Amara Singapore

i juz finished watching my 1hr45mins unedited AD DVD....am so happy abt the whole thingy...be it the DVD quality (esp mine is a outdoor nite event where external flash cannot b used), the deco, the whole event....GREAT...so happy!!!

Gers, promised to show u gers how we did the drapings using the organza fabric 12m long ;) Paisey, pic after resize to less than 50KB is so small :P

243670.jpg

cocoberry, is not those very hi-profile wedding videography company. But for a no-frill type, I wld think my $168 to cover a 4hrs event is well-spent.

hi yami, i posted at another thread so juz paste here lah...kekeke...

i juz finished watching my 1hr45mins unedited AD DVD....am so happy abt the whole recording. As its a no-frill thingy, my criteria are very simple. 1) Capture impt moments 2) Stable hands coz I asked my frd to videographed my ROM and the whole recording was shaky 3) No frill, no hidden cost, no need editing n montage 4) Cheap n reliable 5) Good enuff equipement & skill as mine is an outdoor nite event where external flash cannot b used coz if we flash strong lighting at guests will make them uneasy and make the whole wedding not so cozy...like filming...eeee...

For $168 to capture a 4hrs event with 2 mini-tapes, 1 DVD unedited - I find my $$$ well-spent. Actually b4 I engaged them I never even seen their work b4/ visit their website...hahaha.. coz it was a very last minute thingy tat we decided to outsource videography. My frd gave me the contact (she never tried them b4 too..kekeke) n I called them on the eve of my AD :P

They oso rent out equipements if u keen to get own frds to help recording it. A normal video cam rental is only $16 per day....cheap rite?!!! And they oso have projector n screen rental which i find tat the rate is cheaper than hotel's offer.

If u gers keen on no frill, non-fanciful videography can check this out loh. Oh they actually do editing too but I din opt for tat so dunno how is the skill for tat. Call look for Danny @ 97908177. Can say Christine intro one.
http://www.scivale.com/index.html

HiHi,

D.O.G - u v cute leh, asking us to arbish u if u mention it again hahah. *imagine the actions* hehe :P. okok i wil go and work on my pix. Hey I waited qutie a while for my pix & videos too, its like tat, got to wait till the neck touch the floor.

tare: the new member still filling in the forms for application. hehehehe..:P hey any pix to share share liao?

Renee: Heard furama has a car park problem, u may want to take note of it. Cos public tends to park at their car park when they cannot find any outside. So leads to not enuff car parks for guest... even with the complimentary pass. Furama was one of my choices then too, I LOVE their suite and the view fr it, it got the WOW factor.

BTW: Amara's suite is good too, i find it functionable. cos the living rm & bedrm have its own door and it useful when my hubby's brother came knocking and I was still in my PJ, I just close the connecting door. My Jie Meis can come in fr the other door. * Haha , y am I alwasy singing Amara's prasieses * :P

Hi Joelle,

Thanks for highlighting to me. Will check with hotel on the car park issue.
Furama suite is not bad... I was surprised that they hv the jacuzzi bathtub, can 'yuan(1) yang(1) xi(4) shui(3)' with my hubby... hehe. Their living rm area is bit small lor.

During the Amara bridal show, we managed to view the suite... quite like the idea of seperate doors, more privacy. The suite I saw was facing the construction site so the outside view is not very nice. On the whole the suite is nice.

Hi Renee, if i remember correctly Furama has a microwave in the rm for the couples but frankly hor all the features actually we dun really use tat much except for the basic ones. Cos we are so tired after the long day, all u know is bath, count $ & sleep hehehe... tats me & hubby lah.

Hey I think tat suite u view was wat i got. the view is not spectacular but well no time to admire it :P. the bed is huge though...

kekeke.. Renee, 'yuan yang xi shui', COOL !

I think i prefer t Amara suite tat faces t HDB flats, as t one facing construction site may b noisy in t morning.
Amara suite has 2 toilets... good if got lots of guests/jie meis/bros...

Hi Joelle,
Maybe I can use the microwave to heat my dinner when I back to my room... will be hungry by then.

Hi Lilian,
Not sure when the construction will be over... anyway u might not hv the time to admire the view as mentioned by Joelle...coz u will be very tired and busy counting money.

hi jo,

you posted in both carlton & amara forum ah? :p

i am a amara btb and can only tell you that i like amara bcos:
1) they have a glass lift
2) service of counter staff is not bad
3) ballroom reception is big
4) ballroom has those small LED lights at the ceiling so it makes the place very nice! (but maybe not as cool as intelligent lights but equally cool).
5) it has a modern look unlike those typical ballrooms with chandeliers

As for carlton, you can read the threads and i suggest you go with your own feeling and compare after you visit both hotels

Hi coyote

the web site u gave dun hv the previews one leh ... dun hv the charges too... really dunno if i shd engage one cos i hv a professional photographer... wat u gals think huh?

hi cocberry, that company scivale started off as a equipment rental company. Upon request they starting to provide cam man to take events ;) Like I mentioned b4, I juz need someone wif stable hand & pro cam to record my whole evening, no-frill at all with the cheapest rate tat I can find and they are the one. No preview, i oso din go n meet up them for any prior sample showing...kekeke. Coz I decided only on my AD eve. I juz call, check price n cfm :P

U mean got photographer liao, is there a need for videographer? Actually depends on u ;) I was oso pondering this question tat time too. And I actually tot use my digicam to record 3mins of march-in can liao lah. On AD eve I realised my digicam is not pro type, I can't record outdoor evening scene where there's a lack of lightings.

After viewing the AD video, I realised there are so many things happening on my AD tat I wasn't aware of....hahaha..and I m glad I had they recorded on :P There are oso some fun part whereby hubby n me playing detectives while watching the video. Coz we had a surprise pack of rose petals n some no-name angbao...so while watching the video we were spotting where the petal n angbao caome frm...very fun...hahaha..

Oops...think i tok too much :P

Hi Joelle & Tare, I am back in action.. Sorry been very busy lately..

The comment for my wedding is that the food is good somehow some of guest complain that they dun change plate too often and the service is slow.. On the whole the guest are impress with amara..
My wedding also hv some small hip hups but is ok lor.. We hv request for finger food before the dinner and they hv agree but the food was not served to us even til the dinner started.. Portrait stand and tables for wedding photos was not setup by them even til the reception start.. Hope that can improve from there.. Amara Bridal suite is not bad lor..

The banquet manager Jason although look for young but he was able to handle the situation well...
I personally find that michelle is better than Li Ping and can see that she is very busy as very hard to contact her..

Tare: my advise is to ask ur helpers to check and ensure that everything u requested are ready before the reception start if not will be in a mess.. For those who are having a montage the feedback i gather is that the screen is too small and is difficult for the ppl at the back to see clearly.

Hi shell, I give credit to Jason too ;) He helped us to cope with the messy situation in time. Do u know his full name? Jason XXX?

Hi Shell, Welcome back!!
i nv heard abt the dun change plates part.. i only heard the food in big portion part and guests complained, eat and eat, still have leftover.My pre-dinner sandwich came only when i am about to go down for the cocktail too, at abt 7.45pm, so asked them to serve after dinner. Ladies, remmeber to bring food to hotel just in case they serve ur snacks late too. I brought pandan cake so not tat bad. My hubby was too excited to eat so me & jie mei finished up the whole cake :P

My portrait stands are on time, maybe i got my chief jie mei to join in the meeting with the banquet manager.
Oh ya, Jason looks young but v stable pong pi pi. Wonder is he chinese or malay....

O ya, 1 point to add credit to Amara. One of my tables "suddenly" requested to have vegetarain food. Made us all panic, where to find so much vegetarian food for a table of 10! But Michelle & Jason save the day, she rushed in and out of the kitchen to sort things out for us and Jason was V V professional, he reassure things are going to be ok and kept us updated at all time of the status. We were v impressed then and super grateful. They rushed all the dishes out on time (we gave them only abt 30 mins allowance).

Erm, I find the screen ok leh. Cos I peek from behind door before 2nd march in. I can still see it quite clearly.

Tare: I agree with shell, get ur jie mei to join in the meeting with the banquet manager, it helps a lot.

Hi Coyote, I dunno his full name.

Hi Joelle & Tare, overall I am pleased with michelle and Jason performance.. They are great... All our guest like the food very much... Some even said they will recommend ppl to Amara

After reading Joelle comments... now more " an xin"

Thanks for the comments and setting all the amara brides minds at more ease...
... hope the Jason dun go off too soon...

sorrie socksham, think I shldn't post the negative comments here...making u gers worry so much..... feel really bad now

but like shell mentioned, Jason is good.

hey d.o.g.

please do not feel bad. i am a amara bride rite? so all the negative stuff you posted will serve as a reminder for all brides to double check and learn from there.. so you are actually doing a good favour to all brides here!

helo,

D.O.G. : dun feel bad, forum should be a place where ideas & feedback are exchange. Ur comments will help all future amara or non-amara brides to act as a guide or reminder. That should be the spirit of forum.... *imagine Forum flag flying high and with pride in the wind* hahahah.. :P

I am sure amara will further improve from there after getting feedback for those brides who has gone through.. So dun worry things will be fine..

long time no chat chat liao. Being busy recently, so many posts, lost tracks liao.

I had collected my invitation cards. At first sight, the card look ugly. On a second look, I found that it is still quite acceptable lor.

hi coyote,
I'm sad to hear that you had unhappy event at amara. Never mind, you had wonderful family, guests, and friends too who help you with the decoration. I like the drapings, the pavillion look so cosy!!!!

Hi D.O.G

Dun feel bad, its good that you share your experience so that we know wat to look out for...that wat's the forum is for...

Amara will improve ...

New Year is comin soon.... festive mood now... haha....dun wanna work tomorrow...

Wishing all ex and soon-to -be Amara Brides Happy New Year !!

cocoberry, i outsource a no-frill videography service to capture my 4hrs event ;) And glad i did...it meant alot to us, the whole recap of the event i mean

Oh i tot of selling away the ivory organza fabric (12m long) tat I used to deco the pavillion as drape. Pls see above pic. I bot at $40. Anyone keen contact me and we can talk abt it ;)

Hi Amara Brides,
just want to check, did Amara indicate the price after the 9% dscount(discount offered during the bridal show) in the Contract (which is the carbon copy) or the original price before the discount.

For my set, the discounted price was not indicated in the Contract and the final cost that i need to pay was also based on the original. The 9% discount was only mentioned in the terms & conditions.

Shouldn't the discounted price be indicated in the Contract (carbon copy) and as well as the final price that we need to pay?

Helo ladies,

Jas; Which card u took? Red or white? I had both and initally by Mum dun like the red ones, in the end they found that when use gold pen on it, it look so gd - "auspic, they ended up using all the red cards. Haha so i guess amara cards takes some time for the effect to surface...

joelle,

I took both red and ivory.

You print insert or use hotstamping? Just wondering what colour of the insert suit the red cards.

You use gold pen. Marker? The paper type for the red envoples are those shiny shiny, smooth smooth type want. My hubby and I wondering what type of pen to use.

Hi Jo,

Mine was the original price too but we had called up Michelle & she mention that the Terms & conditions have indicated & it is ok

Hi Ching,
i find it a bit risky lei, cos the final price that we need to pay did not indicate the 9%discount and furthermore, that carbon copy which is the actual contract did not mention anything abt the final price will be subjected to the 9% discount. To play safe, think should get Amara to indicate somewhere in that carbon copy.

Hi Jo,

mine also didnt indicate the 9% discount. But i e-mailed Michelle about it and she say the terms and condition have stated , the 9% discount will be extended to us when we pay the final bill. I kept a copy of the e-mail she sent to me as a proof ... just to play safe.

Jas, I printed on inserts, cream color, suits both. Yeah those gold markers (shakes with a metal ball inside type). Hey 1 tip, fine and medium nip is better then a super fine one when writing outside. GOld or silver is ok for their envelopes. Gold made it brigher.

Mine also didnt indicate the 9% discount. but it is shown in the package where it indicates the menu mah... so i thought it shd be okie?

coyote,
do u mind givin me the contact of the videography service,... my email is [email protected].. i wud like to try my luck too... my big day is jus abt 2 wks away.

Cocoberry, u can call Danny @ 97908177 ;) 2wks is so much better than me...hahaha. I enquired 2 days b4 AD n cfm on eve of AD :P

Congrats in advance! Wishing you a blissful marriage...

coyote

okie thank u. but jus checked with my FH last nite, he said no need videography cos too drama liao. we have engaged a photographer. so he said jus use his cousin for videography

hi cocoberry,

try to psycho your FH lah.. tell him u dowan to experience a stage that you REGRET not having an AD videographer after your AD is over. he will regret and no matter what he do, he cant make it up to you cos its already over. anyway, if its done by amateur, the quality will not be as good one leh... ya know.. shakey hands etc... i'm not trying to scare you but i am those that will definitely go for a videographer one..

hi joelle,

thanks, for your tips. yest, had visit 1 printer. Insert use cream colour for both red and ivory.

hi coyote,
I had called Danny. He is a very nice and professional guy. Thanks for intro to me.