Amara Singapore

Hi Renee,

Can i have a look out ur pictures? my email is [email protected] ROM is abt 1 mth from now... gettin excited
thank u

Renee, sorry was v v busy wif my preparation last few days n I din reply to u... Tks for sharing the pics.....can see u enjoyed urself n happy tat day ;) My pics of ytd not so soon loh...think my AD photographer will take abt 5days to complete the digi-fotos. Share wif u later k ;)

Heng heng ytd gd weather....today rain leh...and affected a soleminsation session frm 1-3pm this noon....hopefully their soleminsation was smooth coz when I peeped at their wedding they are already sitting at the shelthered area (3tables) for buffet liao.

Hehe...me back ;)

Carolyn, u need to check wif Carol....i think jam favour is still not so common in SIN. Honey favours i think more easily ava.

My report abt my wedding ytd....
Beautiful weather..tks god as mine is fully outdoor
Wonderful helpers
Wonderful guest
Loving hubby
Enchanted wedding
BUT
COCKUP AMARA!!!!

Hi coyote,
Take ur time for the pics n hurry, just drop me the link when is done.
Lucky that yesterday was gd weather. U must hv enjoyed alot based on ur discriptions above except the last sentence.
Wat BAD impression did Amara give u? Care to share?

I will not hv any more biz with Amara after my ROM coz not gonna hold my dinner there.

I juz stated at the ROM-Amara thread...hehehe..juz copy n paste here :P Long long ah....dun yawn..hahaha...

Basically Michelle screwed up lotsa stuffs...

On the eve, she called me to say they not enuff dry-ice for me as march-in...blah blah..borrow frm banquet manager oso not enuff so cannot provide as promised...blah blah. Gave so much excuses no use, the thing is she simply din order dry-ice for me as promised loh. Tis is sth I can give n take...so still ok

I asked for her mobile no. so tat I can contact her on AD as she won't b always at her desk picking up my call mah. She said dun need as she will be at my event so anything can talk to her there. Ya rite! All day/nite I only see her twice. Once is she showing her potential customers to my wedding setup during our deco time. Another time is she come over to congrats us b4 start of our dinner.

I will be having my tea ceremony inside the hotel room and as Tropical room has only 1 chair. I specially requested Michelle to put in another same chair for my session. Agreed but when I entered my room ytd I din see tat chair n after chasing her again n still din c tat chair. In the end boh pian, use another un-match chair as substitution. Hopefully the foto turned out not too bad.

Asked for ladder to do pavillion deco oso need to wait for more than 30mins....

She oso promised to provide petals and peanuts for my cocktail....and I din see any loh. I exchanged my VIP floral deco for these petals u know? And in the end i see nothing.

Promised me green napkin and gave me shocking BLUE.....

All these not too bad u know.

Worst thing is....she gave the Banquet Manager (who is supposed to be helping us the whole nite but Michelle never informed me prior abt this arrangement) THE WRONG TABLE SETUP which was different from the layout plan she provided to me earlier on. In the end, my VIPs were sitting at guest table and a table of friends with kids have to move 3 TIMES in order to get to the correct table. The banquet manager was quite nice thou to last minute help us wif all the mess....n apologized. But Michelle din come n apologise.

Hubby very pissed off tat his friends needed to shift so many times... Seriving very slow. My guest asked for drinking straws got to wait for 1 hour

Last thing...i asked for late check-out few times frm Michelle liao and she said will get back to me. In the end I hear nothing.....aarrggghhh.. I still got to go reception this morn to check on this matter...buay tahan.

My wedding cake still got left abit last nite and went mia liao... Coz was baked by my BIL and everyone says v nice...we tot left abit can try but after sending the guests off...The whole buffet line was cleared. Wonder did they throw away or kept to themselves? Shld at least check whether we want to tabao mah...is our wedding cake leh.

Oh my god! Tat really sounds terrible!
Tis kind of service is not acceptable.

Anyway, coyote, hope it din affect your big day too much....

Tarepanjo, their cust-service always gd ah? I din know.

Lilian, is a beautiful wedding still...dun worry. Lucikily I did lotsa preparation b4 hand, like preparing my own petals and deco. Got frds to help wif all their might. If not I will cry wif all the mess she given me.

Hi Coyote, are u referring to Michelle Poh cos i share the same feeling regarding her service.
She is very inflexible and always promised to call back for those extras that i have requested and nvr call.
At the end, we contact the director also Michelle but her surname is Wong. Michelle Wong is better and made decisions directly (maybe becos she is the director).
I think u should inform Michelle Wong directly regarding this bad service and see whether she can give u anything to compensate.
Let me know if u need her number. But have to call her many times cos she always not around or on the line and nvr return call. So have to be patient and keep calling her.

Hi Tarepanjo,
Had sent u the link to my ROM photos, pls chk.

Hi coyote,
Sorry to hear that u had an unpleasant experience with Amara. Think Michelle is boh chap, mess up things, only interested in closing the deal then disappear to nowhere... Thru my conversation with her... she will always say "No problem" to whatever I request... only know how to NATO.

U should demand an explanation from her or her boss... let them compensate u, for making those should-not-made kind of mistakes.

HI renee,
I got ur link... u look good. my wed still a mth to go.. most things are almost prepared... now my oni concern is my gown which is PURE WHITE and i m plump so dunno how i can carry it off... btw, renee, u hv a VIP tb isit? the rose color u chose is pink n white huh?

coy
dun be upset okie... thank God for the beautiful things and most importantly ur lovely hubby
i m sure ur pictures wud turn out fine n ur guest did enjoy themselves overall
Have a blessed and happy marriage

Thank You all!!!

Did my post sounded that terrible???? Hahahaha....ok lah...i expected hiccups and many were rectified at the instant with the help of hubby, friends & their banquet manager. I have much more happy things that nite to occupy me. So those hiccups didn't really bother me.... Just to share wif u gers mah.... I tot I am supposed to report my experience here?

Renee, wat is NATO?

hi d.o.g

if i haven sign with amara, i will not sign after reading your post.. this is indeed scary man. now i am kinda worried that she will freaking screw up my wedding. sheesh! have i made a wrong move????

btw, did you communicate with her on the layout and other logistics? did you also check out the venue before the dinner?

minssy, yes all info tat she needed to know were baby-fed to her prior n checked out the venue b4 too but still......

actually u can liaise wif another ger, Michelle Wong according to Jo, she is better.

Hi cocoberry,
I hv a so-called VIP with the Granduer theme. Supposed to be seated by both parents and some impt relatives...but dunno why ended up with all my side relatives sitting. Then my FIL sat elsewhere...hehe. Amara gave me few rose col to choose... so I chosen white with pink.

Hi coyote,
NATO = No Action Talk Only
Did Michelle call u up to apologise?

Hi Renee, how come wrong sitting? Hotel made the mistake or ur side relatives anyhow sit?

Nope, din recive any call frm her.

HiHi Ladies, me here is a dec-04 amara bride, now back again to yak

Hi Tare: Long time no "talk" !! how r u doing?
Was very busy lately with getting use to the new envirnoment(living with ILs now...) and clearing work...

Hi coyote,

Not hotel mistake.
My relatives just anyhow sit down... think they saw my parents sitting down so joined in. When I realised it was too late liao...everyone was eating happily...hehe.
So I told my hubby to explain to his mum if she asked... scare she unhappy mah but she din even know abt the VIP table... hehe.

Michelle emailed me this morn. This is the content:

Good mroning to you!

I had a long chat with Jason, the banquet Manager in charge of your wedding that day and realized that you had a few unhappy experience during your wedding. Have been wanting to email you but was too busy at work (you see, i'm the only planner here, so sad hor), at last i manage to send this email to you as i'm having my off today. Christine, I'm really very sorry about that day and i believe there were some miscommunication on my side and i sincerely apologize for that. I hope you would give me a chance to explain ya. =)

The table arrangement I believe was miscommunication on both of our side as when you indicate Table 3 & 5 as VIP table, I have also indicated in the floorplan to my banquet manager as VIP table and therefore no number stands was given as practice by us. However I still want to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and our guests.

I'm not too sure whether you realized it but my banquet operations didn't provide the complimentary peanuts as was indicated in the internal document that i send to them, i was going through the document with Jason and realize that it was not given. But I still like to apologize cos I should have checked through first. Sorry dear. =(

My dear, did you noe that i have prepared 4 pkts of rose petals for you, why you didn't use it, so wasted ah... =)

Anyway no matter what happen, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for what happen that day, I sincerely hope it didn't create a lot of inconvenience to you. I do hope we can still keep in touch and do give me a buzz when you are in the hotel ya, give me a chance to give you and your husband a treat ya.

Michelle

And my reply to her:

Dear Michelle,

I had a wonderful evening that night because I enjoyed the company of my great guests & enchanted evening my friends had decorated for us.

I have been waiting for you to call/email me. At least you did and I am glad about this point. But I think there are simply too many areas that you did not attend to us to make the evening better and easier for us. We were so busying entertaining our guests and still have to coop with the messy situations, making us drop-dead after the event. As your friend and also an event coordinator myself (in the past lah), allow me to highlight these areas to you and hope that probably you could pay more attention to them in future to avoid any unhappiness…as you know, wedding is most important day esp. to the brides ;)

1) Where was my additional chair in my hotel room? Despite all the reminders, I still didn’t get that chair.

2) Peanuts for cocktail, yup where are they? The 4 square cocktail tables looked so redundant without any deco and peanuts there. Serve no purpose at all.

3) Petals, great you prepared that for me and I didn’t use them very wasted. Very true but where are the petals? You didn’t hand/ inform us where were the petals and how would I know where to dig them out?

4) Table no number is 1st part of the story and after adding the table numbers according to the layout you gave to Jason was also wrong one. Jason had a different table layout as the one you emailed to me. All these made our guests shifted 3 times in order to get to their correct seats.

5) What about the napkins? My friends were so shocked to see BLUE napkins prepared for us…. But Jason was quick to rectify and changed them to brown napkins for us.

6) Cake-cutting table will auto change shape from round to square…..so magical….

7) What about the normal pool music that I requested to be played throughout the event after the march-in? They know what music was played? The country cowboy music from my CD after the march-in song.

8) My wedding cake….my dear brother-in-law baked it for us. Its ours, not given by Amara. We received so much praises on the wedding cake that nite and we really hope to have a bite but the remaining of the cake on the buffet line went mia after we sent off our guests. I don’t know why Amara is so special about clearing things away differently from other hotels. Normal practice will be staffs to pack the remaining cake and send to the newly-wed’s room.

9) There are more…..am too tired to recall every single bits………….

Michelle, on that day both my hubby and myself were so busy. We can’t be there to ensure all will be on the right track. And we believed that you will be there for us but sadly the truth is you are not. All these will not happen if you were there to check through the things. And I only spotted/heard that you were there twice. Once is to show your potential customers our setup and another time was to congrats us. I don’t really care how long you are there for us. Quantity means nothing to me, is the quality that I value. To me, a Wedding Planner is a very big and highly responsible title. A planner has to be there to ensure everything flows smoothly for the wedding.

Last but no least, I really enjoyed my wedding so whatever Amara’s incompetent areas I am not going pursue on that. But I am really glad you emailed.

Power? Very harsh ah? I vetted thru & changed into some nicer phrases liao leh.

No lah, I juz felt tat even if I dun lodge a complaint to the boss...at least I muz voice out the mistakes to her mah. Juz dunno how she take it lah, anyway none of my business liao. Very gd liao leh, coz one of my gerfrds who attended & helped my wedding knows the Amara boss's daughter. My gerfrd oso unhappy abt Amara's service...if wan to persue further......this thing will get snowball manz....

Hi coyote,

I tot yr letter sounded very nice n lenient to her already

Can't help to comment that Michelle's reply is abit childish, not pro at all!!!!
Wow kaoz.... She sounded abit arrogant saying that she using her own off day to write u this mail ** pengz** buay tahan!!!!!
And the part on the rose petal.... She sounded like its "all your fault" rather than hers.. Humph!!!!

all rite lah.. can tell you are not really suaning her but telling her the facts lor.. heard she is quite new anyway... she better dun screw up my wedding else she will get it man.

yah.. just early this year.. before this only heard feedback abt colder food or not so cold aircon. i like the modern ballroom and that its cheaper lor and thats why i signed. i find michelle ok so far but dunnoe that she is so inexperienced.. think i must be prepared to bang wall already man.

Hi coyote,

According to some feedback I got loh....Amara value their customer services...

ur reply to her is really good...i hope she will realise her mistakes and change for the better....but i feel tat Amara should hv more wedding planner....no wonder they chgn their wedding planner so many times...none can take it...oni one-man show...

Hi Renee,

Thanks for the photos...a happy smiling couple...

Hi Joelle,

Welcome back....I thou u oso MIA liao...sob...hv not heard frm shell for a long times too...

I am still relaxing & counting down...kekeke...goin for my 1st gown fitting end of Feb & PS in May...

How u find marriage life ? Goin to add a new members to your family soon ?...

Oh ya, Michelle oso ur wedding planner rite ? But coyote here experience very bad svcs frm her...

Hi coyote,
Ur mail so power leh...straight to the point on her mistake.
Gotto let my hubby read this... haha...

Michelle sound as if she is ur good fren, calling u "Dear". She always like to highlight that she is only one wedding planner there... hinting to me she is very very busy...
Anyway I hv no biz with Michelle anymore.

Hi minssy,
Just take note and make sure she deliver what she has promised lor... If she owes u anything just keep calling to remind her...

Hahaha...Renee, u sounded like asking ur hubby to read juicy news LOL...

At one point I pity her. A hotel should not only have ONE wedding coordinator (wedding planner is a title I hold very high regards to, dun wish to anyhow use it). As there are easily 3-4 events on every weekend on peak seasons. To address to each and individual needs really have to put in lotsa passion for this job. Moreover really short-handed.

Wat I can say now is if Amara really value customer service, sufficient manpower and training how to be a good wedding coordinator is wat they shld reinforced. And not me here informing all brides2B what to look out for....

hi renee,

sure.. will make sure we check as much as we can....

hi d.o.g, yah.. think she's the only one. when we met to sign the contract, she said that she have 3 appts from 7 - 9pm and she only have 1 off day or something. wah. if she is alone, then the boss is there to shake leg one ah?

Hi coyote,
He dun quite like her... and I also mentioned about ur encounter to him... so he following this juicy news... hope u dun mind.

I better take note of my hotel whom I signed with. But the thread recently abit quiet leh... hmmm...

Hi coyote,
Maybe she always got the $-sign on her face, as she need to hit sale target so 'boh bian', if we cannot give her any sale then out-we-go dun waste her time, pretend to be very friendly with us (bit fake), inflexible too.
I cannot give too much negative comments as minssy will start to worry liao.

I am now with Furama.

Tare: Pai say, was quite busy lately so not time to post msg. Must relax but good to plan early.
Marriage life ok lah, longer travelling distance to work now but so far so good. hehe no new member yet, new member still applying passport to come hahahah

Yap michelle was my planner. I find her quite ok leh, read abt D.O.G's incident. I have heard of their ROM being quite messed up. But their banquets are more then ok, i like their service. I guess Amara really squeese the planner dry. Really a one-man-show. They got to run everything by themselves. So in order to help them and help yourself, you got to constantly remind them abt things you want. Good to put it in black & white (email), tat way they will not forgot and has something to refer to if they get too busy. For dinner wise, the banquet manager will run the show instead of the planner. Planner do the preparation for the banquet manager. So I guess communication with him will be good.

D.O.G: For my dinner ya... everything well went. Guest were all impress by the services. Just 1 thing tat give myhubby a shock was that, the march in aisle was v narrow at first and he got to ask amara to shift it 2 times to make it comfortable for us to walk down. Other then tat I am satisfied with their service.

And talk abt pix, haha , been too busy & lazy lately, have not finish selecting the pix yet. :P

Joelle, i guess u r much luckier than me. All my instrustions to Michelle I have B/W in email as everything we talked over the phone I will email the summary to her coz I really scare they forgot but oso no use, still screwed up....anyway...its over..no point kept talking abt it...kekeke...

Thanks for the comments and the feedback, honestly i was really sad about it but i told myself that i can't blame anyone but myself and i have to learn from the feedback that i have receive and make sure that i dun make the same mistakes again...

i have been in this industry for 3 months only and there are really a lot of things for me to learn. Christine, i'm really very glad that you have provided me all these feedback to allow me to learn from my mistakes and not letting it happen again.. i believe the future Amara wedding couples would owe you a lot on these sia.. keekee

Christine, thanks for being a friend to me and provide me the feedback and not just keeping it to yourself and spread it all around. Really appreciate that. =) meanwhile you take care and enjoy your married life ya.. and remember to support Singapore govt and give birth to more babies ya. =) Last but not least, i still want to sincerely apologize for whatever that has happen.

Michelle

This shall be the last time I talked abt Amara's service provided to me ;) Kekekeke...arbish me if I raise up this incident again ya....kekeke..

Joelle, quick share ur pics wif us leh....

Hi Renee,

Heard tat Furama got nice bridal suite & jacuzzi in the suite as well....

Hi Joelle,

So u two must quickly process the "application" of the new member...hehehe

at least, after hearing abt ur banquet...i m not so worry...9 mths more to go...hopefully, by then...Michelle will b more experienced...sekali, she quit & someone new again...then i will hv heart attack...hehehe...

Furama got jacuzzi some more ar?
Alamak,,, Amara only got nice view - singapore style - of HDB flats n construction sites
kekeke....

Somehow, from Michelle's writing, feel tat she quite childish lor... Mayb she's new...

They do hv a long bathtub kind of jacuzzi... overall for the suite is ok.
Too bad I din get a chance to see M hotel, so many ppl praise the super nice suite. Haiz...

Hope they will provide me gd service n food on my AD lor...

michelle is 1980 one.. she dun have the professional approach and is more to friend-friend... which is what i like.. at least friend-friend- maybe cam cham xiong... hehe...

hi all....

wow... seems like lotsa writings after i dint read the thread for 3-4 days... cham liao lah... with all these, now i gettin worried leh... furthermore mine is ROM this yr and weddin banquet next yr at AMARA leh... tsk tsk i hv jus paid my deposit last sat leh ....

cocoberry, not to worry lah...i beleive she will b better after sometimes/ some event experience.

most imptly, u muz b happy tat day, having loving hubby and recieving great guests....all others r actually not as impt.

DUHZ.....i m still waiting for my foto n video...so slow...my neck growing longer liao lah....