Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

thanks for that clarification, priscilla. the husband and i were discussing about the possibility of having a second child .. just talking about it la, doesn't mean we're going to try for one soon .. hehehehe. in any case, the NS thing doesn't really bother us (when it comes to the kid) cos they have to serve NS in Sweden too so it doesn't make any difference.

How are you coping there? Any plans to come back for a holiday?

congratulations on sorting your wedding details out during your short time here .. must have made you run around a bit yah, EJ.

Wow you gals have been active!

cuclainne You’ve really spent quite a bit fixing up the appt. Would be good if you could get some of the money back. After all she’s the owner n shld be responsible for the upkeep of the place to some extent.

My HB tends to get a rash while on the plane, possibly bcuz the air is so dry inside the plane. He usually rubs himself with plenty of moisturizer prior to boarding and has also seen the doc for some medication. He got some anti itch pills and some cream to calm the skin…

He’s also PR under the professional scheme and is exempted from NS. But in his exemption letter, it’s stated that 2nd generation PR must do NS. Can’t ur HB apply for PR under the professional scheme instead of being sponsored by you?

How’s Sofi and you coping now that you’ve gone back to work?

Chrisl Haven’t checked if the embassy here provides any integration course but we dun have any plans to move back so not in a hurry to learn. Plus my working hours doesn’t allow me much time to learn a language. Perhaps in the future…

Pris Strangely my experience with uni grads and non uni grads are different from yours. Most of his frens who are uni grads tend to be able to speak better English, so they would usually try to speak to me in English but he’s not that close to these frens. Those whom he sees more often back home mostly din go to uni and I really can’t communicate with them. Among this group, even those who can speak English dun speak to me. But I’ve not met any lawyers and accountants so far… maybe they are a different breed…

Hello emilia & tierfreundin Congrats on ur forthcoming nuptials!

tierfreundin Perhaps you could do a small wedding celebration of sorts with your frens the next time u come back… in any case a small wedding is always better. I would have had mine in Bali with a select group of pple if I had my way… then dun need to deal with the relatives and all the blah blah

Georgina Happy shopping! Guess the credit card fraud in BKK might be due to a bad egg amongst the staff… I dun think the company will try to cheat pple…

de_luxe, putting sofi in the infantcare has taken some load off me .. i know it might sound bad but at least it's given me some time on my own .. even if i do spend those hours at work. but i feel a bit sad that i don't get to spend so much time with her now .. when i do pop by during lunch, she's asleep and she'd fall asleep on our way home so i don't have the heart to wake her up to play .. the only time i get the opportunity is during weekends now. top that up with the household chores .. sigh .. i really think that i want to resign so i can be there for her 'firsts' but i just found out that i have been, or rather, is in the midst of being transferred to be a full-time staff in another department. I am currently being shared by three departments and one of them is trying to 'claim' me for their own .. but the transfer has not gone through (the discussion has gone on for more than a year) because the other Head is not willing to let me go that easily .. I would feel bad if the transfer goes through and I resign a few months later .. sigh, decisions decisions.

sofi seems to have taken it in her stride ..according to the carers, she doesn't cry as much as some of the other babies. there is one baby that cries and cries and cries (he's there when i drop sofi off, and when i pick her up) and when he cries, there is another baby that will cry. alamak .. one time sofi was sleeping in the rocker and the two started crying .. sofi just continued sleeping like she doesn't have a care in the world .. hahahaha. i have not seen her cry while in the centre .. but it's still early days. i think it is me who is suffering from separation anxiety ..

I don't know why Elias wants to apply under the spouse scheme instead of under professionals. Anyways, his job has given the letter so we'll have only one month to apply before the letter becomes inadmissible. aiyah .. stress me somemore because this man won't complete the papers, i will have to do it for him. must push him like i did when we applied for swedish passport for sofi.

HI ladies !!

back to sg now !!! :-) went straight to the hawker center near my house to eat 'yong tao fu', 'ngo hiong' and 'ching te'..happy girl !! tomorrow will have laska !!

de_luxe...i believe JT company will not cheat people too, perhaps due to some bad eggs working at the main store...i wrote an email to the company informing it about the incident ..i bought a coin purse for my MIL at JT again but at the airport's store..

nisa..its nice to plan for second child !!! by the time you give birth to the second child, sofi will be abt 1 oe 1 1/2 years old...at least not a big age gap b/w them and also, sofi has a playmate !! worth conisder ;-)

EJ...glad to hear that you have settled most stuff here...:-) its quite a challenge preparing a wedding i must say

tierfreundin, 2 more days to your wedding !!! if possible, share with us your wedding pics here :-) just one or 2 will do, we will be happy to see them:-)

Hi girls..
The photos won't look like wedding photos..no gown and I am most likely going to wear a suit. Weird but it seems to be the norm here to wear suit to "ROM". I'll see if I can take 1 or 2 decent pics to share.

Cuclainne Hey gal, u can check whether in Sweden the NS is the same duration as SIngapore. I know in Germany its only 9 months in comparison to 2 yrs in Sg. Plus, in germany u can opt for social service if u don´t want to go to the military. In any case, I think the child should be able to have both Singapore and the foreign country´s citizenship until he (for boys only) turns 18 and decide where he wants to do NS? For the fact that u have a girl, u´d have more time to decide whether u want to apply for Sg or Swedish citizenship for yr next child if its a boy?

Deluxe Hmm, I dunno whether lawyers and accountants r a different grp. Could be man. But I honestly can´t grasp what they are saying even in german. Either they r speaking a strong slang, or just to fast, I dunno which is which. And yah, I think even if they can speak english, they don´t speak english to me leh.

Georgina, i was discussing with Elias about the job situation (mine!) and my feelings about it .. somehow i came up with the idea that maybe getting pregnant again will not be such a bad thing after all .. considering the benefits that I will get .. then really have to be SAHM after that - this will give me the push cos i can't really make up my mind. it must have stayed in his mind too because he dreamt that i was pregnant again .. which i am pretty sure that i am not.

priscilla, NS in Sweden is voluntary but most men do it anyways .. the husband was in the airforce for 11 months. that's why he said the swedish airforce will have a thing or two to say if he was called to do SG NS. Yeah, Sofi has till 21 years of age to decide which citizenship she wants to keep .. but she must have stayed in Sweden for a few years before that time comes, otherwise they will automatically revoke her Swedish citizenship. Boys have until 18 years to decide .. so maybe i should try for another girl again? hehehehe ..

Hi my dears thought I'd drop by and say 'hi' after a long long while. Been very busy lately trying to finish up things before I go back to S'pore. Can't believe that's its only a few weeks more before I touch down at Changi. Hubby's aunt and uncle from the states were staying with us for the last two weeks so couldn't really log on to the computer as they were both staying in the rooms which house them. And to add to that I hurt my back last week and sitting down in front of a computer was pure agony. Its a whole lot better now after my hubby brought me to see the chiropractor on Friday. She was certainly much better than the doctor who told me that he couldn't do anything except to prescibe some painkiller. But boy was it an expensive session. £50 for 1 session. Och!

I been reading all your updates. Hi to Emilia Jo and Tierfreundin. Tierfreundin Austria is such a beautiful country. Lucky you. I had a friend who lived there her hubby is half Austrian but she moved back to S'pore recently. Btw, congrats on your wedding.

Gina glad you made it home safe and sound and that you're enjoying all the local food.
Bet you're glad that you made it in time for CNY.

Cuclainne when are you going to Sweden? Hee! Hee! You better do all the travelling you want before baby 2 comes along.

Regards to all the others hope all of you are well where ever you are.

thanks Deluxe and Mrs N!
yeah... i think i am beginning to feel the other stress creeping my way. I am getting solemnize in April and having the celebration only in December. Pressure is on the way big time!
Chris is coming over to melbourne for it and then leaving me here alone again until October.....hopefully he will permanently live in Oz by November this year if all goes right.

didn't know that in the forum, there is this folder for brides with ang mo's FH!

little intro... me and my french FH are together for 5 years now, met him in singapore when he was working here. after two and half years, his contract ended and he has to go back. up til now, it was long distance. however, due to my work requirements, i am able to travel frequently to France. guess u gals must have also experienced the tears of being apart again and again at the airport. really dread that.

both of us love singapore but it's really hard for him to find a job here. so the only way is for me to move over.

he proposed in aug06 and we are getting married in dec07.

although hate being apart anymore, at the same time, as the date gets nearer, the fear of moving in a foreign country, living in the countryside, leaving my friends and family really sets in.

after our wedding in dec07, would be packing my bags and moving over. really scare.

haiz... wat to do? just hope that in the near future, we can move back to sin.

may i ask, my FH's foreign passport need to be translated to english for the ROM at the embassy rite?

and wat about my PIL's passport if they are going to be witnesses?

Mrs N, i hope you're feeling better .. oh dear, a trip to the chiropractor .. was it painful?

we are planning to travel up in late april so it'll be spring when we arrive - a nice season to be in, though unpredictable - should be fun.

shups, welcome welcome.

i think the ladies who have moved over to their husbands' home countries can empathise with what you're feeling right now. it's only natural to feel a little apprehensive when it comes to treading the unknown and leaving the familiar behind. don't worry about it too much yah .. focus on your wedding and cross that bridge when you come to it. i'm sure it'll work out fine.

hi shups, welcome! yes...long distance is tiring....but i still might have to go that way even after the wedding...*sigh* when in dec is your wedding..mine's in dec too!

Hi Ladies !!

busy preparing for CNY..things seem to be more expensive now due to CNY...

welcome, shups!! if you are going to ROM in sg, you dont have to translate his passport details in english, same as the witnesses'...you have to e-file the notice of marriage (can only be done via online)...3 or 4 days before ROM, you and your FH must go to ROM office in person to verify the documents are true. On this day, you will have to bring original passport/IC, the printout of the notice of marriage which stated when you should go for verification of documents and also, photocopy or original of witnesses' passports/IC. On ROM day itself, however all must bring original passports/IC for the solemniser to verify.

nisa, april is a good time to travel..nice weather in most countries.

EJ...going to oz to work is so troublesome...needs to provide so much info !! working in sg is so much easier !! hubby needs to provide personal info, go for medical checkup and he gets the employment pass at once !! geez..now thinking should relocate to canberra or not ...

cuclainne good to hear that sofi is adapting well to infantcare… it must really help to have it on work premises so it’s easy for you to check on her… I wish this is mandatory by law… why dun you consider a part-time maid to help out with the chores, then you can spend time with her on wkends?

I’ve been reading this rather scientific book abt how babies’ minds are shaped, you know that nature VS nurture argument… very eye-opening but super duper cheem, nearly fried my own brains so now have taken a breather and switched to a comic book instead. Maybe will tackle it over the CNY break.

Another easy way out of the sticky transfer situation is to resign before they make up their minds, after all they’ve already taken more than a year right? Once you resign, the decision is made for them… no?

I think European men are just simply tida apa… my HB is the same too, must really kick his butt to get him to do anything… makes it real hard to make plans cuz usually it’s too late by the time he decides. Case in point, we wanted to take a break for CNY but he dilly dally on it till everything’s booked out and for our wedding, he read the programme like 1 or 2 days prior even tho I gave it to him at least 2 wks ago!!! Nearly strangled him when he started asking totally dumb questions during the wedding. Lucky I didn’t lah, otherwise would have been a widow even before I got married, that would have been a rather nasty joke.

Georgina Happy eating! Make sure you check your credit card bill just in case. Sometimes never really know which egg is the bad one… how does it feel giving ang baos out for the 1st time?

tierfreundin How did ur ROM go? Yeah, I know suits are the norm that’s what my SIL wore too… guess they are more simple than we are… and we are more simple than the Indians and Pakistani. Have a Pakistani friend who just got engaged, he sent us his photos and goodness gracious me! The amount of traditions they adhere too!!! Can faint man!!

Mrs N! Been a long time! How’s your back? What happened? I have a slipped disc.. it sure isn’t fun at all. I hope your injury’s not too serious? Make sure you have proper care…

EJ Dun stress! All part and parcel of it… my cousin’s wedding on 3 March n she’s driving herself nuts with all the unnecessary stuff… another cousin is getting married in June – 1 month after giving birth (crazy lah but her mom insisted on a traditional wedding tho they have ROM and lived together since 4 or 5 yrs)… I was wondering if these pple were waiting for me to take the lead or what? For years we haven’t had any weddings in the family and now 1 almost every 3-6 months… super broke man!

shups salut! Comment ca-va? U speak French? Where in France is ur HTB from? I lived in Nimes / Cognac / Paris over a period of 3 yrs… can still remember some French but I tend to mix it up with German every now and then. Think my brain not wired properly, hahaha!

Yes, leaving the familiar is always scary but humans are adaptable creatures – women more so than men - so not to worry too much. You will cope somehow. Of cuz it helps to prep yourself by learning the language and culture beforehand but if you’ve been traveling to France regularly for work, guess it shouldn’t be too much of a shocker for you…

LDR never really worked for me, I’m the sort who needs things to be tangible. Had 2 LDR and never worked out. I always admire pple like urself. Dunno how on earth you do it, but I salute you!! Met my HB here and he has always been living here while we’re dating…

Sorry I can’t advise abt ur HTB’s passport, suggest you enquire via the ROM website, they are really prompt in their replies. As for PIL, there’s no need for translation, at least they din ask my MIL for one. I had my mom and his mom as witnesses… must be politically correct mah…

How’s ur wedding planning going? Shout if you need help.

heheh... de_luxe, I will be doing my solemnization in april and the celebration in december.. everyone is telling me i better not be pregnant then!
heheheheh

Georgina, we've booked our tickets!! yay!! we'll be travelling on MAS (their fares were acceptable to our pockets) and will be there from 30 April - 19 May. we'll miss the King's birthday celebration but that's ok .. maybe next year. hahahaha.

my MIL's colleague is going away for the summer to her cottage and when she heard we were coming, decided to do a good deed by letting us have her apartment - we're paying her, of course, but it's so much cheaper than staying at a hotel/B&B. the amount we're paying to her (for 3 weeks) is equivalent to five days' stay at a hotel/B&B. we're saving a lot on this so it means more money for shopping! hehehehehe!

de_luxe, yah it's nice to know that i can drop by to check in on her whenever i want to. i've asked the nannies if she behaves herself in 'school' and they said that she only cries when she wants milk or is sleepy so that's ok. Overall i think i am quite pleased with them but two days ago, one of sofi's bibs went missing. as she is now drooling, they advised me to bring two bibs to school but they've only returned one .. aiyoh, some more it's for sentimental reason - my dad gave it to sofi, and you can't get the brand here .. i've labelled it with her name but can still go missing .. and it's been two days, i'm sure that the parent of the child who was given the bib would know that it's not theirs, right .. sigh.

i've decided that should i want to resign, then i should get pregnant again and get my full maternity benefits first. having a child in singapore is not cheap .. one appointment to see gynae can cost $100 leh .. that's not including detailed scans, tests and medication, etc.

hahaha - must be in their genes eh .. we're trying to apply for PR for him - he wants to - but i am the one organising all the paperwork. this man is just taking it easy, as usual ..

gong xi fa cai !!! have a prosperous year ahead , ladies !!!

nisa, good time to travel on april..start saving money now and splurge over there !!

de_luxe, quite fun giving out ang pao the first time..used to have lots of ang paos in my bag when home, but now, lots of ang paos when out of home but no ang paos in the bag when home ...

GONG XI FA CAI! WAN SHI RU YI! Have a properous, lucky, happy year ahead everyone!

hehehe EJ well, we all know that birth protection exists... up to u to make use of it...

cuclainne Great that u r able to save $$$ on holiday.. we are starting to slowly make plans for our summer hols... Eeks so many places to go yet so little time & Vitamin M!!

Hope u get Sofi's bib back soon...

I've heard from my colleague how ex being pregnant is.. think she paid 1K plus for her maternity package, excluding the delivery... Any idea if medisave and/or insurance covers part of the cost? I heard something abt the changes they r making in the Budget annoucement... but not entirely sure what exactly I'm getting out of it.

Georgina Hey, i gave out less ang baos than i budgeted for! Not too bad... my juniors were not used to getting from me and were quite surprised... And guess wat, in the Cantonese tradition, parents still give their married kids ang baos. In the 1st yr, relatives who want to wish the couple well can also give them ang baos, out of their own free will, so we still got some.. hahaha... quite surprised when my aunt gave me n HB... He was happy to collect enough to buy a beer...

shups BTW u can e-file up to 3 mths in advance with ROM, if i remember correctly. Just check out the website, www.rom.gov.sg, all info is there

Erm.. it's the dreaded time to file income tax now... anyone have any idea if it makes any sense to file tog as a married couple or separately?

georgina, you must be busy right now yah .. DH has started his work here, yes? have you found a place to stay yet?

de_luxe, medisave does cover part of the cost but you will still need to cough up some cash of your own. yes, me and a colleague were listening and following the budget announcement in the office last week (we were waiting to see if there were any changes made to baby bonus that'll make us want babies sooner than later .. hahahah) but alas, no leh. there were talk that they were working towards having more benefits for baby bonus (based on French maternity/ paternity package) but i think we've still got a long way to go because the French, along with the Swedes, has the best maternity/ paternity package in Europe and I don't think Singapore is going to grant mommies and daddies shared 18 months' leave! Sigh ..

Oh yah - filing taxes. mine is done by the company but elias will have to do his .. hmm ..

Apparently In Malaysia and Indonesia, if you as a woman marries a foreignor, your husband would not be granted any form of spouse visa, therefore unable to work. But if its the other way around, the wife gets the same privileges as the local man. Does this happen in Singapore too? I just want to be sure so that I know what to do if we decide to go back to Singapore to work. I hope not coz it sounds truly 'dinosaur' to me.

i don't think singapore issues spouse visas .. if that was the case, then there wouldn't be a need to apply for PRs yah .. but that's my understanding. i might be wrong ..

in Oz, the spouse visa is a temporary one where it leads to a PR at the end of the day. so i guess its kinda similar but not really? I am thinking of getting Chris that since we are going to be staying here in Oz for awhile i think.

Hello everyone and Happy Chinese New Year to all nevermind whether you celebrate it or not!
Sounds like de-luxe and gina had a fun time giving out ang pows this year.

Culclainne & De-luxe thanks for your concern. My back is a whole lot better since two weeks ago. Hard to believe it but it got a whole lot better since going to the chiropractor's. Ah Cuclainne the experience wasn't so bad as I expected. Never been to one before that and didn't quite know what to expect. All she did was massage the spot which hurt and did some manuvoures which caused my bones to creak and crack
and the funny thing was that after all that you could feel the 'tightness' of your muscles loosen! It wasn't a slip disc De-luxe, I can only imagine how unpleasant that could be as well. It was bad enough having a 'sprained' back which according to the chiropractor was a result of my bending down too quickly to push a heavy object. The chiropractor said that one is more likely to incur injuries by bending than by carrying a heavy object. So I guess the moral of the story is: 'Don't bend and push any heavy objects! Let the men do all the work!'

Bet you're looking forward to your holiday Cuclainne. Have you got warm clothing for Sofi? It might still be cold in April. Was tidying up my emails the other day and came across your link to photos of Sofi. My she's certainly grown in the last few months. Can see she's going to be a real heart-breaker when she grows up!

EJ My cousin's hubby never had a spouse visa either when they were in S'pore. I think he was on an employment pass. Looks like UK & Oz is pretty similar in that spouse visas are temporary. Over here they only give you 2 years first (just to make sure your marriage is not a sham) and then you get unlimited leave to remain after that (if you're still married of course).
Is it very expensive to apply for a spouse visa in Oz? Its pretty ex over here. But what to do no way out of this.

Mrs N, glad you're back! Hehehe .. in comic books or in the movies, they've always portrayed going to the chiropractor in the same league as going to the dentist - horrible, horrible treatment (for some).. glad it went alright for you though ..

my MIL has sown some warm clothes for sofi - in fact, we're getting a package of clothing items for sofi almost every week from her .. saves us some money .. hahahaha. yes, i'm so looking forward to the holiday, especially with my mom and sofi around this time .. when i was in stockholm last, i was pretty much on my own as elias was working and this time I will have company .. yay!

Hee! Hee! That's very good of your MIL. She must be very excited about Sofi's impending visit. Children's clothes are so expensive. My SIL gets all of hers from the charity shop and some of them are like new but at really bargain prices.

Yah it's more fun to have company when you visit a foreign country. I quite enjoyed going around with my mum & dad when they came up last summer. Your elias isn't planning on working while he is in stockholm is he?

yes, i'm already saving up to spend on sofi's things there .. hehehehe...

well, he won't be working but he has told his friends that he'll be coming back for a visit and everyone wants to meet up with him .. i think someone is even coming from poland for a weekend .. so he's going to be away for a few days, here and there, leaving us behind .. and since we're not staying at his apartment (it's rented out) or in the same neighbourhood, i will have to suss out what's available by myself..

Looks like you need to brush up on your swedish in the next few weeks! Will be quite an adventure for you. Hee! Hee! Guess you got more freedom with the shopping without the hubby around.

hehehehe - yes, and it'll be fun because at the last trip, i can only admire their children's clothings .. now i can buy them for sofi .. i feel like she's growing up far too quickly ...

Mrs N, yeah its quite costly, i mean administration fees and visa, we're looking at AUD$2000 excluding all the other stuffs like medical and certifications.....unfortunately... we looking at maybe anything under $4000 altogether... moving away to another place to be with your partner is such a huge investment! but i guess it will be for the better.

Cuclainne Oh well ... she'll always remain your 'baby' even when she grows up.
Its good that you've got a little girl ... more choice and variety in clothing. Can see you're going to have a great time dress shopping for Sofi.

Emilia jo Couldn't agree more. Its such a huge investment and burns a big hole in your pocket. When we got married in the UK, we had to apply for permission and that permit cost us even more than my wedding dress! Ha! Ha! I think the cost of this spouse visa business could be equivalent to the cost of my airticket to Sg. Oh well! The sacrifices we make for those we love eh?

Hi Ladies !!

EJ..geez..we are in the midst of applying the temp residence visa of OZ and we have been providing info now and then to the agent in Sydney that is assisting us in applying for the visa..my god !! its been a mth and we are still in the process..still awatitng for the visa number so that we can go for medical checkup ..hubby supposed to start work on 26 feb ..think will need to wait for another month or so to get the visa before we can move down under

nisa..hows things?? any good news yet (2nd child)?

during CNY, i was happily giving out ang paos eventhough they cost me about $300 ( one trip to phuket gone!!)luckily its a once a year event...

wow..georgi, didnt know you are going to move to sydney.... i thought you guys are settling in singapore.. Congratulations! you will love sydney..many people do... i just cant stand it though.. i am such a recluse ...its terrible!
hehehe. just take it easy.. the more you kinda forget about the visa, the faster it comes to you...then you'll be like ... OH MY GOD,ITS HERE......

heheh a friend of mine was whinging and whinging non stop these couple of months and i said it will come...and yesterday she freaked out and said she got it.. she nearly gave up...its hilarious! Now shes too shock to do anything, just gathering her thoughts on what to do next! heheheh

Maybe you can ask your hubby's company to write a letter to them to quicken the process... that might work sometimes.

best of luck!

MRS N, am sure its worth it at the end ya? at first we thought of applying it from overseas...which is $500 cheaper and then after much calculation... it ended up even more expensive... coz the travelling chris have to do and medical is expensive in EU.. and if he is granted the PR, he must go back to the original place of application and accept it....so its senseless...

hehehe.. yes its definitely will be costing more than our wedding reception here in april and our rent altogether!! hehehhahahah...
sacrifice..sacrifice.....

Hee! Hee! Gina you are certainly one well travelled lady. So much travelling within the first few months of your marriage! My cousin lives in sydney and he likes it. They even got a S'pore club and they sometimes have outings and makan sessions. You won't be lonely there.

EJ yah its worth it in the end. That's what my hubby says. Though there are some days when I feel I can't stand living in the UK and being so far away from home. A bit unbelieveable how a piece of paper can cost so much. I guess its a bit like the COE in S'pore.
Oh well its a once in a lifetime experience.

Haha! Am counting down now. Less than three weeks more and its Home Sweet Home.

gina, you've decided to move to Oz girl? wow - you sure have been busy ah .. hehehee .. nope, no news yet though elias and i have decided that perhaps it's a bit too soon to be having another one .. as it is, sofi is quite a handful these days ..

Mrs N, you'll be coming back to SIN? wonderful .. perhaps if everyone is willing, we could fix a gathering. when was the last time you were back?

Cuclainne yup I'm coming back for about 2 and half weeks! Wish it was longer unfortunately hubby can't get longer leave.
It's more than a year since I was home. And more than 5 years since I spent Easter with my family. A gathering sounds like fun!

wah .. 2 1/2 weeks only .. your program must be packed .. i'm pretty sure that family and friends have 'booked' you to meet up yah ..

yes if everyone is willing, it would be great .. the last time i met anyone from here was when gina and tootsieroll came to visit .. by the way, where is tootsieroll?

Hahaha! Yah It's beginning to look that way. Right I'm open for bookings. Any takers?

Bet the same is happening with your hubby when you guys go to Sweden.

Not too sure what's happened to emily, she's probably busy with work. I guess most of the girls are in the same boat as well. Not seen them around for quite a bit.

Hello ladies,

After lurking for a couple of weeks (maybe months even) I thought that I'd finally register for an account and say hello

I was introduced to this forum by clare, who've been trying to get me registered to the forum. (I guess she finally succeeded, haha)

My name is marina, I'm currently 28 years old, and like many of the lovely ladies here, is currently with a relationship with a foreigner.

I met cart through a virtual world called secondlife in october 2004. I dont think the both of us intended to fall in love, but we did

I met him for the first time in Rome, Italy, in 2005 and the following year. And he visited Singapore just December 06. After getting to know each other, we are both quite sure that want to spend the rest of my life with each. But when I think about the entire procedure, I get a little overwhelmed.

Where on earth does one start? I respect all the ladies here for your tenacity!

Hi Marina
kao_welcome.gif

Well done to Clare then! For succeeding in getting you to join the 'club'
even though she doesn't really post on here. But I think she does read the thread (waves to Clare!) Is your significant other a norwegian then?

Can imagine how overwhelming the whole thing can be at the beginning but perhaps if you just go slowly and take one step at a time you won't exhaust yourself unnecessarily. Have you set the date yet?

Hi Mrs N

Yes, I've noticed that Clare is more of a guardian angel here, doesnt post, but she sees everything ;) We got to know each other through my blog, rinaz.net

Cart is Italian by the way, so far we've been using msn and webcam to talk to each other every night. Not the best human replacement but what can we do, right?

I was hoping for our wedding to be for this December 2007. But I'm not so confident it because, I dont really know how to go about doing it. I know about the ROM website and all, but all the ceremonies are quite overwhelming.

Baby steps, baby steps

hi marina .. welcome welcome.. i see that you have finally decided to join us here ah .. hehehe ..

Mrs N, i'll be glad to meet up with you when you are here .. i'm working so weekends are best but i expect that that's when you're the busiest! let me know ok .. i'm away in stockholm from 30.4 - 20.5 .. you'll be in singapore before then, right?

Cuclainne I'll be in Singapore from 25/3-12/4 (that is if I get my passport back on time!). Not too sure what my weekends are going to be like at the moment. Haha! I'll drop you an email when I'm down and see how yah?

Marina your blog is so cool! Oh of course silly me that's why you went to Roma!

nisa...sounds good...i would like to see sofi again !!! we will still be in sg till end April so just cfm the date and i will be there !!

welcome, marina !!! wow!!! italiano!!! ma ma mia !!! i like italian guys, they are so romantic and gorgeous !!! dont worry about the wedding ceremony coz you will know what to do gradually along the way..i planned my wedding all my myself , started from zero..

Mrs.N, hope we cna meet up at nisa's place when you r back :-)

Have a nice weekend, ladies !!

Hi ladies!

I was typing my post when suddenly it was gone..sigh..but anyway, just dropping by to say 'hi'! Especially to all newcomers!

Hey Marina! Im also planning my wedding mostly by myself and wedding's in june. I saw your webpage and it's so coincidentally we're educators and my norwegian FH and i are still having long distance relationship..I can understand your situation of having to meet every 1/2 year!

Nisa~ Hey sofi looks so adorable and yes she's growing up fast! Sorry to hear that sofi's mr teddy was lost..hope she'll adapt well without him slowly..

Mrs N~ Hope you'll have a nice trip back here! Bet you're looking forward to feel the sun again!

Georgina~Looks like lots of changes! Hope all will go well with you and hubby!

Cheerios!

Gina it would be great if we could all meet up. Yeah after hearing so much about her, it would be nice to meet 'Princess Sofi' (and her mum of course)! I think Easter Weekend (Good Friday weekend) is the only time that I know I will definitely be busy. Got to go to church and the usual family easter gathering.
But other than that I should be ok. Are you working at the moment or just busying yourself with the move down under?

Hey Chrisl how's the going? Time is certainly getting on. Not very long to the 'big day' now.
How exciting. Yup I'm looking forward to feeling the sun. Although it hasn't been too bad lately. Spring seems to be in the air. All the daffodils in our garden are either budding or in full bloom. And the birds have been singing every morning so don't need an alarm clock to get up! But apparently the 'good' weather is going to disappear this weekend and we are expecting colder weather with the possibility of some snow next week. Arrgh! Just when I thought I could put away all my winter clothing!

It's <font color="0077aa">Mothering Sunday</font> over here tomorrow. So to all the mummies on this thread 'Happy Mothers' Day'.

Mrs N~
Oh it's still a little Ups and Downs..sometimes it makes everything harder when im sick and needed some hugs from Gaute (Yup! Im down with a cold again now! All thanks to some inconsiderate parents who still bring their children to school and spread the cold germs to all the people+other poor young children(it's very vunerable for them to catch something nasty)...until all of us get the bug again and again..Hey i just got that in late jan/early feb as it's airconditioned so it's a cycle) Hmm but i also know of some other parents who have really no choice as they have no other alternative caregivers at home
Really hope the gov can do something to stop this...maybe make it compulsary or more incentives for companies to make their workplace more family friendly and worktime flexible especially for parents who have children.

Anyway we're still counting down as it's 11&amp;12 more weeks to go before he's here and to our AD! And im trying to spend extra more time with my family these months as im very close to them. On the other hand trying to juggle work and wedding preps too. But im trying to take it easy and enjoy all...leaving it onto the hands of God.. Praying that it'll fall in place somehow. Im rather excited as this wed going to have a preview of my wedding photos layout at my bridal shop...can't wait to see it and get on CDRom! Then thereafter i'll try scanning/incorporating it as part of my table cards on AD.

Hi peeps

Just thought i pop in to drop a note. Been busy busy busy....

Mrs N Wouldn't be able to join u gals at the gathering cuz it'll be during the busiest work period. If u walk ard and see ads/banners aboout the World Gourmet Summit (WGS), that's what i'm tied up with. You gals have fun!

Hi Marina which race are you? Not to be racist or anything like that, just that it'll be easier to help u with the customs once i know cuz each race has its own beliefs.

My sis is finally finally getting married (she's 4 yrs my snr so u can imagine my mom's relief!) I'm kinda like the de facto wedding planner. They're looking for a "unique" place so m thinking of the zoo! This is gonna be fun!

OK gotta run now. U all take goody care. Ciao!

Mrs N, yes .. please drop me an email when you're here .. and give me ample warning ok .. need to spruce the place up a little .. hehehehe.

Georgina, would be nice to see you again .. how are things coming along for the move to Oz?

Christine, Sofi is fine now .. i bought a replacement bear from mothercare but she didn't want it! Haiz .. this girl ah .. I had to go to Ikea and get the same type of teddy .. only this time I bought 3!! I left one at infantcare, one at home and one for stroller (when we go out) .. i'm letting her drool all over these 3 so she won't know the difference .. by the way, would be nice to meet up when Mrs N is here .. you will be coming right? .. i want to meet you before you depart our shores for Norge .. otherwise i will have to wait and plan to go to Norway to visit you and Clare ..

de_luxe, is it time for WSG again? wow .. then you must certainly be tied up big time cos this is a major event yah .. such a pity you won't be able to join us .. next time ok ..

yes, the zoo is a really nice place to have a wedding but it's expensive yah ..

HaHa! Cuclainne will do. Your place can't be that bad. You've not seen my SIL's! Hubby's trying to persuade her family to move house so they'll be forced to spruced up their place. Hilarious really!

Only teddy bears from Ikea eh? Looks like little Sofi is well aware of her Swedish roots!

Chrisl hope you are feeling better. Yeah there's nothing worse than catching a cold when you're trying to get through a hundred and one things.
Chin up it'll soon blow over. Maybe you just have to keep dosing yourself with Vit C! God Bless!

de-luxe WGS! Wow sounds like a very big event. Is it like a conference thingy on food?

We had some snow and sleet early in the week and the nights have been unbelievably cold (sub zero)! Thank goodness we're leaving for warmer weather soon. Betta go now. Last day of work and so much to do. See ya girls soon.