Ang Bao for JP- $68,$88 OR $108

wanderfool

Will be having my simple ROM Ceremony next week
Managed to invite a JP to solemnise.

How much should i give..is $88 reasonable.

i intend to give $68, coz we will be picking up the JP from his place (if he agrees). In fact, ROM guideline is only $28.

JP dun do this for a living. Bao an yi shi can already. If he/she is going to your ROM venue, the ang pao is to cover basically his/her transportation cost. Whether to ask your JP for makan is up to you.

I'm tossing between $68 and $88. I think will depend on how nice he is and how far he lives from the destination.

Is $68 quite little?

I think $28 too little ba. not even enuf to cover their to & fro transport via cab... I intend to give $68. A lot of my friends gave between $48 to $88. Just a guideline

my hubby gaf $118 cos he said once in a lifetime, ang bao to "tao yi ge ji li"

somethin like good luck for e marriage... i dunno.. i think $88 looks nicer

We gave 88...

i think u should take initiative to contact your JP, asking him if he could stay for the ROM meal, then book accordingly. i think sometimes they would have something on, then you wont need to book if that is the case

Dear All

What is usually you hold your ROM? mine will be around 7pm - 8pm. So the JP will come at that period?

How long in advance we need to contact them?

How much is the ang bao rate?

Do we meet up with them event?

Hi bingqiling,

mine solemnization will be at 12pm. I guess you need to check with the JP?

I was told by friends that they start searching for JP about 3-4mths advance, but as my date is rather popular (11.11), i have already found a JP since beginning of March

i have not discuss with my Future Hubby on the ang bao rate, but i will think $68 or $88 will be good.

I have not arrange to meet up with my JP. I think i will just send her an email 1 mth in advance and then sms her few days in advance as a friendly reminder

When will be your ROM?

Hope it helps.

estella

Thank you for your reply. Mine will be 25 November. Kinda kiasu. Hahaha... there are many things that have not finalise for me yet.

How is your ROM? Is everything going smoothly? May I know who is your JP?

So at the end, how much you give ang bao?