Amara Singapore

Hey O_o

wah went for mini honeymoon after ROM huh.. so romantic

Great pictures! The cheongsam suits u nicely!!

Thanks all. Belle,I did not book any extra rooms. I was so busy with the wedding prep til I forgot to ask for helper's room. Only asked a couple of days before my AD, subjected to availability.

hi all, glad to hear generally good comments about Amara Hotel. I'm holding my wedding dinner on Dec 2007.

I may have to choose the grandeur theme coz my EG is red in colour.

O_o, i got ur email. Also replied u alrdy
Noted ur concerns but can be solved, dun worry

Hi Zarcy, I'm also holding my dinner at Amara in Dec 2007. I liked the romance theme v much but hv to go for grandeur too, my EG are purple and fuschia pink. Clash w red lor.

I am back from my honeymoon but I have not got my photos from my AD photographer yet, will have to wait for another month.

I chose the Romance theme. No, i did not give any tips when i am paying for the bill.. Nobody has mentioned that to me leh.. Anyway the co-ordinators still treat us well even during our check out..

By the way, we order the 1.5L magnum size red wines and we have checked it with Michelle beforehand that it is okay. It helps us to avoid our corkage charges. But some guests dun really like the wine..

Hi bbgg

Well no matter what cc and which brand of red wines, we can't please everyone. Care to share where and how much u bot the 1.5L red wines?

I have ordered the wine from Parker's Wine, it costs $40 per bottle. They carry only 1 type of 1.5L wine. It is a Chilean wine, Dona Consuelo - Merlot 2004.

You can negotiate with them, they do allow some unused bottles to be returned.

Hi zhuoen

At least from what I know, hotel wedding coordinators are assigned to customers, in order to distribute the work fairly. So customers don't get to choose unless maybe you fall out with the one assigned to you and its a must to change.

Hi all..
Just dropped by at Amara ytd evening with my FH, we bumped into one of the banquet manager, very friendly and helpful.

I was rather reluctant at first, the lady who replied to my email (P) completely not trying to help and show no interest. I'm thinking to contact them and ask for another planner.

Hi Reismion & Cloudie,

(M) told me last year that she might be posting over to Sentosa Amara but recently beginning of June, I emailed her and she's still at Tanjong Pagar Amara. So any idea when will she be shifting?

Hi Ling

totally agree wif u abt tat coord. I totally wudn't choose her if i had a choice. I had even requested to change coord last time due to her bad manners and way of handling the GST increase issue. But still cudn't, guess this hotel also hv limited coords.

U're rite lor ~ this coord doesn't show interest. When i ask her questions, she answers me in a 'OF COURSE its like tis and like tat' manner... u can feel as if she is rolling her eyes at you. i mean.. c'mon, she treat us like we've done this before. I also hate it that she 'fakes it'. juz makes me feel uncomfortable.

i really pray that the AD doesnt dissapoint me. o/wise i swear i am going to write to the papers n make all the BTB know not to choose this hotel.

at this point im pretty upset abt how this hotel made me feel ~ i dun feel gd just bcos of how this coord treated me. i dun u/stand why someone like her character n her 'roll eyes' attitude can choose a job as a wedding planner. feel like telling her to get out of her job to spare the newly weds.

really sud hv gone to Merchant court ~ they'll show you wad is REAL customer service from the heart.

tskkk...

A hotel can have nice ballroom, good package, great food, but the person who comes into contact with the customer gives such "roll eyes" and "take it or leave it" attitude totally spoils the experience and reputation.

The big name hotels place so much emphasis on customer service that you feel the value for paying more. Amara tries to charge more and even rip us off (GST) but gives with terrible service.

Agree P lacks the customer oriented enthusiasm. Of course not everyone love their job, some service staff also "fake fake" on their bad days, but she is like that 24/7, whatever made the hotel put someone with no aptitude in this sales role.

The hotel should consider putting her in a back end job where dun hv to meet customers. Period.

My food tasting should be anytime in July. My coordinator is supposed to call me to make arrangements and also to collect invitation cards so i'm thinking if i should take the initiative to call her or just wait patiently.

bbgg6061,
How come your food tasting is 8 dishes for 8 pax?

O_o,
How come your food tasting is 9 dishes for 10 pax?

I need to have food tasting for 10 pax so i'm not sure if i have to top-up cash? My dinner is on a Saturday, not sure if that makes a difference. Any comments on the food?

Hi Belle

i chose a 9 course dinner. as for 10pax for food tasting, well i duno why but its like tat in my contract.

who's yr coordinator? actually u cud try calling them to request for 10pax w/out top up loh. just call to try yr luck maybe?

well abt the food, we had a dish called 'steam live prawns w/ Hwa Teow'. It tasted weird man. all of us tasted the prawn n felt it had a detergent/ chemical taste (~_~).. we even called the chef out to give him a chance to explain why such taste.. but den.. he said 'its like tat'..

well... be it that its the taste coz of the Hwa Teow, we're not gona take our chances. if we can say it tastes like 'detergent', im sure all the guests will.

so i asked for it to be changed to 'cereal prawns'. althou tis is not the option in the menu, but i was pretty sure tat this cost cheaper for the hotel. anyway the coordinator called me bk the next dae n confirmed that it can be done... so ok lor..

Hi O_o

Did u bring notebook there to take down what was discussed? hahaha. Who's the banquet manager?

So is the food tasting the time to talk abt theme, decor and all other stuffs which otherwise no chance to talk face to face w the staffs?

Hi O_o,

My coordinator is Michelle. She just called me today to email her my choice of dishes and dates that i'm free for my food tasting.

The food tasting is a 9 course dinner for 10 pax. We went through the menu but don't have a dish as you have described. Can it be a different menu that we are referring to? My dinner is on a Saturday night.

Hi Belle Chan,

Congrats and sorry for late reply, kinda lost this thread.. I'm not lookin at this hotel anymore, rather too expv for its level.. (same pricing as Hilton, Regent, and some other 5 stars)..

You might wanna get Jeffrey as 1st option for the operation manager, 2nd option can be Eddy..

Ling

hi Belle,

Maybe mine is 2006 package bec my AD is Apr 2007. My package is a 9-course dinner on Sat night too.

Although given 8 pax, we need only 7 pax so we asked to change to 9 dishes for 7 pax.

Thanks for your recommendation. Will keep in mind.

Hi bbgg6061,
I actually signed up my package on Sep 2006 and my AD is on 6 Oct 07.

Hi Latte

I actually sent u an email abt this experience.. u noe lar.. prefer to discuss detail tings over email rather than publish all here haha..

well.. did bring my notebook ~ but wasnt needed. they had a list of dishes where i was to write my comments of the food and changes if any, den also had to sign off at the bottom of the page. so i guess tat was enuf for the hotel to commit.

and nope ~ they said they'll finalise tings like decor, confirmed number of tables etc 1 mth before my wedding date.

Hi Belle

ya perhaps we hv different menu ~ i picked a v budgeted one. coz afterall its a weekday for me n i dun c how guests will hv as much mood to eat, drink n be merry as compared to weekend weddings like yrs... so i felt tat i cud take tis as an excuse to cut down on my wedding costs.. haha *pity my guests*...! so wen r u gona hv yr food tasting?

O btw, u might wana tell yr coordinator to try not to drag time serving the next dish.. mine.. gosh.. i waited 10-15mins for the next one for some. kinda made my parents tired out, end up whole ting ended like 9plus almost 10...

Hi Jenn
my table is a budget $690NETT.
hmmm why is yr food tasting 6 dishes??? isit coz yr wedding dinner is 6 dishes?

n also, those of u who might hv less ppl to go food tasting with u, perhaps might wana check w/ yr coord abt tis ~ if food tasting u onli hv 8 ppl, do they lessen the serving for u to try? coz i was tinkg, if they do lessen it, den how wud u be able to judge tat serving is enuf for yr 10pax tables during actual dae?

Haha I guess Amara not signing many new clients so no newcomers to this thread?

Hmm anyone has the Amara wedding invitation card? Can take a look? I wonder if they have 2 colours (red and cream) for relatives and friends.

Latte

I juz got the cards from them..
its v v v plain lorrr... its all wif the printer now so i can scan a copy to show u. I took all cream colored ones coz i havent counted how many for relatives n how many for friends. (Usually u might wana choose the red one for relatives)

Anyway, the cream one is abit pearly texture, with a small silver word "INVITATION" printed in the front cover. That's all for the design.

I saw the red one too ~ its rectangle n in portrait. The front cover has a chinese painting, like bamboos or something like tat. Also look v boring.

Once i get back the cards from the printer I will scan a copy n email u... hey did u get my email tat time???

I'll be going for my food tasting on 21 July. Just wondering when will i be able to select my invitation cards? Is it on the same day as my food tasting and are there any other stuff that i have to settle on that same day?