Ang bao to parents during CNY

hahaha serene.. you very funny..
I ROM for 3 years and "escape" the ang pow savings but it is true rightfully no ang pow giving until customary. I don't feel paiseh for not giving at all. Whenever my cousins ask ang pow for me, I pat lightly on their hands.. "no ang pow for you" hahahah

haha serene u r rite......hum...but I quite close to their family ley...beside my nieces only age two & 5mths plus...but the father is that tpye of meow piao meow piao 1...he keep on telling me I use to give ang pao when u r not married in infront of so many people now u rom of course must give liao lah...dun tell me $2 u oslo dun have...I faint...........

Wahahaa... Serenee....

or u can give them 20cents lor.. kekeke.... i also nv give ang bao until my customary wat.. kekeke.. somemore, I even ask the kids to serve me drinks first before giving them ang baos.. kekeke....

Jewel kekeke i oso tink i alot of tricks up my sleeves but i doubt my MIL finds me farni LOL

Sasa some ppl hor..u muz 'yi du gong du'..if in the 1st place they buay paisay dare dare ask from u or say those nonsense statements hor..u oso can rebutt them in a nonsense manner whahaha next time juz reply 'ya lor..recently i abit tight $2 really oso dun haf' kekekeke

skylar i oso leh..in fact my 1st CNY after customary..all my relatives say 1st yr no nid gif..somemore its the laz chance 2 accept! kekekke so i happily accept ALL angbaos wahahahah

wow kao......like that olso can har..
upz......

Sasa hahaha y cannot? its whether u noe how 2 counter attack anot mah...4 mi..i nv let ppl makan mi 1 lah..onli i makan ppl LOL

serene, no lar... u are more active in threads with MILs.. hehe...

talking abt AB to give.. how much is each giving to In-laws huh??? me intend to give minimal this year... wuahhahaahahaaaa

hahaha serene is not I dun want is I just can't do like cos I am staying in my auntie hse which happen to be his son-in-law and to him I just stay there without contributing anything...and SIL can say wat ever he want lor..and whenever he "suan" me I will just keep quite lor...if not my auntie will think I very rude...sighzzzzz........

Adel wahahahah u r so rite! so clever kekeke i nv gif angbaos 2 in laws b4 LOL my ah lao bao 2 his own parents all the time n i dun care how much he bao anyway :P

Sasa aiyo poor thing..hey dun worry abt complaining leh..if u like dat call complain..wah i tink i number 1 in dat area liao LOL but ah wadever it is..if a person is rude 2 u all the time..u muz definitely rebutt or else he will go overboard

hehe..normally I will just one hear in one out act blur act blur lor....c like nothing happen lor but tonite think must see his face again I damm sian....aiiiiiiii....dun knw wat topic he want to say again....

morning,
me have been staying since young....actually nw we have a flat in AMK liao but go back only wkend...week day stay at my aunt hse lor...

Not meant to interrupt your topic. But when I chance upon the title of this thread, thot I’ll juz post some question which I really need some advice on Angpow.

I juz got married last year.. Wan to find out the following..

1. Heard pple say first year no need to distribute ang pow..is it true?
2. Some also say cousins dat r working and schooling one, no need to give?
3. Married silblings only give 1st year, there after, no need to give?

Thanks Ladies..

Hi Tan,

Just chanced upon ur post, well.. I think different dialect got different practices lor.... but just to ans ur qns..

1. 1st year - we hv to give double angbaos.. meaning me & my hb will give each to 1 person.
(the meaning is suang suang dui dui - comes in pair)

2. Basically its up to you, but I still give out angbaos to my schooling cousins, those working full-time, I will give very little monies eg: $6

3. You mean u give ur married siblings ah? then its correct, only give them in ur 1st yr, after that dun nid liao...

unless u wanna picak ur pockets... lor... lol...

for my case hor...

1. i did not gif angbaos 2 any1 except my in laws in my 1st year..i was told by my in laws n all my san gu liu po aunties 1st year will b excused...somemore best part is STILL CAN RECEIVE from others kekeke

2. after the 1st yr...i gave 2 cousins who r still single regardless of age tho a few rejected coz they r much older than i m n feel paisay

3. i dun gif angbaos 2 any married persons except my inlaws n parents

Hi Tan, my answers to your qns:

1. 1st yr dun need to give. In fact, so long as you haven't gone thru the customary wedding dun need to give. You only start giving the 2nd yr after your customary marriage. So for me, I haven't been giving in the last 4 yrs! Hahaha.. save save save..

2. Up to you, but I dun give my "tong bei" (same generation). So far I have only been giving to "zhang bei" (elders ie parents & in-laws).

3. Up to you too. If you're close, you can give. If you feel that you're poorer than them, then dun give ;) But should give their kids...

Thanks alot ladies..

1. Ya, I was also advise by my colleagues that 1st yr no need to give, still can receive. So that case, I'll juz give angpow to my Parent-in-law and parent.

2. Think for cousin who are schooling, I will start giving next yr.. My cousin who are "tong bei" as me also didn't give me liao (before I got married).

3. Last yr was my customary.. So this is the first time I giving Ang pow.. Pocket really burn hole..

Hee hee.. Thank girls.. Happy New Year..

Hi eowyn,

My parents still give APs to their own parents now. I've been given APs to my parents since I started work. I think APs given to parents during CNY is not meant to be "ya1 sui4 qian2" but to thank parents for bringing us up.

I think we can receive AP until we have customary....I personally don't intend to give APs until customary even though ROM already.

Think ang pao to parents is ok, ang pao to married siblings...mayb not.

but me TL, those who open mouth & ask for ang pao one, i will consider, re-consider, re-re-consider...