Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Hi dear girls
Sorry haven´t been keeping track on what´s happening this forum - too busy in Singapore. Anyway, my hubby and I attended Sarah´s wedding last Saturday and it was AWESOME! Sarah, your union with Emil is so amazing! Thanks for letting us witness it! My hubby was so touched, he cried a few times. I myself was close to tears many times....it really reminded us of what it was like for us 3 years ago. Pity Sweden ain´t Germany, but hey, at least we´re in the same continent! Thought I would show the others what a beautiful bride you were on your big day! All the best with your relocation...amazing how you chose to relocate 2 days after your wedding! We only moved to Germany 7 mths after our wedding, after our discipleship training school in Singapore.
1016199.jpg
1016200.jpg
1016201.jpg

hehe Gina, Luke is so lucky to have you as his mum!!!

hey Pris! Long time no 'hear'! I see you're busy in Sg! When are you going back germany? hehe thanks for the photo though! It's so nice to be able to catch a glimpse here of Glympse's wedding.

Glympse you look so different with your hair up like that! I couldn't recognise you at 1st hehe thought it was someone else until i saw pris saying that it was your wedding she went to hehehe. You gown is sooo sweet!! You look like a princess just like what your name means heheh

Hi MRS N, I am in Leeds! Are you still in the UK? I am so looking forwrad to the Singapore Day in London next week!!!! Anyone else going????

Hi Chrisl!!! nice to see you here as well....recognise you through your little post about the norwegian barnyard wedding! You're the only person I know who had one! I am having a big headache over the norwegian wedding ceremony...ultra clueless.....at least I have this forum to find out more info for the singapore ceremony...nothing like this for the norwegian part......sianz....

any recommendation for BS in Singapore???

Pris thanks for giving us a sneak preview of Glympse's wedding. It certainly looks like a lovely wedding. You're looking good yourself. Enjoying your hols so far?

Glympse you certainly make a pretty bride. Can't wait to see your photos.

Chrisl that's too bad. Yes hotels aren't that cheap. Luckily we managed to find a travelodge nearby which was reasonably cheap and near enough to Hampton Court that we're considering walking there if the weather was nice. Otherwise there's always the public bus.
Yes D's passport is ready. In the nd decided not to go by air asia as it might be too much of a hassle. Apparently they don't check in bags all the way through so will have to go through immigration at KL. If it was only P & I it would have been ok but with D it's another story altogether. Anyway managed to find cheap tickets online. God is really great. Found some great deals on Lee travel for SQ so decided to book our tickets on Saturday, keyed in credit card no and all that and press confirm but computer kena hanged. Paul said to try again the next day as he didn't think it would be fully booked out overnight. So tried again the next day and guess what all the ticket prices had gone up by over £200!!! So disappointed. Had to start searching again. Came across another website (cheapticket I think it's called) and Paul called to ask and they offered us a lower price for a similar flight! So the computer hanging at that particular time was for the best.

Gina you should set up business and be the supplier for all these baby stuff.

Hi Ailing yes I'm still in the UK. In fact not too far from you. I'm in North Nottinghamshire somewhere between Sheffield and Lincoln.
I'm looking forward to Sg Day too. Going down South is quite a treat since we don't go down to London that often. And haven't been to Hampton Court before. Freaky is going to but she hasn't come on this forum for a long long time.

Ailing, welcome and congrats on your pending nuptials!

glympse, wow - you look truly radiant on your wedding day! yup agree with chrisl, you really look different with your hair up .. in a good way though!

priscilla, hey you're back here for hols huh? enjoy the rest of your trip

chrisl, hey hey girl - how are things with you? gosh, i've started on studying the language again but it's so super confusing and when i asked elias to help out, it became even more confusing. i wonder when i'll be able to speak swedish fluently if this continues .. hahaha ..

Mrs N, are you all ready for Sg day? Sounds like it'll be fun but too far for me to go right now .. btw i haven't forgotten the curry chicken recipe i still owe you .. coming, coming!

Gina, when will you be back to Sg? must let me know yah so we could meet up and let the kids play together

Hi girls, been a while since I posted… have been busy with J since he started early teething discomfort and had his vaccination. Guess the fatigue caused by dealing with him also made me ill, have been fighting off one infection after another…

cuclainne J would be btwn 6-7 mths when we go to Germany. I’ve gotten conflicting advice, some say better to travel when he hasn’t started weaning so meals are less troublesome and others say it’s easier when they have weaned. Any thoughts on this? I wouldn’t want to medicate him for the flight either… doesn’t feel right..

I’m always goo-goo-gaa-ing over lovely kitchen equipment, but until we have our own place, all these purchases have to be KIV…

gina luke’s such a cutie… u’ve got such lovely baby stuff, are they reasonably priced?… I’m often hesitant to buy much for J cuz they grow so fast. He’s already outgrown some of the nice rompers that we’ve been given and he has only worn them like 2 or 3 times! So sayang!

maplehue welcome home! Hope u r feeling better now… Have not seen you on FB yet, but yes I’m using my email addy. Let me know if you wanna pop by ulu nanyang… as long as you dun mind triggering those old memories

ailing hello! My wedding was almost 3 yrs ago so my info on BS is kinda rusty. I used Bridal Veil, they only do MTM and I think they are pretty used to dealing with pple living overseas and their schedules… If you are looking to go a la carte, Olive Suite has lovely dresses tho they only sell, dun rent. Dun think they have a website n i wasn't allowed to post a link to a thread on Style Weddings forum talking abt it. I believe some ladies here got their dresses at Allure Charix too. I think for suits it’s easier for your htb to get it from the UK. My sis recently used Ted’s Creation for her EG, their designs are nice and unconventional but I’m not sure if they can handle your schedule. From wat she told me, their prices depend on how much time they have to complete your gown, i.e. the longer, the cheaper.

glympse congrats on becoming a mrs! U look positively radiant in the pics!

de_luxe, yah i know what you mean .. i've been having this persistent blocked nose for many months now .. i think it's due to lack of sleep and i don't really get to rest much during weekends cos i insist on cooking meals then since i don't get to cook much during the work week. and oh so much laundry to do - how is it that 2 small girls have more dirty laundry than the father and me?

1st trip, we bought some baby food and infant cereal but sofi wasn't keen on it except for the pureed fruits. 2nd time we went with both kids and they were both eating solids at that time .. so we just gave them whatever we ate so they were eating bread with jam, cheese, fruits, etc.

i think since J is still small, you might have to bring some baby food on the plane if you intend to start weaning him by then.

oh, i started weaning both my kids around 4 months old cos it seemed like they were not getting enough just from milk feeds especially elin. usually the PD recommends waiting until they're 6 months' old but if in moderation, she said it's ok ..

Wow girls, you all are really fast!
Mrs NThanks for your lovely comments! We´re certainly enjoying our hols in Sg! Went for the Macritchie treetop walk today...boy is it hot and humid! But really great feeling to have exercised. I see lots of your baby´s photos on facebook! He´s growing up so fast°! keep the photos coming!

cuclainneYah, we´ve been here for more than 3 weeks, flying back on Sat. Sad that we couldn´t meet up with you nor Deluxe during this trip.... we can arrange the next time we are back ok? This trip was somehow quite packed, with me going for Lasik, our Bali trip and all...Oh, I´ve got NEW eyes! The best thing ever!

deluxeOh you´re going back to visit Germany? Cool, enjoy yrself! Which part are you going back to? I don´t know about travelling, but my friend brought her baby when she was just a few mths old to Australia...so i suppose it depends on how much your baby is ok abt travelling. Enjoying being a SAHM? Enjoy seeing yr photos on facebook too!

everybodydoes anybody else have a facebook acct? I find it easier to see what ppl are doing via photos and all.....

My fiance is English and I am living in England. I will be having a wedding here and in Singapore.
A big hello to everyone.

Chrisl nice to hear from you!
I keep in touch via yr multiply blog! You are cooking so well! What job have you got? I heard that you´re working now....

priscilla, no worries .. i know how packed your itinerary must be whenever you come back to sg - we get the same when we go back to stockholm too
wow, you went for lasik arh? how is that like? i've been thinking about it but very scared la .. pain or not?

jo, welcome and congrats! Mrs N and tootsieroll are in the UK - maybe you can ask them?

nisa, sure, when we are back to sg, will contact you, lets the children play together!

Elizabeth, thanks !! Luke is so hyperactive now, walk and walk all day, he not tired, we tired..and puts everything in his mouth ! gosh ! like a rubbish bin..

pris, nice wedding photos of glympse, she looks so happy !:-) must be a great wedding!

chrisl..Luke is lucky to have a father that dotes on him so much...i buy, Julio pays..wahaha!!

de_luxe, the bb stuff are reasonably priced when they are having sale, if not, some can be very ex especially those organic products...i always look out for the sale then buy coz their sale is genuine, they dont mark up then mark down, so its really good buy if you know the usual prices and they have sale pretty often..

For me, i think the best time for bb to travel is before weaning (below 6 mths old) coz they just drink milk and sleep...When Luke was 2 mths old i brought him to Oz, he just drank milka nd sleep througout the flight but when we brought him to sg and spain when he was 9 mths old..alamak ! had to walk up and down the aisle with him coz he couldnt sit still but i didnt give him any solid except pureed fruits from the jar and let him drank milk only. The crew will provide baby food , they will heat it up and give to the bb if you ask them to..

I didnt buy many clothings for Luke before 1 year old, i bought quite alot of size 1 though coz when bbs reach 1 yo, they will grow slower , before 1 yo, they grow very fast especially the 1st 6 mths...yes, nisa! every week i wash more Luke's clothings than me and Julio too ! 1 load all Luke's clothings!

Hi Jo, wlecome !!

What's happening? The day we have power disruption suddenly got so many posts!

Cuclainne no worries!
Ha! Ha! Not quite ready yet. Want to wait and see what the weather forecast is like before packing D's stuff. Today was nice and sunny but you never know it could all change over the weekend.

Pris enjoy the remainder of your hols in Sg.

Gina that must have been one tiring flight.
By the time we go to Sg D will be over a year old. He's already very active now. Think we might end up doing the same as you walking up and down the aisle. But our flight is in the evening so hopefully he'll sleep for a few hours.

Jo welcome and congrats to you too. Whereabouts are you? I had my wedding in the UK 4 years this October so a bit out of touch with wedding planning. Though to be honest it was actually my hubby that did most of the work as I was busy writing up my thesis back then. Ours was a simple wedding. Had the ceremony in the church and reception in the village hall. We did most things ourselves (to the extend of growing our own flowers for deco) and we did have a good time. However there is one thing I probably would have changed if I had known better. I would have registered my marriage in singapore rather than in the UK. Foreigners need Certificate of Approval from the Home Office before they are allowed to get married in the UK. Just imagine the CoA + registrar fees costs more than my wedding dress! Not sure how much they cost now but it was over £100 when I had mine. I think if you ROM in Sg it's definitely much lesser than this. So this is something worth considering if you want to put your hard earned money to better use rather than to donate it to the Home Office.

gina, oh yah .. i remembered that sofi was such a good girl on her first flight - was asleep most of the time and then she was up watching cartoon on the tv monitor with her daddy .. very good .. but with two kids, alamak .. can faint .. elin doesn't want to sleep in the cot .. sofi was supposed to sit on someone's lap cos she was still paying infant fare but a bit heavy to put into cot - thankfully on both flights, they managed to get an empty seat next to my mom so she had a seat of her own. but this girl arh .. she hates putting on seatbelt during take-off and landing, she didn't want to sit down for long periods .. kept going to the aisle and dancing la, going up to people and saying hello, opening and closing toilet doors .. it was some work, as compared to the first trip but it was also more fun cos the kids were able to interact and enjoy the trip .. well, i know sofi did ..

Mrs N, yes try to get a night flight .. the flight took like about 12 hours to get to amsterdam and then the kids were asleep for 7-8 hours so we only had several hours of keeping them occupied before the flight landed. the stewardess even commented to us, when the plane landed in sg, that the girls are so well-behaved .. we were like, what? didn't you see how naughty they were? but she said she's seen some naughty kids on her flights and they were not naughty in her books .. hahahaha .. i supposed we should be thankful

Welcome to Jo and Ailing. I have no idea how to help you guys in terms of BS. i sourced everything individually. Best of Luck

Anyhoo... the thread did come alive suddenly after a week of death... yet again. LOL

Gina... I love looking at luke... so happy all the time. When are u returning to Sg? I thought u were already back somehow.. dont know why.

Mrs N- so is Dom... Big eyes and so angelic!

Aiyah u all have cute happy smiley kids... its very assuring for me...thinking about babes but scared to have one... LOL

Prisc- thanks for putting the wedding foto up for Glympse- U look very good btw, like your classic wedding hair- all up!

I am currently at uni trying to write an essay report that is due on friday. LOL. Just started today. how convenient. Ist not easy to study again at such age- not reccomended!

Its starting to get cold in Brissy. not sure how cold it will get.

Ok talk to u girlies soon!
Emi

mrs. N, ya, evening flight would be good, at least D will get to sleep around his usual sleeping hours..well..i guess all bbs hate to sit still for long hours..Luke cannot sit in his car seats for long, he will sream and cry like as if we mistreat him..tell you all ah..he can cry until his whole face very red, tears all over his face and try very hard to pull the harness belt away...just a 10 mins drive to supermarket like 2 hours drive !! faint!!

The next trip back to sg , luke will be 1 yo, i anticipate he will walk up and down the aisle too, touch everything on his way, i will leave this to Julio to handle him...

EJ, me still stuck at canberra lah...coz julio needs to make his visa to saudi here so got to get his saudi visa 1st then can go back sg...tentatively, to go back sg 3rd June coz 5th june he has to fly to saudi , starting work on 6th june..he will go there alone 1st see hows the place there then decide should bring me and luke there or not....Its getting cold here too, brissy should be too cold right? i always thought brizzy very sunny !! haha!!

all bbs are cutie, thats fot sure! until they turn 2, no more cutie ! they become little terrors ! Luke is so active now, i cannot imagine how he will be like when he is 2! running around, destroying things..ahhh!! the thought really scares me !

Mrs.N, have you tried buying clothings from pumpkin patch online ?? i look at pumpkin patch Uk website sometimes and i must say they have really good bargains, much cheaper than in US and OZ...and at least 3 times cheaper than in Sg.. and the quality is good..highly recommended.. i have bought quite alot from them, very satisfied with the quality..but buy only when its final sale, can stock up for next year, they are not fashion designed so can keep for next year and also join their membership, they have additional discount at times..

look at how notti Luke is !!Now he prefers to play with houshold items like spoon, bowl, plates, milk bottles rather than his own toys, so now we dont buy toys for him anymore as his toys are left on the floor untouched.

1018723.jpg

gina, wow - so you might be moving to saudi? hahaha .. the kids' fascination with the household items .. i placed all the kids' utensils in the lower cabinet in the kitchen, sofi will help herself before mealtimes so we know which plate, or bowl or cup she wants to use. but she and elin loves bringing their spoons into the shower - they pretend they are cooking with the small toy pails. a few nights ago, i caught elin putting her head into the pail so she can drink the water - elias was standing there laughing cos he said she's just like a cat .. i wasn't as happy about it as he was though ..

I am so glad that I found this forum. I did not realise how important gal support is especially since I am feeling lonely here! It is so nice to see how friendly and supportive Singaporeans are to each other even if they are miles away from home!!!

Georgina, Luke is absolutely gorgeous!!!

Mrs N, I live in South Bucks and work in London. My fiance used to live in Sheffield before he went to live in Singapore. We are so excited about teh Singapore Day. We are already deciding what we would like to eat!!! ha ha ha What kind of visa were you on when you were getting married 4 years ago? I have just been granted my indefinite leave to remain. I was thinking of appling the cert of approval closer to the wedding date as I did not want to jeopardise the indefinite visa application if I did it before the application. But now since I have the visa. I really don't know what to do? To have the solemnisation here or in Singapore? We were considering of doing the solemnisation in Singapore but I do not have enough leave to go to Singapore before the wedding so I am planning the singapore wedding from here. I will be having the church wedding in the village church and having a small champagne and canapes reception at the nearby pub and the next day having a party at my in laws garden in Dorset. Then I will be flying off to Singapore to have another church wedding blessing and buffet reception at teh back of the church. That's the plan for now anyway. Every few days it seems to be changing!!! Thank you for the hint about the COA though, I had not considered the cost of its application. i will look into it. Also, when you got married in the church, what formalities did you have to go through? I believe here in the Uk if a foreigner is getting married in a church you would have to get approval to do so in a church, what did you have to do? You and me are so like minded!!! I was thinking of growing my own flowers and plants for the wedding!!! What did you grow?

Ailing, I know I'm exciting about the singapore day too!!! How are you getting there? We are driving early there to find a parking space. Fingers crossed!!!

hey Giiiiiiinaaaa.
WHATTTTT????? SAUDI ARABIA?????? OMG!how long will you guys be living there for? Will you be living in the public area or designated area? Will you have to wear the burkha? Wahh.. I am so wowed by both of you for being brave. I myself being am unsure if i will be comfy in such environment. We watched a doco on Saudi and its future the other night on SBS and it was quite eye-opening. Apparently, The law does not make women wear burkhas or disallow them drive. Its all SOCIAL PRESSURE!!! can u believe that? I find that really repulsive and was quite upset. tehre was a father who said that he rather die and one day found out the daughter at a marriageble age tell him there's a boy she is in love with and would like to marry. But anyhooooo. i shouldnt tell you all this freakish thing. I am not going to frightened you.....I do have an SG fren who has been living in Saudi for the past year and is happy...so so happy.

So, do you know when exactly you will join Julio in Saudi, June wise?

Yeah.. whats with kids and kitchen utensils, household appliances and tools. heheheheh. maybe thats the spark to sweatshops. LOL

Jo- I did my solemnization/registration of marriage in OZ and not in SG as I am living here. I feel that its not neccesary to, unless its personal, sorta family and stuffs...OR u can do both!

Alrightee ladies... talk later!

Gina Julio found a job in Saudi? Wow you're certainly a globe trotting family. Luke is certainly getting to see the world at such a young age.

Hee! Hee! D's the same too. Likes to play with his spoon and bowl.

No have not tried buying pumpkin patch clothes online or otherwise. We very cheapo only buy from supermarket, market or from Primark. But have discovered that Next kids clothing are quite good value for money. We were given some as gifts when D was born. He has some 0.3 mth pants, 3-6 mth jacket and fleece sleepsuit and he is still wearing them even though he's 8 mths plus. I think their clothing were made for bigger size baby. D is considered below average when compared with other babies born in the UK. In a way good lah his clothes last longer this way so no need to buy so often.

cuclainne your girls are so funny! Must keep you and Elias entertained quite a bit.

Emi hope your assignment is progressing and we're not distracting you from it. Buut I'm sure it's a welcome distraction. Hee! Hee!

Jo I was on a student visa when I got married. CoA had just been implemented but guess they have since changed the rules since. Do you need a CoA now that you've got IND? I got married in the Catholic Church. Legal formalities i.e. interview was done at the registrar's office in Sheffield. That's where we submit the CoA. After that they give us a letter to give to our priest. And he did the interview as required by the Catholic church, need baptism cert sent over from Sg as proof of freedom to marry etc.
You're getting married in the village church so I take it that it's CoE? From what I know a different set of rules apply for those getting married in a CoE. If anything it's more straight forward.

Your plans so nice and cosy. A lot of similarities to mine. We had church, reception in village hall followed by a ceilidh in the evening. And the next day we had an open house and invited everybody over to help us finish the food! We also had a blessing at my parish church in Singapore about 2 months later. Ha! Ha! We grew gladioli. Very lucky that they bloomed just in time.

Ailing & Jo Very excited about Sg Day too. But just checked the weather forecast and it looks like it may rain!
Fingers crossed that the clouds will miss Hampton Court! Hey you girls want to meet up on that day?

Mrs N, sofi learnt a new swedish word - pengar (money) .. when i call my mom to speak to her, she'll either ask where her daddy is ("daddy where?") or "where's my pengar?", "mommy, my pengar where?" .. oh gosh, is this a sign of things to come or what?

Hi Everyone. It's me bluerinser.. i've only been here a couple of times and have been reading the posts on my email so have not been posting much (or rather at all hehe)

Hey Jo, I had a UK wedding..
Had to apply for COA as what Mrs N said.. can't remember how much it cost me.. I had a work permit then. I went to Croydon the day after my wedding to apply for my spousal visa!!

We had a ceremony at the Civic Hall and after that we went to our fav indian restn for lunch.
We are not going to have a wedding in Singapore. We have decided to have a celebration when our baby is 1mth old although we have no babies yet haha! We'll just have a grand family dinner.

Anyway, have you checked the confetti website? It's a UK based wedding website/forum.

Jo--> We're in Leeds ,so driving down to london on Friday night...staying over night at the Holiday Inn @ Kingston.... then planning on driving to hampton court EARLY on sat morning because I got an email saying that parking space is limited at the hampton court palace...so must go early to chop.

Mrs N--> I'm up for meeting on Sat...it will be fun!

I am bringing my tupperwares!!!!!!! Can't wait to eat the the yummy food.... wonder whether we can da bao.......

Cuclainne haha! Does she think her daddy is her source of pengar? Clever little sofi.

bluerinser welcome back. You should join in more often. Are you going to Sg Day too?

Ailing we're driving down on Friday too. At the beginning we thought we could go back and forth in one day then we had San's email about the parking and long queues for registration we decided that it was too much of a hassle. If we wanted to be there early we'll have to leave like 4 am in the morning which is crazy! It's about 3/4 hours drive for us. Guess it's an hour longer for you since you're further North. Anyway we're putting up at the Travelodge in Kingston Central which incidentally opens on 23 April! We'll be one of the first to stay there. Not too sure if that's a good thing or not as we might end up being their guinea pigs. But it's one of the closest to Hampton Court so we're thinking of walking or taking the bus there. Anyway with a baby around ... our experience is best not to make plans for being early cos 9/10 we never are.

Hey you want to pm me your contact. Then we can arrange for meet up. Just click my name on the left.

Hee! Hee! Think my hubby will roll his eyes if I bring my tupperware.

bluerinser, welcome back and glad to know that everything went smoothly for your wedding

Mrs N, she thinks that me and her daddy are sources for pengar .. but the times we do give her some coins for sweets, she's quite generous and will give away the coins to my nephew, my mom, etc .. but never to elin .. she very nearly gave one to elin once but remembered that we said no small things to elin cos she might choke on them so she took it back and elin became very upset .. oops.

Hi MrsN and Ailing, I would definitely like to meet up this saturday. MrsN, I will send you a PM with my contact number.

Sorry for the short post travelling for work today.

Welcome ailing and jo and congrats on your upcoming wedding.

a short intro. im married to a canadian and this year will be our 3rd year anniversary. we got married(solemnization) in sg. had two receptions. one in sg and one in canada. i'm sure there are loads to do, but trust that you gals will be fine

cuclainne, you and your pots and pans! just like jeff la. he loves checking them out and everytime we're near the potsandpans section, he would spend time inspecting them. the thing is, he loves to polish things and all my pots and pans are still very shiny cos he polishes for therapy he says.

the idea of living in stockholm sounds like a great idea. with friends and family nearby, it would be easier for sure. but i think the language barrier is still going to be a little problem, no?

sweet la your girl, speaking in the daddy's language? hee. what was elias' reaction when you told him? before i forget, your mobile no. is still the same right?

glympse alias Mrs XXXX Congrats!! You are one beautiful bride and you look so different with your hair up. Both of you look so happy. Where are you now? Sg or already on your honeymoon? Now im sure you can take a deep breath with the hubby and look back at all the "struggles".

Pris, thanks for posting the pics. So long haven't heard from you. hope you are well!

mrs. n, no we are not staying here permanently, not this time round. we have, however, decided to retire in sg if we can. for some reason, this visit has triggered something in jeff, which is good i guess cos before, he was never interested when i asked him about retiring in sg.
we are just resting for now and organising our stuff and plans. we just moved out of the hotel room cos it is just not condusive, not to mention quite dear. we stayed there for 20 days and the cost was over 3K. With our luggage and everything, we decided to rent a one room condo as our base for the summer. at least when we travel or go back to vancouver for a visit soon, we still have this place to leave some of our stuff behind. as for our next destination, jeff and i are almost certain on which offer to take and i'll keep you ladies posted when things are finalised.

how is baby D?? and yes im on fb now? cant wait to see his latest pics?its for close friends only. how do i search for you?or can you invite me?

gina, wow..the possiblity of moving to saudi? that'll be an experience for sure. two of our friends(husband and wife) will be moving to riyadh this july and they are very excited. ps: another cute pic of luke!

deluxe, would love to meet up before we fly away again. Dont mind going to nanyang. dont mind the memories cos some of them are good ones
i just have to make sure that I am well cos i dont want to pass anything to you or baby J. Your mobile no. is the same too right? we just moved into a condo and now slowly trying to get back to my strength. staying in the hotel was not good for me. my cold got worst and eating outside food everday has given me constant diarhoea. Jeff even had to go to the dr last week and we didnt even eat at a hawker centre. so scary, esp. after the rojak scare! now with the kitchen, we can at least cook some healthier home made food.
How are you? and baby J. Take care yeah and i hope both of you are well.

hope im not missing anyone. Hello to the rest of you gals

Mrs N/Jo--> guess I will see you guys on Sat....I will PM you guys my contact.

MapleHue--> Thanks for the wishes!

Me and my fiance have no idea where to get solemnised.... we're both living in UK but non of us are British.... i check out Singapore ROM website and it says either one of us will have to be in Singapore at least 15days before we can apply for the license to wed!

Not sure what the Norwegian law is....but I think it is similar to the Singapore law in terms of marriage application.....

So now we want to get married but don't even know how!

maplehue, somehow i don't find living in stockholm as daunting as living anywhere else in europe since i know how to read and hear basic swedish .. plus once they know you don't speak the language, they'll switch to english so i can actually get away without learning the language at all but i have decided that i want to be somewhat more fluent by the next visit (planned for next year) so i've started my 'lessons' again ..

yah yah my number is still the same .. text me la when you can

sofi is getting quite naughty - this morning i asked her if she lives at sunshine (our address) or at serangoon (my parents' place) and she said she lives at serangoon with my mother!!!! i told elias that this is proof that we've been sending her a bit too often but he just shrugged it off, saying she doesn't understand what she's saying. i think he's in denial. there have been increasing numbers of HFMD cases at the child care centre so the girls have been pulled out since last week - of course since me and elias are working, my family have been babysitting them during the day.

ailing, maybe you can check with the norwegian embassy re: that? for me, we made the decision for elias to come down here so we just had one wedding here.

Jo, thanks :-) wait till u meet Luke you will know how 'gorgeous' he is !! maybe you will run away !!ahhh!! what an active boy !

EJ,Nisa, Mrs.N..yes! SAUDI (Riyadh)!! we saw the doc too, on mon or tues 730pm ..ya lor, women cannot drive there but thats the culture there..we have to stay in a residential compound meant for foreigners only, inside there got swimming pool, supermarket, tennis court, like a small village.. i told julio if he really doesnt like there then go back to spain or sg an dlook for another job again, first have to go there and see hows things

maplehue, rest and relax in sg first...health is more impt..staying in a condo gives you the privilege to access to facilties like swimming pool, tennis court...make full use of them :-p

cool, yr friends are moving to riyadh too !! maybe can get to know each other , at least have some friends there...

mrs.N, Pumpkinpatch when sale very cheap, like 5.99 pound for a pant, is it consider cheap or ex there? well, to me, i think its cheap coz in oz, it costs about $18 for the same pant and i dont think can find a good quality pant at $18 in sg too even if its sale..i went shopping in sg but didnt get anything clothings for Luke coz cheap ones quality not good, good ones expensive :-p but i bought some from a factory outlet in Toa Payoh, very reasonably priced for overrun apparels..i think you went there too right?

nisa, Julio also likes to look at household applicances like pans, weighing scales..he only trusts Tefal pans ! The Jamie oliver tefal range always have sale here 30%-40% off...

Wow such a fast moving thread!

Thanks Pris
Im working in the after school care still but hopefully will get the job in kindergarten soon (which will start in august). Hey i've my blogspot too heheh can link yours? what's yours btw?

Ailing You just have to look around cos there's no such thing as a perfect BS i think. There's sure to be some pros and cons. My BS used to be sattine, it was ok lah..but recently heard that it's not doing so well cos some customers complained and they removed the whole sattine thread..Just have to read and hang around BS threads and see and shortlist those with mostly positive comments about them..and lastly you must be comfy with the BS you choose and love their gowns lah

About registering your marriage, you can do so in Norway leh..but think have to make an appointment with the local priest and also contact the local 'kommune' and see what they say..btw, think they have changed the rules not long ago too..so better to find out from them. But still, i think it's better to get ROM in Sg cos it's less hassle..but you too bad you can't be in SG 15 days before..or can you make adjustments?

Mrs N Wow! That's why God works in miraculous ways! ;P

cuclainne heheh seems like Sofi has quickly becoming a Daddy's girl
I understand the language thingy, it's mostly sometimes frustrating..(Once i was so frustrated i blurt out chinese words..only to have hb saying 'huh?' LOL) so now we normally speak english at home ..hehe cos my grammar and sentence structure sucks! Have to have lots of 'Ps'- practice and patience

Gina wow Saudi! A whole lot of different experience compared to Australia i supposed!
Good for you!

Gosh maple! You take care gal! Sound like the flu is all around, even here, i got it too, just 2 days ago..now keep blowing my nose still. Try to take blend food like porridge..And oh Yes! Home cooked food is still the best! I was flabbergasted as to how the food hygiene in SG is now..1st rojak then steamboat..

Just last trip to hb's grandpa, i was again reminded of how dirty the snow was at the side of the road (pollution by traffic) and i suddenly remembered that Sg still has all these roadside stalls..heheh last time i just eat dun really matter but now the thought of the thick layer of dirt put my appetite off..so i'll think twice before eating at roadside stalls next time i go back..hehe

kao_welcome.gif
Jo!

Hi to the rest of the ladies ~~deluxe / EJ / Blue rinser (welcome back!) / Eliz / Margier / Glympse (think you're honeymooning now *wink*) and the rest if you are reading

And oh! Those lucky ones going to SG day! HAVE A SAFE AND FUN TRIP! Eat more for me hor! hahha

cuclainne~ oh better to be safe than sorry, keep both girls at home during the HFMD 'season' is smart..these months are the 'hot months' as we had cases around this time last 2 years ago too...i remembered one mother was too much! Brought her confirmed 'HFMD' children out to the children's theater! so to be safe keep children at home for the time being, cos you'll never know as some parents are so inconsiderate..

Hey everyone!!!

So sorry for my tardiness in replying. Had a CRAZY wedding weekend and move to Sweden! Now finally settled down a bit and waiting for a big dinner with in-laws, my own family and my friends, and getting ready for our Swedish wedding celebration this Sat!

But yea, the wedding on Sat & Sun was really a dream come true. Everything went so smoothly, weather was great, guests were so encouraging and they enjoyed themselves (from the wonderful feedback we got!), and now my facebook is flooded with unofficial wedding pics! hahaha
after this weekend, then Emil and I are running off to Norway for honeymoon (without access to internet or civilisation hehe), back in mid May

Thanks everyone for the well wishes!

Priscilla, was vv good to see u and ur hubby in person at the wedding
hope u're enjoying ur time in Singapore!

Ok, gotta run, will post more in a few weeks' ;) everyone take good care! and those going to SG day - ENJOY!! and post pics!!

Hi everyone! Long time no see
Congratulations Glympse on your wedding

Apologies for the long silence, a lot has been happening on my end.

First, for the girls going to the Singapore Day in Lond, I just heard that Mr Brown & team will be performing. How fun! Enjoy yourselves

Second, we have decided to move our wedding from Singapore to the hinterlands of Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Aus. I found that its not only cheaper & I will have a lot more options. The wedding will still be October this year, but it now means I only have 6 months to plan everything from scratch!!!!

Have a great weekend everyone!
Cat

pris we’ll be going to hb’s parents’ place near to Kiel and then to his brother’s place in Hameln. Not sure if we have the energy to go anywhere else.

Being SAHM has its ups and downs, saw ur msg on FB but din have time to reply. I sometimes find it challenging n frustrating to be cooped up at home with chores and baby talk all day but on the other hand, it’s nice to see J grow and develop, esp when he responds with smiles and noises. Being financially dependent and losing an additional income can be a strain too. Many of my frens think that I’ve a tai tai lifestyle but this can’t be further from the truth!

Yes, LASIK is great! I had mine done in 2002… isn’t it wonderful to be able to wake up at nite and not have to scramble for ur glasses? cuclainne I din find it painful, just some slight discomfort initially which din last very long.

jo hello n welcome! Can’t help re wedding in England… my hb is german and I’ve only been to London for 1 day! We only had 1 wedding in SG as it was too much of a hassle to try to organize anything in Germany from SG esp since I can’t communicate well in German n hb had no clue how to go abt planning a wedding.

gina I see… dun really have time to go look at the prices, so not very familiar w them… but u r right that the kids stuff in sg is rather boring. Sometimes I’ll browse but in the end, dun feel like buying! Btw, how old is luke now?
So if Julio thinks Saudi isn’t a gd place for u and luke, both of u will continue living in Canberra or move back to sg? I think it shld be ok, aside from the heat. Once met an American guy who lived in Saudi with his family for some time, he said the compound is so much safer than living in USA, he had much fewer worries letting his daughters run about by themselves.

cuclainne maybe u have a banker in the making! Already knows where money comes from! Heehee..

maple yes my mobile no is still the same. SMS when u wanna come by – as long as we won’t catch any virus from u, I’m fine. J’s healthier than I am I think. My immune system has been weakened by a round of antibiotics (it killed both the gd and bad germs) that I’ve been on recently and now m trying to get it back in order.

glympse enjoy ur honeymoon! Maybe u’ll come back w a little one in tow… heehee..

wave to everyone else!

Cuclainne Oh Lasik was not painful at all. However, I do have dry eyes, which the doctor said will take a while to disappear. And he did mention that dry eyes might get worse when I move back to Germany because the climate is dryer there….its good that its almost summer now, so its more humid then. But yah, I´m still on eyedrops. Went for doc appt today and he said that everything looks good….and just to let it continue to recover…..Can check your options and see if lasik is for you a not….

DeluxeAre you part of any Mummy group or smth? So that you´d meet like-minded SAHMs and it´d be more interesting for you..... something to plan into our weekly routine…. When are you leaving for Germany? Oh that thing about “tai-tai”. I think many ppl in Sg have a very warped concept of a tai-tai. They think that as long as you don´t have a “normal” 9 to 5 job, you are a tai-tai. I get that all the time, since I live in germany.

How long did your “discomfort” last after lasik? Do you still remember what it was like? I asked a couple of people and somehow ppl who have had their lasik done a couple of yrs ago all tell me that the discomfort was “very short”….which I find it hard to believe because its been 1.5wks for me and I still experience dry eyes…..

Gina Yah! I figured it´d be nice if you all get to see Glympse on her happy day…. She´s really brave to have relocated to Sweden immediately after her wedding! Boy! I would feel that is so soon! Like I wouldn´t be able to be happy on my wedding day knowing that I´ll be leaving everybody the next day! Luke´s gorgeous! I´m sure that helps with his naughtiness eh? Why are you moving to Saudi? That´s gonna be such a big change for you and your family!

Emilia No problem with the photos! Sorry I really don´t really remember your background anymore…could you tell me more about yourself? I understand what you mean about all the babies on this forum are super cute, hor? All Eurasian, that´s why! Hahahah…. It´s be nice if we could have some sort of Photo website to upload all the photos! Hahahah…. I don´t have any kids either and I do swing between wanting to have kids and not being sure if I´m ready…..

Maplehue Hey, we´ve been married for same period of time! We celebrated our 3rd year in Feb this year. You´re in Singapore now? Are you working or your hubby? Didn´t realize so many of you are in Singapore! If not,wld have arranged a meet-up….oh well, next time perhaps! I´m doing well! Perhaps could be better, if my eyes aren´t so dry all the time…esp when it gets late…like now….. flying back to germany tomorrow.

ChrislOh nice! You like kids! Heehee…. Were you a kindergarten teacher in Sg too? That´s cool…I´m a teacher too…but teach adults and more for business English….. Enjoying yr job so far? You cook so well! My blog addy is www.prissteph.blogspot.com

Glympse It was so great seeing you in real life too! My hubby was like quite shocked that I wanted us to go for yr wedding – since we have never met each other in real life. But boy, it was such an AWESOME wedding! Could see that you meant so much to your church! What´s yr FB account? Can add you? Does anybody here have Glympse´s FB name?

Everybody Does anybody here have a blog? On blogger or multiply or smth? I have a blog, www.prissteph.blogspot.com I do write pretty regularly and post photos too…. Like reading blogs too, since I enjoy looking at photos….let me know if you have a blog, so I can add you ok? Oh Facebook too! My account name is “Priscilla Tews”….would be great if you can add me, or tell me your name so I can add you….easier to keep in touch!

Hi everyone n new comers! Popping by to say hi!

Sorry I've been MIA. Been busy lah! Internship, Dutch lesson, n preparing for a hobby fair. But on the whole, I'm fine. Can't reply much to the questions though I've been reading them. Head too full liao! LOL!

Congrats on those who are getting married soon! Good luck in preparation!

Have fun at Singapore day! Cannot make it lor!

Those who are going to move to another country, good luck too! Hope you like the new place.

Mummies, your babies are growing fast and they are so adorable! : )

Ok! I got to get back to work!

Pris, I've a blog. Mainly more on my crafts and going to combine craft cum therapy. At the moment no time lor. http://agapebridal.blogspot.com

Take care ladies! : )

gina, i'm sure you'll make friends in no time should you decide to join julio there .. after all, the ladies there will be in the same situation as you are - expat wives. luke will have friends from all over the world then .. hehe

there's this thing called the green pan, the adverts have been running on the food channel all the time - not sure if i want to change my ikea and wmf stuff to this.

chrisl, i am trying - yesterday i had an sms conversation with elias in swedish .. it was ok at first and then it got harder and harder to keep up. i'm ok with writing the stuff down but i still need to learn how to 'sing' while speaking .. so last night we sang karaoke on SingStar and i sang a swedish dance song, battled against elias .. and i won! hahahah .. over 7000 points. his defence was that he doesn't know the song .. hahahaha ..

oh yah, i know what you mean .. i've seen the dirt on the snow before but i wonder arh .. in singapore, you have to dust the house every few days or else it will get dusty, but in sweden, the house rarely gets dusty .. elias reckons that since the air is drier, dust doesn't get a chance to fly about in the air.

glympse, enjoy your honeymoon ..
maybe we might get to hear the pitter patter of tiny feet soon .. hehehe

de_luxe, sofi is becoming quite vain actually and she knows how to ask for stuff now - most of what she has now has got to be pink, preferably hello kitty .. elias was just lamenting the other day that it seems that our kids might just be a bit too high maintenance ..

priscilla, yah maybe i should look into it .. wearing spectacles and contact lens can be such a hassle at times

wah, seems like quite a number of us celebrated our 3rd year anniversary this year .. mine was in jan.

pris, i am doing a blog for the kids - will let you know the url when i'm done ..

pris yes dry eyes are common after Lasik. I still use eye drops before I sleep as a precaution. Used to use it more often when I was working, partly cuz of the eye strain / dryness due to long hrs of computer use, late nites and air con. Dun remember how long the post-surgery discomfort lasted, maybe a wk or so, but it wasn’t that bad for me to remember much abt it – dun worry u’ll get over it in time. More of the discomfort was in btwn surgery cuz I did 1 eye at a time which was the recommendation at that time. They did the stronger eye 1st n monitored the results so that treatment for the weaker eye is then tweaked accordingly. The problem w this is that in btwn surgery I had to use either 1 eye or the other, can’t use both at the same time, really like a one-eye jack! It din help that I was working then, so was really tough having to meet clients and deal w computer work w 1 eye handicapped. Also I couldn’t stand bright lights post surgery, and during a meeting I had to sit facing the sun directly – such agony! Luckily, no such issues now… the only other side effect I’m left with is the halo effect, particularly w street lamps and car headlights, which makes it difficult for me to drive at nite as I find it hard to gauge the distance of approaching vehicles and entering expressways can be a little dicey.

Yes I do meet other pple / SAHMs sometimes, but going out w J in itself is a herculean task. I’m usually totally pooped by the time we get home even tho the outing can be as short as 3 hrs. So sometimes dun feel like going out at all. Have not been out w my child-free frens since giving birth, some just dun understand why going shopping would be totally exhausting for me.

We’ve not fixed the dates for our germany trip yet, will prob be late Jun, early Jul... we need to get him a passport before we can book the flights. Hope the weather will be good. I dun want to buy warm clothes for J just for this 1 trip…

I dun have a blog, tried a few times to set one up but just din have the interest nor inclination to maintain it… with J around, I barely have time to reply emails, much less blog.

cuclainne wat’s green pan abt? Eco friendly something?

I find that I’m picking up German now that hb speaks to J in German almost all the time! Free language course! Heehee

We’ll also be celebrating our 3rd anniversary in Jul

DeluxeThanks for sharing yr lasik experience. Surprisingly, my eyes are better in germany than in singapore. Even though its supposed to be other way round. My doc said that germany is dryer. Maybe its because I slept more. Oh yah, i came back yesterday and had to force myself not to go to bed at 4pm! hahha. Its nice to be back, but looking at the load of clothes waiting to be ironed scares me! Good thing is that I don´t have to work yet- only tmr. Oh, have u thought of getting some of your children-less friends to babysit for you? My pastor´s wife used to ask us if we could babysit for her. Her kids would be asleep by then, so its like we just watched tv or did whatever stuff we wanted to do at her house.... and its usually quite fun. Sometimes I ended up reading bedtime stories to them before they slept. I know how tiring it can get to bring children shopping. My bros are like 8,9 yrs younger than me and even though I was still young when they were born, I remembered what it was like to follow them like crazy in teh shopping ctrs. My sis and I would take care of one bro each. Boy, it was a nightmare, since they were like hyper-active, being typical boys.

Grgh...guess what? i was fully awake today at 6am..thanks to the birds and sunlight! ah well, so im over here to surf a bit..

Cat that would be such a cool wedding i think!
Hope you're taking it a step at a time

Cuclainne take it easy gal, maybe try to label the things at home eg table, chairs etc. Cos it might be pretty confusing at times. Plus yeah you're rite they have the tones..the 'singing' tones..maybe can try listening to swedish radio online? is there any?

yeah im also a bit annoyed with the hassle of contact lens as they make my eyes so dry and must remove and wash and so on..i yearn to wake up not searching for my glasses..haha.. btw, Deluxe / Pris any recommendation for a lasik doctor? And how much did you gals spend? same as cuclainne i have been thinking about it too for a long time..but the last time i checked was one eye for $3000! But on the other hand im thinking about the risk in the op..afraid that doc will laser too deep etc..a bit scary cos have only this pair of eyes..if anything happens can't see..*choi!* LOL

Pris yup in a way cos as part time i can use my remaining time to do house stuffs, online and such..but have sent my application for a full time job in the kindergarten here starting in august i hope ..cos better pay hehe

hey the rest of the ladies how was SG day? Did you gals enjoyed yourselves?
Saw on Straits Times online that they have overwhelming response to that event! Saw that ERP thingy up too! So creative! haha how was the food? authentic enough not? Did you gals have to pay to enter (heheh since they have that gantry thingy there, you might have to go 'BEEP* LOL and the food etc?

Chrisl haha! And I was woken up by D scratching my face!

Can't believe it that it's only a week ago we left for London. Gosh was it a very long trip. Took us 8 hours to get there. There were 2 accidents on the motorway and we had to make a few toilet stops. Travelling with a baby certainly not easy. But Sg Day was great and we did have a nice time. It was lovely to meet Jo, Ailing and their other halves. Didn't get to eat much though. Only 2 pieces of satay and a plate of nasi lemak. Didn't feel like queueing and was more thirsty than hungry probably due to walking too much. We walked to Hampton Court from our accomodation in Kingston which took about 45 mins. Nice walk along the River Thames. Got to see some posh houses. And yes ... the gantry did go beep when we walked through it.

Hey ask you girls living overseas something? In our goodie pack there was a booklet on Sg Elections and registration as overseas electors. Just wondering did any of you re-instate your names on the register of electors? I didn't vote at the last one obviously so they struck my name off. I was on the webby looking at the form to restore my name and I'm a bit stupmed as to what to put for period away? Is it from the last time I was in Sg to my next visit or is it from the time I left to go overseas??? Anybody have any ideas?

HI Girls,

How you all doing?Yes, I finished my assignment and now embarking to another one. Sometimes I forgot how tough it is to be a student. Especially a part time student/working person.

Wow, It seems this SG day is working well for the organisers. Wasnt the 1st one in NYC and then in Melbourne and now in London. I wonder where its gna be the next. Or will it be a cycle?

Priscilla, I am EJ, as most here call me and I live in OZ, was in Melb and now in Brissy. Married to a German.

Mrs N, D was scratching your face? LOL. so funny, like a little kitty!

Nissa- are you still moving overseas?

Hi to CAT. Just want to say that I live about an hour from the Sunshine Coast! Wedding on Mountains are very romantic! hehehe i LOIKE!

Are you going to move to Queensland after your wedding? It would be great to have another SG bride here. I am sick of being isolated here. Not really happy in Brissy *sigh* I miss my SG bride gang in Melbourne.. they having YUMCHA TODAY!!!*SOB SOB* We have very strong network in Melbourne, so its super fun.

Been feeling dreary coz both Chris and me are not big fan of Brissy and misses the SGbrides getogether coz the husbands are all cool as well. We normally meet up in someones home and have food whole day. *sigh* oh well....

talk to u girlies soon.have a great rest of the weekend!

Hope everyone had a restful weekend. We went to watch 'International' at Plaza Singapura. Not too bad, but not my cup of tea. Now looking forward to watch "Wolverine".

Ailing..hows the prep? Have you guys decided on where to do your solemnization? Is it possible for you to come back to Sg earlier and do it here instead?

Hi cuclainne, is sofi going back to kinddies anytime soon?These days we must all be extra careful la I think. Now with the swine flu, jeff and I have decided to wait awhile. The last thing we want is to be quarantined when we come back here from canada! ..and of course my Mom is also paranoid with the airborne thingy on the plane. We have cancelled our last week plan to fly to Canada and still monitoring the situation with HINI virus going around.

So any more news regarding your move or you guys have decided to stay put. Ha.. Nothing beats home la girl!

georgina, you are right..health comes first. since the move, im definitely feeling better. now can have home cooked food, swim once a day and just chill out.
sure!i can definitely hook you guys up with our friends who will be moving to riyadh this july/august. they are americans and quite funny!

chrisl, how are you and hows flu? with the swine flu and everything..better take care yeah. luckily europe is not affected as much as in north america. are you still visiting sg? the hubby and moi have been eating homecooked food lately. with my sensitive stomach and just getting out of the flu, i think home cooked food is still the best and my mom has been spoiling me with her cooking

So you want to do lasik surgery? me too! i am tired of contact lenses and eye glasses. so pekcek. the eye person told me that it is a good time for me, but one of my gfs did it, and her experience was so scary. she couldn't see for a few hours and even fainted. she did hers in mexico she said.

deluxe...how are you feeling these days? and baby j? have you and hubby brought him out recently? for some reason, i still feel kinda weak and dont have much energy to do things or go anywhere.. none of my friends even know i am back! i just hope what happened in hk hasn't messed me up!! jeff has been feeding/forcing me to swallow vitamins and supplements every morning, but still im not back to 100%! Strange isn't it?...

Woah...you will be celebrating Mother's Day for the first time this year yeah
So sweet!
..are you speaking more German now? Last week, when jeff and I went out, for some reason he wanted to communicate in french, so i just 'hentam' my french la. we managed to have a decent conversation considering mine is quite rusty!...i think he missed his family's mother tongue?? so weird!

mrs n hope you and your family enjoyed the SG day!! so you didn't get to eat prata?? cos i saw on telly they had prata there
must be a fun thing yeah to be with fellow singaporeans!

Hi Pris, yes, the hubby and I are currently in Singapore. We took 3 months off to rest, travel and get back to health. but we don't live in Singapore. The first 2 years after being married, we moved to Seoul Korea. He is a Director of Sports and being in education myself, he got me a job shortly as a visual arts teacher. Then we moved to HK. now we are back in sg to rest for awhile and hopefully get back to our health cos we both havent been so well lately. yes yes we should definitely try to meet up if you are here. I have not yet met up with cuclainne or deluxe this time round.

How is life in Germany? Can you speak the language? My hubby who is a Canadian doesn't want to retire in Canada. Ha. He said he doesn't miss the 4 seasons!

cuclainne..same question as deluxe what is green pan?? never heard before!!

hello to the rest of the ladies here
hope i didnt miss anyone!

have been reading the paper quite diligently and other than the AWARE thing, I have been interested in the current realestate market. Looks like prices are down! Is it a good time to buy? Jeff called our agent to visit a few properties just to see-see. cuclainne, you thought of buying a property too right? So how much downpayment do we have to prepare for a condo? and any restrictions for a singaporean with angmoh partner. no problem right? i guess i should ask the agent tomorrow.
so do you gals think it is a good time to buy now??

emi..congrats on the completion of the assignment! and sorry to hear that you are feeling a little isolated. hang in there!