Amara Singapore

belle:

u can select anytime once u r ready. no nd to wait till food tasting.

Hi O_o

I replied ur email but gena bounced back saying ur administrator dun allow leh. Then i re-send and no bounce back, i tot u rec'd.. aiyo so long liao u nv rec huh. nvm i send again

how's the wedding prep? PS over?

Hi reismon
Thanks for the preview of the card. Really is v v v plain lorr... hahaha

iced_latte,

haha. ya lor. :P i nearly wanna print gold letters on the front cover then decided not worth the extra cost n the silly "invitation" word was still there no matter wat i did. in the end, let it b simple lor. :D looked quite classy anyway cos we added gold string ties and used semi-opaque paper for the invitation itself.

Thanks reismion.

Besides selecting the invitation cards, are there anything else i have to select or decide for the actual day? I'm clueless on what i have to do...

Hi all BTB,

If you only left with the choice of Amara Hotel, York Hotel and ParkRoyal at beach Rd. Which one will you chose?
Need some advice....thanks!

Hi, gals.

Like to know when you will be asked to go down for food tasting if the AD is in early November? I suppose the coordinator will call us up automatically?

Cinderbell, i chose Amara over Park Royal coz i thought it is more accessible.

Thanks White Fressia,
Actually I am stuck between chosing these three hotels as it left me with only these three choice at the moment, cause the date i want is taken up by other hotel.
Personally feel tat Amara is not bad, but York Hotel package also quite affordable. Think will go down to the hotel to check it out again.

As for Food tasting hmm heard from my friends said it might be three mths before ur AD.

food tasting can be done any time depending on ur comfort level and hotel availability. it can be as early as 3 mths or as late as a few wks b4 ur wedding.

cinderbell:

my 2-cents worth for the 3 hotels:
1) Amara Hotel - classy, contemporary, accessible
2) York Hotel - old world charm but inaccessible
3) ParkRoyal at beach Rd - nvr been there b4 but my hb used to work part-time there many yrs bk n wld not consider it. :P

help that helps.

Are you gals using just 1 projector or renting an additional one? I always feel that Amara's front screen is very tiny and you can't see much from the back.

Hi White Freesia,
I plan to bring another projector so guests sited behind can see the photo montage too. There will be no additional charge unless you are going to borrow from the Hotel.

How many tables are you having? I think either way, guests sited at the extension ballroom, their view of the screen will be blocked.

Hi Latte

i juz saw yr resent email.. was on leave n came back with loads of work, so din really hv the time to reply ya.

my FIL has helped me settle the card printing alrdy. used gold satin ribbon, wif pink inserts. at first wen i heard tat he chosed these.. i was like *gulp*... coz it juz sounded like it is clashing! but nooo... its damn nice with the gold ribbon.

gime time.. once i settle down wif more time, i'll take a pic of it n show ya all..

hi reismon

im v confused ~ 36 tables but no extension needed?? i keep askg the coord abt the MAX no of tables they can take up. she said 34+2 is wif the extension leh. coz actually we underestimated the guests... end up now my FIL cut out alot of frenz in his list. if they can hv more with the extension opened up, i'll take it all up!

wahaha.. i cant wait.. so here's the pics..
actually the inserts are not pink lar.. its more beidge... so can match the card more..

now here's a good match.. wif my gold EG!!

(O_o):

v nice cards!! ur FIL got gd taste! :D

as for the tables, last i heard was 36 max = 34+2 but mayb they've reduced the size of the venue hence u might nd e extension as advised by ur coordinator. do chk wif them again.

HTHS.

(O_o),
Your cards are very nice, good taste. How did you come out with the wordings? Is there a template? I also need to inform about our solemnization before dinner.

I understand that the ballroom can go up to 40-45 tables (can't remember the exact no.)including the extension area but the space will be quite tight. Think it'll be better if you confirm with your coordinator.

hi belle

wen i went for my food tasting, the coord showed me the 2 choices of cards and i confirmed on the ivory one. den, she gave me all the cards n envelopes (60%) of my total guests. she also gave me printer's information n a template of inserts.

actually i dun tink u hv to worry abt the wordings. the printers are so experienced ~ my FIL told me they knew how. juz tell them u need to add in the solemnization & they'll adv u in return.

well gals,
i sud say thanks on my FIL's behalf. haa.. but den.. all in all, it was a total cost of $300plus. i really duno wad the breakdown is, but it includes them charging for helpg us tie the ribbons, additional cards etc...

so its good to fix an appt to go to their shop n listen to their costs advice..

Besides wearing kwa back to your parents' home, what other outfit can be worn? I am teochew but not very sure what are the traditions like...

Hi Belle

Kwa is actually a cantonese tradition. And i believe that the tea dress is an open concept for all other dialects loh.

most imptly u sud opt for something that's easy for u to kneel and get up on. i'll be wearing a traditional cheongsam given to me by a fren. o/wise i wud hv opted to wear a more modern cheongsam..

hi, im new here. will like to know if there's any hotels or restaurants that provide real good food for about 10 tables. budget is around 800 nett. Thanks!!!

Hi, just had my wedding at amara last friday. The food was ok. The service & attitude of the assistant manager SUCKS. Let me iterate the whole scenario when I reached the hotel.
1. The hotel reception did not even know who I am (there's only 1 grandballroom having wedding banquet). There was supposed to be compliementary Bento set and it was not made known to me (I have to order room service)
2. The ballroom could only be ready at 6pm ( I need to do rehearsal and also my swordbearer march in)
3. The hotel management informed that the banquet manager was the one handling my dinner and it ended up to be the assistant Banquet Manager. His attitude was real bad. When my co-ordinator was doing the rehearsal , he was no where to be found. When y co-ordinator told him about the changes, he gave him the SHIT Face. During the first march-in , there was screw up because he was not sure of the plan. He was always rushing me for time. When I rushed down for the second march in , he was only there 5-10 mins later.
4. The complimentary 1kg cake was not given.
5. The helpers room is supposed to be a night stay and the reception kept insisting that it's a day stay. My wife has to call the manager in the middle of the night to ensure that the helpers get to stay for the night.
6. The suite has only 1 toothbrush ??
7. The breakfast was not served to the room ? They expect the wedding couple to wake up so early to have breakfast at the coffee house?
8. Last but not least, the hotel co-ordination is really below par. The wedding planner and the assistant banquet manager was always seen arguing ( This looked real bad in front of the customers).

Think twice before you take amara.

Hi O_o,

Just went for my food tasting last sat, overall the food tasting was good and the portion was rather big. We felt quite full by the 5th course and had to do some takeaways.

I will not be having the prawn in the cold combination as they are frozen and doesn't taste very good so may substitute it for octopus. I selected the chicken with herbs. It had a bitter aftertaste and i don't think alot of guests will like it so i'll be going for the traditional roasted chicken...

Hi Belle,

Usually food tasting will taste better and the portion will be big. When it comes to the actual day, it will be just nice...

Hi Patrick,
your point is right. That's why i highlighted to my coordinator to ensure that the quality is the same as i'll be have relatives from abroad. Portion to be about the same as i'll have 11 guests at some tables especially those with children.

Hmmm... i guess communication is important. I better spend more time talking to the coordinator from now on. Make sure my requirements get into her head before the actual day!

Hi White Freesia, the co-ordinator that I am referring to is my brother who is helping me cos on your big day, your job is to smile, be happy and talk to your guest. Leave it to a trustworthy fren who can handle everything without bothering you much.... just a few cents worth

Hi Jenn,
For my food tasting last month, as long as you are happy with the food i.e not too spicy, too salty. I also tasted the vegetarian( extra cost of cos). The portion as I have told Belle would be bigger, don't need to reduce the portion as on the actual day it will be just nice.

Hi Jenn,

the Theme was Grandeur Theme (VIP - Grandeur tablecloth & Chairs with napkins, Guest - White tablecloth & Red napkins)
- Flowers : Red Roses

The photos for the theme or wedding ? for the theme I do not have it, for the wedding dinner one is still not ready yet.

hi all, have you guys dealt with Patricia Ku as ur wedding cordinator? is she ok? if not any advice who i shld liaise with instead? just want to know your feedback cos i intend to arrange to go down to amara and look at the ballrooms.
Thks.

Hi Jamie, you should get someone that you trust to be the co-ordinator... Hotel ppl are not really very good.. my few cents worth after my dinner on 20 Jul

hi... which wedding favour did u choose? My package only allow me to choose between the chocolate & fruit cake, wonder if i can swap for other things?

Hi White Freesia,

Are you referring to gifts for the guest ? I did ask for other stuff, in the end they did not get back to me and it's still chocolate.

Anyway I am writing to their CEO for their poor standard of service.

hi Patrick,

Is sad to know that you have such a bad experience with Amara. I actually just took up their wedding package for next yr recently.
After knowing your cases, i cant help but worry..
Do you mind telling me who is your Wedding Planner and Bandquet Manager?
And did the CEO respone to your complain?
Thanks a lot!

Hi Cinderbell,

The wedding planner was Patricia Ku and the assistant banquet manager was Eddie. I think Jeffery, the manager is better. ( He was around during my food tasting, his attitude and service is definitely much much better)

Talking about Patricia and Eddie....

I signed up for the ROM and banquet packages. Had my ROM last Dec. Patricia is my wedding planner. Maybe they do not get along so I did not see her speak to Eddie at my ROM. In fact she was nowhere to b seen until just before my march-in. What kind of planner or coordinator does that? Avoid the mayhem of the prep, just show up at the last min, smile, say congrats.

Eddie was friendly but he doesn't seem to understand that my helper got no telepathy with him! He wanted my emcee to say this and that at particular timings during the solemnisation but instead of writing it down or telling her in advance, he stood beside her and made her repeat his sentences like parrot. Imagine how good it looked.

The hotel lacks customer service. I wrote a feedback letter on all the ROM details that were not what I had confirmed and no one replied. The next thing I received was the EMAIL about GST increase. That's another story.

Hi White Freesia,

The wine is not from hotel, it's White Tail California red wine. After all the scouting and advises from wine lover, it would be good if the wine is not so smooth as after oxidation, it would not be as nice, hence choose wine with fuller body.

Iced Latte,
I have got the same feedback on Eddie. My fren cum co-ordinator was the one who rehearse the whole thing less the first dish march in. When we were rehearsing , he was no where to be found. After we have finalised everything, he doesn't want to accept our idea and give us the shit face. He was always rushing us for time.

As for patricia, she also only appeared during the briefing and when she wanted to give comment, Eddie would give that "don't interrupt me " face and also during my first march in.

After reading the past posts, i thought that i have to say something. I'm sorry that Patrick & Iced Latte experience was unpleasant. From what i read, I'll say that Patricia & Eddie are very unprofessional.

I signed up the package with Amara last Sep because i read in this forum that their service and food was good especially a particular co-ordinator so i specifically looked and requested for her when i called Amara. So far, my experience with her has been very pleasant and we had our food tasting and she was there too to listen to our comments. We always emphasize from the beginning our expectations.

I was worried especially after reading Patrick's post but my FH assured me to give our co-ordinator a chance... I'm keeping my fingers cross till my AD is over...