Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

maplehue, of course i was determined - it was for elin .. plus all the stores were closed for chinese new year so i really, really had to make it!

it was just a small party, celebrated it with the family at my mom's place. the kids loved the cake .. so it wasn't a waste of my efforts then!

oh yah, at the last apartment we had, i also had a super tiny counter-top oven that cost me like $80 from Courts. aiyoh, everything will burn in there .. so if i want to bake anything, must stand there and watch. :S i've rented two apartments so far and both came without ovens - don't people bake anymore? so i went out and splashed a few hundred bucks on a bigger counter-top oven and i so heart this machine. i feel so bad cos if we have our own place, i've already got my mind set on getting built-in ovens.

hahah .. i still got lots of names on my list ..

cuclainne...good for you girlie! the girls are lucky to have you as their mummy
Forgot about the closed shops during cny. woah, does this mean every year elin will have a holiday during her birthday? Sweet!

i know...now not many apartments have build in oven. maybe to save cost too. if you dont mind, can you tell the brand of your current counter top oven that you heart so much now? hee..
I am actually thinking of getting a better one. There is this new water oven or something in hk, but jeff is not that keen at all. Do you know much about it?

And before I forget, need to ask you something else. What is the name of that bed and breakfast place you and elias booked for his family when they were there for your wedding? I can't seem to find it on the internet. All the sg b&b online look a little "cold" and "backpacker kind". Maybe I need to type the exact word or something. ??

*Wave* to everyone! I've been MIA and "hibernating"!

Thanks for the well-wishes & concern. : )

I took time off to give myself space. It feels really good to do that and worked on my processes. : ) I slowly catch up with all of you.

Hernie, this is the Bed & breakfast in Singapore. http://www.1bnbsingapore.com

GTG n cook. BTW, we have a real major reno in process. Kitchen is half way still and now hub has to work on the living room coz of the neighbour lah. He took photos but I haven't downloaded them yet as I was in my "nutshell". Will put up how massive it was the reno! LOL!

Chrisl, any photos of your new kitchen? Would love to see it!

maple that's too bad. Guess people don't cook or bake much in HK! Perhaps they've got too many nice restaurants around. Where are you thinking of relocating to if you're moving away from HK?

Chrisl hope you managed to skype with your family during the new year. It's always difficult being away from family during festive seasons.

Cuclainne glad to hear your efforts were well appreciated.
Haven't much time to cook or bake anything interesting these days. Ha! Ha! We just started Dominic on solids and Paul says we might as well accompany him and eat baby food to save myself from cooking twice!

Liz nice to see you back. Are things better with your neighbour?

Heheh i 'pontang' today again

Culcainne~ Thanks for the link
whoa seems like you're like a super mummy! juggling work and family..not easy!

Maple~ i've been to the bnb to take a look, it was very nice! but unfortunately they're booked for the period i was looking at..btw, heard of this place 'the hangout'? DUN go there!!! we booked there instead and the bed was with small bed bugs sucking our blood!! yikes!! woke up with itchy red spots on our bodies..plus no tv and telephone in room etc..fuss free as they called it..

just a routine body check for my hb, me just accompanied him lah

whoa your mentioning about nasi lemak made me recall i tried nasi lemak sometime ago but can't seemed to get that fragrance of the rice right..think it might have to do with the canned coconut milk instead of fresh ones

Mrs N~ yes! i did! it was a short while but it was good updatings..

you can try making one pot dish such as chicken celery stew and puree the veggies and some meat for him
so you can save the hassle of cooking 2 times..

Eliz~ can can, but will do when i get pc up..cos now im using my lappy and pc is with photos and photoshop to resize the photos..or does anyone know how to resize photos using paint? i can't seemed to get it leh

Mrs N, thanks! I'm energised! Kekekekeke....

Ai ja that neighbour ha! Talk liao angry man! LOL! Wah I'm like Phua Chu Kang! LOL! He promised not to smoke water pipe but he broke it. Well... we gave up on him. Now all we have to do is to get the isolation done asap. Poor Jeroen, working super hard! He is has done half of the living room and has to move all the stuff over before he can do the other half. PHEW! A lot of work!

I will download the photos in a while n put in facebook n multiply.

Good to be back though! Yeah!

Chris, Not sure about paint. Never used that. I use FS viewer. Jeroen got it from somewhere. Have to ask him. I have no clue man!

hi hi. short hello.

hernie, I dun have frens in brisvegaslah. well, sorta. 2. one a fren from uni when i lived in adelaide and 2 is another SGbride girl whom disappeared but i managed to traced her down. Melb's having bad hot spells. its been over 40degrees these 2 days. we are dying of heat, everything is breaking down..trains, trams, offices... everything.

i think asians dont really bake. period. we boil, fry,bbq, steam, but not bake.

my mum trusts only one brand- its a UK branded oven called baby beiling. she already now owned her 3rd one. she started buying them since the 80's. everytime she bought a new one it looks exactly like the 1st one she bought. cept different colours! heheheh.

good luck on the oven.

nissa,,, are u trying to get pregnant again???

liz...so many websites happening for u? sale must be good!

chrisl- packaged coconut shud be fine, best is KARA... and those thai brands.... u have to be careful. not all are good,
you can resized foto in paint using i think the percentage thingy... horizontal and vertical resizing in one of the edit areas, i cant remember unless i have paint open... make sure that both numbers are equal always. like 50 and 50.. not 20 and 60 if not your foto goes funny.
gd luck

nitenite..sleeping time. last day of work tomorrow *sigh* so sad....

Hi Emi, No lah! Dun know what wrong with customers. Dun reply! Weird! In fact very quiet! Hope it will pick up soon!

I heard it's super hot! Take care and drink lots of lots of water!

maplehue, not every year lah cos the date this year won't fall on the same day next year .. if you can understand what i mean .. hahahah

heard about the steam oven - seems quite the 'in' thing to get now but i still prefer heavy-duty ovens .. i told elias that if we have a place of our own, i want the kitchen to be like restaurant kitchen - equipment must be able to handle lots of use! hahahah .. i'm actually using the current kitchen more than at the old apartment - mainly because there's more space here. i think mine is delonghi, girl .. can't remember the model though .. i tried to search online but seems that they have newer models instead and i only got this like a year ago!

Liz has given you the correct site. Check it out! Someone i knew even had her hen party there .. if i'm not mistaken, Liz had her tea ceremony there - correct or not, Liz?

Liz, sounds like you've been keeping yourself occupied. aiyah .. don't care about your neighbour la .. hope that jeroen will be able to finish doing the floors soon ..

Mrs N, yah agree with Chrisl .. maybe you can do some recipes which you and paul can also eat, just require some pureeing/ mashing for dominic .. i have some recipes, asian and western, if you'd like. i can send them to you ..

Chrisl, hahahaha .. not super-mummy la, at the end of the day just flat out tired.. yesterday elias asked for a hug before going to sleep but i cannot even move myself to face him .. he said he's also too tired to move, that's why ask me to :S ..

hope that everything is ok on your end ..

emi, NO la! hahahaha .. i just have a list of names, that's all .. must be prepared what! hahahaha .. but no, we have enough on our hands at the moment ..

a colleague of mine uses baby belling to bake bread - but now i cannot find it in the stores anymore ..

my mom called to say that elin has taken one step and she said that it'll be anytime soon when she starts walking - i want to be there to see it!!!!!

Cul, u r right! I have my tea ceremony there. U can take a peek at the photos to see how the place is like.

I couldn't be bothered with the neighbour now. Just give up man! Yup, I took some time & space to work on my processes in my personal therapy. : )

Liz, i think i've seen your photos before but in any case, i've been to the place twice already .. once to check it out for my in-laws who subsequently stayed there and another time for a friend's hen night .. jennifer's a very friendly host!

anyways, here are some photos from my bake fest last week ...

the final result from my triple baking attempts ..

917302.jpg

strawberry overload ..

917303.jpg

Thanks EJ for the tips on both the Paint and nasi lemak
hey saw your multiply, seems like you'll be occupied for sometime unpacking again hehe ;)

Hey Eliz, it's no problem..hope you take care of yourself..saw your photos..wah so much work..hope you and jeron can take it step by step
I know it's certainly not easy!

Wah Cuclainne your cakes looks yummy hehe esp the chocolate one..i've yet to find one chocolate cake which i really master
I have to look thru the link you gave
Hope i can find and test one that is soft and moist!!

SIGH!! MY norsk exam is next monday! I don't know if i can pass or not! So stress...

chrisl: i'm going to try the indian cuisine next .. i've always been turned off by it cos seems so daunting, so many spices to use but this site makes it seem quite easy .. want to try the french onion soup too ..

good luck for your norsk exam .. jia you!

Chrisl, a lot of work! Poor Jeroen is the one doing the work! Stupid neighbour smokes water pipe alomst everyday!
NOw living room has no smell of water pipe but the hall way. Faint!

All the best for your exam! U can do it! Yeah!

Gals, how are the rest of u!

Come and take your votes pls be it married or not at my blogspot!

http://agapebridal.blogspot.com/

thanks gals for the wishes

yeahhhhh i finally got over and done with my exam!! results are latest by 20th march

hey how's your indian cooking coming along cuclainne?

tomorrow i'll be starting with a new job at the hotel here as a receptionist, well that's apart from my usual school job..don't know if i get the time to go online this often not? And not to mention baking

Eliz, maybe can consider placing potpourri where the smell is to 'control' a little

Liz, poor you and Jeroen. i hope that by the time everything is fixed, you'll be able to relax and not have to put up with the 'smell' anymore.

Chrisl, no time to do indian cooking yet .. went to ikea on the weekend to buy some more new plates (hahahah) - everytime i picked something up to look, elias will ask, do we have room for that? hahahaha .. i have a new book on entertaining that i'm keen to try out - using the tips i've learnt on planning my mom's surprise birthday party this weekend
i also bought a new book on mediterranean cuisine (elias loves tapas) so i will have to try that out too .. someday .. hahahaha ..

wah, receptionist - that means you have to speak norwegian all the time, right and have shifts? but i think you can la .. not like me, my swedish still quite bad .. no chance to learn and use.
all the best for tomorrow ..

Chrisl not bad huh got second job. At least will keep you busy and it won't be boring. And most importantly you earning money.
Can now save up and buy ticket home for holiday. Hee! Hee!

Liz your neighbour is so inconsiderate huh! I guess he smoke so much that the smell has not effect on him. Can understand how hard it is for you. In my old job I had to analyse the substance and the smell always made me sick.

Cuclainne we are getting on well with the solids. I've been making batches of vegetable and rice purees and storing them in the freezer. Saves me cooking them every day. I've got a recipe book from amazon written by two paediatric dietcians and they have lots of recipes starting from age 4 mths till the child is 5/6 years old. But sure don't mind if you got any ideas for recipes especially spicy ones. Do your girls take spicy food? Just wondering when can introduce spices? I want D to be learn how to take spicy food eventually ... part of his heritage!

Hee! Hee! Wish I had the time to do some baking. Your cakes look real yummy.

Hey any of you girls (in Europe) going to Singapore Day in London?

Chrisl, i used to make apple and cinnamon puree for the girls - elias loves them too with swedish-styled pancakes cos they're basically just apple-sauce. hahahah .. i have a few recipe books for babies/ toddlers .. some by annabel karmel, and some are local books written by nutritionists .. i'll see if they have any spicy ones and will email to you yah
sofi loves spicy food .. when we buy prata, she doesn't go so much for the prata as she does for the curry, she will use a spoon to scoop and eat like soup but right now, she's into eating chicken rice with soup - previously it was fishballs, nothing but fishballs .. and strawberries. we feed elin some spicy stuff but she's a fussy eater and it's quite hard to get her to eat much of anything - she likes plain rice, boiled eggs and bread.

heheh. helloo girls...

I was so into unpacking and also uploading all my old skools foto, i totally forgot about this website.. CHOIIII.. never again..I did feel like i was missing something but i just cannot pinpoint what it was till I woke up this morning and I quickly realised SGBRIDES!!!!!! HEhhahhahehe

Anyways, All packed out here.. I usually take less than 3 days to upack things, coz I am the type cannot tahan see things in a box. Must unravel. Any packaging since young, I have this urge to open it- My mother called me her own personal 'customs' heheheh. anything you can think off from groceries to luggages to everythinglah... Its a condition.

Anyway...... WAHHHHHH NISSA.. you went on a total baking out of control!!! Very nice. I like.. especially the strawberries. Both Chris and me will die if we have a chance to wollop that down our throat! Big fans of berries. I am unsure why but as I grow older i tend to prefer berries in desserts than chocolate... cant stand them much anymore... like made me too thirsty. Was just wondering was the recipes all American? It looks like it.

No Worries Chrisl about the help- its handy!
yes, working as a receptionist might be the beginning of something cooler in the long run. Your scandic must be tip top ! $$$ must be good too! hehehehheh

Liz, I did'nt know that the smell of waterpipes can be so strong. I like to smoke it occasionally ..eeheheh but must either be strawberry or apple! The bubbles when u blow makes cute sounds and it smells like parfume!

Mrs N! you better slowly intro D to spice coz my cousin until now, well at least, lately.... at 25 started eating spicy food but for the longest time, he couldn't. My aunt who married an American, all her life have to cook at home for 3 different needs.CAN u believe that? Cos the hubby is quite the veg-fish person. The son only ate nonsense food and she totally malay. Beat that!

baby recipes- i saw jess seinfeld on oprah and really like her recipes....called Deceptively-Delicious. go google and realised how to deceived kids into eating unhealthy food which are actually healthy vegetables! hehehheha

We are back at work. Urgh. The holiday was gooood and I miss the sleep-ins.

Liz and Cucclaine, thanks for the info on bnb. I've looked at the website and its not bad at all, but I think maybe this time I wanna stay near Geylang or Katong so I can eat whatever I want anytime of the day. Hee. We'll see. Our trip back to Sg is not even a confirmed thing and here I am drooling over sg food. Scrum.

Hi Mrs.N..How are you and how is dahling Dominic. I'm glad he is doing well with the solids. What did you use for the spice? Heheh. You are right, must slowly trained D.

As for relocating, Jeff is so uninterested to relocate in Canada, not even in other angmoh land. He doesnt like four seasons and loves the sun. That hubby of mine! We have a few options now and will take action soon cos the lifestyle in HK is definitely not for us.

Chrisl how was the test/exam? Hope it went well. Pray that you'll pass with flying colours and congrats on getting a job! Hee. I agree with Mrs.N, can definitely save money to buy a ticket home.
Thanks for the heads up about 'the hangout'. Doesn't sound appealing to me either. I told Jeff this time I want to be near my Mom cos the last time we were home, we were all the way near Jalan Jurong Kechil! So far and Such a hassle. plus taxi fares are now dearer than before.

When are you planning to visit Sg? This summer?

Cuclainne, I know what you mean about the different days..Ha.
Woah your cakes look so yummy scrummy. I loveee your strawberry cake. And the cream... looks so sedap! I love berries and same same with emi...not into so much chocs anymore, especially with my nut allergy and all.

Have you tried the indian cuisine? What do you have in mind?

Emi..hows life in Bris so far and everything else? I have a friend who is in Brix right now. If you want, I can introduce you to her. She is a Singaporean and living with her Vietnamese Oz partner. She is also a pr there and I think no plans to go back to Sg cos she cant stand it there.

So how? The nasi lemak is all gone now? Heard from my friends in Melbourne that it is super hot there. I cannot believe those arsonists!!

Take care girlies and hello to everyone else
Im going to sleep now. Tired.

Jeff's birthday is next week, but I am organising a little celebration with close friends this Saturday night. PLUS my Mom is also coming on Saturday morning...so loads to do and plan for everything. Can't wait to have her here and eat some nasi lemak and pineapple tarts, but I also know it'll be crazy and busy for me.

Deluxe...how are you?! Hope you are well. Take care yeah.

xo

Wah i felt that this week is soo exceptionally long!

dropping by here to chill out hehe

Eliz~ hope the smell will go away soon..do you and jeron have any intention to move in near future or?

Cuclainne~ you like ikea plates too? I like their bowls and plates and such cos it's white and oven/dishwasher safe. Easy to match and maintain
Im thinking of getting more later when we make a trip down and after i've saved enough hehe you're so sweet to surprise you mum! Im sure it'll be unforgettable

no fortunately i'll be using english mostly with guests, but still understand and speaks norwegian sometimes lah..

Mrs N~ Heheh yea in a way save up and do lotsa crazy shopping and eating back in SG when i go home!! Im intending to go back in oct or november..nope think cos of htl work, can't go to the singapore day in london..wish i could

Ej~ not really lah..not too good but good enough to understand basic and convey some messages
which is important here as not all understand and speak english
Hey hope you're getting yourself settled in Brisbane
I had a student who relocated there with his parents a few years back..the mum thinks it's really lovely there

Maple~ thanks..went well i hope hehe
Pass can already heheh nope not coming back soon..not until sept or oct..or maybe november cos of work
Hk not for you? is it really so stressing than SG? As in how stress? work till long hours or? yeah close to mum would be best! Me too! Hope to find a property in the east next time near to my parents
now waiting to save up and also wait for property prices to drop more
hey an early happy birthday to jeff from me&hb..many happy returns of the day!

*Wave* to other ladies!!

ok got to go make dinner
me hungry!

hi ladies !!

nisa, so sorry couldnt meet up with you coz didnt expect so busy during CNY, everyone wanted to see bb Luke !! so will meet up with you when we back to sg for good, ok?
wah ! you can really cook ! the last time i baked cake was at least 1 1/2 year ago!

chrisl, hope you passed your exam with flying colors :-)

de_luxe, slowly you will get used to be a 'mom' its a new role stuck to you for the rest of your life (hope i didnt scare you ! but its true, once a mother always a mother)but i am sure you will love your new role when time passes especially when bb Johann started to call you 'mama':-) who knows, by then you might aim for second one :-P

mrs.N, hows bb Dominic doing now? exploring things every min? Luke is so active now, and so notti, wakes up at midnite and wants to play ! Faint!

emi: so how are you settling in?

well it wasn't all that unhealthy - or so i keep telling myself .. hahahah .. there were blueberries in the chocolate cake .. but yah, i prefer the strawberry cake too .. heheheh ..

maplehue: hey you doing ok there? anyways i can't remember if i told you the model for my oven .. it's DeLonghi AOV 842.

btw girl, where in Vietnam do you normally go for your hols? elias and i are planning a vacay without the kids - he's not so interested in bali .. we were thinking of thailand but i'm just so worried that the recent demonstrations in bangkok will just spill over to the smaller areas. don't want to go to bed and wake up the next morning to find out the airport's been taken over .. argh! so i'm considering vietnam .. a resort in hoi an, have you been there?

no, haven't had time to try out the indian cuisine but i did try to make some finger foods .. i will post the picture here later ..

how was the birthday party and is your mom still there with you?

gina, no worries .. i just saw your message online but not sure when you sent it .. so i replied
anyways, let's catch up when you're back for good yah ..

hellooooo

hi nissa, am good thanks. better, knowing that i will start a new job next tuesday and that means income for shopping. hehehheh.

its been quiet in here lately!?

hope you ladies are doing A-ok.

ciao!

hey emi .. yah, that sounds like a source of motivation .. hahahah ..

yes, this thread is pretty much dying off already .. a bit sad really but i supposed that it's because everyone's been busy ..

Hiya Emi & Cuclainne how's life? Yeah a bit quiet on here but that's probably got not much new brides around and those who are married 'connect' thru other means like FB.
A few of us have also been hanging round the motherhood forum. Want to join in? Ha! Ha!

Gina D's fine has two front teeth now and he also likes to wake up at night and think it's play time!
When are u going back to S'pore? Luke should be celebrating his first birthday in a few months time.

Chrisl how's work in the hotel line? You still volunteering in the school?

Maple are you well in HK? Still thinking of relocating to somewhere less stressful?

Glympse how's wedding preps coming along? Not too long for you now I guess before you wed and head off to a new life in Sweden.

We're now thinking of going back for Christmas seeing that Air Asia has started flights direct from London to KL. Was checking out their prices doesn't look too bad. Could consider breaking journey in KL enroute to SIN.Anyone on here flown by Air Asia before? Is it good?

Alrite here's to add some more life in the thread

kao_kiss.gif

Sorry been missing. Work as usual and the hubby hasn't been well either. Jeff has been staying at home this week due to his back. He hurt it when we were in Vietnam and only now doing something about it. I am now at home, down with a migraine.

Chrisl..yeah..working hours is super long here. The crowd in your face alone can be very stressful. There was one time, I just broke down when I got home. It was just too much. I guess if you are a crowd person, it should be okay, but for me, it is a little bit much. Worst that sg! As for work, we were told a different official working hours only when we got here. We felt so deceived and everyday now when I go to work, I resent it. So yeah, not good for the mind and heart la. Thank you for the birthday wish. The birthday boy got 2 birthday cakes this year...and a few pressies too.

How is your new job? Are you enjoying yourself? Keep us posted k!

hi cuclainne, don't be too sad girl. we are still here. I am! Been a little overwhelmed with things lately so that is why havent been around much. When are you planning to go for a holiday? Just you and Elias eh..so romantic. Hee. ..and yes yes, you told me abt your oven brand.
Thanks! The place we normally go to in Vietnam is called Muine. It is about 4hours from Saigon airport towards the ocean. You can take a bus, train or a taxi. We normally have a driver pick us up at the airport and we go straight from there. But it would be a waste if you didnt go to the Binhtanh Market in Saigon. Lots of fabric and cute hand made bagss. I bought them for souveneirs and my friends love them. We pay US$90. There are so many resorts in Muine. You can go to the Sailing Club, Coco Beach, Full Moon, Saigon Muine and many more. There are alot of restaurants too. We've been to all the resorts I mentioned above and our latest fav. hotel is called Novela. It is new and has a large room. It has wireless too. The rooms facing the ocean are very nice. I got to see Jeff kitesurf everyday from the balcony. We have also experienced the rustic way like Hiep Hoa. It is a clean and family run popular chalets. Definitely not a hotel, but comfy if you want to experience 'simple life'.

mrs n, this place is giving me grey hair!!
I hate it. I have so many of them now and I know it is related to the stressful environment here. Yes..we are planning things and trying to time everything before we 'drop' the bomb. I love my friends here, but for mental and health sake, I believe we have to do something. How are you and how is little D? Cute cute D.
Are you back working now?

Wonder how Glypmse is doing now? The wedding prep must be taking up her time. Glypmse how is everything?

And hello to everyone else. Take care!

maple you sound so burned out. Poor you. Hope you'll sort out something soon. D and I are ok. P was on leave for the last two weeks so I was a bit 'free'. Could go into work without having to cart the little one along with me.

I've been back work (off and on) since mid-September when D was about 6 weeks or so. But only started going in everyday for a few hours since the beginning of this year. Its quite tiring at times but I'm still managing ok. But house is a bit messy at the moment.

Hey everyone! So sorry I've been MIA for some time now. Been swamped with work + wedding prep + church commitments + spending time with family + arranging for the relocation to Sweden. But I've been reading the posts!

Chrisl, got your guestbook msg hehe. Thanks!
well, soon I'll be in Sweden, and we Scandinavian-Singaporean ladies should meet up if poss

maple, hello! yea u guessed right, wedding prep is really timeconsuming! now handling the guest list, which to me is the biggest to-do, handling about 800 RSVPs (400 for ceremony, 400 for banquet), crazy! good test of admin skills haha. anyway, how are u? u sound so tired ... do take care ok? since Jeff doesn't like angmoh places, come back to SG la!

Mrs N, yeah, it's 1 month 1 week 1 day to the wedding :P can't believe how time really flies! soon i'll blink and i'm a Mrs! :P anyway, how's the mummy of Dominic been? hope Dominic's ezema's all gone now? Not sure about Air Asia too, hvn't taken it before. But yea the prices are vv appealing!

cuclainne, wah, i saw the baking pictures - u're a great cook!! the double-layered chocolate cake looks esp sinfully delicious...!
so, tried the mediterranean cuisine yet?

emi, how are u? all settled into ur new place yet?

Quick update from me - last day at work in Singapore was last wk Thursday! So now fullfledged into wedding prep and packing for the move. The big thing now is the residence permit to Sweden tho, some complications came up, so yea, really praying thru and hoping that it'll be resolved in time for April! HTB is also actively searching for an apartment in Lund, we hv a few options now tho, so things look promising

Big hello to the rest!!

after cuclainne's post i just had to write something tho it's way past my bedtime.. lol..

me alive and kicking tho hardly any energy left, Baby J's growing well, already put on 2kg in 8wks.. he drinks so much i suspect he's just greedy, not hungry!

ok gtg... post more another time.. stay well gals!

Hahhaa Deluxe, guessed me got to drop some lines here too, been MIA for soooooooooooooo long altho i have been reading the posts regularly.

Morning everyone! Hope u had a good weekend
Well it has been rather dramatic in Melbourne lately, 1st the heat waves then the bush fire + gail force and last friday we had earthquake!! Wonder wat's next?? UFO arrival?!! LOL It's kinda of funny tho when we experienced the shaking and rattling at home. I could see the fire place rattling so hard that i tot some big fat animal might have fallen and prob struggling hard to escape! R was debating with me that it was some strong gust of wind down the chimney, oh well our seconds of guessing was gone when a friend on the other phone line said they too had experienced the tremor. No damage at our place tho i read on the news forum that an elderly man fell off from his couch while others had their wall pictures fallen off. Dat was my 1st experience of earth tremor.

Early year has been a tad busy for me, used to work 3 1/2 days a week and now sch has increased my hours to 5 days a week, good in a way, more $$$ :] but lesser time to laze around at home and shopping.

With my cousin & his family coming down next fri for a holiday, me lagi more busy these few days, cleaning and tiding up the house and rooms, as usual, we only do the major cleaning whenever we have guests LOL My sis n niece also coming down too in June. June will be exciting for us, I'll do a stopover in Sg for 5 days before meeting up with hb n the boys at sg airport to Germany to visit my in laws - ya another big party there, MIL's birthday as well as their wedding anniversary and big famuly gathering! Had oredi applied 3 weeks leave to stretch over the 2 wks sch hol to spend time with my sis/ niece as well as the trip :]

Alrite gals, i hope u have a good week ahead
It's long weekend here, will start my cleaning soon :/ Cheers

Mrs N, i used to be quite active at the motherhood site but now i find it hard to even actively post here .. hahahaha .. which thread are you at?

maplehue, elias has 5 days of leave to clear before april .. well, he has 4 now since he took a day off last week to laze around at home so we had been looking at several places .. still haven't decided yet! argh! 4 hours' drive?? wow - that's quite far, ain't it .. but not so many tourists?

hope they haven't been giving you too much grief at work ..

glympse, wow - so your wedding planning stage is in full swing now eh?
don't worry, you'll have plenty of opportunity to hone your cooking skills once you move over .. heheheh .. hope you'll be able to sort out the application in time ..

de_luxe, how are you? i know how exhausting it must be .. are you looking after Baby J full-time?

margiel, sounds like you're in the middle of it at the moment - hope that you and R are fine. oh, so would we be able to organise a meet-up when you're here?

cuclainne the link to the thread is in my previous post. Liz & deluxe are in there as well.

Glympse the day will be here before you know it. You must be feeling pretty excited. D's eczema is much better now since we changed the washing powder to a skin sensitive one.
I'm fine though juggling time between home and work is still a challenge. Somedays I feel I haven't the time to breathe!

margie wow Melbourne so happening! Glad you're ok. Yah looks like you'll have an action packed June! Good time to escape the winter in Oz and experience the summer in Germany.

margie great to hear from u.. yes, if u are in sg, we cld meet up... wld be great to see u n ralf again
so u r finally gg to germany! i'm hoping to be able to travel there sometime in june / july too!

Hope the elderly man din break any bones falling off the couch!

cuclainne yeah i'm looking after baby J full time, 1st wk home alone as my mom has gone home last fri. So far ok, but i'm tired cuz of late nites the past couple of nites, too many things to do. He's just completed a growth spurt and currently sleeping better than the prev wks. Also more alert n playful now.

Hi all! I am new here & my husband-to-be is an Australian

It is so nice to see here everyone in this forum are friends.

My wedding is in October in Singapore & there are thousand & one things to do!! Sometimes I am overwhelmed by everything.

I don't how you gals did it. Do share you secrets

Take care,
Cat

Mrs N, posted .. hahahaha ..

de_luxe, it'll get better with time once you get into your routine .. though if you ask elias, he would probably say that it'll get worse .. hahaha ..

hi cat, welcome and congratulations ..
it's pretty much standard to ask how did you guys meet, are you here in sg, etc .. fill us in on the details, girl!

thanks cuclainne

we met last year in a conference in bangkok & we hit it off right away, like buddies who know each other all our lives. since then we were inseperable. but the problem is he lived in brisbane then & i in s'pore.

so in sept last year, he decided to leave everything behind to join me in spore. lucky enough, he found a job without a problem although he had to take a pay cut (but at least we are together right? :P)

without question, we knew we were soulmates from the second we met. we also share the same buddhist beliefs. so we had a buddhist wedding blessing done last oct, witnessed only by our closest & dearest friends. It was very beautiful because it was exactly how we wanted our wedding to be - very small & intimate without the interference of bossy family members! :D

Anyway my mom found out about it (yeah, family wasnt invited to our buddhist ceremony) & was upset. I think she was more upset that we are so called 'living in sin' ;) & thats why we're having this wedding now in October so that everyone can see us live together legally as husband & wife

Our wedding will be held in Beaufort Sentosa on the Lawn (outside the Ginger room). We'll be having the typical Aussie BBQ & his family & some friends will be flying in for this.

We are trying so so hard to keep our wedding small & intimate but I guess with the typical Chinese family, how to? So we decided to do an adult only dinner. No children. My gosh, imagine the big hoo-ha my family kicked. Too bad for them. We're paying for it ourselves & we're doing it our way ... hehehe

Actually, we booked the venue before we announced our intention to marry. Now my family just has to suck it up. A bit mean but .... thats the only way we can do it the way we want it.

wow cat, thought me and the husband worked fast but so did you .. ehehehe .. i met my husband online, a few months later he came to sg and proposed marriage .. we got married about a year later, in early 2006 and still living in sg with our two daughters.

yeah the husband had to take a pay cut too but now all is good
yeah it totally sucks to keep commuting every few months so this worked out for us too

i know what you mean - we had the intention of keeping things small too but of course, family is family .. they wanted to have their say too! so in the end we compromised - we did the ROM and dinner our way and we left the lunch to my parents to deal with .. it was only for a day so we just sucked it up .. it wasn't so bad! hahahaha ..

wow - your Oct wedding sounds like fun! i've been to an outdoor wedding at sentosa before and it was beautiful! but yours sound like more fun ..

welcome cat! Hehehe. i think most of the girls in here are the CHOP CHOP express train type. I got married to my hubs also after 2 years. I told him the first week i met him that I am getting old and I am not interested to heeeheeehaaahaaa. And thats how we ended up married. :P theres many of us in Oz and some married to Ozies.... have fun in here. Good luck with your wedding!

hey Glympse , am doing good. 1st day of work was great and uni is getting better of me slowly. So I am happier these days!

talk later girls.....

Hi Emilia, nice 'meeting' you
it will be good to get to know the girls who are married to Ozzies ... maybe we can exchange notes hehehe ;)

Cuclainne, I hope our wedding will end up fun too. We planning a few suprises which I really hope will please our guests

Emilia, i'm like you. straight to the point. i told him too .. if he's just looking for fun he'd better look someplace else!

Its funny how confused people get when we refer each other as husband & wife cos we are technically married (by the priest) just not legally married. :D

sorry this will be short.
i'm down w a migraine and have been staying home. feeling the pain i feel now, looks like i'll be staying home again tom.

just wanted to say hello to cat. welcome aboard cat!
im maple..a singaporean married to a canadian. we are now in hong kong. will be celebrating our 3rd anniversary this july.

your story sounds romantic and it also made me chuckled abit. you and hubby are quite 'gungho' eh? hee. deciding everything yourself.
so it'll be an 'adult only' affair? wow..i like that. hubby and i tried that, but in the end, relented to my mom. we had gatecrashers too and i was mad.

glympse...hang in there. it must be more fun to be doing all these things without having to go to work rite?

ok girlies..more later..

oohh this thread is slowly waking up after we all got a kick in the butt from cuclainne lol..

maple dear me, your health has really taken a beating hasn't it? Do take goody care..

cuclainne yeah we kind of have a routine now. it's not too bad unless i wanna do something or go somewhere and have to break the routine to do so... just been tired the past days tho itching to go out. Hb encourages me to bring J out cuz he's so interested in looking at everything and everyone. Brought him to Jurong Point this afternoon and he din want to have his milk nor sleep, eyes big big almost all the way... poor fellow was exhausted by the time we came back and k.o. almost immediately

welcome cat nice to 'meet' u... hmm.. ur story sounds really familiar, i dunno where i've heard it before, just can't place it.

I think i'm one of the few here who din go on the express lane, dated for 4 yrs before tying the knot..

i did it pretty much ur style too.. outdoor by the poolside at Oriental, kept it small (150pax) told my mom only immediate relatives allowed, no distant relatives.. n also limited friends to close friends and current colleagues only from my dept. Like u, I dun see the problem cuz it's our wedding after all and we're paying 100%.. dun worry abt the fuss, it'll die down after the wedding and pple will forget abt it. Just concentrate on making it a memorable day for you both

Hi ladies been busy the past few days with work and trying to get used to being a 'single' mum again after two weeks of 'holiday'. P was on leave and thus could help out in between fixing the shower. What was thought to be a small leak turned out to be a major bathroom project. Long story but after two weeks we finally managed to have a proper shower on Sunday!!

Cuclainne yah saw your posts. Now you got one more thread to keep you busy busy!

maple hope you'll get well soon. Have a good rest.

cat
kao_welcome.gif
always lovely to have fresh blood in the thread. Kind of injects new life into it which is nice because it makes us all reminisce about our wedding stories. If you haven't already guessed most of us who post on here regularly are all married with the exception of Glympse who will be tying the knot soon.

Your wedding plans sound very nice. Just do it the way you want to.

We had ours in the UK which was pretty simple. Church ceremony and wedding reception in the village hall. We did most things ourselves and it was fun. But we had another wedding in Sg 2 months later to satisfy my family most of whom couldn't make it to the UK. My family organised it and we didn't have any say it that except to turn up and do as we were told (literally)!
It was ok. At least we survived! Hee! Hee!

Hello Maple, de_luxe & Mrs N!! Nice meeting all of you. I am so happy to be here to be able to share your stories & hopefully advice from you too!

Maple, do take care of your health.

I'm trying to diy as much as possible on the wedding from invitation cards to baking the wedding favors. Have to start honing my baking skills!!! :D

Can I check with you girls, what was the theme of your wedding? Is more ang moh or more local or good mix of both. It seems that my planning is leaning very much towards the ang moh end, even my color scheme is.

Just wondering about the cultural sensitivity of it. But I simply cannot stand red & gold & all those chinese wedding rituals!!!

hey ladies!

Just catching up here .. been a busy week for me! Phew..taking some time here before going to work later.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs N</font>~ no more voluntering, in fact for since last year cos they decided to pay me for my work instead. So i work say like 30% at school and then 20% now at hotel and later in summer when school is closed i'll be 100% at hotel. Im starting to get cold feet now... Saw the motherhood thread..hehhe will kaypoh there soon ;P

<font color="0000ff">Maple</font>~ oh no..hope you're taking care of yourself and jeff. Im not a crowd person too hehe but i love occasional shoppings+stuffs. It's busy for me too these weeks. hb and i are planning for a trip back SG this sept/oct and in between either HK or japan
really looking forward to have a nice holiday after all that saving ups hehhe

<font color="0000ff">Glympse</font>~ wah you sound a bit hectic leh..try to relax ok? esp your wedding is around the corner, you dun want to end up like a bridezilla
Sure will be happy to meet up if you guys pass by hehe

<font color="0000ff">Deluxe</font>~hey i like your preggy photos taken professionally! So sweet lah!

<font color="0000ff">Cuclainne</font>~hey maybe we could arrange for a meet up dinner when i come back for a visit in sept/oct together with hb
and maybe the rest of the ladies in sg would join in too!

<font color="0000ff">EJ</font>~ hey all the best for your job! Saw your post on the singapore sushi! makes me feel so hungry..

Hey WELCOME <font color="0000ff">Cat</font>!~ &amp; CONGRATS!!! Yeah agree with Mrs N that it's always nice to have another new face so we could reminisce about our weddings LOL Your wedding sounds really nice and dreamy! hehe

i have been married for almost 2 years! (gosh times flies!! this june is our 2nd wedding anniversary) Im in norway now, home sick! yes! and also we had a mostly DIY wedding. Had a small chinese tea ceremony cum luncheon (for some relatives as they can't make it for dinner cos of my dad who wants it but minus all the chinese wedding rituals lah) and then buffet dinner/ROM at 4seasons windows east&amp;west for family and relatives too. I didn't invite most friends cos of limited seating capacity just 3 close friends as helpers/MC for that night..no themes but only room is set up in gold..and no frills lah..

Then another barnyard wedding in norway for relatives and family here a few months later (as hb's side can't make it for the SG one) DIY also

DIY Ang Pow box, wedding invites and favours. Wah you even baking your wedding favours eh? I was just so lazy..merely bought hersley kisses and popped into pouches! But i printed tags on them though
Do you have multiply?

hey hey .. now the thread is picking up speed again

elias told me that he's been asked by the big boss if he's interested in working full-time on a current side project .. but he will have to be sent to the paris office for two years!!!! gasp! he's keen on pursuing the project but just not from there .. but he said he's up for discussion when the time comes ..

if he really does take it up, then big decision to make - do i come with the kids, or do i stay put? aiyah .. giving me such a headache thinking about it.