Amara Singapore

hapict

both are very nice; they attended to me for 6mths while i was preparing for my wedding. in fact i refused to meet up wtih a more senior guy cos i was used to talkin to rayston. just make sure u go over all the details with them and all understand exactly wat u wan. cheers!

0212bride

Hi o_O

U got ROM package then sure they will provide accessories if u need. But BS acc usually dun look simple. If u want simple acc they may ask u to buy outside.

Oh i heard of tt song title, supp to b v romantic. But nv actually heard it, must check it out!

Hi hapict and reismion
So happy tt both of u are singing praises of your coord.. well i hope i can also praise mine.

Let o_O update her feedback after her Sep wedding and i update in Dec after mine.. we hv the same coord who is diff from both of yours. haha

qhue

Hi Belle & Iced Latte,
Actually my wedding is in July... but havent decide whether shld spend more moolah on solemnization or not... haiz....
unless it's free lah...

jenopc

hi june

i signed up min 25 tables and got only 18 bottles waiver. but if it reaches 36 tables and above on actual day, there's an additional 18 bottles waiver.

happybeingmi

If you are worrying about the wine corkage, there's 3Litre red wine available in market.3L bottle corakge=1 normal wine bottle corkage. So you do save on the corkage if you are not so particular with the quality of the red wine.The choices are however quite limited.

jenopc

hi happy

thks! i tink this is worth considering!

afterall i tink tat out of all the tables, perhaps only 1 or 2 tables are wine connoiseurs.. keke

babe_belle

Hi Happy,
I'm interested in the 3L red wine. Where to get it at and how much does it costs? What are the range of wines they have?

happybeingmi

I found it at Euro Link Wines & Spirits,cannot remember the exact address.Just know it's in Toa Payoh.Tel:6255 7271. It cost from $50+ to $70+ for 3L which i find it very worthwhile as I only have 12bottles corkage wavier that time. I don't have the exact address, u can search from yellow pages online.I think there are many wine shops that carry 1.5L wine. If you have many bottles waived, do consider that as there are more ranges available, cheaper and better than the 3L.Typically, i think a table need 1.5 bottle of 750ml of wine.

eighty

how's amara recently? since there've been both rants and rave abt amara in here, and now i'm looking at their packages, i tot it's quite alright... is it much better? must look for rayston and michelle poh?

0212bride

Hi Flora

The coordinator is assigned to u, not u choose which coord u want. Every hotel the same. They assign by the groom's surname.

So if ur FH's surname belongs to first half of the 26 alphabets, high chance u might get michelle
But last time there were 2 coord. Now w R as well, i'm not so sure how they allocate.

eighty

Thanks Iced Latte!!

Ermmm his surname... think not in first half leh. Haha~ I'm looking at Amara, Furama Waterfront, York Hotel and Suntec ballroom now... Hmmm~ Any comments about these places?

netfinity25

Hi Flora,

Out of these few, i would recommend Furama Riverfront cos of the pillarless ballroom and the newly renovated ballroom for mercury which have two views (poolside and fountain view).You may look for Albert. A nice chap

As for Amara, its really nice. However for the price pay would rather choose a hotel in town or along river valley.

York hotel: the ambient is not tat fantastic ans its inconvient for ur guest to walk quite a distance

Suntec: ballroom is ok but food ave.

How abt Hilton and Hyatt

eighty

I emailed both of them too. Hilton's on the more pricey side, so will consider if all our other consideration are no longer available. Hyatt replied wanting our names and contact numbers, without the package list. Not keen to give out numbers yet till I've discussed more with my FH (so far I'm the only one doing all those emailing/calling up job) so I still dunno how's pricing like yet to be considering it. Any idea?? Thanks!!

netfinity25

Hmmm...Hyatt have a min of above 30 tables tables for the main ballroom... However, the package for 2008 dun koe out yet. When i went Mar its still 2007 package

The price quite comparable to Hilton...

What is ur budget??

eighty

Hmmmm~ We'll probably have around 50 tables, so hopefully below $800 for a weekend package at somewhere that can accomodate us and available on our date. So far those 4 that I shortlisted are those that are OK. Some places like Novotel and many restaurants (including several under Tung Lok's group) I called are no longer available. Actually I'm not sure about York's max number of tables yet, will ask tomorrow. Hopefully can decide everything before this month ends, if not more and more places will be taken on our chosen date.

jenopc

Hi Flora

My friend had hers in Furama Riverfront last year. The svc and food are ok, all were happy at the end of the event. And for the price of it, it's real gd for $.

Amara wise... i reserve the comments for svc and food after my AD..

netfinity25

Hi o_O,

U mean ur fren have her AD at FRF????
Me too for next year..

Which ballroom?? Any photos to share??? Any idea they have dvd to play wedding highlights for actual day???

Hi Flora,

So din u sign up with York???
My fren has won the 1st prize when they sign up today

0212bride

Any Amara brides used the grandeur theme? Would like to look at the pictures.

I always loved the romance theme but I chose dark purple and fuschia pink EGs, so hv to go for a softer ballroom theme now.

jenopc

hi netfinity
yap her AD is in FRF.
im not too sure wads the name of the ballroom, though im one of her helpers. nope, she didn't have any videos to show during the dinner. she's on maternity rite now, so i'll need longer time to check if she can allow any links to view her fotos. why dun u also check FRF threads to see if any one has any fotos?

hi Latte
so u chose yr EG alrdy huh. took any fotos of it? btw wads the color scheme of grandeur and romance? i v confused and the website doesnt help much loh. my EG is gold color - so which one wud u sugg?

0212bride

Hi o_O

No chance to take photos of the EGs leh.

Romance is red theme. Red roses, red VIP table decor (but the sashes ard the chairs can change to gold i think, if u dun want ang gong gong)

Grandeur is champagne/pink roses. I think its a bit peach/cream coloured. Not as dramatic as romance, but hv to choose it so as not to clash against my EG colours.

U can choose romance. Its the nicest theme n I think it will look really grand against ur champagne coloured EG!!

0212bride

hi, some of the brides here did mention that the serving portions are qt big. But no mention of the fish. I suppose it must b at least fresh cos otherwise it spoils the whole dish

jenopc

hi netfinity

sure to share once i get to speak to her.

hi latte
hmm ok i shall consider romance theme then.
nowadays cant check forum as and when i wan.. our house under reno and its so messy!

so stressed up now coz gota balance work, family, wedding and reno issues all at the same time. if my life is peaceful, nothing happens at all and i juz go home and watch korean vcds. if something happens, its all at one shot. wad the hell...

0212bride

haha same for me, also juggling everything at one shot. somemore inexperienced with reno and wedding prep. can b qt blur at times when it comes to the little (but time consuming) details... urgh!!

jenopc

o ya latte

rmbr i emailed u my ROM pic? well keke i changed the dress alrdy.

its gona be a short modern cheongsam. i chose it coz its more fitting to my body shape. i sit also more comfy...

0212bride

ohhh sounds really cool! Ya u shld flaunt ur slim shape leh, dun hide it! Not the same cheongsam pic i saw? Cos i tot u wanted it for ur PS/AD rite? Got pic of ur new ROM dress?

jenopc

nope nope not tat red one. c'mon man how can i wear tat red phoenix cheongsam to the ROM keke tat wud be HORRORS~ hahah

its a modern one, bare back tat my BS had. i went there for fitting again and the coordinator told me she got a tea dress tats abt my size but not many ppl take. so i asked to see it.

den in the end... it suits me better. no leh i no hv pics. so sad. it was too obvious if i brought my big bag into the fitting room. tink she'll noe i hid my camera inside leh. so i din hv any.

anyway ROM is v soon mah... i'll hv my video and potos uploaded asap after 3rd may and let u check it out yeah?

0212bride

Hi o_O

okies shall wait patiently for ur ROM pics to see the pretty dress and glowing bride..

collected ur rings alrdy? all set and ready to go? only abt 1wk more leh... heehee

bbgg6061

Just had my wedding on Sat. I appreciate Michelle, Jeffrey's help and esp a sound engineer called Iskander who helped us in our selection and mic tuning

I heard from my guests that some of their waiters are very jovial and made them enjoyed their dinner too.. The fish that i have been worried about seems to turn out quite good. Overall the guests told me the food are good. In fact i have not hear any negative comments yet.

But we used the L-shaped side of the ballroom, which i heard that the guests could not hear properly from there.

Very happy that everything went extremely smooth.

jenopc

hi bbgg6061

glad to hear that!

btw i hv heard some brides giving hotels tips after the event. did u? is it really necc?

0212bride

huh give tips?? i nv heard of it leh.

Hi bbgg6061, so happy to hear the service and food are good. Jovial waiters some more, hmmm tt sounds like a rarity
btw, which theme did u use? any pics to share?

babe_belle

Hi o_O & Latte,

When my god-sis got married at Hilton Hotel, her uncle signed the bill on behalf of her and he put in $500 tips. We were shocked but her uncle said that this is the norm. So i'm also getting worried too.. Is it the normal practice?

o_O,
Congrats on your ROM! How was it?

kimochi

Hi all BTB, I had my wedding dinner at Amara last month. Everything went on smoothly. All thanks to Michelle and Eddie. The service was fantastic. Michelle was still around during my second march in. Eddie gave very clear and helpful instructions from how I should hold my gown and the flowers to cake cutting and champagne pouring. With Michelle and Eddie, your dinner are in good hands.

babe_belle

Kimochi,

Did you book extra rooms for your wedding? Was Michelle able to give any special rates?

I may need to book about 8 or more additional rooms for my wedding nights as i'm having relatives from overseas so i am trying to get the best rates.

0212bride

Hi Belle

Is your wedding on a weekday or weekend? If its weekday I suggest you book fast cos Amara is business hotel. Often booked on weekdays. Weekends should b ok.

If you need 8 rooms, i'm sure u will hv a v special rate

Where's o_O, forgot to come back and update her ROM?

jenopc

hey im here im here! LOL!

i got back on monday, got sick ystdy and now im better... i have not uploaded any fotos yet.. hopefully tonite i will!

how are u gals doing? done any preps?
i went KL and bought some cute "XI" (chinese happiness character) stickers and pouches (intend to put tings like ang paos into it and give jiemeis and brothers).

now im lookg for AD PS.. VG alrdy settled..

babe_belle

Morning Latte,
My wedding is on a Saturday. I did check with Michelle but she said that her rates may not be as good then the internet promotions but she'll confirm and let me know about it.

o_O,
Looking forward to see your photos...