Any advice on f&e in Paris?

may_shin

Hi I am exploring going free and easy in Paris for my HM. I have been reading the posts in the forum and quite encouraged by some of the couples' taking up f&e for their honeymoons. My bf is a little worried because we don't drive, so we will be taking the metro and buses mostly in Paris. Does anyone knows whether the signs in Paris are in English, the citizens understand us when we speak English? And the metro stations are easy to navigate...? We will be visiting some of the artistic spots in Paris like the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame Catherdral, Seine River, Versailles etc If we take the metro from our hotel to the tourist spots stations it should be within walking distance? Would appreciate your advice if any. Sorry sounds very blur...

Hi May Shin,

Firstly, it is great that you are not driving as with all large cities, driving and navigation is a nightmare, not to mention that you would be driving on the right side of the road.

The metro system is efficient, cheap (by European standards), and easy to navigate; it's very similar to our MRT system, except that they have far more lines. All the standard tourist attractions are within walking distance from the metro stations; in fact, few places in Paris are more than a few hundred meters from the nearest metro.

For information on metro navigation, check out:

http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~rtan/France/fne.html

and look for the section "Paris Metro System".

Please do pick up at least some basic French phrases, and learn to pronounce them properly. English will not get you anywhere, but if you start any conversation with some basic French first, it will at least get you much friendlier responses. Most Parisans will then switch to English to help you. But starting off with English first is asking to be ignored or treated with contempt.

May I ask, how many days do you intend to spend there? With the places you listed, you will need to spend at least five days so as not to get tourist fatigue. Also I hope you and your hubby will spend some time just walking around Paris on your own in the non-touristy areas; that is where you will really find the true beauty and soul of Paris.

Hi Raymond,

Thanks for ur helpful advice, but sorry, I've more questions! :-)

1. I'm thinking Option A: 7 nights in Paris (exclude flying) if going only 1 country or Option B: 5 nights in Paris and 5 nights another city/country. What do you think?

2. I like Paris as feel tat's it's romantic. For the 2nd country, I am interested in Venice, Rome or London. Which do you think?

3. But if it's too expensive, I go only Paris. What is a realistic and comfortable budget, we're thinking about total S$7000 for both? If I collect more hongbao$, will treat myself to a branded bag... hee hee hee... cannot blame me, Im a gal mah...

4. My bf feels that the package tours r cheaper cos agents get bulk savings. I oni dun't like the crazy intinery, like 7 countries in 10 days. For those 12 days/ 3 countries, they spend many days in Switzerland and only 2 nights in Paris! Sigh...

4. Ok, I still gotta do lots research and find out how to get to the places... before bf and I decide. If self-plan is too stressful, we may re-think, as honeymoon shd be enjoyable :-)

I have been busy doing some research of Paris. Wow, looking at the pictures of the art & history stuff is lots already!

I have planned my intinery for Paris, tentatively: MUSÉE DU LOUVRE, EIFFEL TOWER, CHAMPS- ELYSEES, CHATEAU DE VERSAILLES, NOTRE DAME CATHEDRAL

Raymond was right, I need to pick up a couple of French phrases, at least to open the conversation! Got language books but no one to correct my pronounciation!

Raymond or anyone in the know, I can't find any local hangouts guide online, only the main touristy stuff. Anyone can advise? Thanks!

Not sure yet whether I'll be going Paris!

Hi May Shin,

1. I would go for either 7 nights in Paris, or 5 each in Paris and London. But London is quite expensive, it makes Paris look cheap.

2. London. Venice is not bad too. Rome is nice, but not as safe, relatively speaking. It's not Baghdad or anything, but gotta be a little more careful.

3. SGD 7000 for two people to Paris? More than enough for seven nights. SGD 3-4k would already be very comfortable. Please see:

http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~rtan/Paris/

4. Sorry, don't agree with your bf. I did some research on it. They pass on their bulk discounts to themselves as profit. Don't forget they have to pay the tour guide too. Please see:

http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/~rtan/France/nopackage.html

5. If you're going to only one city and not driving around, how stressful can it get? It's a piece of cake, to me at least. We drive all over France all the time and no problems, we never get lost.

Your tentative itinerary is very heavy and typical of first timers. Louvre takes one full day at least, Versailles too. The rest require at least one full day. There are still many so-called "standard" attractions that you've missed out, and you did not mention walking around randomly, as well as visiting a street market, e.g. the Bastille market on Sunday mornings! That's where you see the real heart and soul of Paris.

For real travellers reviews, do check out:

http://www.virtualtourist.com/
http://www.tripadvisor.com/

Happy surfing and researching, and keep those questions coming.

<font color="119911">hi raymond,

I chanced upon this thread and was wondering if you can help. I have a choice to go to either Paris or the French Riviera for a period of 6 days (from friday to wed).

In your opinion, which is more worth the trip? It's not my honeymoon, my hubby is going there for training and we will extend for a short trip. Thanks!

Just in case you prefer to email me, you can do so @ [email protected]

Thanks!</font>

Hi Lyons bride and Raymond

Why not share the thread here?

My bf and I visited some of the larger tour agencies and browsed through their packages. Not really suited to our needs in terms of their schedule and places of visit.

My bf is now quite enthusiastic about going f&amp;e on our own, but he wants to extend to 2-3 weeks. I am browsing Rome webpages to work out an itinery for us... hee... gonna take some time, lotsa work uh...

Definately Paris and Venice for us... but still deciding between Switzerland or Rome? Raymond, have you been to Switzerland?

<font color="119911">hi may_shin, sure! I don't mind!

Maybe what you can do is "copy" some of the itinerary from companies such as cosmos/trafalgar/insight etc
Then cater the places of interest to what you and your hubby want to see.

I'm going to Italy in November for my honeymoon. Half tour package with cosmos and half F&amp;E. F&amp;E portion we're going to tuscany and cinque terre. Rome will be covered under the tour package.

We chose package tour because it was just nice that cosmos had a tour just to go to italy alone, which is what we wanted. Then we just extend another week to tuscany to stay in a castle and then to cinque terre.</font>

Wow tough choice; both Paris and the French Riviera are nice and very different from one another. It's like comparing apples and oranges. Just go with whichever you prefer.

Sorry I have not been to Rome since around 1985. Switzerland is nice with fantastic mountain scenery; it's just a little pricey.

<font color="119911">We've decided to fly in to Marseilles to visit the French Riviera first then take the 3hr train ride up to Paris. Think there's some super fast train or something. Since we only have 6 days, don't think I will spend more than 2 days at the French Riviera, will probably do them as day trips from Aix-En Provence.

Paris is my problem now... I only have 4 days, what's to see in these 4 days? And I can't seem to find maps with the places of interest marked on them... I need help! I only have 3 weeks to plan and I'm NOWHERE!</font>

Hi Bride (Lyons)

I have planned a tentative itinery of Paris for my bf and me but it's for 7 days.

It leans towards the cultural and artistic aspects, as I like to see works of art, sculpture and architecture. A little romantic Parisan street walking and people watching too. And some departmental stores but nothing major.

Not sure if it's suited to your taste, cos must see what u and ur hubby likes.

If you like, can email you :-)

But Raymond and others shd be able to help more :-)

Hi Bride,

You really should pop by any bookstore and get a guide book on Paris and/or Provence. A good guide will contain everything you need to plan your trip.

<font color="119911">hi may_shin, yes please! I'd appreciate it so much! My email is [email protected]

Hi raymond, will do that but not sure if I have enough time to read through so much material since there's so much to see!
But will definitely get a language book. Learnt french a few years back so can read and speak basic things.</font>

Hi Lyons Bride,

Sent to your email already! Raymond mentioned it's quite heavy for 7 days already so you may want to only select the places you want to go.

I intend to travel by metro.

Probably needs to be revised some time later... well, you enjoy your trip and have fun! Share your experiences...

Hi Bride,

While travel guides IMHO give the most information, if you're in a rush, you can pop by the following web sites:

http://www.virtualtourist.com/
http://www.tripadvisor.com/

They are very useful websites that contain real travellers' opinions. For example, here is some information on tourist traps in Paris:

http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/France/Ile_de_France/Paris-99080/Tourist_Traps-Paris-TG-C-1.html

You can just get a guide book and read it during the long plane journey.

<font color="119911">hi raymond, thanks for the tips! You're really experienced!

Hi may_shin, thanks for the itinerary! Much appreciated!</font>

I just wish to highlight something that I saw at the virtualtourist website. It's for all of us to learn.

"After visiting Paris for the first time, all my imagination about Paris that I read and heard from many resources has gone. On the first day, I visited Eiffel Tower and I almost became a victim of pickpocket. Second day, on the way back from Louvre museum, another disaster came. As I imagined Paris is such a developed country, I would never imagine there would be a lot of pickpockets and cheaters on the street. In one entrance to Metro station, there was only one machine with long queue. While I was trying to figure out how to buy the ticket, there was a lady approached me and my friend to buy train ticket. I bought two tickets from her, I was thinking she might just increase the ticket price. We got off at Dupleix station and we were stopped by RATP officers who wanted to check our ticket. We showed our ticket to them and ***… they told us that our ticket were ticket for children and we had to pay fine 25 Euro each. I explained that we bought ticket from somebody and since we were tourist we didn’t know about it. The officer didn’t want to hear anything only that we had to pay the fine and blaming me to buy ticket from somebody. I said okay it was my fault but I asked him to take action about this. I asked him where was the tourist address where I could complain about this matter. He said no address, we just had to pay 50 Euro in total. I really pity this city. This city is not much better than a developing country, hiding all the bad things on top of great publicities. It seems that this city really lives from tourists. Not just pickpockets, cheaters on the street but also the government officer itself. It seems there is no action to protect the tourists or prevent the criminalities, in fact many RATP officers stationed at popular station to raid innocent tourists to get income."

While I totally abhor these unscrupulous people and their deceitful practices (not the government officers, he is just doing his job; but the cheaters who sell tickets on the street), all I can say is that this tourist is really not streetwise at all and is a loser, suaku, and well, is asking for it. Sounds harsh?

Perhaps. But seriously, we have to be streetwise no matter where we go. Metro tickets are so cheap anyway and it is so easy to get them at any metro station; I've bought them at manned counters, as well as machines that dispense them. Furthermore it is so easy to buy a carnet (set of 10 tickets) so you really should not run out of them. Not to mention learning a little French would help you to identify a child's ticket.

So let's be smart, streetwise, and immune to such low-down con jobs. Just don't talk to anyone and don't trust anyone. Don't try to be too helpful or sympathetic; there are always poor people there that try to get money from you in whatever way. After that, Paris will be fine and a piece of cake.

Oh yes, beware those pickpockets, but I'm sure you people know what to do; these people are professionals and do your utmost to thwart them; any place you think is safe may not be safe. The only safe place is a neck pouch hidden insight your shirt, or right at the bottom of a backpack that you always hold close to you. Anywhere else and you are an easy target.

Another tip; while of course we would look like foreigners, try your best to look like and act like a student. That means do not flash your wallets with thick wads of Euros, as well as your fanciest Japanese camera hanging around your neck. That's really stupid.

Equally stupid is to carry a map openly. Try to memorise as much of the map as you can; if it's not possible, go to one corner and look discreetly at the map.

Just as suaku is this: when stepping out of a metro station, a tourist stops, looks cluelessly at the signs, then decides which way to walk. The correct thing to do is just to keep walking in one direction while looking at the signs; don't stand still or stop. If you realised you are walking in the wrong direction, just turn around immediately. Standing still and looking clueless shows anyone observing you that you are there for a first time and likely to be a tourist (which means loads of money); keep walking and they think you might be a student (no money!) familiar with the place; and thus they won't go for you but will go for the easier targets.

Hope this makes sense to you and helps you to enjoy Paris better. There is no need to be paranoid; Paris is by and large a very safe city; but having some common sense, alertness, and being street-smart will make your holiday a trouble-free one. Just don't be so blur and suaku, and be more observant.

hi bride,
do u hv Multiply account? i'm sharing my 2 full days paris itinerary with my frens...u can sign up n add me as ur contact to view it if u like
ur itinerary can be easily expanded to 4 days one after reading the remarks from my frens

Hi Cloudz7,

Sent to you already :-) When are you going Paris?

Hi Midas,

I'm interested to see your paris itinerary too! But I don't have a multiply account...

I just called Cambridge language course for fun and they are offering 10 lessons (2.5 months) Conversational French or Italian for $270 (not includes textbooks and registration fees). Do you think it's worth it? Or can make do with a language book, no need so elaborate?...

Thanks for your advice!

<font color="119911">hi midas, what's your multiply acct's nickname? I go add you
Thanks! Would really appreciate it if I could view your itinerary.

Hi may_shin, I had a private tutor for french before and what I found helpful was that she taught us exactly how to pronounce the words. And you can ask her any questions on which words are appropriate (some books may not tell you) but then it's only useful if you use the language frequently. I've got french people in my company that's why I didn't mind paying for the lesson.

Otherwise, just stick to the language book. The good ones are enough to get you through a trip to france

Hi May Shin, thx! It's really useful and detailed
Am actually going to Italy, Switzerland then Paris for 12 days with SA. Paris only ard 1.5 days with the tour, so i was wondering should i extend 2-3 days more and where to go besides the hot tourists spots like Lourve, Champ Elysee, Notre Dame which are covered by the tour. There's also this optional tour to Moulin Rouge, should i follow? how much is Moulin Rouge entry ticket?

Btw does anyone know, Galleries La Fayette is at which arrondisement?

Pardon me for the many qns, coz 1st time going to Europe

hi bride,
my multiply id is midas400

may_shin,
u may go to http://multiply.com to register FOC, then add me (midas400)

cloudz,
my chan bros 1day city tour tat covers Lourve, Champ Elysee, Notre Dame etc. is a drive thru tour, passengers r not allowed to alight n take pix at these places (accept eiffel &amp; arc de throimphe)...we were very disappointed..but heng i'm extending my stay so i managed to cover them anyways..the others in my tour grp juz hv to make do with photos taken from the moving coach..

Can anyone share with me your iternary? I am thinking of going to Champ Elysees, Arc De triomphe, Place de le Concorde, Eiffel Tower, Louvre, Luxembourg, Port Alexandre 3,Les Invalids, Palace Versailles and shopping within two days. Dunno if it is too rush..pls advise. thank you!

hi lilo,
sorry for the late reply...me juz came back from vacation. my multiply ID is 'midas400'.

hi disney,
if u wanna go Versailles then cannot go so many other places liao...coz Versailles alone needs 1 full day due to the travelling to suburbs n back need several hrs..

Dear Disney,

Like that you will kill yourself. Please don't be the typical kiasu Singaporean, trying to cover as many places as you can in as little time as you can. You just end up getting tourist fatigue and you don't really see anything. Make better use of your two days by visiting just a few famous places as well as just walking around at random.

Hi Disney,

Here is what I would do:

(1) Louvre: half day, just see the famous paintings and sculptures.

(2) Eiffel Tower: no need to go up.

(3) Arc de troimphe and Champs Elysees: just walk around, no need to go up the Arc since you are short of time (the queue is very long).

(4) Notre Dame, again no need to go up.

(5) Besides shopping on tourist-saturated Champs Elysees and other famous shopping centres, head for one of the street markets where you see real Parisans and real French produce; stuff you cannot find in Singapore. Buy truffle oil, it has a truly unique and amazing aroma; you should be able to have a wiff of it from a sampling bottle if you ask nicely.

(6) Versailles, only if you have the time, which I seriously doubt. It is outside of the metro lines so you have to take the RER (Regional Trains) which cost more as well as takes more time.

Honestly, two days is not enough to see anything of Paris. In our next trip (and we've already been to Paris twice: 4 and 3 days respectively), we're going to stay at least another 4 days.

Hi Raymond,
I can spend about a week in paris. it's just that i saw some agancies offering such iternaries, so i tot of following them..Also know it is too rushing from the iternary. tot of covering as much places in as little time as possible and some of the places are quite near to eash other...haha

Hi Midas,
Thank you for your advice. Looks like I have been too greedy..Hehe

disney,
u hv multiply account? i posted my itinerary there liao...i dun keep the softcopy with me anymore..u can join for free at:

http://multiply.com

then add me as ur contact...my ID is 'midas400'

mine is a 2 full days itinerary covering mostly tourist spots...din go versailles coz no time. if u hv a week time u may also set aside 1 day for disneyland too

Hi Disney,

Honestly, I feel that many tour agencies are ripping tourists off. And the thing is sometimes it's not the fault of the tour agencies. I think many people who have not been to Europe before think that it's best to be kiasu. But they don't know what is best for themselves. So just because they see that a particular itinerary seems to cover more places, therefore it is better value for money.

Nothing could be further from the truth. Besides it being too rushed, due to the time constraints, you may end up seeing some of the sights just from the tour bus without even stepping out, and wasting time at other tourist attractions you'd rather not see. So it's far better to take your time. You're on holiday, what's the rush? There's no list of checkboxes to tick.

Honestly, we've been to Paris twice, but we still have not seen quite a few of the so-called must-see tourist attractions like Musee D'orsay, Moulin Rouge, etc. In fact, we didn't even bother to go up the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Troimphe, or Notre Dame. And we honestly only saw very little of the Louvre. But are we bothered? Not at all. Paris takes weeks, if not months to discover.

And honestly, some of the prettiest sites are not the touristy ones.

We now tend to head for places that the locals will go; e.g. street markets, parks, cemeteries! Yes it may sound morbid, but the cemeteries are very peaceful and pretty places to just walk around and look at some of the graves of famous people who chose to be buried in Paris.
There are lots more undiscovered gems but I leave you to find that on your own.

just back from my trip to Nice, Chamonix and Paris F&amp;E. would like to share my itinerary.

My flight from SQ do not stop in Nice so from CDG airport, took a TGV train to St Raphael and stay 2 days there. It is 5 hr train ride not much scenery. After checking in hotel at St Raphael, relax time on our own exploring this small town.

The next day, rent a car and drive to St Tropez. Beautiful yacht and great place for walking and ppl seeing.

Third day, drive to Nice via scenic costal drive. Stay in Nice for 5 days. We love Nice for the weather, food, sea and the promenade. For the few days in Nice, we went to EZE village. The drive up the village is beautiful. (would love to recommend your stay in Hotel Massnet Nice)

After that, we took train to Annecy. Stay for a night and next day drive to Chamonix. Went up to Aguille by cable car...scary for me cos I am afraid of heights. Anyway, I survive the trip up the mountains and the views is breathtaking.
We love to walk around town of Chamonix, very quiet and different from City.

From Annecy, we took train to Paris which is only 3 1/2 hr. We have been to Paris so this time round, we just take our time to relax and enjoy the cafe not really doing anything. We had a great time.

If you are interested in knowing the hotel I stayed, i will be happy to give you details.

Dear Anise,

I stayed at Tim Hotel Tour Eiffel previously and this trip I stayed at Lecourbe Hotel. The period I booked is quite exp because of Ruby in France and sale or fashion week. I had a hard time finding cheap accommodation.

I book Tim Hotel Tour Eiffel last year in Apr and cost me only 80 Eur which I find it very reasonable. Clean, small but acceptable. Tell them you are on honeymoond and they will give you a better room. Location is great, lots of cafe, seafood store, chinese food and supermarket nearby. It is at Dupliex Station and within walking distance to Eiffel Tower (15mins)
http://www.timhotel.com/hotels/us/eiffel.html

As for Lecourbe Hotel, tripadvisor has negative reviews for it and the pics from them are not updated. They have refurbish the hotel and now it is clean and good. I book from Asiarooms.com at a rate of S$530 for 3 nights (breakfast included).
It is located at neighbourhood area, very safe. also lots of food store, cafe and supermarket nearby. Sevre Lecourbe train station is 2 mins walk away.
http://www.hotel-lecourbe-eiffel.com/

Feel free to ask more question...

Hi Merribell,

Yes Tim Hotel have private bathroom each. seems like they have upgraded to have free wifi in rooms which is great.

Thanks so much Peng! My hubby and I are intending to go Paris later this year, in Oct, for about 7 days...do u have any recommendations for "must dos" in the city, besides the visits to the Louvre and Eiffel Tower? Thanks so much!

Hi Merribell,

Here are some suggestions that I posted for someone else in another thread:

1. Rent a bicycle and cycle in one of the numerous parks.

2. Visit a tea room.

3. Catacombs.

4. Pere Lachaise cemetery.

5. Day trip out to champagne region.

6. Join a walking tour.

7. Visit Bastille market (only on certain mornings).

8. Marais and Bastille.

9. 6th arrondissement.

etc.

stroll through the tiny Ile-Saint-Louis, with its gourmet food shops, gift boutiques and famous Berthillon ice cream store. Ile-de-la-Cite with a brief history and a peek at Notre Dame Cathedral.

Moulin Rouge
One of the world's most-talked-about nightclub and during the day, artist at work.

Day trip to nearby eg: Versailles or Loire Valley.

Thanks so much Raymond and Peng! Can I also check if mid to end Oct is a good time to go Paris (as in will it be too cold?) And, wat is the estimated budget we'll need? Thanks!!

Hi merribell,

Sure, it'll be autumn. Anytime is a good time to visit Paris. Just bring warmer clothes if you need.

Budget? It depends on you, right? If you want to have an idea of accommodation prices, you can hop on to http://www.accorhotels.com

Hi Merribell,

Yes Oct is a good time to go not too crowded. I went in Oct and weather not too cold. It is not too expensive to dine in Paris. U can get takeaway crepes for 3-5Eur, coffee in a cafe for 4Eur, dine in restaurant from 15 to 20 Eur. For budget, u can get fruits, crossaint and sandwiches from supermarkets or cafes. Chinese food cost around 10 Eur for 3 dishes for two pax. By the way, they weight those dishes and rice that u order.

Hi All, I'll be staying in Paris for a few months.

Anyone knows how to get to the flea markets and where to get not-so-expensive food in Paris? Supermarket, street markets etc? The guides dun tell me where is the supermarkets

Hi Eclipse2,

Lucky you.

Flea markets: Bastille Marche is open on Sunday mornings, and possibly other days as well. Googling "Paris flea markets" worked like a charm.

Supermarkets: try Googling "France Supermarkets". The bigger (and cheaper) supermarkets like Carrefour are located around the Boulevard Peripherique.

Any plans to pick up French? It would help lots.