! Gosh! So many posts! I dun bother to log in after work cuz i'm usually quite tired by then. Even dozed off on Friday afternoon after lunch, while proofreading an annual report. Apologies if i missed anyone's questions.

Kenna diarrhea and stomach cramps last nite so on MC today. Feeling better after seeing a doc.

margie glad everything went well for u.. haven't looked at ur pics and videos. Take ur time to unpack lah.. did u bring back lots of goodies? heehee..

I'm actually over the morning sickness already, m in the 2nd trimester now, at 15wks. But my morning sickness wasn't too bad in the first place, just nausea no throwing up and also din last very long... phew.. some gals on the motherhood forum seem to throw up all the time and can't eat a thing.

Nope, this din play any part in the decision to move back cuz we only found out a month b4 leaving, shortly after hb returned from frankfurt. Took us by surprise really. Actually timing-wise, it's not fantastic, with all the packing and moving we have to do. My mom keeps telling me not to bend too much and not to carry heavy things, but sometimes, just dun have a choice...

maple good to hear u settling well in HK. U guys are certainly settling much faster than we are! I'm sure the view is great! Just standby lots of masking tape for the typoon season
I used to live on the 31st floor in Paris too, but was in the 13th district, Chinatown, so no views, everything looked rather grey and drab. On the other hand i wouldn't have been able to afford an apt with an Effiel Tower view :p

Are u guys done with the unpacking already?

We're getting our apt keys on Wed, and having cleaners come in on thurs. But can only do the real moving over the wkend cuz the earliest that KC Dat can deliver is sat. Just bought a 2nd-hand washing machine and fridge from a guy leaving NTU for California, pretty good deal at $600 altogether for the 2 items, only 1/3 of the original prices and both are only 3 yrs old. Can't wait to settle in.. hb is in love with the balcony and keeps talking abt having a bbq and drinking his latte on the balcony... which means, we'll need to get some outdoor furniture for it too!

tootsie roll nice to see u back here! roisin is so cute!!

glympse i've got 1 of those glasses too, cuz hb went to get himself a big mac meal on sat. Guess i need to buy a meal one of these days too, having just 1 glass seems so odd!

Din hear anything abt Botak Jones closing down.. maybe just a particular branch? I tot he was expanding rather quickly.

tootsieroll: have you started potty training joseph? i tried to teach sofi but she ends up deceiving us by saying that she wants to pee, but once we take the diaper off, she'll rush into the shower instead so she can play with water .. argh!

glympse: when you go to the photos page, click on any of the thumbnails there to see the pictures in that particular folder la ..

maplehue: i don't know because i don't cook it, i just know how to eat only! hahahaha ..

actually i don't know how elias managed to get a palate for all things spicy - he has a sensitive stomach, believe me but he can't seem to stop himself when it comes to sambal and chillies .. the hotter, the better.

no la, my hair is naturally wavy but before we left for sweden, i had it cut into a somewhat short bob because elin kept pulling my hair .. so i decided to get it rebonded as well so i don't have to deal with blow-drying it straight on my vacation .. hahahah ..

oops, i spent lots of dough this month on bags!!!! i saw this lady carry a Gucci bag which i absolutely must have but it's 2006 collection so i went looking on ebay and someone was selling one .. just my luck that she accepted my offer (retail price in stores was about 1.8K) so now i have it .. and i also bought a kate spade bag and two etienne aigner bags - phew! lucky elias didn't say anything .. hahahahah ..

hehehe .. i will try to upload more pictures but no couple pictures la .. don't know why .. hahahah ..

margiel: hahahah .. nope, it wasn't a real bunny .. since sofi has mr teddy, elin has a bunny rabbit to keep her company and on that morning, the rabbit was left in the playpen so sofi came into the bedroom to collect bunny so she could bring it into the living room for elin ..

yes, such a lucky thing that she is able to accept the big sister role rather quickly .. otherwise we'll have a big 'war' on our hands.

de_luxe: you are so lucky that your morning sickness was pretty mild - i remember when i was having it with sofi, my stepMIL scared me by saying that some ladies have morning sickness for the full 9 months .. i was so terrified because images of me spending all hours of day, bent over the toilet bowl kept appearing in my mind .. thankfully for both girls, my MS was only in the 1st trimester .. hehehe ..

yah, must take it easy but sometimes it's easier said than done right - we moved home last year when i was 6 months preggers .. it definitely was not easy!

botak jones closing down? but they just opened a new outlet at the new kopitiam near my mom's place .. wah, the queues are so long but my sister very clever hor .. she will call ahead and then 15 mins later, she will go down to eat .. hahahah ..

cuclainne that's so funny of sofi.. but i'm sure frustrating for u parents
my fren told me that to toilet train her boy, she let him wander ard at home w/out any diapers on. If he can't make it to the toilet in time, she'll just wipe the floor. Heard also that some childcare centres help with toilet training.

Yah i heard too that morning sickness can last for the full 9 mths, a gal on the motherhood forum is like that.. she's nearing the end of the pregnancy already!

I've never been to botak jones, have made a mental note to try if i ever go past one. Somehow it's just never at the places i go to!

de_luxe: she does have a potty and when she wants to go, she will stand near the door and say she wants to go. most of the time, she does sit down on the potty first and then makes a beeline for the shower cubicle .. now if she poos and cannot make it in time for the potty, she will do her business and then scream at us that there is poo on the floor and she will go eeeeee, yuck! hahahah ..

yes, the centre is going to help her with the toilet training - just as soon as they can get her to stop sucking on her pacifier and giving up her teddy bear .. the teacher was making progress with that actually (she confiscates the pacifier and teddy in the morning and sofi won't have it for the entire day) but in the evening, me and elias usually just gives in because she'll be ranting and crying in the car if she doesn't get them .. so much for that!

pity those ladies - morning sickness is not a fun thing to have ..

well, the food is not that fantastic, i think so you're not missing much .. heheheh .. but the servings are big though ..

margiel, cool! My coordinator is Casmin too! Yea she's been very nice and accommodating, really enjoy working with her, which is impt
Did you do a 9-course dinner? The cosy function idea sounds great though. Sometimes am so tempted to just abscond to Sweden and get married there - simpler, less frills, more cosy. But yea, gotta honour parents
Thanks for letting me know re the gown - $699 is a great price! Was it made to measure? I'm thinking of getting my own gown too, reason being that I'm holding a Swedish celebration too, so would wanna bring the gown over ... at the moment i'm looking at The Wedding Present, its bridal package includes rented made-to-measure wedding gown and evening dress, and a purchased tea dress (which I thought of bringing to Sweden - over there, wedding gowns are more like dresses, they don't really do the whole ankle-length thing). Could be a gd idea to buy a gown after all
Haha so many European hubbies
How did u 2 meet?

de_luxe, haha yeah, agreed that the glasses shld be collected in pairs
am sure that ur HB won't mind buying another meal hehe. And yea, it's prob just a branch that closed down. Had read somewhere that someone had gone to a Botak Jones branch, only to find that another shop was there in its stead. He prob expanded to someplace better (like near cuclainne's mum! :P).

cuclainne, that's what I did, but only found 2 albums of your daughters la ... none of u and Elias :P

haha have you ladies gone to New York before? There's this factory outlet there called Woodbury, bags like Coach go for more than 50% discount!

Potty training sounds somewhat scary tho :S

hi gals!

glympse....wah the white room sounds appealing to me. can have a theme like in a dream, on clouds...etc. The pink/red sounds good too but if did not do it right, it could look a little 'cina' which is not bad at all if thats what you want. Woah...the swedish celebration sounds cool.
must take pics alright! good thing you have family members to host emil's family. 3 weeks in sg will definitely cost a lot!

We had 2 celebrations too. One in Sg and one in canada. We had a wedding dinner in SG and another celebration in Canada. Took studio pictures in Sg(which I haven't really put on the multiply site) and the 2nd day after we got married, we both moved to Korea. Very tired like want to pengsan!

And yeah..Jeff is dairy intolerant so it is even difficult for me to cook certain food like pasta with mushroom sauce cos it is cream base sauce. I have stopped eating ice cream now cos I feel so bad when he'll taste it and get sick afterwards. But for pizza...so hard to stop so when I have pizza, i'll give him the crust and sometimes we would order a huge pizza with no cheese on half side. The waiters will look a little puzzled when we request for that. ha.

Hee Thanks for the wish. This morning we unpacked 2 more boxes and now I am down with a 'cold' I think must be the dust la. A few more to go!

Marge, waving back at you *waveee*. Heh.
We had a little storm last night and I got a little kanchiong but it was ok. It stopped after a few hours. We have no choice la girl cos this apt is a little like a shoebox! Tiny rooms, tiny everything. Haiz..I tell myself must be stay positive. Inhale the "re"....and exhale the "lax" all the time!!!
kao_dizzy.gif
So must get rid of the boxes quickly or I'll wont get too grumpy. Heheh.
But in general I think i am a chop chop person when it comes to unpacking..i know sometimes that drives jeff a little crazy. Heheh.
Wah,,, you are definitely a slower unpacker than me girl. I cannot wait so long cos I am afraid whats in my bags or boxes will turn mouldy. Kekeke. So what does Ralf do everytime when you guys come back from a trip? Did he unpack for you?

I think that was very wise of you to buy your wedding gown...are you sure you want to sell it? Don't you want to pass it on to your future daughter(if you get a girl)for her own wedding. Your dress is beautiful! Glypmse maybe you should buy too. Renting one is so dear. $800-$1200?? Pengsan!

Hi deluxe, good to know that you are over the morning sickness. The thought of having it for 9 whole months is quite scary.
Yes, we are on 31st floor and overlooking the ocean but the apartment is tiny. The condo is new and have good facilites. We had to compromise certain thing like a balcony. Jeff really wants a balcony or a roof top but so far the ones with roof top is so far away from where we work and is very old and the ones with balcony is not even a balcony. So small, cant even put a sun chair for jeff to sun bake and also older. It has the old building smell. we've seen the Bel Air which costs over US$4000 a month for a 2 bedroom. they are bigger apartments but they all so ex. So after weighing the pros and cons, this one seems the best. At least he has the swimming pool/deck downstairs to sun bake all he want.
What a coincidence that you've lived on a 31st floor too in Paris. Im sure grey or not, you still enjoyed the fresh air right. The apts in Paris are pretty small too yeah.
We have a few more boxes to unpack Deluxe. 10-12 boxes are in one room to be brought to work. I had a little meltdown today cos felt a little overwhelmed but feeling better already. Just got a little tired plus after a brief swim and staying under the shade by the swimming pool, i got myself another patch of allergy reaction on my inner thigh and it was stinging and burning so much.
i guess It doesn't matter whether I am in the shade or not, it is the darn UV rays that is doing it and I guess i was in denial and wanted to try. Luckily i had some medicines left from the Sg doctor so now it is subsiding.

Congratulations on finally getting a key soon!! I hope the unpacking part wont be too tiring for you. Maybe you can folow Marge and take your time to unpack yeah. Like what your mom says, Dont bend too much. So Bertil is already planning for a bbq and drinking session with his buddies at the balcony. I know jeff would love to have a balcony like that...WELL,I told him we can always move again after 2 years!
kao_scared.gif

Good deal on the fridge and washing machine.
What about sofas and dining set? The last time, Ntu only provided us with beds. Not even an oven!

Cuclainne, you funny la when you said you dont cook it and you only eat it. heheh. you said elias has sensitive tummy? So you mean he has to go to the bathroom everytime he eats spicy food or get a heartburn cos this is what jeff gets when he eats spicy food. The heartburn is the one that worries me.

your hair at your wedding looks straight to me..the fringe like the silk terrier type like how chris describes it when she rebonded her hair. Heheh. Did you bond your hair for your wedding? Dont you gals get headache after rebonding your hair?? Maybe i should try! Very tempted!

oh gosh cuclainne, you sure did spend lots of dough on bags this month! 3 bags in one month!! dont get me wrong, i'm all on your side cos i believe when it comes to bags, women do not need to justify to themselve what more to anyone. heheh, Moi love bags!!!
This morning when we were unpacking. jeff pointed to me that the big box has nothing but just my bags. Heheh.
I just gave him the i love you look la. I like some of the gucci bags, the big ones are nice but i'm in love with LV and coach la. I am thinking of getting the LV galliera or the GM Neverfull. yours is MM right? Also thinking maybe should try Miu miu, the big white bag but not sure.

So any improvement on Sofi's potty training?? My sis used the pampers pull ups that look like panties so the girls could pull it down when they go to the toilet and at the same time act as pampers for any accidents.

What a small world Gympse and Marge, can't believe you guys share the same wedding co-ordinator!

Where is this Botak Jones located exactly? I have never heard of it before. I asked Jeff this morning about it and insisted that he should know about it but when he said no, i just cracked into laughters.

Glympse, You should be able to see cuclainne's wedding pics there. I havent checked your site nisa for quite sometime, maybe you have accidentally removed it la girl. no?

Mrs. N, HOW ARE YOU and where are you?? Any good news yet?? Hope you are well. You are in my thoughts..

Liz, how is everything, hope you are not working too much yeah. Rest when you are tired. How is your garden?

Chris, how is the house project? How is your neck?? You must also rest when you can and take pictures after you have painted the 'accent' wall ok!

Glympse, Yes ive been to New York but did't go to the factory outlet. I should have!!! NY is quite near from montreal when i lived at one time. Dont really like the hustle and bustle...But where do i end up now.. Hong Kong!! also busy!

Ok gals talk soon...now want to take a nap. hugzzzzzzzzzzz and sorry for the long post girls.

maplehue: sensitive when the food he downs just doesn't agree with him - like the first time he went to india la .. but i heard that almost everyone will come down with 'delhi belly' on their first trip there - don't know how true is that. but so far, no probs when he eats the spicy stuff here ..

nope, i didn't rebond my hair but maybe the mak andam worked her magic that day so that's why it looks straight .. hahahah .. no headaches for me! i hate having my hair dyed because i usually will get headache afterwards, maybe it's the smell from the dye ..

oh, have to correct you because it's 4 bags, not 3 .. heheheh .. plus i was looking at more bags but then i decided that i've done enough damage as it is to my bank account this month so must restrain myself a little from now on .. hehehe ..

heheheh - you also love bags, right? when i moved home last year, i gave away most of my stuff - bags, clothes, shoes because elias says i have way too much!! little did he know that i was just clearing the old stuff to make way for the new! heheheh ..

mine is GM i think - that's the biggest right? i'm saving for a chanel bag but at the rate they keep increasing prices (they have done so twice this year alone), i don't think i can make it la .. my colleague told me her chanel 2.55 was about 2.5K when she bought it but now it's more than 4K .. faint! i cannot justify paying that much for a bag leh, no matter how much i want it.

we have those pull-ups as well but sofi is very naughty - she knows how to pull down her pants and take off her diapers, pull-ups or other. argh! and then she'll take off running, butt naked leh .. have to chase her before she makes a mess. a few weeks ago, me and elias were very tired and decided to sleep in just a bit longer - this girl has poo in her diaper, and since she cannot wake us up, she took off her pants, placed it next to daddy (i wonder how come elias cannot smell it and wake up la), took a new diaper and then came to wake me up. i woke up, seeing her like that and woke elias - lucky he missed her opened diaper when he got up from bed .. and now elin is doing the same too - she'll scratch at the tape and pull it off the diaper, and then she'll give you that sweet innocent smile .. hmm, my girls are really cheeky!

no lah, i haven't really been on multiply all that much lately - last i checked, the photos were still there ..
maybe it's the settings hor .. will check when i get home ..

maplehue, haha yea, i'm quite keen on the white or gold one (the gold one looks really opulent, reminds me of Egyptian princess haha....). Def don't want 'cheena' theme though ... the moment Emil and I saw the pink/red theme, we were like, "No way!". Think my friends would faint too, cos I'm not a girlie girl. Or maybe I shld surprise all of them by having the whole place decked out in pink heh heh heh. Yea can't believe the wedding is still one year away! Patience ..... :D

Wah, you guys moved so soon after getting married? Kudos for being able to handle so much change at one shot!! Know it mustn't have been easy. Did you two know that you had to move? Emil's colleague found out that he had to move from Australia to Singapore one day before his wedding :S

Haha pizza without cheese? That must have been interesting alright
Did you try some? How was it? Maybe can get Jeff to eat prata ... prob a tastier alternative to pizza w/o cheese :P though not sure if HK has prata ... :X

Yea now I'm tempted to buy the dress. It's just weird though that buying a wedding gown would actually be cheaper than renting one. Just doesn't seem logical :S wedding makes stuff topsy turvy :P but yea, don't really feel keen on keeping the gown after the wedding though. Somehow doubt my daughter wld wanna wear my dress ... dunno how crazy the fashion wld be 20 years later :P

Hope your allergy has cleared! It's no fun

And yea, HK is crazier than NY I think ... haha but well, u gotta get Jeff to take u to NY again and go visit the factory outlet ... I bought a total of 3 bags, 1 for me, 2 for my friends per their special requests heh heh.

cuclainne, maybe it's the permissions settings on the album, depending on what our 'relationship' is. Think we're set as 'online buddies' for now, so maybe I don't have the clearance to view the wedding albums

And yea, delhi belly is pretty common for ppl who go to India. I went there before, we were briefed to only use bottled mineral water, even to brush teeth with. Thankfully didn't get food poisoning. But had friends who went there recently for a missions trip in early July, up till now their bellies are still acting up :S lethal stuff!

Thks gals for the encouraging words.
The customer didn't realise that we went all the way there until she read her email after her wedding. So funny! But she appreciates it and will recommend to her friends for sure.

I have been busy but now a bit less orders. I suppose it will slow down again after 8.8.2008. I bet over the country there are weddings on that day. Too bad! I will be in Germany for a workshop to see it.

Jeroen is still working on the kitchen. It is a real mess and dirty. We took some photos of the "demolishing" kitchen but just have no time to put up at multiply.

Chrisl, I guess yours will be up soon n ready.

Glympse, I bought my gown too. I got it from Allure and brought it all the way back here in a suitcase. The gown is $599. They even alter for you but of course extra cost. I have to alter it again when I came here. Put on weight. And here is super ex. And did such a bad job. Well.... Take a look at allure charix, usu they have new collections. Cannot remember at which period of time. I think they have a website. I also wanted to sell mine but have to dry clean first. Have been sitting in my bedroom for alomst 2 years liao. Hahahaha....

Tootsie, I have added u to multiply. Good to see you here again.

Maplehue, maybe u can find ice-cream made of soy. Iknow chocolate, pastries can b made fr soy. I tried to avoid milk coz it gives problem as I have sinus. As for cheese, I have no idea what can be substitute. U seem to travel from places to places. What an adventure!

My pakchoy is growing but some parts are eaten up by the caterpillar. Now the bees are collecting nectar from the lavender. They are smart indeed, know what is best!
O ja, as for observation, I have to read some notes before I can start. It's a lot man! But will be interesting!

Culainne, Jeroen saw the website for the flight simulation. I think he is eyeing on it. hahaha... he has the DVD and the stick but aftet he marries me, no time lah! Hahahahaha....

I wonder whether Mrs N has delivered or not. Hmmmm...

Deluxe, Gd to hear that you have passed the morning sickness. Take great care! Saw this TV program here on delivery. Very interesting. But I think the season has stopped for summer. No idea whether they will screen it later.

Margie, so nice two weddings at different year. Should have done that. Hmmm....

Ok! Since I am free from orders, I better get on to my readings man!

Till then ladies!

wow! so much to catch up!

margie~no lah not finished yet with my house, on the outside, it's just the 1st side of the house ready but more to come on the other 3 sides. As for inside of the hse not that ready yet, still left a tiny part of ceiling and then the stairs+kichen+dining room+living room. Then well.. as for the dining room im not sure now to either paint or leave it in natural wooden planks..scandinavian style..MIL was hoping so much i could paint it

I only saw a fox the other day, my FIL tried to shot it with his gun as it might come too close and 'gobble' up my cat for it's meal...but then he missed!

cuclainne~ haha sofi is so cute! cheeky of her to do that ;P

Cuclainne/Maple~i have 1 LV bucket pette and i intend to sell it away. Do you gals know how much it cost now? jus wanna know the market price kekek

Maple~good that you're settling in well it seems
I am the same as margie..can't pack too well hehehe..im very lazy one! Can leave my things around for many many weeks hahah even months! believe it or not! this was partly how i managed to annoy my sis when i used to share room with her hahaha

my neck ok but my right fingers are feeling numb and 'tingling' sensation after all the paintings..so sometimes i go for breaks in between the jobs. Hey! The hallway is almost done apart from a tiny patch of ceiling, the colour turns out very well! The Beige colour turns sandy and then the other one is like cream colour. Hallway suddenly becomes very bright! My MIL can't help but come in a few times a day and comment 'veldig bra, veldig bra!' Very good very good! hahah she likes it so much

Hope your skin is much better! Did you put on sun protecting creams when you're out? Hey btw i heard my sis said that they sell this 'pineapple buns' which as nice and very soft there! Do try it

Eliz~kitchen not up yet, only painted the ceiling. Cos FIL going to put some sort of planks for the walls. And then the cabinate, sink and such would be put up
FIL is doing outside of the hse 1st then will do flooring and kitchen after
wah i think after this mth or next eh..

it's so warm these days here! Think im 'home' like in SG! But there are no fans in the hse to cool myself

Cuclainne: Yes, currently in the process of potty training Joseph. We've tried potty training him a few times previously, but I don't think he was ready then. This time he seems a little more ready. It's just in fits and starts at the moment, I just take off his nappy for the morning, and yesterday he did really well - once I was in the kitchen, and he ran in with the potty - I could hear the toilet cistern replenishing itself in the background - Joseph had emptied the potty all by himself. Haven't done #2 properly in the potty yet....see how it goes
Sofi's a little younger than Joseph right? Do you think she understands what she needs to do yet?

Hi to everyone else
Still in a rush!

chrisl a fox!! How exciting! Hope it got scared off by the gunshots tho.. better keep kitty indoors for the next few days just to be safe.

The painting/reno work sounds really tough.. i dun think i'll be able to manage it, have never been a handicraft-type of person.

liz i'm sure ur customer appreciates ur efforts
U'll have more biz coming ur way!!

Where in germany will u be? Prob it's a wedding-mad day everywhere in the world!

Ooh lavender honey is yummy
U really sound like you've got green fingers. I've tried growing herbs a couple of times and they simply died on me

glympse pink! yucks! reminds me of the american bachelorette's wedding some yrs back.. can't remember her name..

Just found out that a gd fren is getting married on 10 jan. Hope I dun pop before that. She's spending loads on the wedding.. 60 tables at ritz carlton and 4k on a designer wedding gown (to buy) which doesn't include EG, flowers and make-up!! *faint* Apparently, her mom din like any of the BS gowns that she tried on.. even gave comments like this looks like something u wear to work!!

Delhi belly... think it's not just the spices but also the bacteria!

maple yeah small is typical of HK... if that's any comfort to u.. land is so limited there it's hardly surprising. Not realistic to have a balcony in HK of all countries, besides the air isn't of fantastic quality cuz of the pollution from shenzhen. At least it's just the 2 of u.. can u imagine that many HK families squeeze parents, kids in a 2 bedroom apt??!! Sometimes even plus a dog and a maid.. i dunno how on earth they sleep man!

Erm, fresh air in Paris?? Does that exist? LOL.. well it was winter so i kept the windows closed most of the time. My apt was a fairly decent size, had a much smaller one (abt 10sqm) before that so this really felt like lux. It was unfurnished so i ended up using my suitcase as a table and borrowing a mattress from a fren. I was only there for less than 6 mths so din want to buy much. The tiny apt was right in the middle of the city, near Place de l'opera but so bloody expensive. It was on the 7th floor, no lift, only 1 spiral staircase, shared toilet. I moved out cuz the lights at the staircase were never repaired - it's so dark that u can't see ur hands during the day, the toilet is always choked, the corridors was never cleaned - the reno debris was still there 2 mths after i moved in and the last straw was when i saw mice running in via a gap in the door!!! I later discovered that they've bitten holes into my bags of rice, instant noodles and pork floss...grr.. and left mice droppings in all the dark corners. Yucks!!

Dun rush to unpack.. take ur time to rest too..

If bertil wants a bbq, guess who got to do the preps and cleaning???!!!

The apt comes nearly fully furnished, sofa, beds, dining set. But we're going to ask them to remove the sofa and the queen bed cuz that's being shipped over from melb. The only thing that's not provided is a stove top and oven. Still got to go and buy. Haven't decided if i shld just get an electric hot plate n small electric oven or do the whole shebang with a proper cooker equipped w an oven underneath.

Botak Jones has a few outlets, can't remember where... google it and i'm sure something will come up.

Ok gotta go get some sleep now!!

Chrisl: Wonder what fox tastes like? ;)

Glympse: Roisin means 'Little Rose' in Irish - my husband grew up there

Maplehue: Ya, now you roughly know who I am....do you have a blog or a website?

Deluxe: Hahaha! Ya, the men just know how to pile on the charcoal, and stick on the meat.....the women deal with the preps and yucky aftermath!

tootsie thing is, my hubby doesn't even know how to light a charcoal fire n how to tell when something's cooked... so i'm the one doing the dirty work and slaving over the hot fire!! At least this was wat happened at the last bbq we had...

Opps! sorry upon reading more i think i've missed out some replies

Maple~Yup a red door hehe..but not that too bright red like ang pow packets LOL (else i'll faint!) it's a darker liver red. Thought it's good cos easy to maintain than white (you know lah, me lazy to clean) no i've not watched nottinghill before..hmm maybe now i've red doors maybe i should hehehe ;P btw, can can..i can help in some simple translating ;P Oh for my hair, it was very lasting! About 1 year hassle free leh! hheheh not much to maintain cos only after the rebonding a few days can't wash hair then thereafter you wash, even if you don't blow dry your hair, it still remain straight! wah magic for ppl with natural curls! LOL oh and not too expensive lah, for $110 (for my length~a bit longer than shoulder length) it made it so worthwhile for 1 year

Cuclainne~Not a traditional norwegian home .. but as the current hse we have was handed down by gaute's late forefathers, so we can't build a new one (as much as i want to!!
) but instead have to renovate this existing one. Hey if you guys make it + add a swedish flag, sure to be very interesting!!

Toosieroll~Hey wah joseph is sure keeping both your hands full yeah!!? haha luckily his diet is full of fibre! ;P Keep them coming! the fibres i meant ;P LOL..But seriously, agree with maple, the pampers pull ups are good for toilet trainings. We used to encourage parents to get them when working in preschools (not advertising for them har!
) hehe and oh! Don't forget all those praises and rewards!

hahaha dun have a clue what it taste like! Cos it might be infected with the rabbis disease. When you see them out near houses means they are probably too much in population and not much food in the area..that's why we must shot them
poor thing right? It's either our loved ones or them

glympse~it's a small world isn't it?! (haha) luckiy didn't write anything bad LOL teasing lah! but she's a firm lady i must say!
Good that she made us write our own vows, very interesting
Are you intending to have her to solemnize yours too?

Deluxe~hey was it you i tried to invite to multiply? Maybe i got the wrong person? Are you in it yet?
hehe as what tootsie said maybe ask him to deal with the yucky aftermath then! ;P

but i miss bbq! Esp the chicken wings! SG style not Ang Moh style! LOL

<font color="aa00aa">Cuclainne</font>, 4 bags???!! You so terror lah! Heheh. What is the 4th one?

I've heard of 'delhi belly' before but never really understood. I agree with deluxe, i think it has something to do with bacteria too. So scary right. I haven't been to India before eventhough one of close friends are there. Every year, we kinda promised to visit him but when the time comes, we'll end up going somewhere else. I feel so bad! For some reason, this Oz friend of us loves it there. He was there when Mother Theresa died and felt like he was part of the community when they mourned for the loss. He also said, only the Taj Mahal is beautiful and clean, other areas outside the premise is dirty and unsightly! Is this true? Did elias visit the taj when he was there?
Yes yes, GM is the biggest one. Can dump everything in it and is good for travelling!

I think the mak andam definitely did something to your hair la cos your fringe looks shiny and straight! Have you dyed your hair before? The smell is horibble isn't it?

Alamak the story about Sofi leaving her "souveneir" next to Elias kinda make me squirm a bit la. Hheh. Luckily he missed it!

<font color="aa00aa">glypmse</font> i like the idea of an egyptian princess ala cleopatra. Very the drama one!!
Personally i love pink but not to the extend of having pink color scheme for my wedding or wearing pink clothes. have you guys decided which room to choose?

Ive tried the no cheese pizza but didn't like it. Jeff will always get the chicken teriyake if he wants to eat no cheese pizza and yes He likes prata but only eat it with strawberry jam. Bleahh!

As for korea, jeff knew about it before he proposed to me and he told me about it. we were planning to have a brief long distance relationship before i was supposed him in 6 months time but when he proposed, he said he couldn't do the long distance thingy. I said yes to his proposal but took about 2 days to say yes to go to korea with him right after marriage cos i just came back from australia and missed my family in singapore so much.

Ha..i guess you are right when it comes to passing on the wedding dress to our daughters. You never know, maybe in the future, white is no more a wedding gown color!

Wahh, you bought your friends bags from NY! so generous!
Lucky friends!
..and thanks glypmse, the allergy has subsided today and with the rain and no sun, it made it easier for me to go out earlier.

Hi <font color="aa00aa">Lizz</font>,how are your fingers? Reading, gardening, sewing and working to complete your orders must be a little tiring right? Hope you are resting and not pushing yourself too hard. Your responsible attitude and dedicated hard work towards your clients and passion will travel like a bush fire and your business will do well.

Where do i get soya ice cream?? That is so cool! After reading your post this morning, we went out to do some more shopping and i tried to look around but couldnt find it. When i asked the guy at the supermarket, he pointed the soya bean milk to me. Alamak! It'll be good if i could find some for Jeff. As for cheese or milk, i think sadly there is no subsititute at all.

It is quite exciting to travel and experience new places Liz but I am kinda tired of it. The moving and packing/unpacking and the stress level is not good. I yearn for that 'stability'. Without it, I have no desire to plan for a family... and i know deep down, i want to. Maybe not in this instance but maybe in a year or 2..?and it is not that we want, we will get it right? It is all in god's will too.

Girl, is pakchoy same as bokchoy?? How come you have caterpillars eating your veggies? Dont you have some friendly pesticides to get rid of them? But then again, i also cannot bear killing caterpillars, they make such a beautiful butterflies! Such a wonder! AND your lavender..I love the smell of lavender. So niceee. Have you tried making dry potpourri from the lavender? and please dont get stung by the bees ok.. I have a friend who got stung by a bee on her finger and her whole face started to swell and she had to be rushed to the hospital. Scary!

<font color="aa00aa">Chris</font>, the bucket bag is such a classic design and you can also dump everything in it. Why do you want to sell it? Want to buy a new one is it? Kekeke. The used small bucket LV bag can fetch US$450 so dont know how much that'll be after you have converted to your currency. The LV i use a lot right now is the "big" white multicolored white Theda but a little small la.

So you are slow packer too like Marge, neh mind, you gals can afford to take your time cos you have space in your house. For my shoebox, it is too small to let things lying around. <font color="aa00aa">marge</font> have you unpacked yet??

Must ask your darling to massage your neck and fingers abit okay. I cant wait to see more of the pictures. Your mil is so cute with her 'veldig bra veldig bra' hehe.. Can you converse with her now or are you still mixing it with some english? and have you guys decided either to paint or leave the wood alone? if it was my house, i'll choose to expose the wooden planks

Thanks Chris, my allergy is better. No i didnt apply anything cos the dr said that it is possible that I am also allergic to some of the chemicals from sunscreen block so i dare not try it. I am seriously thinking of doing another skin test man.

Pineapple buns? Where can i find them? I looked at the bakery in the supermarket but they dont have any pineapple buns. I was also looking for red bean buns but no luck. I thought hong kongers love red bean buns too? no?..
AND girl get a fan soon!

<font color="aa00aa">deluxe</font> how are you feeling now? How many days mc did you get? Must rest ok and don't go to work if need more time to stay at home.

You are right about hk. the apts here are small and i seriously dont know how the families here live in their apartments with their children, parents and also a maid? When we were looking at a 2 bedroom apartment and were just leaving, the neighbours were also leaving and there were 6 of them! and the apt. was super tiny with 1 bathroom! and downstairs we saw a maid walking a husky! how can they have a big cold weather dog in hk in a tiny apt right? so sad to see the dog's face. the tail wasn't even wagging.

hehe..yeah la. paris is one congested place too. but in winter the air is crispy and fresh but you're right, probably too cold to open the windows. goodness me, the apt you had sounds like a nightmare place. i am so scared of crawly creatures and mice??? oh my gawd!! did you end up throwing your rice and all?

Good to know that ntu is providing you with most stuff but if you asked me deluxe, being a little far from the rest of the 'world', a proper stove and oven will be a better option. you can cook and bake and it is so easy to throw something in the oven...when you have guests over.

the bbq part is not too fun though if you have to take charge of the prep and cooking and cleaning. If bertil doesn't know how to do it, maybe can ask him to ask his friends to take over la. just tell him, you are pregnant and you dont want to inhale all those smoke!

<font color="aa00aa">tootsieroll</font> I have an account on Multiply. it's [email protected]
Add me ok.
what is yours? i tried to type tootsieroll under search and the account belongs to someone who is in manila. It can't be you right? heheh.

<font color="aa00aa">Gina</font> just wrote to you on your multiply. i found out that my mom in law wrote a comment about luke on your site. a little weird la! she is still exploring this multiply thingy. she is such a warm lady and doesn't have a grandchild yet...
and im sure your lovely luke brings out that yearning in her. thank you.

<font color="aa00aa">mrs n</font> is a little quiet these days. i think she is in hospital now...sending you my best wishes sharon.

hihi to everyone else.. <font color="aa00aa">emi</font> i am still writing that email.. a little long cos the story is long.

hi hi chris,
sorry didn't read your latest entry before i posted mine. Yes yes, i know the type of red. I like it a lot! Wah, your rebonded lasted for one year. So long! $110 so worth it! But i think maybe also your curls are not as stubborn as mine. I think mine will only last for a few weeks. Today i learned another cantonese phrase, "Mai Dan" for Bill please. is this right?

oh! i miss chicken wings too. i miss so many things already since i set my foot here in hk. it is still not the same as sg food.

talk soon again girls! now need to make dinner. jeff requested some steak. ok la!

Maplehue, u are so smart! Ya my lugguages are still sitting around quietly and peacefully, i have kinda 'pretend' they are non-existence hehehhee..... Think ralf's eyes have accepted them as part of the study room 'furniture' LOL!
Clever girl, you got the Mai Dan (bill) rite! Pineapple Bun = Bo Lor Bao, Red bean bun = Hong Dao Sa, hope that helps
Me oso a cantonese but 1/2 past 6 kind, still can survive when in HK for shopping n makan ;]

Elizaberth, so you oso got ur gown from Allure Charix, Ya the lady boss cum gown designer is very friendly n gave good advise on type of gowns that suits. she did not charge me for alteration and I think I had 3 fittings + alteration + additional sewing of beadings stuffs b4 I finally got it. Hmmm Im wondering how to alter the gown such that it's still wear-able if I dun want to sell.
Do you get lots of order for wedding on 080808? Quite a special date to remember tho!! Wat do u to those caterpillars on ur pakchoy? Me like Maplehue, feel sorry for the wormy when I picked them up from my plants, they look so healthy and bright in their green colour! Guess what, I put them back on my plant!! Hoping that they quickly eat wat they need, change into butterfly and go. Then Ralf told me NO... They will destroy the plant,aiyoo , me no choice but put them into the Green Bins with lots of leaves heheee...the rest of the episode shall leave them to fate liao!

Eh Chris, your meow meow is so adorable and somemore she eats JELLY!! Last time we had a mynah bird when I was young, this bird drank coke, chinese soup, ate crushed chips etc. He's a happy bird tho but duno y we name him 'Ah siao'(crazy) hahaaa.. Ya it's therapuetic to have pet around, lots of laughters n love always

Deluxe, how r u feeling? decided which type of oven to get? Like what u said, it's always easier to prepare food and put in oven when u have guests, less cleaning and washing after that. Have u been doing any household appliances shopping? Hope u had a good snooze

Tootsieroll, I have been to your lovely blog, happy to see u and ur family pictures, a very xinfu kua le jia ting (Happy family). U and ur hubby do have the symmetrical look hehehee... Wish u success in Little Joseph's potty training

Hello Glympse, say hi to Casmin if u see her again
SO wat theme did they offer u? Have u gone down to look at their drawers of diff colour table cloth sample, wedding cakes (fake), wedding favours and photo album on their theme and food? Mine was a chinese 8 course dinner and we chose the glass coaster with LOVE letter on it as wedding favour. Keep us updated ok! Would love to hear news on wedding stuffs and preparation hehehee...

Okie, me gotta go shower and zzzzzzzzzzzzz soon. Nite nite sweet dreams (in melb time zone) ;]

Hi ladies I'm still around as baby hasn't shown any signs of wanting to come into this world yet!
So no I'm not in hospital but will need to go in on Friday for an assessment. Went to see the MW yesterday and she said that her measurements for the growth curve was too low for the baby's gestationial age. She thinks that it's b'cos the baby has gone lower into the pelvis and hence her measurements were out. She doesn't think it's anything to worry about but wants me to go for the assessment just to make sure. Oh well a chance for me to see what the maternity unit is like.
We never got to do the 'hospital tour' in the end as the labour ward is very busy at the moment. Paul called them on Sunday and they said there were babies popping everywhere!
Yeah have been a bit on the quiet side lately as my fingers are still rather sore. But thanks for your concern. It's great to have my parents around as they have been helping us with the cooking and housework. My mum brought some ikan bilis and I've been eating them like there is no tomorrow. Hee! Hee! Fortunately for me, Paul doesn't like them.

Anyway gotta go now. My mum is using the room where the computer is and she'll nag at me if I sit in front of the computer for too long. She's in the shower at the moment so I just sneak in for a bit!

Keep well everyone!

Margiel Ya, the one with the hairy arms is my hubby
Haha, a few people said the same as you, that both of us have 'symmetical look' - they say that husbands/wives start looking like each other as time passes.....we already look alike, what does that say?

Chrisl Potty training is slowwww....but I have the time, so I'll go slowly. I tried the pull-up pants, but he's so lazy, he just treat it like a normal nappy anyway, so I have resorted to letting him 'bo cheng kor', seems to have worked so far. BTW, what kind of training do you have to undergo to teach in pre-school? Do you find it rewarding?

Maplehue: Added you to Multiply liao

Liz Nice faith story. Shall snoop on your multiply site in more detail when the children let me!

Mrs N Still got over week left till EDD, plus +2weeks either side of it.....if possible try not to let them give you an induction, unless you would like a caesarean (higher risk). It's the 'so sian' period, bet you just want baby out.....won't be long
Enjoy putting your feet up while you can, your life is about to change
Hi to Paul, bet he's excited!

Deluxe You know, the first time my husband lit a BBQ by himself was to 'show off' and impress my family - turns out the fire was soooo huge, he put soooo much charcoal until the wire mesh so red and hot....it was a new bbq pit somemore, totally ruined! I ended up having a screaming match with him, bet all the neighbours could hear. In the end my brother just said to leave him alone, let the caveman work it out himself

chrisl yep i got ur multiply invite.. just haven't logged in for a while.. pai seh!

Based on our prev bbq experiences, i ended up doing EVERYTHING.. including the washing up. U know why? Cuz the bugger had so much beer to drink that he pretty much ko after bringing the stuff up. Damn tiring!!

maple prata w strawberry jam??!! had no idea that it could be a nice combi. Have u tried? Maybe tell the prata guy next time and they can come up w new flavours. Cheese &amp; mushroom is getting stale.. lol!

I think u would need to go to specialty or organic grocery stores to get soy ice cream. Doesn't sound like something that a typical supermarket would sell. Otherwise, buy an ice cream maker and DIY??

I'm back to work on tues. Cramps and diarrhea stopped after taking med. Only took 2 charcoal pills but they have been causing constipation since then!! ARGH! Just bought a bottle of prune juice and waiting for it to take effect.

Of cuz i threw away all the stuff that the mice attacked! Yucks!

Glad to be moving this wkend. The students have been having orientation stuff happening and they are so rowdy, even late at nite!!

margie ralf is smart to treat ur lugguage as furniture... who knows ur suitcase might become a table one day.. kekeke..

Haven't bought the stove and oven yet, either this wkend or next wkend bah..

mrs n gd to still see u ard... i'm sure ur parents are glad that they made it before bb! Hope u aren't getting too heavy and uncomfortable.. it wouldn't be long now!

marge, maybe you can put a table cloth on your suitcase to disguise the luggage. kekeke. just make sure there is no food in it! hey, i didnt know you are also cantonese. i think your 1/2 past 6 still can pass lah.

mrs.n, glad to know your parents are there safe and sound. you must be enjoying mummy's cooking yeah? still enjoying your ikan bilis? i love ikan bilis sambal! scrum. just found an indonesian section at the supermarket and they have sambal in a jar! so happy! hope the visit to the hospital tomorrow wont take too long. take care.

tootsieroll got your invite. thanks! tried to write something in your guestbook but couldn't find it anywhere la.

deluxe i think you must make a deal with bertil b4 doing the bbq or else you'll end up doing everything yourself. you are not well some more. or just use paperplates, paper cups and buy a big garbage bag so no need to wash anything.

hope the prune juice is working. i think mango juice will do the job too.

yes i tried prata with strawberry jam, just a tiny bite but not my kind of food at all. quite weird. jeff can't eat cheese so prata with mushroom taste even worst. we are going to causeway bay today. i hope i cld find some soy ice cream fm a larger supermarket there.

hope the noise will subside soon. yes, those kids can be so rowdy and loud. there were a couple of times, we had to call the security to tell them off. really 'tai kuo fen'! (is this mandarin or cantonese??)

and take your time to unpack and do not push yourself too hard.

Hi ladies! Wow 14 posts after just 3 days ... almost can't keep up! ;)

Liz, u got ur gown from Allure too? Wow ok... I def have to check out that place then. $600-$800 for a gown wld REALLY help my budget
yea i can imagine that tailors in Europe may not be as familiar with the Asian body shape. K better make sure I remain e same size and don't pig out on Swedish bread when i'm there... tho it's gg to be so hard!

de_luxe Wow ... ur friend sounds like she's really gg all out for the wedding. Ritz cartlon!! Their rooms are BEAUTIFUL (not too impressed by e food tho :S dunno if u wanna warn ur friend not to expect too much food-wise). But yea, the suite makes it all worthwhile hehe. Wah $4k for a designer gown! Think Emil will kill me if i tell him i wanna get a gown at that price ... but well, as long as ur friend is happy.. and her parents are happy ... since more often than not, e whole wedding big-bang is for the parents

tootsieroll, yea agree with maple, love the blog and pics! Joseph does seem like one hyperactive kid hehe. Both very cute! Roisin is such a sweet name ... Little Rose

Chrisl, yea, she is a firm lady who knows what she wants ;) nah, am having my youth pastor solemnise the wedding. He just got his solemnisation license this year (tho he's been a pastor for a while), so am hoping to have the privilege of us being the first couple wed by him ;) wow write ur own vows?? that's no joke, esp for the HTB :P maybe I need to give Emil a headsup..haha...did ur HB have problems with his vows? Women seem to have no problem generally :P

maple, yea, am quite keen on the gold-egyptian theme. Wanted to tailormake a gold EG, toga-style ... haha .. but feeling a bit lazy to go thru e hassle hehe. Will prob scout ard the bridal shops first to see what's available and have an idea of what's out there. Eeks, prata with strawberry jam? He's butchering the dish man! :P tho having said that, perhaps he shld try the prata with chocolate ... it looks sinfully good hehe.

Wah so sweet re the proposal ... yea long dist is not easy alright. it's very sweet that he's fully committed to u that way and wants to make it work
I can imagine it wld hv been hard on u to say ok to Korea tho ... but yea, on e gd side, Korea and HK for that matter is rather close to Singapore i guess. Let's just hope fuel prices go down!

Haha can't imagine a wedding gown that isn't white ... tho i'm sure it must hv already been done elsewhere in e world :P

Haha no lah i not so generous ... they picked out the bags online, I helped buy, but they reimbursed me the cost, tho I did help to bring the bags back to SG among all my other barang barang from my 6-months stay in NYC ... hahah ... just glad the bags weren't squashed in e move :P

and one must-eat food in HK - YUM CHA! actually, it's more like a couple of dishes, like dim sum. But it's SUPER GOOD in HK :D

margiel, yea got offered the white theme, the gold one and the pink/red one. Likely to go with gold or white lah hehe. Haven't looked thru e wedding favours etc yet tho, Casmin said that'll be done abt 3 mths before the wedding. But yea, we're doing a 8-9 course Chinese dinner, ending with a Western dessert. Was thinking of doing away with sharks fin, but Emil wanted to keep it in for his friends and family to try. He took picture of the first bowl of sharks fin he had in Singapore ... so cute lah :P haha yes will keep u gals posted on prep, def need all the advice and guidance!! at the moment concentrating on the bridal gown details ... Emil doesn't wanna spend too much on the wedding la (esp since in Europe, they can hold the entire wedding for under $8,000, including wedding dress and all :S), so yea, we're trying to find e balance

Mrs N, it's good to know u're doing ok! Hang in there, get Paul to pamper u like crazy!
Btw, I was looking thru ur multiply site, and guess what - I know ur bridesmaid Alicia!!!! Knew her from VJC ....

Deluxe hey if im not wrong there're some catering companies which offers fuss free bbq
Apparently they come to your place and set up and such..they also use disposable plates and cutlery, so if you dun want the mess, might consider that hehehe ;P
Hey take care, esp now you're with bb!

Maple Im thinking of selling cos it's now in SG and collecting dust in the cupboard..might as well sell for extra cash for my shopping on my next trip home hehehehe margie is correct
her cantonese is pretty good despite her saying it's 1/2 past 6 hahaha

'tai kuo fen' is both mandarin and cantonese depending on the tone
'Tai kuo fan' cantonese 'Tai kuo fen' mandarin

Margie heheh 'ah xiao' is a cute name, yesterday meow meow ate some chicken porridge! Wah really greedy gal!
yup good to have some pets around cos i can be occupied with them and dun miss my family in SG that so much! I remember the 1st few months here really made me cry lots..im a cry baby lah ;P

Tootsieroll Oh have to take a cert followed by a diploma in preschool education. Then followed by a degree or a masters. From my point of view, we were taught very very interesting topics
e.g:

Human growth and development-How bb grows and such so we know the pains and anxiety parents go thru-so as to let us have a deeper understanding of why and how parents behave in a certain way..eg. Separation anxiety. We also find out more about the different developments of a child in different stages and theories thru observations and recordings.

Language and literacy- How a child acquires and develops language skills and the methods to help them overcome language difficulties. Plus how to spot for children with language difficulties, and how to refer them to further help.

These are amongst other interesting topics we went thru with the course. Definitely rewarding in the 9years i've in this field! Worked with different children and parents. I've also been privileged to work with some special children who required more help than others. Some cases are really very poor thing. Made me feel happy to be able to help them in a way so they can be referred to have sought further treatments. It boils down to how a teacher detects something wrong and then find help for the child. Cos parents might be in denial and eventually the child's difficulties goes unnoticed. I've seen some 'boh chap' teachers and parents, they know something is wrong, still scold the child and brushed off help..poor thing.. so early intervention is the key

In a way, being in early childhood opened my eyes, ears and heart! I used to think children are just children but now i think that they are dreams we send to the future which we never know.
Wah talking about it now makes me so nostalgic..

Sadly some teachers are there just for the sake of taking it because the gov making it compulsory for all preschool teachers to be equipped with the cert and dip. Sad right? Anyways i would recommend and encourage all parents to go for the course and benefit from it

Glympse my cousin had her wedding in marriot htl too! Everything was thumbs up! You're in good hands
gold-egyptian theme sounds cool! I had a gold coloured theme in the wedding i had and it was gorgeous! Gold makes it classy i think esp when it blends in with the lights

hahah believe it or not! We brained stormed and wrote our vows the day before and just scribbled on a piece of paper! It's still somewhere in the hse hehehe

Mrs N Enjoy your 'tour'

Thks Ladies for yr sweet encouragement!
I am a perfectionist, learning not to be. That is why I must get it right attitude. Kekekeke.... As long as customers appreciates and happy, I am happy. Want them to have a sweet memorable weddings.

Glympse, Ja, u must have a look at allure. I didn't plan to buy, just follow a friend to have a look since she told me about it. The moment I entered I saw this gown and I feel in love with it. Kekeke... so bought it even though it is one size bigger. Wah! U r still v young. I am 10 years older than u, also haven't got kids yet. Planning yr end after I come back fr Singapore.

Margie, how come u so lucky? Free alteration. I didn't see the lady boss. It was a guy who serve me. Well... I bought ap pair of shoes from there to match as well.

Hahaha... I use the organic spray to chase them away. It works somehow. It doesn't kill them but chase them away. I also thought of it of letting them stay and turn into butterflies. I kept asking Jeroen whether they will turn into butterflies. If I recall, some don't turn into butterflies. But they ate up most of the leaves, I have no choice to chase them away.

Thks Tootsie. I yet to write part 2. Hmmmm... I like the photo that u posted, a nice capture of yr little angel, so adorable.

Yesteray, it was a nightmare! Snowing dust! I have posted it in the multiply. Geezzz... I was sent up by Jeroen coz I cannot tolerate the dust while cleaning and feeling really uncomfortable. I want to wear a mask to help. Well... Jeroen just sent me up to my study and ask me to finish my ringpillow instead. Ok lah! I shall do so! kekekeke...

Chrisl, Just read yr thread in my email. U studied separation anxiety. Cool! I am looking into that now? WOw! 9 years! I guess u read quite a few theories by John Bowbly, Klein, Winncott, daniel stern... Trying to get hold of the books to read, only read a couple and have some at home. Next time, can ask u abt it n learn fr u if i do go on with research. I also believe in early intervention n prevention.
Next week, going to take a workshop. hopefully will gain more insight.

glypmse, wah i can imagine you in a gold egyptian theme.. so grand and drama! What did Emil say about it? He'll be your egyptian prince la! heheh.

Haven't tried prata with choc yet but i dont think he'll like it cos he doesn't like choc croissant. I loveee choc croissant. the ones in france were so yummy scrummy! definitely not good for the waist length. hehh I put on a little weight when i was there cos i ate so much chippies with mayo!

Yeah la girl, it was a little hard at first to say ok to move right away after the weddding, esp when I just signed a 2 year contract in sg. my employer didn't want to let me go so had to bring jeff to explain to her. luckily they 'clicked' so in the end, we got our way. And at the airport, i cried so much like a baby! felt so sad and guilty for not staying esp, after promising my mom. of course she wanted me to go la but i guess i wasn't that ready.

I feel hk is better than korea esp. the cost of plane tickets. it is so dear to fly to anywhere from korea. such a rip off!

Still so sweet of you to buy the bags for your friends
i think It would be a little hard for me when it comes to bags cos i think i'll end up wanting to keep them to myself instead. heheh.

Yum cha? Scrum! I like the yum cha near chinatown in melbourne. Wonder whether Marge, Emi or deluxe have tried there.
I've asked a few colleagues but so far i was told that there is no yum cha place here! Can't be true! Do you know where i can find one?

Chris, i think if your bag is in sg, then it is better for you to sell. I'm sure it still has good value on it!

Ok...maybe i should use the 'tai kuo fan' rather than 'fen'. Do I say 'Ngo tong ngo' to say 'I am hungry'?

Woah Chris, I admire your passion and how you feel about the kids.
I wish some parents and teachers have that in them! you are right, some can be so bo-chap! I've had a few cases with older children with disability and their parents still refused to 'acknowledge' that their child needs special care and attention. Even in Korea. They want their kid to be in a "normal" environment, mixing with "normal" kids and in the end, their child is the one who suffers. I feel quite sad about this. Before I left Korea, I managed to bring forward a case to my Principal about a particular student.It started when this student confided in me and followed by a meeting with his mom. It was obvious that the boy is 'suffering' but his mother was such in denial and refused to do anything even though her son was already dignosed by the doctors. she kept saying that she wants her son to be with normal kids. Anyway, to keep the story short, we met again, brought the concern to the principal. the principal talked to them personally..Had meeting with the board and finally the mother agreed to take her child out of the highly competitive school. Poor kid.

Elizabeth, I heard that the more the caterpillar eats, the higher chance it'll turn into a butterfly. Don't know whether this is true or not! A friend of mine in Montreal used to cover his garden with a huge net and when the caterpillars turned into butterflies, he could see them fly before setting them free. So sweet for a guy to do that right.

In btw, what workshop will you be attending next wk? Moi start work next wednesday. no more sleeping in!!!

Glympse and Mrs. N...such a small world. Can't believe you guys share the a friend. What are the chances?!

hi hi to everyone else!

Chrisl, haha good to know that marriott is receiving so many good reviews. makes me feel even more assured
wow the preschool education course sounds very relevant to parents ... def sth that i'll take note for the future. Kids are sometimes not easy ... but worth it. Am now rather heavily involved in working with teenagers (13 years and above) in my church, each of them oh-so-very different, cannot take a one-size-fits-all approach with them, cos they each hv different needs, personalities, ways of learning things, etc. But yea, also learnt that abt 80% of a person's makeup (personality, character traits etc) is formed before he/she reaches the age of 9! So childhood is a crucial time alright ... and yea, they are our future and will mold our world tomorrow

Liz, baby dust soon huh?? hehe ... so exciting! Perhaps u and Jeroen shld take a trip to Oz ... seems to be THE place to be if u wanna have kids ;)

Btw, did any of u ladies face any cross-cultural conflicts with ur HBs/HTBs as a result of the Asian-Angmoh mix? Emil and I are gg thru an interesting season in our relationship right now, esp after hving come from a long-dist relationship to now being in the same place. Some things surfacing, esp in how different our lifestyles have been growing up (Singapore's super fast pace, and Sweden's laidback-ness), so think we're still trying to find a middle ground. Emil's not entirely happy in Singapore at the moment la ... but we're taking one step at a time
Quitting is not an option though - we're in it for e long haul. Like my pastor's wife told me yesterday, there's no turning back after engagement - it's the dress rehearsal for marriage, but commitment-wise it's on par with being husband and wife. Sometimes it gets pretty tough tho, but yea - am learning that love is a decision, not just a feeling

maple, haha don't think Emil would be inclined to be Egyptian prince :P He actually just wants the wedding banquet over and done with quick so that we can finally spend time as husband and wife! hahahaha... he's more a small scale person la, me also actually
but it'll still be fun celebrating with friends and loved ones. Def gonna make sure that Emil and I know at LEAST 50% of the people who attend the banquet la!

Oh man i can imagine the croissants in France must be delicious ....... *drool* (haven't eaten lunch yet so extra hungry now hahaha). Wonder how those French ladies stay so slim with all the yummy French foods...

Wow it's good though that Jeff managed to get you out of the 2-year contract. He's really something
And yea, I feel for u girl. Even the thought of leaving Singapore right now is not entirely comfy to me. Tho i'd relish the thrill of gg to a new place, still it's hard to leave e ppl we grew up with. But yea, we always look on e bright side, and u're right, HK is cheaper to fly to-from, a lot of good flight deals too

Oh dear, I can't remember which yum cha place i went to tho, I just blindly followed my HK colleagues haha. But there definitely are those in Causeway Bay at least! (I was working in Lee Gardens, and the restaurant we went to was only 5-10 mins walk away). Perhaps go walk ard during lunchtime and see if u can spot any? Which part of HK are u working in btw?

And yes, the world is too small! :D

glympse: you should be able to see my photos on multiply cos i have a few 'online-buddies' who left comments on my wedding photos - but if you still can't, then amend your relationship as 'friend' instead.

thankfully elias' stomach is now getting used to the food in india since he travels there for work occasionally .. he's got a few fave eating places there now .. he claims the best naan is at this hotel near the airport, sometimes he gets the driver to send him there first for a meal before he catches the flight home .. hahahah ..

hmm .. maybe Emil just misses home? does he have any swedish friends or colleagues here?

Elizabeth: hahahah .. don't say Jeroen only la .. Elias is also the same - he had some time before Sofi was born but now, all his gear .. be it for flight sim or motor racing are all packed still in their boxes .. he didn't even bother to unpack them when we moved to this apartment last year ..

so you'll have one thing to do when you come back to Sg then - you can sit in the cockpit and watch Jeroen 'fly' ..
Elias was quite surprised actually since i bought him the package for his birthday - and since he hasn't flown sim for a while, he was happy which was the main thing anyways ..

chrisl: how long do you think your project is going to last? wah .. must be nice to see how the house is slowly turning out to be yah, esp. after all the hard work you've put into it ..

wow - the house is really old then, must have a lot of history behind it .. so nice! we stayed at this place called the red wanbo during midsummer and elias and i were curious to know more about the place .. initially the staff was ok to answer all of elias' questions but i think he must have asked too many questions because in the end, she asked him if he knew that they have a brochure and all the info is in there .. hahahah .. oops.

i'm not sure about the price but you can check the lv website and go to the e-shopping for us, the prices are about the same after you've taken into account the currency exchange and 7% GST ..

tootsieroll: yes, sofi's a few months younger than joseph .. we decided to try potty-training because she used to go 'sheee-sheee' if she wants to pee, or say 'yuck' if she wants to go poo .. but yah, we're taking it easy la .. if she wants to, then good for us la but most of the time, we don't even have the time for her to go potty unless on weekends.

de_luxe: elias is the same way - if we want to have a small BBQ at chalet, he's the one who goes overboard when we buy food at the supermarket and then doesn't help!!!!

maplehue: hahahah - yes la, i admit that i went overboard with the bags last month .. it was 1 Gucci, 2 Aigner and 1 Kate Spade.
heheheh .. very happy

Elias has stayed at a few places and yes, he did mentioned that you could pass by a well-kept estate and then all of the sudden, you're in the slums and he said you can see how people are living their lives because they just do their business ie brushing teeth, bathing outside their homes .. he kena 'cursed' before by a girl who was begging for money when the taxi stopped at the traffic light .. he said he knew what she said wasn't pleasantries ..

nope, he's not gone sight-seeing yet cos on most of the trips, he's constantly at the customer's office to keep an eye on things .. he says it gets really stuffy when they turn off the aircon at about 3am so he always hope that they'll finish before that .. hahaha ..

Maplehue, When Jeroen was younger, he kept the caterpillar in a bottle and fed it and after it became butterfly, he let it go. So funny! I don't mind as long as it doesn't eat up my veg. kekeke... But anyway, I am afraid of creepy, crawlies insects. Just freak me out!

It is tough to leave. I was pretty strong when I left but was crying for days when I was in Holland. Missed my family.

BTW, what is your nature of yr work? I am going to learn about KMP (Kestenberg movement profile). I was already interested in it before I studied for my dance therapy. So interesting to be able to use the method to understand the developmental stages and also for adults so that if they were stuck in the developmental stages, we can help them to go through it and develop it so taht they can move on. I am particulare interested in fetal notation where u attune with the fetus when u r pregnant. Hoping I am able to do a research on it with mothers who have hostroy of depression, to help them to attune and after delivery.

Glympse, O yes, there is culture-differences. In Singapore, everything are efficient and fast in getting things done. Over here, it takes ages. I was very frustrated and worse being a perfectionist, it doesn't help. Lost my confidence when I came here due to langauge barrier. Hardly go out by myself and only did so with hubby. It was a hard time for me to adjust. The best part is that I am adptable to new environment but this time somehow it didn't. There are some other issues too, the style of living, for eg, they are not open to discuss certain things such as money matters though Dutch are known to be very direct. Very low-key, humble to the point of being modest and don't show-off coz of the history background. I find it hard at first but after understanding their culture and doing dance therapy, I learn more about inter-culture issues, I became more receptive and tolerant and more empathetic. COming from a multi-racial country, everyone seems the same to me. But over here, though a wide variety of races, it does has a contrast and distinct in their culture. I must say PM has done a good job for helping us to integrate with the diffrencet races together. In the long-distance relationship, I almost wanted to call it quits, tiring. But coz of prayers, communication and graces of God, we pull through it all. We attended the engagement encounter together and really talk about a lot of issues. We did that in our relationships but the 3 days intensive really made us sit n faced one another and shared, communicated n looked into a lot of areas and tips from married couples on what to do. Probablt your church has that too. Will write abt part 2 of our love story, our faith story as a couple. It is normal for HTB to feel like this at the moment. Moving to a new place is the biggest stress in life in fact. I chose to move here, partly coz I do not like the city-life pace, prefer a more laid-back environment and I know Jeroen will not be happy even though he said he dones't mind to uproot. He is too attached to his family and he likes his work. It is easier for me to move than him. Jeroen is very supportive n encouraging. I was very down and he keeps encouraging me to go out and meet friends from Singapore. Now almost for 3 years, I am getting used to the life style here but I still find it difficlut to adjust in terms of language. Still struggling though! Esp to find work as a dance therapist in future, I really don't know whether I will master the lang fluently after I graduate. One step at at time!

Cuclainne, I was thinking abt it. Hahaha... we must gather the maen together. They sure have a lot to share abt. Is Elias going for to watch formulae 1? We are going for the 3 days walk abt.

Elizabeth, you have bought tickets for F1? my FIL was talking about coming down for it but until now, no news yet .. was thinking of getting tickets for it but Elias doesn't seem so keen and it's quite expensive, some of the tickets are ..

Chrisl: Sounds really interesting! Joseph is into biting at the moment, just me! He seems to take it as a game, yesterday bit me on the shoulder (amongst other places) until today it's still red! So painful until I cried and begged him to stop. It's easy to just han tum him right across the face, but violence will just breed violence I think. So I tried the 'naughty step', not that he understood the meaning of it! I think he bites when he wants my attention, but it's impossible to be attentive to him 24/7 especially with a baby who also needs care. Any tips?

tootsieroll: sofi does that sometimes .. i will think that she's trying to be manja, and then all of the sudden she will bite me and then when i react, she will start laughing and will want to bite again .. she bites my nephew as well sometimes and he's quite scared of her, despite being older! in sofi's case, do you think it's a case of her following what happened to her in child care? sofi has been bitten a few times by two different girls on different occasions. that's why i get upset when elias tells sofi to watch him as he pretends to eat elin's hand cos she has bitten elin as well while trying to copy elias - she doesn't understand that he wasn't really biting elin ..

Hi Tootsie, Josepeh prob is in the oral bitting phase. What u can do is try this: if he starts to bite u, pull him away n try tapping the rhythm with yr hands or feet on the floor, laps, table to copy his rhythm of the way he bites. At 2 years old coming to 3, is the toughest time for them.

http://www.suzitortora.org/pg13.htm

Have a look at article 3 where the developmental stages are explained.

Just a quick post

tootsieroll~what 'naughty step' did you do?

Toot/cuclainne~Anyways for info, biting is a child's powerful way of getting attention. They usually bite to get objects, gain attention or express frustration. Biting usually starts when they are teething, and when child gets older, biting becomes a form of communication for them. At joseph's age, he's trying to be really independent (i want to do this and that MYSELF) But children his age certainly lack the verbal skills and this makes him feel he can get YOUR attention. Biting might be tricky as it might manifest into temper tantrums.

No no don't cry in front him. He might find that very amusing! (ehh? why mummy react this way eh?? try again kinda..) So when ever he does that biting again, just look sharp at his eyes and say in a very firm and stern voice 'STOP' and if he continues again, lead him away in a corner, sit him on a chair and ignore him for about 3-5 minutes.

DO NOT bite him back! yes! violence begets violence.

Learn his cues, does he bite when he's angry? HUngery? Frightened? or just when he's overly excited? Try to defuse potential biting situations before the trouble arises, let him go to a calmer/quieter corner to 'cool' down. E.g whenever he becomes too hungry, let him have a piece of fruit before he bites, or when he's really excited, lead him away to distract him. Distract with him things like crayons and paper. For him to doodle and scribble upon.

Oh, does he goes to nursery school? Find out from teachers if our children there bite and maybe joseph might accidentally saw what happened and followed suit..if so talk to the teacher.

Lastly, glad to say that biting habits usually disappears when his verbal skills improves

Try it and let me know again

Cuclainne~Let Elias know not to do the 'pretending to bite' cos toddlers do not know the difference. They just see and do it too. The next time she bites your nephew, take her away and tell her a firm no, time out for a few minutes and then take her back in again to apologise (she can do this by 'sayaying' (hands over nephew's hands or places she bit) hope this helps too

ok got to go again

that's what i usually do - i will tell her to say sorry but she just won't do it. i know she understands what she's supposed to do and is just being stubborn about it. after a while, she will sayang him but in the process of sayang him, she will do things like headbutt him, etc .. she really is a terror sometimes - no wonder they call it the terrible 2s!