Amara Singapore

Mar2003,

Glad that someone can chat with me during day time cos I reliased that most of them are mid-nite brides ;P

You say leh, I know this friend for 10 years liao, unless you intend to postpone your wedding 10yrs later then I introduce you to her lor!^-^

Did you have Amara wedding brochure with you, refer to the last few pages, there is a white and blue theme but don't have a name. You can take a look it is very nice, colour combination very smoothing.

I'm staying in Sengkang, can't get rid of the traffic jam though. Mine is the BTO type near Rivervale Mall. My ECD is Nov 2004, that's why I'm having my dinner so late, dun want to stay together with in-laws too long, afraid might have conflict and yet still have time to save, if do it all in 1 time (wedding + house renov)very siong leh. My in-laws also chasing us to get married, say we are getting very old liao.

Hihi gals...

Hey... we are all going to live in Sengkang!!
So interesting.. holding wedding at same place & living near one another. Mine is the 300+ series. Me collecting keys 2 july! So exciting!!!

Regarding the cake, Nat says that 2 more designs coming out, the square & round ones? As per the brochure?

I tot the Romance theme sounded interesting, been to a no. of weddings using white/cream/gold, but never seen a Red coloured wedding theme yet... haa haa... me trying to be different!
The natural looks nice, but I rather they use white orchids, but seems like Amara only gives roses?? Maybe I'll take the Gold theme... but I dun want orange roses, tot the one I saw looked quite awkward?!?! March, ze BLUE theme is another theme, you'll get blue deco/flowers but must pay xtra!

Nat is hard to negotiate with, I wld say! She wld always say... its the hotel's policy, blah blah... but she is still nice lah!
And I TOTALLY AGREE tat the wines are overly charged by Amara! Absurd for 4 star hotel, even Trader's & Mandarin's wines are much much cheaper. Aft discount still $48 nett! Anyone knows, if I bring 1 carton of wines... is it sufficient? I would want the hotel to RESTRICT beyond what I bring in... too ex to order fr hotel... Pls advice!

March: You can try some other places too, like OPH, Traders, MM.... most of them and some others actually have promotions for weddings held by Mar03!

Atapic: You can ask her to show you the cards! Shd not be a prob rite?

Yap, I agreed that Nat is not so easy to nego. with but still she's a nice lady. There4, I din really get much from her for my last visit, mostly are quite standard. The only thing xtra mite be the pre-dinner snack but is only $30nett for 2, other hotels are giving free dinner.

Louie: Do you really need to serve wines? It depends on whether your guests are good drinkers or not but I believe 1 carton should be enough unless they drink wine like water.

So interesting, we doing it in Amara and staying in Sengkang. We must maintain contact ok.

Can you remind me again when are all your dates?

Leo: Thank god you told me that weekday package can include Fri. Now, i am pretty set on Amara. I will try to know more people from now till my wedding dinner. Should be able to fill up the extra tables..ha..ha...u gals want to come?

Oh, so you chose the BTO site..that is good. But must wait very long...
Strange both our familites never pressurise us to get married leh. Perhaps it is because we already ROM last year. dunno leh..but i thot aiya dont wait anymore..biological clock ticking away.

Louie: R u sure u never see red for wedding dinners...try restaurant la...all ang..ang ...one..so scary...

Are u sure the grandeur theme not yellow rose..meh? i cant remember.

For me, i think it is between the grandeur theme and the natural theme. Red is out.
U sure you want to serve wine. Normally, a bottle can pour about 5-6 half glasses only. So it finishes very fast.

How are your search for bridal boutique and ID? Nowadays, we are so busy..very tired...

Like i am now going to check out the Simmons Sale...want to buy a good mattress...

Hey gals...

Wines maybe more necc than hard liquour. Just went for 2 weddings over the weekend, seems like pple just order white/red wines... aft 1 glass, the waiters come to ask if want another glass... jia lat! Tats why just want to limit to just 1 carton!!!
Beer also limit to the 30L barel (try to nego wif Nat). Otherwise, will be BROKE

March: Think the Amara's red shd be diff fr the restaurant ones... tats why I asked Nat to show me the Romance deco. Must pop by Amara lobby to take a peek tomolo!
The gold theme shd use yellow roses, but some pple say yellow means "parting", not auspicious! Was thinking of using the cream coloured roses... shd still match with gold, but Nat also told me white, parents wun like... blah blah...

My Sengkang flat is walk-in one,like the place a lot... but low floor lah. My FH & I not particular abt which floor, so it was ok

So both of you ROM liao ah... me haven't yet. Actually wanted to ROM & have church wedding together, but flat come liao... so can't defer so long. Share with me your ROM experiences leh!!! Aiyoh... me thinking where to buy dress/ find bouquet etc etc. Pls help!!! Me going nuts liao

BUt for actual bridal...Me booked wif Seletar Broadway at the wedding fairs, you all can read the forum for reviews... mine was q cheap!
March, you still looking for bridal? We can exchange ideas... hee hee

ID still haven't confirm also... haven't get keys so quite hard to decide how to do the deco. My FH overseas for 1 mth... so many things cannot do, but at least.... he gave me the go ahead for booking of Amara!

We can meet up some time... or at least get to know another at the bridal show ok!
The Hyatt brides have seen each other... q cool!

March: Oh no, don't get me wrong, what I mean is I have a friend working in Amara so they are giving me this special package, kind of a give face to my friend. You mite be able to neg. if you have a lot of tables, for what I understand you have difficulties getting 30 liao, there4, you might not be able to get the same package as me. Weekday package is from Mon-Thur. Sorry if I let you have the wrong idea. My dinner will be around Dec 2003.

Louie: You can get your ROM dress easily especially now GSS is here. A lot of places having sales. I got mine at M)phosis. Simple white knee length dress. Not very x, around $58. Well, my ROM is a bit messy cos mine is 1 of the favorite date 02/02/2002. So many ppl that can't do my ceremony at the normal rooms upstair but those stand by rooms downstair. Very nervous on our way to ROM but get ourselves together telling each other dun kan cheong. Things went smoothly, din take much pictures cos too big crowd. My bouquet was a gift from my best friend, if you want I can ask her for contact.

Haven't cfm on any bridal package yet, still looking around, anyway mine still long way to go can source slowly. Personally, I like Margret's Brides gowns, simple and nice. I also like J & C's gowns and their photo shoots. Any suggestion?
Louie, how much is your package? Btw, I'm trying to lose weight now, don't want to be a fat fat bride.

Agreed, let's try to arrange to meet at the bridal show, I just sent out my cheque today hope there's still space for me.

Chao!

Say hi to all Amara Brides first! I am quite surprise that quite a number of couples will have their banquets at Amara.

My FH stays somewhere around Amara so that we pass by Amara frequently. I like the wedding deco beside the cafe but still havent decide whether should have our banquet there.

What I read from their brochure is $548 per table (for weekday, but I cant really remember the actual price) and mininum 30 tables.

Hearing that there will be a Charity Bridal Show on 21st June. Can anyone tell me more about this?

Sorry that I really dont have any ideas on what I can do at the first stage of wedding preparation. We just decided that we will have our ROM at the end of this year and have our wedding banquet in June 2003.

Please advice ok

howdy,

Louie: U can try CK Tang under the design section part. Now GSS very easy to get a ROM dress. I bought mine at Tangs, think it cost me S$ 99. It was white. I had to spend $$ to buy bra and panty somemore because it was a little translucent and i need skin color one. I like the dress very much, it was simple. But i have not worn it since last May..it is in my wardrobe.

So my advice to you, if you can ..dont buy white...very hard to fine another occassion to wear it. Maybe i wear it after my wedding to go back to mom's place.hmmm...

My ROM was ok...it was a sat..very crowded and they just shifted...actually there wasnt any atmosphere. Just too many people... The actual ceremony itself was very quite funny. I think the two of us were trying hard not to laugh. The lady administering the ceremony very funny...i was so scare that she will scold us because it is supposed to be serious event not funny... Anyway, we had to kiss twice because of the photographer.

I bought my flowers at a florist in China Square...it has since close down. So i cant help u. I still kept my dried bouquet till now..it is in the office.

Leo: I think i am the worst, i have not even confirm my date, bridal boutique and mine is the earliest next march..Sigh! I kinda like X-zen's design but very x. Someone recommended me to check Jawn Happy Ever After..which i plan to.
Now, i just got to confirm table and the exact date. So stressful...

I have check out Wedding Present, Graceful Image and Dang. I dont really prefer any yet.

I know not much bargaining power because i only got 30 tables but i will still try. Nat has been very nice, i will try pushing my luck again.

BTW how old r u gals? just curious.

Dear Whitely,

Welcome to our trend. You can log on to www.theWeddingFair.com or call Christina @ 63257838 for more info. When you cfm your wedding dinner on the day of the Charity Bridal Show, you get to enjoy a $688 Discount Ang Pao and an xtra night stay. The price is $50nett per couple.

Well, we are all first time brides, can't really give you much advice cos we are trying to find out things ourselves, that's why we are here communicating with each other exchanging ideas, comments, experiences etc. Read through all the messages, you might find the kind of info you need.

March: Yap, no harm trying your luck, hope that you can talk it thru. Well, I think I should be the oldest among you'll. I'm coming 30 liao^~^

Leo, not so bad lah..i am already 30! so sad... but i was told i look young..ha..

Leo: You shd be very slim lah... m)phosis clothes q small size leh... me much fatter than!
J&C looks nice... Flamingo, by Shirley Lee is good I heard... I like EB, many pple like Bridal Veil... Anywae, me no personal comments as Seletar was the 1st & last boutique I saw! I was conned at the Suntec Bridal fair!!!
But I was really happy tat the comments in the forum were good, & my pkg was only $2988!

Mar: I read the Amara pkgs, The $638 is for weekdays, it didn't say exclude fridays? So... shd not be a prob if you want fri rite? You cld look at Xristos at the Amara show... usu if you book at shows, shd be much cheaper then can also make them throw in more photos, dresses etc.
You can ask Nat to reserve date for you... but I know march & may very popular! Me want april... noone want to snatch with me... haa haa...

Whitely: Which brochure did you read? The min pkg is $588nett for wkday, wkends will be $728 & $788nett... you saw wrongly? Anywae, you shd start setting a budget for your wedding, whether you want banquet dinner etc. Go buy a bridal mag.. have quite a lot of info. Can start going to the above websites & read more of the forum!!!
There shd be enuf tips around here... hee hee

You both are my da-jie... me going to be 24 this yr...
March, at least you look young, you very petite?
Btw.. thanks for the ROM advice. Did you engage professional make-up artist & photographer? Me planning a weekday ROM, most likely just immed family... wun have frens unless they want to take leave, not q possible...

Hi Little Red, its been quite some time since i came into this thread, and i am glad that there are new postings here too!

Hi all, my wedding's in Nov 02, and i hv booked Amara too! Anyone hvg their wedding this year as well at Amara?

Well, all Amara brides are young and pretty.

Louie Xiao Mei: You are wrong liao, I'm quite big size, the dress I bought is xtra large leh! So can you imagine how big I am ^>^ Your bridal package is indeed very cheap leh, what did they throw in for you? Car included? OTR or MTM? I went to salon named In-Square for my hairdo and makeup, paid $88 for it, not bad lor.

Jas03: Welcome back. So far most of us are 2003 brides. Since you have booked yours, you might be able to let us know what kind of freebies have you requested.

Louie: Did you avoid the Ching Ming season in April? I know what u mean by the wedding fair...i went to one at Suntec and was grab by French Bridal, the guy was so convincing..nearly sign but didn't. And the Golden Horse Award, i got to admit the advertising was very good..they did a very good job with their photos and booth. But they have such a reputation. One thing good, my H and I, we do not like to do impulse shopping so we have been looking around. kinda of waste time but we so scare of making the wrong decision...sigh...
Anyway, dont worry..i still feel that your package is very worth it...alot of perks. Just make sure that you are tough with the bridal boutique to get what you want.

Aiya, i not petite lah...got my mom's genes i guess. Actually to be frank, my group of friends none of us look like we already 30. Can still pass off as late 20s, but dont know how long it last..ha...

My ROM was simple, i did my own makeup and my friend style my hair. I just had it down. My photographer was my H's brother in-law and my good friend. Quite a few people came for the ceremony from my H's side. We booked 3 tables for dim sum lunch.

Leo: i also think i will need to wear XL for Mphosis clothes. Need to lose weight...5 kg lesser, i am sure i will be ok...sigh...any tips? I already try to refrain from eating rice...carbo no good. i eat alot of bee hoon. but sometimes cannot resist mee...

March: You only need to shed 5kg, I need to cut 10kg man! Maybe I'm tall, so the advantage is there, it stretch upwards and not side way. Yap, I also trying to cut food on carbo especially hard to resist my favorite french fries. What I do is to cut my food quantity, one carbo meal a day and try not to take dinner, "charm" hor! I also try to excerise frequently, hope I won't end up like the girl in the newspaper. (Touch Wood!!) Well, now the pills things are out (Slim 10 case), what we have to do is balance between less intake of food and regular excerise. My friend tried Cambridge Diet, say it's quite effective, did you try that b4???? ^-^

Leo: u so funny. I think 5 kg enough lah. My H likes me with a little of flesh not like bamboo. I am also glad that i have a little height to hide if not i think i will be very FAT man!

At least u got exercise..i used to go gym ...now stop..trying to cut down expenses to have more for house, wedding and etc...sigh...

I tried picking up jogging with my H. He will run to practice for his ippt and me in the hope to lose weight. but i could only tahan 15 min or 4 rounds of jogging...and i read somewhere u need to exercise for more than 30 mins then u will burn fat...how to run for 30 mins.

Now i am thinking of roller-blading, heard that it is good.

Never try Cambridge diet before. U know i nearly went to buy Slim 10 to try...but somehow i dunno why i didnt. Thank god right? i went GNC and buy their slimming pills instead. Now, they are white elephants in my drawers...dare not take after the slim 10 incident. It was really god's will that made me switch to GNC's pills..if not,i cant imagine...As a result, i have decided if fat loh at least i am healthy. i just need to tone my tummy and arms...

March: Thank God! you din consume Slim 10 or we will short of 1 Amara bride liao ^o^ Yap, healthy is the most important thing in life. I also trying very hard to flatten my tummy, got a big one, ppl almost think I'm pregnent. Well, if you want to take pills it's better to see those doctor type, heard that Bishan and Yishun has 1 which is quite famous.

I can't rollerblad, maybe I'm too heavy cannot balance, I don't even know how to rollerskate!!! I better stick to my swimming and areobics.

Hello Da jies

Leo: Wahh... You on such strict diet ah! YOu've got a lot of willpower!! Me leh... jus enjoy eating too much. Recently me like grow fatter some more... so sad
If I can "starve" myself & exercise... then sure will lose weight one! Leo, you wedding still so long... you so fast start diet liao??
You know some doctor who specialises in slimming??? Tell me leh...

Ahh...so we all tall & larger built... tot you all were small small cute cute

Me going to ROM soon... still so fat! Sigh..
I think I'll look terrible in sleveless dresses... hows??? So diff to find nice dress...

March: Which slimming pill did you buy fr GNC> Good or not? Is it hydroxycut? I always forget to take all this vitamins & pills... me only rem to eat
Never tried Cambridge... but all these dieting supplements

Jas: Welcome back. The only other 2002 Amara bride I see in this thread recently is Atapic... dunno who else liao! Did you book from Natalin or the previous catering mgr? btw, which theme are you choosing?

Gals... do you know if you efile, your witness filed in your Notice of marraiges cannot come, and change to another witness on the actual ROM day, is it ok? Arghhh... need to efile soon, or else cannot get the date i want!!!

Okie dokie... good nite!

Hi Louie, u hvnt booked any bridal boutique yet? Some packages come with free usage of their ROM gowns.. it may be worthwhile to sign up now to enjoy the ROM gown and makeup - else next time u sign up, yr ROM over oredi - then "loo-gee".

Hey all of you.. me tried out the cambridge diet b4!! But i was not very determined, end up half the box still with me.. duno expire oredi or not. Never tried anything else.. but one thing for sure, if you have your hse oredi, the cleaning will make sure u lose weight! I lost 5kg when my reno over, and i had to clean and clean! ;o)

U gals pardon my slow replies k? in the office, the security system doesnt allow us to post entries into the forum leh.. can read but cant post. Co. very kiasi.. ;o(

oh yah, forget to answer yr qns..

When we signed the contract w Natalin, she was tough abt the freebies. For the wekend package, only extras we managed to get were the xtra nite stay and 30L barrel of beer. ;o( after we signed and paid the depo, then we regret not bargaining for more stuff. We were just too eager to sign, cos we decided only just 2 mths ago to hv our wedding in Nov, so alot of plcs dun hv our date oredi.

We chose the grandeur theme.

Louie : Boh bian leh, I have a friend who ask me to be her bridemaide and her wedding is Jan 2003, I can't make her loose face to have a fat fat bridemaide right! Somemore, it took me very long time to slim down, my metabolism is rather slow. Anyway, start early oso good, if I happened to lose control and get fat again, I still have time to lose it back. I am that kind of person who takes 6-9mths to lost weight but gain all back in 1 mth, not joking you know, it's real.

The slimming doctor I tried b4 is at Yishun. Clinic name: 8-11 Clinic & Surgery. Add : 924 Yishun Central #01-338. Tel: 67590310. I believe whatever pills you take, it must be balance btw sensible diet and excerise then you can see the effectivness.

Well, if you find that you have big arms, probably you can cover it up with a shawl or something, you still can be beautiful, it all depends how you camouflage your weakness and show your strength.

I also go through e-file for my ROM. Very convenient but you have to be there half hour earlier to do the "soonpa". Try to put someone who will definetly be there for your witness then you won't have the problem (eg. parents)

Jas03: You really have a lot of house work to do man! How late did you go to sleep, I realise that you always log in around midnite. Dun worry about how fast you reply, for me I can only chat during office hours cos my house computer break down.

Oops! Got to go now, boss looking at me liao, Chao!!

Leo, you are right man. Jas r u up at 1 am? I already sleeping like a pig. U must be very busy now with your preparations since you have only decided two months ago. Can lose 5 kg by just cleaning house. R u serious? Not a bad deal, u get clean house and then you look thin too. very jealous leh. Who u engage for your reno? I looking for someone to do the house too.

Leo: The doc at Yishun will give the slimmimg pills to anyone or must you be really overweight than he will give? Actually i also dunno how to rollerblade, i was going to learn first. I worst than u, cant even swim - water-phobia...

Louie: u r right. i hide my big arms with a shawl for my rom...it does work, ok. However, i keep adjusting the shawl when i was exchanging vows. The shawl kept slipping down my arms...that was uncomfortable. I bought the Ultra pills at GNC. I duuno if they were effective. I keep forgetting to eat...suppose to do before meal but then i forget... so i gave up.

Hey gals, we know now we are all tall and big...lets compare our height..forget weight..that will be too sensitive...

i am about 1.66 - 1.67 m tall. u all leh?

March: Well, I think the doc will prescribe the quantity that suits you, I also dun know leh, try lah, they won't push business away. I'm as tall as you.

I'm a lazy fellow, dun like housework, dun know what will happen when my new hse come. Probably has to draft out an agreement with my hubby, make him do all the housework ;p Ppl always says when you have your own house automatically you will do the cleaning but I doubt it will happen to me ^o^

Leo, when it is your own house. u will clean one lah...use Jas as a motivation. she can clean until lose 5 kg. i am amaze.

Better work out something with your hubby now...actually nowadays, i think most hubby will help out in the housework, cannot expect the women to do everything..we must also work...and then have babies...

I very lucky...mu mom is a housewife so she does ervything...so i also no need to do housework...so i am enjoying all this while it last...

Hey, back to the Amara thing. I have received the admission ticket for the bridal show, did you'll??? How shall we arrange to meet???? ^-^

Leo: So fast. I just fax the form over this morning and i will send the cheque tomw. I keep forgetting to do it.

dont know am i too late.

must meet ah? I quite happy being anonymous...can be mysterious ...he..hee

March: It's ok if you want to remain anonymous, I just thought meeting would be fun. Anoymous will also be fun, we'll look around guessing who is who. ^=^

Hi Gals, this time i log in earlier lah. In the off i can see yr posting.. so much want to reply, but hv to wait until reach home. ;o(

i dun think i will be going for the bridal show, since i hv oredi booked w them. $50 per person is quite ex. Otherwise, it wld be fun to meet hor?

i oso never liked doing housework.. alot of things take for granted at home, got mum at home to do wat. Now everything do yrself.. quite siong.

Mar03, i had Chaplin Design to do up my place. Overall quite happy with my reno, tho there are things we complain abt. U wan i can give u the person in chrg of my reno from CHaplin. I think he is not bad. U hv got yr hse oredi? Anyone in Punggol?

Sorry i k-poh... when are your wedding dates huh? or ROM dates? Those tat hvnt ROM, hv u all considered hvg your ROM outside of the registrar? Cos i sort of regretted not doing tat. ;o(

Hey all...

Jas: Me already booked pkg with Seletar Broadway (SB). Was planning to ROM with church wedding, so dun have to do 2. But, HDB dun think can wait soo long since I am getting keys soon!

The bridal show is $50 per couple. Mmmzz... hope I can look forward to yummy food. Was there for church anniversary lunch b4, food not very nice, presentation was really bad... maybe its not wedding tats why...

Wahhh... you do housework can lose 5kg, so amazing I agree. Me very lazy one...

Jas, actually wat you got fr Nat is quite good. Now, ONLY if we go to the bridal show then will get an extra nite leh... Anywae, dun think she really gives tat many freebies...

March: Sorry forgot to ans some of ur questions! I not superstitious, so dun bother whether its Qing Ming also.. SB supposed to be q good, but recently one of their photographers went freelance. i wanted him to take my wedding pics one, so sad... GH is nice, but q attitude I agree. Yup, my pkg got car, flowers, MTM gowns, photo albums (30 pxs, 10*15 or its bigger??), blah blah... q a lot lah. They really wanted us to sign up. Too bad I didn't ask them for ROM stuff to be included...

Aiyoh... how to cut down on carbo? Mmmzz... I like eating rice one
Eat bee hoon is better, not carbo meh? *blur*

You dun want to meet up ah? Okie, up to you
Anywae, like Leo said... tot it wld be nice to know one another, moreover stay so near! Hee hee.. You still said want to invite us to ur wedding dinner to help you fill up 30 tables??

Leo: Thanks for the slimming clinic info. Think I am too lazy to go there also, me stay in the East now!
Thinking of using shawl also, but scared too hot & will slip off... nv, still got time to hunt for the perfectdress!

I got my form also... think the response is ok only, maybe now better? Spoke to Nat tat day, not tat many pple signed up.

My ROM... dunno when yet. Still haven't set date
MY FH not in sg, so difficult to settle things. Actual wedding shd be 1st week apr 2003
Jas, me having church wedding... so I'll jus ask my pastor to go to ROM there to solomnise for us!

Me also can't really post stuff in forum in office, too obvious! Anywae, next mth onwards, no more internet access for us. Lousy huh!!!

Louie: Yap, the bee hoon content of carbo is much more lesser than rice, mee etc. It is better to take mee hoon. If you must take rice, then take half portion of yr normal quantity. Wah! You really got gd bargain for your bridal pkg man, near $3k got so many things included somemore MTM. Me staying at East side too!!! Me stay Tampines, you leh???

Never mind if not so many couple sign up for the bridal show, then all of us can get a prize for the lucky draw. ^=^

Jas: Most of us stay in or near Sengkang, but Punggol is also very near us, we are still around the same zone ;P

Leo: Ok... shall eat less rice if possible!
Me also staying in Tampines... looks like we got more & more things in common

Maybe if less pple sign up, Nat will throw in more freebies for us... hee hee...

Btw, any of you viewed ur draft contracts yet from Nat? She says she will send by early next week, she says very bz... aiyoh, the contract shd be q similar one lah rite?!

I tried asking for room svc breakfast, kenna rejected by Nat!

sorry that i m out of this thread 4 so long! ;p
bn 2 amara las fri...find Nat unfriendly leh..nvr talked abt package (mayb she knew we oni looking at 20tables) oni mentioned abt the bridal show n sign up thru web if we interested. hai..so amara is out 4 us liao..will visit ANA tat atapiC suggested. thanks
as 4 traders, dun quite like the foyer area bt may consider cos of the min tables n the price is reasonable ;p thanks Louie..
i will view Westin ballrm tmw b4 mtg the consultant (tis is wat the consultant suggested if we do not hv wedding date).

guess i wont amara bride liao...bt still thanks to all giving me tips...

Blur: You are most welcome. Sad to hear that you won't be 1 of us. It's also hard for you to look for another 100 ppl to meet up the min 30 tables. Dun waste this kind of $$$. I look through the bridal magazines, there's a lot of hotels min req. is 20 or less, you should be able to look for one that suits you.

Louie: I have not seen mine yet, Nat tell me she's preparing liao, probably will get it oso by next wk. Wow! You oso stay Tampines har, who knows maybe we are negbr .....???!!!???

Blur: just a comment - traders hotel service sucks. had an event there and it was terrible service.

Leo: i shy leh...so want to remain anonymous.

Jas: how much did you spend reno?

Louie: FYI. Ching Ming is on 5 Apr.

i off for the weekend. Will log in on Monday again. See ya

Hi Mar03, i spent abt 35k on my reno. Tis excludes the aircon, the electrical items and the rest of the furnitures that are not built in. Add all in.. our pockets burnt big time!!

Those that are going to book Amara: dun forget to check with Natalin if there is any other functions happening on the same day! That wld mean you hv to share the reception area.

Louie, bee hoon lower carbo.. but if u eat fried bee hoon, the calories are alot leh! I cant rem exactly how many calories, but it is alot. Last time i liked to eat fried bee hoon for breakfast (yum yum!
) now i think twice .. wedding in 5 mths lah.

Jas03 : Thanks, this is indeed a point we need to take note of. Aft heard about the amount you spend on your reno, I think I have to save harder now. Most probably I'll go for the simple type w/o all those cornies, easier to maintain oso. I din know fried bee hoon has so much calories, me like it too, must refrain from it now.

March: I tot Traders was quite ok? Mmmzz... not fantastic lah, but my FH says ok lah
At least Traders supposed to be q pretigious, since part of the Shang gp!

Qing Ming starts from 5 april issit? Actually wanted to book 5 April (sat), but didn't... Hey, but went to a Tong Shu website, they actually say its a VERY auspicious day to get married leh... dunno. Me booked 6 Apr! Is it ok? I dun really care which season it is... at long as my fren/ relatives can celebrate at my wedding. However, any rule that the day after Qing Ming, pple cannot attend weddings????? Pls let me knoe?

Blur: Most welcome, even if you are not Amara bride, you can still come to this thread to get more tips... hee hee

Jas: Me not v diet conscious one... i really do like to munch alot... die liao lah. Me everytime kena scolded by my FH... like to eat but lazy to exercise!
I will try!

What do you mean by share reception? They only have 1 ballroom rite? Ohh... is it the can still rent out the other part of the L ballroom issit? But if got functions, dun think they book soooo early, so how to confirm with Nat? Even if can confirm... we can't stop her fr renting the place out rite? Since mine is sun.... shdn't have other biz functions rite? *blur*

Leo: Yes... we cld be neighbours, if not still "neighbours" since we live in the same town!
Btw, I also haven't seen my contract yet. Mmmzz... shd I take 6 or 13 Apr ah. Though I not superstitious, jus dun like 13 april. But becoz of the incoviences of Qing Ming, shd I choose 13th? Pls help!!!

Just do the very basic painting, carpentary works lah... ohh... my comes with the flooring, so no worries for me. Yours D&B? Anyone did L box or false ceiling? Dunno worth my $$$ or not leh... I was thinking no pt custom making too many things except kitchen, wardrobes & recess area...

Hi Leo, Mmmm.... fried bee hoon with luncheon meat or fried egg, or fish cake... yummy hor..
now i think abt it i salivate!

Louie, i did a L box for our living room.. so tat can put the down lights and spotlights. I quite happy with the end result.

U are choosing the date for your wedding? u are saying that 6 Apr is Qing Ming and 13 Apr Qing Ming is over oredi is it? Wat yr both parents say?

I had problems with my date too. Me and my husband not "pan tang' type, so we decided on one date. But my parents made a BIG fuss cos they said that date no good, ask us to change to another date. After lots of argument.. we gave up, decided to follow their wishes. Sigh! dun want to start my married life with my parents not being happy.
very chum hor? make everyone else happy, except ourselves.

Hi Blur, i went to see Traders too. Yah, their foyer abit cramp - and right opposite there is a pub rite? Also there are pillars.. but i duno abt the food and service.. that sales manager that served us was Jamie i think. She very nice.. but in the end i decided on Amara.

Louie: If you are not the pangtan type then choose whatever dates that you like or meaningful to you. For me, I'm planning to choose 12 Dec cos my ROM 0202, my wedding 1212 easier to remember. Luckily my in-laws and parents allow to let us choose whatever date we want.

I hv not plan what I want for my house yet, still a long time to go (ECD Nov 2004) just want to keep it simple. Anyway nowadays new house are all so small, can't put much things oso or else it makes your house looks lagi small. To make the house interesting, probably can play with colours. I always have the dream of having a walk-in wardrobe, dun know my master bed room bigh enough or not.^*^

Jas03: Yap Yap Yap, luncheon meat my favourite too, esp. fried until crispy crispy, yummy yummy!!!

So how, are we going to meet or remain anonymous??? I might be going with one of my girlfriend oso cos my hubby's work schedule very pack might not be able to make it. ^~^

Jas: 35K for reno...i can understand the hole in your pocket. I doubt i got that kind of budget. I trying to keep my reno at 20 K as mine is a premium flat.

Louie: Qing Ming period is actually 10 days from 5 April onwards. But old people always try to avoid 10 before and after. If your parents and in-laws do not mind about it then it be easy for you both. However, bearing in mind that if u choose Apr 6 which is a sunday, some of your guests may have to go sweep tomb in the AM as it is the 2nd day of the season.

Leo: if want to remain anonymous cannot meet already lah...
i was told that L box is the in thing for living and dinner room now, you do cornices for bedrooms and false ceiling for passage way.

I also very tired of dates...i may have to change my nick soon...went to consult someone about the date that i want and was told that Mar next year is not good for wedding..sigh...so many restrictions...i very tired.

What fried bee hoon cannot eat..die..now i must everyday eat bee hoon soup ah?

Mar03, same thing lor! i oso very tired abt the whole date thing oredi.. in the end give up. This date cannot, that one cannot. My parents insist on another date, but to change my in laws not happy. Stuck in the middle.. very chum one. We nearly fed up.. dun wan wedding liao.

Yours premium flat.. so good! Mine is standard.. so even flooring oso dun hv.. tat's why lor. I wanted premium flats but during my selection no more good units.

Louie, its very hard to tell Natalin not to let any other pple book the rest of the function rms on the same day.. beyond our control one. But if yours is on a sunday, chances are lesser that there will be a D&D lor. For me, very suay - on a friday - got a co. D&D on the same day.. now we worry it will be very noisy or rowdy...

Leo, your wedding 12 Dec 02 isit?
Then Mar03's in Mar 03; and Louie's in Apr 03. Am i rite? keke.. all ard the same time lah.. i will marry first lor!

Next round, if u all intend to meet again - other than at the bridal show.. count me in k?

Jas03: My intention date is 12 Dec 03 not 02. (very kia su hor!) Mine oso falls on Fri, make me worry man, hope mine won't crash with other functions. How many tables are you having? You only occupy one of the function room only is it?

My new house is oso standard apt. Purposely choose standard so that we can do whatever types of flooring or reno we like. Don't really trust HDB contractors workmanship oso, hv heard a few cases of bad experience, the owners hv to redo it all over again and cost more than what they paid.

Hey gals... sorry disappear for sometime, my comp at home died on me, but heng my gd fren helped me fix it! My FH away... o/w he will settle the prob!

Jas: Is the L box bright enuf? use a lot of electrcity? They said dun on all the lights lah... but think it may not be bright enuf!

Mar, Leo, Jas: My parents are ok, we not very particular abt customs, think my wedding got no proper customary rules... actually I also dunno how things work. My FH parents are in msia, so the parents haven't met my parents yet! I've met his parents.. but his parents not kan chiong to meet my parents... also dunno how... Anywae, regarding the dates... think everyone is ok with the dates? NO objections so far... hope it will stay tat way!!!

mar: Mar no good for weddings meh? I tot Mar like quite fully booked for most hotels?? So, your parents want you to consult "professional" regarding dates. My good fren hasn't set a date yet, coz the Tong Shu is not out yet... aiyoh, also dunno whos calculation is the most accurate! But I noted most S'proeans v pang tang one. Got auspicious date, sure lots of weddings... otherwise no weddings at all if not a good day! In April... had a hard time looking for a full wedding set-up at hotels.

Leo: We can meet if you want... maybe we will be the only 2 pple who are NOT going with FH... dun meet you also can spot you fr afar! *laffs*
On more serious note, so he really can't take time off? Making a $3K deposit not a joke man...

Jas: No prob... can meet aft the wedding show
My email is above in the thread, so email me lah...
Leo & mar: I called Nat to send me the draft contract liao... shd be ok. Go & bug her if you still dun get it! She also told me that we must sign some LAWYER's CONTRACT... she says its a std contract & its for our own benefit!!!! Jas... did you sign anything since your wedding is the earliest???? Quite worried wat I am signing...

Did you all manage to bargain for a helpers' day room for use??? Nat die die dun want to give me leh... Other hotel all say can wat, dunno wats the big deal!

Louie: Not sure whether my hubby going or not, he is the last minute person. Not so worry about the deposit cos can pay by credit card. What LAWYER'S CONTRACT??? Better watch out what we are signing. I did tried to bargain for a day use but she told me no nd, our bridal room got two toilets and an xtra room so my jie mei meng can use the other room to wash up, so stinch hor ^~^ I'll e-mail you and let you know what is the outcome.

Louie: what lawyers contract? So confusing? I am still waiting for her to fax me. Should be quite standard right? My job scope includes negotiating function space for events and dealing with hotel contract, so i would expect wedding contract to be almost similar. Will let u know if i see anything fishy...

Dont you gals think the Charity Dinner starts very early? I sure late one, my H definitely wait until ERP is over then come to town. I agree making 3k deposit no joke, i tried to negotiate but she say cannot. Look at the bright side, Inter-Con wanted 5K deposit.

Jas: i am so tired with the date thingy. I dunno what to do..i already consulted 3 tellers. Actually, we wanted to do the dinner this year but then change our mind. So the first teller dont count lah. But for the next year's date - i already consulted 2 but the dates they gave us not to our liking. And i am so confused, after they give me the date, i check the net, it says no good for wedding...sigh...all this calculaion without tong shu is risky. In fact this teller actually safeguard himself by saying that the book he is referring for the calculation may differ from another book in the market.

Leo: i also agreed that standard flat better...u can do what u like. But very strange..for my selection, i got alot of premium flats...and we wanted to save more money so decided to get premium flat. I am all ready to knock on all my tiles to see are they hollow. And will my bedroom sleepers for my house for my guests - so that they cant feel the unevenness of the floor.

Getting married in Singapore no fun one...must worry about house, wedding dinner and money...plus..couples got to do this themselves...dunno about you gals...but we have not asked our parents for any financial assistance...we are hoping that we can settle this ourselves.

I ought to shoot myself...my parents and in law never really pressurize us. It is more of my H wanting it to be a good date... i should have insisted that we chin chye select a nice date...can liao...now consult already, dont follwo...dunno it is worst or not.

Initially, we were so worried that we cannot fill up 30 tables now we did the guests list just nice for 30 tables...now date problem...i told him why not we just do away with the dinner. save stress and headache.

hi all.... been reading your exchanges.... could i chip in too???

i'm intending to book amara too for next july. well, my worry is one of the function room would be used too!!! actually am still hesitating whether we should go ahead or not cos i didn't really like the idea of having some kind of D&D or worst still, weddings going on that day!!! *SIGN*

and of couse nat is unwilling to provide another day use room too!!!

LT: Welcome. Of course you can join in. Another Amara brides.

My opinon is that whichever hotel you have your wedding whether is it Amara or not, you will have the same concern if the function rooms are near the ballroom. And many of them are such layout. So you can only pray hard.

Will you be going for the Charity Dinner this Friday? If you are serious considering Amara, you should come for this to get extra perks.

Oh, the day use room, i didnt know hotel got give this as a perk. perhaps, you can negotiate for a cheaper room rate for your helpers?

Anyone got any ideas if we need additional sleeping rooms, what the rate will be?

Actually, i am bothered by the breakfast - apparently no room service, we got to drag our feet to eat breakfast at the cafe. Can you imagine? I doubt i can wake up by 10 after all this stress and preparations

hi mar2003, well..... i'm really in confusion

anyway, i have signed up for the charity dinner.
oh ya.... hotels generally are pretty o.k with day use rooms! i asked nat about the room rate, i think it's about $150 per nite??? hope i had not remembered wrongly..

Hi LT, welcome welcome! So glad there is another amara bride. Hmm.. I never thought of asking Nat for a day room for my helpers.. but she was saying if we book extra rooms we will get corporate rate. Can't remember, but the rate she told me was around $130-150 per nite.

Hi Louie, we did sign a legal contract other than the hotels' confirmation letter. I went thru the fine prints very quickly b4 we signed it, hope i did not miss out any impt pts! It seemed ok to me at that time.

Gals, me will not meet u all after the charity dinner. Cos i hv got prior appt w some ex colleagues. Next round we arrange again k?

Hee hee! Mar03, your husband the same as mine - only wait until after the ERP then come into CBD!! If i ask him come 6.30 to pick me up, and then i late at coming down.. he will sure complain and complain one!

I can understand how frustrated it is for you abt the date thing... i dun know wat is a tong shu, but if you all not pang tang - then choose a date that you both like lor. choose one that has a special meaning to u both.
like that no need to "fan" oredi.

Have u gals been up to the bridal suite yet?

We seem to have so much to say hor.. u all want to email? my email add is above too.