Amara Singapore

hahaha... minssy... you are right... i like their deco very much... so i am keeping my fingers cross for their service and food... hope the actual day all will fall in place and will be good...

hi, everyone..

Me so unlucky..

The date we want for actual day all booked. amara previously said will block it for me until I see michelle has given that date to another couple.. In the end i turn down the othr hotel cos amara blocked it for me..

anyone took the "L" shape march in?

Do you know whether 35tables, they allow to open another function room to make it 'L" ?

hi minssy,
heehee, yep, i checked the prices cos i thot might have increase of number of ppl during food tasting. dun understand their concept lah. 6ppl i can understand like = the couple plus both sides parents = 6
but hor, the limited to 6 dishes is very

the only grumble i have with the perks are the wine waiver.

hi clouds,
got to know from chatterbox that amara uses june florist. no wonder the flowers deco will look nice.
some hotels i know of use fake flowers for deco then hor the flowers look as though they haven't been washed for years -- coated with a layer of dust. *shudders*

hi faintz,
oh dear. that's so unfortunate.
i'd a friend who took the L shape march-in -- she had 40 tables or so.
quite ok lah.

hi mikmik,

yah they very duh one lah. anyway, michelle said that food tasting can only be done on a weekday. but its fine with me.. so i shall email her on the dishes and then tell her i wanna change the signature CMI yam ring thingy to something else! hhmmp! :p

hi mikmik... ya... at least amara uses real flowers... i have seen some ballroom.. the flowers are damn old.. and dirty.. eeeeee

hi minssy,
hahaha. agrees. oops! i forgot to mention ah? i did mine on a friday. kekeke. also weekday mah. have fun during your food tasting! do share updates, kae? ;-)

hi clouds,
yah! totally agree. :-) when's your AD, btw?

hi clouds,

forget to reply u earlier :p

yah the decor wins our hearts. hehe.. just hope that our AD will be smooth. hope the very good banquet manager, jeffrey, will still be there then we will be in really good hands

hi minssy,
no prob! here can.

multiply can put pics. kekeke.

hi clouds,
enjoy your food tasting!
btw, which dishes are you tasting?

i just went to amara this morning and met up with Jeffrey. He was very inflexible and unapproachable. Anyone heard of him? We tot of having our dinner there but had a unplesant experience with him.
Btw, who is michelle?
Would like to hear your feedback on amara.

hi jacqueline,

michelle is the wedding planner there lor..quite a few of us are under her. there is a new lady called patricia but i dunnoe how is she.

hope this jeffrey is not the banquet jeffery... anyway, if you are expecting alot of freebies, dun consider amara cos they sucks in this area. so far, the only hotel that gives really good perks is le meridien

Hi, Jacqueline

I agreed with minssy totally.. my buddy friend met them and she said their perks sucks! I am supposed to meet but ended up cancelled due to unexpected stuff..They are very niao in giving stuff even with more tables.. but i guess their ballroom is nice to offset the "less than normal perks". Their flowers and deco are also quite nice..

I am considering amara and the other hotel. Michelle is the wedding planner and heard that she and the other guy are managing the sales so it is either her or him.. I din know about patricia but most the people here in the forum is managed by michelle, i guess..

Jeffrey is a nice person but if you are holding your wedding next year, chances are you wun be handled by him..

well, it really depends on what you are looking for... i am fine with the sucky perks cos i dun really need them. soo, it depends on your priority lah

oops, i've got the wrong name... It's Alfred and not Jeffrey....

so sorry gals...

after some consideration, guess we will not be taking them.. with all the "hidden" costs eg projector, corkage etc.. the per table cost will shoot above $800/table. In this case, we will take merchant court instead.

hi jacqueline,

ok no wonder. anyway, merchant court's min is 35. u can meet?

btw, amara dun have hidden costs.. that i must defend for them.

Jacquelin,

Alfred?? aiyo... he is a new guy lar.. tot y u say jeffrey not good.. he got very good feedback.. merchant court price list is not yet, i suppose..think need to top extra 30 bucks per table..

Minssy is right.. it depends on what you want..

hi minssy,
i thought they are charging per projector at $280+++ and corkage for wine only waived for 24 tables? The additional costs from renting projector and corkage can eaily come up to $1000

hi joyzzz,

yah true. so i guess it depends on your priority lor.. (i think the projector is at $280 nett and corkage is $20 nett).

hi jacqueline,

btw, merchant court aint that cheap either

hi, jacqueline

I did not take up amara in the end. many unpleasant things happened when we talked to the wedding planner. i shall say no more.. :{

All the best to amara brides..

the only thing i can defend amara is the corkage is actually not that high compared with other hotels i've enquired. they included +++ in their corkage and can amount to nearly 40 bucks per bottle! *fainted* as for projector, some hotels don't charge, some hotels charge. do it all depends.
not true that amara is not flexible with perks. i've gotten all the perks that i'd asked for except for more wine corkage waiver above 24 bottles.

hi all.. tasted the food liao... the food are ok lah.. except for their seafood.. they may need to pay more attention on it.. cos its frozen.. so it makes it not so tasty...

hi mikmik.. yap.. parents requested for a change.. from spinach mushroom to spinach abalone.. but need to at $30 per table.. very ex.. now still considering..

hi clouds,
oic. maybe can try asking michelle whether you can swop dishes so as to reduce the top-up? is it a nett or require +++? the +++ really can faint.

hi clouds,

$30 is damn ex man! if its +++ then its $34.96 per table. i dunnoe how many tables you will be having but 30 tables will mean extra $900! faint.

ya.. i faint too.. i shall see how.. $30 is too ex.. and i can't remember whether there is any +++.. i will check with michelle again..

hi clouds,

oh! so u dun have to pay extra ah? how much is your package yet btw?

btw, i going for my food tasting next monday! woohoo!

hi clouds,
oh dear! must point out to her this mistake! so no need to top up then? good good!

hi minssy,
enjoy your food tasting! feedback after your tasting, kae?
which dish you will be tasting in replacement of the totally CMI yam basket?

hi mikmik,

hee... if i put here, everyone know it will be me! hahahah! i asked for the coffee spare ribs (without bones). ya know, the chinese restaurants like the one i tasted has this dish without bones so i want the same stuff. she said ok. i think pork is cheaper than sea food though. dunnoe if any of my guests will think of it as LC cos normally wedding dinners do not have pork dishes. but i think the cost to them shd be lesser cos poultry cost lesser than seafood. ok i am so excited and yes, i will post it here after my food tasting! woohoo!

hi minssy,
no worries, put in multiply then. heehee. that's nice can accommodate your request. oh! the "seafood" in the yam basket ain't anything special. no prawns or fish.
enjoy enjoy!! =)

hi clouds,

oohh, this is the most high end package one rite?

hi mik,

yeah i will... huh! no prawns or fish ah? then what crap do they put inside? hahah

hi mikmik,

oh.. so pork is cheaper than sotong? ah watever! hahahaaha! i just hope the dishes taste nice. btw, will michelle be there during the food tasting?

hi minssy,
maybe same price or more ex since now all pork in SG is under the "air-pork" brand? yes, michelle will be there during food tasting. just give her a call once you reach the lobby or unless your venue is confirmed.

hehehe. will need more warm-ups to be initiated by you and hubby. put in abit of energy to get the ball rolling.

oh yeah i will

i just cant wait to try the food... btw, michelle did not ask me the number of cards i need leh. or will she prepare only when i am there?

hi minssy.. no lah... they have $800+ package.. and fyi yam basket have prawn lah.. and it tastes ok leh.. oh.. and i have not taken my wedding cards yet too.. its still early mah..

hi minssy,

no worries, she'll ask you when you're there. she'll bring all 3 types of cards to show you then ask you the quantity you need.

hi clouds,
the yam basket have prawns??? OMG!! cheated my feelings!!
how come got so DIFFERENT versions of the yam basket dish?

Hi all, mikmik n minssy,

it's been some time since i come into this forum. how have u all been? i hv been rather busy lately to log in. anyone has any idea if there is any change in their weddin favours? i jus went to a fren's weddin n they gave brownies.. kind of borin leh. is amara still givin chocolateS?