Amara Singapore

jenopc

hi happy

sad to hear tat it wasn't a top-notch experience... we're now worried for ourselves.

hi juliana

how was the svc experience for u then? thanks for sharing yr fotos! now i get a real feel of wad its gona be like..

0212bride

Hi Juliana
Seen you pics! very lovely!

Hi happy
Mind sharing ur experience? What kind of bad service did u and ur guests rec'd?

reismion

hi happy,

oh dear... sorry to hear abt ur bad experiences. ya, u need to do alot of follow-up with them to ensure the level of service. :p well, at least ur AD is over. can finally relax.

belated congrats gal. :D

babe_belle

Hi Happy,
sad to hear about yr bad experience too. I'm getting worried too. Who is your coordinator? Do share your bad experience with us.

Hi Juliana,
your pics were gorgeous. How was your experience with Amara? Plan to show your pictures to my FH tonight.

happybeingmi

Maybe I have set too high expectations that's why i feel that its not up to my standard.
There are a few things that were not satisfactory:
1) Not a single beer was served during the cocktail, instead our red wine was served without our consent.My hubby already reminded them to serve red wine during dinner only. This is obviously a way for them to save money since we are entitled to free flow beer.
2) The door was closed even until close to 8pm. We took pain to notify our guests to be early on my wedding night.End up a lot of my eldery guests were made standing outside the reception area. They "complained" to my parents only after the event. Made all of us seem to be such a bad host.
3) The photo montage music was beyond audible range when it was played non stop before the dinner. I also do not understand why people start to feedback after the wedding, which makes me more frustrated why it wasnt rectified at that point of time.
4) No dry ice for the march in. I only realised after the march in and also my friend were commenting that it will be nice with that. I was already too worried about other matters. Do not know why Amara cant do such a simple thing to help the couple since this is not something that is specially requested by us.
5) Food standard dropped a lot. Sea cumcumber bitter. tried it during food tasting and commented and yet they did not improve on it! Fish not fresh, mango pudding is lumpy. sighz.
Food was served too FAST and end up my guests find it hard to catch up with their serving speed. We didnt start late, so do not understand why is there a worry to speed up. Think the banquet manager on duty is not too gd. I remember when i attended a wedding there before, everything was so gd that i decided to hold there. But the team on duty that day ruined the night.
Both of us are already v caught up with work but Amara didnt seem to help us much in ensuring the process as smooth sailing for us.
It's tiring for us to keep tab on all these when we have to look into seating arrangement on that night. So a word of advice for those who have chosen Amara, generally if u r not so bothered by little details, it will be a nice experience for u.Just need a big group of friends to check on that as the bride cant do much on that day. As I have planned for the details, I am greatly saddened that this does not turn out as well. I have feedback and yet there is no reply. Lousy after customer service.
something i like about is the day deco. the florist did a nice job.

decipher

Dear brides to be...

Aiyo u all no need to feel sad la, your guest will not complain you are a bad host. Reason is very simple. You paid Amara to do the job. If service is poor, it is senseless to blame the couple or family....everyone will say "Aiyo that time i attended a wedding banquet at Amara...very lousy!". Notice the spotlight is casted on Amara...not the couple. Hence no need to feel SCARED if you are going to host it there...or those already hosted, no need to feel SAD because fingers are pointed to Amara, not you. : ) Unless.... you host the banquet at your home..then different story la..keke

happybeingmi

Hi Belle,
The coordinator was there. Maybe it's not nice to mention her name here. I think maybe not her fault totally as she did help us during the wedding prep. Just feel that it's more of the banquet manager fault. It's true that everything is over and nothing to harp on. Even if the blame is not us, the guests felt that we must be saving cost to choose such a hotel for wedding.It's disturbing to hear more of criticism rather than compliments.

reismion

hi happy,

i think there's oni a few banquet mgr there. my cooridinator n banquet mgr were m n j respectively. may i noe who is urs?

i think it helped tat we knew them pretty well n tat my sis n the banquet mgr were helping to coordinate stuff. still received bad comments oso la but more on the food. said served too fast n not warm enough. :p anyway, the wedding was over. dun bother abt wat others say. juz b happy can liao.
btw which theme did u use? mine was romance.

belle:

if i'm not wrong, the coordinator not always there 1. oni the banquet mgr. tat's y when u go for ur food tasting or audio testing, pls ensure u tat those present r going to b the same bunch as those on ur AD.

decipher

I know how to mitigate the problems....
before banquet starts, the groom pls annouce on the stage, "Thank you for coming, if there's any uncomfort with the service or food, please direct your diappointment to Amara. We are also a patron nia, also if you find anything wrong, pls highlight to me so that i can put things right before the night ends". hahahaha

Happy, buay la...i believe amara is not a kiching kurung hotel leh...listed on the exchange ok! Got head got face type hotel..so ur guest know it's amara's problems..not urs..

happybeingmi

Hi reismion,
i remember the banquet manager in charge during the food tasting is different from my wedding day. probably that's why mine turned out not as good especially comments i made during food tasting were useless. My coordinator and banquet manager r different from yours so i think most know who i meant.
I have chosen romance theme with red backdrop and red tablecloth. Find the deco v nice.In laws also happier with the red element in it.
In fact, now i'm more relieved than disappointed with them. At least i did enjoyed my wedding process. Just hope that gals who are very involved in their wedding prep will not turn out to be disappointed like me. So rem have a gd coordinator and plan for more stringent check on their service to ensure your wedding a perfect experience.

Hi decipher,
you dun be surprised that some of my guests never even hear of Amara. they have perception that def cheaper than orchard area hotels.

decipher

ok...then i have another idea... before dinner starts, at 5pm... line up the crews... then u give a motivational rally! just like the king in LOTR...before they cheong into the monsters..keke

decipher

To the rest of the Amara brides to be...

Dun let anyone tell you that you cannot be a happy bride at amara...if you have a dream to have a successful banquet, fight for it, make it happen!

jenopc

hi happy

tks for all yr comments and adv - really will do a great help to the rest of us.. my AD is in sept. not too far away alrdy actually. the little details tat u mentioned are definately wad concerns me! in fact, i saw another bride's fotos and realised tat what u said is true. there weren't much dry ice effect.. kinda killer...

i also found wad Decipher said true and helpful! I'm really gona copy down the opening speech and make my Emcees say it!

i also intend to list down my requests/ comments/ details to the amara staffs and drop an email to all of them (including the HOD), to ensure tt noting noticable will go wrong.

if u've read from the earlier threads, some of us alrdy had experienced some poor svc response issues, even before our big day has begun. so it's being collated and i'll find some ways to highlight to the hotel to make sure that nothing goes wrong.

i agree w/ happy that some guests may hv a poorer perception of Amara - coz it's not an uptown 'label'/ top choice for wedding banquets. Juz tt my FIL finds it really accessible for those w/out transport. Also after their facelift, it looks more up to date.

Im going to food tasting in June, i believe. Did they call u to arrange for it? Or did u hv to call them? Anyway how do i ensure tt the banquet mgr will be present? Will it be rude to take notes during the food tasting, and tell them tt i'll seek compensation if these changes/ expectations are not met? (u noe.. scare them?)

jenopc

oh btw happy,

can u adv what time does they arrange for the dinner to be ended? coz u mentioned tt the food was rushed. also, how many dishes did u hv? 8 or 9?

decipher

jenopc,

glad that i have helped. keke actually i'm a groom to be at amara too. been highlighted to read all these from my WTB...wah liew eh...actually i only see the wives complaining..keke hubbies all very quiet... reason is simple, i think u gals are exerting too much stress on urself, i can understand that, because it's once a life time for most (punt intended) keke... relax man! it's ur big day and banquet is just part of it...

To all the hubbies, cheers! no wonder they say men are from mars women are from venus. keke!

reismion

happy:

ic. i'm glad u 've enjoyed the process. tat was more important.

decipher:

ya, rally them aka LOTR style. *thumbs up* heehee...

jenopc

decipher

i knew it! cud tell from yr way of writting tt u're a guy.. haaa so daring and the not-so-worried tone. no wonder... ya u're rite lor - the guys r not too bothered. only we BTBs are man.

so wen is yr AD?

decipher

jenopc, haha! it's not because of not bothered attitude hor!!! my WTB reading one...u mai hai si me kneel durian shell hor! :D Well...cannot fault u gals la, gals are born this way ma, tian sheng kancheong.. keke

my AD in November... u wan to receive my pink bomb?? :p

happybeingmi

Hi jenopc,
I remembered I call to arrange for a food tasting session since i have to ask both sides parents when will they be free on weekday night and usually it will be scheduled when there is a wedding that night. So you will get to see the wedding setup and also collect your wedding card for printing of inserts.
My banquet started around 8.15pm and ended around 1030pm which i find it v on time since mine is on a weekday. In fact, its only some of the tables find the serving speed too fast, not all the tables.I have in total 9 dishes that day.
For those who want to know if Amara provides wine, they do have a list to choose. However, I bought from outside retailer.
Now, i do miss my planning process especially time to pop by here to see if there's any important info to help in my planning.

0212bride

Hi Happy

I hv the same coord as you! Since u mentioned the banquet mgr turned out diff from the one u met at food tasting, did ur hubby tell u whether the coord intro the banquet mgr to ur hubby?

Bcos at my ROM, the coord MIA. The mgr went to the poolside to self-intro to my FH. Luckily he did a good job. Coord only showed up just b4 the solemnisation. I felt it was a deliberate attempt to avoid us in case we ask her to rectify any 'mistakes'.

U mentioned u feedback to the hotel. I also feedback but no response. They hv poor customer svc if u ask me. Which was y i was doubly angry to receive their email in Jan abt the GST hike. Ignore my complaint but come to $ they v fast and efficient! Sent out the mail b4 govt confirms the % increase and effective date!

As jenopc would hv told u, hard time resolving it but thank goodness its over.

Although I know its unrealistic to expect the wedding to go 100% as planned, those details u listed are just what the brides hope to have at the dinner. Thanks for sharing!
so now I know tt b4 food tasting we better inform the coord tt those staffs present hv to b the same staffs overseeing our banquet.

0212bride

Hi o_O

What rude? Draw out A3 size notebook n let them see u writing notes lah! Ask for their names.. haha

No choice hv to do in case coord *ahem.. miss out anything. Its some time from food tasting to AD, so our comments may b forgotten. Worse if the AD staffs really are diff ppl from the food tasting session.

I also think we must use Decipher's method, force our FH to prep talk the Amara team b4 dinner and get the emcee to announce b4 the banquet starts, tt all comments to b directed to the banquet mgr. That shld keep the staffs alert for the next 3hrs

Btw did u change coord?

reismion

furnana:

i got mine outside. u can buy fr the hotel but not cheap i think. need to chk with the coordinator. corkage charges apply from Xth bottle onwards depending on the pkg taken. for ours, it was foc corkage for 1st 24 bottles of wine.

Iced_Latte:

"get the emcee to announce b4 the banquet starts, tt all comments to b directed to the banquet mgr. That shld keep the staffs alert for the next 3hrs"

LOL, i love ur idea!! :D

jenopc

hi decipher
mine's in sept, earlier than yrs.. so u wana receive my bomb also?? haha..

hi happy
mine is also a weekday banquet - so i can use yr feedback as planning. mine's also a 9 dish.

yo Latte
haha A3! man.. i'll draw out their faces too man. keke.. k i shall really do tat and take notes, and den email them these are the tings expected to see changed at the dinner... hehe to make sure *ahem* *cough cough* does make the changes...!

dustydelvinia

Thanks for all your compliments! My experience with Amara was a great and wonderful one. Everything went as we had briefed them, right to the smallest details. I had requested for my second march-in to be after the sharks fin... haha... and the manager, Jeff, very thoughtfully made that happen for me!

Our coordinator was Michelle and she was with us all the way as well, each time we turned around Jeff or Michelle would be there. We have not recieved any bad comments thus far, and everyone enjoyed the food and the portioning... so I think you ladies are in pretty good hands!

Happy, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Even thought your wedding is over, I think you should still feedback and let them know!

0212bride

Hi reismion

I dunno if my FH will prep talk the Amara staff cos I also dunno to do it. Moreover sounds wierd rite.. customer has to motivate the vendor to do a good job.. heehee

But I will def make the emcee announce tt the banquet mgr is PIC of the dinner..

Hi o_O
I will also bring notebook. And send emails to *ahem to confirm and reconfirm. Trust me I did tt for my ROM, still can hv some details wrong.

Hi Juliana
Hmm ur coord not bad, actually ard for u. I guess tt shld b the case if they are called wedding planners.

Hi Happy
Was ur coord present at the ballroom b4 and during ur banquet?

happybeingmi

Hi Juliana,
I have already feedback to them but no reply of explanation. Think Jeff is a better banquet manager, heard about him.
Hi iced latte,
My coordinator was present. I saw her when we did the march in but unsure if she walked around the ballroom all the time to check on the things or not cos usually the couple will be too busy to notice them.

reismion

hi latte,

haha. i think the emcee's announcement wld b enough. ;)

hmm, u cant remember if my coordinator / wedding planner was ard on our AD but the banquet mgr was always ard when my sister (my private coordinator) needed help. we even sent them a compliment via email for their assistance n cooperation.

babe_belle

I'm taking down notes of everything.

My FH actually told Michelle that we are extremely particular about service & the food. These are very high priority... I hope that she really noted that down. Since we will be having relatives from overseas.

dustydelvinia

Hi Happy, that really sux. The point of feedback is to seek explanation and assurance that there will be improvement. Ignoring feedback is equivalent to slapping themselves on the face!

I think it was a good experience for us probably also because my HB was very firm during the briefing about what we want and don't want. He made it quite clear so there was no room for misunderstanding or mistakes. Then again, Michelle and Jeff are both undeniably good at what they do, so we were also lucky.

We also had some small things that happen to us, like the wedding cake turned out to be not the one I had decided on but its a small thing and nothing can be perfect so we didn't mention anything after the wedding. Important thing is the service was good and prompt, food was as per expectations and everyone had a good time!

0212bride

Hi Juliana

I have doubts on the level of service commitment at Amara when it comes to dealing with complaints. I sent an email to feedback abt the things that didn't go right at my ROM. No response too.

To think that I hv still yet to hold my banquet. They are already ignoring me. That really seals my no-confidence vote.

hapict

i just had my weddin in amara in jan this year.

all went ok; they are v attentive to me, waiter sent a waitress after me into the toilet to help me with my pong pong tulle dress after he saw me going in alone, although he asked n i told him i would be fine. banquet mgr was gd n helped advise us, though he was not ard in the morning when we came in, and we had some changes to the seating plan (ours was a lunch) but it was all sorted out v quickly.

the oni thing tat threatened to spoil the day was when a waitress accidentally spilled red wine onto my mom's light coloured suit. not sure if my mom bumped into her. haiz. but we delayed our two march ins. for the 1st march in, when my mom still in toilet tryin to clean the jacket. she finally took off the jacket n just sat down at host table with her white tunic top. for the 2nd march in, hubby n i were waitin outside the closed door for the dry cleaner to come back with the jacket cos mom had to go on stage for the toast. thankfully it did come back in time and we were informed n then we went straight into the ballroom.

heard tat generally everyone is pleased wtih the wine, food, service etc. though i heard a weird comment that the food was not enough (oni from a table, the rest said it's ok), and some did say the food-serving speed was too fast; they appeard to be rushing. well guess it's cos we started late. after the whole thing, they gave us the bill pretty quickly. i wasnt impressed with the morning breakfast. (but i went back recently for a seminar n the buffet lunch was very good, with loads of seafood).

so on the whole, amara is great (for me), and i m grateful to them. my coordinator is a young guy but he was v nice n sincere n accomodating to our requests.

P.S. I still have abt 20 invite cards each for both ivory n red with gold strings already tied. who wan, can PM me. or they have changed the designs?

0212bride

Hi hapict

dun think Amara changed the design. But when my turn comes and if i need extra, i'll let u know. Thanks for informing!

jenopc

hi Latte

OMG! 6 more months to my big day!!!

Have you thought about yr March-in song? I still duno yet! just the other day i went to That CD shop to get 3 cds from the "High Society" range... alomost 100 bucks. But den up wen i played the music, my FH complained... he said all those french love songs are so boring... he even said tt if i play those songs, he'll march halfway and fall asleep. >_<

sigh... wad song do u intend to use? im not too clear on how fast the tempo should be leh.

and oh ya... im worried abt the stage design... is it gona look very 'blank'? are u gona do anything extra to the stage or ballroom as a whole?

0212bride

Hi o_O

Ya hor, another 6 mths more. Hv u intensified ur preparations alrdy? Take it easy, b-r-e-a-t-h-e

Hv not chosen my march-in song yet. I would think i shld get a slower (more romantic) song for first march-in. Second march-in song can be slightly uptempo. Esp if u r showing the day time video highlight b4 2nd march-in, the guests' mood shld be qt jovial one, i think?? I hv one of the high society CDs too. May play it during the dinner but not as march-in.

Stage design not sure leh.. i hope to choose the romance theme, it looks ok, dun hv to do more deco to the stage. but v much depends on my EG colour which I hv not decided. Prolly u can consider adding more touches to the recep area?

bubbadino23

Hi Juliana

I saw your photos. Very nice gown and photos. Where is your gown from? I saw your photo taken from a park, where is it? cheers,

qhue

Hi all Amara brides,

Need advice here... anyone had their solemnization before the banquet (not during)... e.g.some friends gathered at another room or poolside for your solemnization at say 6pm before other guests arrive?

babe_belle

Hi Qhue,

When is your wedding? Mine is on 6 Oct 2007. We plan to have our solemnization before dinner but have not decided whether to have it by the poolside or in the ballroom itself. Understand from my Coordinator that if the poolside is booked for ROM, we can borrow it for our solemnization which is free. If not we will have to pay to have it by the poolside as they have to do the setup. So i have not decided till nearer to date.

0212bride

Hi Qhue &amp; Belle

I had my ROM at the poolside and it was great. If Belle's coord is right then you shld go for it. It's a great way to get most of ur guests to arrive earlier to see your solemnisation. Not to forget more photo opportunities

jenopc

Hi Latte

ya man b-r-e-a-t-h-e! *pfoooo*....

ya the preparations are getting more intensed! now i hv to plan ROM... after the solemnization at the Registry, we'll hear to my FH's house for a dinner buffet for frenz n colleagues.

I hv express video service hired, so will show during dinner... so its best to be shown before 2nd march-in huh? den how abt before 1st march-in? do u hv any videos?

hmmm how are u gona do up the stage? it means more costs ley, if we're gona add our own touches... i tink an abundance of red roses wud go well wif the romance theme, but den... to add flowers wud be so ex...

0212bride

Hi June
The prices for wedding banquets are gg up every year. Don't even start to compare else v heartache

Hi o_O
Urs is weekday dinner rite? Tell June how much u paid for it?

Ur ring &amp; attire for ROM settled right? Hw about hair &amp; makeup and bouquet? Oh not to forget accessories.

I shld hv 1 montage and 1 AD video highlight. Showing the montage b4 1st march-in. Video highlight b4 2nd march in.

Me think the video shld set the mood for ur march-in music. If its a noisy/fun video followed by a slow march-in song, a bit hard to create the romantic atmosphere when guests still rembr ur FH gena sabo and doing star jumps etc

If ur video is more suitable for 2nd march-in and u worry nothing to show b4 1st march-in, I think its fine w/o showing any clips. The guests shld b hungry anyway
Just prepare a nice emcee speech b4 ur march-in. Maybe w the "prelude" (dunno the word) of ur march-in song playing softly in the background, to set the mood.

0212bride

Hi o_O

Forgot to add..yup add'l roses deco not cheap! i bot 30 extra stalks for my poolside ROM. Sounds like many petals but they were just nice to deco the short "aisle" only.

Don't dare to think of the price for ballroom deco... and frankly other than the couple and helpers, i doubt the guests notice it unless we fill the whole ballroom. Want it to b noticeable then of cos must buy A LOT and its all $$$$...

jenopc

Hi June

my weekday package's $690 NETT, which i signed in 2006.

Hi Latte
Yap, bought my wedding bands from Lee Hwa alrdy. But they need to custom make my size, so gota wait till end april to get it. Hair, MU and Bouquet all settled by Santiago BS. I'm getting the MUA to go my house, instead of me traveling to the BS. Tink juz need to pay transport $ to the MUA. Accessories... hmmm... will they provide for ROM? But then again, my dress alrdy alot of detail so mayb wun wear any acc...

o den i guess you're right abt the video... i do agree the 1st march in s/b more subtle, grand or romantic... den the 2nd march in to be more 'happening'.. haa..

o i got a great french song to suggest! check out "La Vie En Rose" by Edith Piaf. perhaps go You Tube or someting, nice all time fav french song we cud use for montage music...

cho

i'm intending to book with Amara hotel for buffet lunch package (1499+++ for 30 pax)- function room

all poolside and other rooms fully booked.

coordinator is Rayston and wedding planner is Michelle Poh.

Any advise or comments? worried abt hiccups and food nt being nice..