Amara Singapore

hi cocoberry,

i will get that check out for you..

hi clouds,

good memory. yes i will be! woohoo! i shall eat lesser lunch so that i can eat more tonight! hahahah! and i will feedback my comments RIGHT HERE! hahahahh!

btw, the food portion is for 10 or 6 ah?

hi cocoberry,
previously i went for food-tasting, managed to see a new wedding favour. it's a pen which looks like a rose (got red rose or white rose) --> GCW also using that for a wedding favour. michelle said they're still sourcing for another favour to add to the chocs and fruit cake and pen.

hi minssy,
enjoy your food tasting!
portions are like for more than 6 definitely. we were quite full by the 4th dish liao.

hi mikmik,

just kidding. tabao also no one to eat. hee...

ok i cant wait to eat the food, esp the coffee spare ribs that i requested. hee..

woohoo! i am back from the foodtasting! report time! hee

before i proceed on the dishes, i must say that i was impressed! the food tasting for 6 was in a function room. the waiter was with us the whole time, serving us the food & refilling our drinks. michelle dropped by.. the chef was with us most of the time so we ended up talking alot on the food! really professional & made me feel like queen! i like that waiter, alex.. cool boy.. hahhahah

ok here are the dishes!

1) auspicious cold dish combination
usual stuff... jelly fish, duck, prawn & popiah. not bad lah....

301628.jpg

2) braised shark's fin with shredded chicken & fish maw
- i had 2 bowls of that man!
- quite alot of fishmaw.. little sharks fin cos once its mixed inside, i cant really taste it :p
- tastes nice even without putting pepper & vinegar

301629.jpg

3) sauteed prawn with xo sauce.
- cheh! i thought its really XO! hahaha! its a tiny winy bit spicy due to the type of sauce used. but nice nice.. (dad said prawns not 100% fresh but its understandable cos its sauteed)

301630.jpg

4) steamed seabass in hong kong style
- ok lor...normal normal... typical fish in typical soya sauce... nothing fantastic but the fish is quite fat so its good lah

301631.jpg

5) baked coffee pork ribs
- wah lau! si bei song man!! i asked for boneless pork ribs and once the dish was served, we can smell the light coffee fragrance! the meat is sooo tender & juicy & succullent!! world best! the coffee taste is mild but the whole mixture is just so nice!
- must note that this is to replace the CMI yam thingy. i requsted for this coffee pork ribs cos i am a sucker for pork!

301632.jpg

6) deep fried crispy chicken
- ok same as the fish.. i think its nothing fantastic cos its similar to outside lah.. its tasty enough.... the skin is really crispy and i secretly ate a slice of it! hope FH dunnoe cos i fat so i shd not eat the skin. but its too tempting! hahah!

301633.jpg

hi clouds,

yah all parties are pleased. they are not too saltish so its cool.. of cos i just hope that nothing will screw up on the AD else i sure hot one! hahahhah

now i see the food and i am drooling...

hi minssy,
waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! i look at your dishes and i'm drooling already!!
they decorated so nicely!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*wails* mine never decorated so nicely one................my prawns dish looks messy lor and no garnishes. *pouts*

Hi Minssy,

the food looks good leh.... how come oni 6 dishes? the rest dun get to test huh? the food really makes me drool leh... but mine like dun hv the coffee ribs leh...

hi mikmik,

really ah? i dunnoe abt the deco part leh.. maybe its cooked by a different chef? mine was done by chef roger. maybe deco done by him too?

hi cocoberry,

yah food looks good and taste cool too. of cos no coffee ribs cos i specifically changed in one mah.. (i wrote in my review too. hee). btw, they have not changed their wedding favours yet so its the same old stuff.

hi cocoberry,

yes i am still sourcing. have already identified something. i think they are still giving chocolate. my AD in on 14 nov.

hi cocoberry,
yep, is a choice one of the favours. either chocs or favour. my AD is 18sept.

hi minssy,
yah! alot of difference. for mine, the chef also never appear. maybe becos got two parties doing food tasting?? i guess so. i dun even know who the chef is for our food tasting session. hahaha.

hi mikmik,

dunnoe leh. maybe that chef was too free and has nothing to do? hee.. but his presence really made things nicer.

btw, i love your chris ling photos in your multiply!

hi minssy,

hahaha. i dun think so. it is good to have the chef come and speak with all. at least he hears direct feedback.
Thank you!! :-)

PS. got my hubby to see your pics. we're gonna swop the CMI yam dish to coffee pork ribs!! =)

hi minssy,
for your positive comments on the photos. =)
you're going to get your samples soon? do upload, kae? =)

hi mikmik,

oh u added new photos! lovely!!! i am sure its worth it. so how much did you top up extra?

so u gonna confirm details like flowers & deco with amara soon already yah?

hi clouds,
sure!

hi minssy,
i added a few scanned in ones some time back. thanks! :-) yep yep, going to confirm next week. will update more when i get back.

Hi Minssy,
your package is $600+ or $700+? My package is $600 plus but don't have sauteed prawns lei, mine is stir-fried prawn with celery. Which taste better?

hi jo,

mine is $629. oh actually the original is stir fried prawn with celery but one of the regular here changed hers to xo sauce and i followed suit
. i dunnoe if the celery ones taste better or not but i guess it is not spicy?

Hi mikmik

so ur weddin is abt a mth away... guess most things are settled? who is ur photographer?

minssy,
how abt u? how's prep? and which photographer u usinG?

i m still searchin for my photographer

hi cocoberry,

so far ok. now looking for good & cheap printers for my cards:p

i am using simon lee. www.fotothemes. 9431 2228. very nice, sincere & helpful guy. give him a call lah.. not very ex one

btw, that day when i went for my food tasting, michelle gave me 2 brochures for their mooncakes... if anyone is keen, can just call michelle yah..... i shd be getting 1 box for FMIL.. hee...

hi cocoberry,
still preparing...will be mtg up with michelle soon to discuss decor and stuff...will update when i'm back.
my photographer is hilarion goh.
any PG you have in mind yet?

Hi minssy,
did u get to taste the dessert?
Do u know whether the sweeten red bean with lotus seed can be exchange with other cold dessert?

I am considering AMARa Wedding package.
Can someone share with me the decor preparationg. How long in advance should we discuss with the coordinator before our AD?

How should i go about taking note what to ask and how to tell them my preference.

I saw the food pics and feel that the presentation is good.

Hi Joan,

I am considering the $600 plus package too.

Can you share with me the extra perks you got.

Mine seems limited. Not sounding greedy but just want to get the same kind of perks. At least don feel short changed. Understand from my gfs that if you dont ask, you will not get.

Hope to hear from you soon!

hi jo,

in the package, we can only try 6 dishes so of cos we chose the first 6. dessert can be changed to cold ones such as mango pudding or honeydew sago. dun worry abt this first till your food tasting time

hi cola,

there are 3 themes to choose from. most will choose the grandeur theme cos its very nice & modern. details like flowers, backdrop will be chosen only 1 mth before the AD. so it will be too early for you to worry.

as for perks, they may change overtime but what i can tell you is that amara aint the most generous when it comes to perks so it boils down to what u r looking at.

Hi cola,
i agree with minssy. Amara is very inflexible in giving perks. It depends on wat u want. When is your AD? If its on 2006, perhaps u can wait for the Amara bridal show and see what they can offer.

Hi minssy,
do u know how much Amara is charging for additional ppl to go for the food tasting? My niece also want to go...she is only 11yrs old.

hi jo,

i heard its 50+++. bo hua one lah. if its just your niece, then cham siong michelle to just set an extra place but no need to cook extra...

hi cola,
for decor, your coordinator will meet up with you one month before your AD. they'll probably show you pics and you can choose from there?

Hi MikMik,minssy, Jo.

you gals are great. I am so worried for my Wedding Banquet. I found this thread and happy to find the contributions about all over here.

Hope you gals wont mind my future questions and of course some sharing sessions.

Any place to reckon for bridal boutique.
My actual day is next year Jan 06.

hi cola,

there are alot alot of good info in the amara thread. with regulars like us, feel free to drop by more often.

BS? i am with Yvonne creative at tg pagar. good service, nice gowns, no hidden costs, convenient to amara :p.

hi cola,

=) minssy's right. just feel free to drop in for more info on amara. we're all amara BTBs here and we do share quite alot of info here.

BS? i'm with bridal veil. nice gowns. no hidden costs. choice of photographers to choose for PS. =)

Hi Cola,
i'm with Santiago. Not satisfied with their service. They got double standard service. Gowns still ok. There is a discussion abt santiago over here too. U can read it if u r free.
Personally, i think gowns from yvonne creative are quite nice.
Actually, u can look out for any bridal show whereby BS will paticipate in the bridal show.

Hi cola,
just found out that there is a bridal show:
THE MILLENNIUM & COPTHORNE BRIDAL SHOW – ETERNALLY YOURS; A WEDDING PROMISE

Date: 28 August 2005, Sunday
Time: 1.00 – 4.00 pm
Venue: Level 4, Waterfront Conference Centre (adjacent to Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel)
Admission: $28.00 nett per couple
$23.00 nett per couple for UOB cardholders & a la carte members
For more information, visit www.millenniumhotels.com/weddings