Amara Singapore

Jas, its normal lah but urs consider cheaper than my frds liao...theirs is $2k & above for magazine style with unlimited fotos n all 3R+negatives returable
After CNY, so long.... :P

All my frds said I very heartless, only to choose 48 fotos out of 500+ *roll eyes*..hahaha..boh lui is like dat one loh :P

Hi demitris,
The perks given at t wedding show are:
- Weekday Package (min 25tbl) >> 9% discount per tbl
- Weekend Package (min 30tbl) >> 9% discount per tbl and free flow of beer for 4hrs
Book before 31st Dec...

Hi jas, so in the end, u got how many foto? Ur BS so gd, rtn u all the foto! I hope mine will do tat too. Yup, do let us see ur foto once ready k?

Hi socksham, how did u find t wdg show? Sorrie, din catch up wif u after t show, cos rushing off to SimonVideo to look at AD foto portfolio. T gowns by Irene C r veri nice... I like... Hav u decide on the hotel venue?

Oh ya, jas, saw Simon tat day. He showed us 2 AD foto albums. He said he got 10 AD photographers...

hi coyote,
I guess different people spend money differently. For me, we did not spend money on the magazine style, good AD photographer, videographer because we save money for our honeymoon. That why my AD is a Monday.

Some of my friend spend more money on invitation card, banquet, etc and they go Bali or KL for a short honeymoon. For us, we plan to get a good hotel for our 10 days honeymoon.

lilian,
About 60plus photos. I don't know how he going to squeeze that 60plus photos into 30pages. We let the guy do the jobs. I guess not all 60 photos in one albums.

Ya lor, my hubby and I look at each other wondering to get hotstamping and in the end, to make sales, he said I give you all the photos in the CD. So we go ahead for the hotstamiping. hahaha....

wow so many. Any idea who is the best for phtographers?

jas, i dunno abt ur BS but it happens to my gerfrds. They oso selected probably 60-80 n let BS help to squeeze into 30+ pages album. But when layout is done, they realised some of their fav fotos not in and some ok one were blow up big. So to prevent this, is better that u let ur BS knows which few u super liked them n those got to b in.

For my case, I selected 48 fotos to be inside 32pages. And we specifically sit n make sure BS write down which foto is for 15R, which are for collages. So the album came out actually what we want and those layout designs done by them pretty nice too. Our is classic album lah...so easier I guess ;)

hi coyote,

Good Morning. The guy keeps on telling us to let them do the layout. My hubby had already decided to make sure that our fav pictures are enlarged. If not, will "make a big fuss". hehehe...

Hi morning ladies, did any of u sign up during the Amara's bridal?
I have signed up and there are some things which i have requested and Michelle is ok with it. But should i ask her to indicate them in the contract?

Jas, dunno which photographer better wor... I've asked them if we can choose photographer, they said no... and mentioned that all their photographers' style is the same as what we see from their portfolio
They dun have the portfolios of all their photographers when we asked.
60+ fotos is quite alot liao... can make into a very nice album
How much in total u paying for your bridal package?

Hi Jo, it's better to write down all perks in the contract lor... Jus in case, the coordinator leaves the hotel b4 ur wdg. If it is minor minor request, then shouldn't need.

Hi Swangal: Surprise to see ur msgs here...kekeke...ya, din go to Oct thread...it getting tooooo long for me to catch up...how's everythgs ?

Hi Jas : wow, ur BS so gd...can return all the photo in cd...but remember to tell them to give you all with touch up leh...

must see ur photo when it ready...kekeke...i thk i cannot resist if photo r nice nice...might end up spending alot more...

hi coyote

Sorry about the late reply, just checked the forum only. have sent you the pix for ur reference
Ours was buffet food, from what our guests told me, the food was served warm. i think they enjoyed the food. we only managed to eat our lunch back in our suite. the banquet manager, can't remember his name but he's a really nice guy, brought the food up for us.

is Michelle the new wedding planner? mine was handled by Li Ping

so u used Amara for ur solemnization? Can i view ur pictures too... cos i signd up with them too... would like to have a preview of how it looks like. Thank u very much

Hi Jas,

I thk u can try to request for touch up for the photo...even if not all...at least, for those that you hv chosen in ur big album...otherwise, next times u develop urself...oso not nice....

Liping had left Amara last mth...Michelle take over her job....

hi coyote, thanks. hope u'll have a memorable wedding at Amara as well

hi cocoberry, nope, mine was a wedding, like coyote, didn't do any solemnisation. sure, give me your email and i'll share the pix with u

hi tarapangjo, oic, didn't know she had left, she was a lovely lady, had a good experience working with her, she had been very helpful for our wedding.

oh yvonne, u din do solemisation too. So i guess ur pavillion is for stage, wedding cake n champage?

I dun hav champage setup, cake see how...so the pavillion is stage only :P

Btw, how did u keep ur guests entertained thru out ur 5hrs event?

hi coyote

the pavillion was where we had the VIP table, the champagne and the cake. yup, it's also the 'stage' since we did the yum seng thingy there

oh yes, since it was a very hot day, our AD photographer, Ngiap Heng of the Pond, suggested that for our table-to-table pix taking, we take it at the pavillion cos no one was sitting at their table

ours was a really simple wedding, we stated 11.30am in the invites cos we had recce-ed the venue before and the sun came out full blast at 2pm. had reckoned that we would have finished our wedding by then but we were wrong. the sun was out by 12pm!

we did our first 'walk-in' at 12.15, cut the cake, started lunch. then had the champagne toasting ard 12.45pm followed by pix taking. whole thing ended by 1.30pm

since we wanted to keep our wedding free and easy and in a light mood, we selected upbeat rock songs for the background music that was played thru-out the wedding.

so, no special entertainment, just mainly a gathering of close friends & family memebers for our big day. i hope this helps with ur wedding planning

hi coyote

the pavillion was where we had the VIP table, the champagne and the cake. yup, it's also the 'stage' since we did the yum seng thingy there

oh yes, since it was a very hot day, our AD photographer, Ngiap Heng of the Pond, suggested that for our table-to-table pix taking, we take it at the pavillion cos no one was sitting at their table

ours was a really simple wedding, we stated 11.30am in the invites cos we had recce-ed the venue before and the sun came out full blast at 2pm. had reckoned that we would have finished our wedding by then but we were wrong. the sun was out by 12pm!

we did our first 'walk-in' at 12.15, cut the cake, started lunch. then had the champagne toasting ard 12.45pm followed by pix taking. whole thing ended by 1.30pm

since we wanted to keep our wedding free and easy and in a light mood, we selected upbeat rock songs for the background music that was played thru-out the wedding.

so, no special entertainment, just mainly a gathering of close friends & family memebers for our big day. i hope this helps with ur wedding planning

We have pretty in same concept. Tats why I only have 5-6 tables. One thing is when u put ur VIP table at the pavillion. won't it be very troublesome for them to reach the buffet line if it rains?

I planning to have jazzy cocktail session at 6pm, march-in at 7pm n dinner.

hi coyote

we had 14 tables altogether, so, all the tables were actually placed outside, u'll most likely notice it from my pix
only the buffet section was in the sheltered area. if it rains, the whole event will be changed to an indoors backup area at Amara, so, no worries about the guests at the VIP area reaching the buffet section

i'm not sure if it'll be advisable for u to place ur VIP table at the pavilion if u're planning for the rest of the tables to be placed at the sheltered area, they'll be very distant from the rest of ur guests.

hi every1,

I am also planning to book amara for the pavilion solemnisation cum buffet dinner. Happen to read that Yvonne has done hers. Do you mind also sharing your pics with me? My email is [email protected] I'm looking at 150 pax or even 160 pax, so not sure if the place ends up being too cramp. Thanks!

hi jcwl,

sorry, forgot to reply ur query. from my experience, i don't think 150-160 pax will be crammed at the poolside. it's actually quite spacious. i know for a fact that the place can take up to 18 tables and some of ur guests might move to the pool area, so, it shouldn't be a problem for u, just concentrate on being a beautiful bride that day

hi yvonne,

what do you mean by some of your guest can move to the pool area? u mean tables can be set up there? michelle kept saying only max 15 tables.

Can I also take a look at the pic?
I planning to hold my ROM and dinner at Amara. Hubby and I quite like the poolside and the little pavilion.
ROM in Jan and dinner in Dec. Will be contacting Michelle to finalise the details.

234146.gif

btw, pardon me asking... brides at amara, whats the average ang bao you received for the dinner? i scared alot of pple will give $60 cos they think its only a 4 star hotel...

jcwl

well... ours was a daytime affair and it was pretty hot so some seeked 'shelter' around the swimming pool area
and Li Ping, the previous co-ordinator had told me that the place can accomodate up to 18 tables, so, u may want to get Michelle to check again. cos we had 15 tables (1 in the pavilion and 14 around the perimeter) and there were still space for more tables.

renee & cocoberry

have sent the pix to u

er... i think u've asked a very sensitive question but i'll try & help u with some generic info. ours was a poolside buffet lunch and we still managed to cover the cost of the lunch and had quite a bit of spare. i think how much ang pow u get also depends on the people u invite. different groups of guests give different ang pows. hope this helps, good luck

wah...long time didnt see this thread. Was busy with my house lighting lately. Near "chop" by one shop named Etoile at Balestier, he charged me 295 for a ceiling fan with light, I almost belive all his bullshits until i went to 2 more shop and they only quote me 200. Must walk ard when u gals buy lightings n be careful with this shop. And dun bring ur ID along cos they want to earn commission n thus the lightings prices will be steeper too...

Hi Lilian, I have signed up with Amara, managed to get some perks. Wonder if anyone here got the date 27 Nov 2005 ? Jo, can send me the perks u get? I haven received the contract from Michellle yet.

Yvonne, mind sending me the links for your pics too? [email protected]

minssy,

Agreed with Yvonne that it vary with the grp of pp u invite. At average I think will get $70 / $80 ( i think) from friends. It also depends whether the dinner is at weekday / weekend, pp give different rate too..

Just my thoughts......

hey socksham, i am looking at nov 14! so yours will be after mine (if i sign up with them). hehe....

as per perks, its only the 9% discount per table for the $629 package (weekday) one.

Hi Minssy,
My date is 28 Nov weekday too.. wanted to take 27 since there is a discount now, but too late.. haha.... same as you.. 9% disct too.. think that is the best perks!!!

How many tables u have? have u chosen the wedding favours? Do u think its a bit silly to change my bridal suite one nite stay to a 2 day stay at a nomal deluxe room? will couples stay another one more day at the hotel or rushing back home to settle things?

Hello ladies, just a question how much wine to prepare for the wedding as Amara is charging $20+++ for wine corkage....v v expensive leh.

Hi coyote,
Try bargain for waiver of both hard liquor & red wine. Think most of us got it...

Hi socksham,
is there other wedding favour 2 choose? I thot is only chocolate?
I find 2 day deluxe room not worth it, cos Amara nearby are old shop houses and market. Nowhere 2 shop... Unless u wanna enjoy Amara's facilities

Hi coyote,
Think at least half of your table quantity is a gd estimate for ur wine. Assuming 1 bottle for every 2 tbls. Still depends on t type of guests lor

U look gorgeous and I quite like the movie poster. How did u get it done? Pls share.

I have booked the ROM package with Amara liao... din get much addition stuff except change an item on menu, a birthday cake for myself.
And also discuss on the banquet too... din manage to get Michelle to wavier off the projector cost. Haiz.
Did you gals get to use projector FOC or at lower rate? She wanna charge me $280+++. If lidat, then I not gonna show any montage during my march-in.

234810.gif

hi Renee,

Welcome. Hahaha.... I did not manage to get the projector and Liping, the ex banquet manager, charge me that price too.

Hi Renee, same here...ROM package very difficult to bargain I think. My projector @ $280+++ oso not wavied n need to provide own laptop somemore. Anyone got wavier on wines? Tat is my main concern loh, $20+++ really very ex.

hi socksham,

dun think 2 days is useful. there aint much to hang around at tanjong pagar. 2 nites will be useful if you take a hotel in orchard.

i shd have about 25 - 30 tables. favours they only have chocolate and fruit cakes which is quite duh. i am most prob sourcing for external favours but that will mean that i will incur additional 400 - 600 dollars, depending on what i wanna buy

hi cocoberry

thanks, the makeup artist did a very good job for me hee hee

hi socksham

i've just sent the link to u, mine is a poolside wedding, i'm not sure if it'll be useful since urs is a banquet.

also, i don't think it'll be nice for ur bridal room to be a delux room, insist on a 2 days nite stay at the bridal suite if possible, if not, i agree with lilian, there's really nothing much to do at tanjong pagar, a nite's stay may be more than enuf for u.

hi coyote

i tot corkage was $15 nett per bottle? anyway, try and get as much wavier for wine as possible. also, another 'trick' u can try is getting jumbo wine bottles instead of the standard size
jumbo size is double the standard size. how much wine u need really depends on ur guests, how many of them are wine consumers and how many are hard liquor or beer consumers.

hi renee

the movie poster is actually done from 1 of my fav wedding pix and my friend did the rest of the artwork for me as my wedding present. this is also part of a biz which i'm doing with my friend, if u'd like to find out more, u can email me at [email protected], not very nice for me to talk about my biz in this thread.

also, use of projector is pretty standard, all hotels charge it cos they've to rent it from a 3rd party, have done enuf events in hotels to realise that. another option is u can try and see if u can borrow the projector from a friend or from ur company? hotels don't charge u for bringing in ur own projectors.

ladies, have a great X'mas and a wonderful New Year ahead!